Scotland replace Bangladesh at T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#3202)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Read SF's post again with your eyes open

Read my statement properly.

It’s a great decision by Bcb for not allow Bangladeshi players to go to play in the unsafe India. Got to protect your players. After all the orange scarf walas could do anything with their threats.

Congrats Scottish brothers. Make your country proud by qualifying for the 2nd round.
All Scotland need to do is defeat WI and the path becomes easy for them.

Bang Brothas can watch all of this on TV. :cobra

Pakistan influenced Bangladesh's decision to pull out: Madan Lal​

Former Indian skipper Madan Lal backed the International Cricket Council's (ICC) decision to replace Bangladesh with Scotland in the T20 World Cup 2026, calling it a "very good decision".

Lal believes Pakistan influenced Bangladesh's decision to pull out, citing security concerns, and thinks Scotland will benefit from the opportunity, gaining valuable exposure. Lal also stated that Bangladesh made a "very big mistake" by withdrawing.

"ICC has taken a very good decision. Pakistan also misguided them (Bangladesh). Now this is a very big opportunity for Scotland as they will get a lot of exposure. Bangladesh has made a very big mistake," Madan Lal told ANI.

The ICC on Saturday announced that Scotland would replace Bangladesh in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026, following the BCB's decision not to participate in the tournament as per the published match schedule.

The announcement comes after the ICC, in the absence of any credible or verifiable security threat to the Bangladesh national team in India, rejected the BCB's demand to move its matches from India to Sri Lanka, in the 20-team tournament to be played from 7 February to 8 March.

Independent security assessments were conducted by internal and external experts. Scotland has been called up to take Bangladesh's place in Group C, joining England, Italy, Nepal and the West Indies.

The decision follows an extensive process undertaken by the ICC to address concerns raised by the BCB regarding the hosting of its scheduled matches in India, the release said.

"Over a period of more than three weeks, the ICC engaged with the BCB through multiple rounds of dialogue conducted in a transparent and constructive manner, including meetings held both via video conference and in-person," it said.

As part of this process, the ICC reviewed the concerns cited by the BCB, commissioned and considered independent security assessments from internal and external experts, and shared detailed security and operational plans covering federal and state arrangements, as well as enhanced and escalating security protocols for the event. These assurances were reiterated at several stages, including during discussions involving the ICC Business Corporation (IBC) Board.

"The ICC's assessments concluded that there was no credible or verifiable security threat to the Bangladesh national team, officials or supporters in India," the release said.

Pakistan influenced Bangladesh's decision to pull out: Madan Lal​

Former Indian skipper Madan Lal backed the International Cricket Council's (ICC) decision to replace Bangladesh with Scotland in the T20 World Cup 2026, calling it a "very good decision".

Lal believes Pakistan influenced Bangladesh's decision to pull out, citing security concerns, and thinks Scotland will benefit from the opportunity, gaining valuable exposure. Lal also stated that Bangladesh made a "very big mistake" by withdrawing.

"ICC has taken a very good decision. Pakistan also misguided them (Bangladesh). Now this is a very big opportunity for Scotland as they will get a lot of exposure. Bangladesh has made a very big mistake," Madan Lal told ANI.

The ICC on Saturday announced that Scotland would replace Bangladesh in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2026, following the BCB's decision not to participate in the tournament as per the published match schedule.

The announcement comes after the ICC, in the absence of any credible or verifiable security threat to the Bangladesh national team in India, rejected the BCB's demand to move its matches from India to Sri Lanka, in the 20-team tournament to be played from 7 February to 8 March.

Independent security assessments were conducted by internal and external experts. Scotland has been called up to take Bangladesh's place in Group C, joining England, Italy, Nepal and the West Indies.

The decision follows an extensive process undertaken by the ICC to address concerns raised by the BCB regarding the hosting of its scheduled matches in India, the release said.

"Over a period of more than three weeks, the ICC engaged with the BCB through multiple rounds of dialogue conducted in a transparent and constructive manner, including meetings held both via video conference and in-person," it said.

As part of this process, the ICC reviewed the concerns cited by the BCB, commissioned and considered independent security assessments from internal and external experts, and shared detailed security and operational plans covering federal and state arrangements, as well as enhanced and escalating security protocols for the event. These assurances were reiterated at several stages, including during discussions involving the ICC Business Corporation (IBC) Board.

"The ICC's assessments concluded that there was no credible or verifiable security threat to the Bangladesh national team, officials or supporters in India," the release said.

A few of your fellow Bangladeshi posters claim that Bangladeshi fans are extremely happy with BCB's decision?

How can Bangladesh possibly play cricket in India after India is hosting Hasina? That scenario alone makes it not possible.

ICC should have been more flexible.

There will be consequences for this in future.
LOL, what consequences and by whom?

Congrats Scottish brothers. Make your country proud by qualifying for the 2nd round.
All Scotland need to do is defeat WI and the path becomes easy for them.

Bang Brothas can watch all of this on TV. :cobra
looks like Bro Scots will be the 2nd Fav team for many...just imagine - if they cause an upset here and there... :faf :sarf2

are you making this up?

Vote was nt needed to make an operational decision to swap group.
The details are available on cricinfo of the vote and the dissent. And yes, the hosts get a say too and sri lanka are the hosts.

After sri lanka and Ireland refused the group change, ICC didn't want to force them.

You guys are amazing, you have been crying about discrimination all along, while Bangladesh provided zero proof of actual security issues.

But then you actually want ICC to force sri lanka and Ireland to change groups against their wishes which will be actual discrimination.

Hats off to your double speak

They said no because turkeys don't vote for Christmas. These boards are massively dependent on ICC revenues and maintaining political ties with India, so there was zero possibility of anything other than a 14-2 vote.

The so-called independent security assessment was about as credible and neutral as a student marking their own homework.

The ICC Chairman was never going to accept an assessment declaring the presence of any security risk against Bangladeshi cricketers because that would be an implicit criticism of abba ji AKA the Home Minister and his ruling party.

For once, can you guys put down the script and use some critical thinking ?
So you don't believe the 14-2 voting by ICC member boards was genuine? You also don't believe the independent security assessments provided to the ICC?

Obviously let's ignore everyone except the conspiracy theories of Pakistani and Bangladeshi keyboard warriors.

I'm pretty sure the independent security assessments would have been perfect for the likes of you if it said the following -

1. Bangladesh team in unsafe in India.

2. International cricket is unsafe in India.

3. The 2026 T20 World Cup should be shifted away from India.

4. No ICC tournaments should be held in India as long as there is no Government change.

As long as it follows your warped logic, it's all good, right?​

A few of your fellow Bangladeshi posters claim that Bangladeshi fans are extremely happy with BCB's decision?
Obviously, there are a few who are happy with the decision, as they are lapdog of the current stooges running the government. Their primary motive is to stoke anti-India sentiment to gain political advantage in the upcoming election. Cricket is the least of their concern.

The details are available on cricinfo of the vote and the dissent. And yes, the hosts get a say too and sri lanka are the hosts.

After sri lanka and Ireland refused the group change, ICC didn't want to force them.

You guys are amazing, you have been crying about discrimination all along, while Bangladesh provided zero proof of actual security issues.

But then you actually want ICC to force sri lanka and Ireland to change groups against their wishes which will be actual discrimination.

Hats off to your double speak

What proof did India provide to ICC regarding Security issues in Pakistan?

So you don't believe the 14-2 voting by ICC member boards was genuine? You also don't believe the independent security assessments provided to the ICC?

Obviously let's ignore everyone except the conspiracy theories of Pakistani and Bangladeshi keyboard warriors.

I'm pretty sure the independent security assessments would have been perfect for the likes of you if it said the following -

4. No ICC tournaments should be held in India as long as there is no Government change.

It’s already a well-established fact that Bangladesh withdrew from the tournament based on the whims of a handful of corrupt, incompetent BCB officials.

Did these BCB clowns send any security consultants to India to assess the situation? Did the BCB hold any director level talks with the BCCI on this issue?

Did these incompetent puppets currently running the BCB even bother to consult the players? Did the players themselves feel there was any real security threat in India?

The answer is a loud and clear "NO".

This was nothing but a cheap political stunt to stoke anti India sentiment on orders from their political masters. These idiots are nothing but politically driven hacks who don’t give a damn about cricket.

These fools don’t even realize that the ICC could come down hard on this circus of a board for making blatantly political decisions instead of acting like an independent, professional governing body.

Proof required after the attack on the Sri Lankan team in 2009? Yes, other teams have toured Pakistan after that, but which country is Pakistan's mortal enemy?​

Thats a proof?

Same Argument was made by BD , Mustafiz was axed Citing inability to provide security to him so BD was rightly concerned about security of whole team

Thats a proof?

Same Argument was made by BD , Mustafiz was axed Citing inability to provide security to him so BD was rightly concerned about security of whole team
Please don't lie! Not once did the BCCI or anyone from India state that he was axed from the IPL because of the security factor. And not once has any visiting team in India been attacked with AK-47's and rocket launchers after being promised Presidential level security.​

The proof provided was accepted by all nations. They voted for it. Same as when Pakistan presented it's case and wanted to play in Sri lanka. Again everyone agreed. That's different than a country throwing a last minute tantrum because a player was dropped from a private league. Nice try .

Simila
Thats a proof?

Why are you lying through your teeth dude? Who said Fizzs axing was to do with security? IPL is a private league which can axe any player for any reason. I know you guys get confused between army, the government and private agencies, because all three are same in pakistan. But in a democracy private entities can choose what they want to do.

Please don't lie! Not once did the BCCI or anyone from India state that he was axed from the IPL because of the security factor. And not once has any visiting team in India been attacked with AK-47's and rocket launchers after being promised Presidential level security.​

Pak and India have been enemies since inception. so thats really not an argument. Both Countries have played Cricket despite being enemies. so thats really not a proof of security concern. also a 16 year old incident cannot be a proof of security issue because country has shown ability to host Cricket without incident especially the actual victim team touring multiple times

That happened before the Mumbai attacks and the attack on the Sri Lankan team. They still play cricket but just not in bilateral series, and in Pakistan.​

how is that a proof of security issue CT 2025 when India was allowed Venue change?

ICC released a press after vote last week that ICC found no security threat after evaluating Ind Assesment so it found BD's concerns not valid. Did ICC say It did find credible threats in Pak as india is concerned? I do not think so..

how is that a proof of security issue CT 2025 when India was allowed Venue change?

ICC released a press after vote last week that ICC found no security threat after evaluating Ind Assesment so it found BD's concerns not valid. Did ICC say It did find credible threats in Pak as india is concerned? I do not think so..
Except that a visiting team in India has never been targetted with AK-47's and rocket launchers. In Pakistan?

thats your thought

Is nt exactly a proof for ICC to force a venue change. Your Fellow @Sachin fan said BD provided no Security proof and ICC along with itd board agreed and went onto say there is no credible threat found

Did ICC say Pak pose a risk for India and they found threats valid and Board agreed?

In case of India , No proof or explaination is required. Just citing overall animosity and political relations ia enough

In case of BD , Threat has to be credible and Ind assesment needs to say so according to its own press release

Its exactly what double standards and discriminatory behaviour is called

My thought? So what I've stated are not facts that has happened in the past, but my thoughts?

did icc say India is Justified not to travel to Pak because 2009 attack happened? Show me ICC statement about credible threat in Pak. The standard has to be same. BD waa told there was no threat in India. Was Pak tokd that threat exists in same?

Debating with sanghis is a massive waste of time because they are misinformed, childish, and dishonest.

I think Bangladesh have a good case for CAS. There was a clear discrimination.

Even if BD don't win, they should ensure it causes maximum nuisance for BCCICC.

Ok go ahead to cas, but for arbitration both parties need to agree to the jurisdiction of the arbitration

did icc say India is Justified not to travel to Pak because 2009 attack happened? Show me ICC statement about credible threat in Pak. The standard has to be same. BD waa told there was no threat in India. Was Pak tokd that threat exists in same?

You are late to the party, Bangladesh is out of the world cup, Scotland is playing.the decision has been made made by a 14-2 majority

Disappointing really.

@DeadlyVenom @KingKhanWC @Major @sweep_shot @Mainul @LongHorn @BDfanforever Why hasn't BDs taken further action. vote below. Mods @The Bald Eagle @BouncerGuy can we set up a poll?

1) CAS will rule against them.

2) CAS cannot rule on the matter.

See UEFA information on what CAS can rule on.

>>The CAS is only able to intervene in its capacity as an ordinary court of arbitration if the dispute in question does not fall within the competences of a UEFA organ.<<

3) BD feels that after winning the battle at CAS they might lose the war.

4) BDs are all bark and no bite
Damn didn't realize the this development was that hurtful

Small polite query from the backbenchers association "

Since people here have applauded and hyped the Bangladesh boycott, BD have stood up- spine dikhaya and rest of that

Small polite query from the backbenchers association "

Since people here have applauded and hyped the Bangladesh boycott, BD have stood up- spine dikhaya and rest of that

- Would the wallowing conscience and pride of the Gaddzillion Bangladeshi illegal fence jumpers Jaag Uthe and they emulate their cricket team, and leave India?" :LOL: :virat1:Dah
@Devadwal, what is he saying? Translate kar de, payment Paytm mein karunga. :yk :inti

So reports Bangladesh bans coverage of T20 WC in the country , how will that affect broadcasters ??
It’s BD. Its market is so strong they couldn’t even sell their home series to advertisers recently. So yeah, it will have a big fat zero impact

Also, any impact will be felt more by other teams than big three. Indian gets 38 cents to every 80 cents it brings. So they don’t really care. Eng and Aus probably get closer to what they bring in so they may care a bit not to much. Others actually get more than what they bring in and absolutely will be impacted. None of this should be BCCI concern

It’s BD. Its market is so strong they couldn’t even sell their home series to advertisers recently. So yeah, it will have a big fat zero impact

Also, any impact will be felt more by other teams than big three. Indian gets 38 cents to every 80 cents it brings. So they don’t really care. Eng and Aus probably get closer to what they bring in so they may care a bit not to much. Others actually get more than what they bring in and absolutely will be impacted. None of this should be BCCI concern
Funnily some of the Bangladeshis celebrating the boycott will watch every game even including the minnow matches, so what exact audience is the broadcaster losing 🤣🤣🤣

@Devadwal, what is he saying? Translate kar de, payment Paytm mein karunga. :yk :inti
Vaise ye offer tere liye bhi hai, when are u leaving India a happier place & setting up your dukh ki dukaan in your second beloved watan - bangladesh?
Guaranteed - several here on PP will happily sponsor your one way ticket....
Just soch- ur #KhatmaliFitrat talents are giving u the unique opportunity to make millions happy & get paid for it😝👍💥

Vaise ye offer tere liye bhi hai, when are u leaving India a happier place & setting up your dukh ki dukaan in your second beloved watan - bangladesh?
Guaranteed - several here on PP will happily sponsor your one way ticket....
Just soch- ur #KhatmaliFitrat talents are giving u the unique opportunity to make millions happy & get paid for it😝👍💥
@Devadwal, yeh bhi add karna please. Thanks in advance. :yk :inti

Pakistan delaying the decision until 02/02 to decide weather to boycott or not just creating drama never had real intention to boycot what a joke of a board

A) If you are naive enough to believe that the 14 votes in favour of India had nothing to do with the financial imperatives of maintaining political ties with the BCCI, then you must also believe in Father Christmas and the Easter Bunny. If the roles were reversed and India had security concerns over an event hosted by Bangladesh - those 14 votes would've been there and any concerns about "last minute logistical challenges" discarded like a piece of paper.

B) A governing body cannot impartially review a independent security assessment when that organisation's head is the son of the Home Minister of one of the disputing parties.

Maybe for jingoistic Indians that sounds like a perfectly normal state of affairs but to the rest of the world it's a farcical conflict of interest that destroys the credibility of the process.

C) The same independent security assessments previously declared that Pakistan is safe for all touring teams, but India still played the security card and refused to tour Pakistan. Yet Bangladesh have no grounds for security concerns despite BJP leaders and Shiv Sena figures publicly remarking that Mustafizur would "not be allowed to leave the airport" should he feature in IPL. If that's the case, why would the Bangladeshi authorities believe an entire touring party is safe ?

D) Points 2-4 are laughable strawmen arguments that I've never made.

E) Let me throw a question at you because only 3 Indian posters out of the countless on here have been honest enough to answer while the others have ducked it. Why are IPL franchises paying massive sums to Afghan cricketers when their Taliban government has literally committed a genocide against its Hindu minority ?

Why do you people only cry tears for Bangladeshi Hindus but not Afghan Hindus ? Why are Bangladeshi cricketers being singled out yet Afghan cricketers will get the red carpet ? Before you ask, China's treatment of Uighurs is also abhorrent in my book and I know full well why the Pakistan Govt is silent so please don't come at me with whataboutery.

I said this from day 1.

Now they are doing some drama about boycotting the India game. ?

@GoUgandaCranes bro your boys willing to come for one matche? Free hug from Modi if it helps ?
images

I said this from day 1.

Now they are doing some drama about boycotting the India game. ?

@GoUgandaCranes bro your boys willing to come for one matche? Free hug from Modi if it helps ?

Musuveni is probably the longest serving (active) dictator in the entire world at this moment so replacing Pak with Uganda is a correct decision politically (the cricket team having more experienced dictator replacing the team with a less experienced dictator)

I know you fellas aren't that serious but at this point, it'd really be nice to see Uganda play a world cup. It'll also be an extra special memory for me because Kampala cricket ground is the only international ground where I've played and practiced.

What is the Jersey Scotland is going to use? I guess old one? I liked their jersey in 2024.It is one jersey i wanted to own actually

Musuveni is probably the longest serving (active) dictator in the entire world at this moment so replacing Pak with Uganda is a correct decision politically (the cricket team having more experienced dictator replacing the team with a less experienced dictator)

I know you fellas aren't that serious but at this point, it'd really be nice to see Uganda play a world cup. It'll also be an extra special memory for me because Kampala cricket ground is the only international ground where I've played and practiced.
Would be nice to catch up some time over Matoke :)

Cricket Scotland's chief executive expressed her sympathy for Bangladesh's players after their eleventh-hour removal from the T20 World Cup as she revealed the extent of the board's last-minute scramble to get their men's squad ready for their opening match on February 7.

Defeats to Italy and Jersey at the Europe Regional Final last July saw Scotland miss out on qualification for the World Cup. But Bangladesh's reluctance to play in India and the ICC's subsequent refusal to shift their fixtures to Sri Lanka at short notice saw Scotland handed a lifeline on Saturday, when they were invited as the highest-ranked side not already going to the tournament.

"We certainly have for the Bangladesh team," Trudy Lindblade, Cricket Scotland's Australian chief executive, said on Monday, when asked if she had sympathy for the side they had replaced.

"Obviously, this is not how we wanted to go to a World Cup. There is a qualification process and nobody wants to qualify or attend or be invited to a World Cup in the way that we have done. We acknowledge it is certainly unique circumstances by our participation, and we do feel for the Bangladesh players."

On whether Scotland expected criticism after qualifying via the back door, Lindblade said: "I wouldn't use those words… People will have their views and they are entitled to their views. All we know is that we have been invited to participate in the World Cup. We are a team that is ranked 14th in the world. We are also a strong team that plays consistently throughout the year.

"That World Cup [qualifier] for us was not how we normally play, and therefore we are just pleased to be at this World Cup… We are happy to step in, although it is unique and challenging circumstances and we absolutely recognise that."

Cricket Scotland were only officially notified of their invitation to the World Cup by ICC chief executive Sanjog Gupta on Saturday, but Lindblade said that they had started to plan for the eventuality a few days previously. "It's been a really busy couple of days for us," she said. "In the office today, it is all hands on deck…

"The Cricket Scotland team is just over 30 staff - that's everything from our coaching staff to office staff and our development team - so we're not very big. This is a lot to do also when we've got two teams touring: we've got the [men's] Under-19s currently playing, and we cannot lose focus from our women in Nepal, who also are trying to qualify for a T20 World Cup.

"Our team is completely inundated with trying to make sure we get our team there, but also we can't do that without the help of the ICC. We've been almost working around the clock… There have been messages on a WhatsApp group at all hours of the night. There might be a three-hour window when none of us are working."

Scotland are due to announce their squad on Monday afternoon after selection meetings over the weekend, and have received assurances from the ICC that their players' applications for Indian visas will be expedited. They are due to travel to India this weekend ahead of warm-up fixtures against Afghanistan and Namibia in Bengaluru on February 2 and 4 respectively.

Scotland's contracted players have been training indoors in recent weeks ahead of their Cricket World Cup League Two series against Namibia and Oman in March and their focus has quickly shifted from winter fitness work to T20 preparation under their new head coach Owen Dawkins, who replaced Doug Watson last month, and his assistant Gordon Drummond.

"We want to be as competitive as we possibly can be at the World Cup," Steve Snell, their head of performance, said, "but I think we are actually quite relaxed in the sense that the pressure is on the other teams with Scotland coming off a very dry winter where, quite frankly, our priority has been on other areas off the field.

"I back ourselves to be really, really competitive, but the other teams have all this preparation time to configure their squads, their gameplan, look at the conditions… The pressure will be on the other teams to beat us, really, because with all that preparation time, we'll certainly be underdogs."

Scotland will face West Indies, Italy and England in Kolkata, then Nepal in Mumbai, with the top two teams from Group B qualifying for the Super 8s stage of the World Cup. They only failed to reach the second phase of the 2024 T20 World Cup via net run rate after a no-result against England and a tight defeat to Australia, and are targeting a top-two finish.

"Success will be qualifying for that group but will I be putting the pressure on the team that we should be doing that? Certainly not. It's a really tough group and all the games are going to be really tough," he said.

"That's the beauty of sport, isn't it, that unpredictable nature? We're definitely going into this tournament as underdogs and now we'll be looking to make some upsets as well."

Scotland have played at six previous men's T20 World Cups, including the last four. They were a late addition to the line-up at the 2009 edition in similar circumstances, when Zimbabwe pulled out of the tournament owing to uncertainty as to whether their players would be granted visas due to the UK government's stance against Robert Mugabe's dictatorship.

Good luck Scotland. They were called in at the last minute. Even with expedited visas it would not have been easier to get ready.

Would be nice to catch up some time over Matoke :)

Never liked them unfortunately. Sambosas are fine especially from the area around Gaddafi mosque.

p.s. I am not in Uganda anymore but that country will always have a special place in my heart.

Never liked them unfortunately. Sambosas are fine especially from the area around Gaddafi mosque.

p.s. I am not in Uganda anymore but that country will always have a special place in my heart.
Even I don't like them much, but it's kind of a national food here.

Ugandans are nice fellows. Let's see how my stay goes.

Obviously, there are a few who are happy with the decision, as they are lapdog of the current stooges running the government. Their primary motive is to stoke anti-India sentiment to gain political advantage in the upcoming election. Cricket is the least of their concern.
On the contrary it is remnants of the dictator that are unhappy. They are sad that the current government reflects the will of Bangladeshis and is not slavish towards India

Standing up for your rights and dignity by partnering with a country which wanted to destroy your culture and language? That's dignity? The ones who are still using you just as a weapon against India and don't consider you if any value, that's dignity?
That happened 55 years ago
Americans and japanese were killing each other once upon a time as well
So were viets and americans
But they are strong allies now

No, but visiting women cricketers were molested by Indian men. Women cricketers were never attacked like that in any other country

I think now all settled. Let us focus on Scotland. BD is out. There is that. No point in talking about them anymore.

Read my statement properly.

It’s a great decision by Bcb for not allow Bangladeshi players to go to play in the unsafe hindutva extremist nation of India where muslims are being oppressed every state too. Got to protect your players. After all the orange scarf walas could do anything with their threats.
Any proof on that?

Mate they make it as they go. Their world starts and stops with Muslim oppression, whilst Muslims oppressing their minorities is just random unrelated instances.
tell that to the millions of indians risking lives to enter America via the dunki route
So you couldn't answer it could you really? Hypocrite

Happy for SCotland. It will allow them to grow cricket in these parts.

Scotland Cricket will receive a guaranteed participation fee of $300,000 for competing in the 2026 T20 World Cup, with potential to earn $450,000 if they place in the top 5th to 12th range. The team replaced Bangladesh in the tournament, which will be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka from February 7th to March 8th, 2026 ESPN India.
  • Participation Fee: $300,000 (up from $250,000 in 2024).
  • Performance Bonus: $450,000 if finishing between 5th and 12th place.
  • Context: While Scotland is an Associate member, this participation offers a significant cash injection compared to their annual revenue, which previously included ~£2.7m (approx. $3.8m) in ICC revenue distribution BBC.

Gillespie abused heavily for his online post questioning ICC decision, by Indians.

Happy for SCotland. It will allow them to grow cricket in these parts.

Scotland Cricket will receive a guaranteed participation fee of $300,000 for competing in the 2026 T20 World Cup, with potential to earn $450,000 if they place in the top 5th to 12th range. The team replaced Bangladesh in the tournament, which will be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka from February 7th to March 8th, 2026 ESPN India.
  • Participation Fee: $300,000 (up from $250,000 in 2024).
  • Performance Bonus: $450,000 if finishing between 5th and 12th place.
  • Context: While Scotland is an Associate member, this participation offers a significant cash injection compared to their annual revenue, which previously included ~£2.7m (approx. $3.8m) in ICC revenue distribution BBC.
$300k is that it? For the whole team?
This is trash.

There's rumours that Safyaan Sharif might have trouble getting a visa in time because of his Pakistani heritage. Not a good look for India.

That is a lot of money for them. Last time they only got 250k$
It’s not that much money. At $300k you are looking at about $10k per player being extremely generous with the split- without tax deduction from original prize money (if it is taxed- I don’t know)

It’s not that much money. At $400k you are looking at about $10k per player being extremely generous with the split- without tax deduction from original prize money (if it is taxed- I don’t know)
That is just the basic. Then the prize money for winning, it will add upto a million plus

Offcourse winner does get a big chunk of money.
I am just saying that to anyone that finishes above 5, money is not that much.
But for winner, runner up and semis- I do agree the distribution is pretty good

Offcourse winner does get a big chunk of money.
I am just saying that to anyone that finishes above 5, money is not that much.
But for winner, runner up and semis- I do agree the distribution is pretty good
Yea. they will travel first class to play at the expense of ICC. They bear the expense of all the travel accommodation. Anyway some are playing in league cricket. I think one guy played in BPL. Playing an ICC event is a big thing for these guys where they play against top full strength teams.

As per reports:

Bangladesh could still make a late entry into the 2026 T20 World Cup if Pakistan decides to withdraw in solidarity with them. The ICC had earlier ejected Bangladesh after the BCB refused to play in India citing security concerns. However, officials have indicated that if Pakistan pulls out, Bangladesh would be given the first chance to replace them in Group A, with all their matches shifted to Sri Lanka as per their original request.

This arrangement is seen as posing limited logistical challenges. The PCB is yet to make a final decision, with options ranging from a complete boycott to skipping only the high-profile clash against India in Colombo. Their decision, expected within days, will determine whether Bangladesh is reinstated into the tournament.

As per reports:

Bangladesh could still make a late entry into the 2026 T20 World Cup if Pakistan decides to withdraw in solidarity with them. The ICC had earlier ejected Bangladesh after the BCB refused to play in India citing security concerns. However, officials have indicated that if Pakistan pulls out, Bangladesh would be given the first chance to replace them in Group A, with all their matches shifted to Sri Lanka as per their original request.

This arrangement is seen as posing limited logistical challenges. The PCB is yet to make a final decision, with options ranging from a complete boycott to skipping only the high-profile clash against India in Colombo. Their decision, expected within days, will determine whether Bangladesh is reinstated into the tournament.
images

Yea. they will travel first class to play at the expense of ICC. They bear the expense of all the travel accommodation. Anyway some are playing in league cricket. I think one guy played in BPL. Playing an ICC event is a big thing for these guys where they play against top full strength teams.
It's more about getting that annual revenue and pulling ICC out of a whole. $300k participation fee isn't much for all the players and staff.