PTI's Tsunami March on 14th August [Mega Thread]

IK should have stayed the night in the square, that way he could have used lack of sleep, hunger and fever as an excuse for his stupidity.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>IK's speech finally touches the main thrust of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AzaadiMarch?src=hash">#AzaadiMarch</a>: Just for the heck of it.</p>— Nadeem F. Paracha (@NadeemfParacha) <a href="https://twitter.com/NadeemfParacha/statuses/501035989788545025">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Cant help but remember comedian Moin Akhtar's skit about "Na aa riya hai, na jaa riya hai. Buss yunhi kharra kharra itra rita hai" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/dharna?src=hash">#dharna</a></p>— Husain Haqqani (@husainhaqqani) <a href="https://twitter.com/husainhaqqani/statuses/501037874935263233">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

Couple of facts:

1) There WAS rigiing in 2013 elections
2) However PML-N still got votes and would have still got seats
3) PTI is less popular now than a year ago
4) If there was an election today, PTI would have lesser seats

So the whole thing is counter productive as this drama has eroded a lot of his support

[MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION] seems like a certified Pml(n) social media worker :))

Hahahhahahahahahah. That was a an excellent comedy show. Hahahaha. You people call this joker a leader. Huuuuuh

Hahaha. Khoda Pahar Nikla Chooha. Imran Khan disappointed his supporters big time. There was pin drop silence when he announced his "Big Decision"

One thing that I want as a result of negotiations is less power to sharif family PM and CM and other posts this is too much its like killing competition.

Couple of facts:

1) There WAS rigiing in 2013 elections
2) However PML-N still got votes and would have still got seats
3) PTI is less popular now than a year ago
4) If there was an election today, PTI would have lesser seats

So the whole thing is counter productive as this drama has eroded a lot of his support

Not a fan of IK but I disagree on popularity part Imran will win lot more seats in Punjab specially South Punjab/Seraki belt if elections are held now, even it 2013 if not for rigging he would have won more in Punjab my estimate is that he lost roundabout 15 seats to rigging but results would have been still far different from his clean sweep claims. btw he even lost a good number to poor ticket distribution in rural Punjab(biradari level).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Game over. Ab patlee gali ki talaash hai ...</p>— Nadeem F. Paracha (@NadeemfParacha) <a href="https://twitter.com/NadeemfParacha/statuses/501045539631538176">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

Imran's constant calling for Ch Nisar shows that he wants a way out now. Hoping Nisar can convince Nawaz to agree to a few things and PTI can save face.

Not a fan of IK but I disagree on popularity part Imran will win lot more seats in Punjab specially South Punjab/Seraki belt if elections are held now, even it 2013 if not for rigging he would have won more in Punjab my estimate is that he lost roundabout 15 seats to rigging but results would have been still far different from his clean sweep claims. btw he even lost a good number to poor ticket distribution in rural Punjab(biradari level).

lol at 'not a fan.' seems to be go to of very pti supporter these days including me.

Anyways even by your claims, he still would not have been able to form the govt.

And the point is that its a fact that he has lost support. Many ppl I know who went out to vote for him wont if there is an election next week. Most would just not vote

Civil disobedience while not resigning from NA and not giving up govt. in KP just cannot be taken seriously.

PTI workers did try to move towards red zone. They might do it again. Kab tak wait karain ge?

In other news, JI and other religious parties had a rally in Karachi in support of Gaza and Palestiniants.

Have to give it to these mullahs. No matter what is happening to the countries the mullahs wont look beyond their beards

Imran's constant calling for Ch Nisar shows that he wants a way out now. Hoping Nisar can convince Nawaz to agree to a few things and PTI can save face.

hahahaha ...
IK must have huge backing otherwise he wouldnt do all this.

Things must change thats pretty obvious !

In other news, JI and other religious parties had a rally in Karachi in support of Gaza and Palestiniants.

Have to give it to these mullahs. No matter what is happening to the countries the mullahs wont look beyond their beards

Desperately waiting for the day [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] becomes our prime-minister haha

“If Imran Khan becomes prime minister, he will never ask money from anyone…I will never ask for money from Saudi Arabia, America or the IMF” said Imran.

From Dawn

Bottom line, N-league was able to see through IK's bluff. The numbers were just not there.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Ch Nisar turns out to be more politically mature as instead of rubbing IK wounds with salt he offers him "face saving" by making committee.</p>— Rauf Klasra (@KlasraRauf) <a href="https://twitter.com/KlasraRauf/statuses/501068953779597313">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

Troll Time

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>Imran Khan nay Azadi March ko Mother of all Punctures laga diya hai.</p>— Najam Sethi (@najamsethi) <a href="https://twitter.com/najamsethi/statuses/501070619346472961">August 17, 2014</a></blockquote>

For a second i genuinely thought this March can do something.

Tai tai phuss.

Dont pay taxes, topple the govt, break all the rules in the book, forcefully enter the readzone. This is an illegal revolution kaptan sahab.

Half the PTIns wont know what civil disobedience is. I wonder how he proposes people to not pay taxes. I mean you go to store and if they charge you tax then do what?? dharna in front of the shop or come back two days alter and then buy it.????

Khoda pahad, nikla imran.

He gave two days time to govt as he knows Quadri's deadline approaches in 26 hrs. He wants PAT to take the blame of army intervention. Nawaz was able to see through this chaos, like it or not but Noon league and their leadership has shown real maturity here.

OH BTW should people of KPK not pay tax as well. Will it not her khattak instead of Miyan sahab.

Civil disobedience while not resigning from NA and not giving up govt. in KP just cannot be taken seriously.

He himself doesnt believe in his revolution. If he genuinely thinks that govt will fall in few days and new elections will be held then him and his party would have been the first one to resign from this rigged assembly.

He knows very well hat happened to AAP party of India once they resigned. AAP is a lot cleaner party with genuine people in it and yet it couldnt keep it together after they let go of the seats.

For an outsider this whole thing is a complete and utter joke. For the people who has nothing to do with Noon, PTI, PAT, PPP or Pakistan this whole thing is like a huge circus in which everyone is a clown.

perhaps he bought time to see Qadri's reaction since his given deadline is going to finish tomorrow. why wait for 2 days not for 1 day?

he does not want to take blame of possible clash/bloodshed on his shoulders .

I am more interested in Qadri's drama now. Lets see

Insafians (in my newsfeed) now claiming that this was a genius move! It'll garner international pressure! Pakistanis are paindus who don't know the true worth of a CD movement. It's a fantastic western tool - imagine the headline rippling across all global news channels about a CD movement in Pak. Nawaz will resign, yay!

Bottom line, N-league was able to see through IK's bluff. The numbers were just not there.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Still not over.

This is what Imran Khan is all about. A risk taker. All or nothing. 2 days left and we are still not sure what will happen.

People look to Imran as a revolutionary. Putting him next to the likes of Lenin and Khomeini by default.

I would have no problem with that if he actually had the kind of support they had. An estimated 9 million people stormed the streets of Tehran during the Iranian revolution.

I would also be okay with him being a revolutionary figure if he didn't make trash statements like 'aik wicket gir gai hai. Aaj World Cup start hoga.'

What kind of degenerate, egregious statements are these? Along with making unconstitutional and illegal demands, he is making a complete fool of himself.

Half of the PTI supporters doesn't even know what they want - some think it's a revolution, some think it's a reformist movement. The other half is there to dance and look at girls with face paint while ex-insaafiyans like me have resorted to armchair criticism.

This is not a revolution or a reformist movement; this is just stupid.

People look to Imran as a revolutionary. Putting him next to the likes of Lenin and Khomeini by default.

I would have no problem with that if he actually had the kind of support they had. An estimated 9 million people stormed the streets of Tehran during the Iranian revolution.

I would also be okay with him being a revolutionary figure if he didn't make trash statements like 'aik wicket gir gai hai. Aaj World Cup start hoga.'

What kind of degenerate, egregious statements are these? Along with making unconstitutional and illegal demands, he is making a complete fool of himself.

Half of the PTI supporters doesn't even know what they want - some think it's a revolution, some think it's a reformist movement. The other half is there to dance and look at girls with face paint while ex-insaafiyans like me have resorted to armchair criticism.

Slave like mentality summed up in one post

ive seldom agreed with anything you've said before but youve pretty much said what ive thought for a long time and saved me the effort of articulating myself. cheers :19:

I respect you bro, but here is one thing.

This is a game of politics and power. When politics is personalised in the raw pursuit of power, a Nawaz v. Imran fight to the end, the only loser is the awaam. The ordinary guy who just wants to go to work and earn enough to sustain his family.

Ideology, ethics and past be damned.

Okay . . . . and what is the mentality of an individual out there in the march?

ive seldom agreed with anything you've said before but youve pretty much said what ive thought for a long time and saved me the effort of articulating myself. cheers :19:

Stop, you'll make me blush. :zardari2

Is it true that the KPK government will not collect tax from tomorrow onwards?

They will not collect taxes and they will not pay salaries to govt employees. Also i wonder how will it work when they draw salaries from assembly, if they refuse to pay taxes then they will be chased by Income tax guys, if they pay taxes then they will be double speaking

All private sector and educational institutions to remain closed till 24th Aug.

- The Nation

Ali Amin Gandapur ( Minister of Revenue KPK):

'We will beat anyone who tries to cut our electricity lines for not paying bills, we will stop using mobiles to avoid GST'. The Anchor replied that GST is everywhere and if I tell you to take me to Marriott for dinner, GST will be part of the bill you will have to pay. His response:

'Hum parliament band karwa saktay hain tou Marriot tou ek mukay ki maar hai wo bhi band karwa dein ge.'

'We will beat anyone who tries to cut our electricity lines for not paying bills, we will stop using mobiles to avoid GST'. The Anchor replied that GST is everywhere and if I tell you to take me to Marriott for dinner, GST will be part of the bill you will have to pay. His response:

'Hum parliament band karwa saktay hain tou Marriot tou ek mukay ki maar hai wo bhi band karwa dein ge.'

Hahahaha. Bro, don't stop. Please go on.

The institutionalisation of mob-mentality. Perfect.

I have said this before. This march was going to backfire on Imran Khan. This became the situation of make or break. I was termed 'noora' for no reason. He should have concentrated more on the development of Peshwar, less on dharna dharna. It is kind of ironic that holding march is used as political point for pressurizing political parties has been backfired, Alhamdu Lillah!.

The reason i add, Alhamdu Lillah, because if federal gov't gave in to the pressure through the holding march tactics, then this would have set dangerous precedent in the future. If Imran Khan had been patient, the next election would have belonged to Imran Khan, Allahu Alim. Let alone PTI, even its supporters are clueless, emotional and lack of ground reality information.

Nawaz Sharif cannot afford to resign from the position of PM for the sake of stability of the government. All the investments will stop rolling if there is no continuity of governmentship. The stability of government is crucial for the sake of economical purpose.

I think even the anchors agreed that he said that in the heat of the moment.

When you continuously be critical of each and every thing he says, or what his leader does, he is bound to snap up.

I am following the ARY transmission closely, and this Ali Amin has been brought on call about 2-3 times before this, only to be interrupted always by the anchors each time he tries to answer their questions. Staying in the heat of Islamabad and travelling for the last 4 days will definitely take its toll on the best of MEN if they are continually 'humiliated' on shows like these.

I have said this before. This march was going to backfire on Imran Khan. This became the situation of make or break. I was termed 'noora' for no reason. He should have concentrated more on the development of Peshwar, less on dharna dharna. It is kind of ironic that holding march is used as political point for pressurizing political parties has been backfired, Alhamdu Lillah!.

The reason i add, Alhamdu Lillah, because if federal gov't gave in to the pressure through the holding march tactics, then this would have set dangerous precedent in the future. If Imran Khan had been patient, the next election would have belonged to Imran Khan. Let alone PTI, even its supporters are clueless, emotional and lack of ground reality information.

Nawaz Sharif cannot afford to resign from the position of PM for the sake of stability of the government. All the investments will stop rolling if there is no continuity of governmentship. The stability of government is crucial for the sake of economical purpose.

Agreed!

I think even the anchors agreed that he said that in the heat of the moment.

When you continuously be critical of each and every thing he says, or what his leader does, he is bound to snap up.

I am following the ARY transmission closely, and this Ali Amin has been brought on call about 2-3 times before this, only to be interrupted always by the anchors each time he tries to answer their questions. Staying in the heat of Islamabad and travelling for the last 4 days will definitely take its toll on the best of MEN if they are continually 'humiliated' on shows like these.

I think you're making excuses for him. When you're a political leader or serving in a top position, you need to be civil in your language. Studying abroad, I was actually shocked at the amount of attention people and politicians here give to phrasing their words. A leader of a major party in Pakistan threatening to beat up people for doing their job? I've heard it all now. But what can you expect given the kind of language IK himself uses?

Be that as it may, Nawaz, Zardari, Benazir all were polite and respectful in tone, despite their own huge moral defecits and corruption.

The reason i add, Alhamdu Lillah, because if federal gov't gave in to the pressure through the holding march tactics, then this would have set dangerous precedent in the future. If Imran Khan had been patient, the next election would have belonged to Imran Khan, Allahu Alim. Let alone PTI, even its supporters are clueless, emotional and lack of ground reality information.

Oh the irony !

Despite being a staunch supporter of PTI , I have criticized Imran's crazy words in other thread but ignorance of some people specially N league supporters is astounding.

Where are the hard core PTI supporters in this thread?, I want to hear their take on today's speech.

Agreed!

I think you're making excuses for him. When you're a political leader or serving in a top position, you need to be civil in your language. Studying abroad, I was actually shocked at the amount of attention people and politicians here give to phrasing their words. A leader of a major party in Pakistan threatening to beat up people for doing their job? I've heard it all now. But what can you expect given the kind of language IK himself uses?

Be that as it may, Nawaz, Zardari, Benazir all were polite and respectful in tone, despite their own huge moral defecits and corruption.

OK. And this political hypothesis only applies to PTI?

What about the countless goons I've heard from PML-N continually disrespect opposition?

Khawaja Saad Rafique, Abid Sher Ali, Hanif Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Khurrum Dastagir. I'm pretty sure you know how senior these people are in PML-N. And i've more than once heard these people get dirty with people whilst on public debates.

I'm not justifying his words, but when you criticize one party and its short-comings blatantly, you should know that the RULING PARTY has even bigger thugs who have made worse libel before.

OK. And this political hypothesis only applies to PTI?

What about the countless goons I've heard from PML-N continually disrespect opposition?

Khawaja Saad Rafique, Abid Sher Ali, Hanif Abbasi, Ahsan Iqbal, Khurrum Dastagir. I'm pretty sure you know how senior these people are in PML-N. And i've more than once heard these people get dirty with people whilst on public debates.

I'm not justifying his words, but when you criticize one party and its short-comings blatantly, you should know that the RULING PARTY has even bigger thugs who have made worse libel before.

Yes they have, and I agree. But I haven't seen them bash up people who just want to do their job.

Compared to that, NS, Zardari Benazir havent. SS and Altaf bhai are another story entirely.

Civil Disobedience movement is a masterstroke from Khan. I think people are not understanding what does it mean. This statement is not for ordinary people this is foreign media, IMF, world bank. There was hardly any news about PTI sitins in word news but as soon as he announced about Civil disobedient movement.. hell broke lose. It's all over the world media.

Wallstreet Journal
http://online.wsj.com/articles/forme...217078024.html

Yahoo

https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/24736662...ence-movement/

Al Jazeera
http://www.aljazeera.com/news/europe...532776182.html

NDTV
http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/im...-sharif-577241

UK yahoo
https://uk.news.yahoo.com/pakistan-p...8.html#iUIQboi

IMF has already delayed it's visit to Pakistan due to the protest. now when they would hear about civil disobedience movement.. they are going to put pressure on the government. Ishaq Dar has already started to cry.

Where are the hard core PTI supporters in this thread?, I want to hear their take on today's speech.

Feel bad for them. Once again, IK has managed to make a fool out of them and the thousands of people who came out on the streets risking their lives for him.

Watch this video clip of Moeed Peerzada.
<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x23xewx" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x23xewx_watch-moeed-pirzada-explaining-civil-disobedience-why-and-when-people-go-for-it-in-the-world_news" target="_blank">Watch Moeed Pirzada Explaining Civil...</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/grabvideos" target="_blank">grabvideos</a></i>

Yes, wonderful.

Make a mockery out of your country now on global media just to oust the local govt. Perfect!

HOW would the next election have belonged to IK? The same rigging would have taken place (whose magnitude we don't even have a real clue about just like we have no real clue on how much corruption has taken place over the past 6 years of "democracy").

I think people on both sides of the aisle are naive. This country will not change because people are not willing, they have accepted corruption as a part of their lives. They have selected slavery over basic human rights. Otherwise there is no even a single reason why anyone would vote for the Zardaris and the Sharifs of the world.

As for the next election, are people serious? There was rigging all over the country, people saw it, they taped, every constituency that was opened, illegitimate votes were found. But who has been punished, who is in jail or accountable? NO ONE. To think that this would change over night and how 'reforms' can bring about that change is absurd. Until you punish people who have done this, unless you create a deterrent no reform will ever work.

HOW would the next election have belonged to IK? The same rigging would have taken place (whose magnitude we don't even have a real clue about just like we have no real clue on how much corruption has taken place over the past 6 years of "democracy").

I think people on both sides of the aisle are naive. This country will not change because people are not willing, they have accepted corruption as a part of their lives. They have selected slavery over basic human rights. Otherwise there is no even a single reason why anyone would vote for the Zardaris and the Sharifs of the world.

As for the next election, are people serious? There was rigging all over the country, people saw it, they taped, every constituency that was opened, illegitimate votes were found. But who has been punished, who is in jail or accountable? NO ONE. To think that this would change over night and how 'reforms' can bring about that change is absurd. Until you punish people who have done this, unless you create a deterrent no reform will ever work.

Thank you. Atleast in the west if there is evidence that is game over but in Pakistan, evidence or not, these crooks blatantly get away with it and openly mock, the people to live with it. TUQ is right, nothing will change through the system, only through violent protests and uprisings against the govt.

Yes they have, and I agree. But I haven't seen them bash up people who just want to do their job.

Compared to that, NS, Zardari Benazir havent. SS and Altaf bhai are another story entirely.

Are you sure? NS in 1996 used some pretty language for a dead Bhutto. Come on, please take the blinders off, criticizing IK is one thing but have some shame when you start supporting crooks, murderers, thieves like NS and Zardari.

Insafians (in my newsfeed) now claiming that this was a genius move! It'll garner international pressure! Pakistanis are paindus who don't know the true worth of a CD movement. It's a fantastic western tool - imagine the headline rippling across all global news channels about a CD movement in Pak. Nawaz will resign, yay!
Yes, I read one of those posts. I never heard of civil disobedience in developed western countries. Its impossible to avoid taxes in that part of the world. Or am I wrong?

Thank you. Atleast in the west if there is evidence that is game over but in Pakistan, evidence or not, these crooks blatantly get away with it and openly mock, the people to live with it. TUQ is right, nothing will change through the system, only through violent protests and uprisings against the govt.

All the protests will do is bring back martial law if they are succesful
If elections were called tomorrow, IK would still have next to no chance of winning unfortunately

The governor of Texas, a major figure in the Republican Party with 2 previous nominations for President and an upcoming President hopeful for 2016 was just INDICTED on charges of using his public position for influence. NOW THAT IS DEMOCRACY that is worth protecting.

PMLN keeps on harping about 'constitution' and 'democracy' whenever they have to defend themselves, I guess this 'constitution' and 'democracy' have nothing in it about corruption and looting the public.

If elections were called tomorrow, IK would still have next to no chance of winning unfortunately

something to be really proud of eh...i guess if one is sitting in their living rooms benefiting from tax evasion, corrupt business practices then the likes of the 'electable' zaradris and sharifs are surely a favorable option

Ofcourse he wont win the elections, the people of Pakistan have proven their integrity with their voting history. You could bring a saint from heaven and they wont vote for him in such corruption infested society. Jaisay awam waisay hukumraan.

something to be really proud of eh...i guess if one is sitting in their living rooms benefiting from tax evasion, corrupt business practices then the likes of the 'electable' zaradris and sharifs are surely a favorable option

Yup. Truth

The business community is with Nawaz so I doubt this will have much impact. On the flip side, this civil disobedience movement is actually Ishaq Dar's dream come true. IK has basically provided Nawaz govt. a great way to deflect criticism of their economic management. All they have to say now onwards is it's all because of PTI's. If it's more load shedding, its PTI's fault, if there is more inflation, it's PTI's fault, if there are price hikes., it's all PTI's fault and they will hammer this point on and on, whether in reality there is any impact on the economy by this movement or not.

Secondly, headlines in international papers means nothing when your country has been in the news for far worse things like OBL. No one esp. the west, IMF, etc. supports IK or have any sympathy for him due to his anti-west stance. It will be treated as another miscreant trying to create hurdles in the way of a civilian govt. on behalf of the all powerful military.

Thirdly, if economic pressure is something which resonated with Nawaz than he would have resigned after the nuclear tests when all our aid was cut and we overnight became a pariah state. These thick skinned selfish rulers don't give a damn what the rest of the world say about them or whether Pakistan goes to hell.

One word over-reaction! ( and i understand this was bound to happen).

I am silently(not jumping up and down on each word from IK unlike media and supporters/non-supporters) observing this march and at time IK announcements surprises me but then I think of his personality and the challenges he has faced through out his life be in cricket or social work. He is just like that, unexpected statements, unpredictable moves. Majority including supporters bashing him left right center but as soon as I heard of this news from friends (while palying cricket) I said to them calm down this is just to keep alive the dharna, to keep media and people talking about them, to keep the interest. I don't believe that there will be CDO in reality and I am positive that there will be some positive outcome for the country (knowing IK's track record).

On a side note, despite from day one media and opposition laughing/bashing PTI/IK they are still in with thousands of people present in dharna sustained for 5 days now. Which other party (except pir/mureed community) can achieve that? I see today noon league is cautious on media not to laugh and not to say any thing that may back fire, perhaps they are actually worried about the outcome?

As for those who are saying this is first time some one calling for CDO, you lot forgot about CDO called by east pakistan post 71 elections?

Finally just above someone said 'mockery out of your country'...laughable if you think your country has any respect world wide, at least CDO/protest are more of known (and practiced) aspects worldwide. Nelson Mendela successfully used CDO and I am sure there are more examples.

Makes a lot of sense to me and it should resonate with the US puppeteers who pull the strings of the Pakistan Government

Quite rightly Imran Khan is saying 'No Taxation Without Representation'

Ball is now in the court of the Pakistani public and the US puppeteers

Can't understand this talk of 'Imran Khan failing'

If Imrans movement doesn't succeed the losers will be Pakistani people who have chosen ignorance and subservience.

Makes a lot of sense to me and it should resonate with the US puppeteers who pull the strings of the Pakistan Government

Quite rightly Imran Khan is saying 'No Taxation Without Representation'

Ball is now in the court of the Pakistani public and the US puppeteers

Can't understand this talk of 'Imran Khan failing'

If Imrans movement doesn't succeed the losers will be Pakistani people who have chosen ignorance and subservience.

don't expect anyone to understand from their living rooms...most people can't fathom what the common man is going through in Pakistan thanks to the oppression at the hands of their merry go round masters aka sharif and zardari

The civil disobedience announced by IK has only exposed his political immaturity at a crucial time. This should have been done months back not when standing next to parliament house. You could clearly see his state of confusion when he changed his seven day ultimatum to two days due to pressure from the protesters then concluding how he'll have "no control" after that. You could clearly see behind him Sheikh Rasheed and the other guy in the black waistcoat were instructing him what to say when his "historical announcement" left people in limbo scratching their heads in disbelief. TUQ seems to be far more clearer in his approach.

I totally agree with Zaid's views on IK! Either NS will resign or the people will cross the line leading to violence or even a military takeover within the next few days. IK did not do his homework before the march.

[video=vimeo;103645792]http://vimeo.com/103645792[/video]

Here is a view of my friend, who first bashed PTI like hell, but took u-turn (:D) and is now calming PTI supporters after doing bit of research.

Imran Khan's Declares Sharif's Government Despotic and Dictatorial In The Eyes Of Foreign Lenders

Imran Khan in his speech on 17th August 2014 called for nationwide civil disobedience in Pakistan and urged his supporters to stop paying taxes and utility bills in order to bring the Government of Nawaz Sharif onto its knees. As soon as Imran Khan announced the civil disobedience movement, analysts and journalists around the country went crazy and termed it as the biggest blunder of Imran's political career. However, almost all of these intellectuals have failed to see the case that Imran Khan has built for his mass movement. In order to explain the rationale for the movement, one needs to first understand the concept of Odious Debt.

Odious Debt:

In international law, Odious Debt or illegitimate debt is defined as:

National debt incurred by a regime for purposes that do not serve the best interests of the nation. According to International Law, such a debt is not enforceable upon the state and are considered as personal debts of the regime/government that incurred these debts. In some respects, the concept is analogous to the invalidity of contracts signed under coercion.

The concept of Odious Debt was formalized by Alexander Nahum Sack, a Russian Legal Theorist. The basis of Sack's legal formalization were precedents such as the repudiation of Mexican debts incurred by Emperor Maximillian's regime and the denial by the United States of Cuban liability for debts incurred by the Spanish Colonial regime.

According to Sack:

When a despotic/dictatorial regime contracts a debt, not for the needs or in the interests of the state, but rather to strengthen itself, to suppress a popular insurrection, etc, this debt is odious for the people of the entire state. This debt does not bind the nation; it is a debt of the regime, a personal debt contracted by the ruler, and consequently it falls with the demise of the regime. The reason why these odious debts cannot attach to the territory of the state is that they do not fulfil one of the conditions determining the lawfulness of State debts, namely that State debts must be incurred, and the proceeds used, for the needs and in the interests of the State. Odious debts, contracted and utilised for purposes which, to the lenders' knowledge, are contrary to the needs and the interests of the nation, are not binding on the nation – when it succeeds in overthrowing the government that contracted them – unless the debt is within the limits of real advantages that these debts might have afforded. The lenders have committed a hostile act against the people, they cannot expect a nation which has freed itself of a despotic regime to assume these odious debts, which are the personal debts of the ruler.

Ecuador Debt WriteOff in 2008:

In 2008 Rafael Correa, President of the Republic of Ecuador, declared that much of Ecuador's $3.9 billion in foreign debt was illegitimate odious debt that was contracted by corrupt and despotic prior regimes. Ecuador managed to successfully reduce the price of foreign debt letters significantly before it paid off the remaining debt.

Imran Khan's Masterclass Against Nawaz Sharif That The Entire Nation Failed To Understand:

As soon as Imran Khan announced his Civil Disobedience movement the entire opposition and twitterati erupted into a tirade of jokes asking questions such as, how would PTI supporters not pay GST on milk, bread and other groceries. Or that if they wont pay the utility bills the utility services would be disconnected and so on.

However, none of these so-called intellectuals were able to understand that what this Civil Disobedience movement is aiming to do is declare Nawaz regime a dictatorial regime and hence render all foreign debts that the regime would contract as unenforceable. As, I have already explained that a debt becomes illegitimate if a) the regime that contracts it is despotic and/or dictatorial and b) it was not spent on the betterment of the nation.

The entire long march is based on the premise that Nawaz Sharif and his party rigged the 2013 General elections and hence the regime is dictatorial and illegitimate. Before announcing the Civil Disobedience movement Imran Khan went into elaborate details of how the Sharif has previously used foreign debt to fill his coffers. What Imran was trying to do here was to establish a case that the foreign debts which this regime would incur would not be spent on the nation but would rather be laundered out of the country to power the business of the Sharif dynasty.

In simpler words Imran has told the entire world and specially the foreign lenders aka (IMF, World Bank and Asian Development Bank) that any loans incurred by the Sharif regime would not be enforceable on the future governments of Pakistan. To make it abundantly clear to our intellectual elite, Imran is telling the foreign lenders that if he ever came to power, he wont pay back the loans that the Sharif regime would borrow. This means that the foreign lenders has only one option left before them and that is to decline all future loans to the Sharif regime. Since, the Sharif regime relies heavily on foreign lending to finance its budget, the move would cripple the government and will bring it down to its knees without any bloodletting on the streets.

I once read a quotation that Brilliance hits a target that no one can hit, Genius hits a target that no one can see.

Imran's masterstroke against Sharif is such an act of genius that the entire nation is unable to see the target that it has hit. All that PTI and its horde of social media jihadi's now need to do is explain this to the entire nation that:

Since, we consider the Sharif regime as illegitimate, all foreign debts that it would incur would be illegitimate odious debt and hence would not be paid by the future Pakistani governments.

Imran Khan himself needs to do a better job and explain this to the foreign lenders that since the Sharifs always loot and plunder these loans for their personal gains, future PTI/Pakistani government would consider the foreign loans received by the Sharif regime as illegitimate. Once this is made abundantly clear to both the national and international audiences, it does not matter an iota if the civil disobedience movement fails to reduce the amount of taxes collected at the National level.

Here is a view of my friend, who first bashed PTI like hell, but took u-turn (:D) and is now calming PTI supporters after doing bit of research.

Imran Khan's Declares Sharif's Government Despotic and Dictatorial In The Eyes Of Foreign Lenders

Imran Khan in his speech on 17th August 2014 called for nationwide civil disobedience in Pakistan and urged his supporters to stop paying taxes and utility bills in order to bring the Government of Nawaz Sharif onto its knees. As soon as Imran Khan announced the civil disobedience movement, analysts and journalists around the country went crazy and termed it as the biggest blunder of Imran's political career. However, almost all of these intellectuals have failed to see the case that Imran Khan has built for his mass movement. In order to explain the rationale for the movement, one needs to first understand the concept of Odious Debt.

Odious Debt:

National debt incurred by a regime for purposes that do not serve the best interests of the nation. According to International Law, such a debt is not enforceable upon the state and are considered as personal debts of the regime/government that incurred these debts. In some respects, the concept is analogous to the invalidity of contracts signed under coercion.

The concept of Odious Debt was formalized by Alexander Nahum Sack, a Russian Legal Theorist. The basis of Sack's legal formalization were precedents such as the repudiation of Mexican debts incurred by Emperor Maximillian's regime and the denial by the United States of Cuban liability for debts incurred by the Spanish Colonial regime.

According to Sack:

When a despotic/dictatorial regime contracts a debt, not for the needs or in the interests of the state, but rather to strengthen itself, to suppress a popular insurrection, etc, this debt is odious for the people of the entire state. This debt does not bind the nation; it is a debt of the regime, a personal debt contracted by the ruler, and consequently it falls with the demise of the regime. The reason why these odious debts cannot attach to the territory of the state is that they do not fulfil one of the conditions determining the lawfulness of State debts, namely that State debts must be incurred, and the proceeds used, for the needs and in the interests of the State. Odious debts, contracted and utilised for purposes which, to the lenders' knowledge, are contrary to the needs and the interests of the nation, are not binding on the nation – when it succeeds in overthrowing the government that contracted them – unless the debt is within the limits of real advantages that these debts might have afforded. The lenders have committed a hostile act against the people, they cannot expect a nation which has freed itself of a despotic regime to assume these odious debts, which are the personal debts of the ruler.

In 2008 Rafael Correa, President of the Republic of Ecuador, declared that much of Ecuador's $3.9 billion in foreign debt was illegitimate odious debt that was contracted by corrupt and despotic prior regimes. Ecuador managed to successfully reduce the price of foreign debt letters significantly before it paid off the remaining debt.

Imran Khan's Masterclass Against Nawaz Sharif That The Entire Nation Failed To Understand:

As soon as Imran Khan announced his Civil Disobedience movement the entire opposition and twitterati erupted into a tirade of jokes asking questions such as, how would PTI supporters not pay GST on milk, bread and other groceries. Or that if they wont pay the utility bills the utility services would be disconnected and so on.

However, none of these so-called intellectuals were able to understand that what this Civil Disobedience movement is aiming to do is declare Nawaz regime a dictatorial regime and hence render all foreign debts that the regime would contract as unenforceable. As, I have already explained that a debt becomes illegitimate if a) the regime that contracts it is despotic and/or dictatorial and b) it was not spent on the betterment of the nation.

The entire long march is based on the premise that Nawaz Sharif and his party rigged the 2013 General elections and hence the regime is dictatorial and illegitimate. Before announcing the Civil Disobedience movement Imran Khan went into elaborate details of how the Sharif has previously used foreign debt to fill his coffers. What Imran was trying to do here was to establish a case that the foreign debts which this regime would incur would not be spent on the nation but would rather be laundered out of the country to power the business of the Sharif dynasty.

In simpler words Imran has told the entire world and specially the foreign lenders aka (IMF, World Bank and Asian Development Bank) that any loans incurred by the Sharif regime would not be enforceable on the future governments of Pakistan. To make it abundantly clear to our intellectual elite, Imran is telling the foreign lenders that if he ever came to power, he wont pay back the loans that the Sharif regime would borrow. This means that the foreign lenders has only one option left before them and that is to decline all future loans to the Sharif regime. Since, the Sharif regime relies heavily on foreign lending to finance its budget, the move would cripple the government and will bring it down to its knees without any bloodletting on the streets.

I once read a quotation that Brilliance hits a target that no one can hit, Genius hits a target that no one can see.

Imran's masterstroke against Sharif is such an act of genius that the entire nation is unable to see the target that it has hit. All that PTI and its horde of social media jihadi's now need to do is explain this to the entire nation that:

Since, we consider the Sharif regime as illegitimate, all foreign debts that it would incur would be illegitimate odious debt and hence would not be paid by the future Pakistani governments.

Imran Khan himself needs to do a better job and explain this to the foreign lenders that since the Sharifs always loot and plunder these loans for their personal gains, future PTI/Pakistani government would consider the foreign loans received by the Sharif regime as illegitimate. Once this is made abundantly clear to both the national and international audiences, it does not matter an iota if the civil disobedience movement fails to reduce the amount of taxes collected at the National level.

This does make some sense to me but let's see the outcome

Master stroke by Imran Khan! Kuddos to him for coming up with this.

So...it has begun! We'll played IK!!
People are not getting it ... Imran Khan has passed a message that i never wanted my people to march towards PM house ... it is my people who are not willing to wait ... so i am able to stop them for only 48 hours ... secondly Civil Disobedience card was played to make IMF and donors pressure Govt. to talk to IK ... Trust me only Ishaq Dar knows the value of card IK has played at a time he is to meet IMF team ... check the change in the Tone of PML N leaders - now they want to accept every demand of IK except Nawaz's ouster ... Only TV anchor Moeed Peerzada got it all other TV anchors are mindless ... Guys IK is now sensing Kill ... just wait for two more days ...

IMF talks are going on in UAE. Ishaq Dar is leading and making them agree to give more loan. To Save Pakistan from the burden of more loan, Imran khan went for very smart move of Civil Disobedience. IMF representatives visit of Pakistan cancelled now as they stay in Sarena. Ishaq Dar furious. This will hit PMLN badly. Do Remember the Govt. already took 10 Billion $ plus loan. Please do realize if Imran khan has thought for this move for more than 10 hours. What the real reason. This is to Save Pakistan from the loan burden of IMF. All International Media giving it great importance.

Check the video where Moeen Peerzada is explaining what IK can achieve with this:
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?st...&refsrc=https://m.facebook.com/photo.php&_rdr

PMLN in serious trouble. IK will not get a better chance to oust this Nawaz cabinet without army intervention. In the meanwhile Ishaq Dar and Khurram Dastagir are having sleepless nights! They now have no other option than listening to IK's demands.

Odious Debt:

According to Sack:

A masterstroke of genius....huh! what a load of bull crap.

To declare the Shareef govt. as despotic, undemocratic or illegitimate, you will first have to establish that in the courts of law, it cannot be based on whims of a political leader/party. No matter how much video or paper evidence you may have to show that the elections were rigged, unless the highest courts say so, it won't matter. Also, this whole movement assumes that PTI will definitely be coming to power next time around to refuse payment on all those loans..it's possible but not set in stone. For all we know PTI may just self destruct in the next few years and N-league might just be able to stay in power. Also, can the international community go by the words of one opposition party, which doesn't even have numbers to be the 2nd biggest party by seats and with almost no support from the rest of the parties or even the parties in opposition. Do they really expect the international community to take notice. Once again, the over-bloated assumption is that PTI is the only true party in Pakistan and that majority of people are behind PTI. Hard to make a case for that when not even a million people of the supposed 20 million showed up for the revolution.

Once again IK and his blind followers and their boongiyan. Please save yourself the embarrassment and not try to spin this faux pas into some "Masterstroke of genius"...a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma that no mortal other than the geniuses in the PTI camp can understand. Please, I beg you....you guys have been embarrassed enough that even I feel sad for you.

Oh wait, IK thought about this move for 12 straight sleepless hours...."main ne soocha, main ne soocha, main ne bohat soocha"...it has to be a genius move, right.

Feel bad for them. Once again, IK has managed to make a fool out of them and the thousands of people who came out on the streets risking their lives for him.

Risking their lives for him? really? What has he to gain or lose? They are risking their lives for a better future!

A masterstroke of genius....huh! what a load of bull crap.

To declare the Shareef govt. as despotic, undemocratic or illegitimate, you will first have to establish that in the courts of law, it cannot be based on whims of a political leader/party. No matter how much video or paper evidence you may have to show that the elections were rigged, unless the highest courts say so, it won't matter. Also, this whole movement assumes that PTI will definitely be coming to power next time around to refuse payment on all those loans..it's possible but not set in stone. For all we know PTI may just self destruct in the next few years and N-league might just be able to stay in power. Also, can the international community go by the words of one opposition party, which doesn't even have numbers to be the 2nd biggest party by seats and with almost no support from the rest of the parties or even the parties in opposition. Do they really expect the international community to take notice. Once again, the over-bloated assumption is that PTI is the only true party in Pakistan and that majority of people are behind PTI. Hard to make a case for that when not even a million people of the supposed 20 million showed up for the revolution.

Once again IK and his blind followers and their boongiyan. Please save yourself the embarrassment and not try to spin this faux pas into some "Masterstroke of genius"...a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma that no mortal other than the geniuses in the PTI camp can understand. Please, I beg you....you guys have been embarrassed enough that even I feel sad for you.

The same courts which let Gullu Butt walk free? To hell with these courts