[Report] PCB chief suspends Usman Wahla over Asia Cup handshake controversy

Ball Blazer

Administrator

PCB chief suspends Usman Wahla over Asia Cup handshake controversy​

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Mohsin Naqvi has suspended Director International Usman Wahla over the recent handshake controversy, citing his failure to manage the situation during the high-voltage Asia Cup clash between Pakistan and India in Dubai.

At the same time, the PCB has written to the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), demanding the removal of match referee Andy Pycroft from the ongoing tournament. The board has warned it may reconsider Pakistan’s participation in the Asia Cup if he is not replaced.

According to sources, the PCB accused Pycroft of neglecting the Spirit of the Game during Sunday’s match. The board said it had repeatedly stressed the importance of upholding the spirit, but the referee failed in his duties. The letter also alleged that Pycroft violated the ICC Code of Conduct and acted against MCC laws, calling his conduct a “serious breach.”

The controversy began when Indian players refused to exchange handshakes with their Pakistani counterparts after the match. Earlier, both captains also skipped the traditional handshake at the toss. Pakistan head coach Mike Hesson strongly criticized the behavior, describing it as “against the spirit of the game.”

Tensions escalated further after Indian captain Suryakumar Yadav dedicated the victory to the armed forces, making political remarks in his post-match comments.

“We stand with the victims of the Pahalgam attack and their families. We dedicate today’s win to our armed forces,” Yadav said.

In response, Pakistan team manager Naveed Akram Cheema lodged a formal protest, terming India’s actions “a violation of sportsmanship.” He revealed that the match referee had instructed captains not to shake hands at the toss, but no such guidance was given for after the game.

As a mark of protest, Pakistan skipper Salman Ali Agha skipped the post-match presentation ceremony. Coach Hesson backed the move, saying: “What the Indian team did was inappropriate. Pakistan’s response was natural.”

With emotions running high, the PCB has doubled down on its stance, calling for Pycroft’s removal from the Asia Cup. Meanwhile, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has taken notice of the incident and is considering possible disciplinary action against the Indian team.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Mohsin Naqvi has suspended Director International Usman Wahla over the recent handshake controversy, citing his failure to manage the situation during the high-voltage Asia Cup clash between Pakistan and India in Dubai.

At the same time, the PCB has written to the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), demanding the removal of match referee Andy Pycroft from the ongoing tournament. The board has warned it may reconsider Pakistan’s participation in the Asia Cup if he is not replaced.

According to sources, the PCB accused Pycroft of neglecting the Spirit of the Game during Sunday’s match. The board said it had repeatedly stressed the importance of upholding the spirit, but the referee failed in his duties. The letter also alleged that Pycroft violated the ICC Code of Conduct and acted against MCC laws, calling his conduct a “serious breach.”

The controversy began when Indian players refused to exchange handshakes with their Pakistani counterparts after the match. Earlier, both captains also skipped the traditional handshake at the toss. Pakistan head coach Mike Hesson strongly criticized the behavior, describing it as “against the spirit of the game.”

Tensions escalated further after Indian captain Suryakumar Yadav dedicated the victory to the armed forces, making political remarks in his post-match comments.

“We stand with the victims of the Pahalgam attack and their families. We dedicate today’s win to our armed forces,” Yadav said.

In response, Pakistan team manager Naveed Akram Cheema lodged a formal protest, terming India’s actions “a violation of sportsmanship.” He revealed that the match referee had instructed captains not to shake hands at the toss, but no such guidance was given for after the game.

As a mark of protest, Pakistan skipper Salman Ali Agha skipped the post-match presentation ceremony. Coach Hesson backed the move, saying: “What the Indian team did was inappropriate. Pakistan’s response was natural.”

With emotions running high, the PCB has doubled down on its stance, calling for Pycroft’s removal from the Asia Cup. Meanwhile, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has taken notice of the incident and is considering possible disciplinary action against the Indian team.

Stupid PCB strikes again. Arrey bhai what’s the fault of Andy here . He has been told by India we will not shake hands . PCB behaving as if he was the one who forced both nations not to shake hands. Ridiculous by Naqvi and expected this is just a drama done to hide your pathetic performance on field .

PCB chief should also suspend all eleven players immediately for that horror show yesterday.

As I said, he knows the team is trash and has to resort to this controversy to take the heat off of them. The best way to answer these shenanigans by India yesterday is to play well and give them a great game.

Khelna bhi nahi data, sir rondni lagani aati hai :misbah
Exactly . Pretty childish stuff from PCB

Good riddance. Finally

Make a seperate thread for this. Alot of people hate wahla here

Stupid PCB strikes again. Arrey bhai what’s the fault of Andy here . He has been told by India we will not shake hands . PCB behaving as if he was the one who forced both nations not to shake hands. Ridiculous by Naqvi and expected this is just a drama done to hide your pathetic performance on field .

Why should Pycroft listen to India? Is he India's pet? :inti

I think right thing for him to do would've been to not get involved.

While this may have been done long ago. It feels like this is now done to save face.

The only appropriate response for this is to qualify for Super 4s and then beat India.
Pak cannot bat first again.

In t20s and in Dubai, chasing is the only way to give Pak even a chance.

While this may have been done long ago. It feels like this is now done to save face.

The only appropriate response for this is to qualify for Super 4s and then beat India.

Even if they don't beat India, there is no reason why they should tolerate disrespect from India.

It is a matter of self-respect.

It is great to see Naqvi is not letting this slide. This is no longer about cricket.

the only appropriate response is to take down another 6 rafale

Even if they don't beat India, there is no reason why they should tolerate disrespect from India.

It is a matter of self-respect.

It is great to see Naqvi is not letting this slide. This is no longer about cricket.
Exactly it Is correct decision.

What was Usman Wahla expected to do- force Indian players to shake hands? I think this is way beyond him, the Pakistani and Indian teams, and even ICC. There’s nothing he could have done there. Just an excuse to hold someone you wanted out as a scapegoat and fire them?

Because you cannot force anyone to shake hands if they don't want to. Indian team has conveyed the same to Pakistan team via match referee.

Pakistan is making this a big deal only to hide the on field performance and pasting they got from India last night.

#TrueStory

As a match referee obviously he has to convey or else Agha will be putting his hand forward only to be snubbed . Andy is being wrongly dragged into this. It’s India who had this planned . Why doesn’t Naqvi boycott playing vs India . Easy target Andy

Looks like a knee-jerk reaction.

When will Naqvi take responsibility himself? What about his own accountability? He has been in charge for 18 months now and the results are there for everyone to see. One debacle after another. This is one of the lowest points in our cricket.

Naqvi has dealt with India better than his predecessors. Facts are facts. :inti

He moved Asia Cup out of India, for example. This Asia Cup was supposed to be in India.
Yeah but it’s his term where PCT lost to US in a wc game, and then to BD at home.
His basic responsibility is performance of PCT financially and statistically.

PCB are clowns. Why on earth are they obsessed with handshakes? Your job is to play cricket, nothing more or less. Pathetic team and board. They have no shame at all.

Looks like a knee-jerk reaction.

When will Naqvi take responsibility himself? What about his own accountability? He has been in charge for 18 months now and the results are there for everyone to see. One debacle after another. This is one of the lowest points in our cricket.
Pakistan have won 11 out of 16 T20is under Hesson 🤡

Because you cannot force anyone to shake hands if they don't want to. Indian team has conveyed the same to Pakistan team via match referee.

Pakistan is making this a big deal only to hide the on field performance and pasting they got from India last night.

#TrueStory

Yep, this is the sequence of events

India conveys to match referee that they will not shake hands.

Match referee wants to avoid on field drama and embarrassment of Pak players offering hands and india refusing so he conveys the same to Pak captain.

Agha goes and complains to Naqvi - "Naqvi uncle, Naqvi uncle, match referee uncle told me not to shake hands., Sachi. I so wanted to shake Indian stars' hands, I always dreamt of it as captain. "

Naqvi uncle like a true helicopter asian parent is now blaming the teachers/officials - "Mere bete ko aisa bolna ki himmat kaisi Hui. Janta nahi main kaun hu? I will get your fired! Meri pahunch upar tak hai!"

Also look at the quality of opposition in those games.

Came unstuck in their first real test yesterday.

I know there is no quick fix, but apart from skill, players lack game awareness and the ability to absorb pressure.

We will be having the same discussion in March next year.

As a match referee obviously he has to convey or else Agha will be putting his hand forward only to be snubbed . Andy is being wrongly dragged into this. It’s India who had this planned . Why doesn’t Naqvi boycott playing vs India . Easy target Andy
this is exactly what has happened. Indian team or BCCI has conveyed to match referee that Indian team will will not shaking hands with Pakistani team. This probably was done to avoid any embarrassment during the live telecast where Agha or someone from Pakistan comes forward to shake hands and Indians ignore them. Match referee would have conveyed the same with PCT, exactly as it should be. I personally don't agree with ICT decision not to shake hands, this outrage from PCT is really stupid. Match referee has done what he is supposed to do, convey message from one team to another. He did not make the decision or influence in anyway

I am hoping we use this as a spur to get some aggression back in our team. In recent years our players have become to friendly with this horrible enemy. Literally go at them with Punjabi swear words and make them feel hell in the middle.

If ICC does not take any action against the match referee by tomorrow night then your Asia Cup is already over.

Naqvi has already said that if the ICC does not remove the match referee with immediate effect, then we will boycott the match against UAE on 17 September.

PCB is shooting itself in the foot. Respect and honour are already gone, there is a risk of being out of Asia Cup as well.

:klopp :kp

Where was Naqvi when India played CT with a one-venue advantage over all other countries? And didn't even have any PCB representation as hosts during the final ceremony?

That's an administrative slap of the highest order. Much bigger than the petty handshake.

What’s the point of this aggression, when you are cats while playing? First back it up with performance - 83/7 doesn’t really make the cut.

Pakistan cricket team is garbage, we all know that but allowing the Indian to make political and hate comments is also a big no no. UEFA do not allow it and ICC should grow some balls and censure the Indian team for it.

Pakistan got played proper but the Indians are even worse, petty douchebags who can take their political remarks elsewhere. If they do not wish to shake hands fine, they do not need to play either to pull these immature stunts.

When you have PMLN, PPP and that Asim Munir in charge, you as a nation will face humilation at every turn and rightly so. InshAllah more humilation to follow.

Imran Khan would not have let this happen.
Imran khan is the one who destroyed the domestic structure and its result is garbage cricketers in the national team

Thats a most stupid step taken by PCB. Indian don't want to shake hands with Pakistan for obvious reason and they are suspending their own man for this. This is highest level of stupidity. Are some jokers running the show in Pakistan.

Seems like PCB is more incensed about some shirk abiding souls than the quality of the cricket that we saw on the field.

The fact that they’re more concerned with this sums up why substandard individuals like Misbah were put on a pedestal.

When you have PMLN, PPP and that Asim Munir in charge, you as a nation will face humilation at every turn and rightly so. InshAllah more humilation to follow.

Imran Khan would not have let this happen.

I’m no fan of Munir/PP/PMLN but the last sentence couldn’t be any further from the truth.

IK was out of touch with cricket. He was the reason why Mickey was replaced with Misbah as coach. He was also a strong advocate for Babar to captain the side even though he’s the biggest beta male you’ll ever find out of all the cricketers in Pakistan.

Pakistan cricket team is garbage, we all know that but allowing the Indian to make political and hate comments is also a big no no. UEFA do not allow it and ICC should grow some balls and censure the Indian team for it.

Pakistan got played proper but the Indians are even worse, petty douchebags who can take their political remarks elsewhere. If they do not wish to shake hands fine, they do not need to play either to pull these immature stunts.

Pakistan should have some self-respect and not play India again in the future.

Also, from a cricketing perspective the gulf between the two sides is huge.

It pains me to say this but this contest has now become what Australia v Bangladesh used to be in the 2000s.

So Naqvi wants to boycott for a missing hand shake and Indians wanted to boycott for Pehalgam attack

Lol going after the match referee and Usman Wahla is soft, if Naqvi really has balls as ACB Chairman, he needs to go after SuryaKumar Yadav and Gambhir for their anti Pakistan statements.

What a lame action from PCB - going after the match ref, ICC and their own management member. They should ideally just boycott the tournament, but the conundrum for them is that this tournament is organized by ACC headed by Naqvi himself - so how does he ban his own team from participating in the tournament he has organized himself ? Hilarious!

Lol going after the match referee and Usman Wahla is soft, if Naqvi really has balls as ACB Chairman, he needs to go after SuryaKumar Yadav and Gambhir for their anti Pakistan statements.
Then he would have to show some courage. The match referee is nothing more a professional coin tosser.

Can you please tell against which countries those 11 victories came against? I believe a few of the matches are warm-ups as well?

This reminds me a bit of when Shoaib Malik was captain and he was bragging about win ratio streak of some 7 matches in T20s when 5 of those wins came against lesser teams🤭

Can you please tell against which countries those 11 victories came against? I believe a few of the matches are warm-ups as well?

This reminds me a bit of when Shoaib Malik was captain and he was bragging about win ratio streak of some 7 matches in T20s when 5 of those wins came against lesser teams🤭
Why are you asking questions where you are exposing them... They defeated Oman bro.. They might even beat UAE to go to super 4... what else do you want?

Most importantly 4 out of 5 loss came against Bangladesh (2) , Afghanistan (1) and Westindies (1) . :kp

Scapegoat

Go after sky and gambhir lol acc board will have him removed

Pycroft or icc or mcc cannot force players to shake hands.

The one guy who pcb needs to suspend is mike hesson.

10 matches. We had back to back series against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh back than under Malik

Reactions: IAJ