Shaheen Shah Afridi’s disrespectful tweet to Pakistan cricket and fans

Yes, let’s jump in with the geezer who’s the advert for nepotism. I imagine you’re looking forward to Arsal Sheikh captaining Pakistan soon

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Whosoever is sponsoring this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/sochnabemanahai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#sochnabemanahai</a> campaign is hereby advised to stop, otherwise we will <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Socho?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Socho</a>!</p>— Shakil Shaikh (@shakilsh58) <a href="https://twitter.com/shakilsh58/status/1605907447864066049?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 22, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The thing is....some people are so used to past Pakistani players going after each other in public, staging revolts against their captain, leaking private dressing room stuff to media......hence they are having a hard time to digest this unity and harmony among the current bunch of players under Babar.

Shaheen could've worded it better but I'd rather have this than the 90s culture.

The thing is....some people are so used to past Pakistani players going after each other in public, staging revolts against their captain, leaking private dressing room stuff to media......hence they are having a hard time to digest this unity and harmony among the current bunch of players under Babar.

Shaheen could've worded it better but I'd rather have this than the 90s culture.

what a desperate post :))

What happens when someone else is appointed captain will he continue to tweet in support of Babar. He has dug himself a hole here.

what a desperate post :))

Perhaps you’re too young to remember how the fractured 90s team embarrassed us on the reg because of the lack of unity.

Perhaps you’re too blinded by your own biases to see what’s going to happen. The dressing room will split in two once the old guard (Amir, Akmal, Imad, Sharjeel) returns and things like team cohesion go out the window.

Makes me question if you’re even a Pakistan fan or not.

Perhaps you’re too young to remember how the fractured 90s team embarrassed us on the reg because of the lack of unity.

Perhaps you’re too blinded by your own biases to see what’s going to happen. The dressing room will split in two once the old guard (Amir, Akmal, Imad, Sharjeel) returns and things like team cohesion go out the window.

Makes me question if you’re even a Pakistan fan or not.

I am not your enemy. Don’t vent your frustrations out on me

If you want to support rebellion, so be it.

I was expecting a drunken tirade against fans, management, Jews and Aliens.

And all I get is a generic tweet backing his captain? Just like any generic athlete in any sport?

How old are you OP? 9 ?

And all I get is a generic tweet backing his captain? Just like any generic athlete in any sport?

How old are you OP? 9 ?

Same age as Shaheen

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Whosoever is sponsoring this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/sochnabemanahai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#sochnabemanahai</a> campaign is hereby advised to stop, otherwise we will <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Socho?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Socho</a>!</p>— Shakil Shaikh (@shakilsh58) <a href="https://twitter.com/shakilsh58/status/1605907447864066049?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 22, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Beautiful.

Shakil Shaikh not coming slow.

How old are you OP? 9 ?

I may be wrong but I can’t recall any non Pakistani cricketer ever tweeting in support of their captain when things are going bad.

Tweeting and telling people not to even “think about it” is just weird.

Usually athletes will show support for their captains when being asked about it in PC’s and post/pre match interviews.

Our players (their agents) speak when they don’t need to, just stay quiet and respond when asked.

The same dressing room that leaked the DinnerGate.

Shakil Sheikh tweeted a list of rifts that are going on between the players. I know the tweet and those rifts are genuine because one of the points are undeniable. He is an ITK.

These guys are only united when they go out for Kebabs and burgers!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SochnaBeManaHai?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SochnaBeManaHai</a> Qalandars❤️ <a href="https://t.co/ucGAN3jfgf">https://t.co/ucGAN3jfgf</a></p>— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iShaheenAfridi/status/1605914890597797890?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 22, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Is something not right with him?

Is he trying to get himself sacked from PCB central contract and PSL captaincy?
He did this in response to Ghunda Shakel Sheikh, guess you conveniently forgot to put that tweet?.lol

Pakistan Cricket Overhaul: Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf warned after tweets in support of Babar Azam, New Chief Sethi sends clear message, ‘No more Shenanigans’

Pakistan Cricket Overhaul: Shaheen Afridi: The new cricket management committee of the PCB has made it clear that centrally contracted players need to abide by their contractual clauses and no breach will be tolerated in this regard.

A well-informed source said that Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani, in particular, were reminded that it is not their job to tweet in favour of who should be Pakistan’s captain.

Shaheen and Haris had tweeted openly, supporting Babar as captain and even warned that no one should think about changing him after the 0-3 series defeat against England this month.But Shaheen has now deleted that tweet after the new board set-up, including chairman Najam Sethi, informed the players that their job was to focus on cricket and perform well as professionals for the country.

“Sethi has given out a clear message that no more shenanigans on social media or breaches of central contracts will be tolerated from any player,” the source said. Ramiz Raja, who was removed as chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) by the country’s government, had given plenty of liberty to the players during his tenure, allowing them to interact a lot on social media.

But the players have now been told that they must avoid making comments on matters which are purely the domain of the cricket board. Pakistan captain Babar Azam said at a pre-match conference on Sunday that the changes in the board would not affect the players as they are professionals and are supposed to perform for the country.

“There have been changes but we are not concerned with that, our main focus is to win the series against New Zealand.

We have no say in matters of the board,” he said. Babar, whose Test captaincy is on the line after the whitewash against England, said that interim chief selector Shahid Afridi had spoken to him before adding three more players to the national squad for the two Tests against New Zealand.

Pace bowlers, Mir Hamza and Shahnawaz Dahani and off-spinner, Sajid Khan were added to the squad by the new national selection committee that also includes Abdul Razzaq, Rao Iftikher and Haroon Rasheed.

https://www.insidesport.in/pakistan...-clear-message-no-more-shenanigans-check-out/

Pakistan Cricket Overhaul: Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf warned after tweets in support of Babar Azam, New Chief Sethi sends clear message, ‘No more Shenanigans’

Pakistan Cricket Overhaul: Shaheen Afridi: The new cricket management committee of the PCB has made it clear that centrally contracted players need to abide by their contractual clauses and no breach will be tolerated in this regard.

A well-informed source said that Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani, in particular, were reminded that it is not their job to tweet in favour of who should be Pakistan’s captain.

Shaheen and Haris had tweeted openly, supporting Babar as captain and even warned that no one should think about changing him after the 0-3 series defeat against England this month.But Shaheen has now deleted that tweet after the new board set-up, including chairman Najam Sethi, informed the players that their job was to focus on cricket and perform well as professionals for the country.

“Sethi has given out a clear message that no more shenanigans on social media or breaches of central contracts will be tolerated from any player,” the source said. Ramiz Raja, who was removed as chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) by the country’s government, had given plenty of liberty to the players during his tenure, allowing them to interact a lot on social media.

But the players have now been told that they must avoid making comments on matters which are purely the domain of the cricket board. Pakistan captain Babar Azam said at a pre-match conference on Sunday that the changes in the board would not affect the players as they are professionals and are supposed to perform for the country.

“There have been changes but we are not concerned with that, our main focus is to win the series against New Zealand.

We have no say in matters of the board,” he said. Babar, whose Test captaincy is on the line after the whitewash against England, said that interim chief selector Shahid Afridi had spoken to him before adding three more players to the national squad for the two Tests against New Zealand.

Pace bowlers, Mir Hamza and Shahnawaz Dahani and off-spinner, Sajid Khan were added to the squad by the new national selection committee that also includes Abdul Razzaq, Rao Iftikher and Haroon Rasheed.

https://www.insidesport.in/pakistan...-clear-message-no-more-shenanigans-check-out/

So, I wasn’t wrong that this is rebellious action by centrally contracted players?

Sign o' times:

Tweets in support of your captain are now considered Bad! Seems like the good ol' days of rebellion in the dressing room are needed.

Sign o' times:

Tweets in support of your captain are now considered Bad! Seems like the good ol' days of rebellion in the dressing room are needed.

Who says you can’t support your captain?

The issue is with telling fans, supporters and key decision makers that it is prohibited to even think about anyone else to become the captain

His personal opinion is fine in his personal realm, not when he is employed by the company that holds the initiative to elect its captain/leader

What was halal yesterday is now haraam because the new people are in charge. You make some silly comments but this is the silliest of all.

What have I said that is silly on this subject?

That some how it's controversial for a player to offer support to his captain. It shows how fickle these mafia guys are that any opinion that makes uncomfortable has to be stopped. I hope that he ain't eliminated like Arshad Sharif

its fine to send a tweet supporting your captain but telling so called decision makers sochnabemanahai is potentially a rebellious tweet

You cant say that Theres a fine line between supporting your captain and sending a message like this to management

Wow.

Dude it’s just cricket.

its fine to send a tweet supporting your captain but telling so called decision makers sochnabemanahai is potentially a rebellious tweet

You cant say that Theres a fine line between supporting your captain and sending a message like this to management

By the very fact that you offer support means you are sending a message of support and I think that creates the team spirit and trust we lack.

Showing support for your current captain is nothing wrong. Maybe he could have worded it better.

If the new management wants the players to stop tweeting like this then they should be told in person rather than having a clown like Shakil Shaikh doing the same thing through tweeting. He showed himself to be even more immature than the players.

And what's with your tone creating a post talking down Shaheen about his achievements? He's probably done more for Pakistan already than you have. He's allowed to voice his opinion for the profession he is EMPLOYED in. Will hopefully mature with time.

Babar Azam asked about this in presser:

"Everyone has their own mindset. Journalists also start such things so it was similar to that"

"This shows unity among players. And, this wasn't for only me, but we support every cricketer like this. After you lose, such things happen"

By the very fact that you offer support means you are sending a message of support and I think that creates the team spirit and trust we lack.

People here have short memories. Everyone’s forgotten about how fractured the 90s team was, and how that actively got in the way of the team truly achieving great things. Others have forgotten episodes such as oath gate, and Salman Butt splintering the team in terms of his fixing activities.

One of the great parts of any successful team is when there’s true unity. Yes, Pakistan are not the finished product and need some tweaking, but slandering your most important fast bowler for standing up for his captain ain’t it.

I’ll agree that it was purely worded, but supporting his captain is commendable. As regards Shakeel Shaikh, he’s already shown his level by succumbing to the level of the very tweet he opposed.

Lol all he's doing is backing his captain.

It's not a political statement/tweet.

You see sportsmen back their managers/captains often. Nothing new in this.

Think you're looking too deep into this tbh.

Thats not how you back your captain. He is acting like a dictator telling people to follow his command or go away. He think this team is his personal team and not of Pakistan public. Disgraceful behavior. He should be fined and/or suspended for this statement. Who the hell he think he is?

Showing support for your current captain is nothing wrong. Maybe he could have worded it better.

If the new management wants the players to stop tweeting like this then they should be told in person rather than having a clown like Shakil Shaikh doing the same thing through tweeting. He showed himself to be even more immature than the players.

And what's with your tone creating a post talking down Shaheen about his achievements? He's probably done more for Pakistan already than you have. He's allowed to voice his opinion for the profession he is EMPLOYED in. Will hopefully mature with time.

Jo Likha, uspe qaim hoon

Until Shaheen achieves the heights of true legends of Pakistan cricket, until then uske liye #sochnaBhiManaHai that he should tell the people of Pakistan what is prohibited to think about.

Jo Likha, uspe qaim hoon

Until Shaheen achieves the heights of true legends of Pakistan cricket, until then uske liye #sochnaBhiManaHai that he should tell the people of Pakistan what is prohibited to think about.

And what's your take on Shakil Shaikh tweeting like a 20 year old in reply? Is that how a senior member of board supposed to act? If they want to forbid players to do stuff like that, they should tell them privately instead of creating a media circus.

Back in training with Rauf

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/xnqk84" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Media reports saying that Shaheen Shah Afridi has withdrawn himself from the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

He was scheduled to travel to Bangladesh to represent Comilla Victorians in BPL.

But, the pacer will now continue his rehabilitation in the country ahead of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8.

Media reports saying that Shaheen Shah Afridi has withdrawn himself from the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

He was scheduled to travel to Bangladesh to represent Comilla Victorians in BPL.

But, the pacer will now continue his rehabilitation in the country ahead of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8.

Sanity prevails

Every LQ tweet has the tag #sochnabemanahai

Seems they aren't listening to Shakil

Seems all hawa nikal gayee

LQ using that tag in every tweet.

Shaikh doesn't have the guts to ask them again.

Good to see that. Great of Qalandars to back their stars (Shaheen and Haris). Ofc they have backing of the well connected Javed Afridi so they are able to stand tall in the face of the opressive and corrupt Shakeel Shaikh.

Seems all hawa nikal gayee

LQ using that tag in every tweet.

Shaikh doesn't have the guts to ask them again.

c5MvsFV.png

Haan bhai sochna mana hai!

Think harder and avoid such humiliating defeats :shhh

What's this about?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Zindagi mein aik aisa lamha aata hai jo zindagi bana deta hai. <br><br>Cricket is my life and this is the moment, the day I started at zero and it was the best moment of my life.<br><br>When you are at Zero, you have the hunger, the will, the passion to do so much more. To never stop!<br><br>Do… <a href="https://t.co/r04DsHk25y">pic.twitter.com/r04DsHk25y</a></p>— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iShaheenAfridi/status/1652407015699013632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

What's this about?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Zindagi mein aik aisa lamha aata hai jo zindagi bana deta hai. <br><br>Cricket is my life and this is the moment, the day I started at zero and it was the best moment of my life.<br><br>When you are at Zero, you have the hunger, the will, the passion to do so much more. To never stop!<br><br>Do… <a href="https://t.co/r04DsHk25y">pic.twitter.com/r04DsHk25y</a></p>— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iShaheenAfridi/status/1652407015699013632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Got rested so he is 0?

What's this about?

Got rested so he is 0?

You guys really overthink.

He is just looking back at his career, the day when he started.

I guess sudden humility needs to be highlighted and appreciated?

What's this about?

So what number is he at now? 100?

Not being nasty but I don't think he knows what's been tweeted on his behalf. He may have expressed some sentiments to his social media guy who has probably made a meal of it.

While talking to Lahore Qalandars' media team, Shaheen Shah Afridi said:

"Sochna bhi mana hai was Qalandars' #tag, but I used it for Babar as he leads Pakistan with his best intentions and wins games. Supporting the captain in tough times is crucial. Babar and I have no conflict, hence, we ignore external voices."

While talking to Lahore Qalandars' media team, Shaheen Shah Afridi said:

"Sochna bhi mana hai was Qalandars' #tag, but I used it for Babar as he leads Pakistan with his best intentions and wins games. Supporting the captain in tough times is crucial. Babar and I have no conflict, hence, we ignore external voices."
Where was #sochnabhimanahai when PCB offered him the role to lead Pakistan?

I have said before- with his bowling workload- he will be a disastrous t20 captain for pak and it's turning out that way. Make a younger batsman the captain and give him a go- cant do worse

Imagine the repercussions of this decision. Any Pakistani captain will be wetting his pants if he fails as captain in the PSL. Even Kohli failed in the IPL as captain but it had no impact on his Indian leadership. PCB needs to realize that T-20 Franchise Leadership is completely different from leading the national side.

Shaheen Shah is a loyal person and a warrior for Pakistan cricket. Despite his dip in form after returning from injury, I have never doubted his commitment for Pakistan and I am certain he will flourish under Babar’s captaincy like he did before.

Just sums up where Pakistan cricket stand, no planning no vision and no objective , snatch and run is their mantra