[Report] Rashid Latif and Shoaib Akhtar in the running for the job of Chief of Selectors

Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is having talks with former wicket-keeper batsman Rashid Latif and former speedster Shoaib Akhtar to become chief selector of the national team, ARY Sports reported.

According to sources, Rashid was not taking the role due to his commitment with the state TV but now his and Akhtar’s contract terminated a few days ago.

PCB contacted both individuals after they lost jobs on state TV and the final agreement is likely to take place in the upcoming days.

https://arysports.tv/pcb-talks-rashid-akhtar-chief-selector-role/

No Rashid latif please :facepalm: even more garbage selections would be on the way.

Shoaib Akthar is even a bigger disaster, most likely he will be a puppet as he himself admitted that he has no clue about domestic players

Latif will be worse than Misbah!!! This guy know nothing but will select players based on nepotism. Shoaib is comparatively better choice. Mohammad Wasim is the best option.

Shoaib Akhtar and Rashid Latif are the worst possible options right now and it can get worse.

He pulled himself out because he doesn't want to work with provincial coaches.

The reasoning is incorrect. He has no problem with the provincial coaches themselves, he just believes there’s conflict of interest in the system if the coaches are also selectors. For example, if Saud Shakeel isn’t selected and goes to his coach Basit Ali to ask why, what will Basit tell him? That Basit didn’t fight for his case hard enough? Or that the other selectors’ fault?

Will Central Punjab’s coach admit that Kamran Ghulam from KPK is a better prospect than Ali Zaryab? There’s a lot of potential conflicts in such a system.

Obviously there are advantages too. The selectors know the players inside out. As long as they do their job honestly, it’s the most effective method. But Akram is also not wrong to have his issues with the system.

The old system that he wants to revert back to wasn’t perfect either - each of those independent selectors would never do enough homework to know everything about the players and overlooked key prospects regularly.

Pakistan Cricket Board struggles to find a new chief selector

Karachi, December 10: The Pakistan Cricket Board is finding it difficult to appoint a new chief selector after its top candidate backed out of working under the current system of selection in the country. Former pacer Muhammad Akram was the top candidate for the chief selector's post but he has backed out demanding that the board return to the old system of selection. Under the old system, the board used to appoint an independent three to five-member national selection committee headed by a chief selector which picked the teams and had them approved by the Chairman of the board. Under the new system implemented in October 2019, the national team's head coach, Misbah-ul-Haq was also the chief selector and the other members of his committee were the head coaches of the six provincial teams taking part in first-class competition in domestic cricket. "Akram made it clear he didn't want to work either under the present system of selection or with the head coaches of provincial teams," a source told PTI. "He made it clear to the board if they wanted to make him chief selector they will have to revert back to the old system of having an independent national selection committee." Misbah stepped down as chief selector recently saying he wanted to focus on his job as head coach and was finding it difficult to give time to both responsibilities. His last assignment as a chief selector was to pick the touring squad for New Zealand and the board has said it would be announcing a new chief selector soon. Akram, 46, has played 9 Tests and 23 ODIs for Pakistan and also represented several English counties like Sussex, Surrey, Essex, and Northants in his first-class career. He is also the head coach/Director of the Peshawar Zalmi franchise in the Pakistan Super League. The source said that Akram was not comfortable working with the head coaches of the provincial teams and wanted the board to take his input while appointing other members of the selection committee. Former Test players including Basit Ali, Muhammad Wasim, Abdul Razzaq, Faisal Iqbal are currently among the head coaches managing the provincial teams in domestic cricket. According to the source, with news coming through that former captain Rashid Latif had been released by the Pakistan Television Corporation from his job as ambassador, host, and analyst, he could now be a prime candidate for the post. Rashid in the past was also offered the chance to become chief selector but declined because of his job with PTV and other commitments.

Source:::https://www.mykhel.com/cricket/paki...gles-to-find-a-new-chief-selector-157378.html

The reasoning is incorrect. He has no problem with the provincial coaches themselves, he just believes there’s conflict of interest in the system if the coaches are also selectors. For example, if Saud Shakeel isn’t selected and goes to his coach Basit Ali to ask why, what will Basit tell him? That Basit didn’t fight for his case hard enough? Or that the other selectors’ fault?

Will Central Punjab’s coach admit that Kamran Ghulam from KPK is a better prospect than Ali Zaryab? There’s a lot of potential conflicts in such a system.

Obviously there are advantages too. The selectors know the players inside out. As long as they do their job honestly, it’s the most effective method. But Akram is also not wrong to have his issues with the system.

The old system that he wants to revert back to wasn’t perfect either - each of those independent selectors would never do enough homework to know everything about the players and overlooked key prospects regularly.

That guy is fraud!!!

Basit Ali
Rashid Latif
Abdul Razzaq
Faisal Iqbal

Wonderful selection committee and here i was crying about the Indian selection committee.

Expect one or two of those YouTube chumps from Shoaib's channel to show up in Pakistan colours very soon.

Basit Ali
Rashid Latif
Abdul Razzaq
Faisal Iqbal

Wonderful selection committee and here i was crying about the Indian selection committee.

1. Pretend savior + consistent failure in every aspect of coaching 2. Pretend savior 02+Champion in TV talk show 3. Big boasting mouth 4. Parchi de crook.

No, He pulled off and doesn't want to work with provincial coaches.

As per the article a conventional selection panel is being formed now rather than provincial coaches.

Further as per the article in the OP:

“Former Test cricketer Mohammad Akram is also a strong candidate for the new chief selector”

To be fair, Rashid would be a diastrous choice. He wants Sarfraz back as captain and wk in all formats!

That is false.
I have listened to him pretty regularly. He doesn't agree with Sarfaraz's sacking, but he backs Rizwan now as keeper, and Babar as captain.

That is false.
I have listened to him pretty regularly. He doesn't agree with Sarfaraz's sacking, but he backs Rizwan now as keeper, and Babar as captain.

He also backs Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali for the next 4-6 years. And does not have much knowledge about domestic cricket beyond the trendy names - these days he thinks Sami Aslam was hard done by.

For posters who havent read the complete source (Link was provided in the OP):

“PCB has opted to form a traditional selection committee again and it will consist of three to four members along with the chief selector. Former Test cricketer Mohammad Akram is also a strong candidate for the new chief selector”

If we are taking the bits about Latif and Akhtar, we should also consider the other things the article has to say.

For posters who havent read the complete source (Link was provided in the OP):

“PCB has opted to form a traditional selection committee again and it will consist of three to four members along with the chief selector. Former Test cricketer Mohammad Akram is also a strong candidate for the new chief selector”

If we are taking the bits about Latif and Akhtar, we should also consider the other things the article has to say.

Interesting, [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] did you by any chance omit this bit from the OP because you have separate confirmation that Akram has pulled out? Or is it still possible that Akram is appointed?

He also backs Asad Shafiq and Azhar Ali for the next 4-6 years. And does not have much knowledge about domestic cricket beyond the trendy names - these days he thinks Sami Aslam was hard done by.

I personally have observed ex cricketers rarely are able walk the talk once they are in the role. I wont be surprised if Latif’s analysis was different than the decisions he will take. Also a lot of practical limitations come into play with each role, coach, captain and other members of selection committee will also have an influence in decision making.

Interesting, [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] did you by any chance omit this bit from the OP because you have separate confirmation that Akram has pulled out? Or is it still possible that Akram is appointed?

Thing is as per some sources Moh Akram did pull out stating he doesn’t want to work in the present system of provincial coaches but as per the quoted source the traditional selection committee will be formed. So if Akram’s demand is being met, its not surprising if he is in the contention again now as the article states.

I guess nothing is 100% as of now and different news agencies are having some unclear information. Wont be surprised if some of the media people are creating a certain narrative just like they did in the case of Wasim Khan’s tenure.

Under Rashid the top 5 will be Khurram, Sharjeel, Jahid, Shafiq and Sarfraz every match, and any match lost will be ascribed to match fixing.

Meanwhile what is Shoaib's criteria for selection ? How many nightclubs you can attend in a week ? Does he understand importance of data and follow the domestic circuit ?

How can PCB consider two loose cannons for important posts. Maybe I should open a YT channel and start blasting PCB.

Tbf, most of that is agenda based commentary which is far from what his honest views are.
He tries to cozy up to guys who are in the team since he believes in not being too critical on them.

He was never a fan of Azhar as captain but you hardly see him speak against Azhar's captaincy, and doesnt support his sacking.

They are all reports at the moment.

Tbf, most of that is agenda based commentary which is far from what his honest views are.
He tries to cozy up to guys who are in the team since he believes in not being too critical on them.

He was never a fan of Azhar as captain but you hardly see him speak against Azhar's captaincy, and doesnt support his sacking.

If he does get appointed, I hope you’re right. As I did with Misbah, I’ll reserve the judgment until the actual selections take place over 2-3 series.

If true, this board has really gone to the dogs. Who in their right mind could even consider SA for a real job? The guy is as mentally unstable as they come!

Well Mohammad Akram has asked me for this report, so either it's not true or he's unhappy that it has been leaked.

Unfortunately Rashid Latif is way too biased to be the chief selector. I have progressively lost respect for him since he has retired. I wouldn't trust him at all to fairly select a national team.

Shoaib Akhtar is as we all know a loose cannon and not suited to this role either. Both are bad choices.

Out of the 3 names that are going around I would have to reluctantly pick Mohammad Akram.

Well Mohammad Akram has asked me for this report, so either it's not true or he's unhappy that it has been leaked.

What report?

That Muhammad Akram is not willing to be the next CS because of six coach set up or Rashid Latif/SA are being considered?

Under Rashid the top 5 will be Khurram, Sharjeel, Jahid, Shafiq and Sarfraz every match, and any match lost will be ascribed to match fixing.

Meanwhile what is Shoaib's criteria for selection ? How many nightclubs you can attend in a week ? Does he understand importance of data and follow the domestic circuit ?

How can PCB consider two loose cannons for important posts. Maybe I should open a YT channel and start blasting PCB.

Lol that would be the top 5 in all 3 formats under Latif.

Guys these are planted leaks. Most likely rashid is trying to stay relevant after his sacking from Ptv sports. And Wasim Khan was asked of shoaib akthar. And he just laughed at the question. I can share the video if you guys want.

What report?

That Muhammad Akram is not willing to be the next CS because of six coach set up or Rashid Latif/SA are being considered?

The one that says Akram is not willing to be chief selector.

And its highly likely Mohammad Akram is going be to be the chief selector. Probably pcb will anounce it next week.

MA is a good choice, tbh shoe polish would be decent choice compared to the 2 idiots mentioned as candidates

MA has done a great job with Zalmi, so he is the right choice.

This sounds incredibly dumb.

Shoaib Akhtar is basically a crazy old uncle at this point where you just try to laugh it off at the crazy things he says. And I can't imagine he has ever watched a domestic game either or has any idea how to evaluate talent.

This has been PCB's problem for the longest time. Just because you get a "big name" it doesn't mean they are any good. Some of the best players throughout sports history turn out to be the worst coaches & managers. Look no further than Michael Jordan who has been completely incompetent and has a terrible eye for talent. Wayne Gretzky was a terrible coach as well. Having natural ability to be a great player doesn't mean you can teach someone to be great or have an eye out on scouting talent. It's a disaster waiting to happen.

But then again, PCB's selection process is basically who performed well at PSL? So it's not like there's much thought process to begin with.

Why can't we just get Mohammad Wasim? It's clear he has the best eye for talent in Pakistan.

Rashid just said it on Game on Hai that he is not going to be the CS.

No matter who PCB appoints as chief selector, if the individual does not do his homework before selecting a squad, Pakistan will never solve their selection problems.

PCB should take a leaf out of ECB's book and use data to select their squads. ECB used data to select their squads for the World Cup and look how that turned out for them.

ECB had an individual name Mo Bobat who was the Player Identification Lead, but now is the Performance Director. When he was the Player Identification Lead, his main responsibility was to identify players and watch footage and analyze the players with the selection committee. And then when they were discussing about forming the teams , he would ask tough questions to the Head of Selection and the other members. The questions he would ask are "why are you selecting this player if this player has a better

strike rate", or "why are you selecting player A if player B can do the same thing". Also they would have selection benchmarks and performance benchmarks.

Data and Sports Science are very important in sports. Especially Cricket, in which you have to always monitor your own progress and what you can do better. Pakistan lacks both fields.
It is said by Nadeem Khan and Wasim Khan that they are improving this and are actually getting a software. But the question is if our analysts and coaches are able to use data the right way and efficiently and effectively.

No matter who PCB appoints as chief selector, if the individual does not do his homework before selecting a squad, Pakistan will never solve their selection problems.

PCB should take a leaf out of ECB's book and use data to select their squads. ECB used data to select their squads for the World Cup and look how that turned out for them.

ECB had an individual name Mo Bobat who was the Player Identification Lead, but now is the Performance Director. When he was the Player Identification Lead, his main responsibility was to identify players and watch footage and analyze the players with the selection committee. And then when they were discussing about forming the teams , he would ask tough questions to the Head of Selection and the other members. The questions he would ask are "why are you selecting this player if this player has a better

strike rate", or "why are you selecting player A if player B can do the same thing". Also they would have selection benchmarks and performance benchmarks.

Data and Sports Science are very important in sports. Especially Cricket, in which you have to always monitor your own progress and what you can do better. Pakistan lacks both fields.
It is said by Nadeem Khan and Wasim Khan that they are improving this and are actually getting a software. But the question is if our analysts and coaches are able to use data the right way and efficiently and effectively.

Interesting. It’s a very innovative auditing process essentially. We could do with a position like this in our setup, someone who cross-checks the selector with a data background.

Spot on once more! Over the last few months you've become my favourite poster on here. Finally someone who understands the nuances and ground realities of Pakistan cricket and the intricate path around which people such as Rashid have to tread.

Rashid is possibly the most honourable man to have played for Pakistan and the only one to have stood up to the fixing mafia within the team only to be backstabbed by corrupt and folly PCB administrators. Over the years he's learnt there's a hefty price you have to pay for being honest.

Rashid has now mellowed down and doesn't criticise anyone in case they come at him with a vengeance because he's no longer responsible just for himself but for hundreds of ex cricketers and their families who depend on him for their livelihood after not making it at the very top level but were a part of his academy once. His academy has produced several high quality players for Pakistan where many international stars have trained.

He trained Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf before they debuted for Pakistan as well as Mohammad Sami and Sohail Khan. Even Rizwan credited Rashid for the recent improvement in his development after he won the man of the series award in England. Several of the current Afghan players developed under his tenure with their team.

He keeps a keen eye on domestic cricket and has backed players like Saud Shakeel, Tabish Khan, Saad Ali etc when they were dominating in domestics and believes in judging players in the right formats a trait missing in the Pakistani setup.

He backed Sami Aslam too because he was a rare player who could see out the new ball in swinging conditions even if he wasn't the one to capitalise once the ball got older but at least he got the team till the point where the middle order wasn't exposed.

He was the Godfather of Karachi cricket for a long time and the city has barely produced any players since he shifted to Islamabad for Game on Hai. It would be highly irresponsible and ignorant to judge him based on that show which is conducted in a highly unprofessional manner with terrible production quality but is still far better than the filth that comes on Geo Super.

Rashid has his fair share of issues after decades of injustice and has even rejected the chief selectors job once before as he didn't have it in him to oblige bureaucrats, politicians and generals by picking those connected to them. This is a rampant problem within the system and why we see old faces well past their prime continue to be a permanent part of the team.

The system of Provincial coaches as selectors has met with a lot of complaints from present players who have complained about the coaches of having bias.

Which player will ever genuinely accept that he was rightfully dropped or ignored? They will always find something to abuse the selectors regardless of who it is

Rashid just said it on Game on Hai that he is not going to be the CS.

He also said that next CS is close to him(not shoaib)

I guess it is Muhammad Akram, Muhammad Wasim or Azhar Mahmood, they are close to Rashid bhai.

Would love to see M Wasim since Akram has backed out!
Rashid would take us back to the 90’s & Akhtar is still a loose cannon ps Umar Amin would be his first selection.. guaranteed lol

Rashid Latif? Fully respect his cricketing credentials but his people skills are clearly questionable - If he lasts more than a month without falling out with the PCB or coach/captain or a fellow selector and then threatening to hold a press conference to reveal everything only to go silent in the good interest of Pakistan cricket - that will be some achievement.

Spot on once more! Over the last few months you've become my favourite poster on here. Finally someone who understands the nuances and ground realities of Pakistan cricket and the intricate path around which people such as Rashid have to tread.

Rashid is possibly the most honourable man to have played for Pakistan and the only one to have stood up to the fixing mafia within the team only to be backstabbed by corrupt and folly PCB administrators. Over the years he's learnt there's a hefty price you have to pay for being honest.

Rashid has now mellowed down and doesn't criticise anyone in case they come at him with a vengeance because he's no longer responsible just for himself but for hundreds of ex cricketers and their families who depend on him for their livelihood after not making it at the very top level but were a part of his academy once. His academy has produced several high quality players for Pakistan where many international stars have trained.

He trained Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf before they debuted for Pakistan as well as Mohammad Sami and Sohail Khan. Even Rizwan credited Rashid for the recent improvement in his development after he won the man of the series award in England. Several of the current Afghan players developed under his tenure with their team.

He keeps a keen eye on domestic cricket and has backed players like Saud Shakeel, Tabish Khan, Saad Ali etc when they were dominating in domestics and believes in judging players in the right formats a trait missing in the Pakistani setup.

He backed Sami Aslam too because he was a rare player who could see out the new ball in swinging conditions even if he wasn't the one to capitalise once the ball got older but at least he got the team till the point where the middle order wasn't exposed.

He was the Godfather of Karachi cricket for a long time and the city has barely produced any players since he shifted to Islamabad for Game on Hai. It would be highly irresponsible and ignorant to judge him based on that show which is conducted in a highly unprofessional manner with terrible production quality but is still far better than the filth that comes on Geo Super.

Rashid has his fair share of issues after decades of injustice and has even rejected the chief selectors job once before as he didn't have it in him to oblige bureaucrats, politicians and generals by picking those connected to them. This is a rampant problem within the system and why we see old faces well past their prime continue to be a permanent part of the team.

First of all, a big thankyou for the warm words brother.
I am honoured that you appreciate my two cents on cricket.
Yes, Rashid is one of the very few Pakistani cricketers that I have genuine respect for.
Everything you say about him is indeed correct.

Much of what is talked about him in terms of his support for regionalism and bias is uneducated deduction based off of his surface views on TV shows which are orchestrated and governed by certain agendas and policies.

When you actually get to know him, you will realise that he the most humble and genuine guy who has Pakistan's interests at heart.
As you yourself have alluded to, he helps a number of cricketers behind the scenes, which goes completely under the radar as he doesn't advertise it like many others.

Contrary to what people think, he is a very sharp and smart guy, although very temperamental; which has always been his weakness.

So if he actually gets the CS job, I for one would be really happy as he will have a set criteria for selection but given his inflexible attitude, it will be difficult for this to materialise in our cricket climate.

He also said that next CS is close to him(not shoaib)

I guess it is Muhammad Akram, Muhammad Wasim or Azhar Mahmood, they are close to Rashid bhai.

I have a big feeling that it might be Azhar Mahmood as the chief selector and if not him then Mohammad Akram. And if they go back to the traditional selection committee, Azhar Mahmood might be one of the selectors. The reason why I am saying this is that Azhar Mahmood was suppose to be one of the coaches in the domestic circuit, but he refused so I have a feeling he might be running for this post. Also Rashid Latif last week or the week before took a picture with Azhar and Mohammad Akram. I am sure he talked to them. Also that picture was suspicious.

I am pretty sure Mohammad Wasim is not running for Cheif Selector position. He is staying as a coach.

Isn’t Azhar Mahmood the bowling coach for England now?

No he was the assistant bowling coach for only against Pakistan. They had him as the assistant bowling coach supporting Jon Lewis the main bowling coach. They had him for only against Pakistan. Also he didnt go with the England team to South Africa.

If i had to choice 1 out of the 2 id pick akhtar gives the big talk lets see if he can deliver

First of all, a big thankyou for the warm words brother.
I am honoured that you appreciate my two cents on cricket.
Yes, Rashid is one of the very few Pakistani cricketers that I have genuine respect for.
Everything you say about him is indeed correct.

Much of what is talked about him in terms of his support for regionalism and bias is uneducated deduction based off of his surface views on TV shows which are orchestrated and governed by certain agendas and policies.

When you actually get to know him, you will realise that he the most humble and genuine guy who has Pakistan's interests at heart.
As you yourself have alluded to, he helps a number of cricketers behind the scenes, which goes completely under the radar as he doesn't advertise it like many others.

Contrary to what people think, he is a very sharp and smart guy, although very temperamental; which has always been his weakness.

So if he actually gets the CS job, I for one would be really happy as he will have a set criteria for selection but given his inflexible attitude, it will be difficult for this to materialise in our cricket climate.

You're more than welcome but no need to thank me, it's my duty to appreciate quality when I see it which is becoming increasingly rare on this forum apart from a handful of posters. I look forward to your posts because you set the narrative straight when others are spreading their agenda on the forum based on personal likes and dislikes or simply because of lack of awareness of ground realities.

If Rashid had regional bias why did he help bring Yousuf into the national team after he was discovered by Saeed Anwar. Yousuf was a minority from the Christain area of Youhanabad on the outskirts of Lahore.

Similarly there was no need to help develop Rizwan's game as he was a Pathan from Peshawar as are most of the Afghan players who played under him. He even backed Sami Aslam, a Lahori who was replaced by a Karachite Shan Masood.

Yet somehow he's biased towards Karachi players when in fact he's just putting their name in the conversation when they're being unjustly ignored with Fawad Alam having been the biggest casualty who looks like he's been set up to fail when he's finally past it. No one wants other deserving players to suffer the same as him.

You're absolutely correct his temperament is his biggest weakness but he seems to have mellowed in recent times apart from when he gave Sehwag a telling off.

But that's the steely exterior he had to develop to survive the tumultuous 90's I guess and he carries baggage from then till this day for all that he was made to suffer when he was one of the best in the world at his craft. I feel his protege Younis Khan wouldn't have gone onto make 10k runs either if he hadn't acquired the same steely exterior as Rashid after what our seniors pulled in 2009 with Oathgate.

I doubt he'll become CS but if there ever was a time to put a straight shooter in charge it's now under the current regime where meritocracy has a much higher chance to survive than any other time in our recent history.