Sitara Aur Mehrunnisa
Tipu Sultan
Red Card

All top notch drama's of the past

Tanhaiyaan
Udaan
Sona Chandi

were also very good.

Waris (1979) provides a classic exposition of the concept of feudalism within a Pakistani context. The flamboyant Chaudhray Hashmat Khan is emblematic of what many people consider a feudal lord to be like - arrogant, opportunistic, exploitative and reactionary.

But it is also a sophisticated drama that carries the message that things are changing, that life in the rural areas is by no means static, and that the power of the big landed aristocracy is being increasingly circumscribed by modernity. It also offered a glimpse into urban life at a time when many people were moving into the cities.

Hashmat Khan's son, Chaudhary Yaqoob, lives in the city and in one episode his father asks what he is doing living a life of anonymity in the city, where instead he could live in the countryside as a rural notable. Yaqoob himself is a sinister character, apparently unable to shake off his feudal origins.

As such even though he lives a life of relative anonymity in the city, feudal values persist.

31 years on, the drama still has considerable contemporary relevance to Pakistani society.

Chand Girahan, (Starring the great Shafi Muhammad, Shakeel and the ravishing Faryal Gohar) was a super hit as well. Absolutely super class production.

where is Dhuaan?
And ALpha Bravo Charlie
and Bulandi
Aanch

Alpha Bravo Charlie. For me the best drama ever. No match!

Dhuaan was also good. There are so many. Tanhayan, Dhoop Kinaray, Aangan Terha, Bandhan, etc etc

Are there some other classical dramas with Mehboob Alam like Waaris and Samundar ? And also some with Abid Ali (except Waaris and Samundar). Samundar was such a good drama. Need more dramas like those and Mehboob Alam and Abid Ali were exceptional.

Aanch - Shagufta Ijaz marries Shafi Muhammad who has 3 kids and his wife's dead. The children hate her.

Alpha Bravo Charlie - Directed by Shoaib Mansoor. It's about three friends in the army- Faraz, Kashif and Gulsher. Had a very pretty girl Shahnaaz. I had a crush on her for the longest time!

Guest House - Islamabad based comedy drama. About a guest house, it's owners, staff and various eccentric guests. Had a lot of memorable characters like Mr. and Mrs. Shamim, Tip Tip Murad, Uth Oye Naveed, and of course, Jaan Rambo.

Dhoop Kinaray - A doctor drama written by Hasina Moin. Has Marina Khan and Rahat Kazmi. He is a middle aged doctor and she is a freshie doctor. She develops a crush on him while another senior doctor Badar Khalil also has eyes on him. It's about Rahat Kazmi's father's house that he cherished which Marina inherited and he hated her for that.

Parosi - Another Hasina Moin gem. Stars Marina Khan, the brilliant but now deceased Khalida Riasat and hilarious Ali Ijaz. Ali Ijaz is a retired colonel and a regimental man and these two hapless sisters move into his house as paying guests.

Alif Noon - Classic comedy drama starring Kamal Ahmed Rizvi and Rafi Khawar (as Nannha). Every episode is a different story where the two friends start a new business. Hilarious!

Aangan Terha - Written by Anwar Maqsood. Stars Shakeel and Bushra Ansari as an old married couple and their servant's role is played by hilarious Salim Nasir, whose sexuality in the drama is controversial :)) Very witty drama.

Nadaan Nadia - Written by Anwar Maqsood. It is a light hearted comedy play starring Babra Sharif who is an overseas Pakistani who's moved back to Pakistan.

Khwaja and Son - Ali Ijaz shines in this one too. He is the father of one poet son and nine daughters. It's very funny and portrays interior Lahore beautifully.

Sona Chandi - A husband and wife come from the village to the city to work in people's home for a year so they can collect enough money to go back and pay off their parents' loan. During the year they work for about a month in each house and it is a funny take on very real problems faced in different homes.

Jhanjaal Pura - A hilarious drama with very colorful characters. Has a Shaikh Sahab with two wives, a family planning clinic, a neighborhood midwife, a mithai wala and a bunch of transvestites :))

angan tehra. you watch it 100 times in a row, you wont be bored.

What was the name of that drama about that villager who saves a british man from a poisonous snake who then takes him back to UK in appreciation. He returns to the village in a suit and cane years later. It was really hilarious back in the day.

most dramas were good in those days..................million times better than indian neverending dramas.............................

Dhuaan
Tanhaaiyan
Ankahee
Alpha Bravo Charlie
Guest House
Aangan Terha
Nadaan Nadia
Dhoop Kinaaray
Kiran Kahani

Dhuaan, Alpha Bravo Charlie and Tanhaaiyan are my favorites.

There was another drama starring Nadia Khan. I think it was her first. It was written by Haseena Moin. Where Nadia is engaged by her parents to a doctor but doesn't want to marry him. So he gets engaged to her doctor cousin. And then Nadia starts working at their hospital. And then all hell breaks loose.

EDIT: I think it was Pal Do Pal??

Mirza Ghalib Bandar Road Par

awesome drama you will see Karachi in its golden days and i just do not even have words to describe it . you have to watch it

bht se daramey hain ab yaad bhi ni ate unke naam.
Aik darama tha aik lalchi badsah ke bare main,nam ni yad araha ,zabrdast tha.
teletheatre series bhi bht fit the.

Aanch - Shagufta Ijaz marries Shafi Muhammad who has 3 kids and his wife's dead. The children hate her.
Wife isn't dead. Has remarried and moved abroad. Great drama though.

Sunehray Din
, which was a precursor to Alpha Bravo Charlie. Salim Sheikh is a young troublemaker. The show tracks how his life changes as he joins the Army. These two Army dramas by Shoaib Mansoor were really good. Good recruiting tool as well for the ISPR, who backed both projects.

Chand Girahan - Streets of Karachi would reportedly be deserted when this drama was on, great storytelling by Asghar Nadeem Syed. And great performances by Shafi Mohammad, Sohail Asghar.

Dasht - Atiqa Odho, Nauman Ijaz, Sindhi waderay style Romeo and Juliet story.

Kashkol

Never saw Dhuaan, heard it was a great play. Guest House was banned in our house so never saw that either.

Guest house was great,And Dhuaan was a action drama,Story of 7 friends who love there country.

there is a drama on ary digital these days, its called "daam", really good one

It just ended last Friday.:(
I would rate it as one of the best dramas to grace our channel in recent times. An absolute gem "Daam" was

Sooraj ky saath saath
Don't remember too much of this show, except it was set in the early 1950s. Was quite political and got banned, so they had to change the ending a little bit before they could re-air.

It just ended last Friday.:(
I would rate it as one of the best dramas to grace our channel in recent times. An absolute gem "Daam" was

I caught some episodes of it. So did the girl played by Sanam Baloch get married to her friend's brother finally? The last I saw her friend was running into problems with her in laws for her brother not wanting to marry her sis-in-law.

Wow, I sound like a rishtay karanay wali khala. :ibutt

bht se daramey hain ab yaad bhi ni ate unke naam.
Aik darama tha aik lalchi badsah ke bare main,nam ni yad araha ,zabrdast tha.
teletheatre series bhi bht fit the.

jis main Qazi Wajid badshah bante hai'n aur un ko loot lia jaata hai :))

I haven't watched that many PTV dramas but the ones I remeber are :-

Aansoo - My mom really liked it and I used to watch it too. Very good drama, indeed.

Alpha Bravo Charlie - My dad is a retired army officer and I was really fascinated by this drama naturally.

Dhuaan - I have vague memories of this drama but I remember that as a kid, I would eagerly wait for it to come on every week.

I caught some episodes of it. So did the girl played by Sanam Baloch get married to her friend's brother finally? The last I saw her friend was running into problems with her in laws for her brother not wanting to marry her sis-in-law.

You a fan? Just like your :amir then.

All of these dramas are classic.

One which I like the best right now in current dramas, which comes on GEO, its called Nadaaniyan, its hilarious.

Alpha Bravo Charlie - Directed by Shoaib Mansoor. It's about three friends in the army- Faraz, Kashif and Gulsher. Had a very pretty girl Shahnaaz. I had a crush on her for the longest time!

Guest House - Islamabad based comedy drama. About a guest house, it's owners, staff and various eccentric guests. Had a lot of memorable characters like Mr. and Mrs. Shamim, Tip Tip Murad, Uth Oye Naveed, and of course, Jaan Rambo.

Dhoop Kinaray - A doctor drama written by Hasina Moin. Has Marina Khan and Rahat Kazmi. He is a middle aged doctor and she is a freshie doctor. She develops a crush on him while another senior doctor Badar Khalil also has eyes on him. It's about Rahat Kazmi's father's house that he cherished which Marina inherited and he hated her for that.

Parosi - Another Hasina Moin gem. Stars Marina Khan, the brilliant but now deceased Khalida Riasat and hilarious Ali Ijaz. Ali Ijaz is a retired colonel and a regimental man and these two hapless sisters move into his house as paying guests.

Alif Noon - Classic comedy drama starring Kamal Ahmed Rizvi and Rafi Khawar (as Nannha). Every episode is a different story where the two friends start a new business. Hilarious!

Aangan Terha - Written by Anwar Maqsood. Stars Shakeel and Bushra Ansari as an old married couple and their servant's role is played by hilarious Salim Nasir, whose sexuality in the drama is controversial :)) Very witty drama.

Nadaan Nadia - Written by Anwar Maqsood. It is a light hearted comedy play starring Babra Sharif who is an overseas Pakistani who's moved back to Pakistan.

Khwaja and Son - Ali Ijaz shines in this one too. He is the father of one poet son and nine daughters. It's very funny and portrays interior Lahore beautifully.

Sona Chandi - A husband and wife come from the village to the city to work in people's home for a year so they can collect enough money to go back and pay off their parents' loan. During the year they work for about a month in each house and it is a funny take on very real problems faced in different homes.

Jhanjaal Pura - A hilarious drama with very colorful characters. Has a Shaikh Sahab with two wives, a family planning clinic, a neighborhood midwife, a mithai wala and a bunch of transvestites :))

:14:

You're obviously way more than a mere Sultan Rahi aficionado!

there is a drama on ary digital these days, its called "daam", really good one

That's one good drama to has aired on TV in recent times. The ending was just what it should have been!

No, she didn't. And very rightly so.

You should have watched the whole drama.
I said "rightly so" because if she had married that guy in the end, it would all have been too bollywood type!

So she didn't get the guy she wanted because I didn't watch the whole drama? I guess I'll catch the last few episodes on youtube then. I want her to be happy. :yk

nahi,woh mota aur chota sa koi banda tha,Khazane ke peche para rehta the hamesha.Tmhn ni yad ane wala.

You talking of "Ba Adab, Ba Mulahiza, Hoshiaar!!"? :)

Qasim Jalali played the Mughal emperor (I guess) in that one

So she didn't get the guy she wanted because I didn't watch the whole drama? I guess I'll catch the last few episodes on youtube then. I want her to be happy. :yk

Aray bhaee.. her friend did not want to see the two of them get married.. So manipulated and successfully prevented their marriage.

I won't tell you the whole story.. watch it yourself :p

You talking of "Ba Adab, Ba Mulahiza, Hoshiaar!!"? :)

Qasim Jalali played the Mughal emperor (I guess) in that one

han wohe.
Just remember some scenes,but can remember that it was a good one.

dhuwaan and ABC are the best in terms of stories about men...

currently watching 'Dastaan' on hum tv (on youtube also)...its based on a novel about the partition and based around this girl who gets left behind in India and her struggles there and to find a way to Pakistan...really touching drama which at its core shows the sacrifices our elders made for this country...i wish we could all have the ability to sacrifice for Pakistan like that and we wouldn't have the same issues we have today

What was the name of that drama about that villager who saves a british man from a poisonous snake who then takes him back to UK in appreciation. He returns to the village in a suit and cane years later. It was really hilarious back in the day.

No one remembers this? :(

How can you guys miss Hawayein (Talat Aziz) & Alao (the Drugs Drama)

Chand Girahan - Streets of Karachi would reportedly be deserted when this drama was on, great storytelling by Asghar Nadeem Syed. And great performances by Shafi Mohammad, Sohail Asghar.

Can't argue with this one. One heckuva production.

another classic was Gaangluus...one of the most scariest drama i've ever seen....full of violence and gore but has an amazing story

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/2HYny66_z6A?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2HYny66_z6A?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Surprised no one mentioned "Home Sweet Home"..used to love it! Funny as hell:)

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/IYO-DUDVyTw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

"Susser in Law" one of the most funniest PTV drama.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/S0hRGAx3jjY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

some excellent suggestions above

here's more

Raahein

Landa Bazaar

there was a Anti-Narcotics Force drama which was pretty good, can't remember the name.

Aahan

Angar-waadi

here's more

Raahein

Landa Bazaar

there was a Anti-Narcotics Force drama which was pretty good, can't remember the name.

Aahan

Angar-waadi

That was class. One of the best I have seen. Fast paced, very good storyline and direction. The bad guy was really cool too.

Any drama written by Ashfaq Ahmed and Bano Qudsia;
Aur Dramay, Aik Muhabat Sau Afsanay, Manchalay ka sauda, etc.

Then some really really old classics from Karachi......

Khuda ki Basti
[utube]a8ZjDZDNm7A[/utube]

Taleem-e-Balghan
[utube]f6XKTMxHw7Y[/utube]

Kasak - was great drama in early -mid 90s, forgot female lead but male lead was palyed by Salman Ahmad from Junon group

and then there was character "Janu German" was it in Khuda ki Basti or some other drama ?

here's more

Raahein

Landa Bazaar

Aahan

Angar-waadi
"Inkaar" starring Sawera Nadeem, Abid Ali, Firdous Jamal, Kashif Mehmood and 'Prince' ( Nauman Masood).
Amazing drama :14:

Kasak - was great drama in early -mid 90s, forgot female lead but male lead was palyed by Salman Ahmad from Junon group

and then there was character "Janu German" was it in Khuda ki Basti or some other drama ?

Nope that was "Aahat". It starred Salman Ahmad, Qazi Wajid, Sania Saeed and Samina Ahmed.
It was written by Haseena Moin.

"Kasak" was another Haseena Moin drama. Cast included Rubina Ashraf,Jahanzeb Gorchani, Tanvir Jamal and Fazila Qazi.