Report does not reflect increase in corruption: Transparency International [Update Post #182]

Can't respect made up agenda driven points.

Point of view based on merit should be.

As Adam has said, lot of criticism of PTI on this forum is done in bad faith.

again we do not have proof against anyone. most of us got the information from the various news channels by listening to different anchors. In reality we do not know the truth.

Without any achievements to list and any promises kept, its Imran Khan & his supporters who are scrapping the bottom.

If not, list what ‘exactly’ has he achieved? No smoke and mirrors, just talk facts.

Go look at the current account deficit when they got the government and now.

Saved the country from imminent default when the dollar would have raced away to 300+ and hyperinflation would have taken effect and then people ask what has IK done.

Jahil log, no wonder they worship the Sharifs and Bhutto/Zardaris.

Without any achievements to list and any promises kept, its Imran Khan & his supporters who are scrapping the bottom.

If not, list what ‘exactly’ has he achieved? No smoke and mirrors, just talk facts.

His foreign trips have been significantly cheaper than the PML N and PPP government. So he has kept his word on austerity.

After the success of the Billion Tree Tsunami in KPK he launched a similar project nationwide after being inaugurated. He talked about combating climate change and it seems he is fulfilling his promise.

And most importantly he has made difficult and unpopular economic decisions such as removing subsidies, letting the rupee depreciate, etc. He has kept his word on that too. He said before that "I repeat the reforms are painful. . It's like a surgery. When you conduct surgery for a while the patient suffers but that improves," Khan said. "The worst thing that can happen for society is that you keep postponing reforms because of the fear that you would have opposition, the vested interests stand up and you don't do reforms."

Saving the country from imminent bankruptcy is normally seen as an achievement. But obviously not where you come from. Lol

His foreign trips have been significantly cheaper than the PML N and PPP government. So he has kept his word on austerity.

After the success of the Billion Tree Tsunami in KPK he launched a similar project nationwide after being inaugurated. He talked about combating climate change and it seems he is fulfilling his promise.

And most importantly he has made difficult and unpopular economic decisions such as removing subsidies, letting the rupee depreciate, etc. He has kept his word on that too. He said before that "I repeat the reforms are painful. . It's like a surgery. When you conduct surgery for a while the patient suffers but that improves," Khan said. "The worst thing that can happen for society is that you keep postponing reforms because of the fear that you would have opposition, the vested interests stand up and you don't do reforms."

On Foreign Trips NS spent a 1/4 of last term abroad, yes you read right. If there was a conference in Thailand on the protection of Goldfish NS went to it.

So the list of achievements so far is:
1. USD at record high level but since its less than 300 rs, its good.
2. Spent less money on foreign visits. Which achieved nothing. (At the same time ordinary ppl dont even have basic things like flour and inflation is sky rocketed).
3. Allowed Nawaz Sharif to go to London. Despite basing the whole election campaign on bringing Corrupt Nawaz to justice.
4. Announcing Nokriyo ki baarish repeatedly but bringing the economy down to its knees.
5. Withdrawing Hujj subsidy.

2. Spent less money on foreign visits. Which achieved nothing. (At the same time ordinary ppl dont even have basic things like flour and inflation is sky rocketed).
3. Allowed Nawaz Sharif to go to London. Despite basing the whole election campaign on bringing Corrupt Nawaz to justice.
4. Announcing Nokriyo ki baarish repeatedly but bringing the economy down to its knees.

Kindly explain how the Dollar exchange rate is determined. If we know that then we can start to evaluate whether the wrong policy is in place.

If the quoted figures of the “billion tree tsunami” are true, we the people of KP would be swinging from trees like monkeys in a few years.

This so-called tsunami is just another drama. A pretext for corruption and embezzlement.

If the quoted figures of the “billion tree tsunami” are true, we the people of KP would be swinging from trees like monkeys in a few years.

This so-called tsunami is just another drama. A pretext for corruption and embezzlement.

"The programme has been praised by the head of the Swiss-based International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), a green NGO, which called it a “true conservation success story”.
So let's see who we trust a guy that lied about the 2rp Saplings or the people that audit the project. Lol

It took you three pages to figure out CPI stands for corruption perception index? You're a smart one aren't you.

and no the data is not from 2015-2017 that is a major misconception. Once report which bases its index on time series and trend analysis used data from 2015-2018 to score based on progress of some metrics over the time period studied and gave a score on the progress of these metrics as at 2018.

Please educate yourself before you post comments like this.

I didn't claim to be smart but now that Transparency International Pakistan himself clarified that current PTI government has nothing to do with current data, i am sure smart people like you will still continue to believe honest Geo/Jang journalists more. And of course it's crystal clear that Imran Khan is most corrupt person in Pakistan, Zardari aur Nawaz tou aisay hi badnaam hain establishment ki wajah se.

A haseen ittefaq some of the posts here remind me of Umar Cheema situation during Panama Leaks. He was working with ICIJ on one side he had to admit leaks are genuine and he was part of the leaks but on the other side he was also defending Shareefs and bashing PTI for exposing them on Panama Leaks :))

Anyway where are you these days? Is everything alright?

I am still confident that Altaf bhai is only solution to our problems and will return as Messiah, everyone knows how Karachi's economy was flourishing under his able leadership. Peace and rule of law everywhere and now we have to live with such useless leaders after conspiracy against that angelic figure :(

A haseen ittefaq some of the posts here remind me of Umar Cheema situation during Panama Leaks. He was working with ICIJ on one side he had to admit leaks are genuine and he was part of the leaks but on the other side he was also defending Shareefs and bashing PTI for exposing them on Panama Leaks :))

Anyway where are you these days? Is everything alright?

New job bro, finally decided to concentrate on career and spend more time with family after years of activism. Although i am away from PP, still find myself spending plenty of time on Twitter as this is probably the toughest of times IK is facing. Even the strongest of supporters are getting tired and i feel support is more needed now than ever before.

Hope all is well on your end :)

Isnt it time to realise that Imran Khan isnt for real and we need “proper & genuine” change (something like French Revolution).

Something like the French Revolution? As in replacing a king(Louis XVI) with a more violent emperor(Napoleon)? :)))

Revolution is overrated. Look at what happened during the Arab spring. People wanted democracy and instead were bombed and had their countries left in ruins. It’s better to work with whatever you already have and improve on that.

New job bro, finally decided to concentrate on career and spend more time with family after years of activism. Although i am away from PP, still find myself spending plenty of time on Twitter as this is probably the toughest of times IK is facing. Even the strongest of supporters are getting tired and i feel support is more needed now than ever before.

Hope all is well on your end :)

Yes everything is fine here thanks to almighty. Good luck to you bro yea things are really tough but we need patience to see the change everyone was aware of what IK will have to face once he comes into power specially after that deadly debt trap PMLN created.

Something like the French Revolution? As in replacing a king(Louis XVI) with a more violent emperor(Napoleon)? :)))

Revolution is overrated. Look at what happened during the Arab spring. People wanted democracy and instead were bombed and had their countries left in ruins. It’s better to work with whatever you already have and improve on that.

To overthrow a corruption ridden system, with a power stronghold in one place.

As for Nepeon, wasnt he good for his own country? Didn't France prosper and gained power under him? As for the morality of that expansion, its a different debate.

Go look at the current account deficit when they got the government and now.

I'm sorry but this keeps getting thrown around as an achievement. Can you have a look at countries with the highest current account deficits and look at their economy? Let me help you, US is number one, UK number 2, India is 3, Canada is 4 and Turkey is 5. Do you see anyone from these countries crying about current account deficits?

A current account deficit leads to an unstable economy only if it is financed by borrowing instead of capital flows. Moreover, a deficit may occur due to high growth and strong consumer spending – rather than uncompetitiveness.

Devaluation of currency is one very easy way of handling the current account deficit (if that is your economic policy). As local currency devalues your imports become expense and exports become cheaper resulting in a shift in the current account balance. This isn't rocket science and I'm shocked this is being lauded as an achievement.

A bit of an overreaction here. First of all, it was the Pakistani chapter that made the statement and not CI international. As you would well enough know the Pakistani chapter had nothing to do with the calculation and the final scoring. Secondly, I've mentioned this countless times you don't need to listen to biased journalists just look at the methodology and each study employed. Only one of these uses historical data and that too because they use a time series analysis for their reporting and hence historical data is required to see how things have progressed over time.

FORBES: Modi’s India And Khan’s Pakistan Are Rising—In Corruption

India and Pakistan are two separate countries. But they have a common problem: corruption.

The problem is getting worse under two celebrated Prime Ministers, Narendra Modi in India, and Imran Khan in Pakistan. That's according to a recent ranking published by Transparency International.

India ranks 80th out of 180 countries listed. That's two notches below the 2018 ranking and four notches down from 2014 when Modi became Prime Minister.

Corruption under Prime Minister Modi includes a wave of high-profile scandals that shook his administration during his first term in office. Like a muddy 7.8 billion euro weapons contract to purchase 36 Rafale jet fighters from France. And a $2 billion bank fraud uncovered at India's state-owned Punjab National Bank.

Pakistan ranks 120th, three notches below the 2018 ranking when Khan became Prime Minister.

Corruption in Pakistan under Prime Minister Khan includes high profile cases like one of the Khan's cabinet members who kept Rs465 millions of properties in his servant's name.

Both leaders have made fighting corruption central to their re-election campaigns, promising to clean up this old vice from their respective countries.

And they have taken measures to follow through with their promise.

Modi, in particular, has gone as far as to launch unconventional means like getting rid of "black money," ie, the 500 and 1000 rupee notes.

Khan has launched measures to fight tax evasion and corruption.

However, the Modi and Khan governments have been fighting corruption in the wrong places — among their countries’ poor. And they have left corruption thriving in the high areas, among the rich and powerful.

Persistent corruption is one of the old vices of frontier and emerging markets. It creates monopolies and oligopolies in critical economic sectors, limiting competition and raising the prices for necessary products consumed by the masses.

Higher prices for necessities, in turn, fuel runaway inflation, another vice of frontier and emerging market economies, which is followed by social unrest, the third vice of these economies.

All three vices prevent emerging economies from achieving sustainable economic growth, and from spreading the benefits of economic growth from a narrow elite to the masses.

Sadly, the Modi and Khan administrations confirm the hypothesis that populist regimes of all kinds and sorts come to office with a promise to get rid of corruption. But all too often they embrace the existing situation they embrace once in office.

This has been thoroughly argued by Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson in Why Nations Fail: The Origins Of Power, Prosperity And Poverty.

Source: https://www.forbes.com/sites/panosm...akistan-are-risingin-corruption/#4bbe895b9e42