Punjab (India) assembly elections 2017

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Bihar election was the most epic battle i have witnessed in many years. I think the focus now must shift to Punjab which is no more just a regional parties tussle but many of the issues of Punjab now must concern the rest of India as well.

Also the elections are important because of AAP's serious participation. They want to conquer their 2nd major province in north India after Delhi and if they succeed, India's political landscape would become rather exciting, if it isn't already with AAP successfully opening a 3rd front.

The right wing folks have also been rather active lately and completely hijacked the recent Guru Granth Saheb discretion issue.

The incumbent Badals are fast losing the support of their vote bank as the paendoo sikhs have turned their backs on them. The urban sikhs didn'[t like them much to begin with.

Another major development has been the appointment of Captain Amrinder Singh as Punjab congress head. Captain is riding on a wave but Congress is a mess and would be interesting how Amrinder manages to reunite Congress and project them as a reasoanle option to the people of Punjab who are fed up with both major parties.

Interesting times ahead but hopefully the end results aren't as disastrous as in BJP. Punjabies can't afford to waste their votes this time around.l Last 8 years under Badals have been a mess.

Thread title should be changed to Indian-Punjab or East Punjab cause on a Pakistani forum, Punjab infers the one we have.

There is only 1 Punjab. The land of the 5 rivers.

Yeah, I know the Pakistan one. The Indian one is Doab lmao, land of only 2 rivers. Hence the overcompensation in everything.

Not the place to discuss such things.

Gentle reminder to all, please don't post ion this thread if you do not have anything to offer or cannot participate in the actual discussion. Kindly use PP leagues to boost your post counts. Thanks

I heard Indian Punjab is one of the most prosperous state in India. What party has done the most work? I bet it was Congress.

Punjabi community is the most well off, its down to their progressive attitude. Wherever the Punjabis go, they toil hard and make their family proud. Punjabi's economy has been ruined though, there's not much industrial set up over here compared to many other states, we're also losing our agriculture edge over others and this all resulted in Punjab losing political clout in India though the community remains probably the most respected.

Not only that but broken in the south into three states. Himachal pradesh, haryana etc. :))

I never knew they were part of Indian Punjab. If we include those states Indian Punjab is bigger than ours. Britain should have given us more land.

Those areas are not as fertile himachal is mostly mountains and haryana is almost an urbanised area.

2017 is a long time away in politics. Badal may not even be alive then which ironically would probably be a positive for his party when it comes to their electoral performance.

There is only one Punjab and that is the one in India, the one in Pakistan is now Urdujab. Kaise ho bhai?

As soon as someone mentions Punjab or Punjabi the first thing someone thinks of is Indian Punjabi culture. After all it is the Indian Punjabis who promote Punjabi culture like Bhangra, Bolyan, Gidda, Kabaddi.

Himachal and Haryana were only put into Punjab by the British and have never been Punjabi speaking, they have their own languages of Pahari and Haryanvi.

We have "LAHORE" though :)

2017 is a long time away in politics. Badal may not even be alive then which ironically would probably be a positive for his party when it comes to their electoral performance.

Prakash Singh Badal is a legend of Punjab siyaasat. He will be missed once he is gone. Its his munda Sukhi (who takes Bhuki) that people hate.

Overall though, Captain Sahb is at his peak. He is the strongest force in Punjab siyaasat today.

Punjab needs a separation of religion and state. It's ridiculous that Badal and the Akalis can hire and fire the jathedars of the Akal Takht and also have an influence when it comes to other religious appointees. Whichever party proposes to break this link will do well in the polls.

The British Canadian Gyani folks have ruined Punjab. No mote Gyanism for God sake, Punjab is becoming the Sikh version of Mullahcracy.

I dream of a day when all states in India ruled by BJP. That will begin the true process of develop India.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

The British Canadian Gyani folks have ruined Punjab. No mote Gyanism for God sake, Punjab is becoming the Sikh version of Mullahcracy.

Drug and Alcohol abuse is ruining Punjab, the genocide of India's daughters (foetuses) is ruining Punjab, widespread corruption within the political class and the police is ruining Punjab - what does that have to do with Brits or Canadians?

Sure the brand of Sikhism practiced by certain sections of the British and North American Sikh community is more extreme, intolerant and less pluralistic to the one we see in India (and they're trying their best to export this to India) however this is just one small problem Punjab faces - the main ones have nothing to do with religion or extremism. Politicians in India simply use this as an excuse to cover up for domestic failings.

I dream of a day when all states in India ruled by BJP. That will begin the true process of develop India.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

They will be royally booted out of Punjab come 2017 just like in Delhi and Bihar. Lets face it guys, we messed up. Modi has fooled us all in believing BJP, they have been an utter shame and the sooner we get rid off them the better provided we still have one country by the time they're done breaking all communal harmony.

Drug and Alcohol abuse is ruining Punjab, the genocide of India's daughters (foetuses) is ruining Punjab, widespread corruption within the political class and the police is ruining Punjab - what does that have to do with Brits or Canadians?

Sure the brand of Sikhism practiced by certain sections of the British and North American Sikh community is more extreme, intolerant and less pluralistic to the one we see in India (and they're trying their best to export this to India) however this is just one small problem Punjab faces - the main ones have nothing to do with religion or extremism. Politicians in India simply use this as an excuse to cover up for domestic failings.

NRI Gyanis do their best to get Indian Punjabi Sikhs to alienate from their Hindu brothers. Gyanism has been on the rise and that no substance moron Simranjeet Singh Mann leaves no opportunity to bring up Khalistan. The Sarbat Khalsa was a total sham, totally hijacked by these no value Gyanis. Sikhism is officially at its lowest point right now with Akal Takht becoming a joke. Do you not feel hurt seeing these Gyanis turn every other festive moment at Golden temple into chaos every other week? These guys have taken innocent Punjabi youth's sentiments for a ride and are playing dirty politics. We simply cannot get back on the development track until the Gyanis are sent back to Brit Canada Pakistan. Indian Sikhs are better off and want jobs like you said, not blood warming speeches.

It's nonsense to suggest that Punjab 'cannot get back on the development track until the Gyanis are sent back to Brit Canada Pakistan'. The Khalistanis, the Deras, the pakhandi babas etc are a symptom of political mismanagement in Punjab. Sort out the latter and you take away the fuel which these idiots thrive on.

NRI Gyanis do their best to get Indian Punjabi Sikhs to alienate from their Hindu brothers. Gyanism has been on the rise and that no substance moron Simranjeet Singh Mann leaves no opportunity to bring up Khalistan. The Sarbat Khalsa was a total sham, totally hijacked by these no value Gyanis. Sikhism is officially at its lowest point right now with Akal Takht becoming a joke. Do you not feel hurt seeing these Gyanis turn every other festive moment at Golden temple into chaos every other week? These guys have taken innocent Punjabi youth's sentiments for a ride and are playing dirty politics. We simply cannot get back on the development track until the Gyanis are sent back to Brit Canada Pakistan. Indian Sikhs are better off and want jobs like you said, not blood warming speeches.

Most likely a 4 way battle between Akalis BJP Congress and AAP.

I thought u were gud at politics. but...:(
bJP and akalis are together. dont you know this? and BJP akali aliance is going to get booted out of punjab this time.

if elections are held right now it will be a fight b/w congress and AAP. 6 months back AAP would have won it easily. AAP needs a strong leader face in punjab asap.

I thought u were gud at politics. but...:(
bJP and akalis are together. dont you know this? and BJP akali aliance is going to get booted out of punjab this time.

if elections are held right now it will be a fight b/w congress and AAP. 6 months back AAP would have won it easily. AAP needs a strong leader face in punjab asap.
Alliance will break.

yeah. one of my friend is a bjp member and im hearing this from him since 2013(before lok sabha). but it wont.
becauce:
BJP has no hold(not even an inch) in rural punjab and they know it. they will not get more then 10-12 seats if the fight alone.(that too just for dumping sukhi badal). so they wont breakup.
2. Badals know its not their turn. and they are going to loose city votes anyway. because they know the satyanash they have done to industry and other business by there sale taxes. and they want to stay relevent for next 5 years, so wont give away harsimrat badal(sukhis wife) ministry.
so it doesn't matter what BJP fanbois say they both will not break alliance.

yeah. one of my friend is a bjp member and im hearing this from him since 2013(before lok sabha). but it wont.
becauce:
BJP has no hold(not even an inch) in rural punjab and they know it. they will not get more then 10-12 seats if the fight alone.(that too just for dumping sukhi badal). so they wont breakup.
2. Badals know its not their turn. and they are going to loose city votes anyway. because they know the satyanash they have done to industry and other business by there sale taxes. and they want to stay relevent for next 5 years, so wont give away harsimrat badal(sukhis wife) ministry.
so it doesn't matter what BJP fanbois say they both will not break alliance.
Alliance will break.I can guarantee you

bookmarked!!
it wont. because its not good for both of them. Badals wont let go center Gov's ministry. never ever. and BJP if wanted to fight alone they would have started working very hard in rural punjab atleast a year back. it will be big blow to BJP/Modi image if the fight alone and get single digit score.

NRI ji thand paa lo.

BJP is in bed with the Akalis. The Sadbhawana rally laid to rest all rumours regarding a split. BJP alone has no standing in Punjab regardless how high they think of thesmselves. The 2014 elections are a history and the Bhajpa gang is getting isolated everywhere in India. Don't even see Modi retaining his seat in next elections to be honest. Totally exposed to the core thanks to a stupid party.

It's nonsense to suggest that Punjab 'cannot get back on the development track until the Gyanis are sent back to Brit Canada Pakistan'. The Khalistanis, the Deras, the pakhandi babas etc are a symptom of political mismanagement in Punjab. Sort out the latter and you take away the fuel which these idiots thrive on.

Gyanization is currently Punjab's biggest issue as far as I am concerned. If not fo the Gyani folks, the Dera guys are a bunch of harmless lalluus. Its the Gyanis who are unsettled because well Dera poses a significant threat to certain self proclaimed champions of Khalsa as their source of revenue and jagirdari.

SGPC is a total sham. All religious institutions in India should come under one nationalized govt body with independent audit but why does no party show the balls to bring this issue across the table. We are being taken for a ride in the name of religion.

Akal Takht is another inat that lost its value ages ago and I'd rather see it shut than embarrass itself time and again.

Question to Sikhs and Gyanis both - Is it fun seeing the tantrums at Golden temple every month?

Silhs are now backing Amrinder Singh. I have over a 1000 sikh friends and the trend I see is a gradual shift from AAP bandwagon to Amrinder bandwagon. No love for Congress but Captain is riding on a massive wave, he could quote easily break off and form a separate party today and might still win the elections.

Bhagwant Mann's mentally unstable attitude has hurt AAP's Punjab chances though her still appeals massively to paendoo janta but that only eats up Badal's former share to an extent. In a triple threat, Congres wins this by ease if down to numbers game. Urban belt will be swept with ease, Patiala will be reclaimed as Dr.Gandhi as been a disappointment.

Kejriwal claims he is willing to 'attain martyrdom for Punjab' lol and boasts of eradicating 80% of all corruption in Delhi.

kejriwal-in-punjab_650x400_81452760891.jpg

Muktsar: Arvind Kejriwal today wore a bright yellow turban and asked Punjab to "break Delhi's record" in voting his Aam Aadmi Party to power, launching its campaign for the 2017 state elections at the Maghi Mela, a religious fair in Muktsar.

He made promises. Like a crore each for the families of security personnel martyred in the terror attack at the Pathankot air base, after an AAP government is formed in Punjab. He also invoked Guru Gobind Singh and Sikh pride. The hashtag #HopeofPunjabKejriwal, top Twitter trend on Thursday morning, continued to trend through the day.

Arvind Kejriwal has declared that Punjab is his party's next stop after the conquest of Delhi last year, shaking up the traditional political dynamics in Punjab, which has seen the Congress and the Akali Dal, along with partner BJP, in a straight contest for years.

Also at the Muktsar fair to address rallies in a show of strength, are Congress chief in Punjab Amrinder Singh and Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal and his son and deputy Sukhbir Badal of the Akali Dal. But Mr Kejriwal was billed as the star attraction.

The fair draws thousands of Sikh devotees and political workers from neighbouring districts.

The Congress recently effected a change of guard in the state, bringing in former chief minister Amrinder Singh as party chief to galavanise the state unit into a winning team in time for the elections. The Congress has been out of power for nine years, with the Akali Dal-BJP combine making history in 2012 by winning a second straight term. Punjab had, before that, always voted alternately.

All four seats that Arvind Kejriwal's AAP had won in its debut national election in 2014 were from Punjab and the party fancies its chances in the state especially after it spectacular performance in the Delhi assembly elections last year, when it swept 67 of the capital's 70 seats.

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/with...mpaign-today-1265636?pfrom=home-lateststories

Here are some quotes from Kejriwal’s speech at Maghi Mela

# “How can I be scared of Badal when I was not scared of Badal’s ‘Taau’ – Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who sent CBI to raid me? It is Mulayam, Mayawati or Badal who can get scared of CBI. I am not.”

# “People were fed up with corruption in Delhi. I took action against several officials who were charged with graft. Officers have now stopped demanding money. Though corruption has not been fully eliminated, we have been able to finish 80 per cent of corruption from Delhi.”

# “I was very hurt with the Kotakpura incident where the sacrilege incident occurred… Then on the directions of Badal, police opened fire on Sikh protesters who were peacefully protesting in which two persons died. I take a vow that those who were involved in the incidents of sacrilege will be put behind bars. I will also send cops who fired at innocent people and police officials who ordered them to fire behind bars.”

# “If I attain martyrdom for Punjab, then there will not be any problem.”

# On dynasty politics in Punjab: “You can see in the Badal government. Parkash Singh Badal is CM, his son Sukhbir Badal in Deputy CM, his daughter-in-law Harsimrat Badal is a (Union) minister. Harsimrat’s brother Bikram Majithia and Badal’s son-in-law are also ministers. Same in the case of Amarinder, his wife Preneet Kaur and son Raninder had also fought elections.”

# “Has the state government acted in providing justice to the Dalits? We will give justice to Dalits for atrocities committed on them during last 10 years.”

# “If voted to power in 2017, AAP govt will give Rs 1 crore compensation to the family of jawans who lost their lives in Pathankot attack.”
- See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/in...hi-mela-rally-in-punjab/#sthash.b8B5pTqX.dpuf

There was already an article somewhere which said Kejriwal has no plans to stick only to Delhi he wants to be a national personality and he knows AAP has one of the biggest Sikh political base he is exploiting it well.

So this is the route AAP are going down to win votes in Punjab.

Ca2Rid1W8AA8yih.jpg:medium

'Kejriwal poster' urging people to celebrate Bhindranwale's birthday sparks row in Punjab

A poster showing Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s photo alongside slain Sikh militant leader Jarnail Singh Bhindranwale has kicked off a row in Punjab.

The posters, which urge people to celebrate Bhindranwale's birthday on February 12 in the state’s gurdwaras, have gone viral on social media.

The poster also carries photos of AAP’s Punjab in-charge Sanjay Singh, state convenor Sucha Singh Chotepur, and party MP Bhagwant Mann.

The rival Congress party has accused AAP of fuelling unrest in the state, and of radicalising and misleading the youth by distributing controversial posters and asking people to bring ‘inqulab’ in the state.

The posters targeting the Congress and Akali Dal leaders were allegedly circulated in many parts of the state.

“The AAP is encouraging Naxals, radicals and separatists to further its agenda. They are fuelling unrest in Punjab and are trying to disrupt peace by asking people to celebrate the birth anniversary of Bhindranwale which will only push the state back to the dark age.

"AAP is welcome as a democratic party but the anarchy which it is trying to spread will not be tolerated,” former chief minister and Punjab Congress chief Captain Amarinder Singh told Mail Today.

Meanwhile, famous Punjabi singer and prominent Aam Aadmi Party leader Balkar Sidhu joined the Congress on Tuesday in the presence of state chief Amarinder and other senior leaders of the party.

Speaking on the occasion, Sidhu said the AAP no longer remained the party of the common people as its leaders were exploiting all their privileges like other politicians. They have started behaving worse than the traditional politicians, he added.

He also announced that he will be approaching the court to ask the AAP to prove the allegations it had levelled against him over a year ago.

He said: “The AAP has not come out with any proof so far despite me consistently asking for it.”

Meanwhile Aam Aadmi Party leaders denied the allegations and said the posters are being distributed by unknown persons. The party said it will talk about issues concerning Punjab and Amarinder was resorting to blatant lies.

“Captain Amarinder Singh is lying. We are not circulating the posters. We respect the law and want to reach out to all sections of society.

"The change we are talking about is about the life of the people, youth and women. We are not radicalising the youth but making them aware about the truth,” AAP leader Himmat Singh Shergill said.

Meanwhile, reacting to Captain’s inqulab barb, AAP leader Sukhpal Singh Khaira said it was the slogan of revolution that had brought freedom to India.

“Sensing his imminent defeat, Amarinder is now resorting to a smear campaign against AAP terming it a party of anarchists,” he added.

He said that Amarinder must remember the fate that the BJP met in Delhi, when PM Modi had called Kejriwal an anarchist.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahom...e-terrorist-s-birthday-sparks-row-Punjab.html

Kejriwal is an idiot :facepalm:

It wasn't circulated by AAP man!!

It's most likely going to be a hung assembly in Punjab next year, with almost 40 seats sharing among AAP, Congress and SAD-BJP.

BJP might want to break the alliance but they cant afford to.

It's most likely going to be a hung assembly in Punjab next year, with almost 40 seats sharing among AAP, Congress and SAD-BJP.

Yeah that may be true, it would be pretty stupid if they did that, still not a fan of AAP

Kejriwal is not an idiot. He is very smart. A true politician.

Yeah that may be true, it would be pretty stupid if they did that, still not a fan of AAP

Its always choosing the lesser evil, Congress has been bad, Badals are openly corrupt, BJP can't win on its own.... So the sane option left is AAP.

Ofcourse after seeing how brilliantly they have ruled Delhi.Sane Option.I would rather have Congress or SAD then AAP.

Considering the terrible looting of Punjab in the last 20 years, I would choose AAP.
Beant Singh was one decent CM we had who got assassinated and since then Badal and Amrinder Singh have taken turns bankrupting the most prosperous state of India, pursuing political vendettas whenever one comes in power.

A better choice is BJP but they simply can't form government on their own, and they will be with Akalis.

It has to be Captain.

Youth Congress is totally motivated. Congress is going into 2017 elections with all guns blazing.

Kejriwal can remove corruption from micro level , no other party is even in interested in that.
If elections are held again in delhi then AAP will still win easily.

Is Indian Punjab doing well comparatively has to do with Punjabi expats and their remittances, considering the huge numbers of Sikhs who took asylum following the Sikh genocide of 1984 at the hand of hindu terrorists?

I have relatives who live in Surry/Vancouver, BC, Canada with bazillion Sikhs most of whom escaped the genocide of 1984. That area is basically Canadian Punjab :asif

Is Indian Punjab doing well comparatively has to do with Punjabi expats and their remittances, considering the huge numbers of Sikhs who took asylum following the Sikh genocide of 1984 at the hand of hindu terrorists?

I have relatives who live in Surry/Vancouver, BC, Canada with bazillion Sikhs most of whom escaped the genocide of 1984. That area is basically Canadian Punjab :asif

Punjab was far superior before the militancy sponsored by ISI (had to put in a perspective since your post was so neutral).

Punjabis in Canada are not all asylum seekers. You should get that right.

Punjab was far superior before the militancy sponsored by ISI (had to put in a perspective since your post was so neutral).

Punjabis in Canada are not all asylum seekers. You should get that right.

lolz. typical ISI conspiracy nutter.

ISI wishes it had that much control over India's sikh population.

lolz. typical ISI conspiracy nutter.

ISI wishes it had that much control over India's sikh population.

A nutter reply to a nut opinion that thinks all Punjabis outside Punjab are asylum seekers

So BJP's started with its ugly propaganda tricks.
Waiting for all sikhs to be labelled Khalistani's or fools when AAP wins in Punjab.

Haha Amit Shah would have realised the trick doesn't work anymore after trying it in Bihar.

Do you support aam admi party? Looks like aam admi has a lot of support in punjab, even my family is thinking of voting aap
Future of AAP will depend on its CM Face. I have many relatives in Punjab. Most of them are favouring AAP over Congress. Akalis are not a option ( at least for them ).

Yes, akalis are not an option for anyone in my family either, AAP has a lot of support in my circle of friends at least

Do you support aam admi party? Looks like aam admi has a lot of support in punjab, even my family is thinking of voting aap

One sentiment which is prevelant is if Sidhu breaks from BJP to join AAP. AAP might win.
Sidhu is frustrated with Badals and their corrupt reputation, but BJP is not really breaking off from SAD.

yes,
And yes, Aap has a lot of support in punjab, surprisingly it has more support in rural punjab. If aap can find a good CM candidate they can get more than 100 seats out of 117. I hope HS phoolka becones our next CM, honest and educated.

One sentiment which is prevelant is if Sidhu breaks from BJP to join AAP. AAP might win.
Sidhu is frustrated with Badals and their corrupt reputation, but BJP is not really breaking off from SAD.
Sidhu wont break, he has said a lot of things about Aap and kejriwal, can't be aap candidate now. At best, his wife can come to aap(very unlikely).

This will make things interesting.

Navjot Kaur, wife of cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, Tuesday said his resignation from the Rajya Sabha meant he has also quit the BJP and the only option left for him was to join the Aam Aadmi Party.
A day after Navjot Sidhu dealt a blow to BJP in Punjab by resigning from Rajya Sabha, his MLA-wife Navjot Kaur said there is no question of his going back on his decision.

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...avjot-singh-sidhu-wife-navjot-kaur-sidhu-bjp/

So, CJ bhai when are you going to call amit shah to break alliance? :)) .
you have no knowledge of politics(definately not for punjab).

Sidhu wont break, he has said a lot of things about Aap and kejriwal, can't be aap candidate now. At best, his wife can come to aap(very unlikely).

Oops.. the irony here :srt[MENTION=109559]Spidy201[/MENTION]

Sidhu couple is a RSS fanatic. They have not left BJP. Parkash Singh Badal is of no use to RSS now due to fall in popularity. Sidhu is there just to cut AAP's votes, AAP is lucky as they disagreed to make Sidhu CM face.

Sidhu has no bearing on ground level, he is just a TV personality, people do not connect with him.

Punjab is screwed, on one hand you have drunkard Bhagwant Mann and his simpleton fans. Then there are so many fronts. Awaz-e-Punjab party has a convicted felon, a charge sheeted, and an accused as party founders lol.

In all probability Akalis will come back to power in 2017, due to so many factions and fronts. Akalis are not bad also, they are pro development, it's just their goondaism and high handedness which irks people. AAP will be a disaster.

Seems like heading towards hung assembly.. Similarly UP seems to be heading towards hung assembly too.. Let's see how it goes..

They should have made Gul Panag as the Pujab convenor. She is with AAP from the beginning.

Scandal a day keeps AAP pot sizzling

Home > INDIA > Scandal a day keeps AAP pot sizzling

By: ABP news Bureau & The Telegraph Calcutta | Last Updated: Tuesday, 6 September 2016 9:58 AM

Delhi Chief Minister and leader of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Arvind Kejriwal (C), AAP party leader Sanjay Singh (6R), Aam Admi Party (AAP) Member of Parliament Bhagwant Mann (4R) attend a rally for AAP supporters in Amritsar on July 29, 2016. AFP PHOTO / NARINDER NANU

NEW DELHI: An Aam Aadmi Party functionary will file a defamation suit against his own party’s MLA, Devinder Sehrawat, for alleging that women who want to contest in the upcoming Punjab polls are being “exploited” by some AAP leaders.

In a letter to AAP leader and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal yesterday, Sehrawat said: “I saw disturbing reports about women being exploited in Punjab in return of or giving promise of ticket…. The MLAs of Delhi are unaware about what is being done by Sanjay Singh, Durgesh etc as party representatives.”

AAP national executive members Singh and Durgesh Pathak are the Punjab observer and Punjab in-charge, respectively.

Sehrawat, a retired colonel, has been with Kejriwal since the launch of the Anna Hazare-led movement against corruption in 2011.

His letter came a few days after former Delhi minister Sandeep Kumar was sacked after visuals of him in bed with unidentified women emerged.

Singh, the AAP Punjab observer, told a media conference: “I repeat what I have been saying: if found guilty, I will withdraw from public life. There is no proof for Sehrawatji’s allegation…. Today false allegations are being levelled. It is a BJP and Akali Dal conspiracy because they know AAP will sweep the polls.”

Singh added that he would file a defamation suit against Sehrawat.

Anna Hazare has said he is “very saddened to see” that some of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s colleagues have gone to jail, while some others are “indulging in fraud”.

“I am very hurt…When he (Kejriwal) was with me, he wrote a book on gram swaraj…Will we call this gram swaraj? That’s why I am very sad. The hope with which I was looking at him (Kejriwal) is over,” he said.

His remarks come against the backdrop of the arrest of AAP MLA Sandeep Kumar who has been accused by a woman of having raped her.

He said, “I felt that way, but I am very saddened to see what his colleagues are doing. Some are going to jail, some are indulging in fraud.”

BJP’s Phagwara Mandal ex-VP arrested with drugs

Kapurthala (Phagwara) : Satnampura Police Station of Phagwara arrested a BJP Mandal leader on Tuesday who was supplying drug tablets and capsules to the college youth. A woman was also arrested with him. Police have recovered nearly 28 boxes of drug capsules and tablets from him. The arrested person, identified as Harjit Singh alias Laddi is an ex-VP of BJP Phagwara Mandal but present Mandal president denied having given him any post. Phagwara police seized the drug capsules and tablets from his possession. This was revealed by Phagwara SP Jasbir Singh Roy in a press conference arranged on Tuesday evening.

According to the police, SHO Satnampura Sikander Singh received information that some persons were selling drug tablets to the youth in a Maruti Ertiga PB-08-BN-4943 in Kotarni area. The SHO reached Kotarni with his police party and nabbed the accused. Harjit Singh Laddi and Sheela Rani had 200 drug tablets in their possession.

They confessed to selling the drugs and told the police that they buy drugs from Chopra Medical Store of Patel Nagar, Phagwara and supplied to the drug-addicted youth of Phagwara. Nobody doubted them as the two looked like a couple sitting in their vehicle with a BJP sticker on it.

SHO Sikander Singh informed Drug Inspector Sandeep Kaushik who immediately raided Chopra Medical Store and seized 28 boxes of drug capsules and tablets. Suresh Chopra, owner of the store fled from the scene.

http://dailypost.in/district/kapurthala/bjps-phagwara-mandal-ex-vp-arrested-drugs/

Punjab elections will probably be worse than UP at this rate.The thing is Punjab has only 58% Sikh population now,39% Hindus Captain along with Sidhu should had formed a party and gone with it.

Akali-BJP is able to break AAP so easily what a joke really!

Politics is a joke really at times. Sidhu joined freaking Congress. Tricky election for Punjab Ek Taraf khai toh dusri taraf kua.

Every Punjabi on my fb is pro AAP,man they have actually gone all their way to even buy posters and not sure the things one puts around their neck of AAP.

Given how corrupt they are it would be a surprising if the Badals regained power.

My money is on some kind of AAP-Congress coalition.