Sarfaraz Ahmed as opener?

pakistanbest

Would it be a good idea to try him out as an opener in order to balance the team and also to show how much confidence the team management has in him.

Also am not entirely sure but I think I once saw him open in domestic (correct me if i am wrong)

I personally believed that Adnan would have done well in the PP overs but Sarfraz does posess much better stats, so how about it guys?

I think his job should be to give us a quick boost:afridi

i dont think in first 2 odis it will happen
Imran Farhat is guaranteed

It' s very sad but true, Imran Farhat is going to open with Mohammad Hafeez.
But still I will say no for Sarfraz opening the innings, we need someone who scores big, a regular opener because Hafeez himself not often goes past 50.
I still think Ahmed Shehzad is the best option to open the innings with Hafeez. If he has attitude problems then try one of Sharjeel Khan or Zain Abbas.

no way...

he is just abt ok batsman at international level... he might surprise me or others but for now no chance

The issue Pakistan has is that with a keeper down at the bottom order, the balance is not their. I do agree it wont happen with Farhat a certainty but What do people think of the concept.

I don't know how much he has improved but the numbers are there.

if he cant bat then send him at number 11

need a proper keeper

had enough of kamran akmal

or ask umar akmal 2 keep

Even if we drop Farhat I don' t think Sarfraz can open.
Ideally Umar should keep so we can have 4 midle order batsmen and Afridi batting at 7.

Even if we drop Farhat I don' t think Sarfraz can open.
Ideally Umar should keep so we can have 4 midle order batsmen and Afridi batting at 7.

Umar keeping is a big no no, he is a batsman and part-time keeper and is our best youngster, keeping will ruin him in the 50 over format

Openers are not just about powerplays. You need them first and foremost to handle the new ball.

That will just make him a scapegoat.

His natural position is not opening. He's done it in the past, but it's not his common batting position.

His batting was already questionable and this will allow his haters to rip on him even more, if he fails.

I would play him in the Middle order, ideally number 5, but since we have enough batsmen I think he will end up batting at number 8 or 9 and then people will start calling him rubbish. :shafiq

Maybe Pakistan will need him to open to improve the balance of the team.

The legend :farhat scored a 75* and 35 in last 2 ODIs (Not that's it's required for him to get selected).

I think Farhat should play to keep the left and right hand combination, because then there will be no left hander in the line-up.

Yes, make him an opener so that he also gets ruined like many others.

Shafiq should open but i am sure Farhat will open...

Sarfaraz needs to play down the order

Mind boggling threads :facepalm: Previous one was "Umar akmal should keep and Afridi should open to keep the balance of the team."

Why do we switch the natural position of any player and ruin his career esp. a youngster?

This issue we have, is that in your top 6, you should ideally have a keeper, OR a batsman that can bowl 10 overs, otherwise the balance isn't great.

That's why all this shuffling is being proposed.

No. Needs to play at his regular lower middle order position. If he firms up his place and shows promise with the bat, then we can experiment on some easy tours.

Right now would be like throwing him in the fire.

I'd rather see one of Asad or Umar come in as opener. Asad has had some success up there and I think Umar can also do the job. Anyone but Farhat will do!

This issue we have, is that in your top 6, you should ideally have a keeper, OR a batsman that can bowl 10 overs, otherwise the balance isn't great.

That's why all this shuffling is being proposed.

Hafeez can bowl 10 overs. We can go in with only 3 specialist bowlers; Gul, Junaid, and Ajmal. Add 10 overs from Afridi and a combined 10 from Hafeez and Razzaq.

I'd rather see one of Asad or Umar come in as opener. Asad has had some success up there and I think Umar can also do the job. Anyone but Farhat will do!

So you want Umar or Asads career ruined?

:thumbsup:

So you want Umar or Asads career ruined?

:thumbsup:

You'd rather see them sitting on the bench while Malik and Farhat showcase their talent?

Asad and Umar are talented enough to do the job on these pitches.

You'd rather see them sitting on the bench while Malik and Farhat showcase their talent?

Asad and Umar are talented enough to do the job on these pitches.

Lets recount on how many "talents" we have ruined by doing this.

Yasir Hameed comes in to the mind first.
Fawad Alam - Attempted ruining but he ended up with a century unfortunately
Kamran Akmal

Many more which will be added as they come in mind

Not having a go at OP but Sarfraz's technique is no where a opener technique.

He will be just sweeping the fast bowlers :))

Not having a go at OP but Sarfraz's technique is no where a opener technique.

He will be just sweeping the fast bowlers :))

Mal Loye of England done that (he didnt last long):yk

My point was that Sarfraz is not much of a slogger so him batting in the last 5 overs is something that I doubt will work.

Farhat IMO will do real poorly for the first 2 games and then when everyone thinks he is going to get dropped, he will come out and score an above 50+ score. This 50+ score will get him selected for the next 2 tours and he will play every game from then on.

However, I hope this is not the case and we go with someone else to open the innings. Even though I don't support his inclusion in the team, when he represents Pakistan I hope he does real well and scores a century each time.

After reading all comments i reckon CD Bhai has killed it wattay an analysis :))

OP , Big no to your suggestion :facepalm:

After reading all comments i reckon CD Bhai has killed it wattay an analysis :))

OP , Big no to your suggestion :facepalm:

After watching him bat for a few times in the forthcoming series, i'll bump this thread if i can prove my point :p:asif

sarfaraz should just catch the ball then he should be worried ability his batting

I think its better to play Afridi as an opener. Just got this gut feeling he will get reasonable scores with the field up.

Kaneria looks better batsman when battinng then sarfraz.

only in Pakistan is the opener's spot treated with such disdain. :raja

Mal Loye of England done that (he didnt last long):yk

My point was that Sarfraz is not much of a slogger so him batting in the last 5 overs is something that I doubt will work.

After watching him bat for a few times in the forthcoming series, i'll bump this thread if i can prove my point :p:asif

Sure please bump it.

I would have Imran Farhat in opening slot compared to Safraz Nawaz, at least Farhat can play a shot or two except sweep shot :) ;-)

^

i would take sweep shot in the opening over vs PAKISTAN LATEST damad any day :D

I want 11 players in the field who will perform and give us runs I don't care who they are, as long they give us runs I'm happy. SO in order to give runs I think Imran Farhat has a better technique than Sarfraz Ahmed.

I see alot of PP'ers think it is a bizarre idea which I gues it is, so what exactly should be Sarfraz position in the team?

We need a keeper-batsman, no more of players like Zulquairnan and Salman

Hafeez can bowl 10 overs. We can go in with only 3 specialist bowlers; Gul, Junaid, and Ajmal. Add 10 overs from Afridi and a combined 10 from Hafeez and Razzaq.

For that to work, either Razzaq or Sarfraz would still need to be in the top 6. I'm not sure I agree with that.

I see alot of PP'ers think it is a bizarre idea which I gues it is, so what exactly should be Sarfraz position in the team?

We need a keeper-batsman, no more of players like Zulquairnan and Salman

Select a different player, be it Adnan Akmal or someone else from domestic arena.

CD, You written of Sarfraz already?:salman:kami:zoni

Yaar the last I saw of him was shocking for international standards.

I know Haider and Salman were not good but they were tad better than him.

Out of honesty none of those three should be in ODI team, perhaps we should draft Adnan if not Kamran would be ideal otherwise a new talent from domestic.

Yaar the last I saw of him was shocking for international standards.

I know Haider and Salman were not good but they were tad better than him.

Out of honesty none of those three should be in ODI team, perhaps we should draft Adnan if not Kamran would be ideal otherwise a new talent from domestic.

He was more then shocking but I guess he deserves another chance as he has earnt it but he is a player that has got to prove alot of fans such as me and you wrong.

Adnan does look a better prospect though he does not suit the end of the innings

We must posess a decent prospect in the domestic circuit surely.:sahmed

He was more then shocking but I guess he deserves another chance as he has earnt it but he is a player that has got to prove alot of fans such as me and you wrong.

Adnan does look a better prospect though he does not suit the end of the innings

We must posess a decent prospect in the domestic circuit surely.:sahmed

PCB or one of our coaches should groom one or two wicketkeeper batsman for future, lets see if they do that.

I agree, he deserves another chance. I would love to be proved wrong if Sarfraz does well.

PCB or one of our coaches should groom one or two wicketkeeper batsman for future, lets see if they do that.

I agree, he deserves another chance. I would love to be proved wrong if Sarfraz does well.

I sincerly hope they do, we all thought we hit the jackpot with Kamran :(

One thing is for sure, Umar Akmal should not be a keeper in our ODI or Test team, don't understand why alot of people are calling for him to be our keeper in ODI's.:adnan

I want 11 players in the field who will perform and give us runs I don't care who they are, as long they give us runs I'm happy. SO in order to give runs I think Imran Farhat has a better technique than Sarfraz Ahmed.

il take a golden duck from sarfarz then damad any day...

by having mr damad in team.. it shows how poor pakistan standards are...:moyo

don't worry kami will be back

mhk and pcb will soon realise that in limited overs we have no other choice than kami akmal, he is nothing put a victim of character assasination by this karachi media. there is no other wicketkeeper in pakistan domestic scene who has the power hitting ability like him in limited overs cricket, zulqi , adnan, salman have all failed in that criteria at international level, so far sarfraz has shown very little ability with the bat at international level so lets see what he does against sri lanka with the bat when he comes back for his second stint.

stats of kami and the legendary dujon are not that disimilar

http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/51657.html

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player/41028.html

in fact here is dujons first 53 test matches since kami has played only 53 test matches

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...pan;template=results;type=allround;view=match

kami has more catches and stumpings than dujon

also adam gilchrist in his first 137 matches in odi got 191 catches and 32 stumpings
kamran akmal who has only played 137 matches got 136 cathces and 25 stumpings in odi cricket

whilst kamran akmal in 53 test matches got 184 catches and 22 stumpings
adam gilchrist in 53 test matches got 202 catches and 20 stumpings

also ian healy's odi wicketkeeping record is no better than kamran akmal
in 168 games he managed 194 catches and 39 stumpings
whilst kamran akmal played 137 matches got 136 cathces and 25 stumpings in odi cricket and is a far superior batsmen with 5 odi hundreds.

also here are domestic stats for wicketkeepers this year

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/quaid...ismissals_career.html?id=6876;type=tournament

also only sarfraz and kamran have shown any consistent form with the bat in quaid-e-azam.

Carbon11 Kamran should be no where near the Pak team... trash with the gloves and inconsistent with bat, and too many mentions in the fxing trial forget about sydney

Sarfraz has rightfully been given a chance and should be given a decent run for a few series and see how it goes...

Else, Jamal Anwar looks very decent from what we seen in FBT20 and averages 47 in List A with 79 SR

Ideally, I would have Jamal Anwar for the shorter formats, but Sarfraz Ahmed is a big no as an opening batsman (would even give a go to Azhar Ali before him tbh), not seen a lot of him, but looked like a solid middle-order batsman v. Afghanistan I think.

Sarfraz the batsman is a waste and useless at the end of the innings, he is a useful rotator of the strike but his keeping has been dissapointing, get in Adnan :D

Sarfaraz does not look confident at all.... He will fail badly as opener, he can be tried once he gets confidence, in order to gain confidence he must be batting at number 5.

I mentioned this idea in the sarfraz thread, I think it would work. Firstly we have many middle order options and less opening options, secondly sarfraz is the type of batsmen who needs some time in the middle, and is not bad at picking those 1s or 2s. I think his technique is pretty good, he's looked solid but unable to play the big strokes at the moment he comes in. Give it a shot for the 3rd odi, farhat has looked terrible.

I don't think it will work because he is a better player of spin.

Cant bat cant catch :facepalm:
Koi dhang ka wk nahi hai domestic me ? :facepalm:

All the people saying that he can not hold the bat, he is lullo etc. might find themselves on a spot of bother, they might be trying to hide themselves when Sarfraz will become a permanent member of Pakistan team with he reliable batting and keeping. Come on Boy:sahmed

He is a middle order play who can rotate the strike and find gaps with brillent ease with solid good technique.

I havent seen anyone who rotates so easily after yousuf.

His batting spot should be 5/6 where he can be used to perfection.

Ahmad Shehzad / Sherjeel Khan / Nasir Jamsheed / Fawad Alam
Mohd Hafeez
Asad Shafiq
Umer Akmal
Misbah ul Haq (c)
Sarfraz Ahmad (wk)
Hammad Azam
Shahid Afridi
Bilawal Bhatti
Umer Gul
Saeed Ajmal

We have long batting lineup with Aggresive openers and long middle order with good finishers and hard hitters at he end. With 2 main fast bowlers and 3rd 130-135 kpb bowler and 3 spinners. hammad and hafeez can share the 5th bowler spot. England will find it tough in the odi with that lineup.

He is a middle order play who can rotate the strike and find gaps with brillent ease with solid good technique.

Mohd Hafeez
Asad Shafiq
Umer Akmal
Misbah ul Haq (c)
Sarfraz Ahmad (wk)
Hammad Azam
Shahid Afridi
Bilawal Bhatti
Umer Gul
Saeed Ajmal

We have long batting lineup with Aggresive openers and long middle order with good finishers and hard hitters at he end. With 2 main fast bowlers and 3rd 130-135 kpb bowler and 3 spinners. hammad and hafeez can share the 5th bowler spot. England will find it tough in the odi with that lineup.

Lets get real, Younis (in ODIs) Farhat and Malik are not going to be dropped and Bhatti is untested and will not get a chance against England

But this line up looks really good, I would just replace Bhatti with Junaid Khan or Wahab Riaz

Mohd Hafeez
Asad Shafiq
Umer Akmal
Misbah ul Haq (c)
Sarfraz Ahmad (wk)
Hammad Azam
Shahid Afridi
Bilawal Bhatti
Umer Gul
Saeed Ajmal

A really good solid line-up
The bowler spot can be either between Talha or Bhatti, Remember Talha is a good hitter.

Yea, but bhatti is more closer to being allrounder and is a great hitter as seen in domestic performances and heard he swings both ways at 140kph means good opening bowler. talha is also good.

If you notice in the lineup, umer is coming at 4 between Shafiq and misbah, means the runrate wont get dropped over 4 if umer is in the middle and shehzad is at the top.

Also the dept of middle overs is great too, for example if we loose few early wickets, like first 3 wickets, we will have umer, misbah, sarfraz and hammad, all four of them can play long middle order's inning, with afridi and the tailenders (hitters) coming in latter and increase the run rate.

Remember guys, we are facing england, not bangladesh/zembaboy, our batting will be tested to the limits and we will need a long middle order.

The bowling is also solid with 3 great yet unique spinners in hafeez, who can be used better against left handers and also good openinng bowler, also Afridi as a partnership breaker and bombazler who can unsettle the opposition batting lineup and ajmal a magic bowler who can trouble the best batsmen.

The fast bowling unit is also good but a bit untested with umer gul only the old bowler with hammad and talha/bhatti doing a fast bowling spell. But our spinners remains the main bowling attack.

Please get rid of Sarfaraz Ahmed. I would prefer Umar Akmal keeping in LOI any day. His feet movement is next to nothing in keeping and hardly offers any style. The catch he dropped of tanvir's bowling was pathetic!

His batting, well he hasn't improved that much. Not a big hitter and a consistent run getter either. In my opinion, he doesn't deserve a place in the side.

Yea, but bhatti is more closer to being allrounder and is a great hitter as seen in domestic performances and heard he swings both ways at 140kph means good opening bowler. talha is also good.

If you notice in the lineup, umer is coming at 4 between Shafiq and misbah, means the runrate wont get dropped over 4 if umer is in the middle and shehzad is at the top.

Also the dept of middle overs is great too, for example if we loose few early wickets, like first 3 wickets, we will have umer, misbah, sarfraz and hammad, all four of them can play long middle order's inning, with afridi and the tailenders (hitters) coming in latter and increase the run rate.

Remember guys, we are facing england, not bangladesh/zembaboy, our batting will be tested to the limits and we will need a long middle order.

The bowling is also solid with 3 great yet unique spinners in hafeez, who can be used better against left handers and also good openinng bowler, also Afridi as a partnership breaker and bombazler who can unsettle the opposition batting lineup and ajmal a magic bowler who can trouble the best batsmen.

The fast bowling unit is also good but a bit untested with umer gul only the old bowler with hammad and talha/bhatti doing a fast bowling spell. But our spinners remains the main bowling attack.

Yeah we this kind of line-up we have hope to reach 300 + :D.
Misbah & Hammad can stabilize the innings if we lose early wickets
& both of them can hit too if needed.
& Umar will score centuries more often in the 4 Position :D instead of tuk tuking like Misbah.

its heartening to see the change in attitude most posters/fans have adopted regarding the keeper!!! He needs to be able to keep first. Sending hm as an opener is sending the WRONG msg to sarfaraz. His keeping is pretty good but he dropped an easy catch in the last ODI... he needs to work on his keeping. Just like someone above says, we could even bat him at 8 or 9 if we have better bats, but h is keeping should be his priority!

i will wait for the critics till the next game, if obs sarfaraz plays

umer keeping is abs pathetic, cant really define his keeping or whatever

Don't think he should open the batting, but he definitely should keep in ODIs as opposed to Umar Akmal. You can tell Sarfraz is a 'natural' wicketkeeper. He hasn't missed a whole lot of chances and generally looks quite solid behind the stumps.

It's too early in his career to just throw him in the opening position.

How is Nasir Jamshed doing in domestic matches? I would like to see him back in Pak ODI team. Or else, we should open with Shafiq and Hafeez.

he has a decent technique, and is a good runner, defiantly worth it to try him out there

sarfaraz is a good nurdler of the ball and could bat at 4. though i think pcb have done an error and should make adnan odi keeper with sarfaraz the test keeper

Farhat has been useless. If we go into england series with him than we already have 1 passenger too
Much.

Bring back Akmal as an opening batsman...nothing more.