Scotland replace Bangladesh at T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#3202)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Aren't we always in a group with SRL everytime? What changed this time? Looks like they are getting slightly easier group this time for being a host?

Plus i think lots of bangladeshis watch football, its quite popular

Boomers and millennials (my generation) still love cricket.

Gen Z are more into football. I call this "Messi and Ronaldo" effect. Also, cricket turning into a farce never helps I guess. :inti

It is possible football may overtake cricket's popularity in BD in 30-40 years. 2-3 generations later.

Nipah Virus thing is escalating in India dangerously, CA ECB FIcA are you alive

They should call the tournament off or change the location, unless they want another COVID. :inti

Nipah virus outbreak in India triggers Asia airport screenings​

An outbreak of the deadly Nipah virus in India's West Bengal state has sparked concern in parts of Asia, with some tightening screening measures at airports.

Thailand has started screening passengers at three airports that receive flights from West Bengal. Nepal has also begun screening arrivals at Kathmandu airport and other land border points with India.

Five healthcare workers in West Bengal were infected by the virus early this month, one of whom is in a critical condition. Some 110 people who were in contact with them have been quarantined.

The virus can spread from animals to humans. It has a high death range – ranging from 40% to 75% – as there is no vaccine or medicine to treat it.

ICC keeps Bangladesh on standby as Pakistan’s T20 World Cup future remains uncertain – Report

Should Pakistan boycott the tournament, and considering that all Bangladesh wanted was to play their games only in Sri Lanka, this swap fits the criteria (for the ICC), which also cuts on logistical challenges for them.

ICC keeps Bangladesh on standby as Pakistan’s T20 World Cup future remains uncertain – Report https://share.google/qQI4qCmqcbSKYrL9g

@Devadwal

If this happens, it will be the biggesr troll job in cricket

:klopp

ICC keeps Bangladesh on standby as Pakistan’s T20 World Cup future remains uncertain – Report

Should Pakistan boycott the tournament, and considering that all Bangladesh wanted was to play their games only in Sri Lanka, this swap fits the criteria (for the ICC), which also cuts on logistical challenges for them.

ICC keeps Bangladesh on standby as Pakistan’s T20 World Cup future remains uncertain – Report https://share.google/qQI4qCmqcbSKYrL9g

@Devadwal

Ye dhamki hai Pakistan ko or kuch nahi. Pakistani Ko ase hi dara ke rakho. :klopp :kp

As per reports:

Bangladesh could still make a late entry into the 2026 T20 World Cup if Pakistan decides to withdraw in solidarity with them. The ICC had earlier ejected Bangladesh after the BCB refused to play in India citing security concerns. However, officials have indicated that if Pakistan pulls out, Bangladesh would be given the first chance to replace them in Group A, with all their matches shifted to Sri Lanka as per their original request.

This arrangement is seen as posing limited logistical challenges. The PCB is yet to make a final decision, with options ranging from a complete boycott to skipping only the high-profile clash against India in Colombo. Their decision, expected within days, will determine whether Bangladesh is reinstated into the tournament.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

They are not giving the visas even to BD journalists and think that BD is going to accept this second invitation

🤣🤣🤣🤣

If the BCB and the BD govt were run by Wasim Akram and Atif Aslam, this plan would have worked

🤣🤣🤣🤣

BJP bigots running the ICC like their village's Panchayat

🤣🤣🤣🤣

So far Pak has received following threats:
- severe sanctions
- suspensions from international cricket
- withdrawal of NOCs
- opportunity for Bangladesh to play instead
- $38 million lawsuit

Bros, is Pakistan boycotting a cricket match or about to commit a genocide?

These things show how afraid India is. lol.
Full tight rakho inko.

@Devadwal

All this shows is how desperate India is that the show goes on.

It's a shame Pakistanis have the desi mindset, they should really just walk away and let the Indians have their part time sport to themselves.

It would be hilarious Pakistan walks out and Bangladesh plays in place of them lol That would be a hard slap from BD to Pakistan for their posture.

They should call the tournament off or change the location, unless they want another COVID. :inti

Nipah virus outbreak in India triggers Asia airport screenings​

An outbreak of the deadly Nipah virus in India's West Bengal state has sparked concern in parts of Asia, with some tightening screening measures at airports.

Thailand has started screening passengers at three airports that receive flights from West Bengal. Nepal has also begun screening arrivals at Kathmandu airport and other land border points with India.

Five healthcare workers in West Bengal were infected by the virus early this month, one of whom is in a critical condition. Some 110 people who were in contact with them have been quarantined.

The virus can spread from animals to humans. It has a high death range – ranging from 40% to 75% – as there is no vaccine or medicine to treat it.
World Cup should be shifted, India is full of this dangerous virus
During covid India got hit far worse than Pakistan

All this shows is how desperate India is that the show goes on.

It's a shame Pakistanis have the desi mindset, they should really just walk away and let the Indians have their part time sport to themselves.

Walking away from the Indian game makes sense. It would enrage the sanghis/hurt BCCICC's pocket without jeopardizing Pakistan's Super 8 qualification chances.

Win-win. :inti

It would be hilarious Pakistan walks out and Bangladesh plays in place of them lol That would be a hard slap from BD to Pakistan for their posture.

Sometimes I wonder how can a cricket board and public be so dumb. Before this saga, I honestly used to overestimate them. Last few days watching Geo news and Sikku Bhai, Rashid Latif has left me baffled. My trust on humanity has eroded.

1 million viewers from Australia generate more $$ than 50 million viewers from Bdesh due to currency conversion

Plus i think lots of bangladeshis watch football, its quite popular
That's not how it works. Exchange rates dont play much role here, otherwise BCCI wouldnt be generating as much revenue either.

Small Polite query from Last Benchers association:

" if Pak players were not allowed/not selected/banned - takeurpick - since 2009 in the IPL,

- Why did Bangladesh players continue playing for every year from 2009 till 2025, & this fizz episode?

- Why did BCB not pull out their guys from 2009 in solidarity with ummat bro - Pakistan?

- Just asking...✌️😃🌞💥🪔

After all said and done, BCB absolutely should not host any matches with IRE, ZIM, and to an extent Afghanistan in the foreseeable future. I much rather have BD play with other associates like NED, Nepal, UAE, etc.

BCB's stand of security concerns on playing match in India as Bangladeshi shooters taking part in event in India on 2nd February

BCB and Bangladesh jihadi government completely exposed

Bangladesh's T20 World Cup exit is a precedent that must be followed: Mark Butcher

Speaking on the Wisden Cricket Weekly podcast, Butcher labelled Bangladesh's exit from the tournament, two weeks before it was due to start, as "an absolute s***show", and drew parallels to India's refusal to play their Champions Trophy matches in Pakistan last year.

"There have been a lot of pre-ceding events – not to this particular farrago – that have parallels," said Butcher. "Obviously, the India Champions Trophy issue with Pakistan and how that ended up being resolved with India playing matches in Dubai, including the final. We've had tournaments, kind of re-jigged and re-arranged to accommodate one team or another throughout the history of the game of cricket, but perhaps not quite in the way that we've seen in recent times.

"I think the India example for the Champions Trophy, everyone could see that coming, that was so obvious that you could see it from space that that was going to be the position. The ICC had a choice to make at that point – do they do what actually should happen from now on in? This is a precedent that I think is worth following, that when a team – whether it's through their government or it's off their own bat – have security concerns or whatever concerns about visiting a country for a tournament, then basically they should be scrapped and the next cab off the rank qualifies and you go ahead without them. That I think is the precedent."

Bangladesh were replaced by Scotland for the 2026 men's T20 World Cup after they refused to travel to India for the tournament, citing security concerns. After weeks of negotiations, the ICC officially removed Bangladesh from the event last Saturday (January 24), two weeks before they were set to play their first match.

Bangladesh's removal comes just over a year after India refused to travel to Pakistan for the 2025 Champions Trophy. Following the BCCI's decision, an agreement between the ICC, PCB and BCCI was made which arranged for India's matches at the tournament to be played at a neutral venue.

The agreement also stated that all India-Pakistan matches at ICC events between 2024 and 2027 will be played at a neutral venue. "I'm certainly not being naive in thinking that everyone else stands in the same position in India does because they don't. That's visible from space. However, the integrity of the sport should still be more important than where most of the money comes from. Pakistan are catching heat here because they intimated they would stand with Bangladesh if Bangladesh weren't able to have their games moved. So now what are they going to do? Are they going to pull out? I doubt it, I think it's too late.

"It's a horrible, horrible mess, and I think the only way through it going forward is that if you know for some reason you are the problem, or you have a problem with the tournament or where the tournament is being held or who's running the tournament or whatever the hell else it is then it's up to you. You either go and you play, get your security sorted out as many countries have done travelling to many other different countries, and you play the tournament, or you step aside and somebody else does. I think that's the only fair way to go forward."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.wisden.com/series/icc-m...cup-exit-is-a-precedent-that-must-be-followed

Huge injustice with bangla fans

Bangladesh needs cricket more than India and Pakistan
What injustice? Were they denied visa by the Indian government to play in the upcoming T20 World Cup? Were they forced to pull out of the tournament or was it their own decision?​

I heard that if BD apologizes and agrees to play in India, they still have a chance.

Anyways, they play all their games in Kolkatta which is 50% BD illegals. So BD should feel at home there. Mamata Didi loves to protect BD people. So BD players will be safe.