Saudi rice charity aid to Pakistan stirs controversy

ISLAMABAD: Saudi rice charity for Pakistan following Prime Minister Imran Khan’s visit to the kingdom set off a new controversy as the distribution started on Tuesday.

King Salman Humanitarian Aid and Relief Centre, a Saudi aid agency, had announced a couple of days back that it would provide 440 tonnes (19,032 bags) of rice under its Zakat al Fitr project for distribution in Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provinces.

The aid is being distributed through the provincial governments among 114,192 recipients in nine districts — Lahore, Faisalabad, Sahiwal and Khanewal districts in Punjab, and Lakki Marwat, Tank, Bajaur, Lower Dir and Dera Ismail Khan districts in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The announcement of the charity consignment that immediately followed Mr Khan’s trip caused it to be linked to the visit. People, therefore, saw it as an outcome of what the government has been dubbing a highly successful visit.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, in a statement, said PM Khan achieved nothing except 19,000 bags of rice in charity from Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in the form of Fitra and Zakat.

“The price of rice bags got in charity is comparatively lesser than the expenses incurred on the tour to the kingdom by Imran Khan along with a couple of dozen of friends and ministers,” he added.

“Imran Khan became the prime minister after 22 years of struggle just to get rice sacks for an atomic power country?” the PPP chairman asked.

Others on Twitter lashed out at the government for getting charity from Saudi Arabia.

Talking to Dawn, prime minister’s special assistant Tahir Ashrafi said the charity was not new as the poor in Pakistan had been receiving it in the past as well.

However, he added, this time the Saudis, instead of giving it to individuals and groups, was distributing it in collaboration with the government.

He explained that the decision for this year’s distribution had been taken at least a month ago. He recalled that the same aid agency had a few weeks back sent supplies for Covid-19, but no one had then criticised it.

Mr Ashrafi said the critics were “a disappointed lot”.

Published in Dawn, May 12th, 2021

Although this is extremely humiliating and degrading, we have been receiving rice from Saudi zakaat for many years. This is not something new as far as I know.

Imran Khan seem to ve established himself as an expert in collecting Zakat, Sadqa and Khairat.

Pakistan should thank Saudi Arabia with a shipment of 440 barrels of crude.

Imran Khan seem to ve established himself as an expert in collecting Zakat, Sadqa and Khairat.

He has made a career out of this, So what else you expect. Sari qoum ko bhikari bna k choray ga. Where as world try to get people out of poverty our beloved PM is making shelters and "Langar khana" for them. Bhai itna he ehsas gareeb ka tu usay permanent rozgar ka moqa do ta k wo khud kam skay and gurbat se nikal skay.

I swear all y'all desis have this weird attitude towards donations and charity, maybe learn more about the world and economics and then you might change how you see things. There's no need to condemn a developing country from receiving aid moreover it's not like charity and economic development can't be done in parallel, you're against hand outs from Saudi Arabia but want the Government of Pakistan to hand out non existent jobs to people, maybe y'all should earn a job instead of begging for one.

Who the hell is begging for a job, it's the government duty to create jobs in manufacturing and other fields so that people can work their way out of poverty permanently, giving handouts is no permanent solution nor sustainable. And your beloved leaders one main slogan was " 1 crore nokrian". Where are they?

Dont you know he has a magic wand that washes away decades of corruption and incompetence in 2.75 years. We should starve the poor and give our money to the mafia families so that they can build mansions abroad. Idiotic post

He has saved lives. Maybe if it is that easy, you too can do something for humanity. Another stupid post.

Pakistan doesn't produce enough rice? Thats astonishing. I thought rice and wheat production in pakistan would be in excess.

I can think of no reason why Pakistan cant do it.

Your comment is pretty representative of the backward desi mindset.

Why so?

Concept of dignity and self respect is universal. Wherever Imran Khan goes, his focus is always on collecting charity, loans and donations (instead of making trade and investment deals). Even in China he was doing the same thing.

How do you think other foreign leaders will be perceiving him? Is that any different to how a Bhikari approaches you on traffic signals?

Why so?

Concept of dignity and self respect is universal. Wherever Imran Khan goes, his focus is always on collecting charity, loans and donations (instead of making trade and investment deals). Even in China he was doing the same thing.

How do you think other foreign leaders will be perceiving him? Is that any different to how a Bhikari approaches you on traffic signals?

Another idiotic post as per Ik bhakats, talking sense to them and having argument with them without insults is like bhains k agay been bjana. Anyways their love for IK is at a level where the can't see the other side of argument even if they wants to. For them asking for poverty reduction thorugh job creation and gdp improvement is idiotic post but securing hand outs for poor is legendary leadership because hay atleast they are not buying flats in London. So being honest is enough nothing else needed. Wish gareeb ka pait iss so called honesty se bhar jata and unko ik Kg cheeni k liye Riasat e madina me ghantun roza ke halat me line me na lgna prta.

Yes, he is keeping the charity for himself, some people need shame.

so.... logic of PTI fans....

When some Indian NGO are getting foreign aid, it's "India" begging and shame them and the country.

When PTI is begging for aid, there's no shame and people should educate themselves more about economics....

I dont understand the PTI fans. They change colors so much that it's hard to pin point what their actual agenda is.... And then they call others as "bhakts" lol....

You guys too are Bhakts.

Another idiotic post as per Ik bhakats, talking sense to them and having argument with them without insults is like bhains k agay been bjana. Anyways their love for IK is at a level where the can't see the other side of argument even if they wants to. For them asking for poverty reduction thorugh job creation and gdp improvement is idiotic post but securing hand outs for poor is legendary leadership because hay atleast they are not buying flats in London. So being honest is enough nothing else needed. Wish gareeb ka pait iss so called honesty se bhar jata and unko ik Kg cheeni k liye Riasat e madina me ghantun roza ke halat me line me na lgna prta.

Nooras and their acolytes show their hands pretty quickly. When your thugs and crooks couldnt do anything except to steal to build properties and bank accounts abroad in 30 years, you expect IK to do in 2.75 years. Your badniyaati stands out. You are the latest of a long line of Nooras i have dealt with, dont expect me to stand by and let you post rubbish.

IK should concentrate on development of Pakistan and it's people than trying to be the flag bearer of Islam.

He can do both. Why should you guys have a problem with what he does?

Because while trying to be the Islamic flag bearer, IK spreads false information as we have seen in case of NRC of Assam.

He can be whatever he wants, but he shouldn't utter words without due diligence. And I'll speak because he was spreading false information of my state, my country.

Because while trying to be the Islamic flag bearer, IK spreads false information as we have seen in case of NRC of Assam.

He can be whatever he wants, but he shouldn't utter words without due diligence. And I'll speak because he was spreading false information of my state, my country.

As with your horrific crimes in Kashmir, you are in denial. As we have seen recently, your fascist has been rumbled and it was IK that exposed him. You are better off worrying about Modi and his fascism rather than trying to stifle criticism.

modi can do whatever he wants. Why should you guys have a problem with what he does?

the issues with PTI fans....

They criticize others but they can't take criticism of themselves or PTI or IK.

A hypocrite group I must say.

I don’t understand what’s there to be ashamed of while receiving Fitr zakaat rice to anyone. As long as it reach to the common people, govt or NGO kya farak padta hai?

Only people it seems to bother is your fellow Indian posters and opposition party supporters....who ironically had no problem when their favoured political leaders were doing the same.

I didn’t know that those Pakistani posters against it are opposition party supporters. Now it’s clear lol.:D

so.... logic of PTI fans....

When some Indian NGO are getting foreign aid, it's "India" begging and shame them and the country.

When PTI is begging for aid, there's no shame and people should educate themselves more about economics....

I dont understand the PTI fans. They change colors so much that it's hard to pin point what their actual agenda is.... And then they call others as "bhakts" lol....

You guys too are Bhakts.

I am not an Imran Khan fan but try to educate yourself (also [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]) about Fitr zakaat to avoid any further embarrassment.

For a Muslim, it may hold a significant meaning for you.

For us non muslims, it is as it is. A donation.

If I may ask, what's the differences between fitr zakaat and ordinary donation? I've already read when it was mentioned years before in different threads and I didn't find any difference except mixing the donation with religious sentiments.

Saudis needs all that rice when they do not have any Oil buyers left.

For a Muslim, it may hold a significant meaning for you.

For us non muslims, it is as it is. A donation.

If I may ask, what's the differences between fitr zakaat and ordinary donation? I've already read when it was mentioned years before in different threads and I didn't find any difference except mixing the donation with religious sentiments.

Fitr Zakaat is fard (obligatory) for all us Muslims. It is distributed towards the end of the Holy month of Ramadan. Here rice should be given to the people before they go to perform their Eid prayers so that the needy are able to provide their Family on this auspicious occasion of Eid. It can be given to anyone who accept it.

In Kerala my place it’s done by the local Mahallu Committee. They collect the money from the local Muslims and distribute as rice to all people who accept it. We can do that individually too. No strict rules.

Fitr Zakaat is fard (obligatory) for all us Muslims. It is distributed towards the end of the Holy month of Ramadan. Here rice should be given to the people before they go to perform their Eid prayers so that the needy are able to provide their Family on this auspicious occasion of Eid. It can be given to anyone who accept it.

In Kerala my place it’s done by the local Mahallu Committee. They collect the money from the local Muslims and distribute as rice to all people who accept it. We can do that individually too. No strict rules.

Isn't that same as donation?

You select a cause and everyone contributes to the cause while giving away the lumpsum as a donation. Only difference is, here there is a religious cause behind it while in regular donation, it can be anything. There are many times where people are obligated to donate. If you take away the religious factor, both are same.

Pm saab is now begging for rice. What a joke.

Where is the madinah ke riyasat, welfare state?

Welfare khoodi layray hai.

Isn't that same as donation?

You select a cause and everyone contributes to the cause while giving away the lumpsum as a donation. Only difference is, here there is a religious cause behind it while in regular donation, it can be anything. There are many times where people are obligated to donate. If you take away the religious factor, both are same.

the issues with PTI fans....

They criticize others but they can't take criticism of themselves or PTI or IK.

A hypocrite group I must say.

They are a hypocrite group and most annoying aswell.

If you watch imrans earlier campaigns, he would say i feel ashmed when our leaders would beg for donations, and now he is exactly doing that.

Whatever this pm bashed the leaders of the psst, he did exactly those.

Notice one thing how on pakpassion, pti fans dont use the word patwaris anymore. Because pti went back to the patwari system :)))

Funny how you calling everyone her yall desjs.

Wonder how you are viewed in the country you live.

You talk about economics, its the govts job to provide jobs. Its the govts job to create jobs.

Do you know the cpec project doesnt really allow local pakistan tenders?

Govt should be forcing companies to give internships to uni students atleast.

Medina se hi tou rice le k aaya ha, Imran Khan. May be thatswhat he meant by “Medina ki Riyasat” all along.

Be sharmi ki bhi koi intiha hoti ha.

Do you think any reputable country would take a nation seriously who is living off chanday, khairaat, fitranay and zakaat?

We need to improve ourselves instead of beating our chests of how mighty, upright and ghairatmand we are. We need to stop lecturing others and we need to stop poking our nose where it does not belong.

As I stated in another thread, majority of the nation is corrupt and dishonest in their own day to day life.

Many in Pak dont even understand this bitter reality and get offended when we point it out. They can't see it because they are part of it.

Many even in this thread who have a critique about rice donation... I bet, will happily take a bag of that rice if there is chance EVEN THOUGH they may NOT be among the needy and deserving ones.

This is our actual reality - whether you like it or not.

70 saal sey foreign AID aur Qarz pe palnay wali qome k log jisney mulk ko corruption ranking pe # 124 ka tohfa diya huva hai, aaj Imran Khan ko morality aur ghairut pe lecture dey rahayn hain .... as ironic as it gets.

As I stated in another thread, majority of the nation is corrupt and dishonest in their own day to day life.

Many in Pak dont even understand this bitter reality and get offended when we point it out. They can't see it because they are part of it.

Many even in this thread who have a critique about rice donation... I bet, will happily take a bag of that rice if there is chance EVEN THOUGH they may NOT be among the needy and deserving ones.

This is our actual reality - whether you like it or not.

70 saal sey foreign AID aur Qarz pe palnay wali qome k log jisney mulk ko corruption ranking pe # 124 ka tohfa diya huva hai, aaj Imran Khan ko morality aur ghairut pe lecture dey rahayn hain .... as ironic as it gets.

Another post by someone who has not lived in the country or doenst understand how society operates.

In every country, there are rules. Canada, usa or even pakistan.
Laws and rules are there so that people follow it, if you break them, you will get negative reinforcement. The advantage of negative reinforcement is that you are able to chnage that behavior.

So for example, you do a traffic viplation in canada, you will get a heavy fine and wont do it again.

In Paoostan, you either get away or pay a bribe.

Now the question is whole installs law and order? The govt. Its the govts job to implement law and order.

You dont expect people to follow law just becuase of goodwill. When fines and punishments are given, only than is the awaam conditioned to follow the laws.

You and many other call everyone in palistan corrupt, well, what has the govt dpnt to stpp the corruption? It is the govta duty. Why are we calling it govt if they cant even stop this?

Its like when imran being the pm cries to public that cheeni and wheat prices rise is due to the mafia. Well you are the leader, you are the pm, arnt you responsibpe to go after the mafia?

How do you think this works in the real world? Pakistan has had decades of borrowing money under previous administrations, plenty of which has proven to have been siphoned off into foreign bank accounts. In your mind perhaps you think when a new PM comes in, he can just say "Ok, none of that debt was my doing, I am going to write off all those loans and use the money to buy rice instead." :pique

Reread my post.

You really dont bother to look at the context.

Go watch imrans campaigns. In all his campaigns he says that he feels embarrased and feels bad when he sees his countrys leaders beg for money.

Guesa what, he himself dis exactly that.

Point is, dont bash others for doing something that you yourself are going to do.

Had imran not whined or campaigned about it and went on bwgging than it would had been a seperate case

Reread my post.

You really dont bother to look at the context.

Go watch imrans campaigns. In all his campaigns he says that he feels embarrased and feels bad when he sees his countrys leaders beg for money.

Guesa what, he himself dis exactly that.

Point is, dont bash others for doing something that you yourself are going to do.

Had imran not whined or campaigned about it and went on bwgging than it would had been a seperate case

I'm sure he still feels embarrassed about it. Do you really think a man of his stature enjoys being in that position, which has been inherited from decades of incompetence and swindling by former govts? But he has to deal with it, that was the point of my post. Reread it and understand the context.

This is like me taking eiddi from an elder from one hand while making a sad face and saying nahi nahi koi nahi there is no need for this.

A man of his stature? Excuse me but what stature are you talking about? He is no statesman.

Again, the excuse of inheriting decades of incompetence is getting old and is an excuse used for everything the govt has failed to solve.

The govt itself has admitted indirectly that they can't control the sugar and wheat cartels. If a govt admits to a cartel(Mafia) existing while they themsleves being in power, that shows the failiure and one should resign.

This is like me promising to make the best advertisement for my company and when it fails I use excuses.

You dont really have any point here.
Pakistan was amongest the top 5 rice exporters in the world back in 2017

so let me get this right. IK is a noble man but it's the system that is at fault and hence he can do nothing about it. Am I grasping it correctly?

yup he can't do nothing about it, thus we should re elect him against.

And once he gets re-elected, if he fails again, its not his fault as the politicians before him where in power for much longer time.

We live in a country where you could be in a situation where there is no sugar in the market to buy. And we freaken produce the product.

This is like me taking eiddi from an elder from one hand while making a sad face and saying nahi nahi koi nahi there is no need for this.

A man of his stature? Excuse me but what stature are you talking about? He is no statesman.

Again, the excuse of inheriting decades of incompetence is getting old and is an excuse used for everything the govt has failed to solve.

The govt itself has admitted indirectly that they can't control the sugar and wheat cartels. If a govt admits to a cartel(Mafia) existing while they themsleves being in power, that shows the failiure and one should resign.

This is like me promising to make the best advertisement for my company and when it fails I use excuses.

You dont really have any point here.
Pakistan was amongest the top 5 rice exporters in the world back in 2017

Even one of your fellow Imran critics has pointed out that we have been receiving rice from Saudi for many years. I assume it is some form of goodwill gesture aimed at maintaining relations between the two countries as much as charity for it's own sake. What would you prefer to happen?

Same question to you. What would you suggest as a better direction?

stop treating him like a kid?

anything he does, its always fault of others because the system is weak. Reminds me of mickey Arthur and how he used to throw others under the bus if something goes wrong and shows his helplessness.

Nobody has asked the obvious question - where are the Saudis getting the rice from in the first place? Do they have some indoor farms or greenhouses or something?

Even one of your fellow Imran critics has pointed out that we have been receiving rice from Saudi for many years. I assume it is some form of goodwill gesture aimed at maintaining relations between the two countries as much as charity for it's own sake. What would you prefer to happen?

receiving rice lol

There is a difference between trade and taking charity under zakat al fitr. This is basically Saudi Fitrana being given to Pakistan

Yes it has been happening for years, but Iman Khan in his campaigned bashed the leaders and politicians of the past for taking begging bowls to world leaders.

Imran Khan ended up doing exactly what he campaigned and criticized against.

I doubt you would see the hypocrisy here :)

stop treating him like a kid?

anything he does, its always fault of others because the system is weak. Reminds me of mickey Arthur and how he used to throw others under the bus if something goes wrong and shows his helplessness.

Stop treating who like a kid?

I am asking what you would suggest as a better direction for Imran Khan in his dealings with Saudi Arabia.

Nobody has asked the obvious question - where are the Saudis getting the rice from in the first place? Do they have some indoor farms or greenhouses or something?

there is this charity concept in Islam. During Ramazan on Chand raat, when eid is announced, you are suppose to donate money or food items if you have excessive amount just before Eid prayers.

I think in Saudi, they dont give money but instead give out rice. Saudi Arabia rice companies actually import rice

receiving rice lol

There is a difference between trade and taking charity under zakat al fitr. This is basically Saudi Fitrana being given to Pakistan

Yes it has been happening for years, but Iman Khan in his campaigned bashed the leaders and politicians of the past for taking begging bowls to world leaders.

Imran Khan ended up doing exactly what he campaigned and criticized against.

I doubt you would see the hypocrisy here :)

I asked you what you would prefer to see Imran Khan do on his visits to Saudi Arabia. You are not party to all the deals which have been struck with Saudi Arabia on this visit, if you are, then I am sure you would have a better suggestion. But if you do let's hear it.

Stop treating who like a kid?

I am asking what you would suggest as a better direction for Imran Khan in his dealings with Saudi Arabia.

Instead of sending it to pakistan, who has already abundance rice production, IK can ask Saudi to give it away to the pakistani workers in Saudi Arabia who is facing hard times as they are getting less salary/no money at all due to the companies getting hit by covid.

Do Pakistani workers in Saudi Arabia complain about not having rice to eat in Saudi? First I'm hearing of it so perhaps Imran Khan is unaware of this too. I think if Pakistani workers were no getting paid they would probably head home. If they want to starve, why do it in Saudi Arabia? Do you have a news link which can shed light on this?