hadi123
- Post of the Week
.Media reports are suggesting that players are unhappy with Mickey Arthur. In turn, Mickey Arthur has blamed factors such as league cricket contributing to the New Zealand debacle. Senior cricketers have complained to the chief selector.
Wonder who these senior players are, I hope Sarafarz isn't one of them. Hafeez could be the one as he scored two 'brilliant half centuries' & would not like to be called among those seniors who are letting the team down.
Can we analyze his two brilliant half centuries here?
They were of no use to me.were selfish and added nothing.
Once upon a time in Pakistan cricket the term senior cricketers referred: akram, waqar, inzi, ijaz, anwar. At a later time it referred to ppl like a risk, razzaq, yousuf (you will not how the pedigree of senior cricketer declines). And now the term refers to (hehe) Malik, Hafeez, aamir (?), azhar (?)
Because the senior players have been put under the spotlight their mediocre performance and for the mediocre players they are who don't deserve to be any near the team. Now they have running to their mommies to help save them so typical of our senior players.
It is really sad to say that our senior players are Malik, Hafeez and Azhar. You know what they say, it's not about your performance but who you know to wear the green shirt.
I don't think Babar would have played all 5 ODIs if Sarfraz wasn't captain. Another captain would have probably dropped him after consistent poor performances and for the worst average of the whole team.
If Misbah was still around Babar would still be playing domestics.
And who were you going to replace Babar with? We don't have any other good batsman in the team to replace him with. If Inzi, Yousuf, Mindad etc were sitting on the bench then I would have said to replace Babar with them after the second ODI. The fact of the matter is we don't have anyone and he has preformed for us for last 30 odd ODIs so based on current conditions alone he deserves to play all 5 ODIs.
To have someone like Misbah in that middle order would be a luxury, we would have someone who would fight through the innings, and bowlers would actually have to work hard to get his wicket and he wouldn't just give it away.
Right now we don't have a middle order, lacking in class and depth and I have no faith in them in such conditions. Instead we are looking at our tail enders like man they can bat so they will help us reach a respectable score, think about that for a minute we believe our tailenders will consistently score more than our middle order batsmen.
That's true we don't batsmen of those calibre on the bench. However, Imam could have been given more chances than one as he has recently performed too. With tailenders out performing the middle order, and babar having an average of 6 for the whole series, I believe that warrants a change whether thats bringing Imam in or an all rounder.
If this middle order had misbah we wold have still lost by 5-0 but a bit repectable way like not going all out on 27 etc but at the end result matter and i dont think so he would have changed it.we can see from the past i mean history.
Can we analyze his two brilliant half centuries here?
They were of no use to me.were selfish and added nothing.
Can someone please explain or provide a link as to what exactly Arthur said in this interview?
there is NO interview.
These are TV tickers which are doing the rounds.
Imam is an opener and should have played instead of Azhar and yes he should have played more than one match. However, replacing Babar with all rounder doesn't make sense at all because at the end of the day you need a proper batsman batting at #3. If anything Aamer Yamin should have replaced Malik since Malik is in the side as an all rounder and hasn't done much as an all rounder. I am not sure why are you against a guy who has been a consistent performer for Pakistan for a while now. If someone performance for you for number of matches but fails in two matches then he should be kicked out of the team?
Going off by what you are saying then Virat Kholi should have been dropped after the first test against SA because he failed in the first test. Starc should be dropped because he failed in todays match against England along with David Warner, Hales etc...
Oh. Do you have any idea what he said/thinks on this topic though?
Seniors are complaining to the the selectors? For what? Playing them in New Zealand when they can't bat here unless the bowlers are a bunch of 15 year olds?
I don't know about the final scorecard, but we would have competed a bit more if Misbah played instead of Babar or Malik for instance. We need another such batsman in the team who can hold his fort. Fawad Alam, instead of Babar/Malik would have been great.
It was expected actually. After the NZ series, Arthur isn't happy with the squad given to him and he didn't hide what in his mind here. So, the seniors have gone to their Bhai - just in case, Ul Haq comes under pressure and does something brave .......
I know what you're saying, but Babar was like a dead fish, he went where the water swayed and seemed could do nothing to stop the flow of the current. I agree about malik, I believe aamer or nawaz should have replaced him. But see, I believe malik has performed quite well for us too in recent years, and if you are okay with him being dropped and not Babar then what is the reason for this?
If a guy has scored fewer than 10 runs in 3 ODIS, and you have lost the series.. I think its time you consider dropping him, and give someone else a chance. They had no problem dropping Azhar, what exactly did Babar show you in the whole series that justified his selection ahead of others? Don't say past performances, as alot of these batsman had good past performances, not to mention Babars were largely in UAE and mostly against weaker teams.
Kohli and Starc are are in another league from Babar azam for one, and second kohli is captaining the side. You can't say you are okay with azhar/malik being dropped, but okay with keeping babar where he has done worse, that doesn't make sense. You could give Babar a 3rd chance if he failed in 2 ODI's, when he fails the third time and the series is lost then I'd consider other options. He fails again in the 4th, and you pick him for the 5th? Why? He showed nothing this whole series to suggest he will score in the 5th, did Pakistan want to win or give babar a practice session in game?
I was just making a point that Malik is in the team an as all rounder and he should be replaced by an all rounder. The difference between Malik and Babar is that Malik has been playing cricket for a very long and is average at best. He has failed on green tops over and over again and the biggest thing is that he is towards the end of his career and we can't expect him to approve now. Babar on the other hand is starting is career and has been the standout batsman for last year and half and can still improve to be a match winner for us in the future.
Babar hasn't done anything to justify his selection after a poor ODI series but the fact he is still better than Azhar, Malik and Hafeez so I would back him up then those that have been playing cricket for a while and are average at best. If Babar had been given half as many opportunities as Malik and Hafeez and his overall performance was average then I would be the first person to say that he needs to be dropped from the team and didn't even deserve to play the first ODI.
I agree Kohli and Starc are in anther league but Babar is an other league compared to Hafeez and Malik.
Malik averages 30 in AUS, 13 in Eng and 32 in NZ with an overall average of 35 and SR of 81
Hafeez averages 18 in Aus, 27 in Eng and 37 in NZ with an overall average of 32 and SR of 75
Babar averages 56 in Aus, 31 in Eng and 25 in NZ with an overall average of 51 and SR of 84
*I didn't include South Africa which is the other bowling friendly country because Babar hasn't played in SA yet*
Babar beats out Hafeez and Malik in two out of the three countries and have a much superior overall average and better SR then Malik and Hafeez despite failing in NZ. I would take Babar over Hafeeez and Malik any day. This is Babars first series in which he has failed compared to a lot of series where Hafeez and Malik have been a failure. Now I would still back Babar up in the next series because he has proven that he can deliver for us, despite failing in one series. However, if Babar fails in the next 2/3 matches then I would drop him.
Looks like Micky's days are numbered and his fate will be just like Hature of Bangladesh. These players have too much power for their own selection into team. PCB is just like puppet
The worst thing is this NZ team hasn't even been pushed. Pakistan have crumbled and NZ have just picked things up from there.So the Pakistan Cricket's Media Circus™ starts.
NZ should rub it in and this team deserved to lose 0-8.
But I am positive we still won't see any changes![]()
NZ have been ruthless, no doubt about it. One of my favourite teams to watch, with only England more entertaining than them to be honest.The worst thing is this NZ team hasn't even been pushed. Pakistan have crumbled and NZ have just picked things up from there.
A journalist on TV revelaed today that Hafeez sat out the 1st T20 in protest as he isn't happy from coach's statement about senior players & there's a serious tiff going b/w the seniors & coach. I'm not too sure about her credibility as a journalist but Mickey's statement today testified that he wants to play a young team. The problem here is that Mickey's only insight on Pakistan's domestic talent is through PSL & I doubt he's ever seen domestic top performers like Sadaf Hussain or Saad Ali playing in any other domestic tournamant.
As 8-0 is surely on cards, I really hope that Mickey & Sarfi manage to survive this because we need them to continue till WC'19. Malik has an abysmal record in England, Azhar is not suitable for ODI's & Amir will have to fight for his place once Shinwari & Junaid returns. Hafeez (the all-rounder) can be useful if he decides to put his ego aside & bat as a low order finisher, his bowling will be a vital asset against Non-Asian teams.
Hafeez should be banned from playing cricket if that's the case. Pakistan team hai ye, iski jaaidaad nahi. I'm sure he's chuffed about his 60 and 80 this series, but those innings did jack all for Pakistan in terms of the result. A senior should command respect, not demand it.A journalist on TV revelaed today that Hafeez sat out the 1st T20 in protest as he isn't happy from coach's statement about senior players & there's a serious tiff going b/w the seniors & coach. I'm not too sure about her credibility as a journalist but Mickey's statement today testified that he wants to play a young team. The problem here is that Mickey's only insight on Pakistan's domestic talent is through PSL & I doubt he's ever seen domestic top performers like Sadaf Hussain or Saad Ali playing in any other domestic tournamant.
As 8-0 is surely on cards, I really hope that Mickey & Sarfi manage to survive this because we need them to continue till WC'19. Malik has an abysmal record in England, Azhar is not suitable for ODI's & Amir will have to fight for his place once Shinwari & Junaid returns. Hafeez (the all-rounder) can be useful if he decides to put his ego aside & bat as a low order finisher, his bowling will be a vital asset against Non-Asian teams.
Sethi doesn't seem to care one bit about our awful scheduling or players going off to random T10 leagues.
To hell with domestic cricket, to hell with A team tours, to hell with regular international series with adequate preparation time - as long as he can milk PSL like a cow and receive the plaudits from "Bringing Cricket Home" - Sethi's job is done.
What does he mean by league cricket?
Is this the same league cricket that he is coaching Karachi Kings in?
Lame excuses. Players from other countries play in 20-20 leagues around the world. These leagues should have prepared the players better for the ODI and T-20 series in NZ. The Pakistani players had a decent gap b/w the Sri lankan series and NZ series and had enough time to arrive in NZ early to acclimitize.
Lame excuse
Also. Why doesnt he take the first step and resign from KK. Money-grabbing Hypocrite
Lame excuse
Also. Why doesnt he take the first step and resign from KK. Money-grabbing Hypocrite
A journalist on TV revelaed today that Hafeez sat out the 1st T20 in protest as he isn't happy from coach's statement about senior players & there's a serious tiff going b/w the seniors & coach. I'm not too sure about her credibility as a journalist but Mickey's statement today testified that he wants to play a young team. The problem here is that Mickey's only insight on Pakistan's domestic talent is through PSL & I doubt he's ever seen domestic top performers like Sadaf Hussain or Saad Ali playing in any other domestic tournamant.
Well if this is true, let's see how his fans on this forum try to defend this. Who is Hafeez to choose which he games he sits out?
Player power isn't something new to Pakistan cricket as we're well aware of. I'm afraid Hafeez will play & score some runs in last two T20's to strengthen the notion that senior players should be played at any cost. Sarfi lacks the spine to take a clear stand against, lets see whether Mickey can survive this or not.
Media reports are suggesting that players are unhappy with Mickey Arthur. In turn, Mickey Arthur has blamed factors such as league cricket contributing to the New Zealand debacle. Senior cricketers have complained to the chief selector.
View attachment 78340
View attachment 78338
View attachment 78339
We all know what he means. PSL a pak t20 leauge.
The players dont need to play in hong kong, africa and mars.