Question to meat eaters: Why do you do it?

Eat whatever you want, I don't give a damn. But for the sake of kitchen gods, don't call it biryani if you add cheap tubers in it. Call it pulao and eat it. No need to to insult biryani. :facepalm:

ok kitchen god. never heard of a pulao with potatoes. might be a bengali thing

Lol. don't even talk about bengali cuisine. I don't want pakistanis to pollute bengali dishes after what they have done to biryani. Lol, seems it is hard for some to get over their vegetarian past and they want potatoes even in biryani.

we really want to eat fish rice and potatoes man. also throw a rasogulla in there and mix it all up.

CricketCartoons is a master whenever he is in the mood. :bow:

This is one of those silly debates. Vegetarian Culture has lot to do with climate not just religion. There is nothing moral or immoral about eating meat Vs Vegies. You are just looking at it with narrow vision.

Agricultural destroyed the World's ECO system

If you are not eating meat just because it kills animals you are not looking at the big picture and history honestly. World ECO system was changed significantly by the beginning of Agricultural Era for better or worse. Before that we and plants live on the plant on equal grounds. We were part of the ECO system like all other living beings were. We were nonVeg, but far less devastating for ECO system then when we formed organized societies. It is silly to think that Agricultural is good for our fellow living beings (plants or animals).

Development of agriculture means we tried to mould the natural environment to our needs. Today most of the domestic plants and animals we eat are not natural, they are breaded to fulfill our need. If one act is immoral other is too. How can we define it as selective immorality? - Cows are not the way they were 10-15 thoushands years ago. They have gone through artificial selection to meet our needs. Even if Hindus don't eat cow, they overwhelmly dependent upon dairy products of Cow. 20-30% of their diet depends upon those products for centuries. Cow Milk is not intended for Human consumption that is for Cows off spring. Why drinking that milk and making products from it is ethically ok? - Cows have being breeded to give more milk over thousands of years to fulfill our needs. There is nothing moral about it.

Plants and Animals are our slaves

Question is can farm animals Cows,Chicken,dogs,Horses,pigs etc (or any animals or plants) can go back to their natural environment as long as Human lives? - Probably not any time soon. Weather they live or die it is less useful to them as individual or species. Because their species has being forever changed and its future is in our hand. They have being enslaved to humanity. Weather we eat their meat, milk or use them as workers, none of that will make a path way to their freedom from us.

This tide is not going to shift as long as we are the dominant species on this planet. We need them (the entire planet) to fulfill our needs, as we are getting stronger so our needs are, animals and planets are pushed to bottom of food chain then they ever were in past.

Why Non Veg become dominate culture in main land India?

It has lot to do with the Geography of India than anything else. India in North is covered with glaciers, main land is feed with lot of fresh river water, plus Northern mountains protect the main land from violent weather. This is ideal for Agriculture land. Dominance of agriculture means all wild animals Extinct except the few who are domesticated. Domesticated animals have to pull their weight (they were not just feed free lunches), Cows were giving back much needed proteins, look at the male Cows, they were more active then Men in the fields. If Cow is Mom, the Bulls are Dad, we beat the hell out of our Dads. Dads were producing more Wheat and Rice for us then we ever did. Every other farm animal has to help us out in some fashion otherwise his survival was at stake.

One of the reason it become part of the religion is that dominance of agriculture in main land India (on coasts its hard to avoid fish, in mountains you need to eat meat to protect yourselves against cold). In main land India there is not that much need for protein intake, since weather is moderate to warm. When you compare that to Europe, Africa and mountain or even Desert trains, you need extra calories to keep yourself warm, which cannot be fulfill by just eating vegetables. Historically red meat is consumed in colder areas and areas where food is scares, you can live by for longer using high calories rich red meat, which takes longer to digest as well, ideal for such climates. Eating meat was survival need rather than choice for most cultures. That's why our ancestors (pre Agricultural ear), meat was the obvious and dominate choice for almost every human society.

Future of Food

I like below ted talk about how to grow leather and meat without killing animals. This will be far more efficient (very little animal waste) and ethical!!

http://www.ted.com/talks/andras_forgacs_leather_and_meat_without_killing_animals

Those pakistanis who add potato in their biryani, that is your prerogative, but don't call it biryani..call it pulao. but please for the love of god, stop calling it biryani!!!

Pulao is a totally different thing.

And I eat biriyani both with and without potatoes. And I will call it biriyani, nothing else! To add an extra ingredient does not change the main dish.

And I also eat salmon fish BIRIYANI...

How do you know that someone is a vegetarian?

Because they'll bloody tell you about it at every opportunity they get.

You mean like this?
confined-animal-feeding-operation.jpg
Reminds me of my old office.

Yeah, the webcam dating services are all the rage right now. I bet you're really talented.

Oh, I thought you used that word euphemistically. But I guess some people cannot rise above gutter level. The skills I sell are in high demand. Intellectual services.

Has Anyone here ever had pigeon meat!! if so how is it.
Very tasty. The meat isn't the main dish. The soup is. It gives an instantaneous energy which is why kids are given pigeon soup when they are sick (in my place)

Something to ponder ...

documentary food inc.

[utube]uMVdrEo5130[/utube]

Very tasty. The meat isn't the main dish. The soup is. It gives an instantaneous energy which is why kids are given pigeon soup when they are sick (in my place)

Are you from assam or manipur? Does it taste closer to chicken?

I usually eat meat most of the time but when I don't my favourite dish is daal, the yellow one is really nice and I eat eggs to but that's about it. Maybe there is another one which has carrot in it my mom makes but not sure what it's called. My mom and the elders that are from back home in our fam tend to enjoy vegetables more then the british born pakistanis.
Lot of the elders lived in gurbat. So they couldnt eat gosht chooza everyday. They had to rely on daal and sabzi for bulk of their diet. Having gosht on special occassions. And yeah me myself have to eat some form of meat 4-5 times a week. Some Daal and Sabzi are nice but hate ones like Aloo Gobi Caralay Bengan.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Have you never killed a mosquito before? A cockroach? A fly?

Even if you haven't, you have definitely killed off some kind of life forms, bacteria and viruses, every time you take medicine, or wash your hands with antiseptic soap.

How is an animal's life different to an insect's life or to a microscopic organism's life? If you say that animals are more complex life forms than insects or bacteria to justify killing them but not killing animals; then I can say that humans are the most complex life form of all and so humans are justified in killing all inferior life forms.

Death is simply part of life. It cannot be avoided.

A lot of British Sikhs i know eat a lot of non veg Chicken and Pig especially Bacon Pork are very popular. Some eat Beef but most dont from my own personal experience. Very rarely meet veggie Sikhs.

Also ive noticed a lot of Brit Sikhs and Hindus do eat Halal meat. And have no issues with it. Am surprised especially for Sikhs as Sikhism is against ritual slaughter and calls for the Jhatka way. But most Brit Sikhs dont care.

FOOLS WHO WRANGLE OVER FLESH

Sikh Guru Nanak Dev Ji tackled this entire issue head on and rubbished the claims of so called spiritual people who thought themselves more pious and religious simply because they did not eat meat.

Guru Nanak Dev Ji saw life at all levels. He saw it at the molecular level and did not differentiate between plant, animal, or mineral. The only form of life he saw as different was human life (read the 84 million incarnations bit).

If we eat vegetable we would have to go out plant the seeds, water them, put fertilizer on them, put pesticides on them, etc etc. Guru Nanak Dev Ji talks at length of the pain of plants:

Page 143 of the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji

First Mehl:

Look, and see how the sugar-cane is cut down. After cutting away its branches, its feet are bound together into bundles,
and then, it is placed between the wooden rollers and crushed.
What punishment is inflicted upon it! Its juice is extracted and placed in the cauldron; as it is heated, it groans and cries out.
And then, the crushed cane is collected and burnt in the fire below.
Nanak: come, people, and see how the sweet sugar-cane is treated! ||2||

We see the wildlife habitats destroyed for farming, the insects killed by pesticides, cows force fed to produce milk etc we become blinkered about the meat vegetable debate.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji
First Mehl:

The fools argue about flesh and meat, but they know nothing about meditation and spiritual wisdom.
What is called meat, and what is called green vegetables? What leads to sin?
It was the habit of the gods to kill the rhinoceros, and make a feast of the burnt offering.
Those who renounce meat, and hold their noses when sitting near it, devour men at night.
They practice hypocrisy, and make a show before other people, but they do not understand anything about meditation or spiritual wisdom.
O Nanak, what can be said to the blind people? They cannot answer, or even understand what is said.
They alone are blind, who act blindly. They have no eyes in their hearts.
They are produced from the blood of their mothers and fathers, but they do not eat fish or meat.

Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji

WHY MEAT IS NOT SERVED IN LANGAR

The reason why meat is not served at langar in the Gurdwaras is because langar is supposed to be a symbol of equality of mankind where all people no matter what race, religion or caste can eat together in the atmosphere of brotherhood. Hindu, Sikh, Muslim, it does not matter who they are. Different religions have different dietary restrictions. Hindus cannot eat cow, muslims cannot eat pork and will only eat halal meat. Jews will only eat kosher meat, others cannot eat fish or eggs. But in a Gurdwara langar, it does not matter what their dietary taboos or religious beliefs are, the food is designed so that all can eat together and no one will be offended or not be able to partake of the meal.

WHY JHATKA MEAT?

What is Jhatka Meat and Why?

Jhatka meat is meat in which the animal has been killed quickly without suffering or religious ritual.

We must give the rationale behind prescribing jhatka meat as the approved food for the Sikhs. According to the ancient Aryan Hindu tradition, only such meat as is obtained from an animal which is killed with one stroke of the weapon causing instantaneous death is fit for human consumption. However, with the coming of Islam into India and the Muslim political hegemony, it became a state policy not to permit slaughter of animals for food, in any other manner, except as laid down in the Quran - the kosher meat prepared by slowly severing the main blood artery of the throat of the animal while reciting verses from the Quran. It is done to make slaughter a sacrifice to God and to expiate the sins of the slaughter. Guru Gobind Singh took a rather serious view of this aspect of the whole matter. He, therefore, while permitting flesh to be taken as food repudiated the whole theory of this expiatory sacrifice and the right of ruling Muslims to impose iton the non-Muslims. Accordingly, he made jhatka meat obligatory for those Sikhs who may be interested in taking meat as a part of their food.

And one semitic practice clearly rejected in the Sikh code of conduct is eating flesh of an animal cooked in ritualistic manner; this would mean kosher and halal meat. The reason again does not lie in religious tenet but in the view that killing an animal with a prayer is not going to enoble the flesh. No ritual, whoever conducts it, is going to do any good either to the animal or to the diner. Let man do what he must to assuage his hunger. If what he gets, he puts to good use and shares with the needy, then it is well used and well spent, otherwise not.

WHY MANY SIKHS DON'T EAT MEAT TODAY?

Vaishnava tradition influenced Sikhism in last 2 decades, Hukamnama issued by Akal Takht Jathedar Sandhu Singh Bhaura dated February 15th 1980 that Amritdhari Sikhs can eat meat as long as it is jhatka meat and that eating meat does not go against the code of conduct, Kurehit, of the Sikhs.

In the Sikh Rehit Marayada, Section Six, it states:
The undermentioned four transgressions (tabooed practices) must be avoided
1. Dishonoring the hair;
2. Eating the meat of an animal slaughtered the Muslim way (Kutha);
3. Cohabiting with a person other than one's spouse
4. Using tobacco.
Lot of Sikhs here in UK eat Halal. But i guess a lot here arent as clued up on their religion as you are.

Lot of the elders lived in gurbat. So they couldnt eat gosht chooza everyday. They had to rely on daal and sabzi for bulk of their diet. Having gosht on special occassions. And yeah me myself have to eat some form of meat 4-5 times a week. Some Daal and Sabzi are nice but hate ones like Aloo Gobi Caralay Bengan.

That's pretty much it! and damn those guys were so strong at their peak! they were built like tanks. I eat too much meat; especially at uni because it's convenient. Same, I don't like Gobi but at one point could tolerate Bengan in Pakistan because I was fed that on a specific day when I was in a boarding school there for a short period in my life. Daal is love, Daal is life. Best Vegetable dish ever,,,, wait are they even vegetables :))

I eat meat because it is tasty, it is nutritious and it is very calorie dense, which is important as I am trying to gain weight and build muscle. Beef is the best meat taste wise.

I would not be able to slaughter an animal, I haven't got the heart for that. In the modern world you don't need to, somebody else will do it and then put the meat on a truck and ship it to the supermarket, where you go and buy meat. As far as I am concerned, by the time I am in a position to interact with it, the animal has already been killed. Somebody's got to eat it. Why not me?

I think I would be capable of killing an animal only in a survival situation, like being stuck on a deserted island somewhere and having to hunt or fish for food, or starve to death.

That's pretty much it! and damn those guys were so strong at their peak! they were built like tanks. I eat too much meat; especially at uni because it's convenient. Same, I don't like Gobi but at one point could tolerate Bengan in Pakistan because I was fed that on a specific day when I was in a boarding school there for a short period in my life. Daal is love, Daal is life. Best Vegetable dish ever,,,, wait are they even vegetables :))
Even though elders ate less gosht than us. They ate ghee lassi makkan di roti desi kyo. All non veg high protein and high calories. That combined with the farm work made them beasts :lesnar. My dad tells me story about his uncles who were tanks. But now its all changed. We eat more gosht but we are more lazy and dont do that hard manual labour our elders and forefathers did.

Lot of Sikhs here in UK eat Halal. But i guess a lot here arent as clued up on their religion as you are.

Many Sikhs in India eat halal also due to non availability of jhatka meat, who told you I am clued up on religion? Don't reach conclusion, I am not even a practicing Sikh. All my cousins in Canada eat beef.

By clued up i dont mean practising. I mean you know a lot about your religion. Even if you choose not to follow it strictly. A lot of Sikhs i know are also not that religious but they dont know much about their religion.

And also why isnt jhatka meat available in India. I thought that would be more preferrable to halal. To non muslim meat eating Indians.

a bit ott but i will ask the question here since i'm not sure where else to ask -

what is the best version of biryani? i know each region in south asia has its own and i know india is the king daddy of biryanis but most biryanis i have had in australian indian restaurants have been flavourless or dry. wondering if i'm eating the wrong type of biryani..

i know this is a personal preference but any suggestions would be welcome.

a bit ott but i will ask the question here since i'm not sure where else to ask -

what is the best version of biryani? i know each region in south asia has its own and i know india is the king daddy of biryanis but most biryanis i have had in australian indian restaurants have been flavourless or dry. wondering if i'm eating the wrong type of biryani..

i know this is a personal preference but any suggestions would be welcome.

Maybe thats the problem, try going to a Pakistani restaurant instead of an Indian one . From my experience, Pakistani restaurants have more flavourful food at least here in Toronto . As for the type of biriyani , Sindhi Biryani is your best bet if your prefer spicier food.

And also why isnt jhatka meat available in India. I thought that would be more preferrable to halal. To non muslim meat eating Indians.

Chicken selling is common business for muslims. And halal is indifferent to us.

Maybe thats the problem, try going to a Pakistani restaurant instead of an Indian one . From my experience, Pakistani restaurants have more flavourful food at least here in Toronto . As for the type of biriyani , Sindhi Biryani is your best bet if your prefer spicier food.

ok thanks bro. there arent too many pakistani restaurants in melbourne but i will seek them out.

u might be right about the pakistanis having better biryanis..i remember there was a pakistani couple next door when i was living in sl and they made the most amazing biryani. certainly better than any indian, sri lankan biryanis i've ever had.

An Interesting Article:

Being a vegetarian in Pakistan

When I gave up meat, four years ago, my family and friends were convinced that I would revert to the oh-so-juicy goodness of animal protein the very next day.

But, as time passed and they realised that I was serious about it, the deliberations started, with an intent to bring me back to ‘sanity’. I was open to discussions, but I had given it a lot of thought over the years, so it wasn't something I was just going to snap out of. It wasn't a fad, it wasn't a phase, and it certainly wasn't a ploy to lose weight.

After a while, people close to me gave up on convincing me otherwise and started respecting my decision, even accommodating me with good vegetarian cuisine when possible. But, out in the larger society, the responses were varied and ranged from bemused to utterly shocked.

The social nuisance
When I go out to a dinner where people are not yet aware of my vegetarian diet, and decline the offer of a meat-based dish, people almost always respond with, “Take a little bit at least” or “At least give it a try”. Their first reaction is that I am a little snobbish about food, or that I have had some bad experiences with meat dishes and that their food would change my opinion, if only I tried.

After reiterating that I have given up meat and don't eat it at all, quite a few folks go on to suggest a chicken-based item. This, I guess, is because they assume I have been medically advised to give up red meat.

When I clarify again that I don't eat any kind of meat, most people just go blank. And I kid you not, some still counter-offer and ask if I would like to try some seafood instead?

Better yet, when there's some kind of a meat-curry, many suggest that the gravy should still be fair game.

It is only after they have exhausted all their efforts, do people dishearteningly allow me to feast on the usually lone vegetable dish they had not expected anyone to indulge in. Large public gatherings like wedding ceremonies are especially hard to negotiate because most of our society considers it below themselves to include any vegetarian dishes in the menu – "loag kya kahenge ke kitney cheap hain (people would think we are so poor)."

Once the matter of what I will eat is settled, they are suddenly hit with a pang of curiosity and start inquiring about the reason for my vegetarian diet. Most people automatically assume it to be a medical reason and ask only to validate their assertion. When I deny, their curiosity multiplies and they push further with a desire partially to inquire, and partially to convince me otherwise.

When I tell them that my personal moral compass does not allow me to, they feel it's their duty to reason with me. It isn't unusual for the discussion to turn into a heated argument, so I had to train myself to politely back out of it or steer the conversation to a different topic.

These discussions become extra sensitive when people bring religion into them or start throwing labels like 'ungrateful'.

After a few of these conversations, I realised that the issue makes people touchy and insecure because my defending a personal belief and choice makes them feel like their own beliefs are being threatened.
I have learned my lesson though, and unless I am dead sure the person at the other end of the conversation is on the same wavelength as I am, I rarely encourage the discussion. On occasions when I was too tired to argue, I even lied, admitting to it being a medical reason.

I can't say people have been condescending or judgmental, but I can see the nods of disagreements almost everywhere the topic is discussed. In countries like the US where people are more used to vegetarians, I don’t raise many eyebrows (but they do get shocked sometimes when I reveal I am not an Indian and this is not a religious thing).

Is it easy being a vegetarian in Pakistan?
Even though it's more of a social nuisance to be a vegetarian in Pakistan, I prefer the food scene here because of the breadth of vegetables you can get and the delicious ways they are cooked. I can eat chapatti and sabzi every day. In both places though, if you are eating out, most of the non-meat choices are full of staples or grains and not exactly vegetables, which makes it a tad harder to eat healthy.

People often ask me if I still crave meat, and honestly, there are times when I crave meat, a lot. No matter how strong-willed you are, when the aroma of a well-cooked chicken tikka, badami qorma or a juicy mushroom swiss burger tantalises you, it's very hard to ignore.

But just like we control a lot of our other desires that contradict our ideologies, this one also becomes a hard-but-necessary act of self-restraint. The craving becomes much less frequent as time passes. There are some soy-based proteins available that taste just like meat but I usually avoid them because of the large amount of preservatives and artificial ingredients in them.

Another question I am always bombarded with is whether I would eat meat for my survival; for example, let's say I am trapped in a jungle and it is the only thing available to me. My answer is always a resounding "Yes". Just like everything else I choose, my choice of what to eat should also have a degree of flexibility. In fact, there have already been a couple of occasions when I was really hungry and not so well, and had to eat meat because nothing else was available.

Did I like doing that? No. But I understand the importance of eating meat over starving on these rare occasions.

Also read: Why is India called a vegetarian country when two-thirds of Indians eat meat?

I am usually also asked about how I feel or what difference it has made in my life. To be honest, it feels amazing. I don't feel heavy after a meal, I don't crash a few minutes after a meal, and yes, it did make a tremendous difference in turning me into a calmer person.

Moreover, if I keep a good vegetarian diet (lots of vegetables) as opposed to an unhealthy vegetarian diet (lots of grains/staples), I also get a large amount of really important micro-nutrients that help a human body in healing itself. I have, over these last few years, fallen less sick with day-to-day ailments than when I was not a vegetarian.

I should clarify that my purpose here is not to convince anybody to become a vegetarian. Eating meat or giving it up, are both completely personal choices that each of us should make independently. All I am saying is, I made mine and expect people to respect it.

http://images.dawn.com/news/1173981/being-a-vegetarian-in-pakistan

An Interesting Article:

When I gave up meat, four years ago, my family and friends were convinced that I would revert to the oh-so-juicy goodness of animal protein the very next day.

But, as time passed and they realised that I was serious about it, the deliberations started, with an intent to bring me back to ‘sanity’. I was open to discussions, but I had given it a lot of thought over the years, so it wasn't something I was just going to snap out of. It wasn't a fad, it wasn't a phase, and it certainly wasn't a ploy to lose weight.

After a while, people close to me gave up on convincing me otherwise and started respecting my decision, even accommodating me with good vegetarian cuisine when possible. But, out in the larger society, the responses were varied and ranged from bemused to utterly shocked.

The social nuisance
When I go out to a dinner where people are not yet aware of my vegetarian diet, and decline the offer of a meat-based dish, people almost always respond with, “Take a little bit at least” or “At least give it a try”. Their first reaction is that I am a little snobbish about food, or that I have had some bad experiences with meat dishes and that their food would change my opinion, if only I tried.

After reiterating that I have given up meat and don't eat it at all, quite a few folks go on to suggest a chicken-based item. This, I guess, is because they assume I have been medically advised to give up red meat.

When I clarify again that I don't eat any kind of meat, most people just go blank. And I kid you not, some still counter-offer and ask if I would like to try some seafood instead?

Better yet, when there's some kind of a meat-curry, many suggest that the gravy should still be fair game.

It is only after they have exhausted all their efforts, do people dishearteningly allow me to feast on the usually lone vegetable dish they had not expected anyone to indulge in. Large public gatherings like wedding ceremonies are especially hard to negotiate because most of our society considers it below themselves to include any vegetarian dishes in the menu – "loag kya kahenge ke kitney cheap hain (people would think we are so poor)."

Once the matter of what I will eat is settled, they are suddenly hit with a pang of curiosity and start inquiring about the reason for my vegetarian diet. Most people automatically assume it to be a medical reason and ask only to validate their assertion. When I deny, their curiosity multiplies and they push further with a desire partially to inquire, and partially to convince me otherwise.

When I tell them that my personal moral compass does not allow me to, they feel it's their duty to reason with me. It isn't unusual for the discussion to turn into a heated argument, so I had to train myself to politely back out of it or steer the conversation to a different topic.

These discussions become extra sensitive when people bring religion into them or start throwing labels like 'ungrateful'.

After a few of these conversations, I realised that the issue makes people touchy and insecure because my defending a personal belief and choice makes them feel like their own beliefs are being threatened.
I have learned my lesson though, and unless I am dead sure the person at the other end of the conversation is on the same wavelength as I am, I rarely encourage the discussion. On occasions when I was too tired to argue, I even lied, admitting to it being a medical reason.

I can't say people have been condescending or judgmental, but I can see the nods of disagreements almost everywhere the topic is discussed. In countries like the US where people are more used to vegetarians, I don’t raise many eyebrows (but they do get shocked sometimes when I reveal I am not an Indian and this is not a religious thing).

Is it easy being a vegetarian in Pakistan?
Even though it's more of a social nuisance to be a vegetarian in Pakistan, I prefer the food scene here because of the breadth of vegetables you can get and the delicious ways they are cooked. I can eat chapatti and sabzi every day. In both places though, if you are eating out, most of the non-meat choices are full of staples or grains and not exactly vegetables, which makes it a tad harder to eat healthy.

People often ask me if I still crave meat, and honestly, there are times when I crave meat, a lot. No matter how strong-willed you are, when the aroma of a well-cooked chicken tikka, badami qorma or a juicy mushroom swiss burger tantalises you, it's very hard to ignore.

But just like we control a lot of our other desires that contradict our ideologies, this one also becomes a hard-but-necessary act of self-restraint. The craving becomes much less frequent as time passes. There are some soy-based proteins available that taste just like meat but I usually avoid them because of the large amount of preservatives and artificial ingredients in them.

Another question I am always bombarded with is whether I would eat meat for my survival; for example, let's say I am trapped in a jungle and it is the only thing available to me. My answer is always a resounding "Yes". Just like everything else I choose, my choice of what to eat should also have a degree of flexibility. In fact, there have already been a couple of occasions when I was really hungry and not so well, and had to eat meat because nothing else was available.

Did I like doing that? No. But I understand the importance of eating meat over starving on these rare occasions.

Also read: Why is India called a vegetarian country when two-thirds of Indians eat meat?

I am usually also asked about how I feel or what difference it has made in my life. To be honest, it feels amazing. I don't feel heavy after a meal, I don't crash a few minutes after a meal, and yes, it did make a tremendous difference in turning me into a calmer person.

Moreover, if I keep a good vegetarian diet (lots of vegetables) as opposed to an unhealthy vegetarian diet (lots of grains/staples), I also get a large amount of really important micro-nutrients that help a human body in healing itself. I have, over these last few years, fallen less sick with day-to-day ailments than when I was not a vegetarian.

I should clarify that my purpose here is not to convince anybody to become a vegetarian. Eating meat or giving it up, are both completely personal choices that each of us should make independently. All I am saying is, I made mine and expect people to respect it.

http://images.dawn.com/news/1173981/being-a-vegetarian-in-pakistan

He should move to India if he's so bothered.

I saw some real footage in bajrangi bhaijain, how pakistanis think that a vegetarian is ill. Felt like punching the face of that guy in the movie who raised doubts on salman's health when he ordered veg food. Bigot!!!

An Interesting Article:

I have heard that in Pakistan that it is rather difficult to be vegetarian there unless one cooks for oneself.

Even the plain fried rice in restaurants has goat fat in it, and is therefore not vegetarian.

Is this true?

I saw some real footage in bajrangi bhaijain, how pakistanis think that a vegetarian is ill. Felt like punching the face of that guy in the movie who raised doubts on salman's health when he ordered veg food. Bigot!!!
I think that was a bit of a stereotype. Most Pakistani hotels would offer a sabzi or daal dish.

Agreed. The only true stereotype was to show Salman Khan as an Indian, and Nawazuddin as a Pakistani. It was funny seeing skinny Pakistani doubting the health of a vegetarian Indian.

Especially when Salman was much bigger in size and muscular. Just seemed a bit odd.

[MENTION=23064]N[/MENTION]iisha

Good point in your article:

[MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION]

I don't know why you guys try to justify your religiously-sanctioned vegetarianism with science.

You're vegetarian cause your religion conditions you to do so not cause of science or health reasons, it's as absurd as some Muslims saying they don't eat bacon cause of health reasons. It's simply cause of religious, don't be ashamed of your religion :sethi

Nothing tastes as good as beef kebab. Its next only to fish rista

Just one question. Can a cow eat meat? Can an elephant eat meat? Human beings digestive systems are designed to process meat, whereas herbivores are not. It's natural for humans to eat meat, although I suppose you could argue that a man or woman has the ability to make a conscious choice not to eat meat as a moral decision. From my own point of view, mankind could perhaps learn to stop killing each other as a higher priority, then maybe one day we can all achieve Zen nirvana and give up meat as well.

Personally, I am a huge meat eater since a small age. Its down to the fact that its easier access to rich protein. Personally, I'm an athlete so I rely on a lot of meat to gain protein. I prefer this way because its just my personal taste.

Just came here to congratulate all those who quit eating meat as a direct or indirect result of this thread. Well done and feel proud.

Its been 8-9 months now for me without meat and i can say i have never felt better. My productivity has increased, i feel more positive and spiritual than ever before, my girlfriends are happier than ever, even my parents feel proud of me. Quitting meat is perhaps the single greatest decision i have taken in life.

Just one question. Can a cow eat meat? Can an elephant eat meat? Human beings digestive systems are designed to process meat, whereas herbivores are not. It's natural for humans to eat meat, although I suppose you could argue that a man or woman has the ability to make a conscious choice not to eat meat as a moral decision. From my own point of view, mankind could perhaps learn to stop killing each other as a higher priority, then maybe one day we can all achieve Zen nirvana and give up meat as well.

I hope that day comes soon enough. Too many innocent animals have been brutally murdered to satisfy hunger that could have been easily fulfilled through vegan diet.

Yes they just want a country based on religion but don't want to follow the religion.

Wouldn't eat anything with a central nervous system also this debate is endless and tbh pointless no one would change their view just because you challenge it.

Yes they just want a country based on religion but don't want to follow the religion.
Am surprised Khalistan movement is so popular with NRI Sikhs. Second amd third gen Sikhs are generally secular here in the UK.

Most of NRI Sikhs(except UK ones) are secular just want a country based on religion which most of them don't follow properly considering Sikhism has absolute defined set of rules easy to understand.

You wouldn't see the Sikhs of Canada,Australia or America talk trash about any religion even if they want a country based on religion their arguments are good and secular unlike the UK ones.

Its not all NRI sikhs.

Its just the poor paendoo folks who were beaten out from Punjab by the SuperCop known by the name KPS Gill. Just bitterness nothing else. The progressive Sardars have always been ProIndie,

But that debate does not belong in this thread so please refrain from politics and religion. A gentle warning. :) Thanks

Most of NRI Sikhs(except UK ones) are secular just want a country based on religion which most of them don't follow properly considering Sikhism has absolute defined set of rules easy to understand.

You wouldn't see the Sikhs of Canada,Australia or America talk trash about any religion even if they want a country based on religion their arguments are good and secular unlike the UK ones.
Bro i live in the UK. The Sikhs i know none of them are Khalistan supporters. They all dislike the Indian govt though. I thought it was Canadian Sikhs who were more vocal about Khalistan than UK ones. Canadian Sikhs are a much more influential minority than British Sikhs.

Its not all NRI sikhs.

Its just the poor paendoo folks who were beaten out from Punjab by the SuperCop known by the name KPS Gill. Just bitterness nothing else. The progressive Sardars have always been ProIndie,

But that debate does not belong in this thread so please refrain from politics and religion. A gentle warning. :) Thanks
Sorry bro i eat meat because the taste of it is too good. The mass industrial slaughter of animals is cruel and disgusting. I admit i am too much of a coward to kill an animal myself. Like many people i just like the finished product rather than the process.

Bro i live in the UK. The Sikhs i know none of them are Khalistan supporters. They all dislike the Indian govt though. I thought it was Canadian Sikhs who were more vocal about Khalistan than UK ones. Canadian Sikhs are a much more influential minority than British Sikhs.

To me it always feels the opposite i guess things are changing with the younger generation.And Canadian Sikhs are more influential because they take greater participation in the government of Canada unlike UK ones and number also matters i guess.

Sorry bro i eat meat because the taste of it is too good. The mass industrial slaughter of animals is cruel and disgusting. I admit i am too much of a coward to kill an animal myself. Like many people i just like the finished product rather than the process.

Which is pretty sad. Its the extent to which humans have been desensitized as far as meat eating is concerned. I'd rather see people kill animals for themselves and eat them. But treating a murdered animal as just some fruit salad on plate is cold as it gets.

Yeah bro the mass industrial cattle farming is inhumane. Chicken battery farms. and the animals shouldnt have to go through that. In an ideal world the animals would live natural lives and we humans would kill what we needed to eat. But we are greedy and always want more than what we need.

Just love it & hate veg food , except for a South Indian breakfast .

Have had all kinds of meat , only thing I cant eat is snakes / frogs etc . As for meat Pork >>>>> Beef > Mutton > duck > Fish/Sea food > Chicken .

I can have only pork ribs for a meal everyday , nothing tastes better .

I actually don't know how someone can NOT eat meat.

How could you say no to a big juicy dry aged ribeye steak or a slow cooked tender Dumba (Fat-tailed Sheep) Karai? Actually, just thinking about it makes me want to go have it!

There is no substitute for meat.

I gave up eating meat because it didn't feel right to me that an animal should be killed just only to satisfy my taste buds. My conscience doesn't allow it.

It's a vegetable. Go to Nandos today and give it a go.
Lol...its not vegetable. Not sure if its meat though.

BTW I eat chicken and lamb. Love both of them. But never tasted beef or pork :moyo

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

I gave up eating meat because it didn't feel right to me that an animal should be killed just only to satisfy my taste buds. My conscience doesn't allow it.

That's what animals are here for. If God didn't want us eating them he wouldn't have made them so tasty.

I actually don't know how someone can NOT eat meat.

How could you say no to a big juicy dry aged ribeye steak or a slow cooked tender Dumba (Fat-tailed Sheep) Karai? Actually, just thinking about it makes me want to go have it!

There is no substitute for meat.

It's about cultural upbringing too it's easier for a Hindu living in a part of India where most people are veggie. And vegetarianism is promoted as a lifestyle and is a cultural norm to stick to being a veggie. Most other societies where meat eating is just a part of the culture it's harder to be veg. It's like in Europe and the u.s pork is a huge part of the diet. E.g always see white people dying over how amazing bacon is etc. But when u are brought up in a Muslim household you are always taught about how pig is dirty unclean etc don't eat it. So u have negative connotations about pig drilled into you. And don't understand how these guys can love pig so much. Like am not religious at all but when I smell pig being cooked it makes me almost vomit.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk