Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf are genuine all-rounders that need to be backed

Has just downgraded from a decent all rounder to an average one. Batting average needs to be above 30 to reupgrade.

Shadab bowled well in all matches so far and he batted as per situation today to enable Pak to play 50 overs;unfortunately he got run out going for 2 unselfishly. Stop with the unnecessary and unwarranted hatred for young lad.

The last player people used to say this about was Rahat Ali. "Bowled well but extremely unlucky". Turns out he was only mediocre. We will all be here when you grow up and stop confusing Shadab's valid criticism with hatred.

Where did I say he was unlucky in bowling in fact he was not and bowled decently throughout the tournament if you had actually watched the games, took 3 crucial wickets in SA game,got prize wickets in New Zealand and this game. What more you want him to do. What has the so much better spinners Rashid and Santner done in the world cup.. some people are just hating for the sake of hating cause they get jealous a young man with lots of potential in all three facet. If you blaming him for getting run out for the sake of the team then you need help.

Actually last person was Amir so he must be mediocre in your opinion as well.

What’s with the random bump?

He bowled good today, his batting was mediocre as expected. He does have a bit of potential with the bat but that’s all it is at the moment.

Random? He was thoroughly outclassed by Afghan spinners and batted like a number 11.

This drama of Shadab having the knack of taking big wickets will also end soon. It is used to cover his mediocrity for now, but it won’t last forever.

Compared to Mujeeb and Nabi, Shadab was awful and inconsistent. He needs to go back to domestic cricket to find form and then return as a better player. I still believe he has a lot of potential to be a world class spinner.

Turns 1 ball in 20 and can't put bat on ball. The all rounder we deserve but don't need.

Compared to Mujeeb and Nabi, Shadab was awful and inconsistent. He needs to go back to domestic cricket to find form and then return as a better player. I still believe he has a lot of potential to be a world class spinner.

Selfies lainay sai fursat milay tab naa. He was fast tracked into the team due to PSL and now takes everything for granted. We cannot select players on PSL performances anymore.

I'm not too concerned with his batting. Whatever he can add is bonus.

But it's his bowling which is a worry. Other wristspinners are looking a lot more threatening than him.

He needs to spin the ball more. On these pitches other wristspinners are turning it square.

Shadab has been awful in this tournament

He was never a proper spinner, his hero was Steve Smith not Qadir or Shane Warne. Bits and pieces cricketer.

He should go back to FC if he wants a long career, shouldn't focus on his batting and just concentrate on his leg spin.

woah Shadab have bowled extremely well .he could have bowled better when nz was 85/5 .he is taking vital wicket for pakistan which is helping pak immensely .he is least of concern for pak

Need to drop him. He’s no better than Faheem. Both are extremely mediocre. They can’t even middle a ball. Shadab has terrible balance when batting, kept falling over. If he wasn’t out we would’ve lost. He is only good at diving and smiling for the camera. A showoff.

This guy is only fit for diving around, smiling and posing for the cameras. He knows nothing about bowling and batting.

Yesterday, he was totally at sea and was falling sideways when hitting the ball.

Since he is our premier spinner, he needs to pick up 2-3 wickets more regularly. His utility as an all-rounder comes second.

We have to back Shadab. He's obviously not gonna be the finished article yet since he's only 20. Yes there are improvements that he needs to make, but as long as he works hard then he can achieve so much for Pakistan. We've just got to support these young players and give them confidence since its tough when they've got the expectation of a nation on their shoulders.

Random? He was thoroughly outclassed by Afghan spinners and batted like a number 11.

Oh yeah he is obviously no match against the Afghan spinners and his batting is been mediocre for a while but he’s actually bowling well for an all rounder.

Ideally we would like a specialist spinner but he’s doing ok, if he could actually bat a bit then he could be a great second spinner in team.

Since he is our premier spinner, he needs to pick up 2-3 wickets more regularly. His utility as an all-rounder comes second.

It's not his fault that Pak did not select full time spinner to partner him and help him like Afghan spinners and Indian spinners bowl in tandem. Looking at returns of so called world class full time spinners in this world cup I can say he is not doing bad job at all.

We have to back Shadab. He's obviously not gonna be the finished article yet since he's only 20. Yes there are improvements that he needs to make, but as long as he works hard then he can achieve so much for Pakistan. We've just got to support these young players and give them confidence since its tough when they've got the expectation of a nation on their shoulders.

This is a misconception that because a player is only 19 or 20 they will automatically get better. Sometimes they can get worse, just look at Amir. Not a bad bowler by any means, but nowhere near the force of nature he was when he was 18.

We can back youngsters by picking them when they are performing, and dropping them when they aren't. Like Faheem, Shadab isn't really much of a batsman, so he really has to earn his place as a bowler, and he's not really much of a leg spinner at the moment. Poor control and not much turn, he's picked up the odd wicket, but also got hammered for plenty.

He has not been too expensive at all and has taken enough wickets already, and he is not a finished article yet. Pak do not play much cricket so, even if he has been with Pak team just over two year he has not played much compare to say Indian spinners.

It's not his fault that Pak did not select full time spinner to partner him and help him like Afghan spinners and Indian spinners bowl in tandem. Looking at returns of so called world class full time spinners in this world cup I can say he is not doing bad job at all.

By that logic he shouldn't have been selected at all. A mediocre, bits and pieces cricketer who needs to spend some time in the domestics to actually learn how to turn the ball before overdoing variations. Also needs to learn hitting as his 68 SR is not good for the position he plays in.

Stop being a ShadabPremi and be a PakPremi.

This is a misconception that because a player is only 19 or 20 they will automatically get better. Sometimes they can get worse, just look at Amir. Not a bad bowler by any means, but nowhere near the force of nature he was when he was 18.

We can back youngsters by picking them when they are performing, and dropping them when they aren't. Like Faheem, Shadab isn't really much of a batsman, so he really has to earn his place as a bowler, and he's not really much of a leg spinner at the moment. Poor control and not much turn, he's picked up the odd wicket, but also got hammered for plenty.

Amir' s a completely different case because of his ban. I do agree that players can regress rather than improve at that age but I feel like the only way Shadab can get better is for him to keep playing. He struggles with consistency but that's natural at that age especially for a leg spinner which itself is a difficult art to master. We need to try and bring back Mushtaq Ahmed to try and guide with him and for him to hopefully get a county contract next year. But for a 20 year old leg spinner he's not having a bad world cup by any means.

In regards to his batting he needs a lot of work but I think he can improve in the long term. We need to identify what sort of role we want him to fulfil. Do we want him to eventually bat in the middle order at say 5 or do we want him as a finisher done at 7? Once he knows his role, then we have to back him fully and try and make sure he gets as many chances in that position in both domestic and international matches.

He has lots of potential but we have to manage him as effectively as possible to get the best out of him.

By that logic he shouldn't have been selected at all. A mediocre, bits and pieces cricketer who needs to spend some time in the domestics to actually learn how to turn the ball before overdoing variations. Also needs to learn hitting as his 68 SR is not good for the position he plays in.

Stop being a ShadabPremi and be a PakPremi.

What do you not understand about he is having a quite good world cup and contributing with vital wickets, and not giving away 88 runs for no wickets like some world class spinners that you guys lust over. He will improve even more.

Are you Inzamam ul Haq in disguise? Big fan! Just not of your selection of Shadab.

The joke's on you. I consider them just as mediocre.

So what is your solution throw away a promising youngster and retain Malik for another 2 years ?
Or be sensible and groom two more spinners, and the ones that perform best play most games including Shadab. From the recent squad slow bowlers chosen by our dim selectors Shadab is most valuable as he has good potential in two disciplines and is already very good in fielding. For me he has delivered well in his world cup returning from severe illness and lack of game time.

So what is your solution throw away a promising youngster and retain Malik for another 2 years ?
Or be sensible and groom two more spinners, and the ones that perform best play most games including Shadab. From the recent squad slow bowlers chosen by our dim selectors Shadab is most valuable as he has good potential in two disciplines and is already very good in fielding. For me he has delivered well in his world cup returning from severe illness and lack of game time.

None of the spinners in FC or internationals is at par with those from other subcontinental countries. I agree when you say Shadab is the best spin-allrounder currently in Pakistan (official setup). But from an absolute point of view he is a bits and pieces cricketer and all he has is "potential".

My solution is simple. Brute force and select the most promising wrist-spin-allrounders from u19, clubs, grade II and give them two seasons under extreme conditions (batting friendly wickets to test their bowling and bowling friendly wickets to test their batting) and see which ones thrive. Don't give excuses like "He will deteriorate in domestics" or "Why waste time in domestics when he can light the world on fire?".

Also if you give your favorite players excuses such as "wicket was difficult", "returning from illness" and "lack of game time", you are actually playing the same fiddle that the selectors and by extension PCB staff plays. They keep on giving excuses for their failures instead of rectifying the faults. A good player thrives under any condition, and doesn't need "easy wickets", "good health for the last 5 years" and "plenty of game time" to make his mark.

Regarding Shadab's bowling you can take it in one of two ways: "relative to the other bowlers in current tournament" or "relative to other bowlers in general". Shadab fails on both counts.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en..._wickets_career.html?id=12357;type=tournament

In the current tournament, he has an average of 37 and an ER of 5.3. Spinners better than him are: Shakib 30.1/5.6, Tahir 31.5/4.7, Chahal 32.9/6.1, Nabi 31/4.5, Mujeeb 29.6/4.3

Overall, Rashid Khan is a better bowler, whereas their batting is at par with each other.

The worst thing we've done in this last two years is jump on the all rounder bandwagon, which originated from the 2016 England ODI series when people hailed England's all round depth, and invest in all these mediocre bits and pieces.

Shadab, Faheem, Nawaz and Yamin are not good enough in either department to justify selection over a specialist. I have doubts over Imad too.

Bar Coulter-Nile's innings v WI, your #8 batsman is rarely going to win matches with the bat. You're better off picking specialist bowlers so your batsmen need fewer runs to score, who can slug a few like Wahab Riaz.

None of the spinners in FC or internationals is at par with those from other subcontinental countries. I agree when you say Shadab is the best spin-allrounder currently in Pakistan (official setup). But from an absolute point of view he is a bits and pieces cricketer and all he has is "potential".

My solution is simple. Brute force and select the most promising wrist-spin-allrounders from u19, clubs, grade II and give them two seasons under extreme conditions (batting friendly wickets to test their bowling and bowling friendly wickets to test their batting) and see which ones thrive. Don't give excuses like "He will deteriorate in domestics" or "Why waste time in domestics when he can light the world on fire?".

Also if you give your favorite players excuses such as "wicket was difficult", "returning from illness" and "lack of game time", you are actually playing the same fiddle that the selectors and by extension PCB staff plays. They keep on giving excuses for their failures instead of rectifying the faults. A good player thrives under any condition, and doesn't need "easy wickets", "good health for the last 5 years" and "plenty of game time" to make his mark.

Regarding Shadab's bowling you can take it in one of two ways: "relative to the other bowlers in current tournament" or "relative to other bowlers in general". Shadab fails on both counts.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en..._wickets_career.html?id=12357;type=tournament

In the current tournament, he has an average of 37 and an ER of 5.3. Spinners better than him are: Shakib 30.1/5.6, Tahir 31.5/4.7, Chahal 32.9/6.1, Nabi 31/4.5, Mujeeb 29.6/4.3

Overall, Rashid Khan is a better bowler, whereas their batting is at par with each other.

I dont disagree with most what you say in terms of having specialists full time bowlers, but has Shadab really done that bad when he has same number of wickets as Chahal at better economy, albeit at worse average. He has out performed the other world class spinner Kuldeep, and seasoned England spinner Adil Rashid. I care less for individual players as I believe on selection on merit, but at the same time criticising someone who is performing quite good is not on either. If there will be a better player ready to take his place I would have no issue.

I think I’ve figured out the reason why Shadab’s bowling hasn’t been as expected. Shadab epitomizes the millennial mindset where he’s too impatient. Can’t wait and bowl 6 leg spinners on the trot and set the batsman up for the next over. It’s all about trying to get instant results and mixing it up way too often. He needs far more patience to become a dangerous leg spinner but his role has allowed him to get away with just chipping in. Plus he wants to be an all rounder more than being our primary spinner.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">In top 10 of T20I bowling.<a href="https://twitter.com/76Shadabkhan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@76Shadabkhan</a> veeray main aaariya wa tere pichay bach ja zara meri form lagi hui ai veeray&#55357;&#56841;<br><br>Boti tez gaindan ho riyan ne aaj kal tere veer diyan &#55357;&#56613;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/beware?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#beware</a> <a href="https://t.co/vYKIbqXbXH">https://t.co/vYKIbqXbXH</a></p>— Faheem Ashraf (@iFaheemAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/iFaheemAshraf/status/1176804784315043840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Koi nai veer ji apni b googly gir rai hai jaga pe :) 1 number pe nazar hai apni :) abhi bara door hai mera bhai mehnat kar mehnat &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834; <a href="https://t.co/JpAIY2GeqH">https://t.co/JpAIY2GeqH</a></p>— Shadab Khan (@76Shadabkhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/76Shadabkhan/status/1176805928932392960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

So he should sit there and stare at the wall in his free time. Athletes are not robots, they have to relax and as well.

play a computer game, watch a movie etc

chances of making fools of themselves on social media are high and brings unwelcome attention on themselves

Faheem Ashraf is the definition of bits and pieces cricketer. Like if you ever are playing charades you can put his picture up for ‘bits and pieces’

If Shadab and Faheem are genuine all rounders then I'm the Pope.

Shadab hasn't done anything with the bat for 18 months in any format, whilst Faheem could've been replaced by a plate of haleem in the XI and the output would be the same.

Shadab is decent with the bat in tests but Faheem is a tailender and should never play international cricket again.

If Shadab and Faheem are genuine all rounders then I'm the Pope.

Shadab hasn't done anything with the bat for 18 months in any format, whilst Faheem could've been replaced by a plate of haleem in the XI and the output would be the same.

Yes Shadab hasn't done well with the bat in ODIs but he actually has a 50 in each of his last 4 tests.

Both have been off the boil of late.

Shadab is the one who has shown a lot of promise throughout his career but my fear is that too much T20 cricket may damage his skills for the longest format.

Faheem is not good enough, either he needs to make hundreds or take wickets he does neither.

Shadab's bowling is good....so warrants being persisted with. He has more variety than Yasir Shah.

Aamer yameen is Pakistans best all rounder. Obviously, as a deserving international cricketer, he will not be picked by pcb selectors

Both have been off the boil of late.

Shadab is the one who has shown a lot of promise throughout his career but my fear is that too much T20 cricket may damage his skills for the longest format.

Totally agree, but as we have a T20 World Cup next year, him being the 2nd best performing T20 spinner in the world and being one of the key players to why we have achieved 1 ranking its understandable why hes been focusing on the shorter format.

Although for him to be the great leg spinner he is aiming to be, more Test or at least First class cricket is needed.

Pakistan picking style and fielding over ability
If ability was the only criteria Zulfiqar babar would play over Shabab in every format

Same with Faheem and hammad azam

In the social media era players are included more over their haircuts and how media friendly they are and how much they appeal to young uns

Which is a shame if you look at both zulfikhars and azzams careers

Pakistan picking style and fielding over ability
If ability was the only criteria Zulfiqar babar would play over Shabab in every format

Same with Faheem and hammad azam

In the social media era players are included more over their haircuts and how media friendly they are and how much they appeal to young uns

Which is a shame if you look at both zulfikhars and azzams careers

Zulfi uncle should have been picked 10 years ago. He's past it. His batting and fielding was pathetic his bowling wasn't much good either. Lets not forget shadab played a vital role in us winning a test match is England. While hammad bowling is nothing more then sunday league level.

Ok let’s say i agree with you
Next question where is mansoor amjed and why has never been selected the same way Shadab is

Shadab is fine you can't have tail starting at 7 nowadays, though raza is decent for test. Not Odi's. Plus raza is an awful fielder to say the least.

Abdur rehman is another option
He won us that series against England when ajmal was getting pigeon holed

Very defensive bowler and can keep the runs stagnant at one end

Abdur rehman is another option
He won us that series against England when ajmal was getting pigeon holed

Very defensive bowler and can keep the runs stagnant at one end

Saqlain mushtaq and mushtaq ahmed were excellent for us they will do an excellent job. What do you think.

i had high hopes for Fahim but his batting is too poor.... I think Aamer Yamin will probably take over from him ...

shadab needs to pick his socks up and do better in 50 over games.... althogh he had a good WC, better than all spinners (exc Sakib) .... but need to improve his control and variety

He is an excellent bat... but not a smasher.... he could be a good no5 but there are way too many contenders for no5 spot ..irony

Saqlain mushtaq and mushtaq ahmed were excellent for us they will do an excellent job. What do you think.

That was tame, cummon
We need a controlling left arm off spinner and nawaz is not a viable option
Misbah himself if you luk at his records played quite late in his career and blosommed so I don’t see an issue playing the likes of Saeed bin nasr, afaq Rahman or even someone like Zulfiqar

That was tame, cummon
We need a controlling left arm off spinner and nawaz is not a viable option
Misbah himself if you luk at his records played quite late in his career and blosommed so I don’t see an issue playing the likes of Saeed bin nasr, afaq Rahman or even someone like Zulfiqar

What about wasim akram and javed miadad , inzi etc.

Shadab may not be the best but he’s still a decent cricketer imo. Can’t say the same thing about Faheem tho...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">In top 10 of T20I bowling.<a href="https://twitter.com/76Shadabkhan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@76Shadabkhan</a> veeray main aaariya wa tere pichay bach ja zara meri form lagi hui ai veeray��<br><br>Boti tez gaindan ho riyan ne aaj kal tere veer diyan ��<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/beware?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#beware</a> <a href="https://t.co/vYKIbqXbXH">https://t.co/vYKIbqXbXH</a></p>— Faheem Ashraf (@iFaheemAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/iFaheemAshraf/status/1176804784315043840?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Koi nai veer ji apni b googly gir rai hai jaga pe :) 1 number pe nazar hai apni :) abhi bara door hai mera bhai mehnat kar mehnat ������ <a href="https://t.co/JpAIY2GeqH">https://t.co/JpAIY2GeqH</a></p>— Shadab Khan (@76Shadabkhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/76Shadabkhan/status/1176805928932392960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

Faheem at #10? Is this a joke?

Shadab may not be the best but he’s still a decent cricketer imo. Can’t say the same thing about Faheem tho...

fahrem barely got any chances. You cant write him off so soon. shadab played like crap when he first started too.

15 ODI innings, 17 T20I innings, and no score over 30... If anything Faheem has gotten double or even triple the chances he deserves.

Zafar gohar for test and odi's.

He’s not done anything of note since that semi final in 2014
Not sure why nawaz is preferred, nawaz should not play at international level

With shoaib malik retiring , and afridi doing t10s, Pakistan’s line up looks incomplete
Your asking a lot off gohar

Don't think Shadab is very interested in playing tests as he's garnered so much attention for his LO bowling already. Tests aren't glamourous to someone of his age and don't pay the bills. He's also unlikely to be a groundbreaker in the format.

Faheem has had a knack of getting wickets in T20s but his batting has zero consistency and he struggles to score double digits.

Another day, another stellar performance by our “genuine” all-rounders.

These two epitomise the mediocrity Pakistan cricket seems content with.

Lol Shadab is done regardless of the format... faheem is hit or miss. Its time we find other options... let them grind themselves in domestic for good 2 yrs, prove themselves and then bring them in..

Both seem to have been handed this mentality that they are automatic picks, which is ridiculous.

Send them back to domestic, improve in all facets of their cricket and then see where they are.

At the moment both are nose-diving as cricketers.

Three years wasted. We should have cut our losses over 12 months ago. Mickey was utterly deluded over the potential of these mediocrities.

Why and when did we start this all-rounder craze anyway ? I can't recall as many bits and pieces in one team as we've had lately.

I reckon it was after that 2016 England ODI series when everyone was going about how they had batting depth all the way down to #10 that we jumped on the all-rounder bandwagon.

But our thick tank don't realise their all-rounders generally merit a place in the team in one department at least, whereas our pseudo all-rounders don't even merit a place when even you combine BOTH departments !

Why and when did we start this all-rounder craze anyway ? I can't recall as many bits and pieces in one team as we've had lately.

I reckon it was after that 2016 England ODI series when everyone was going about how they had batting depth all the way down to #10 that we jumped on the all-rounder bandwagon.

But our thick tank don't realise their all-rounders generally merit a place in the team in one department at least, whereas our pseudo all-rounders don't even merit a place when even you combine BOTH departments !

Mickey learned a lot from Woolmer, who had a similar obsession with all-rounders. He never played a specialist spinner in ODIs, and tried to force the likes of Afridi and Malik into Test cricketers when we should have partnered Kaneria with another specialist spinner.

This all-rounder obsession indeed started in 2016, and the 2017 PSL proved to be costly because it gave us Shadab and allowed us to completely ignore specialist spinners like Gohar etc.

Misbah’s assessment of all-rounders is actually quite correct, i.e. an all-rounder should be good enough to make the team either as a batsman or as a bowler. However, the problem is that it doesn’t seem that he is going to walk the talk, since neither Shadab nor Faheem are good enough with the bat or with the ball.

Faheem has to be replaced with a pacer and Shadab has to be replaced with a spinner. They are not balancing the team; they are having the opposite effect because they suck at everything they do.

Hafeez and Malik eventually came good, but they were both hard workers and that might just be their generation
Faheem has come off a county stint when he was average in an average northants team

Excuses can be made for shadab in t20is but Faheem should be nowhere near the team based on recent achievements