[REPORTS] Mickey Arthur and Steve Rixon to reunite as Sri Lanka’s coaches

Junaids

I would like to wish Mickey Arthur all the best in his new venture.

It must come as a shock to many Pakistan fans that Sri Lanka Cricket say they admired his work with Pakistan more than his work in Australia and South Africa.

This also gives Misbah-ul-Haq a longer period to settle in as Pakistan’s coach: it is no secret that Mickey Arthur hopes to return one day but it will clearly be no time soon.

Really I look at Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah and Shadab Khan and Sami Aslam, all of them aged between 16 and 23, and I suspect that Mickey probably realised that he’s going to a team with much less potential.

I wish him luck and hope for the sake of his future and Srilankan cricket that he understands the subcontinental conditions better this time around but ofcourse after the Pak series. :smith

While Srl has some decent young players but as you have mentioned it was pretty obvious why Mickey would have wanted to remain coach of Pakistan considering the amount and quality of young players to work with.

Rixon is a no brainer, probably the best fielding coach around.

If this is true, I hope his team humiliates Misbah's side in Pakistan.

Maybe then the PCB will finally smell the coffee.

I wish him luck and hope for the sake of his future and Srilankan cricket that he understands the subcontinental conditions better this time around but ofcourse after the Pak series. :smith

While Srl has some decent young players but as you have mentioned it was pretty obvious why Mickey would have wanted to remain coach of Pakistan considering the amount and quality of young players to work with.

Rixon is a no brainer, probably the best fielding coach around.

So Mickey is above Pakistan now? :jimmy

More like Misbah's hatred is primary to everything else.

So Mickey is above Pakistan now? :jimmy

No, the longer Pakistan have Misbah, the more damage he will do to their cricket, just as we all witnessed during his captaincy days.

If Mickey can crush Misbah's side, that will send a clear message to the PCB that that latter is not up to the task.

Oh my god so we've just gifted Sri Lanka the best coaching combination we've had in years.

Well done PCB.

No, the longer Pakistan have Misbah, the more damage he will do to their cricket, just as we all witnessed during his captaincy days.

If Mickey can crush Misbah's side, that will send a clear message to the PCB that that latter is not up to the task.

While i had issues with Mickey’s strategies but even now if Mickey was the coach of Pakistan and for that matter Misbah was coaching Srl. I would have wanted Pak to win anyday.

I personally would never want to be proven right if Pakistan will have to loose for that. I understand you sentiments regarding Misbah and Mickey but in my opinion Pak cricket team should come in first irrespective of how poor or world class is the coach, captain etc are.

Sri Lanka is DOOMED.

Why would ANYONE go for the coach who has been fired from all his major jobs, because of terrible results?

I was really hoping that SL will rise again. This isn't happening. Mickey Arthur will lead any team to perpetual losses.

Just ask the PCB or the Karachi Kings owners.

:sree

"We are having discussions with Mickey," SLC CEO Ashley de Silva said. "We think we will be able to reach an agreement."

Arthur has coached South Africa and Australia in the past, but it was his results with Pakistan between 2016 and 2019 that really impressed SLC, de Silva said.

"He had won the 2017 Champions Trophy with Pakistan, and had also taken Pakistan to the No. 1 spot in T20s. He's a well-known coach and he's been around for a while," he said.
But but Mickey's spell with Pakistan was a failure, and he will never get another international coaching gig as per his "objective critics".

The guy lives and breathes for one primary purpose: hate Misbah.

Of course, a thriving and revived Pakistan side, free from the darkness and perpetual losses under Mickey Arthur will be too much to handle.

The pain will be fun to observe in the next few years, when the Dark Mickey Arthur era is completely in the past. :najam

Sri Lanka is DOOMED.

Why would ANYONE go for the coach who has been fired from all his major jobs, because of terrible results?

I was really hoping that SL will rise again. This isn't happening. Mickey Arthur will lead any team to perpetual losses.

Yes an ICC trophy, #1 ranking in two formats, recovering from 9th to 5th in ODIs and a strong World Cup showing in a tough format are terrible results.

Not to mention the array of youngsters developed and groomed under his watch, including the progression of Babar Azam into a world class batsman.

Oh what a dark era !

Its not only Misbah, there are countless posts from different posters who want or wanted Imam, Hafeez, Fakhar, Shadab, Shinwari.... the list goes on to fail, so that they can be proven right or for that matter somehow the player they dont like is booted out of the team.

Rather thing should be whoever plays for Pakistan on any given day should be fully supported irrespective of how we rate him as a player because our assessments can be wrong regarding a player and wishing for a player to fail and for Pak to loose just because we perceive someone to be bad and not be a long term player is not on.

Yes an ICC trophy, #1 ranking in two formats, recovering from 9th to 5th in ODIs and a strong World Cup showing in a tough format are terrible results.

Not to mention the array of youngsters developed and groomed under his watch, including the progression of Babar Azam into a world class batsman.

Oh what a dark era !

Mickey Arthur era was dark. We fluked ct 17. What else? Lost embarrassingly at home in the most important format, Tests. Got embarrassed in the Asia Cup 2018. Inconsistent World Cup. Kept persisting with railu kattas like Faheem and Hasan Ali.

Even though Misbah isn't amazing at ODIs we made the 2014 Asia Cup final, won 2012 Asia cup. And I shouldn't even have to mention how good Misbahs side did in test cricket.

Mickey Arthur was a clown full of mediocrity. That's why he failed 2 jobs in a row - pakistan and Australia. And Karachi Kings in PSL sacked him.

[MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION], one CT fluke years ago does not wash away his terrible results.

After the fluke, we've become minnows in the last 2-3 years. Went on a perpetual losing streak, lost the most number of matches against the top sides.

In Tests, got whitewashed from SL at our freaking home and became minnow-level.

Forgot how to win Test and ODI matches. Got humiliated at the Asia Cup. Kept chest-thumping over fake and meaningless bilateral T20 rankings, which nobody cares about.

Kept repeating "we're a proud team that hates losing", on repeat mode, because we kept losing.

Mickey will be leaking our secrets to the SriLankan camp:sarf2

Time for revenge.:smith

Mickey will be leaking our secrets to the SriLankan camp:sarf2

Time for revenge.:smith

SL had at least some chance of winning the Tests against PAK.

Now there's no chance. This guy is clueless in Tests and ODIs.

Oh what a dark era !

LMAO your actually crediting Mickey for the test no1 ranking ??? :))) [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

The guy lives and breathes for one primary purpose: hate Misbah.

Of course, a thriving and revived Pakistan side, free from the darkness and perpetual losses under Mickey Arthur will be too much to handle.

The pain will be fun to observe in the next few years, when the Dark Mickey Arthur era is completely in the past. :najam

See the highlighted parts of your post. Do you see the irony? :inti

But but Mickey's spell with Pakistan was a failure, and he will never get another international coaching gig as per his "objective critics".

It would have been more surprising if some top tier team would have have hired him as they are much more methodical in their selection approach but still surprising to an extent.

Mickey isnt the worst coach but not someone who can take a bottom tier team to the top or a top team to create a streak or legacy of its own.

Loosing home series to Srl, then Nz along with poor show in Asia Cup shows he doesn’t understand the sub continental conditions really well and I hope that with the learnings he got from coaching Pak in Sub continent can help Srl.

LMAO your actually crediting Mickey for the test no1 ranking ??? :))) [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

Markhor bhai fell in his own trap. :baelish

See the highlighted parts of your post. Do you see the irony? :inti

I'm criticizing based on the bad results that he delivered, and hoping for a PAK revival.

This topspin guy is openly wishing and praying for PAK to go further down, because he hates one guy. Big difference. :najam

Hathurusingha wasnt doing a poor job considering the limited resources Srilanka has in their talent pool.

It would have been more surprising if some top tier team would have have hired him as they are much more methodical in their selection approach but still surprising to an extent.

Mickey isnt the worst coach but not someone who can take a bottom tier team to the top or a top team to create a streak or legacy of its own.

Loosing home series to Srl, then Nz along with poor show in Asia Cup shows he doesn’t understand the sub continental conditions really well and I hope that with the learnings he got from coaching Pak in Sub continent can help Srl.

Yep.

All the best to Mickey Arthur, but he just doesn't have it in him to lift a team. Especially an Asian side.

Karachi Kings and Pak cricket team are the perfect examples.

Sadly, there are no sane decision makers in SLC it seems. Still, I hope he does a decent job this time around.

Hathurusingha is a better coach than Mr. all talk and no action. England definitely dodged a bullet.

At least we'll get to hear more of "We're a proud team that hates losing".

Mickey Arthur era was dark. We fluked ct 17. What else? Lost embarrassingly at home in the most important format, Tests. Got embarrassed in the Asia Cup 2018. Inconsistent World Cup. Kept persisting with railu kattas like Faheem and Hasan Ali.

Even though Misbah isn't amazing at ODIs we made the 2014 Asia Cup final, won 2012 Asia cup. And I shouldn't even have to mention how good Misbahs side did in test cricket.

Mickey Arthur was a clown full of mediocrity. That's why he failed 2 jobs in a row - pakistan and Australia. And Karachi Kings in PSL sacked him.

[MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION], one CT fluke years ago does not wash away his terrible results.

After the fluke, we've become minnows in the last 2-3 years. Went on a perpetual losing streak, lost the most number of matches against the top sides.

In Tests, got whitewashed from SL at our freaking home and became minnow-level.

Forgot how to win Test and ODI matches. Got humiliated at the Asia Cup. Kept chest-thumping over fake and meaningless bilateral T20 rankings, which nobody cares about.

Kept repeating "we're a proud team that hates losing", on repeat mode, because we kept losing.

We would've had a better Test and ODI record under Mickey if he had a captain that took responsibility instead of ducking it like Sarfraz. The coach alone cannot make up for a tactically inept captain. We lost those two decisive runchases vs Sri Lanka and New Zealand by narrow margins because the captain went missing.

Also tell me what coach would've done better handling that difficult transition after the retirements of two stalwart batsmen Younis and Misbah. There was ALWAYS going to be a dip - and Mickey had a tough touring cycle too.

Despite that, Mickey still has a vastly superior W/L record in ODIs versus the top 10 than his predecessor Waqar (back for a 5th time). We were playing ancient 1980s ODI cricket under Waqar scoring 300+ only twice vs Top 10, but under Mickey we hit 300+ FOURTEEN times. Our RPO went from 5.17 to 5.45. He TRANSFORMED our ODI batting mindset from the 2011-15 days when even getting 250 was a struggle.

His ICC tournament record shouldn't be dismissed. You cannot fluke an entire tournament, if it was that easy why didn't we win a single ICC 50 overs trophy from 1992-2017 ? Even the best coach in our history in Bob Woolmer struggled with ICC tournaments.

In the World Cup we beat the two finalists England and New Zealand, and beat Bangladesh who had whitewashed us under the previous regime.

I'm not overly concerned about T20Is but they are still international matches and Pakistan won 24 out of 30 T20Is vs top 10 sides under Mickey, and were looking like strong contenders for 2020 WT20. Now we've been thrashed by Sri Lanka C at home and Australia.

Finally, Mickey deserves most credit for introducing and developing a generation of new AND young talent from Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Shaheen Afridi, Hussain Talat, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Hasnain. He also chopped Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad who were recalled by Misbah which cost us dearly, and liabilities like Mohammad Irfan who's also returned at ripe age of 37.

Consistent results are always difficult with a weak domestic system like Pakistan's, but we were trending in the right direction under Mickey who deserved another year under the new domestic system.

We would've had a better Test and ODI record under Mickey if he had a captain that took responsibility instead of ducking it like Sarfraz. The coach alone cannot make up for a tactically inept captain. We lost those two decisive runchases vs Sri Lanka and New Zealand by narrow margins because the captain went missing.

Also tell me what coach would've done better handling that difficult transition after the retirements of two stalwart batsmen Younis and Misbah. There was ALWAYS going to be a dip - and Mickey had a tough touring cycle too.

Despite that, Mickey still has a vastly superior W/L record in ODIs versus the top 10 than his predecessor Waqar (back for a 5th time). We were playing ancient 1980s ODI cricket under Waqar scoring 300+ only twice vs Top 10, but under Mickey we hit 300+ FOURTEEN times. Our RPO went from 5.17 to 5.45. He TRANSFORMED our ODI batting mindset from the 2011-15 days when even getting 250 was a struggle.

His ICC tournament record shouldn't be dismissed. You cannot fluke an entire tournament, if it was that easy why didn't we win a single ICC 50 overs trophy from 1992-2017 ? Even the best coach in our history in Bob Woolmer struggled with ICC tournaments.

In the World Cup we beat the two finalists England and New Zealand, and beat Bangladesh who had whitewashed us under the previous regime.

I'm not overly concerned about T20Is but they are still international matches and Pakistan won 24 out of 30 T20Is vs top 10 sides under Mickey, and were looking like strong contenders for 2020 WT20. Now we've been thrashed by Sri Lanka C at home and Australia.

Finally, Mickey deserves most credit for introducing and developing a generation of new AND young talent from Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Shaheen Afridi, Hussain Talat, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Hasnain. He also chopped Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad who were recalled by Misbah which cost us dearly, and liabilities like Mohammad Irfan who's also returned at ripe age of 37.

Consistent results are always difficult with a weak domestic system like Pakistan's, but we were trending in the right direction under Mickey who deserved another year under the new domestic system.

"Top 10" eh? Nice, that includes minnow bashing. I have already shown that Misbah/Waqar actually had better record vs top 5 sides than Mickey in ODIs.

Don't know your obsession with 300+ scores, what's the use if we can't defend it? Also most of these 300+ scores were on absolute.phattas or against minnows. We lost 4-0 to England scoring 300+ and they were useless. We minnow bashed the likes.of SL, WI etc.

The 2018 Asia cup should have served as a reality check
K.

While i had issues with Mickey’s strategies but even now if Mickey was the coach of Pakistan and for that matter Misbah was coaching Srl. I would have wanted Pak to win anyday.

I personally would never want to be proven right if Pakistan will have to loose for that. I understand you sentiments regarding Misbah and Mickey but in my opinion Pak cricket team should come in first irrespective of how poor or world class is the coach, captain etc are.

If I can see Misbah deliver some hope in our test side (at least) before the Sri Lanka series, I am very happy to change my stance on him and thus on Pakistan cricket.

Yes I want Pakistan to do well. It would be a dream to see them win the WC and Test Championship in my viewing history.

But we also have to be realistic and think pragmatically. There is no hope for a man who has a low cricketing IQ and is far too conservative. We saw what happened during his captaincy days and having looked at the pros and cons of his presence over this period, there is no doubt in my mind he has done much more harm to Pakistan cricket since that 2011 Mohali innings.

Unfortunately because the PCB are so incompetent, they need the biggest wake-up call ever in order for them to come to their senses and do what needs to be done for the greater good of Pakistan cricket. This can only be achieved if they can act now rather than leaving it till 2022 or just before the start of the 2023 WC.

Indeed I hate what he did to Pakistan cricket, like most of the fanbase on here.

There is a reason why 80% (of those who participated) voted against his appointment in that poll a few months back.

But nahi ji for us "Misbah's hatred is primary to everything else".

Oh what a dark era !

Agree with every word of this excellent concise post of yours in response to a blind follower.

The fact of the matter is Hawkeye supports Misbah more than the Pakistan team.

If this is true, I hope his team humiliates Misbah's side in Pakistan.

Maybe then the PCB will finally smell the coffee.

This^

Screw fake patriotism. Majority of us are overseas anyways. Its best to want the best for Pakistan cricket by wanting defeats to change the system. Misbah is clearly not the best. We can do better. What a better way of sending a message than to have our former coach defeat us with a new team. Mickey if you do this you will become a legend of the country.

This^

Screw fake patriotism. Majority of us are overseas anyways. Its best to want the best for Pakistan cricket by wanting defeats to change the system. Misbah is clearly not the best. We can do better. What a better way of sending a message than to have our former coach defeat us with a new team. Mickey if you do this you will become a legend of the country.

Precisely, there is no bigger wake up call for the PCB to respond too. Misbah and his loyalists will have no excuses left because even they cannot defend something that is indefensible.

Furthermore it will certainly put an end to a notable critic of MA who continues to rant about the so-called "Dark Mickey Arthur era" like a broken record.

"Top 10" eh? Nice, that includes minnow bashing. I have already shown that Misbah/Waqar actually had better record vs top 5 sides than Mickey in ODIs.

Don't know your obsession with 300+ scores, what's the use if we can't defend it? Also most of these 300+ scores were on absolute.phattas or against minnows. We lost 4-0 to England scoring 300+ and they were useless. We minnow bashed the likes.of SL, WI etc.

The 2018 Asia cup should have served as a reality check
K.

Precisely, there is no bigger wake up call for the PCB to respond too. Misbah and his loyalists will have no excuses left because even they cannot defend something that is indefensible.

Furthermore it will certainly put an end to a notable critic of MA who continues to rant about the so-called "Dark Mickey Arthur era" like a broken record.

He is right. Mickey Arthur time was a treacherous, disastrous time.to watch. I dearly miss our team from 5 years ago.

Mickey if you do this you will become a legend of the country.

While the whole post wasnt very impressive to start with but this sentence for me stands out. So for Mickey to become a legend, he didnt had to win WC with Pakistan rather he just needs to defeat Pakistan while Misbah in charge.

What happens if Pak under Misbah beats Mickey's? He also gets a shot at becoming a legend this way?

Rip the word legend as well as logic.

He is right. Mickey Arthur time was a treacherous, disastrous time.to watch. I dearly miss our team from 5 years ago.

Yes the same Misbah team (under Waqar), which left Pakistan cricket in the dumps after the downhill slide to 9th in the rankings.

The same time also got knocked out of the CT losing every single match. Contrast this performance with Mickey's team (with a medicore captain in Sarfraz) in the next edition of the tournament, which was also held in England.

If Sarfraz/Mickey had an ATG player of spin in Younis Khan as well as the chucking services of Ajmal and Hafeez, I doubt Pakistan's test record would have been any worse than what we saw with the Misbah/Waqar combo.

I wish Mickey all the best for his future endeavours. Despite all his faults, he was a very enthusiastic coach and had a real passion for our cricket.

Sri Lanka is DOOMED.

You mean like, Misbah just did in his last five completed games?

I bet Mickey's heart will still beat for Pakistan if Sri Lanka and Pakistanis face-off in an ICC tournament final. His love for Pakistan cricket ran deep.

Oh trust me after Misbah’s tenure is over we will have the “Dark Misbah Ul Haq era”.

While the whole post wasnt very impressive to start with but this sentence for me stands out. So for Mickey to become a legend, he didnt had to win WC with Pakistan rather he just needs to defeat Pakistan while Misbah in charge.

What happens if Pak under Misbah beats Mickey's? He also gets a shot at becoming a legend this way?

Rip the word legend as well as logic.

Not surprised you were not impressed by that post. Who says I was trying to impress you anyways? Impressing you is not difficult when you accept a Coach who has no credentials to coach a international side. Pakistan deserves to lose when they pick positions on favoritism. When Mickey’s successor is not a successor whats better than to see him beat the very man who was behind his exit.

If Misbah wins he will get another two years to destroy our cricket. Till than enjoy the ride.

Oh trust me after Misbah’s tenure is over we will have the “Dark Misbah Ul Haq era”.

Not surprised you were not impressed by that post. Who says I was trying to impress you anyways? Impressing you is not difficult when you accept a Coach who has no credentials to coach a international side. Pakistan deserves to lose when they pick positions on favoritism. When Mickey’s successor is not a successor whats better than to see him beat the very man who was behind his exit.

If Misbah wins he will get another two years to destroy our cricket. Till than enjoy the ride.

I am pretty sure you were trying to impress no one as that post didnt have any objectivity or any cricket related facts, though I wont be surprised if you might have impressed a few with Mickey Arther's banners.

So if Mickey wins with Srl vs Pak he is a legend?

Definitely its really tough to impress you let alone getting the title of a legend.

This is too funny. Mickey's fans are still crying that he was shown his real aukat. :))

I want to salute PCB for the way how they treated the beghairat scam artist.

Might be a little tricky for a spin based team. But, SRL has several quality U23 prospects, particularly in batting department and this guy is brilliant to develop individual skills, particularly in batting. The major difference could be that Arthur (& PAK), was stuck with the stinky wickets of UAE (PAK’s home wickets are no different), but SRL can offer Arthur home wickets suiting his area of strength. They won in SAF as well, which suggests, they can operate with 3 pacers (+ Angelo) at home as well, which was probably where Arthur’s downfall started with PCT.

Any way, good luck to him - this guy’s resume is so good that he’ll always attract top jobs, but his success will depend on how much he can adopt with the core strength of the team he is managing. I hope, in next job he’ll set standards at the start & stick to it.

Mickey was poor but Misbah is worse. It is pointless to defend Mickey by comparing him to Misbah.

I am pretty sure you were trying to impress no one as that post didnt have any objectivity or any cricket related facts, though I wont be surprised if you might have impressed a few with Mickey Arther's banners.

So if Mickey wins with Srl vs Pak he is a legend?

Definitely its really tough to impress you let alone getting the title of a legend.

Never knew jealousy was a thing till I read this post. Calling someone a legend is apparently a blasphemy now? I get that you have some personal agenda with Mickey. To the point where reading any compliments towards him hurts a nerve. Lets not forget he won us a Champions Trophy and took us to number 1 in Twenty20. Something your beloved Misbah will never do. In fact losing to the Sri-Lankan C team was the start of everything dark to come in his era. Mickey will save us once again by humiliating this good for nothing coach in a fashion we all will remember. Before that happens I hope your list of excuses are written down neatly in that book of yours. Cause your gonna need it when the time comes for damage control.

This is too funny. Mickey's fans are still crying that he was shown his real aukat. :))

It wasn't long ago when you were forced into hiding after all that Babar bashing had backfired spectacularly. The only scam artist I see here is you.

Never knew jealousy was a thing till I read this post. Calling someone a legend is apparently a blasphemy now? I get that you have some personal agenda with Mickey. To the point where reading any compliments towards him hurts a nerve. Lets not forget he won us a Champions Trophy and took us to number 1 in Twenty20. Something your beloved Misbah will never do. In fact losing to the Sri-Lankan C team was the start of everything dark to come in his era. Mickey will save us once again by humiliating this good for nothing coach in a fashion we all will remember. Before that happens I hope your list of excuses are written down neatly in that book of yours. Cause your gonna need it when the time comes for damage control.

So in his 3+ years as Pakistan coach, Mickey won us the least important ICC trophy and got us #1 in the format nobody cares about... And that's satisfactory to you?

Mickey has a lot of talent to work with if he gets the job. Wish him luck if he gets the job.

So I am jealous that you are calling Mickey a legend? One of the funniest taunts I have read. :)

You can call him a legend as many times as you want it doesnt matter, I only asked if the feat you are suggesting (Beating Pak under Misbah) eis enough for him to be called a legend however, I realized after your reply that it wasnt an objective conversation to start with and it is an emotion and hatred driven ride that you are trying to take and I want no part in it.

Just to clarify I have no personal agenda against Mickey as you can see from by post history when Mickey was the coach I was supporting Pakistan even then when he was making strategic blunders and I was just pointing them out back then.

Talking about Misbah being a poor coach is no way a good enough defense for Mickey's poor performance as a the coach of Pakistan. I have put forward his performances with stats along with his decisions multiple times.

Still I respect your opinion and conversation has come to a point where we can just agree to disagree.

Mickey won us the least important ICC trophy and got us #1 in the format nobody cares about

No people did care. Don't assume things living in Canada and would be better if you speak for yourself.

Apart from few thosuand people no one care about tests that would be a better statement. Want proof? Get yourself familiarized with how Pakistanis reacted to Champions trophy win as compare to no 1 test ranking.

Should congratulate PCB for trading passionate and sincere coach like Mickey Arthur with a joke like Misbah who has no prior experience as coach and has been named as chief selector as wellrofl.

The mental capacity of folks running PCB would be questioned and mocked whenever one looks back.

Funny those hating Arthur and Sarfaraz always hide the role of Inzamam as chief selector, and shift that false blame onto both.

Anyways those must be happy now we are back to 2013 and ranking lower than #7 in every format with a loser like Misbah, in whose era every rare win would be celebrated as though Pakistan won a multinational tournament rofl.

No people did care. Don't assume things living in Canada and would be better if you speak for yourself.

Apart from few thosuand people no one care about tests that would be a better statement. Want proof? Get yourself familiarized with how Pakistanis reacted to Champions trophy win as compare to no 1 test ranking.

I'm confused as to what part of my post you have a problem with. People cared about what? T20 rankings? I'll assume you're talking about being #1 in T20s, even if some casual fans are super happy, it doesn't really mean anything because 10 years down the line nobody will care that Pakistan was #1 in T20s for a year or 2, whereas if we talked about Tests or ODIs, we would create a legacy.

I never said people didn't care about the Champions Trophy, I myself watched the tournament and the day we won is one of the best days of my life, but lets be real here, it's no World Cup or even WT20, which is why I called it the least important ICC trophy.

Obviously people will care more about an ODI tournament than a #1 ranking in test matches that lasted like a week or 2. I myself value the CT win more than our #1 ranking because we were never really the best team, we got lucky. Ask any Indian on this forum what they value more, CT 2013 or being #1 in tests for the last 3 years and I think we both know the answer is obvious.

Especially now with the WTC, Test cricket is more important than it ever was, definitely more than bilateral T20s. I'll lose every bilateral T20 for the next 5 years if it means we can win Test series.

So in his 3+ years as Pakistan coach, Mickey won us the least important ICC trophy and got us #1 in the format nobody cares about... And that's satisfactory to you?

Not many coaches of Pakistan have done that have they? Winning ICC tournaments happens rarely unless your Australia. So you gotta appreciate these achievements even if you got a personal agenda against Mickey.

The golden combo is back. Mickey + Rixon was a lethal combo and surely SRL cricket will gain a lot from this.

Unlucky for us who are stuck with the disastorous combo.

Good to see you out of the woodwork now that your favorites Misbah, Azhar, Waqar are all out in full force. :ronaldo

I bet Mickey's heart will still beat for Pakistan if Sri Lanka and Pakistanis face-off in an ICC tournament final. His love for Pakistan cricket ran deep.

Best coach after Woolmer.

Lol every job he gets is worse and less prestigious than the last one :)))

Better than being demoted from head coach to a bowling coach under someone who has zero experience of coaching. :)))

Nothing can be worse than that lmao

SLC and Mickey are in talks.

A deal is yet to be finalised.

Hang on you keep changing the goalposts.

First you say Mickey isn't good to enough to get an international coaching gig anywhere other than Pakistan.

Then when appointed as a coach for the top New Zealand domestic team for their T20 competition, it's a fall from grace and further proof he's not good enough for international cricket.

But now he gets a job with a team that beat us in Tests, beat South Africa away, and whitewashed us in T20s with their B team, and it's a worse, less prestigious job !

These Mickey critics are just...wow.

Waqar can’t get a job other than working with Pakistan.

You support a coach who is even worse. :))) :)))

I've plenty of respect for Misbah and Waqar (as a player) but their coaching experience is zilch in the former's case, and Waqar hasn't coached anywhere outside Pakistan where his record is mediocre !

Meanwhile Steve Rixon is a world renowned coach and has an exemplary reputation especially in Australia, and Mickey has coached several international teams with some notable achievements. Both have years of coaching experience whereas Misbah and Waqar thought they were entitled to the job simply because of their playing careers when coaching requires totally different skills.

Yet these Mickey critics are arguing the Misbah/Waqar combination is BETTER qualified as coaches than Mickey/Rixon combination.

And if these two are so incompetent, or at least Mickey is according to the Mickey critics, why the hell has SLCB praised Mickey's tenure with Pakistan and are interviewing him ?!

Rixon has been a huge loss for Pakistan. If only the PCB had paid his wages on time and when they had promised to.

Pakistan's fielding really has gone downhill of late.

Mickey Arthur has a contract with Central Districts in NZ which starts 1st Dec. - not sure if he will break that contract?

See I am quite neutral on Misbah as a coach.

What I find fascinating though is, people have already made up their minds that he is doomed to be a failure because he failed as a player (if we accept he did).

But life is rarely that simplistic.

Give the guy a year or so, then judge him instead of judging him because he got appointed.

Not many coaches of Pakistan have done that have they? Winning ICC tournaments happens rarely unless your Australia. So you gotta appreciate these achievements even if you got a personal agenda against Mickey.

I don't have anything against Mickey Arthur, it's just that those 2 achievements in 3+ years is not good enough.

I've plenty of respect for Misbah and Waqar (as a player) but their coaching experience is zilch in the former's case, and Waqar hasn't coached anywhere outside Pakistan where his record is mediocre !

Meanwhile Steve Rixon is a world renowned coach and has an exemplary reputation especially in Australia, and Mickey has coached several international teams with some notable achievements. Both have years of coaching experience whereas Misbah and Waqar thought they were entitled to the job simply because of their playing careers when coaching requires totally different skills.

Yet these Mickey critics are arguing the Misbah/Waqar combination is BETTER qualified as coaches than Mickey/Rixon combination.

And if these two are so incompetent, or at least Mickey is according to the Mickey critics, why the hell has SLCB praised Mickey's tenure with Pakistan and are interviewing him ?!

I would rather have kept Mickey Arthur if the replacement was going to be Misbah. I don’t see him improving batters and we know he likes his experienced players.

I can see his faults but I am not totally against him like some. When he does well I’ll give him credit.

Mickey is a much better coach though.

See I am quite neutral on Misbah as a coach.

What I find fascinating though is, people have already made up their minds that he is doomed to be a failure because he failed as a player (if we accept he did).

But life is rarely that simplistic.

Give the guy a year or so, then judge him instead of judging him because he got appointed.

Well put. Only after a year or so one can determine where the team is heading how is Misbah doing. Home series against Srl will be really important for his image as a coach I think.

Regardless of what people think about Misbah and Mickey, you have to admit that there is a very clear subtext here.

You would literally not find one western man in a million who would prefer to live in Pakistan rather than Sri Lanka.

The fact that Sri Lanka is Mickey’s second choice really illustrates just how rich Pakistan’s talent base is.

Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah both in their teens? That’s a seriously strong incentive to want to coach Pakistan.

Mickey needs to make sure that spinners are prioritized in the subcontinent if he wants to succeed.

Maybe his experience with Pakistan would have helped in that regard.

Regardless of what people think about Misbah and Mickey, you have to admit that there is a very clear subtext here.

You would literally not find one western man in a million who would prefer to live in Pakistan rather than Sri Lanka.

The fact that Sri Lanka is Mickey’s second choice really illustrates just how rich Pakistan’s talent base is.

Shaheen Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah both in their teens? That’s a seriously strong incentive to want to coach Pakistan.

This is a bit unfair to SRL. You are saying SRL is Arthur’s second choice because of the talent pool of PAK cricket, when reality is in last 25 years, more preciously since Counties stopped hiring foreigners in bulk, SRL has comfortably out done PAK both in terms of achievements and unleashing top cricket talent.

In terms of Test cricket, they have won at least 4 series in PAK itself while in LOs, it’s not even comparable - and that’s completely based on their domestic products. In terms of individuals, each of Arjuna, Murali, De Silva, Sanga, Mahela, Sanath, Marvin, Angelo, Herath, Vaas, Dilshan, Malinga are their domestic product - none played in Counties before turning 25, when they were already established internationals.

If you really go to that talent route, trust me, SRL will be one of the most lucrative destinations. Even in their current team, some of the batsmen are capable of playing outrageous shots. They are going through a lean period, still when sparks, they will burn some one.

You want to hype PAK’s talent, fair enough - already have made a thread on that; but don’t think it was required to down play SRL - despite severe civil war and financial struggle by their board, their collection of coaches are far better than PAK, and their domestic supply of quality Coach is even better. Arthur won’t be so excited to coach PAK only for talent, if his payment isn’t good ..... or and Rixon didn’t jump ship for better talent in SRL either.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]
Ultimately I think that Test results are mainly determined by your fast bowling stocks.

And after a long gap, finally there is serious emerging pace bowling talent in Pakistan.

I fully accept that there is usually more batting talent in Sri Lanka. But it’s a huge thing for an Australian South African to be willing to live in Pakistan when he could live in Sri Lanka, and it’s a reflection of the relative talent that there is to work with.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]
Ultimately I think that Test results are mainly determined by your fast bowling stocks.

And after a long gap, finally there is serious emerging pace bowling talent in Pakistan.

I fully accept that there is usually more batting talent in Sri Lanka. But itÂ’s a huge thing for an Australian South African to be willing to live in Pakistan when he could live in Sri Lanka, and itÂ’s a reflection of the relative talent that there is to work with.

Your thinking is perfectly right with a I agree with a little modification- Test matches are won by wicket taking bowlers and SRL has produced the greatest of them. Also, we have seen recently SRL pacers blowing SAF top order with their new ball skills & PAK pacers went at 4.5 in first two sessions of JÂ’brg Test - thatÂ’s why SRL came as 2-0 winners & PAK as 0-3 losers. You see, when you talk logic, I am always there by your side.

I have been playing in PP for may years now though my account is just about 8.5 years old - for long time I have read about serious talent, I hope this time it lasts long. But, the premises you are talking - that Arthur is horny about coaching for the fast bowling talent and not SRL... I guess, IÂ’ll have to disagree with that a little - his excitement should go down with the site of PAKÂ’s upcoming batting talent ... must had been excited fixing Fakhar Zaman’s raw batting talent, I believe. Net, net, I guess he will follow money more, rather than talent. Also, I guess he wonÂ’t be called donkey in a nation wide tv channel there - that little class I do expect from former Lankan players - that’s added bonus.

No, there is nothing about talent for Arthur or any coach to join SRL or any team - in that regard we are overflowing with talent, trust me - there were half a dozen class A resume at BCBÂ’s hand before they opted for Domingo (and that guy didnÂ’t join BD team, for the talent or night life of Dhaka). And, there are several foreigners working in club level of Bangladesh cricket - and I can safely tell you that managing talent ;or night life of Bangladesh) is not the biggest motivation there to be honest.

Bottom line is the harsh words - beggars are not choosers. Arthur was thrown out of PAK cricket quite unceremoniously (& unprofessionally) and ended up at a club in NZ .... it’s SRL board that gave him a lifeline, not other way round. And, have to say Lankan board is quite stupid in that regard - otherwise they won’t have replaced Hathura with a proven failure for their home condition. This is same Hathura, who managed them in their 2–0 win in SAF, so I guess he knows some tricks about fast bowling.

My hunch is (this is from experience of following both coaches quite closely), the biggest quality that went in favour of Arthur (if true, in comparison to Hathura), is that Hathura is quite uncompromising, demanding and unpolished while the other one is the perfect jelly fish - heÂ’ll learn to behave quickly to keep his job, and SLCB needs someone sweet talker like that.

Anyway, my post wasnÂ’t to ruffle any feather here, but just didnÂ’t like the tone of your post. 35 years back when I started playing arching PAK cricket, that time pampering blogs were not there to boast PAKÂ’s natural talent, but PAK team was there on field to cover for that gap... I guess these days the role has altered. Those days, PAK fans didnÂ’t require to pull down other teams, rather other fans used to admire their players. If Arthur is indeed hired, youÂ’ll definitely hear about the mercurial talent of SRL cricket, how they hate to lose and how much proud they are even after being blanked series after series, sometimes not even to the first choice teams.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] SRL has done better than Pakistan cricket when Pakistan cricket has won two ICC tournaments in the last decade, achieved number one ranking in both tests and t20Is?

Just trying to bust a bubble that Mickey Arthur would have chosen coaching PAK team over SRL for the talent of PAK team - it's insulting, for any nation. And, frankly speaking, I am a bit disgusted with the over use of the word "Talent" in cricket forum.

SRL also has won an ICC event in last 10 years .... and that ranking one of Test cricket was due to a washout in WIN, you may disagree, your choice. And the T20 ranking ... :)

In last 25 years, Lankans have won 1 WC, made 2 other finals, has won T20 WC, been runners-up twice, has made CT final once and won once ...

In Test cricket, has won series in ENG, NZ & SAF .... not to mention drubbing they gave to non Asian sides at home, including that all-conquering AUS side.

And, they have won 4-5 Test Series in PAK, against that fast bowling Talent ..... in last 25 years.

After that, if it's still "talent" is the motivational factor coaching... I would have really thought that someone is trying to pull leg on the fascination (of that cursed word).