[Report] Babar Azam to be sacked after ICC World Cup 2023 - Sarfaraz, Shaheen and Rizwan emerge as potential replacements

Who should take over if Babar Azam is no longer ODI Captain of Pakistan?

As per a media report, Ramiz Raja:

“I was doing a show for the ICC at the nets and we met by chance. There were no specific plans for this meeting with Babar,”

“Babar looked depressed and sounded frustrated because Pakistan have failed to qualify for the semi-final of the World Cup.”

“Babar is a mature captain with a good temperament who handles his anger very well. Pakistan cricket team is losing and people passing comments is unbearable. If I was in place of Babar, I would’ve given harsh answers in press conferences. I think as a critic we need to introspect,”

“Pakistan Cricket has no system like India or Australia who’ve a great back-up talent. We are bound to utilise current bunch of players carefully.

“There is no need of drastic changes. Pakistan cricket needs time to move forward. I felt bad after talking to him [Babar].”

“I was doing a show for the ICC at the nets and we met by chance. There were no specific plans for this meeting with Babar,”

“Babar looked depressed and sounded frustrated because Pakistan have failed to qualify for the semi-final of the World Cup.”

“Babar is a mature captain with a good temperament who handles his anger very well. Pakistan cricket team is losing and people passing comments is unbearable. If I was in place of Babar, I would’ve given harsh answers in press conferences. I think as a critic we need to introspect,”

“Pakistan Cricket has no system like India or Australia who’ve a great back-up talent. We are bound to utilise current bunch of players carefully.

“There is no need of drastic changes. Pakistan cricket needs time to move forward. I felt bad after talking to him [Babar].”
So when he was in charge, a couple of times why that system was not put in place.
Not sure what system, Pakistan does have a domestic system and money in flow, as well as interest in the game.
Time for excuses is up and some action needs to be taken by those in charge.

Would love to hear what Ramiz thought at the time when Sarfaraz was struggling with results 4 years earlier

I am sure he must have said something - see if you can dig up some old reports.

I dont need to. I’m pretty sure that it was a totally contradictory statement to this.

Ramiz is part of the problem. His views are not consistent. He is biased

I dont need to. I’m pretty sure that it was a totally contradictory statement to this.

Ramiz is part of the problem. His views are not consistent. He is biased

Then you are being disingenous.

Simple.

Don't make up stuff like that to confirm your personal bias.

Unpopular Advice

Keep Babar as captain. No need to remove because their is no one in the back that we have groomed to be as a captain ,therefore, it will be stupid decision to give captaincy to someone else because no one really performed.

Rizwan (Did not perform)
Shaheen (Has 50% to drop from the squad of Aus due to Fitness and performance issue)

It is in Zaka Ashraf to keep Babar as Captain now Babar will be PCB controlled captain as he will 0 say on Playing 11, 15 man squad.

I was one of few who strongly suggested to make someone else captain as Babar is a very slow reader of the game. I was afraid that we will lose Babar the batsman in the next World Cup and that’s exactly what happened. We should go back and pull all those threads and see what posters said back in days.
I believe Rizwan is the right candidate to take this team forward. No one in our team can read the game as fast as Rizwan.
Brother he can't even read when someone gets nicked or appeal properly for LBW.

He's the type of guy to go to 3rd umpire for literally every delivery 😂😂

If that will make you burn, absolutely. Give him the crown.

Burn? It will turn Pakistan into a comedian side so it would very much give me the comic relief I need in my spare time.

Going back to my question, if he's the most important player in the side, why don't you want him to be Pakistan's next captain?

Burn? It will turn Pakistan into a comedian side so it would very much give me the comic relief I need in my spare time.

Going back to my question, if he's the most important player in the side, why don't you want him to be Pakistan's next captain?
Why do you continously parrot a lie. Why do you cherry pick sentences and post out of context? Have the courage to post the whole sentence of what I said.

I mean technically you want to prep for the next WC. Why would you want Safraz to be the captain? His time is up with many other senior players all around the world. Rizwan sounds like the best man at this point. Also a very nice dude so should not be having dressing room drama

Unpopular Advice

Keep Babar as captain. No need to remove because their is no one in the back that we have groomed to be as a captain ,therefore, it will be stupid decision to give captaincy to someone else because no one really performed.

Rizwan (Did not perform)
Shaheen (Has 50% to drop from the squad of Aus due to Fitness and performance issue)

It is in Zaka Ashraf to keep Babar as Captain now Babar will be PCB controlled captain as he will 0 say on Playing 11, 15 man squad.

Definitely unpopular advice.

In the real world, if you don't perform, you get shown the door. Babar deserves to be sacked as captain and also deserves to be dropped from the ODI and T20 team with instructions to reinvent himself as a modern limited overs player with a reliable power game.

It's time to try a different captain.

At least for a new perspective.

Babar also needs to go back to focusing on his batting and continue working on his game. It's his most important contribution to the team and if that isn't there, the team won't win regardless of who is leading.

Their concern has to do with a lack of options though. I don't see any inspiring option.

We need specialist players for each format and possibly seperate captains IMO

Odi : fakhar zaman and groom
someone else as vc to take over

Test : Shan Massood

T20: shaheen

Someone mentioned Fakhar in other thread . I will take him as LO captain . Mindset is important

Fakhar has the body language of a total mental midget when he is out of form. He also is an aloof personality. Doubt if he has any leadership skills.

I think he does . A person worked in navy won’t be weak and scoring match winning innings in must win games only shows his mental capacity.

We need specialist players for each format and possibly seperate captains IMO

Odi : fakhar zaman and groom
someone else as vc to take over

Test : Shan Massood

T20: shaheen
May be pcb should pay more to shaheen and stop him from playing all around in the leagues. Give him an exclusive club feeling by having good physics and specialist's around him. He will take responsibility .

Plus he is a hack. Might score here and there but not leadership material.

Previously, we had separate captains for white-ball and red-ball cricket, and it worked well for us. I believe the same strategy should be applied here. Instead of burdening one player too much, it is beneficial to have two captains for the three formats. In the next 3-4 years, there will be a significant imbalance between white-ball and red-ball cricket fixtures. We won't be playing many ODI matches except in ICC tournaments, but there will be a substantial amount of T20 cricket and some moderate Test cricket. Distributing responsibilities between Rizwan and Shaheen would be a wise decision. However, PCB seems reluctant as it might strengthen the trio group of Babar, Rizwan, and Shaheen. I think Shan and Sarfraz will likely be selected, as PCB aims to diminish player power by bringing in two individuals from outside the group. The question remains: will such controversial decisions lead to improvement? It's a known fact that we've been an average ODI and Test team for the last two decades. Our strength lies in T20, and that's a harsh reality.

PCB needs to introduce a PSL style domestic ODI tournament to give our players competitive ODI exposure every year to ensure their skills remain sharp for ODI Cricket

There is already pakistan cup for list a cricket. 50 over format is very near to its death. Maybe in coming years it will be only be played in ICC tournaments. Bilateral ODI will be finished.
We only play 30 ODI from 2019-2023

There is already pakistan cup for list a cricket. 50 over format is very near to its death. Maybe in coming years it will be only be played in ICC tournaments. Bilateral ODI will be finished.
We only play 30 ODI from 2019-2023

This is the problem which the PCB has to address. During the same time, India has played 54 ODIs and mostly against strong sides unlike Pakistan who mostly played minnows or C, D level teams of England, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand

As per a media report, and attributed to a PCB source:

"Babar has already spoken to his teammates, and the majority of them advised him not to step down himself. He will come out with a clear line of action once he returns home with the team after failing to make the semi-finals of the World Cup in India. But, he will not step down himself,"

"He will most probably leave the decision of whether he should remain captain or not up to the Pakistan Cricket Board headed by Zaka Ashraf,”

---------------------

Looks like Babar is going nowhere on his own. He should give his captaincy for his own sake man. Focus on what you can do best and that is batting.​

"Babar has already spoken to his teammates, and the majority of them advised him not to step down himself. He will come out with a clear line of action once he returns home with the team after failing to make the semi-finals of the World Cup in India. But, he will not step down himself,"

"He will most probably leave the decision of whether he should remain captain or not up to the Pakistan Cricket Board headed by Zaka Ashraf,”

---------------------

Looks like Babar is going nowhere on his own. He should give his captaincy for his own sake man. Focus on what you can do best and that is batting.​

Time for the PCB to get tough. Sack this lot of players who have let down the country.

Pick a brand new team and send them to Australia. Atleast they will be fresh, unscarred and will show more hunger to perform for the country. Players need to be reminded they are not bigger than the game.

This is the problem which the PCB has to address. During the same time, India has played 54 ODIs and mostly against strong sides unlike Pakistan who mostly played minnows or C, D level teams of England, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand
Babar and PCB has no control over why these major teams are playing C and D teams against pakistan. Maybe there priority is to play their best players in meaningful games while ours is to play all matches as we are playing so much less games.
And i think we dont have any 3 test matches series scheduled against SENA countries after this Aus series in Dec

---------------------

nobody in Pakistan can give power to other. A powerless person is pakistan is worst than anything. Its a sad state of our society which has turned into so extreme down.
Maybe babar will wait PCB decision to take his captaincy so that he can come back later on in a proper way.

Ramiz Raja was only in the office for a year and then N league the goons took over and made a mess of everything. Can’t blame Ramiz he was trying his hard but correct way mein kam karna pakistani system mein kisi ko bhi pasand nahi. And then everyone wants pakistan to be world beaters. In Pakistan jo system sahi karta hai woh system se bahir hojata hai.

If i was in PCB Chairman; i will continue with Babar as Test Captain as well in Australia and then see if we need to remove him completely.

Babar kya kare…Agar best bowling line up every match mein 350 run khaye gi. 🤦‍♂️.

He trusted and put 100 💯 faith in them but they failed miserably. Shadab,Nawaz,Hassan Ali, Rauf should stay in T20 cricket only please.

Pakistan cricket need strong Under 19 and B Team system in place.

What I mean is have;

6-8 Under 19 Teams introduce new competition of 40 Overs cricket and 3 Day cricket domestic league matches.

B Team - Should have atleast 40-45 players who plays for Pakistan on the basis of the performances in domestic. Lakin kon samjahe in PCB old horses who never even played for gully cricket in their life.

Pakistan cricket need strong Under 19 and B Team system in place.

What I mean is have;

6-8 Under 19 Teams introduce new competition of 40 Overs cricket and 3 Day cricket domestic league matches.

B Team - Should have atleast 40-45 players who plays for Pakistan on the basis of the performances in domestic. Lakin kon samjahe in PCB old horses who never even played for gully cricket in their life.

Our team failed miserably in the Asia Games where we failed against India and even Afghanistan.

It is the same story with our U19 team. These results are more concerning because it tells you the problem is at the grass roots

That's the point.
people must listen to what Saurav Ganguly said , he summed up everything in few minutes.

While speaking on a YouTube podcast, Kapil defended Azam, emphasizing that judging him solely based on his current performance would be unfair. He pointed out Azam's previous achievements, highlighting that he had led the Pakistan team to the top spot in the ICC ODI rankings just six months prior.

"If you say that Babar Azam is not the right choice [for captaincy] today, it is because you are looking at just his current performance. He was the same captain, who made Pakistan team No.1 [in ICC ODI rankings] six months ago."

"When someone gets out for zero, 99 percent of the people would want him to be dropped. If an ordinary player comes and scores a brilliant hundred, then they call him a superstar. So don’t look at just current performance. Look at how he has approached the game, how much passion and talent he has," Kapil said

-------------------------

Even the indian legend is acknowledging the contributions of Babar Azam but still, some laptop people are bashing him. Babar is more than good as a player. He should give up his captaincy for his own good though.​

Shahid Afridi on Babar Azam’s Captaincy:

"I am a big fan of Babar and so are many others. People criticized me for criticizing Babar's captaincy (aap Babar ki kaptani ke piche pade hain). Babar has always been like a younger brother to me."I wanted Babar to be on the list of top captains. He has been captaining for 3-4 years. During this period, there was never a sword hanging over his captaincy. We all supported him. We thought in 3-4 years his grooming would make him better. He would be able to prove himself as a captain and a leader but that hasn't happened. We have seen a lot of mistakes,"

"Leader has to be strong. He has to take everyone along with him. A leader does not have one or two players. He has 7-8 performers, who take them together forward,"

"The Australia series is a significant one, and I understand this is a huge responsibility. Regarding captaincy, I don't think there should be any changes, especially in Test cricket. Babar Azam should continue to lead,"

--------------------------------------
Babar Azam will struggle in Australia as well as far as I think. Team is down and out after poor world cup campaign and I don't think so that babar will be able to handle such pressure.

"The Australia series is a significant one, and I understand this is a huge responsibility. Regarding captaincy, I don't think there should be any changes, especially in Test cricket. Babar Azam should continue to lead,"
On the name of huge responsibility, Shahid bhai still wants to send a recent failure as a captain there for further desaster?

I dont under stand what he actually wants from babar, sometime he says babar should resign as a captain now he wants to keep him as a captin for Australia series, looking like a confusded guy!

According to reports

Shan Masood will be test and odi captain
Shaheen T20 captain

According to reports

Shaheen T20 captain
Awful awful outcome in test and odi. Expected nothing from the cancerous pcb chairman. Hes literally the destroyer of pakistan cricket.

According to reports

Shaheen T20 captain
Don't mind Shan however I'd still take Sarfraz over him

Afridi is an awful choice for T20 captaincy. It had to either be Sarfraz or Imad, however seems like our selectors don't learn

According to reports

Shaheen T20 captain

Shan is a thoughtful person and brainy. I'm sure he has a good understanding of the game but the man doesn't have a guaranteed spot in the team.

This is where his candidacy should end.

You can't have a non-deserving captain of a team like Pakistan. He won't last at all.

I would rather Sarfaraz than Shan Masood who has no place in the line up.

a. Sarfaraz can actually captain

b. He can pass on his knowledge onto Babar/Rizwan/Shaheen to groom them

c. Won't be easily toppled over by player groupings as he has respect of Babar and co, whereas Shan masood is not a part of this group

What respect? It's the clique which along with Misbah, Waqar & Ramiz ousted him from leadership last time around. How do they respect him when they don't even want his presence near the team?

Points A and B should have happened during his years-long run of the side across formats.

Point C started to happen in 2019 anyway...

Don't see how going one step back will solve the problem.

What respect? It's the clique which along with Misbah, Waqar & Ramiz ousted him from leadership last time around. How do they respect him when they don't even want his presence near the team?
Ramiz wasn't chairman when Babar was appointed captain. He was dropped by the chairman before that (Ehsan Mani) for his fitness and performance which rightfully was lacking and Azhar Ali took captaincy first then Babar after that. Babar was at the top of the world, and everyone around him thought they could groom him and he could learn on the job (Which has now failed). I don't think Babar and co committed a mutiny, this squad is one of the most united pak teams ever.

So in 2023 again Sarfaraz might lose his form and performance but now you don't have any alternative for captaincy(You can't go back to Babar), I believe whatever happens now with his form this team needs an experienced captain not one learning on the job.

Points A and B should have happened during his years-long run of the side across formats.

Point C started to happen in 2019 anyway...

Don't see how going one step back will solve the problem.
Babar has been quite vocal in terms of making his own decisions. Heck why do you think Malik, Hafeez have got an axe to grind in regards to Babar's captaincy since last year, they were offering him suggestions and Babar was like nope, I don't need suggestions from you. Remember all those articles of Babar is a dummy captain? Well to put those to rest Babar took full advantage of Rameez's tenure. Babar did not displace Sarfaraz, Azhar Ali took over from him...

One step back is better than 10 steps backs...You have no choice but to bring an experienced Captain, this team can't afford another one learning on the job without any senior figures (e.g. Shaheen, Shan)

Ramiz wasn't chairman when Babar was appointed captain. He was dropped by the chairman before that (Ehsan Mani) for his fitness and performance which rightfully was lacking and Azhar Ali took captaincy first then Babar after that. Babar was at the top of the world, and everyone around him thought they could groom him and he could learn on the job (Which has now failed). I don't think Babar and co committed a mutiny, this squad is one of the most united pak teams ever.
Of course Ramiz wasn't the chairman at the time. But he was the loudest advocate for Babar's captaincy. He is the admin of Babar Azam fanclub & biggest fangirl in the world. The guy openly declared his wish to be Babar's bride😑, for God's sake.So obviously his & Misbah/Waqar's interest aligned.

Azhar took over only in red ball, Babar was handed over the reign of white ball formats, so ultimately who was more powerful? If Babar or his friends don't have any issue with Sarfaraz then why did he decline Zaka's suggestion to include the guy in the world cup squad? Why were all of Sarfaraz's favourite boys (Amir,Imad, Haris) thrown out from the team systematically? This squad is the most united bunch simply because they created a nexus where either friends, stooges, business partners or court jesters are allowed. Anyone with difference of opinion or declining to bow isn't allowed. It's a circlejerk, so obviously it will always appear united.
So in 2023 again Sarfaraz might lose his form and performance but now you don't have any alternative for captaincy(You can't go back to Babar), I believe whatever happens now with his form this team needs an experienced captain not one learning on the job.

Babar has been quite vocal in terms of making his own decisions. Heck why do you think Malik, Hafeez have got an axe to grind in regards to Babar's captaincy since last year, they were offering him suggestions and Babar was like nope, I don't need suggestions from you. Remember all those articles of Babar is a dummy captain? Well to put those to rest Babar took full advantage of Rameez's tenure. Babar did not displace Sarfaraz, Azhar Ali took over from him...

One step back is better than 10 steps backs...You have no choice but to bring an experienced Captain, this team can't afford another one learning on the job without any senior figures (e.g. Shaheen, Shan)

Not the first and definitely not the last time that a WC exit will end with a captaincy merry go round. Going through the thread see a lot of different opinions and unfortunately very few of them make sense. Makes most of us fans sound as trigger happy and clueless as the management and the unscrupulous journalists and former players baying for blood. The real question isn't and shouldn't be who should be the next captain, but why we always end up like this following any major tournament.

While everyone is busy promoting their preferred candidate, not one board official, journalist or former player questions the process and why players aren't identified and groomed for leadership roles like they are for other roles like keeping, batting, finishing or death bowling. Captaincy is a specialized job just like any other, and you just can't expect your best batsman or bowler, or someone who can communicate well, to do the job just because he is the best bowler or batter or communicator in the team. Why is there no formal process in place to identify players coming through domestic and age group cricket who display leadership and tactical skills and to then put those players through a process to enhance those skills? Why do we only consider qualifications like seniority, batting and bowling skills, background and support/nepotism and past history when choosing a captain? The game has changed a lot and when you are adopting scientific and analytical methods for the various facets of the game why not also make processes for identifying and grooming leaders. And this is something that might prove easier to do than coaching batting and bowling and could be done indigenously in conjunction with universities, state institutions and the corporate sector. With the right processes in place even if you don't select the best candidate at least you will be providing them with some tools to succeed at their job. It is time that we recognize the importance and specialization of the leadership role.

Secondly, questions must be asked about the delineation of power between the Board, selection committee and the captain. What should be the role of the Board Chairman and should he have the power to interfere in purely cricketing matters like selection? Unfortunately for a country like Pakistan this will be difficult to address given the political nature of appointments. How much power should the captain have in squad selection? Could the captain's incentives be tied to his performance in a way that it compels him to pick the team with a view to winning every game rather than picking friends and associates?

One can only hope (most probably foolishly) that such questions are now asked and a process is put in place to avoid total makeovers every 2 years.

As for the current predicament, there seem to be very few viable solutions and none of them will be long term. For me the more important selection would be that of the vice captain and I again (again foolishly) hope that they appoint someone who has leadership qualities and who has a future with the team regardless of their seniority.

As per a media report, the current management does not have the mandate to sack anyone!

Don't see how this is relevant to what I said. I was referring to Sarfraz's captaincy, not Babar.

Regarding your second para - while it may seem that what you have suggested is akin to only taking one step back at the moment, it will be the catalyst to us taking those 10 steps you mentioned. Better to cut the snake's head off now. Forget the Sarfraz chapter and move on. Sure a new captain will stumble and fall for a few years but in the meantime, his juniors can be groomed. If we bring Sarfraz back AND if he does well for a few more years (a big IF), then once he resigns/retires/is booted out, we will inevitably be back at square one. Young, inexperienced captains getting thrown into the deep. Might as well bite that bullet now than delay it with a few years of mediocrity.

PCB will be keeping Babar as a captain for the australia tour as far as i think. That might be his last assignment as a captain if he fails. But babar should already be going by himself gracefully.

Shan is a thoughtful person and brainy. I'm sure he has a good understanding of the game but the man doesn't have a guaranteed spot in the team.

This is where his candidacy should end.

You can't have a non-deserving captain of a team like Pakistan. He won't last at all.
Australia would be one tour where I would not mind a specialist captain ,in any case he will be occupying the number 3 slot as he was ok in Srilanka so his place for first couple of tests is secure. Any new number 3 we take will probably do no better so let him take the responsibility and if he fails we can start fresh with a new captain with the easier test assignments.

As per reports, Babar Azam has refused the PCB offer of keeping him only as a Test captain.

If true I wonder what this means.

Does he want to hold onto the all format captaincy? That would be very strange if so.

I don’t think anyone could feasibly recommend Babar stays in his role now.

Reports suggesting PCB wanted Babar to continue as Test captain

His statement mentions that he is stepping down from all formats as captain.

Typical

Reports suggesting PCB wanted Babar to continue as Test captain

His statement mentions that he is stepping down from all formats as captain.

Typical
The audacity of this guy after such atrocious performance. How delusional one can be to think even after all this he deserves to lead across the formats. I also feel he declined the test captaincy because he wants to avoid the impending down under humiliation. Feel bad for the next test captain whoever that may be. The dude will have an uphill battle to clear up the mess that RizBar created.

Rizwan is the best fit for leading the ODI and Test teams, while Shaheen should take charge of the T20I team. Rizwan can even play as a specialist batsman in place of Shan in the Test team. Choosing Sarfraz or Shan would be illogical and lack foresight, leading to ineffective future planning

Got nauseated as Shan masood been appointed as test captain . I think Sarfraz denied captaining and Rizwan can’t be in XI if Sarfraz plays . So they had to pick him as he is favourite boy of many