[REPORT] Mohammad Amir mulls Test retirement to prolong limited overs career

sadida97

Pakistan’s tainted left-arm fast bowler Muhammad Aamir is considering retirement from Test cricket in order to focus on One-Day and Twenty20 cricket.

According to reports in the Pakistani media, Aamir discussed this prospect with his teammates and the management after Pakistan lost the second Test against the West Indies in Barbados.

“Aamir himself is now upset that how this private discussion came out in the open and who leaked the discussions,” one report said.

“The Pakistan Cricket Board and team management in West Indies is now investigating as to who is responsible for leaking out this private discussion,” it added.

Reports said that Aamir, who has taken 11 wickets in the two Tests in the West Indies, made it clear in the discussions with his teammates and management that he felt that playing Test cricket required a lot more physical fitness and endurance.

“He apparently indicated he would like to focus on one- dayers and T20 cricket,” the report said.

The 25-year-old Aamir tasted success on the tour of the West Indies with 11 wickets but former fast bowling great Wasim Akram still feel that the left-armer needs to improve his bowling.

Aamir, since returning to the Pakistan squad after completing his five-year ban for spot-fixing in early 2015, has played 15 Tests without much success.

Aamir would not be the first international cricketer to decide to retire from Test cricket to focus on ODI and T20 matches.

Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi himself retired from Test cricket in 2010 to just play ODIs and T20 matches.

There we go again. Why don't these guys realize that Test cricket is the only real cricket?! This is the only format where legends are made. Windies of the 80's, W's, Khan, Steyn. Your cricket improves massively after playing 5 day cricket and that is all what cricket is about.

Look at Mitchell Johnson, had he done what he did in the Ashes 2014 in an ODI series or even a world cup, no one would have even to known he was 20 years down the road but because of that Test series, he will be remembered forever.

There we go again. Why don't these guys realize that Test cricket is the only real cricket?! This is the only format where legends are made. Windies of the 80's, W's, Khan, Steyn. Your cricket improves massively after playing 5 day cricket and that is all what cricket is about.

Look at Mitchell Johnson, had he done what he did in the Ashes 2014 in an ODI series or even a world cup, no one would have even to known he was 20 years down the road but because of that Test series, he will be remembered forever.

* assuming this news is nonsense which it probably is *

Not everyone wants to be a legend and wants to play Test cricket, and nor is everyone strong enough for it. In addition, he probably doubts his ability to be successful in Test cricket after miserable performances in England, NZ, Australia and the UAE. He has always been better in LOIs and if he think that it can help him prolong his career, there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.

playing test cricket will make him a better bowler

Aaaaha Amir taking the easy way out after finding out the grass won't be greeener on the UAE pitches. Ofcourse its gonna grind him down to injuries and its not fun bowling on those wickets..

Case in point Junaid Khan

I would rather have a fully fit Amir in LOIs than a 75% Amir in all formats. A shame if it's true considering his performance in the current test hasn't been bad at all.

Sorry but a WC achievement is more memorable for all Cricket World compared to a few excellent moments in some Test Series.

DE Villiers will quit Test Cricket tomorrow to win a World Cup, no Saffers will cry over some random test Series loss in India.

Again Test Cricket is real Cricket is just your personal opinion and nothing else , it's a dull format for most of the fans played in front of empty stadiums. The number of people who care about the ongoing Pak Windirs Test Series can be counted on the fingers.

playing test cricket will make him a better bowler

Different formats require different skills. Not everyone is cut for all three formats, only the very elite players are. There are many examples of players playing over a 100 Tests but not evolving into successful ODI/T20 players.

Sorry but a WC achievement is more memorable for all Cricket World compared to a few excellent moments in some Test Series.

DE Villiers will quit Test Cricket tomorrow to win a World Cup, no Saffers will cry over some random test Series loss in India.

Again Test Cricket is real Cricket is just your personal opinion and nothing else , it's a dull format for most of the fans played in front of empty stadiums. The number of people who care about the ongoing Pak Windirs Test Series can be counted on the fingers.

Agree with this. The World Cup is by far the biggest prize in the game, and I believe 90% of the players would rather win a World Cup than win a Test series in a major country. If England win the World Cup in 2019, they would probably remember it for the next 20 years unlike the Test series win in SA last year for example. However, in general, Australian and English players consider Ashes equal to the World Cup if not bigger.

Test Cricket is a waste of time, forget about some imaginary legacy in minds of a handful of fans. Why would any premier bowler put enormous stress on his body playing for 5 days and risk injuries when he can make a better name for himself winning a WC and make more money while playing T20 Leagues?

I will support Amir on this one. Prolong your Odi career and win some World Cups for your country instead of breaking your back in UAE where nobody cares about the sport.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sources close to Mohammad Amir are denying reports he is considering ending his Test career in order to focus on ODIs and T20Is <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/861955424316268544">May 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sources close to Mohammad Amir are denying reports he is considering ending his Test career in order to focus on ODIs and T20Is <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/861955424316268544">May 9, 2017</a></blockquote>

Allah ka shukar hai

Please brothers.

Let him decide, as to what he wants. He has his friends, family, coaches to guide.

As far as my knowledge is concerned, this is typical desi media.

Even if it's true, then so be it. He has rights to decide, as to what is best for him.

May Allaah, grant him success.

Agree. I will take a WC Win against India over hundreds of series wins against SL, WI, NZ in Uae .who cares?

When there is a world cup, the entire country is United. There are so many emotions . Right now I rarely meet anyone who remotely cares about whether Pakistan wins against WI or not.

There we go again. Why don't these guys realize that Test cricket is the only real cricket?!

That is what you and many other fans may think, but, the commercial leagues are T20s and that is where the money is.

Your cricket improves massively after playing 5 day cricket and that is all what cricket is about.

Bowling 30 overs/match x 4 matches = 120 overs in a Test series puts a lot more strain on your body compared to 4 overs/match = 60 overs in an entire T20 season. A pace bowler can only bowl a certain number of overs before the body breaks down.

I googled this and the source is Hindustan Times.

Good try to unsettle the team with bakwaas news before the CT.

Agree with this. The World Cup is by far the biggest prize in the game, and I believe 90% of the players would rather win a World Cup than win a Test series in a major country. If England win the World Cup in 2019, they would probably remember it for the next 20 years unlike the Test series win in SA last year for example. However, in general, Australian and English players consider Ashes equal to the World Cup if not bigger.

This is subjective as well. Australia has won 5/6 world cups, they win world cup without much effort (save players for Ashes and tests), they take Ashes still more seriously than world cup, for them winning test series in India is more important(something hard for them), same is the case with England... For Asian teams, like Pakistan and India WC is bigger prize. But if they ever won a test series(specially full series) in Australia, that is much bigger than winning WC for any asian team...We have been trying to beat Australia for 80 years (both India and Pakistan) with no luck...

Test Cricket is premium format in AUS and ENG, rest of the countries specially Pakistan, SA, SL, IND consider LOI more important. From technical perspective, longer the format harder it is, because it tests every thing(technique, temperament, endurance, skill you name it...Plus in test you have to play in so many varying conditions (both bat and ball)... In LOIs wickets are getting flatter everywhere, there is little to no variation, specially in ICC tournaments wickets are going to be flat as hell (like last WC and WT20), this makes these format pretty one dimensional, you need more specific skills...Where as in test cricket, even on same wicket, batting on day 1,2 and 5 is very different...

Test Cricket is hardest for fast bowlers, they need to be payed more, I would argue 1.5x(if not 2x) the salary, without premium fast bowlers test cricket will be dead. Milanga the best SL fast bowler for more than decade, never played test cricket seriously and retired earlier, that was good for him...If Amir decide to play only LOI and develop himself for those formats, he may get much better in those formats and improve his pace, reverse swing and other areas of his bowling, I would not blame him, in Pakistan there is no reward for playing test, now in UAE, there is no upside for fast bowlers...If he was from ENG/AUS there would have been more reward for that hard work. Look at Pakistan test side in last 8 years, mazdoor type fast(I mean trundlers) bowlers we have produced, you are not going to get real fast bowler in desert. How many times Imran/Wasim/Waqar/Shoiab had rattles teams in Faisalabad and Multan?? - If they have been playing 100% of there home test on those wickets, I bet you we would have never seen fast bowler from Pakistan...

However, Test Cricket is no longer the pinnacle for every Cricketer.

WCs and T20 money are the better options for most. The numbers have shown us this.

This has to be fake.

Makes no sense for a guy in his mid 20s who has just had 5 years off.

Seems like some typical masala news with no basis in reality.

He does need rest. It was probably something like a brainwave of skipping few test series and that's enough spice for Journalists to make a story from.

We won't be playing much test cricket anyway.

This is subjective as well. Australia has won 5/6 world cups, they win world cup without much effort (save players for Ashes and tests), they take Ashes still more seriously than world cup, for them winning test series in India is more important(something hard for them), same is the case with England... For Asian teams, like Pakistan and India WC is bigger prize. But if they ever won a test series(specially full series) in Australia, that is much bigger than winning WC for any asian team...We have been trying to beat Australia for 80 years (both India and Pakistan) with no luck...

Test Cricket is premium format in AUS and ENG, rest of the countries specially Pakistan, SA, SL, IND consider LOI more important. From technical perspective, longer the format harder it is, because it tests every thing(technique, temperament, endurance, skill you name it...Plus in test you have to play in so many varying conditions (both bat and ball)... In LOIs wickets are getting flatter everywhere, there is little to no variation, specially in ICC tournaments wickets are going to be flat as hell (like last WC and WT20), this makes these format pretty one dimensional, you need more specific skills...Where as in test cricket, even on same wicket, batting on day 1,2 and 5 is very different...

Test Cricket is hardest for fast bowlers, they need to be payed more, I would argue 1.5x(if not 2x) the salary, without premium fast bowlers test cricket will be dead. Milanga the best SL fast bowler for more than decade, never played test cricket seriously and retired earlier, that was good for him...If Amir decide to play only LOI and develop himself for those formats, he may get much better in those formats and improve his pace, reverse swing and other areas of his bowling, I would not blame him, in Pakistan there is no reward for playing test, now in UAE, there is no upside for fast bowlers...If he was from ENG/AUS there would have been more reward for that hard work. Look at Pakistan test side in last 8 years, mazdoor type fast(I mean trundlers) bowlers we have produced, you are not going to get real fast bowler in desert. How many times Imran/Wasim/Waqar/Shoiab had rattles teams in Faisalabad and Multan?? - If they have been playing 100% of there home test on those wickets, I bet you we would have never seen fast bowler from Pakistan...

I think Australia's example doesn't apply to England. They have 5 World Cups and it naturally feels a little devalued now. Winning in England and India probably means more to them. However, England's case is different IMO. They have lost 3 finals and if they can go all the way in 2019 at home with their best ever team, it will probably be their cricketing highlight for a very long time and will be cherished for years to come.

Fake news. Amir has expressed his love for test cricket before in the past.

I think Australia's example doesn't apply to England. They have 5 World Cups and it naturally feels a little devalued now. Winning in England and India probably means more to them. However, England's case is different IMO. They have lost 3 finals and if they can go all the way in 2019 at home with their best ever team, it will probably be their cricketing highlight for a very long time and will be cherished for years to come.

My point is Test Cricket in England and Australia is still considered the premium format. English media and fans still look up to Ashes as the main event. Now England has two separate teams, they are more focused on LOIs than before, but still winning WC and than loosing Ashes would not be well received.

You can also sense from the crowd. Australia has won many WCs, but they still remember Lillie/Thomo test pair or Johnson Ashes and English 2005/6 Ashes, ODI or T20 cricket just cannot give those moments. Its like comparing timeless art with mass market product.

Even Imran Khan never took ODI that seriously till we lost in 1987 WC SF. He realized Pakistanis are too much into ODI than test cricket. Its has to do with level of education, art is never appreciated by masses.

:))) did anyone notice one thing about this report.

Basically, the test retirement news was leaaked,, and now the source has leaked that amir and co are upset on who leaked the news

Different formats require different skills. Not everyone is cut for all three formats, only the very elite players are. There are many examples of players playing over a 100 Tests but not evolving into successful ODI/T20 players.

Bhai,

If this was sohail tanvir or wahab riaz, then it would had been understandable. Because we know their potential and caliber.

Amir on the other hand, well lets just say the only reason this guy is famous today and the reason why he got back into the team after the ban is becauee of his test bowling

No one remembers him bowling well in odis, it was all test.

Plus everyone is upset because amir has the potential to be a good test bowler if not great.

Problem with amir is his earlier success has got into him.

The success has got into him that he is impatient and cant accept this bad patch hes having.

This guy needs to toughen up mentally

i think he is fedup with this pakistani batting line up.
his allhardwork just doesnt worth it .

What would PP'ers prefer?

1. An Amir who is okay in all formats, helps us win a few matches here or there, is good in away test series but never really helps us win any major series overseas.

2. An Amir who does very well in ODIs and T20s and helps us win major series overseas and perhaps even a major world tournament.

I know which camp I'm in. Winning a LOI tournament is the pinnacle of the sport, nobody really cares about some bilateral test series.

Rotate the pacers. We need 6 pacers to rotate.

Pak when it comes to players rotation they suck to the core. They saw Amir and wahab are the only bowlers and they keep on playing for all the formats. Again shadab who gave a good show in T20s fast tracked to all three. Pak board and team mgmt are the dumbest that I have ever seen. They hesitate to give chances to domestic performers in easy tours also play their premium player in every match even in the dead rubbers in UAE and make him injured just before the important series or an ICC event.

Never mind this is fake or real. One thing is clear that they have to try new and young players in easy tours like this WI to have a knowledge about the bench strength by resting the main/premier players. This will also help the main players focussed on cricket and doing well against top sides as they won't get any freebies to prolong their careers scoring against minnows and dead rubbers.

Spoke with a guy who is very close to Amir and he is saying that these stories are nonsense and Amir has no intention of stopping playing Test cricket.

Good.

Media needs a kick in the backside for spreading BS.

There is a certain section of the Pakistani medai, namely one TV channel that is very anti-Mohammad Amir and they have instigated this story.

1. An Amir who is okay in all formats, helps us win a few matches here or there, is good in away test series but never really helps us win any major series overseas.

2. An Amir who does very well in ODIs and T20s and helps us win major series overseas and perhaps even a major world tournament.

I know which camp I'm in. Winning a LOI tournament is the pinnacle of the sport, nobody really cares about some bilateral test series.
Yeah, that's why we celebrated a drawn series for half a year.

One day and T20 Cricket won't make him a legend. I can understand toiling for five days is very tiresome but that is what real Cricket is. I think Amir knows he will never be a Test great so is trying to get out of this format the easy way.

Test cricket should still be a pinnacle for all fast bowlers where you have to earn wickets , in odis and t20s you are bound to get a few with batsmen going after you more often than not. Yah a wc win would mean more but the world doesnt end at world cups.

Fake news.. people here should take it easy.. unless Amir comes up with a statement..

Please all read above

And here people were saying Amir will surpass Dale Steyn and Mitchell Starc of this era... my word :)))

Brother.... in case you missed the elephant in the thread ......

It will continue to be discussed as a topic in itself

HE should.

We are not moving anywhere in test cricket, he'll be straining his body for no reasons.

It's alright. Let him play more ODIs and bring laurels to the country. Test matches are gruesome and not all are gifted. We should be happy that Amir is not under any delusions and knows what he can do.

I reluctantly agree..