PTI's Vice President Sindh Zahra Shahid Hussain shot dead in Karachi

To be very honest, Karachi situation is one thing Imran and Sharif can have some kind agreement on. I don't think PMLN has anything to lose if MQM dies its natural death but they have so much at stake if the Karachi situation doesn't get revolved, especially with a change of COAS. How long before MQM stat pulling the Punjabi card? This kind of crap certainly won't sit well with PMLN as a party nor with its supporters. I do think the ball is in PMLN's court in regards to MQM.

agree to do what exactly? you're making it sound like the people of Karachi are cattle that can be brushed aside with a stun gun and MQM are roaming the streets like an African militia.

Its up to Karachiites to decide who they give their mandate to, and so far it is heavily in favor of MQM.

when push comes to shove they will always play the Muhajir card, that is what they have always done.

up to the people to rise above that.

agree to do what exactly? you're making it sound like the people of Karachi are cattle that can be brushed aside with a stun gun and MQM are roaming the streets like an African militia.

Its up to Karachiites to decide who they give their mandate to, and so far it is heavily in favor of MQM.

when push comes to shove they will always play the Muhajir card, that is what they have always done.

true I see and hear it often. When push comes to shove even the educated intelligent Muhajir will vote for the MQM out of sheer ethnic bias, then blame punjabis for everything else! Its pathetic!

At least agree to hand in the evidence files to Met police, Musharraf and PPP had reasons to keep MQM alive and breathing, I don't see how appeasing MQM will benefit PMLN when there's bloodshed, protests, shutter down hartaal and high profile murders taking place in the city everyday.

Karachiits can rise up but I don't think Pakistan's young and immature democracy can handle another blood revolution, unless PMLN is seriously looking to only rule for another 24 months, then I guess Karachi crisis probably goes in their favour.

Amazing that u can have an operation in malakand and displace millions and use scorch earth policy there
And in fata level whole villages and displace 100000's and take on a foe in ttp and Uzbeks who are much better fighter than some Mqm goon.
Yet u can't do an operation in Karachi where muhajirs are not even a majority there are millions of people from other areas living in Karachi who easily make 50 % of the population. There is around 7-10 million Pakhtuns /hindkowans/ afghans in Karachi earning a living.

So what peoples mandate are we talking about muhajirs made 48% of the population in 1998 census it's been 15 yrs since then how are they still a majority there when Karachi has seen huge influx from people from other parts of pakistan

If operation happens in Karachi nothing will happen to pakistan , all this crap there will be civil war , a crisis.

There was no crisis in malakand and fata when army went in there.

What's gonna happen if operation does happen is altaf Hussain gonna send commandos and suicide bombers to blow Lahore up, and assasinate Kiyani with a car bomb.

Karachi needs an operation end of story and mqm need to be bought to task and put on trial.

People's mandate my backside .

Amazing that u can have an operation in malakand and displace millions and use scorch earth policy there
And in fata level whole villages and displace 100000's and take on a foe in ttp and Uzbeks who are much better fighter than some Mqm goon.
Yet u can't do an operation in Karachi where muhajirs are not even a majority there are millions of people from other areas living in Karachi who easily make 50 % of the population. There is around 7-10 million Pakhtuns /hindkowans/ afghans in Karachi earning a living.

So what peoples mandate are we talking about muhajirs made 48% of the population in 1998 census it's been 15 yrs since then how are they still a majority there when Karachi has seen huge influx from people from other parts of pakistan

If operation happens in Karachi nothing will happen to pakistan , all this crap there will be civil war , a crisis.

There was no crisis in malakand and fata when army went in there.

What's gonna happen if operation does happen is altaf Hussain gonna send commandos and suicide bombers to blow Lahore up, and assasinate Kiyani with a car bomb.

Karachi needs an operation end of story and mqm need to be bought to task and put on trial.

People's mandate my backside .

MQM is too deeprooted for it to be just wiped out by a single operation. You are talking about a party which has established itself now for 25+ years. I see even young kids nowadays in Karachi who act like they are some mafia.
MQM cannot be wiped out with an operation, you need something more than that to control Karachi.

Why does sc or parlement not talk abt karachi situation?

I mean mqm is the main problem of karachi!

They give dhamkis in front of everyone.

Dont understand these baste...ds

Almost all the police men who took part in operation back in early 90s have been eliminated one by one by Namaloom afraad.......

MQM stages huge demonstration in front of the white house against Imran Khan. This looks scary. Its just so big!!!

demo-usa-000319-1.jpg

true I see and hear it often. When push comes to shove even the educated intelligent Muhajir will vote for the MQM out of sheer ethnic bias, then blame punjabis for everything else! Its pathetic!

speak for yourself

it was the educated muhajirs who protested in NA 250 and got what they want

more shameless are the so called educated lahories and rest of punjab ) who voted Noora league for the 5th time and became fools agai

It is our responsibility to attack and discourage people like these

Let's be honest, we all know that one person who hates Muhajirs or Pathans

and when a Pathan tells me something bad about a Muhajir I always get angry and say it in a serious matter that I don't enjoy anything racist.

People like these cause Muhajirs to believe that MQM is their party.

and the same people make Pakhtoons believe ANP is their party.

You cannot deny that some people on this board generally attack mohajirs under the cloak of attacking mqm. I hate mqm more than anything right now but even find mysel defending it here sometime because i know the target was just not mqm but the urdu speaking community

i am so pround that peopele of KPK looked beyond their ethnicity and voted out ANP. my consitituency na 250 did same and i hope karachi follows suit

You cannot deny that some people on this board generally attack mohajirs under the cloak of attacking mqm. I hate mqm more than anything right now but even find mysel defending it here sometime because i know the target was just not mqm but the urdu speaking community

i am so pround that peopele of KPK looked beyond their ethnicity and voted out ANP. my consitituency na 250 did same and i hope karachi follows suit

Not only this board, even in Pakistan.

I agree. It happens.

We just have to ignore such people. If those people are from Punjab, Punjabis themselves need to tell them that if you don't accept them we don't accept you.

Likewise, if a Pakhtoon tells me something about Punjabis or Mohajirs I will tell them to stfu and concentrate on themselves. I always say this to my people, a real man fights a man, Not a race.

I am born in Karachi. I am more concerned about Karachi than what Punjab thinks about us, or PMNL. Regardless of their frustrated responses in the light of recent events, MQM is responsible for what is happening in Karachi. It's not Punjab and neither is Punjabi people. A lot of Punjabi people have moved from Karachi to Punjab after the recent activities of MQM and more are planning to go back. This is kind of embarrassing especially for Karachi people who can't be more open to diversity; rather encourage the behavior as i highlighted the pattern above. Several people including my family moved to Punjab and they are happy over there - no hassle with crime activities where they are. People in Punjab are progressed a lot and they are matured now. People in Punjab voted Nawaz Sharif for his contribution in Punjab as Punjab has improved a lot in comparable to the past.

Whereas Karachi is in disintegration to a unstable city rapidly. We have ourselves to blame. Blaming Punjab or Punjabi isn't gonna help Karachi to move on. Time to grow up and act like adult for Allaah's sake. At this moment, we [in Karachi] are more racist than the entire world. That's correct. Sooner we acknowledge the fact; the better it's for Karachi which means the betterment for Pakistan as well. No one in sane mind would support MQM after what it indulges in certain activities anger Allaah the most and destabilize the economical city - at one time predicted to be next Dubai. People in Karachi suffer the most at the hand of MQM and the presence of MQM means the end of dignity for common people - Follow Salman Ahmad's thread http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=178154

Unfortunately, what i highlighted in bold is just trailer and leave the imagination to yourselves to judge what would be happening in Karachi. It's not issue of PMNL anymore. It's issue of MQM - a dangerous criminal organization that threatens the ideology of Pakistan. People in Karachi need to be united against MQM. Do that first and then focus on PMNL. PMNL shouldn't be concern for Karachi; rather it's MQM they should be concerned of.

I apologize in advance if i have upset anyone. The truth is bitter sometimes. May Allaah (SWT) punishes MQM and guides the supporters of MQM to the right path, Ameen!

We have lost a honest Elder sister to MQM, and it won't be far when it will be those people who live in Karachi. Think deeply on this issue. Stop the racist card and stand united against MQM for our elder sister whom we have lost fighting for "Naya" Pakistan. May Allaah (SWT) accepts her contribution and grants her in Ever-Lasting Paradise, Ameen!

then you are the one who has the problem here since you equate criticizing MQM = criticizing Mohajir community.

or will you also deny that MQM play the Mohajir card when they under pressure?

personally even dislike using the word, has too many negative connotations.

in this day and age where we now have 4th generation Pakistanis, there are no Mohajirs.

Not only this board, even in Pakistan.

I agree. It happens.

We just have to ignore such people. If those people are from Punjab, Punjabis themselves need to tell them that if you don't accept them we don't accept you.

Likewise, if a Pakhtoon tells me something about Punjabis or Mohajirs I will tell them to stfu and concentrate on themselves. I always say this to my people, a real man fights a man, Not a race.

LOL this is hilarious, couple of posts back you were calling for MQM to be exterminated and now this.

Muhajir - one single word which has accounted for thousands of lives !

I was born in Pakistan, my mother was born in Pakistan. For the love of God people stop using that word, it has done enough damage already !

@MalikMohsin

People of Karachi have voted for change. Make no mistake, PTI could've easily won 4-5 more seats if it wasnt for MQM thappa mafia. This despite of anti-MQM vote being divided between PTI, JI and PPP

two things

1) two alleged killers, prime suspects of Imran Farooq murder case were arrested at Islamabad airport by ISI and disappeared mysteriously. Rehman Malik quickly denied any such arrest taking place but news is widespread that those two were held hostage by PPP to have better control over MQM. Scotland Yard have repeatedly requested to hand-over those people. That is the first thing mian sahab MUST do.

2) de weaponized Karachi - Every Tom, Dick and Harry know about militant wings of MQM, PPP and even ANP in Karachi but nobody took action before because these were ruling party. Now is the time for PML-N to put strong checks in place of all entry/exits, stop the flow of weapons. They wont need any operation if they succeed with this

very sad. May her soul rest in peace

Even more retarded than Altaf are his followers who sit their like slaves and applaud every word of this crying drunken maniac

Killing a 60 year old lady by shooting her in the head

How you can kill a 60-year-old lady for political differences? SICK

And our slavish media should stop referring to this moron as Quaid, na shakal, na aqal, na baat karne ka dhung. Calling others names like "kuttey ka pilla" shows what sort of background and upbringing Altaf has. And yet he has a cult following.

LOL this is hilarious, couple of posts back you were calling for MQM to be exterminated and now this.

It makes more sense how you're a noora supporter now.

MQM = Mohajir right?

Pathetic.

I still believe their top leadership should be eliminated.

MQM is not a race ! they hard to represent one but fail everytime !

oho I don't mind in that sense, just how Badsha sahab's views swing from one end to the other.

one minute calling for war other minute acting like a peacenik :wahab

oho I don't mind in that sense, just how Badsha sahab's views swing from one end to the other.

one minute calling for war other minute acting like a peacenik :wahab

???????

War against MQM

Peace against Muhajirs.

What's wrong in my stance?

???????

War against MQM

Peace against Muhajirs.

What's wrong in my stance?

People are against MQM aka Criminal organization. It has nothing to do with Muhajirs. They are Pakistani people. They represents Pakistan. It's MQM who incites bloodshed using ethnic card and people fall for the trap unfortunately. MQM is no different than TTP. Both use their cards wisely despite of the fact that they are traitor to Pakistan, Allahu Alim. Anyone who support MQM and TTP are not Pakistani. [messages to the supporters of MQM and TTP]

16 May 2013 Last updated at 16: 43 GMT

Pakistan MQM's Altaf Hussain attracts UK police interest

Police in London say they are investigating complaints against a UK-based Pakistani politician to see if he has violated UK law.

Altaf Hussain, leader of the MQM party that controls Karachi, addressed supporters from London last Sunday after Pakistan's general elections.

In response to accusations of electoral fraud, he is alleged to have threatened his accusers with violence.

Mr Hussain says that his remarks were taken out of context.

London's Metropolitan Police confirmed to the BBC that an investigation had been launched "following complaints concerning comments made in a broadcast" by Mr Hussain.

Since the mid-1980s, the MQM has won every poll it has contested in Karachi and it did so again in last Saturday's general election.

But this time, it is facing strong and widespread allegations of rigging and electoral fraud.

Half a dozen smaller parties, led by former international cricketer Imran Khan's Movement for Justice Party (PTI), have been holding rallies and sit-ins to demand a re-run in Karachi.

On Sunday, addressing party workers from London, Mr Hussain responded to the allegations by appearing to threaten protesters with violence, and suggesting that if his party's mandate was tampered with, Karachi would have no choice but to separate from Pakistan.

During his speech he referred to protests taking place near the Three Swords roundabout in Karachi.

"Those people who are protesting - and grandstanding - near Three Swords - I don't want to fight or quarrel, but if I order my supporters now, they will go to Three Swords and turn them into a reality."

He added: "MQM is blamed for everything. I say, oppose us with respect and decency, and with proof, otherwise I will soon unleash my supporters."

Karachi is wracked with violence - much of it politically motivated.

Mr Hussain has since said that his remarks, which were broadcast on live TV, were taken out of context.

Possible prosecution
On Wednesday, the British High Commissioner in Pakistan, Adam Thomson, told a news conference that the UK took allegations of inciting hatred very seriously.

He said it was up to the police in London to determine whether Mr Hussain's remarks violated British laws, and whether or not he could face prosecution.

The BBC's Shahzeb Jillani in Karachi says that Mr Hussain effectively controls the city of 18 million people from his MQM headquarters in north London.

He has lived in the UK since 1991, saying his life would be at risk if he returned to Pakistan.

The MQM (Muttahida Qaumi Movement) is supported mainly by Muslim Urdu-speaking people whose families moved to Sindh province at the time of the partition of India in 1947.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-22559282

then you are the one who has the problem here since you equate criticizing MQM = criticizing Mohajir community.

or will you also deny that MQM play the Mohajir card when they under pressure?

personally even dislike using the word, has too many negative connotations.

in this day and age where we now have 4th generation Pakistanis, there are no Mohajirs.

you know what the funny thing is when I was living in karachi i didnt know what a muhajir was. I used to think all pakistanis were just pakistanis! Then one lovely day I was given an abject lesson in ethnic politics 8 yr old school boy style. Basically my ethnicity, and birth place were a matter of ridicule. I still didnt get it.

eventually it sunk in. Still didnt get it 100 percent. Then the songs started on the school bus. Then the questions "are you a punjabi? are you a pathan?" "what do you think of altaf bhai?" "abay yay to Zia ka cheala hay" " teray bina kya jeena altaaf hussseinnnn, why are nt you singing along? oh yeah your a punjabi" granted this was a significant minority. Most people muhajir and non were perfectly fine great people.

Then one spring day we packed our bags and legged it out of karachi. "halaat kharaab ho gain hain" was the only explanation. So there I was homeless for about six months, living from a suitcase at my grans in punjab.

I just found out after over 20 years why the sudden departure. well lets just say If i hadnt left i wouldnt be on this forum.

you know what the funny thing is when I was living in karachi i didnt know what a muhajir was. I used to think all pakistanis were just pakistanis! Then one lovely day I was given an abject lesson in ethnic politics 8 yr old school boy style. Basically my ethnicity, and birth place were a matter of ridicule. I still didnt get it.

eventually it sunk in. Still didnt get it 100 percent. Then the songs started on the school bus. Then the questions "are you a punjabi? are you a pathan?" "what do you think of altaf bhai?" "abay yay to Zia ka cheala hay" " teray bina kya jeena altaaf hussseinnnn, why are nt you singing along? oh yeah your a punjabi" granted this was a significant minority. Most people muhajir and non were perfectly fine great people.

Then one spring day we packed our bags and legged it out of karachi. "halaat kharaab ho gain hain" was the only explanation. So there I was homeless for about six months, living from a suitcase at my grans in punjab.

I just found out after over 20 years why the sudden departure. well lets just say If i hadnt left i wouldnt be on this forum.
Sorry to hear about your experience man . If it makes you feel any better , your parents made the right decision moving out of Karachi . At least they had teh means to do so . Halat weren't just kharab for non-muhajirs only . They were kharab for everyone. I still remember running and ducking for cover after jummah prayers because of random shooting incidents and i lived in what was considered an MQM area. Operation cleanup wasn't all that pretty either.

RIP, really poor security situation out there in Pak it seems, even for the VIPs. Killing VP of a political party is quite big and i already see the fanboys being more concerned about point scoring and actually forgetting the one who died in all this mess. This is pure madness, there are some things regarding which all parties are supposed to be united. Security is one such thing. If your opponents are safe, you wont be safe either on another in another city so why indulge in such activities? Pretty desperate power struggle, poor signs.

Sorry to hear about your experience man . If it makes you feel any better , your parents made the right decision moving out of Karachi . At least they had teh means to do so . Halat weren't just kharab for non-muhajirs only . They were kharab for everyone. I still remember running and ducking for cover after jummah prayers because of random shooting incidents and i lived in what was considered an MQM area. Operation cleanup wasn't all that pretty either.

totally agree, alot of my friends were what we would call muhajir etc and they used to dodge bullets etc to get to school. Then the weirdest thing was seeing gates being erected in our street. It was just surreal!

lol ...

More than 50% of karachi are non muhaajir. Secondly Punjabis are prolly the safest community in Karachi. its the urdu speaking and pathans which bear the brunt of all the troubles.

lol at the exaggeration of not being on this forum if you had stayed in karachi

People are against MQM aka Criminal organization. It has nothing to do with Muhajirs. They are Pakistani people. They represents Pakistan. It's MQM who incites bloodshed using ethnic card and people fall for the trap unfortunately. MQM is no different than TTP. Both use their cards wisely despite of the fact that they are traitor to Pakistan, Allahu Alim. Anyone who support MQM and TTP are not Pakistani. [messages to the supporters of MQM and TTP]

lol at the sweeping statement in bold

are you using your mullah fatwa powers?

every party in this country bar PTI uses the ethnic card and majority parties also have militant wings. the reason mqm gained so popularity was due to the persecution by the Punjabi establishment and Zia wanting to divide the people of Sindh in their opposition to him.

If Karachi wasnt the economic hub of the country, then nobody would give two hoots about it and it would have been another east pakistan or balochistan but kya karay Establishment ki majboor hai keh they survive on revenues from out city

Establiahment should take a good look at how cia does things....

Take out top mqm leadership and then go after the minions street to street and end this terror organisation once and for all.

lol at the sweeping statement in bold

are you using your mullah fatwa powers?

every party in this country bar PTI uses the ethnic card and majority parties also have militant wings. the reason mqm gained so popularity was due to the persecution by the Punjabi establishment and Zia wanting to divide the people of Sindh in their opposition to him.

If Karachi wasnt the economic hub of the country, then nobody would give two hoots about it and it would have been another east pakistan or balochistan but kya karay Establishment ki majboor hai keh they survive on revenues from out city

This part is sadly what MQM has put into your mind. This is the very theory of victimization which has bred MQM and made it into what it is today.
This theory of no one cares about Karachi or Muhajirs, and Muhajirs will be murdered in broad daylight if it weren't for MQM has sadly grown to such an extent now that people feel Karachi is not needed in Pakistan.

My friend, every city in Pakistan has its own priority. Every nation in this world runs because it has certain cities which are known for its agriculture, certain for its business, certain for governance. What Karachi is to Pakistan, is what Mumbai is to India, is what New York is to US, is what London is to UK. You need to correct your mentality about this.

We all are Pakistanis, ethinicities/castes/sects come second to this. Please give way to this thinking. Even if bias did exist 20-30 years ago, that has long gone now, and this generation has a new mindset, and we want change for the betterment of Pakistan not just for one city.

Good post. My uncle was in MQM in 90's when he was murdered. MQM advertises hate. Altaf should be arrested. They r crimnals. I do not support any poster who attacks urdu speaking people under the cover MQM. By the way we need to stop calling ourselves muhajir. We were born in pakistan and therefore we r proud pakistanis. We support leaders who cares for pakistan. I am a big supporter of IK

Isn't that just how you perceive it because you are an urdu speaker and you relate MQM as representative of urdu speakers? That's a label (muhajirs) the MQM adopted for themselves and they haven't done enough to convince the rest of the population they've left it behind.

That maybe true as well but there are still some posters who don't hide their resentment against urdu speakers too well and criticize a whole group of people under the guise of criticizing MQM. Just the other day I read a post where the guy was talking about the army should" smack the papadum out of "their" hands and haleem and nihari out "their" back side"

not really. If it was just bashing mqm then it would be clear to me. I despise mqm now. But in some posts you can easily tell that while the poster is attacking mqm in words, his real target is urdu speaking people.

Phrases like 'send them back to india' , 'your lot' etc etc clearly shows that the target is an ethnicity and not just the party.

Good post. My uncle was in MQM in 90's when he was murdered. MQM advertises hate. Altaf should be arrested. They r crimnals. I do not support any poster who attacks urdu speaking people under the cover MQM. By the way we need to stop calling ourselves muhajir. We were born in pakistan and therefore we r proud pakistanis. We support leaders who cares for pakistan. I am a big supporter of IK

i call myself just Pakistanis on most occassions but our beloved countrymen like to term ourselves as 'punjabis , sindhis' etc etc..

Usually to a stranger i say Pakistani, and if he prods further, i say 'Urdu speaking sindhi'

[/B]

This part is sadly what MQM has put into your mind. This is the very theory of victimization which has bred MQM and made it into what it is today.
This theory of no one cares about Karachi or Muhajirs, and Muhajirs will be murdered in broad daylight if it weren't for MQM has sadly grown to such an extent now that people feel Karachi is not needed in Pakistan.

My friend, every city in Pakistan has its own priority. Every nation in this world runs because it has certain cities which are known for its agriculture, certain for its business, certain for governance. What Karachi is to Pakistan, is what Mumbai is to India, is what New York is to US, is what London is to UK. You need to correct your mentality about this.

We all are Pakistanis, ethinicities/castes/sects come second to this. Please give way to this thinking. Even if bias did exist 20-30 years ago, that has long gone now, and this generation has a new mindset, and we want change for the betterment of Pakistan not just for one city.

Not really. It is quite true that people only care about Karachi because the country runs on our revenue and the rest of the country doesnt bother to pay taxes, by and large.

This can be even shown on the board by the fact that posters here are so ready, and in fact gleefully hoping, that there is an army operation in Karachi

^ indeed, Karachi the lank of milk and honey, where the streets are paved with gold.

An Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) in Karachi on Friday handed the death sentence to Mohammad Rashid alias Master and Zahid Abbas Zaidi for the murder of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf leader Zahra Shahid in 2013.

The court, however, set free Irfan and Kaleem due to lack of evidence against them.

According to Rangers' prosecutor, both the convicts were associates of the London based group of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and had confessed to their involvement in the murder.

During the course of proceedings in the case, eyewitnesses had identified the convicts during a parade in the presence of a magistrate. According to the prosecution, they had killed Shahid to scare the PTI leadership in Karachi.

The police claimed to have arrested Rashid in an illicit weapons case on Sept 25, 2013. The prosecution claimed that during interrogations he had confessed to his involvement in the case of the PTI leader. Later, the police arrested Zahid Abbas Zaidi on Oct 2, 2013.

Shahid, a senior leader of the PTI, was shot dead outside her house in the Defence Housing Authority on May 18, 2013.

A case had been registered under Sections 302 (premeditated murder) and 34 (common intention) of the Pakistan Penal Code read with Section 7 of the Anti-Terrorism Act, 1997 at the Gizri police station.

Hours after the veteran party leader was shot dead, PTI Chairman Imran Khan had blamed the MQM for her murder.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1430127/2-mqm-workers-handed-death-sentence-for-murder-of-zahra-shahid