"Seems they made a team of kids and sent it to New Zealand" : Shoaib Akhtar

Shoaib Akhtar slams the Pakistan performance in his latest address to the nation:

"I suppose you must have seen the day's play between a club team and New Zealand, Oh sorry, Pakistan and New Zealand"

"Why do you think I am saying that this is a club level team? Seems they made a team of kids and sent to New Zealand"

"This team is so immature - in terms of team management, bowling or batting"

"New Zealand gave us a spanking (Urdu word : Dhoya) and they aren't merely winning against us, instead they are exposing the quality of our cricket"

"What they have shown us that the Pakistan's cricket is so bad that they are ranked 7th in Tests"

"After playing 2 innings in New Zealand, we as Asians should know that we have to seam the ball in the air and not slam it hard in the pitch"

"Your body as a bowler needs to be ready for Tests and that only happens if you have played 4-day games - only then are you able to consistenly bowl in a corridor"

"We have a bowler like Abbas who is not able to swing or seam; Shaheen Shah Afridi is one bowler who has been outstanding and could have taken more wicket but he is not at that level where he could wrap up the game for his side"

"Naseem Shah looked very ordinary to me; Look the incompetence of the PCB (Cricket board kee nalaiqiyan) and their policies are having their effect - they are reaping what they sowed"

"They brought in an average player, they made an average team so their results are also average"

"Whenever Pakistan will play Test cricket, they will be exposed. They are playing school-level cricket and the management has made them school-level cricketers. And now they are again thinking to change the management but when will you change?"

"So many Chairmen, CEOs have come and gone in the PCB - got what they needed from the PCB and then left, leaving Pakistan Cricket in ruins"

"Disappointing to see that the team has no character or personality and Mashallah, to add to it, they are dropping catches as if they are sleeping on the field"

"Its saddening to see such a team but this is not a Pakistan team but a representation of the culture which is now prevalent in the PCB"

"The PCB looks like the most useless institution in the world"

"So Pakistan keep on playing like this and soon you will be competing with the number 8 side instead of the top sides"

Shoaib has lots to say, but would he seriously want the role of Head Coach, bowling coach or chief selector?

The answer is no.

Shoaib has some valid points but Abid,Azhar Shan, Fawad, Yaisir, Haris, Abbas are hardly kids tbh.

Shoaib has lots to say, but would he seriously want the role of Head Coach, bowling coach or chief selector?

The answer is no.

The question isn’t whether he wants it or not. The question is does being an ex player automatically qualify you to assume any of the roles you listed?

If he isn’t qualified I’d rather him shouting from the sidelines rather than take a job he’s not qualified for and make the mess worse.

Being in the PCB set up as an honest man is a thankless job made worse by corruption and draconian methods of conducting work

Yeh Shoaib aur Rashid sirf bakwaas kar sakte hain aur kuch nahi. Batein karna asaan hai, auo madaan mein phir.

Shoaib makes more money from his youtube channel and PTV sports gig than the PCB will want to pay him.

The question isn’t whether he wants it or not. The question is does being an ex player automatically qualify you to assume any of the roles you listed?

If he isn’t qualified I’d rather him shouting from the sidelines rather than take a job he’s not qualified for and make the mess worse.

Being in the PCB set up as an honest man is a thankless job made worse by corruption and draconian methods of conducting work

Does he actually make any coherent suggestions, any excellent tactical observations, any technical viewpoints? The answer is no.

Most of the time he is just shouting basic stuff from the side-lines, that anyone can notice.

Needs to look at the age of the players before saying it’s a team of kids.

After playing 2 innings in New Zealand, we as Asians should know that we have to seam the ball in the air and not slam it hard in the pitch"

Wait what?

The answer is no.

what makes you say he won't? he has made clear his interest if he ever gets appointed he will take up the job

Yep but i still stick with Naseem and his brainless bowling. The bowling was so bad you thought it was fixed but you say nope he was that bad.

the fact that a 17 yr old hasn't improved from his last tour is more down to the coaching and management if not then send him to domestic to learn

Sour Grapes folks thats all ..no cricket sense what so ever.

We all can do the blame game ..him and aqib have been mouthing the pcb big time.

Wait what?

Meanwhile, the Kiwis are bowling six short pitched balls an over to nine ten and jack while winning with an innings and 200 runs.

If there's one thing more incompetent than PCB it's our ex-cricketers. No wonder they brought us here where we are now.

Naseem isn't the only kid in this team.

Abid, Haris, Fawad, Abbas et al are also pulpy kiddos. Don't get fooled by their age.

the fact that a 17 yr old hasn't improved from his last tour is more down to the coaching and management if not then send him to domestic to learn

Maybe i'm being harsh on the young boy but fact is we can't just pick the likes of young guys up and hope they perform which is why i'm overly against a completely young and fresh faced team.

Akhtar was an insanely gifted bowler but doubt his analytical abilities and technical understanding.

Surprisingly Shoaib didn't say anything like that when NZ whitewashed full strength Indian team earlier last year. :inti

Because no one in world cricket has the aukaat to say that Kohli is a kid. Same applies to Pujara, Bumrah, Ishant and Shami.
You can't say things like these to teams who won last three test maces.

can't be any worse than Misbah and he hasnt been a coach yet like Waqar on his 4th term and yet here we are

You don’t know much then. Misbah is among the best candidates if you are to go by domestic resources..... which is unfortunate.

Because no one in world cricket has the aukaat to say that Kohli is a kid. Same applies to Pujara, Bumrah, Ishant and Shami.
You can't say things like these to teams who won last three test maces.

Another reason could be that Shoaib knew what happened a year further back when Kiwis were travelling to India for reverse series.

You don’t know much then. Misbah is among the best candidates if you are to go by domestic resources..... which is unfortunate.

Unfortunately i do agree but this is a reflection on the lack of quantity rather than lack of quality (though there is not much quality where there is quantity). Already with the new system, and Grant Bradburn directing training of coaches, we are seeing some new names pop up who by default have more qualifications than Misbah did at the time of appointment.

However, at the time of appointment, very few or none had such qualifications therefore even doubters were willing to give Misbah a try in the absence of any foreign coach’s availability. I think at that time the main options were Rashid Latif and Aaqib Javed - that says a lot.

what makes you say he won't? he has made clear his interest if he ever gets appointed he will take up the job

He has NEVER applied for any job at the PCB.

Even at the PCB you have to apply for a job, or show genuine interest, to get a role.

Unfortunately i do agree but this is a reflection on the lack of quantity rather than lack of quality (though there is not much quality where there is quantity). Already with the new system, and Grant Bradburn directing training of coaches, we are seeing some new names pop up who by default have more qualifications than Misbah did at the time of appointment.

However, at the time of appointment, very few or none had such qualifications therefore even doubters were willing to give Misbah a try in the absence of any foreign coach’s availability. I think at that time the main options were Rashid Latif and Aaqib Javed - that says a lot.

If PCB sticks to deshi incumbent- Misbah is workable, in fact among best. Bradburn is making easy money as there is no standards fir PCT. for a small nation like NZL, they have produced some of the bst coaches in the game, but sadly this guy is not one of them. Also, he can’t do much with a squad having official average age around 30 or more... you need to add a significant buffer with that.

‘Remove my name from history if I fail to correct Pakistan team’ Akhtar

Karachi: Former pacer Shoaib Akhtar challenged that he can put the Pakistan cricket team on winning track within just three months.

Speaking at PTV Sports, Akhtar said just three men at the right positions will change the whole scenario in the cricket board. “Give me just three months. I will need three right men in three main departments and you will see a changed cricket team. Remove my name from the history if I fail to correct the cricket team within three months,” Akhtar challenged.

It must be noted here that Akhtar expressed extreme disappointment over Pakistan’s terrible Test series loss against New Zealand. The green caps lost the series 2-0 with an inning and 176 runs defeat in the second Test.

https://arysports.tv/remove-name-history-fail-correct-pakistan-team-akhtar/

Karachi: Former pacer Shoaib Akhtar challenged that he can put the Pakistan cricket team on winning track within just three months.

Speaking at PTV Sports, Akhtar said just three men at the right positions will change the whole scenario in the cricket board. “Give me just three months. I will need three right men in three main departments and you will see a changed cricket team. Remove my name from the history if I fail to correct the cricket team within three months,” Akhtar challenged.

It must be noted here that Akhtar expressed extreme disappointment over Pakistan’s terrible Test series loss against New Zealand. The green caps lost the series 2-0 with an inning and 176 runs defeat in the second Test.

Akhtar seems too emotional to be a head coach he might start smacking players if they dont do what he asks lol

This reminds me of Kamram Akmal’s comment of give me three chances. PCB should hire him to try him out.

Definitely these kids:

Fawad Alam
Azhar Ali
Shan Masood
Abid Ali
Harris Sohail
Faheem Ashraff
Mohammad Rizwan
Mohammad Abbas

Youngest being 26, Rizwan at 28, rest in their thirties.

These comments are just made for us to respond to them. It’s pretty comical.

Lol you are quite the idiot i doubt u know anything about domestic cricket, typical limited minded Misbah fan

I wonder if anyone actually watched the video rather than reading translations which don’t give the whole story. He hardly said “kids”.

His whole point was that it was like an international team vs a club team. Which as a phrase can also be said as “men vs boys”. It doesn’t literally mean men vs boys!

So all these sarcastic retorts of “team being over 30 = kids??” overlook some very good and I’d say obvious points shoaib made.

Shoaib is obviously fed up with the feeble performances of our team as most people are.

"When I used to play cricket, I didn’t know the name of the PCB Chairmen" : Shoaib Akhtar

ISLAMABAD: Shoaib Akhtar continued with his outbursts against the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) this week when he said the sport has been on a decline since 2000 due to the administrators’ wrong policies and average appointments. However, for the knowledgeable critics, his ongoing tirade remains full of contradictions.

In an interview on Thursday with a private TV channel, the maverick fast bowler said he didn’t even remember the names of any PCB Chairman from his playing days. This potentially included Lt Gen (retired) Tauqir Zia, the PCB chairman from 1999 to 2003, who is credited for setting up the state-of-the-art High Performance Centre as well as spreading a network of cricket grounds across the country.

Gen Tauqir Zia is credited for rescuing Shoaib Akhtar’s sinking international career in 1999 after he was suspended from bowling on the tour of Australia when he was found to boast an illegal bowling action.

Then, Tauqir Zia had used his influence and contacts with the ICC and with the support of the then ICC president Jaghmohan Dalmiya and chairman technical committee Sir Clyde Walcott, had not only succeeded in overturning the suspension but later drove changes to the regulations relating with the illegal bowling actions.

Following a disastrous 2003 World Cup, it was reported Tauqir Zia wanted to appoint Shoaib Akhtar as captain but then handed over the reigns to Inzamam-ul-Haq who captained the national side until 2007.

“The cricket has been in a decline since 2000. When I used to play cricket, I didn’t know the name of the PCB Chairmen. We (still) don’t even remember the names of those chairmen. These people come and depart, leaving a weak legacy with their average policies and appointments,” Shoaib said.

In a 14-year international career, Shoaib took 178 Test and 247 ODI wickets but his time was plagued with injuries, controversies and accusations of poor attitude that led to a series of run-ins with the PCB administration.

Slamming the present PCB management, Shoaib Akhtar said: “The PCB is an average board, which is run by ordinary people. What experience and qualification Ehsan Mani has and what stakes he has in Pakistan cricket? Why the PCB Patron has brought in an average person, does he know more than us?” Shoaib asked.

“Who is Wasim Khan (PCB chief executive)? Who are these people? Don’t we know Pakistan cricket, can’t we run this sport,” Shoaib Akhtar blasted, adding: “Why you will want these people who have no stakes in Pakistan cricket?”

Ehsan Mani has been Pakistan’s representative on the ICC since 1989 before becoming its president from 2003 to 2006. A former club cricketer and a chartered accountant by profession, Ehsan drove the ICC’s and PCB’s commercial and media rights programme that saw a flow of cash in cricket. He still heads the ICC’s most influential Financial and Commercial Affairs Committee. Wasim Khan, a Warwick business school graduate and a former first-class cricketer, was an ex-chief executive of the Leicestershire county who also chaired the ECB’s Men’s Domestic Playing Programme Group and also sat on the Equality & Human Rights Commission Sports Group and the Board of Sport England. He was awarded an MBE in 2013.

During the interview, Shoaib offered to work “voluntarily in the PCB to sort out the board by dismissing incompetent people” but later backtracked when he said “he didn’t want any job in the job”.

Surprisingly, in September 2020, Shoaib had revealed that the PCB had approached him for the chief selector’s role when he said: “I will not deny it. Yes, I have had some discussions with the board and I am interested in playing a major role in Pakistan cricket. But nothing is decided as yet”.

He later denied any offer was made by the PCB chairman Ehsan Mani during an “informal and causal” meeting in Islamabad.

“New chief selector Muhammad Wasim is a good man and I hope he introduces meritocracy, but he will have to decide whether he needs to defend PKR400,000 or PKR1.4million,” Shoaib remarked.

Shoaib reiterated the PCB had decided to sack Misbah-ul-Haq and have already entered into an agreement with Andy Flower, the former Zimbabwe batsman who took England team to the number-one rankings. Andy will coach Multan Sultans in the PSL 2021 for the second successive year.

The PCB, when contacted, said it respected Shoaib’s comments but advised he should appear in interviews better prepared and informed so that he can share more accurate and fact-based insight to the fans and followers of the game.

Published in Dawn, January 16th, 2021

Most of the times, He talks trash and he has nothing substantial to say or to suggest to PCB through his youtube videos, he just wants his YouTube followings go up and up everyday.

If PCB wants to save money they should hire Shoaib Akthar as a bowling coach for under 19.

He really really wants a job in the PCB. He pretty open advocated for one on his PTV show.

Seems his strategy is to stay in the headlines till PCB make him an offer

Sad part is...experienced phasst bowlers like wahab riaz couldn’t even do well against a team of Kiwi kids. Yet this guy gets rewarded with captaincy of a PSL team.