Shahid Afridi confirms availability for HBL in the One Day Cup final

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1281085/afridi-confirms-availability-hbl-one-day-cup-final/

KARACHI: Former Pakistan T20 captain Shahid Afridi, who was unavailable for the group matches and semi-final, will participate in the final for Habib Bank Limited (HBL) against Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGC) which is scheduled for Monday at National Stadium of Karachi (NSK).

The head coach of HBL Kabir Khan confirmed to The Express Tribune that Afridi will be available for the final of the National One Day Departmental Cup.

“Afridi has assured that he is available and will be traveling to Karachi to represent HBL in the final on Monday,” he said.

The 36-year old, who recently represented Rangpur Riders in the 2016 Bangladesh Premier League, last made his appearance for HBL twice at the first-class level in the previous three seasons. Afridi is expected to arrive today [Sunday] in Karachi to participate in practice with the team at NSK.

Despite the return of the star all-rounder, the team is expected to be led by in-form Ahmed Shehzad in the final. The right-hand opener scored a century (116 runs) in the semi-final against SNGPL to steer his side into the final.

The 25-year-old skipper, courtesy three centuries and five half-centuries in the tournament, is the top-scorer of the tournament with 585 runs in eight matches. He also bettered the record of most tons and half-tons in a single season of List A matches.

So,he will take the spot of a player who has played the entire season and may/may not have performed?

Should not have been allowed to play.If he wants to play,he should play all the matches.

So,he will take the spot of a player who has played the entire season and may/may not have performed?

Should not have been allowed to play.If he wants to play,he should play all the matches.
Nice jokes from joker!!! And managements allowing him to continue this jokes!!!

The poor domestic player who has fought hard to reach the final will now be kicked out because of this mafia!!!

Why is this joke being allowed to play when he wasn't there to take the team to the final ??

This is like those wrestlers who are on the road 350+ days a year and when it comes to their big moment at wrestlemania their spot is taken by part timers like The Rock [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION] :mv Afridi can not play!

Most likely at the expense of some player who has helped HBL reach the final and will now have to carry the drinks in the final.

Guess may result in more people coming in to watch the game.

An utterly stupid decision of the team management to let him play.

Still going to go to watch the game tomorrow though :).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi wants to play in the One-Day Cup Final for HBL. Last time he played a domestic 50 over game in Pakistan was Jan 2014 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/815574218259791872">January 1, 2017</a></blockquote>

happens everywhere. if Kohli wants to play Ranji trophy do you blame him too! it's more like to attract people since he retired from odi format and still people blaming him. jelly people's :sanga :afridi

Yeh sahi hai yaar.. don't play a single match, come and play the final and if your team wins the final you take home the winner's medal/prize money.

happens everywhere. if Kohli wants to play Ranji trophy do you blame him too! it's more like to attract people since he retired from odi format and still people blaming him. jelly people's :sanga :afridi

Difference is Afridi is way past his expiry date whereas Kohli is in the form of his life

not much difference. past or not Afridi still attract people and that what mgt wants! Afridi didn't gain much by this participating (if it was Kohli then we can say he's preparing for upcoming match). still I see a player Zohaib Khan who has inferior record to Afridi in HBL XI. so deserving one not replaced by him.

In past YK costed his team when he played final in similar fashion.but that was 5 day match.

Afridi and his paymasters are finding out that when you are out of sight in your only lucrative market then you are out of their mind too. As a result the endorsements dry up fast.

This is another corrupt attempt to get his name in to a major national tournament and to get cricketing fans to start talking about him again and to start the song and dance about a national recall.

This man's lust for money and total disrespect for the game and his country says all you need to know.

When Misbah and co used to show up for SNGPL in the QA trophy final, it was all fine because they are supposedly 'gentlemen.' But it is all wrong if Afridi does so. He is coming at the request of management, not like he was desperate himself to play. And just because they are in final, doesn't mean all 11 players in that team are undropable. If you see some performer get dropped, you can complain. But most probably, you don't even know the names of half the players of HBL, but can't really miss any opportunity to have a go at Afridi.

They had a reason to play. They were serving the national team. They needed all the in game practice they could get.

Afridi on the other hand, hasn't played 50 over domestic for two years. Why come back now?

How many first-class games did Misbah and Co play in the season they played in the final?

How many 50 over games has Afridi played this season?

No need to make a big deal out of it, happens all the time, even in other sports.

End of the day, you want to give yourself the best chance of winning, and that includes picking your best players if available.

Its like a football team who rests all the big players in Cup tournaments, but when they get to the latter stages they usually start with their best players.

No need to make a big deal out of it, happens all the time, even in other sports.

End of the day, you want to give yourself the best chance of winning, and that includes picking your best players if available.

Its like a football team who rests all the big players in Cup tournaments, but when they get to the latter stages they usually start with their best players.

Totally agree!

Which football players played in a final TWO years after retirement?

It's not fine for any player to play directly in finals. Same rules apply on all.

In two cases, YK joined the team in final and as a captain!! and lost the final.

If players need match practice, then they should plan properly and play several round matches also.

Unfortunately, we worship heros so this practice is here to stay.

Afridi and his paymasters are finding out that when you are out of sight in your only lucrative market then you are out of their mind too. As a result the endorsements dry up fast.

This is another corrupt attempt to get his name in to a major national tournament and to get cricketing fans to start talking about him again and to start the song and dance about a national recall.

This man's lust for money and total disrespect for the game and his country says all you need to know.

there's PSL and he's still Zalmies icon. so you just being a blind hater of him here.

So, players should be picked on the hope they add to the crowd and hopefully the interest level.

Feel sorry for the guy who gets dropped.

there's PSL and he's still Zalmies icon. so you just being a blind hater of him here.

Sure there is.

Two weeks of poor performance is more than sufficient to satiate a 52 week attention span.

Continue your mental gymnastics.

Does logic mean anything to you??

Misbah specially is the only high profile player who regularly plays domestic cricket even when he's a settled part of the team.

And he can only play domestic when there's no international outing!

So he joins whenever he has no nationality duty.

Don't post misinformation.

How many first-class games did Misbah and Co play in the season they played in the final?

Misbah 3, out of a possible 8 he could have played after the England series. After that, he played just one game in the list A tournament, when he had no upcoming commitment for next 5,6 months. Misbah's designation in SNGPL is Chief Officer and he draws around 3-4 lac per month salary from the company. So, for 40 lac per annum, Misbah played a total of 4 first class games and 1 list A game, costing around 8 lac per game.

Does logic mean anything to you??

Misbah specially is the only high profile player who regularly plays domestic cricket even when he's a settled part of the team.

And he can only play domestic when there's no international outing!

So he joins whenever he has no nationality duty.

Don't post misinformation.

You are posting because of the perception you have in mind. As I have posted, he played 4 out of 9 first class games and 1 out of 7 list A games. He played against England in the start of November 2015 and then his next commitment was in July 2016. So, it's better than you learn a bit of logic and knowledge before pointing fingers towards others.

Misbah 3, out of a possible 8 he could have played after the England series. After that, he played just one game in the list A tournament, when he had no upcoming commitment for next 5,6 months. Misbah's designation in SNGPL is Chief Officer and he draws around 3-4 lac per month salary from the company. So, for 40 lac per annum, Misbah played a total of 4 first class games and 1 list A game, costing around 8 lac per game.

Do you know what a first-class game is?

You are posting because of the perception you have in mind. As I have posted, he played 4 out of 9 first class games and 1 out of 7 list A games. He played against England in the start of November 2015 and then his next commitment was in July 2016. So, it's better than you learn a bit of logic and knowledge before pointing fingers towards others.

And how many 50 over games has Afridi played?

First class games for SNGPL, if that your point is. So, 4 out of possible 9 he could have played without any clash to his national team commitments and 1 out of 7 list A games that he could have played.

Otherwise would he even entertain the idea of playing domestic cricket? for a long time he has felt he's above that level which is proven by the fact that he has only played a few times for HBL in the last 3 seasons combined.

First class games for SNGPL, if that your point is. So, 4 out of possible 9 he could have played without any clash to his national team commitments and 1 out of 7 list A games that he could have played.

First class games includes Test matches and first-class games for Pakistan.

It's best to understand a concept before commenting on it.

I understand the concept pretty well. It's best to comprehend what other is saying before commenting to it. I meant first class games for SNGPL as I explicitly wrote.

That isn't what was asked was it?

Why couldn't you answer the question being asked?

Why haven't you answered the question relating to the number of 50 over games Afridi has played anywhere in the world?

Otherwise would he even entertain the idea of playing domestic cricket? for a long time he has felt he's above that level which is proven by the fact that he has only played a few times for HBL in the last 3 seasons combined.

It's just the nature of celebrity. Once you are out of the limelight, no matter how big a star you may have been your relevance diminishes.

That's why we see so many stars of the pasts do outlandish things to stay relevant. We have TV shows dedicated exclusively to them.

Why haven't you answered the question relating to the number of 50 over games Afridi has played anywhere in the world?

Nice try. You were the one making futile efforts to take a dig at me over what a first class game is. And I have already answered your question.

And how many 50 over games has Afridi played?

It will be same as Misbah's number of 50 over games last season.

Nice try. You were the one making futile efforts to take a dig at me over what a first class game is. And I have already answered your question.

Here is the sequence of the posts.

Funnily none of the questions have been answered.

Yeah, nice try indeed.

Here is the sequence of the posts.

Funnily none of the questions have been answered.

Yeah, nice try indeed.

Funnily, you are highlighting your lack of comprehension again. Carry on. Keep living in your bubble.

There is nothing wrong with coming just to play a final of a tournament and have a player taken out who has been part of the team from the start?

Well he is our poster boy and the crowd want to see him play the final at the request of the management. We're not going to see him play for much longer.

Tomorrow when the final takes place, I expect Afridi to lead his team to victory, and then people will realise why he was selected.

Afridi hasn't retired. Stated a number of times that he feels good and thinks he can still do a job for the team.
The board has already said Afridi isn't in their plan anymore. Therefore, it's over for Afridi in the international circuit.
Well he is our poster boy and the crowd want to see him play the final at the request of the management. We're not going to see him play for much longer.

Tomorrow when the final takes place, I expect Afridi to lead his team to victory, and then people will realise why he was selected.
He may score a 20 ball hundred and get 10 wickets in 10 balls. But that doesn't mean he should come in to play just the finals.

Guys, you have to see how this isn't morally correct.

Funnily, you are highlighting your lack of comprehension again. Carry on. Keep living in your bubble.

I've clearly shown that you haven't answered the question and how vacuous your point was.

As you are such an expert on comprehension, why don't you highlight my failing for all to see and for me in particular.

That shouldn't de difficult for someone as "intelligent" as yourself.

Afridi hasn't retired. Stated a number of times that he feels good and thinks he can still do a job for the team.

Oh but he has retired from 50 over cricket.

As the truth and facts are an unnecessary evil for the Afridi cult, lets but them aside.

To substantiate your analogy please let us know how many 50 over games Afridi has played anywhere in the world this year?

And please show us examples of footballers who haven't played any football and then played a final?

The board has already said Afridi isn't in their plan anymore. Therefore, it's over for Afridi in the international circuit.

He may score a 20 ball hundred and get 10 wickets in 10 balls. But that doesn't mean he should come in to play just the finals.

Guys, you have to see how this isn't morally correct.

This is the nature of sport, the objective is to win trophies as this is what you are ultimately judged on.

Moral values are fine however it will usually come down to priorities.

Let me ask a question, would you rather have a 50% chance of winning a trophy and be seen as morally correct, or a 70% chance of winning and be known as ruthless?

Oh but he has retired from 50 over cricket.

As the truth and facts are an unnecessary evil for the Afridi cult, lets but them aside.

To substantiate your analogy please let us know how many 50 over games Afridi has played anywhere in the world this year?

And please show us examples of footballers who haven't played any football and then played a final?

To answer your first question, although he hasn't played 50 over cricket internationally, he has been involved at domestic level. He took part in the Royal London Cup this year for Hampshire. As long as he is signed up for a team, which in this case is UBL, he has every right to represent when he wants. Also, I am fairly confident Afridi would have been approached by someone at UBL to take part and not just demanded a spot in the team.

Regarding your second question, I am not sure if you follow English football, but during the early rounds of the FA Cup and league cup, teams rest players and give youngsters opportunities. It is not until the latter stages where the main players will start to be selected.

Afridi talks about "doing a job" for his team. What job would that be ? The trademark eyes closed mishit down midwicket's throat resulting in his dismissal of 0 (2) ? Only in Pakistan could such a mediocre player be given such a free ride for years.

Here's a man who chewed on a Kookaburra as if it was a portion of his 5-A-Day live on worldwide TV then claimed he was just "smelling the ball."

Here's a man who ran like a coward and walked out on leading his country in the middle of a Test series. Here's a man who uses his favoured journalists to lobby for him and do his dirty work, and leaks team selections to them.

His batting nowadays is no different from the average gulli danda tape ball hack and his fast leg-spinners frighten no batting team other than Kenya, Canada and Tanzania which is more his level these days.

Yet whenever people mentioned these facts to his diehards online they'd reply "but but he's an aggressive lamb eating beast with excellent body language" or such nonsense.

HBL should've used this final to give a youngster an opportunity of playing not even a has-been but a never-was.

To answer your first question, although he hasn't played 50 over cricket internationally, he has been involved at domestic level. He took part in the Royal London Cup this year for Hampshire. As long as he is signed up for a team, which in this case is UBL, he has every right to represent when he wants. Also, I am fairly confident Afridi would have been approached by someone at UBL to take part and not just demanded a spot in the team.

Regarding your second question, I am not sure if you follow English football, but during the early rounds of the FA Cup and league cup, teams rest players and give youngsters opportunities. It is not until the latter stages where the main players will start to be selected.

I'm having quite some difficulty getting answers for some very simple questions.

Of course you are confident of how Afridi was included, shame you're short on evidence.

Secondly, the players that only play in the latter stages of the knock-out tournaments play absolutely no football? No league games and then suddenly just turn up and play a final?

This is the nature of sport, the objective is to win trophies as this is what you are ultimately judged on.

Moral values are fine however it will usually come down to priorities.

Let me ask a question, would you rather have a 50% chance of winning a trophy and be seen as morally correct, or a 70% chance of winning and be known as ruthless?

Why is a player who has played international cricket for over 20 years be judged on winning a domestic tournament?

The purpose of domestic tournaments is to see who is capable to play for the national side. Afridi is finished in international cricket so why take the opportunity from someone else too?

I'm having quite some difficulty getting answers for some very simple questions.

Of course you are confident of how Afridi was included, shame you're short on evidence.

Secondly, the players that only play in the latter stages of the knock-out tournaments play absolutely no football? No league games and then suddenly just turn up and play a final?

One match in June 2016, which is his only 50-over match since the World Cup QF against Australia.

This is where your wrong. He hasn't just turned up from his living room following a sabbatical has he?

He has played regular cricket over the past year even if it has just been the 20 over format. So he clearly has game fitness, you are talking as if he hasn't held ball or bat for the past year.

In football terms this would be more like a player who regularly plays 60 minutes and puts a shift in for his team and is selected for a final.
Not someone who has just turned up as you mention.

Why is a player who has played international cricket for over 20 years be judged on winning a domestic tournament?

The purpose of domestic tournaments is to see who is capable to play for the national side. Afridi is finished in international cricket so why take the opportunity from someone else too?

I am talking about HBL's point of view. Of course they would like to win the tournament which would benefit them financially. If they think they have a better chance of doing it with Afridi in the side then there shouldn't be a problem as technically he is their player.

Then shouldn't Afridi say no to HBL realizing that another player has worked hard for the whole season just to win the tournament and now that player would have to sit out just because a big name who didn't move an inch wants to play?

This is where your wrong. He hasn't just turned up from his living room following a sabbatical has he?

He has played regular cricket over the past year even if it has just been the 20 over format. So he clearly has game fitness, you are talking as if he hasn't held ball or bat for the past year.

In football terms this would be more like a player who regularly plays 60 minutes and puts a shift in for his team and is selected for a final.
Not someone who has just turned up as you mention.

So he hasn't played any 50 over cricket.

You can't mention any players that didn't play a game all season and then played a final.

Maybe arithmetic isn't your strong suit.

20-20 is 40% of a 50 over game not 67% which 60 minutes of football would be. But yet again that is a poor analogy because they are different formats. Have there been players who have played regular 5-a-side football and then played a final?

Is Afridi deriving a salary from HBL?

How many matches? What were his performances like in the Royal London Cup?

So he hasn't played any 50 over cricket.

You can't mention any players that didn't play a game all season and then played a final.

Maybe arithmetic isn't your strong suit.

20-20 is 40% of a 50 over game not 67% which 60 minutes of football would be. But yet again that is a poor analogy because they are different formats. Have there been players who have played regular 5-a-side football and then played a final?

You are always changing the goalposts to suit your agenda. Instead of trying to understand the analogy, you are trying to compare the two situations literally, which of course is never going to work.

Afridi has been active this year which means if he is called upon, he is ready perform. You are talking as if 50 overs would be too much for him because he hasnt played much over the past year.

You are always changing the goalposts to suit your agenda. Instead of trying to understand the analogy, you are trying to compare the two situations literally, which of course is never going to work.

Afridi has been active this year which means if he is called upon, he is ready perform. You are talking as if 50 overs would be too much for him because he hasnt played much over the past year.

I'm changing the goal posts? Of course I am, whatever helps you sleep at night.

So, the format is irrelevant? Very insightful.

Let's delve in to your analogy further.

How many times has a player not played for a football team all season and then played a final?

How many games has Afridi played for HBL this season?

That I do not know, but as I said, if he is eligible to play for them, then there should not be a fuss if he is selected.

Maybe questions need to be asked if he is.

If he is then this stinks of corruption.

Selected based on his 50 over performances?

I'm changing the goal posts? Of course I am, whatever helps you sleep at night.

So, the format is irrelevant? Very insightful.

Let's delve in to your analogy further.

How many times has a player not played for a football team all season and then played a final?

How many games has Afridi played for HBL this season?

My analogy was a simple example of how players can at times play in finals despite missing the early stages.
Obviously as it is a different sport, you cannot take it too seriously.

Afridi has had other commitments this year which meant his playing time for HBL has been limited. As he is still on their books though, he is eligible to play, regardless of how many appearances he has made this season. Thats all there is to it. If you want to criticise someone, it should be the person who is selecting him in the first place.

My analogy was a simple example of how players can at times play in finals despite missing the early stages.
Obviously as it is a different sport, you cannot take it too seriously.

Afridi has had other commitments this year which meant his playing time for HBL has been limited. As he is still on their books though, he is eligible to play, regardless of how many appearances he has made this season. Thats all there is to it. If you want to criticise someone, it should be the person who is selecting him in the first place.

Let me break this down for as you are incapable off doing so or are being deliberately disingenuous.

The players that miss the cup games in football are playing regularly in league games, most of the time that very same week. So please don't try to insult out intelligence. Plus they aren't playing the odd 5-a-side game on the other side of the world, which is then used to justify their selection.

Please give a single example that even comes close to the Afridi situation.

Is this a difficult concept for you to grasp?

Let me break this down for as you are incapable off doing so or are being deliberately disingenuous.

The players that miss the cup games in football are playing regularly in league games, most of the time that very same week. So please don't try to insult out intelligence. Plus they aren't playing the odd 5-a-side game on the other side of the world, which is then used to justify their selection.

Please give a single example that even comes close to the Afridi situation.

Is this a difficult concept for you to grasp?

You sound like a broken record, constantly repeating the same rubbish over and over again. As I said it is a different sport so stop trying to compare the two literally.

You say footballers play regular, when missing cups but that is exactly my point. Afridi has not been sitting idle for the past few months he has also been playing regularly. It may not have been for HBL, but thats what I am saying, he had other commitments.

It is not just as simple as saying footballers play during the weekend regularly. Cricket is different, you are not assigned to just one team, and can have multiple contracts running. Stop trying to compare the two like for like, as it is like comparing apples and oranges.

You sound like a broken record, constantly repeating the same rubbish over and over again. As I said it is a different sport so stop trying to compare the two literally.

You say footballers play regular, when missing cups but that is exactly my point. Afridi has not been sitting idle for the past few months he has also been playing regularly. It may not have been for HBL, but thats what I am saying, he had other commitments.

It is not just as simple as saying footballers play during the weekend regularly. Cricket is different, you are not assigned to just one team, and can have multiple contracts running. Stop trying to compare the two like for like, as it is like comparing apples and oranges.

During the HBL campaign how many games has Afridi played anywhere in the world?

How many games has he played in the same format?

Simple questions.

Afridi is not the only senior player blocking the deserving spot of a youngster, Misbah and Yunis Khan are doing the same in national team, whats the difference ?

When they are selected after only play one game in two years then you can compare.

During the HBL campaign how many games has Afridi played anywhere in the world?

How many games has he played in the same format?

Simple questions.

Afridi played in the recently concluded BPL so it is likely he would have needed some time off for recovery. Now that he is available, he is selected. Whether this decision is fair or unfair, is open for debate and if you want to criticise anyone, it should be the people who decide the playing 11.

Difference being that Lala is a genuine Superstar of the game.

Zohaib Khan is the all-rounder who will be replaced (most likely).

His performances:

2/45
1/49
0/38, 29*
1/44, 13
15, 3/32
11, 1/40
6*

Afridi on the other hand last played OD cricket (50 overs) in June. :murali

Afridi played in the recently concluded BPL so it is likely he would have needed some time off for recovery. Now that he is available, he is selected. Whether this decision is fair or unfair, is open for debate and if you want to criticise anyone, it should be the people who decide the playing 11.

How many games has he played anywhere in the world during the HBL campaign? A number please with dates.

How many 50 over games has he played?

What 50 over form has he shown that would justify his selection and also validate your football analogy?

Are you saying section across formats is of no relevance?

How many games did he play in the Royal London Cup?

Why are you not answering these questions, yet you claim I am moving the goal posts?