Question to meat eaters: Why do you do it?

Just for the sake of giving excuse, people come up with the weirdest of them.

Someone talked about respecting Bacterias and mosquitoes as well. :facepalm:

Well 99% of bacterias are not harmful and are already playing significant role in flora and fauna. The few bad ones we have, if we don't kill them they will kill us.

Same with mosquitoes, i wish they were harmless things we could keep, like butterflies. But mosquitoes are the synonyms for unhealthiness and diseases and even with them i prefer resorting to repellents rather than going at them with a chappal.

Cows, hens, pigs as such pose no threat to our life. There is no reason for us to torture them.

The liswt of lame excuses keeps growing -

1) Animals exist for getting tortured and murdered by humans.
2) We eat them because they are tasty and its too much fun.
3) Even plants have feelings and should not be 'killed' :facepalm:
4) Treat bacterias and mosquitoes the same :))) :)))

Bhai Dadri incident has nothing to do with this. I quit eating meat in February this year after i decided enough cruelty from my side. I am already ashamed of the murders i have been indirectly responsible for. Let God, if at all there is one, judge me for my sins, but from now on i will definitly make sure i don't repeat this. Animal lives deserve respect.

Bhai didn't u make this a few days after Dadri lynching happened.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Bro our cultural attitudes to meat eating are too engrained in us despite your noble efforts.

We're gradually becoming more sensitive to the sufferings.

Why would you say that?

It would defeat the purpose if we value life selectively. All lives matter equally, as much as we can do.

then when a lion, wolf, tiger, shark eats a deer, cow, rabbi, goldfish then they should be trialed and given sentences, right because all lives matter equally

and it is always harmful for environment because plant converts carbondioxide into oxygen so we should not kill them ... it will be good for global warming ....

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

We thank you for your effort in trying to bring us to the "right" path, but juicy beef burgers are just to hard to give up :afridi

then when a lion, wolf, tiger, shark eats a deer, cow, rabbi, goldfish then they should be trialed and given sentences, right because all lives matter equally

They are part of the food chain and we cannot apply moral values to them to such extent. Lions cannot grow vegetable. We can. Lions don't have LPG and cooking oil. We have.

We thank you for your effort in trying to bring us to the "right" path, but juicy beef burgers are just to hard to give up :afridi

It satisfies me that at leats you acknowledge my message as the right path. Thats half the victory right there, i am sure you will look beyond taste as well, one day. No taste is greater than the life of an innocent.

I used to consider myself a hardcore person but some of the videos of animal abuse that i saw left me in uncontrollable tears. Videos that i am sure we are all aware of but don't want to visit because the graphics are disturbing and leave an ever lasting horrific memory. No body wants to start seeing the yummy food on his plate as the dead body of an innocent creature murdered, tortured and abused in cold blood. That mean you just had came at the expense of a sad story of a bunch of cheerful little beings.

Excuse me but what kind of language is this?

Are you out of your mind? Show some freaking respect. I expected much better from you Sloggy.

If we all resort to this cheap name calling and racism then god bless this forum. Please do not post if this your idea of debate,.

Sorry

2 more of my friends have quit eating meat. Congrats to them. :14: :)

Just look at these sweet creatures. hey look so much more beautiful alive than as dead carcass on your plate. :)

Its ok.

Mistakes happen BUT more important is to realize and acknowledge them. Hope you learnt your lesson and will behave more respectfully and maturely in future.

Because animals are terrible selfish sociopaths and if a lion saw me he wouldn't spare me because he was a "vegetarian". I could care less about creatures who have such hateful views about me.

It's amazing how vegetarians shame human sociopaths but have no problems worshipping other sociopaths just because they are "cute". I'm a true egalitarian.

Vegetarians need to have some pride in being human.

Been eating it from a young age and it is now a crucial part of my diet, one I am not willing to give up.

That's not to say I don't like vegetables, they're cool too, I'm an allrounder, meat, veggies, they're all good :afridi

But meat is just... on another level, can't imagine my diet without it.

Let's just say if one day Katrina Kaif came knocking on my door with a plate of sirloin steak with a side of french fries, and she said "Choose, me or the steak", it would be a very difficult choice :danish

Because animals are terrible selfish sociopaths and if a lion saw me he wouldn't spare me because he was a "vegetarian". I could care less about creatures who have such hateful views about me.

It's amazing how vegetarians shame human sociopaths but have no problems worshipping other sociopaths just because they are "cute". I'm a true egalitarian.

Lame excuse #1435th

Well animals don't breed and slaughter you. They hunt you down. You could do the same and nobody will bother.

Lame excuse #1435th

Well animals don't breed and slaughter you. They hunt you down. You could do the same and nobody will bother.

Lame excuse? What? It was a very honest opinion. I'm an egalitarian and I'm proud to be human and do what's best in my interest even if it comes at the expense of other creatures just like those selfish sociopaths.

Animals do slaughter you if they think it's in their best interests. And humans do hunt them down. And then sell them.

Lions go kill other animals and bring them home for their cubs. What's your point man? Kia kehna chaa rahai ho?

Because I am human which means I am an omnivore. That means I have a choice to eat either meat or plants.

If I was made a herbivore and I couldn't chew or digest meat due to a pre-adapted vegetarian diet then I would only eat fruits and vegetables.

Because I am human which means I am an omnivore. That means I have a choice to eat either meat or plants.

If I was made a herbivore and I couldn't chew or digest meat due to a pre-adapted vegetarian diet then I would only eat fruits and vegetables.

You were also born with a heart, weren't you?

and were animals not born with a heart?

Dolphins who are widely regarded as a cute innocent creature are known to sexually assault other animals and even kill them with their "packages".

Lions will kill other male lions just to make it easier to get laid.

Zebras with popularity always travel in the middle so they don't have to worry about being vulnerable and in a dangerous position.

Animals are so insanely selfish and wouldn't spare me if they had a chance. I'm not going to not return the favour.

Whatever reply you will give ..... Op has one solid answer that is LAME EXCUSE .... so I think its better to keep Quite and Have some B.B.Q hmmmm .....delicious cow [emoji3] [emoji12]

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

2 more friends of mine have quit eating meat altogether.

Respect to them. The world is slowly but certainly learning of its faults.

What about all the butchers who have lost their livelihoods because of you not eating meat ?

We should kill animals because butchers need to keep butchering? Bro please yar.

There are countless other ways to earn a living.

Bit odd for a woman to say that. You will be mother some day, think of how you will feel about your children.

Fc, just for fun. I'll give you a hypothetical scenario.

If you're left alone in an island with little fruits and veggies to eat, will you then hunt animals to survive?

Fc, just for fun. I'll give you a hypothetical scenario.

If you're left alone in an island with little fruits and veggies to eat, will you then hunt animals to survive?

I would die of hunger in such a case personally but i don't have a huge issue with others who would under desperate circumstances resort to hunting. Thats where the food chain excuse could be applied. Thats been the whole point. Hunt the animal, honour its corpse by acknowledging it as the murdered. Today's commercialized mass slaughter of animals has meant that people have become totally insensitive to how the meat comes to their plate. All the suffering inflicted on animals you did not have to get killed but you did anyway. Thats cold.

True and the American Franchises disgust me the most.They slaughter of Pigs eventhough i never had much of it made me a vegetarian.
BTW Milk industry is very similar as well just letting you know including some of the Indian ones excluding Amul,Aawin.Britannia has such crap too.

and were animals not born with a heart?

Dolphins who are widely regarded as a cute innocent creature are known to sexually assault other animals and even kill them with their "packages".

Lions will kill other male lions just to make it easier to get laid.

Zebras with popularity always travel in the middle so they don't have to worry about being vulnerable and in a dangerous position.

Animals are so insanely selfish and wouldn't spare me if they had a chance. I'm not going to not return the favour.

Humans evolved and we keep evolving different that of animals.

They do it coz they don't have any other go,Humans are evolved species with great cooking and farming skills.

False analogy Humans don't eat Lions we eat Hens,Cows,Pigs,Goat,fish who wouldn't hurt Humans whatsoever.

Its about evolution why choose a religion then when you can be without a religion?There is no concrete proof than following a religion brings us close to our creator but we do it nevertheless coz we feel right.

If you believe not eating meat brings you closer to your God that is awesome, more power to you.

However I do not share in those beliefs. Being a vegetarian does not bring me closer to God.

How come vegans and vegetarians survive?Its not a necessity and never will be just state of mind.

I didn't say Humans will die if they only consume non meat substance. Its your choice if you want to use your tool for half the things it can do or for its complete purpose

If you believe not eating meat brings you closer to your God that is awesome, more power to you.

However I do not share in those beliefs. Being a vegetarian does not bring me closer to God.

I meant religion doesn't bring anyone close to God there is no proof it but we still practice , that was in response to you being Human and Omnivore.

I didn't say Humans will die if they only consume non meat substance. Its your choice if you want to use your tool for half the things it can do or for its complete purpose

In that context a gun by a human can rust if not used doesn't mean you go around shooting humans.

I meant religion doesn't bring anyone close to God there is no proof it but we still practice , that was in response to you being Human and Omnivore.

Yes and just like everyone has the right to either practice a religion or not to practice a religion, everyone has the right to choose to eat meat or not to eat meat.

I said humans are omnivores so that means we have the choice to eat meat and/or vegetables. We are not limited biologically to only one type. As for personal preference, that is up to the individual.

Yes and just like everyone has the right to either practice a religion or not to practice a religion, everyone has the right to choose to eat meat or not to eat meat.

I said humans are omnivores so that means we have the choice to eat meat and/or vegetables. We are not limited biologically to only one type. As for personal preference, that is up to the individual.

Agree partially ,the argument is that Humans evolve and find a lot of things barbaric and trivial over the years what was normal for one generation will be brutal and savage for the next.Obviously its your choice i'm just batting for the innocent animals in the factories who don't see the light of the day because of our "EXCESS" consumption.
There is also the question of having meat ok but why to make the complete life of animals to be completed within darkness of these massive meat producing companies don't they deserve a chance to atleast not be in cages irrespective of whether we eat them or not- called organic produce in a way.

In that context a gun by a human can rust if not used doesn't mean you go around shooting humans.

he can always hunt animals with it. And if he doesn't want to use it then it's his choice but he should make sure to clean it regularly to prevent rust and dirt

Yeah similarly flossing can help Human teeth stay great ,Listerine is good as well.

Agree partially ,the argument is that Humans evolve and find a lot of things barbaric and trivial over the years what was normal for one generation will be brutal and savage for the next.Obviously its your choice i'm just batting for the innocent animals in the factories who don't see the light of the day because of our "EXCESS" consumption.
There is also the question of having meat ok but why to make the complete life of animals to be completed within darkness of these massive meat producing companies don't they deserve a chance to atleast not be in cages irrespective of whether we eat them or not- called organic produce in a way.

Yes there are ethical complications to eating meat as far as the treatment of animals goes.

But that isn't limited to those animals that are meant to be eaten.

Building roads and cities destroys countless ecosystems. How many species of insects, bugs, and animals suffer here?

As the poorer countries such as India is further industrializing the world is getting more and more polluted. How many countless types of animals/living things will be effected by this pollution?

So it is hypocritical for you to drive a car (which is contributing to the death of animals), and complain about someone eating meat.

Yes there are ethical complications to eating meat as far as the treatment of animals goes.

But that isn't limited to those animals that are meant to be eaten.

Building roads and cities destroys countless ecosystems. How many species of insects, bugs, and animals suffer here?

As the poorer countries such as India is further industrializing the world is getting more and more polluted. How many countless types of animals/living things will be effected by this pollution?

So it is hypocritical for you to drive a car (which is contributing to the death of animals), and complain about someone eating meat.

That's an assumption you are making and i agree completely with you on Industrialization not only that the new program to increase the length of the Highways in India will have a drastic effect on animals but since there is no thread on it haven't replied on it.Not to forget the Lakes and Ponds in major cities being scammed into making apartments for shady builders in politicians destroying ecosystems cozing massive reduction of amphibians.

Other causes of distress to animals:
Diwali crackers which too btw has been on reduction every year in India due to its harmful effect.

But this thread basically is on why we indulge in direct killing of an animal, all the points you have mentioned about pollution affect humans as well but that doesn't mean we don't care about Wars occurring in Syria or terror strikes in Paris.

My neighbour Shabnam Aunty has quit meat.

Kudos to her. Respect. Always liked her. Now even more.

That's an assumption you are making and i agree completely with you on Industrialization not only that the new program to increase the length of the Highways in India will have a drastic effect on animals but since there is no thread on it haven't replied on it.Not to forget the Lakes and Ponds in major cities being scammed into making apartments for shady builders in politicians destroying ecosystems cozing massive reduction of amphibians.

Other causes of distress to animals:
Diwali crackers which too btw has been on reduction every year in India due to its harmful effect.

But this thread basically is on why we indulge in direct killing of an animal, all the points you have mentioned about pollution affect humans as well but that doesn't mean we don't care about Wars occurring in Syria or terror strikes in Paris.

Well you said animals suffer due to ill treatment before their are slaughtered. Which is true.

I was just saying animals also suffer because of pollution.

Not particularly. I like her for other reasons but now even more.

Right so you do base how much you like people on their diets. That is why you like her more now that she gave up meat.

I am not judging you though. I know plenty of muslims that would look down upon other muslims who eat pork.

In the end neither of us are using our own thoughts and processes, we are products of our society.

Your society told you don't eat meat, as meat eaters are gross. You said okay.

My society told me don't eat pig, pigs are gross. I said okay.

This thread is not meant to offend meat eaters or hurt anyone's religious sentiments and i hope people will cooperate in giving honest answers and keep it strictly personal instead of speaking on behalf of the different communities they represent. I request mods to deal strictly with anyone who tries to turn it into an India-Pakistan or hindu-muslim hate thread.

I am asking you at a personal level. Why do you eat meat? You know well where it comes from. An animal, usually domestic, is killed to serve meat to your plate.

An animal,
that means you no harm,
that does not wish to die, least of all by a chop or electrical shock,

... at a time when you have ample veg options to satisfy your hunger.

Your arguments generally are:
- Because its tasty
- Because its healthy
- Because its fun
- Because food chain
- Because its economy
- Because population control
- Because we're humans and we're meant to eat'em

1) Taste
Your sense of taste is greater than the life of an animal and all the suffering it goes through because you need tasty food?

2) Healthy
You can get your proteins, carbohydrates and vitamins from veg foods as well. Once again, something that could be easily substituted. Its not above life and doesn't warrant suffering of a fellow species

3) Food chain
Fellow human, you're not in jungle anymore, actually since a few millenniums. Please update your clock.

4) Fun
Robbery, rape, riots is fun too for many. Your amusement does not justify another's suffering

5) Economy
World economy will not collapse if you stop killing animals for food.

6) Population control
They wouldn't be born if you stopped eating meat.

7) Humans are meant to eat them
Of all the things humans were meant to do..... :facepalm:

Please, give up eating meat. You wanna make a change, you wanna save lives. Every time you refuse to eat a chicken burger, you're saving one. Give these poor little animals a break. They do not deserve this.

Many years from now, future generations will hang their heads in shame thinking about us eating meat when we had a choice.

The question should be, why you are not eating meat?
Take religion and culture out of this and let's look at our nature as animals, because in the end that's all we are, another species in the animal kingdom. So first you claim that we are not in a jungle anymore, I would argue we still are, sure we cut down the trees and made it more comfortable but in the end we still live in a jungle where survival of the fittest is the one and only law. So therefore we eat other animals because we are the fittest and thus eat them. This is just what our human nature Is

False analogy Humans don't eat Lions we eat Hens,Cows,Pigs,Goat,fish who wouldn't hurt Humans whatsoever.

doesn't matter. Animals are animals. We eat whatever we like best and is of easiest access to us.

If humans were on an island with no other animals but lions we'd eat them too.

There are specific fishes that if they see you in the water they will literally bite you so hard a piece of flesh will fall off. I have no sympathy.

I don't get this thread. Is it to raise awareness for the terrible treatment of animals in slaughterhouses etc or to criticize someone for what they eat. Because the 2 are seperate topics

This thread is like asking a carnivore to stop eating other animals and become a herbivore

Note-
This thread is not to look down upon meat eaters or to hate the.

Simply to bring attention to animal abuse. Thanks for your support brothers.

I am fast approaching first anniversary of me completing quitting meat on principle. Feeling proud about myself, touchwood ever since i quit eating meat my life has been so positive.