PTI's Tsunami March on 14th August [Mega Thread]

On ARY a few minutes ago, Asad Omar stated that if he was the PM, he would have handled things in a particular way, Which he explained.

The host said alright, fair enough, but then he asked. 'Aggar aap Imran khan ki jagga hotay tu kya karte?' To which Asad Omar replied 'wo mai nahi bataa sakta because mai Imran Khan nahi hun'.

The host then said 'acha tu aap PM ka bataa sakte hain but Imran Khan ka nahi? PM bhi tu nahi hain aap'.

Asad Omar *silence*

The PM is a role while Imran Khan is a person. It's not really difficult to understand...

The PM is the head of the country while Imran is the head of the party. Both need to have a clear direction and manifesto which should rub off their subordinates.

Asad Umar seems to be in a better position with a better understanding to think for his enemy and how he should act while at the same time, he is clueless over how his own leader thinks and operates.

It's not really difficult to understand...

Badsha is a blind follower of Imran (self-admitted). He'd defend his messiah even if he kills an innocent man with his bare hands on live TV.

No point in reasoning with him.

The PM is the head of the country while Imran is the head of the party. Both need to have a clear direction and manifesto which should rub off their subordinates.

Asad Umar seems to be in a better position with a better understanding to think for his enemy and how he should act while at the same time, he is clueless over how his own leader thinks and operates.

It's not really difficult to understand...

He's not going to talk about his own leader on a public forum. Chairman of PTI is not as well defined a role as PM

Badsha is a blind follower of Imran (self-admitted). He'd defend his messiah even if he kills an innocent man with his bare hands on live TV.

No point in reasoning with him.

I wouldn't defend him then.

Also, I can criticize Imran Khan and admit his mistakes but it is true that I am a blind follower. I'll never stop my support.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1129011/islamabad-stand-off-

In a statement issued Monday, the ISPR has rejected the assertions that the military and ISI were backing the protesters.

The press release states: "ISPR has categorically rejected the assertions that Army and ISI were backing PTI/PAT in anyway in the current political standoff. Army is an apolitical institution and has expressed its unequivocal support for democracy at numerous occasions. It is unfortunate that Army is dragged into such controversies."

"Integrity and unity of the army is its strength which it upholds with pride."

Political parties have failed Pakistan. Sadly due to US funding army hands are tied and therefore martial law unlikely.

We need strong leaders like Musharaff.

On ARY a few minutes ago, Asad Omar stated that if he was the PM, he would have handled things in a particular way, Which he explained.

The host said alright, fair enough, but then he asked. 'Aggar aap Imran khan ki jagga hotay tu kya karte?' To which Asad Omar replied 'wo mai nahi bataa sakta because mai Imran Khan nahi hun'.

The host then said 'acha tu aap PM ka bataa sakte hain but Imran Khan ka nahi? PM bhi tu nahi hain aap'.

Asad Omar *silence*

I actually feel bad. So many parhay-likhay loug having to cover up and make excuses for IK's actions/statements.

Same happens with MQM - but that's a different debate altogether.

I actually feel bad. So many parhay-likhay loug having to cover up and make excuses for IK's actions/statements.

Same happens with MQM - but that's a different debate altogether.

Almost every educated Pakistani who does not have family associated with N-league in one way or another support Imran Khan. You should be feeling bad for yourself for supporting a criminal and a crook.

This nation will never find a personality like Imran Khan again.

Asad Omar *silence*

I dont think you really understood it. There is no basis of criticism.

If the anchor had asked that 'agar aap Nawaz Sharif hotay?' he would have said the same thing that he is not NS.

IK and NS are individuals so you cannot and should not speak for them but the PM is a position which any Pakistani fulfilling the requirements can possibly take so Asad Umar or anyone else has a right to speak on that matter.

Asad Umar is one of the smartest guys in Pak politics so it seems that this went over your head. Not that hard to understand really

Almost every educated Pakistani who does not have family associated with N-league in one way or another support Imran Khan. You should be feeling bad for yourself for supporting a criminal and a crook.

This nation will never find a personality like Imran Khan again.

I support Asad Umar more than Imran Khan :P. He seems a much more intelligent person than Imran :srt

1) Almost every educated Pakistani who does not have family associated with N-league in one way or another support Imran Khan.

2) You should be feeling bad for yourself for supporting a criminal and a crook.

3) This nation will never find a personality like Imran Khan again.

1) Baseless.

2) I support PAKISTAN, not anyone. But of course, hero-worship is all that you know and vomit around on PP. You should be feeling bad for calling yourself a blind supporter despite being parhay likhay.

3) If IK the politician is going to do this, then I hope not. IK the personality, the philantropist, the cricketer - I hope we get more of them.

wait till tomorrow night or morning, one more fight will happen.

Perhaps, that too.

Basically he has got frustrated and now just wants a confrontation. Won't work. These short cuts never work.

Javed Hashmi has a psyche problem first he traveled all over punjab to encourage PTI workers to take part in long march and then he got upset after Imran desired technocrats in the possible care taker set up.

But how elections can be possible in September? we must have world's best election commission then. There seems to be no time for care taker set up at all , the reason for which Hashmi got upset few days back.

Once a student leader, always a student leader.

LHashmi sb statements has clearly shifted the momentum back towards the govt. side. Tch tch..Today IK and TUQ are no different. Sad sad sad.

I challenge you and everyone else to peruse through ALL of my 9000-sth posts and point out ONE INSTANCE where I sided with PMLN on this issue.

You don't need to after all i have read.

I also remember you defending metros and bullet trains at the expense of human development or smaller cities/provinces.

Just now i read your statement where you pointed out startling revelations of Hashmi too.

LHashmi sb statements has clearly shifted the momentum back towards the govt. side. Tch tch..Today IK and TUQ are no different. Sad sad sad.

On what basis you consider TUQ a bad person? As you say there is no difference between Imran and TUQ

TUQ has defended military action against Taliban. He was the first to reject the concept of suicide bombings. He is against current shape of blasphemy law.

But more importantly despite ordering FIA and tax authorities to investigate any legal loopholes in his work government was still not able to find any corrupt practices of him. Then all they had were the barriers outside Minhaj-ul-Quran which also proved legal later on after this democratic government butchered 15 people and wounded around 100 others.

All this hate for the man is unbelievable.

I had lot of respect for Hashmi specially when he struggled in Musharraf era but i think he lost the plot here or someone is playing behind the scene. Hashmi always had personal issues with Army and ISI and it's possible that he is being used against them. So it's going to be Political Parties vs Army now. ALLAH khair....

I support democracy but i can't support this idea of political parties coming together against Army...No Thanks no way i am going to support this agenda of these so called democratic parties.

TUQ has defended military action against Taliban. He was the first to reject the concept of suicide bombings. He is against current shape of blasphemy law.

But more importantly despite ordering FIA and tax authorities to investigate any legal loopholes in his work government was still not able to find any corrupt practices of him. Then all they had were the barriers outside Minhaj-ul-Quran which also proved legal later on after this democratic government butchered 15 people and wounded around 100 others.

He's a hypocrite. He'll tell you what you want to hear. He criticizes the Blasphemy law of Pakistan in front of the international media and to his local followers claims that he was primarily responsible for bringing the law into force.

Nothing he says can be taken seriously.

Who's paying for his bomb and bullet proof air conditioned container, Minhaj Ul Quran?

He is a tool of the army and a nut case.

He is an educated man, an educationist, writer of hundred of books , has taught in Punjab University for some time, is a doctorate and has a open mind to Islamic law and not a conservative.

If Nawaz and Zardari deserve to be head of this state then he can also wish for it.

You don't need to after all i have read.

I also remember you defending metros and bullet trains at the expense of human development or smaller cities/provinces.

Just now i read your statement where you pointed out startling revelations of Hashmi too.

NEVER at the expense of human development in smaller cities.

Yes, Metro had it's benefits and I stand by my claim that Lahore is a model city worth emulation for all the cities in Pakistan in terms of the way work is done in municipal offices, etc.

Funny you remembered this, and not my lengthy posts of PMLN's ghatiya foreign policy stance.

Quote the posts rather than using your very poor and selective memory to marr my name.

You are the one making a claim. The onus is on you to prove I'm not a neutral. What's stopping you?

NEVER at the expense of human development in smaller cities.

Yes, Metro had it's benefits and I stand by my claim that Lahore is a model city worth emulation for all the cities in Pakistan in terms of the way work is done in municipal offices, etc.

Funny you remembered this, and not my lengthy posts of PMLN's ghatiya foreign policy stance.

Quote the posts rather than using your very poor and selective memory to marr my name.

You are the one making a claim. The onus is on you to prove I'm not a neutral. What's stopping you?

I am not making a claim just sharing my observation and you or any one here has a right to differ with it. It is not a court of law.

When you admire all those roads and bridges , present mostly in just couple of cities then i consider that you are condoning their policies.

I am not making a claim just sharing my observation and you or any one here has a right to differ with it. It is not a court of law.

When you admire all those roads and bridges , present mostly in just couple of cities then i consider that you are condoning their policies.

I think you have some comprehension problems. I wrote about the operations of municipal services in Lahore. I personally had a small issue, I visited the local municipal office and guess what - my issue was resolved WITHOUT any bribery, extra long wait or sifarish.

And while I do admit that money could have been spent elsewhere, the Metro etc DID have its benefits - the peons who work in my dad's department and other lesser income residents vouch for it. But clean water is a bigger issue that hardly deserves the attention it needs by both Punjab govt, and nationwide - with a whole host of other problems too.

When you can't back your "observation" about me with relevant facts about what I've actually said, then I'd suggest you keep your implied remarks to yourself, thank you.

I reckon Hashmi sahib is a victim of Dissociative identity disorder else there is no explanation as to why he took u-turn twice in two days. Yesterday he first blamed IK in PC and then praised IK as a truthful person. Today began with venom in PC and now he is saying army is not behind IK. :43:

Another flip flop.

Very sincere man and someone who I respect a lot for his stance against Musharraf and martial law when the Sharif khandaan ran away to Jeddah with their tail between their legs. One PML-N guy said off the record that due to all the torture he lost sense of his 'damaaghi tawazun.' It was dismissed as bitterness on their part as he had left them then but who knows?

I think both of us are going to be disappointed there seems to be something behind the scene and if it comes out and if reports are true thn the credibility of Hashmi is going to be questioned.

At least 10-12 PML (N) MNA's abused and taunted the Army guys who were standing there to protect parliament building and at least 3 different channels reporters confirmed it. I am speechless what are we doing where are we going? First insulted Army at least 3 times in last 3/4 days and now doing this. Lets throw all the army out of the country and Punjab police can replace them.

So some 'sources' sayin that PML-N workers under the guise of PTI and PAT attacked PTV. :interesting

Pakistan needs to hit a reset button, enough is enough things have gone too far. The army needs to step up with the right intentions and put all parties involved in one room and leave them there until there is a resolution.

There should be a live telecast of that

All very admirable, no doubt, but with a track record of one seat, once, he should have no say whatsoever in politics. Why is the government and the army taking him so seriously? Not just last month and in June, but prior to that too.

Parliamentarians have been dismissed for holding dual citizenship, there's controversy over Altaf's dual citizenship, but apparently Qadri's dual citizenship is no problem.

He is an educated man, an educationist, writer of hundred of books , has taught in Punjab University for some time, is a doctorate and has a open mind to Islamic law and not a conservative.

If Nawaz and Zardari deserve to be head of this state then he can also wish for it.

He is volatile, aggressive, unpredictable and borderline fanatic who will run back to Canada eventually.

Democracy in Pakistan: You loot the country and then I loot the country. Lets take turns looting the country. Any "threat" to democatxy would mean an end to our business of looting. We must make sure this doesn't happen.

Many who think this system would just change by itself if it continues are either living in denial or really naive. If I am in the business of looting why would I not make sure I do what's needed to keep this system up and running. This is a professional business and those running it are pros. They weren't born yesterday. All these forces who are together today to "save democracy" have one thing in common: they are all looters. They can care less if it's democracy that lets them continue the looting or if it's hypocrisy. All they really care about is looting.

They have made sure to turn the entire nation blind and also crippled them mentally to also become a part of this system. Many people in Pakistan are either not paying taxes, stealing electricity, or using their status or job posting to give favors and/or take favors in return. They have become numb to this system of corruption.

Is he paying that from his own pocket? If not, is that proper use of money going for educational purposes?

He had serious security concerns because of his stance against taliban. I can't defend this but it is not the justification for the amount of hate he gets.

He is volatile, aggressive, unpredictable and borderline fanatic who will run back to Canada eventually.

I can care less about Qadri but using running overseas as a way to put some one down when ur own PM is the first one to run out of the country whenever things get tight is pretty low I think.

Any Indian enjoying current issues in Pakistan is total Idiot.
Pakistan as a strong democratic country is more beneficial to India.
A stable & prosperous Pakistan will bring lots of benefits to south Asia.

Two wrongs don't make a right and I don't defend Nawaz.

Do you defend some other fantasy through which all will be well? The means of how a movement takes a stand are not always clear and totally justifiable in the moment, many a times with time things get clear and the movement is judged upon by the result it brings.

I think you have some comprehension problems. I wrote about the operations of municipal services in Lahore. I personally had a small issue, I visited the local municipal office and guess what - my issue was resolved WITHOUT any bribery, extra long wait or sifarish.

And while I do admit that money could have been spent elsewhere, the Metro etc DID have its benefits - the peons who work in my dad's department and other lesser income residents vouch for it. But clean water is a bigger issue that hardly deserves the attention it needs by both Punjab govt, and nationwide - with a whole host of other problems too.

When you can't back your "observation" about me with relevant facts about what I've actually said, then I'd suggest you keep your implied remarks to yourself, thank you.

When you praise as little as things like bridges even though you admit that it is not the best utilization of funds or you admiring getting a municipal service satisfactorily while ignoring the overall sins of this same regime then i get a feeling that you have a soft corner for them.
But then you categorize Hashmi's words startling revelations when he claims that establishment has planned elections in September.

Highlighting trivial good steps of one party and criticizing trivial faults of another one gives me an impression that you are just inclined towards a certain party.

Islamabad IG changed once again

ISLAMABAD (Dunya News) – The political crisis worsens as ‎Islamabad Inspector General (IG) was changed once again, and ‎Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Tahir Alam from Sindh was ‎assigned the additional charge of Islamabad IG after the charge ‎was taken back from IG Khalid Khattak, Dunya news reported.‎
According to sources, this additional charge was given to DIG ‎Alam after several other Islamabad officers declined to take the ‎position by excusing themselves from the post. ‎
DIG Alam was directed to report to Punjab two days ago by the ‎federal government.

http://dunyanews.tv/index.php/en/Pakistan/235029-Islamabad-IG-changed-once-again

All very admirable, no doubt, but with a track record of one seat, once, he should have no say whatsoever in politics. Why is the government and the army taking him so seriously? Not just last month and in June, but prior to that too.

Parliamentarians have been dismissed for holding dual citizenship, there's controversy over Altaf's dual citizenship, but apparently Qadri's dual citizenship is no problem.

Qadri has die hard followers, last time during PPP regime he managed to gather around 40,000 people in Islamabad. PPP dealt with him calmly.
Just like PPP, N league also did not consider him a danger and thought that they could treat him administratively by their usual tactics of fake cases, crackdown on workers and intimidation. Just their dictatorial mindset that they tried administrative solution to a political case and it backfired with Model town incident. I would say actually they underestimated the will of his workers.

Forget everyone else, PTI's own Shireen Mazari called TUQ a foreign agent in so many words in her article in The News. Plus, read her pro-democracy, letting the system run its course, working within to change it and against dictatorial interverntions in the name of "reform", inevitably making corrupt cooks into political martyrs, etc etc. Wow, she sounds like one of us here.....wonder what happened?

When means do matter
Shireen M Mazari
Monday, January 14, 2013

From Print Edition

Dr Tahirul Qadri undoubtedly moved me on December 23, especially with the sea of green and white flags and the passionate resonance of the national anthem. We may be far from where we want to be, or should be, as a nation, but the passion and dream lives on in so many of us. Dr Qadri’s message touched a chord and the instinct was to join up in his caravan for change. After all, this was what had attracted me to the PTI until the “electables” invasion, traditional manoeuvring and takeover. Imran’s commitment to change was not the issue, but the means – of the same “electables” somehow becoming harbingers of this change – did somehow undermine the belief, notwithstanding the passion of the youth!

So when Dr Qadri in his convincing manner offered yet another path to truly change the democratic political equation in Pakistan, it was difficult not to join in. But something held me back, and I can now identify three different levels of reasoning that made me decide to stay away. The first level was related to the assumptions underlying the march, regardless of the numbers! The idea of having a “people’s assembly” which would make decisions for the nation without itself having been selected by the people smacked of an arrogance that was discomfiting! After all, how could this “people’s assembly” represent the whole gamut of the Pakistani nation without having actually been given this mandate? Similarly, respected scholar though he is, Dr Qadri also has not been given a mandate to head such an assembly and make decisions on behalf of the people of Pakistan!

At a second and perhaps most crucial level, I feel that, given the chaos and violence Pakistan is already experiencing, the means of bringing change matter. There is absolutely no doubt that the demands for electoral reforms through proper enforcement of the constitution are the need of the hour for Pakistan to rid itself of the corrupt politicians’ coterie ruling us. But the questions that came to mind are: One, why not use the Supreme Court and challenges through the ECP to ensure enforcement of constitutional provisions with regard to electoral candidates? Here Imran Khan’s example stands out in connection with bogus voters’ lists, as well as his pending appeals against pre-poll rigging.

There is a system that works, if used properly. This usage also allows for strengthening of institutions like the judiciary and the ECP – thereby fortifying the roots of democracy. I feel Imran’s use of petitions to fight electoral corruption not only shows faith in the judiciary, thereby fortifying the institution, but has also borne positive results in the battle for electoral reform – although the war has yet to be won.

Two, how can one man and his followers decide who is clean or pious? At the end of the day, if we believe in democracy then we must fight the battle against corruption and lawbreakers at the ballot box. Yes, rigging is a plague, as are the traditional political norms, especially in the rural areas; but if enough voices stand up against these evils, I believe things will change. We have never given the democratic system, flawed as it may be, a chance to take root. Too many dictatorial interventions in the name of “reform” have already cost this country a smooth evolutionary developmental process. In fact, this is a major reason why the corrupt, inept traditional “electables” succeed time after time in elections – because they are allowed to embrace political martyrdom instead of being exposed for the criminals that they are.

Distasteful as it may be, we have to allow the system to continue and hope people will choose new faces, who will in turn bring reform to the electoral system through parliamentary legislation. We need a system of proportional representation; of unhinging the roots of support for corruption in politics such the misnomer “development funds,” and so on. But these changes need to come through letting the electoral system continue, which may make the task more daunting but it is the only legitimate way. Too many non-democratic interventions have already destroyed the fabric of this nation.

Three, I feel very strongly about the whole issue of dual nationality and had written a letter to the CJ on the issue also. No matter how committed to Pakistan, dual nationality implies dual loyalties, especially in the case of the US naturalisation oath. If one wants to lead a political movement in Pakistan then commitment to this cause requires a renunciation of the foreign nationality. Not everyone agrees on this, but it is a conviction with me.

At a third level, my misgivings are based on what I tend to call “connecting the dots.” The timing of Dr Qadri’s return; information flowing out from British sources that the UK High Commissioner to Pakistan visited Dr Qadri in Canada two or three times about six months ago; the growing belligerency of drones and Indian troops along the LoC, alongside an unprecedented increase in terrorism, especially in Quetta; the sheer money and organisational structure that suddenly became overt – just too many coincidences in terms of timeline. Some said the “establishment” was behind Dr Qadri, but I am not convinced on that count! However, external powers I suspect have a role, although I have no proof – simply an educated assessment of what is happening within Pakistan and in our region.

We know the US seeks a favourable dispensation in Islamabad up to 2014 so that its withdrawal from Afghanistan can be smooth and the post-withdrawal scenario to its liking. A long-term friendly caretaker setup would suit them more than an elected government, especially since they are not sure what will happen in the next elections when there is no NRO and no “guarantors”! We also know how the UK played a lead role in the whole NRO game, so the same linkage can be taken as a given again. Banking on someone they recognise as a “liberal religious leader,” who has even sought to justify drones before December 23, they feel will allow them to bring the Pakistani nation on board. These are dangerous and false assumptions but it will not be the first time such miscalculations have been made.

Too many questions to set the mind at ease over the agenda of Dr Qadri – a man to be respected for his scholarship. But if he is really concerned about the people of Pakistan then a march that would win support from all over the country would be a peace march to Quetta. Now, that would be a march I would join without hesitation. Till then elections and legal challenges to enforce constitutional provisions are the route to achieve change. The means do matter.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-9-154285-When-means-do-matter

In an interview to a private TV channel, PTI President Javed Hashmi said that he had told his party’s chairman not to leave his fate on any third umpire. “Khan Sahib, do not think that the umpire will favour you,” Hashmi claimed to have told this to the PTI chairman.

He said Saifullah Niazi, Jahangir Tareen and Sheikh Rasheed were the ones who mended Imran’s opinion regarding Army’s support. Hashmi claimed that the PTI chief had been assured about support of five Corps Commanders.

"I don’t have any evidence nor do I think the army is backing Imran," Hashmi added

He really has some inside information.

Forget everyone else, PTI's own Shireen Mazari called TUQ a foreign agent in so many words in her article in The News. Plus, read her pro-democracy, letting the system run its course, working within to change it and against dictatorial interverntions in the name of "reform", inevitably making corrupt cooks into political martyrs, etc etc. Wow, she sounds like one of us here.....wonder what happened?

So do you think America and army both are backing Qadri plus Imran?

I guess re-election is still working inside the system.

Can someone up date me on what Hashmi is saying now about IK. I read one thing yesterday and now I read he is saying something different.

So do you think America and army both are backing Qadri plus Imran?

I guess re-election is still working inside the system.

I'm not guessing anything, that's what Ms.Mazari was alluding to in her article so I'm surprised she is still with IK with regards to his alliance with Qadri and on bringing unconstitutional reforms when she so publicly was against it only an year ago.

Whats wrong with changing your stance on the basis of information? I would say that is better than staying rigid on one matter. Talking generally and not this matter.

Any Indian enjoying current issues in Pakistan is total Idiot.
Pakistan as a strong democratic country is more beneficial to India.
A stable & prosperous Pakistan will bring lots of benefits to south Asia.

O bhai. I appreciate your concern and nice words but its not helping.
Everyone knows a stable pakistan is good for everyone.

But sadly situation is a laughing stock and i cannot help but laugh. No where in the world would you see inqulab coming in containers and between 7pm to 9 am everyday. For a neutral party this is funny in a sad way. Even IPL matches dont have this many twists and turns per day.

After this is over, no matter which side it falls on, it will weaken pakistan. So doesnt matter what Indian think they cannot change anything. So you might as well grab some popcorn and enjoy the show.

Whats wrong with changing your stance on the basis of information? I would say that is better than staying rigid on one matter. Talking generally and not this matter.

Nothing wrong with it, only it happened within a year and with no apparent reason. Has TUQ changed in any way from last year. He was the same guy who took his followers to the wintery wet outdoor picnic spot in Islo two years ago while he enjoyed the view from his cozy and comfortable container and turned around when his all too precious ego was massaged by the skillful PPP govt. Now he is back from Canada, somehow resuscitated out of retirement for who knows what reason and asking and demanding pretty much the same things and following the same tactics and now PTI along with Ms.Mazari is all kosher about it. Is this just a change of heart or change of ideology from Ms.Mazari and PTI or is it just political convenience, you tell me?

You are as ever just plain wrong. I have protested outside 10 Downing Street and we had big sticks with banners on them etc

Did you march towards the parliament too?

And did the leader of your protest keep threatening to pull the PM out by his neck and drag him on to the streets?

Hashmi was caught with his pants down when he lied about pti core committee not with IK, i agree that he himself seems to be on a mysterious agenda against the army.

I think this whole argument can be summarised as follows:

PTI Supporters

1. They support Pakistan
2. They want stability in Pakistan
3. They do not want this stability at the expense of the poor class not getting their rights
4. They want a more transparent electoral system
5. They don't want known corrupt people being our President and PM
6. They know that when foundation is not solid then the building will fall

Anti PTI Supporters

1. They support Pakistan
2. They want stability in Pakistan
3. They don't really care if that stability comes at the cost of poor people not getting their rights
4. They expect electoral reforms from parties which rely on massive rigging to come to power
5. They don't care whether our President was an internationally convicted criminal and our current PM is a corrupt to the core.
6. They don't really care about the foundation, as long as the building doesn't fall immediately

Forget about all the rigging on election day, but tell me have they barred a single candidate from contesting on the basis of tax evasion or defaulting ? Sharif's and even current opposition leader have cases pending against them in the NAB. We all know that majority of parliamentarians even don't pay taxes.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) President Javed Hashmi's startling claims of a scripted political crisis being engineered in Pakistan has led to widespread speculation among analysts that a version of the 'Bangladesh Model' may be in the works.

"Imran had told the PTI core committee it won't be called a martial law," Hashmi alleged at a press conference, hinting at a covert form of takeover by the military establishment, using PTI Chairman Imran Khan and Chief of the Pakistan Awami Tehreek Tahir-ul-Qadri as their instruments.

The 'Bangladesh Model', a soft coup, is based on the idea that the political system must be cleansed of corrupt elements for the welfare of the public, which perhaps has been left incapacitated to elect honest leaders.

The model works on the premise that the military and judiciary must intervene to help differentiate the 'right' from the 'wrong' before it is too late. The model stipulates that the democracy that follows such a 'cleansing' is therefore a truer form since the people have been rightly 'guided' and are now able to make informed decisions.

Technocrats, current and former officials aligned with the military and judiciary play a vital role in the implementation of the 'Bangladesh Model' of which the strings are pulled from the background and through an interim government that remains in power for a lengthy period as happened in Bangladesh in 2007

So, what's next on the script guys? [MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

And i want your opinion on this Bangladesh Model just as a student , not necessarily in the light of this current political spectrum. [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] [MENTION=3327]Indiafan[/MENTION] [MENTION=236]Vegitto[/MENTION]

May be its time for Bangladesh Model then? Has the system been left incapacitated to elect honest leaders?

Allowing people like Nawaz and Zardari to contest elections or to hold public office is a slap across the face of any true democrat.

A MNA is our representative, where majority live below the poverty line how can our representatives afford such an expensive life style without accounting for it? No tax returns, no proof of income etc.

We have known MNA's going from rags to riches after winning elections, please tell me how thats possible in a democracy?

Please tell me why Shahbaz Sharif was not disqualified for saying he will end load-shedding in 6 months and later his brother said those were only election slogans? basically lying is acceptable to mislead uneducated masses?

In light of the above issues, I think it is extremely important to make an example out of Nawaz Sharif, Shahbaz Sharif and co. Public hangings once corruption charges are proven. No mercy.

if we have learnt anything in the era of so called democracy since 2008 other than ppp and pmln being corrupted king parties, IT IS THAT EACH AND EVERY ACTION OF MUSHARRAF HAS BEEN JUSTIFIED.

You know the first amendment BB and NS wanted in the constitution was to remove the limit of how many times one can be elected as PM. Just goes to show how greedy and desperate they are for power.

And did the leader of your protest keep threatening to pull the PM out by his neck and drag him on to the streets?

No idea what point you think you are arguing. Basically in a proper democracy you are allowed to protest no matter how outrageous your demands. Anjem Choudary has protested outside No.10 Downing Street and not got tear-gassed or baton charged.

Forget about all the rigging on election day, but tell me have they barred a single candidate from contesting on the basis of tax evasion or defaulting ? Sharif's and even current opposition leader have cases pending against them in the NAB. We all know that majority of parliamentarians even don't pay taxes.

So, what's next on the script guys? [MENTION=2071]saadibaba[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

And i want your opinion on this Bangladesh Model just as a student , not necessarily in the light of this current political spectrum. [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] [MENTION=3327]Indiafan[/MENTION] [MENTION=236]Vegitto[/MENTION]

I prefer the Russian model, get a strong honest ex general like Putin by rigging elections

All the usual suspects from Asma Jehangir to Hussain Haqqani rejoicing Hashmi's revelations, same people who termed Afzal Khan's views as a part of script but i see many similarities and contradictions of these people.

They criticize Afzal Khan that why now but don't ask from Hashmi why so late?

Afzal Khan made arrangements for elections, held press conferences but then again Javed Hashmi also traveled far and wide to encourage Pti workers for this long march.

How on earth elections could be possible in the month of September? Afzal Khan did not make such a ludicrous comment at least.

Javed Hashmi said that Imran had been assured of the support of 5 core commanders and chief justice. Does it sound logical at all?

This is the same Javed Hashmi who despite being President of PTI, announced on the floor of the parliament that "Nawaz Sharif was my leader and still is"

So, if it is scripted then what's left in it? Violence has already resulted in 3 confirmed deaths. Are they waiting for more deaths to launch a coup? Protesters are only going to decrease.