[Qudrat ka Nizam] 'We need to accept wins/losses because this is how nature works': Saqlain Mushtaq

Saqlain Mushtaq on 3rd T20I loss against England:

“Day and night, summer and winter, rains.. this is how nature works. Sports also work in the same way. Win and loss will always be there. We need to accept it, and we do. If this is now nature works, what can we do about it? Yes, everyone wants his side to win, all fans want that including all those who are sitting here now, anyone who is from Pakistan wants his side to win, we also want Pakistan to win; But the way nature works is like that - we have the intent to win but do dua that we also win"

Saqlain said, "By talking about the middle order so frequently, you are influencing our minds. By frequently referring to the middle order, you are undermining the players confidence in this manner." He underscored the need for every Pakistani to repose trust in the skipper, coach and players.

"Pakistan triumphed yesterday, and they (England) made it today, so it shows the team will win whose plans work."

"We should have faith in our players. We will have to repose this confidence in them, there are some concerns, and efforts are being made to do away with them"

"Our bowlers made a lot of mistakes. Our plans were not good, either"

Lol, can't believe this man is our coach. The trio of Ramiz,saqlain and babar are recipe for disaster

Really don't think he is suited for this role. Surely, we need more tactical nous rather than such statements?

FdW2UuGXkAQw8v6

Sirf intent or dua se kaam nahi banta Saqi bhai. Give the non performers some stick

Ok let’s make dua and save millions of $$$ by removing this fraud, batting coach and fielding coach.

Watching this guy in press conferences gives me so much second-hand embarrassment. This guy's entire coaching mantra is vibes only. You can't win **** by motivational speeches and attending sermons.

Watching this guy in press conferences gives me so much second-hand embarrassment. Please keep tableeghi people in tableegh and away from cricket. This guy's entire coaching mantra is vibes only. You can't win **** by motivational speeches and attending sermons.

It’s not just him

There are players who are doing the same

Has to be the most dumbest press conference i have ever seen. Even inzamam never gave such a dumb statement.

This guy is clueless and has no idea what he is doing.

I also understand he was forced to be headcoach, he always preferred the spin bowling coach role, so blame goes towards rameez

If he has issues dealing with media, then PCB should keep him away from pressers.

People like Saqlain, Yosuf and Inzimam should never be anywhere close to the team in any role. They just have a very lazy attitude and love playing religious cards way too often leaving performances in the hands of Almighty. Yes we believe in that but you don't just say it for lazy potatoes, and you make team/players responsible for their poor choices. You can never make a competitive team with a laid back attitude and that is always my concern with having likes of Saqlain, Yosuf and Babar in commanding roles

Saqlain had lots of goodwill from fans after replacing Misbah and overseeing the T20 World Cup run last year.

While he's had some decent white ball results, that goodwill is being steadily frittered away by poor Test performances (only beating a poor Bangladesh side), defensive tactics vs Australia, failing to resolve our middle order woes, persisting too long with struggling players, the Asia Cup final defeat, and worrying press statements.

Saqlain's comment typifies his era of Pakistani cricket where we relied on individual heroics to bail us out and accepted inconsistency as the norm.

For all Babar's batting brilliance, he's never been a tactically astute captain and needs stronger backroom support to guide him, not a rubber stamp like Saqlain or an inept tactician like Yousuf.

Saqlain isn't suited to be head coach.

He was doing fine as a spin-bowling coach.

Saqlain had lots of goodwill from fans after replacing Misbah and overseeing the T20 World Cup run last year.

While he's had some decent white ball results, that goodwill is being steadily frittered away by poor Test performances (only beating a poor Bangladesh side), defensive tactics vs Australia, failing to resolve our middle order woes, persisting too long with struggling players, the Asia Cup final defeat, and worrying press statements.

Saqlain's comment typifies his era of Pakistani cricket where we relied on individual heroics to bail us out and accepted inconsistency as the norm.

For all Babar's batting brilliance, he's never been a tactically astute captain and needs stronger backroom support to guide him, not a rubber stamp like Saqlain or an inept tactician like Yousuf.

Whats clearly happened is that hes tried to take the sting out of the situation and protect his players. He’s tried to exude calm and it’s come across as eccentric. It hasn’t helped because fans are frustrated with the teams results. The result is now that what’s a harmless albeit awkward comment has somehow become a sign of Saqlains apparent inadequacies.

I like Saqlain including his man management and his ability to remain calm in the eye of the storm.

However what this team currently needs right now, is to play above their abilities and be more than the sum of its parts. Usually that type of inspiration comes from the captain. But Babar, for all his brilliance, is not that type of leader. He leads more by example than by instruction.

Even if we have an unexpectedly strong showing in Oz, it’s clear that Pakistan cricket needs to completely rethink its approach.

He's a comfort zone guy. Always has been. Spin bowling coaching suited his passive style as it had no accountability and occasional shabaashi if the spinner bowled well.

Now he's coming up with lame statements that normally come from non performing mentors.

Blaming the head coach is not fair.The truth is Pakistan batting is not up to the mark.Khushdil,Asif Ali and Chacha Ifti are not solid batsmen.They perform on odd occasions but they don’t have the technique to play against quality attacks.Haider Ali has been disappointing too.He has regressed.The short term solution is to find a few hard hitting middle order batsmen who play proper cricketing shots.In the long run develop youngsters like Saim Ayub and Huraira to open and let Babar and Rizwan play at 3 and 4.

failing to resolve our middle order woes, persisting too long with struggling players, the Asia Cup final defeat.

Let's be just here, Misbah chopped and changed the middle order constantly and got no results. Saqlain has tried giving rope to the same few guys. It's not the tactic, it's the lack of ability. A magician couldn't fix our middle order right now.

Can't believe Ramiz is giving this guy a free hand. Needs to be axed ASAP

Lol, can't believe this man is our coach. The trio of Ramiz,saqlain and babar are recipe for disaster

Really don't think he is suited for this role. Surely, we need more tactical nous rather than such statements?

FdW2UuGXkAQw8v6

Ok let’s make dua and save millions of $$$ by removing this fraud, batting coach and fielding coach.

Watching this guy in press conferences gives me so much second-hand embarrassment. This guy's entire coaching mantra is vibes only. You can't win **** by motivational speeches and attending sermons.

Has to be the most dumbest press conference i have ever seen. Even inzamam never gave such a dumb statement.

This guy is clueless and has no idea what he is doing.

I also understand he was forced to be headcoach, he always preferred the spin bowling coach role, so blame goes towards rameez

Shameless dumb coach

People like Saqlain, Yosuf and Inzimam should never be anywhere close to the team in any role. They just have a very lazy attitude and love playing religious cards way too often leaving performances in the hands of Almighty. Yes we believe in that but you don't just say it for lazy potatoes, and you make team/players responsible for their poor choices. You can never make a competitive team with a laid back attitude and that is always my concern with having likes of Saqlain, Yosuf and Babar in commanding roles

No offense but fans are always ungrateful.

Outside of the fluke 2017 CT - please remind me what were the results of “tactical” coaches like Moin, Waqar, Mickey and Misbah?

That’s right - first round exits in 2014 / 2016 World T20 and a debacle of an Asia Cup in 2016 / 2018. First round exit in 2019 WC as well…

Blame the incompetent players - not the coach who can’t do much with a limited bunch of players

This needs the kal ho na ho theme song running in the background

His press conference was quite absurd. Telling story of Khachar and father-son. Then picking up on a journalist and this nice philosophical answer invoking nature when asked about defeats.

I think he also attacked some journalist for not truly being a fan of Pakistan cricket….

All he did was ask about the constant chances afforded to Khushdil and Iftikhar even though they have been failing regularly

Outside of the fluke 2017 CT - please remind me what were the results of “tactical” coaches like Moin, Waqar, Mickey and Misbah?

That’s right - first round exits in 2014 / 2016 World T20 and a debacle of an Asia Cup in 2016 / 2018. First round exit in 2019 WC as well…

Blame the incompetent players - not the coach who can’t do much with a limited bunch of players

The coaches you mentioned only mickey have the right to be called a coach he was
Slowly and gradually building a team which could have been a world beater.

Losing his marbles when asked about our defective middle-order

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/aqcp45" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

This guy is very shrewd and use religious tools to hide his hypocrisy. After every defeat he will blame Taqdeer and so far he is getting away with this

I think Saqi is losing the plot under the scrutiny and pressure he is facing.

Some very strange answers in the post match press conference.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/aqcp45" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The poor guy asked a valid question

So you can’t ask valid questions to this management?

The end is in sight for Saqi. If a poor T20WC campaign (which many of us are expecting) happens, he & his staff will definitely get the boot.

And our captain too. The captain was given 100% power just like Ramiz wanted

Wow that response was a new low for Saqlain. I thought better of him.
He's basically a layed back coach that leaves all the work to Babar, what we need is a tactical genius who can help babar develop as a captain.

And our captain too. The captain was given 100% power just like Ramiz wanted

I don't think Babar is being dropped from captaincy anytime soon, and rightly so. Bring in a good coach and select a better middle order and we will do well under him.

what icc tournament was Misbah the coach in?

According to reporters and journalists Mohd Wasim has been regularly over ruled by Babar and Saqlain, had it been up to him, he would have axed Iftikhar, Khusdil, Asif ages ago.

Mohd Wasim should just resign if the captain and coaches have all the power.

what icc tournament was Misbah the coach in?

That’s the beauty of Misbah - his record in bilaterals was so poor that he never got a chance to coach during an ICC tournament!

The coaches you mentioned only mickey have the right to be called a coach he was
Slowly and gradually building a team which could have been a world beater.

Mickey was okay but a poor coach in Asian conditions as he did not know how to manage the spinners nor play the right batsman in their correct positions

I don't think Babar is being dropped from captaincy anytime soon, and rightly so. Bring in a good coach and select a better middle order and we will do well under him.

Bring in a good coach and he will do what exactly with the consultation of Babar as captain? Explain yourself?

Will Ricky Ponting for example allow Babar and Rizwan to open the batting whilst the entire team remains unbalanced?

lol this is Babar’s team. We all know that Ramiz has allowed Babar to pick the players he wants in the team.

If Babar wanted a better middle order then he’d get one.

lol this is Babar’s team. We all know that Ramiz has allowed Babar to pick the players he wants in the team.

Which only seems to be in people imagination not reality as the middle order bats are utterly average at domestics and even worse then the current ones.

Bring in a good coach and he will do what exactly with the consultation of Babar as captain? Explain yourself?

Will Ricky Ponting for example allow Babar and Rizwan to open the batting whilst the entire team remains unbalanced?
Not sure about Babar and Rizwan but certainly sure he won’t allow flops like sharjeel, Umar akmal, fakhar etc.

What I would really like to know is what does the dedicated fielding coach do with his time if the players aren’t even calling their catches and the national side is averaging 1 fielding collision per match?

According to reporters and journalists Mohd Wasim has been regularly over ruled by Babar and Saqlain, had it been up to him, he would have axed Iftikhar, Khusdil, Asif ages ago.

Dummy chief selector if that's the case.

He should walk if true.

This is very dangerous precedence set by management here.religious beliefs & everything related to it should be kept personal. First it started as thanking God and now for escaping from criticism they are bringing God in between . & By these standards and dangerous stuff I'm not sure some of the player's who are not soo much into all this and even if they are they may like to practice all these on their own personal space which should be .
This is not your tableegi jamaat this is the international sport's team . Keep it that Way.

I have met Saqlain before a few years ago. Very nice guy.

But hes not good enough to be Pakistan’s head coach.

We needed a hard taskmaster similar to Micky Arthur.

The Pak dressing room seems too comfortable at the moment so the right players are not being selected when you can see certain players failing again and again.

I will be tempted to go for Chris Silverwood after the T20 world cup if we don't perform well.

He can't be on a mega wage with Sri Lanka with a long contract and could be tempted.

Indians take about process over results. Saqi bhai one level up :yk

Thing is m, unlike other previous coaches, Saqi doesn’t actually need the job for monetary purposes. The current leaks now including scrutiny of the PCB facilitating his medical bills is meant to shine a negative light on him. A man of his standing, whose always kept his self respect, will not really take to kindly to such negative press. I can see him walking after the WC if not before.

Also, if the reports of Babar overruling Mohammad Wasim are true, than it’s pretty damning on Babar. That’s not a million miles removed from the like/dislike culture that others have talked about. A good captain works in sync with selectors rather than against them.

Sometimes I get the impression that Babar deliberately wants crap batsmen in the middle order to justify his selfish stat padding approach at the top and to be the main batsman in the team. He had been over ruling Shan Masoods selection for the past year plus until it became impossible to oppose his selection because of Masoods ruthless performances in domestic cricket.

Babar is stubbornly insisting on the selection of Iftikhar, Khusdil and Asif in the middle order.

I was suspecting this when they were repeatedly selected games after games for zero fifties and performances not just T20 but also in ODIs.. Initially thought it was Misbah, then Wasim, then Saqlain..

Looks like the blacksheep is the captain himself who needs a whack , also dont mind sacking him for such a poor backing..

Rmb him backing Asif Ali so much but this is too much for this guy to behave like this just because he is the best batsman in the team...

Does he think, any other good batsman would take his place of being King Babar , if so then thats very bad of him and sick mentality..

Sometimes I get the impression that Babar deliberately wants crap batsmen in the middle order to justify his selfish stat padding approach at the top and to be the main batsman in the team. He had been over ruling Shan Masoods selection for the past year plus until it became impossible to oppose his selection because of Masoods ruthless performances in domestic cricket.

Babar is stubbornly insisting on the selection of Iftikhar, Khusdil and Asif in the middle order.

I know , this is very obvious now, he continues to select crap batsman in the middle order in LOIs...

It could also be the ploy to bring back Malik his lovable best buddy to play his last WT20..

Middle order is of nowhere now and that all depends upon Babar himself, he has turned the table that way.. Soon will be thrown away for this.. The team he has selected will have no chance in WT20 ..

He needs someone to tell him the hard way that , cricket is a team game not a game of friends..

What a loss to lose Mickey as coach, the LOI team was not winning that many but forming a good unit with a series of wins in the WC.. He fixed the top four and gun middle orders with Babar and Haris steering the middle overs, what an inns against NZL in one of most toughest conditions to bat..

They had an early exit, lost on NRR but they were able to beat teams in a spree , they also did beat both the finalists..

Yes his test team wasnt doing well, but then he was inches away in getting that fixed with the right players.

MISBAH vetoed himself to be coach and selector and destroyed whatever Mickey built and now they are searching for batsmen, playing Chacha, AA, KS, these players were nowhere near selection when Mickey was coach...

He needs to be fired and the explanation should be:#

Getting hired/fired is just part of life. Just like night and day.

Mickey made Babar Azam the batsman he is. End of.

Indeed... Any other local coach was there , Babar would have to make his way back into the test side just like Fawad or Shan Masood does..

Mickey had a clear vision , what to do next..

Saqlain lol :mw, taqdeer, tabdeel, wat else tableeghi..

Thing is m, unlike other previous coaches, Saqi doesn’t actually need the job for monetary purposes. The current leaks now including scrutiny of the PCB facilitating his medical bills is meant to shine a negative light on him. A man of his standing, whose always kept his self respect, will not really take to kindly to such negative press. I can see him walking after the WC if not before.

Also, if the reports of Babar overruling Mohammad Wasim are true, than it’s pretty damning on Babar. That’s not a million miles removed from the like/dislike culture that others have talked about. A good captain works in sync with selectors rather than against them.

Well these desi coaches are like leeches, they stay still like an animal that doesnt move when it rains

He wont go anywhere even if England smashes them 5-2 or 6-1 at home or had an early exit in WT20..

He might get away with Hayden in the dressing room calling shots but will be exposed again once after WT20

I am talking about the captain. Mickey should still be our coach but misbah wanted the role.

Imad Wasim ideally but if he isn't going to play then I would say Shadab Khan to lead and Shaheen as VC.

I'd also take Rizwan over Babar for captaincy.

Muhammad Nawaz is also a good option.

So nature changed course on Pakistan side this time, next match will be on England's side.

Basically Babar's doing the choosing all along.

He sticks to his friends and likings, Hasan Ali kept on getting selected across formats despite poor performances each time. Same with his relative and bff Usman Qadir who makes it into T20 squad despite being a very poor bowler.

When Rizwan started a few good innings at the top, Babar made sure Fakhar is dropped from the T20 team altogether so that he doesn't have to play at no. 3. Fakhar was selected into the T20 squad only because of his 195 run innings on that South African tour.

One of the most insecure individuals. Or he's just very thick

Probably not the right statement to make in today's competitive cricket world. Could've said something more cliche.

This is right

We honestly have no right to win games on talent and ability

It’s the sheer blessings of the lord that we pull of games against proper sides

Does anyone have the video or transcript of Saqlains post match interview alongside Zainab and Wasim Akram from today?

I heard Wasim ask him some hard Q's but couldn't get a chance to hear Coach's answers

Something tells me that Saqi is not enjoying the role.

Just check his body language. He looks depressed regardless of the match situation.

This is very dangerous precedence set by management here.religious beliefs & everything related to it should be kept personal. First it started as thanking God and now for escaping from criticism they are bringing God in between . & By these standards and dangerous stuff I'm not sure some of the player's who are not soo much into all this and even if they are they may like to practice all these on their own personal space which should be .
This is not your tableegi jamaat this is the international sport's team . Keep it that Way.

When Pandya says that India is a 'process oriented' team he is essentially saying the same thing as Saqlain.

Cricket in unpredictable and things do not go in your favor. Best results come when you show good intent and focus on the process and not the outcome.

His win loss night day statement is no different from the mindset most elite athletes have. Focus on your process forget the result.

Does anyone have the video or transcript of Saqlains post match interview alongside Zainab and Wasim Akram from today?

I heard Wasim ask him some hard Q's but couldn't get a chance to hear Coach's answers

I think Saqlain didn't come for press conference for 4th T20.

It was a broadcast segment after the game ended. I had to unfortunately mute the TV because my baby kept waking up so I wondered if anyone else saw it and have it recorded or transcript to read?

Its been proven time and again that every time an interim coach has been made a full time coach it doesnt end well. You take it in any sport and Saqlain is another example. I think hes a good choice as a spin bowling coach but not as a head coach. Need someone who is more in line with tactics to tackle T20 cricket though he did well in the interim.

Haar jeet batting collapses.... sub natural hai!

I know , this is very obvious now, he continues to select crap batsman in the middle order in LOIs...

It could also be the ploy to bring back Malik his lovable best buddy to play his last WT20..

Middle order is of nowhere now and that all depends upon Babar himself, he has turned the table that way.. Soon will be thrown away for this.. The team he has selected will have no chance in WT20 ..

He needs someone to tell him the hard way that , cricket is a team game not a game of friends..

Or the MO batsmen need to improve LOL Pakistan and love of conspiracies.