'Shame on you' - Aakash Chopra lashes out at Pakistan cricketers

Aakash Chopra speaking on his YouTube channel regarding allegations that India lost the WC game vs England intentionally to keep Pakistan out of the semi-finals

"Some people claim that India deliberately lost their game against England in the World Cup"

"I am wearing a shirt which says 'Sharam not found' - Yaar think a bit - have some sharam"

"I believe Waqar Younis, who was ICC brand ambassador at that time, made a statement that India threw away the game and that India deliberately did not win the match - so that Pakistan would be out of the tournament - I mean really?"

"Stokes never said India lost deliberately but cricketers from Pakistan, our neighbors, said clearly that it was done on purpose and that ICC should fine India"

"Miscalculation by India, yes - not deliberately losing the guys - so sharam"

"To my Pakistan friends, please forget about this - you have to win tournaments based on your own skills"

You made Rahul Dravid look like Viv Richards at the other end, so please don't speak to us about Cricket and don't you dare to speak against a living legend of fast bowling.

Waqar maybe Pakistani but he is no India hater like Sohail Tanveer, Rashid Latif or Miandad.

Waqar said what most Indian cricket fans already declared that day!!!!

Aakash Chopra speaking on his YouTube channel regarding allegations that India lost the WC game vs England intentionally to keep Pakistan out of the semi-finals

"Waqar Younis, despite being the brand ambassador for the ICC, gave a statement during the World Cup that India threw the match away on purpose”

“Of course to Stokes, the partnership between Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma didn’t make any sense at all - and he may have been confused by Dhoni’s approach in the innings, but he never did he imply that India deliberately gave away the match”

“ICC should fine former Pakistani cricketers who are claiming that India lost intentionally"

LOL. How can ICC fine ex players? :inti

He doesn’t need to respond to such nonsense. If Pakistan wasn’t a vastly inferior side to England and if eliminating England didn’t boost India’s chances of winning the World Cup, this conspiracy theory would have had a shred of credibility.

Intikhab was right about Pakistani players. His assessment holds true for ex-players as well.

LOL. How can ICC fine ex players? :inti

ICC can still take the legal route and sue them. They are accusing a team of fixing in an ICC event without any proof. So ICC can still file a defamation case and drag them to court. Being an ex player does not give one a privilege to say anything you want.

However, I agree with Mamoon that there was no need for Akash Chopra to respond.

I will say it is amusing Pakistani people think India would chose to eliminate Pakistan than England, who have been the most dominant ODI side for years.

ICC can still take the legal route and sue them. They are accusing a team of fixing in an ICC event without any proof. So ICC can still file a defamation case and drag them to court. Being an ex player does not give one a privilege to say anything you want.

However, I agree with Mamoon that there was no need for Akash Chopra to respond.

And who exactly is Aakash Chopra in front of Waqar?

They probably did lose it deliberately. Deep down Aakash probably knows it as well, and that is why he is reacting so strongly.

He's right. Pakistan is an utterly pathetic team which has to rely on other teams to qualify. Even if India lost on purpose, I don't see an issue with that.

People are making this about the wrong thing. The debate shouldn't be about India wanting Pakistan out but about the unsporting behavior shown by India that was an affront to their credibility as a top team.

Speculating about reasons without evidence is like a shot in the dark, as true as it may seem. And frankly Pakistan shot themselves in the foot by leaving their fate to another team's performance. In sports you make your own luck. But nothing changes the fact that it was an atrocious performance by India where the lack of trying was clearly evident.

He's right. Pakistan is an utterly pathetic team which has to rely on other teams to qualify. Even if India lost on purpose, I don't see an issue with that.

Don't worry, we will beat you guys in 2023 in your own home ground insha'allah.

Sincerely,

Giannis Bey.

Nobody here had a problem when Wasim Akram settled for a lame draw against Sri Lanka in the Asian Test Championship back in 1999 so that they avoid facing India in the final. And now people seem to have an issue when India supposedly didn't allow Pakistan to qualify :))

If he’s so angry he should tell his Indian team to come to Pakistan for a cricket match.

'Who is X in front of Y' is a losing argument, in a debate competition that will be the losing move. Doesn't matter who the person is, one should look at the points being raised. We on PP discuss, dissect, analyze players like Sachin, Warne, Smith, Akram, Sanga, who are we before them in the world of cricket? Should we stop discussing then?

Aakash Chopra is entitled to his opinion, freedom of expression. Doesn't matter if he is right/wrong that is his opinion and we must respect that. Unlike Pakistani ex-players he isn't attacking other countries, integrity of legends or twisting words of a third person to reinforce his argument.

'Who is X in front of Y' is a losing argument, in a debate competition that will be the losing move. Doesn't matter who the person is, one should look at the points being raised. We on PP discuss, dissect, analyze players like Sachin, Warne, Smith, Akram, Sanga, who are we before them in the world of cricket? Should we stop discussing then?

Aakash Chopra is entitled to his opinion, freedom of expression. Doesn't matter if he is right/wrong that is his opinion and we must respect that. Unlike Pakistani ex-players he isn't attacking other countries, integrity of legends or twisting words of a third person to reinforce his argument.

Yes he is entitled to an opinion but some friends here suggesting that Chopra shouldnt bother commenting on Waqar's remarks as if Waqar is a nobody! Fact is that if someone so prominent says something like that, its worth some merit. You may disagree but you cannot discount as opinion of a nobody.

Something needs to be done about these ex players making fixing claims. Without proof it's unfair to make such claims.

Funny how these same ex-players like Razzaq and Waqar moaning about India losing to England in 2019 won't say a word about Pakistan losing to Bangladesh in 1999 which looked highly dubious - as if a political favour was done to get BD Test status and become an ICC voting ally.

Those run outs that day were beyond ridiculous.

Nobody here had a problem when Wasim Akram settled for a lame draw against Sri Lanka in the Asian Test Championship back in 1999 so that they avoid facing India in the final. And now people seem to have an issue when India supposedly didn't allow Pakistan to qualify :))

Yup, that was as blatant as it gets. Gifted the Sri Lankans batting and bowling points to ensure India don't qualify.

It's just sour grapes blaming India under the circumstances, but it wouldn't be Pakistan without some imbecile spouting off conspiracy theories.

The game is done, the world cup is gone. What is the point of arguing about it? I agree with Akash here, games are won by skills, not by luck. Pakistan needs to enhance their skills and be more prepared for the next tournament. It was the West Indies game that ensured Pakistan's ouster from world cup. They should've won that game or atleast made it a close one.

Mate some of the guys here were probably infants back then.

Talk about digging up old graves. Is that really the best you got?

Don't dwell on the past.

And who exactly is Aakash Chopra in front of Waqar?

By that logic, this forum should not exist. Who the hell are all of us in comparison to even the most mediocre international cricketer? But here we are shooting our mouths off and analyzing the game as if we are all Tendulkars or Wasims.

Two wrongs don’t make a right.

Wasim Akram was wrong then. India (esp Dhoni) is wrong now

Two wrongs don’t make a right.

Wasim Akram was wrong then. India (esp Dhoni) is wrong now

Dhoni played exactly the same way in the semi final. He was well past it, no longer was he the 2010 Dhoni.

Why doesn't anyone accuse Misbah of throwing the Mohali semi on purpose?

Mate some of the guys here were probably infants back then.

Talk about digging up old graves. Is that really the best you got?

Don't dwell on the past.

This thread is about the past. 2019 world cup is Past.

Dhoni played exactly the same way in the semi final. He was well past it, no longer was he the 2010 Dhoni.

Why doesn't anyone accuse Misbah of throwing the Mohali semi on purpose?

Because he's played literally every innings of his life like this???

I thought that was pretty obvious from his ODI stats especially his SR

This thread is about the past. 2019 world cup is Past.

Nice cop out.

Yes 2019 is past but it's events have implications on the present and all the players are still playing. Wasim is long retired AND any investigations from then won't be relevant for future games.

By [MENTION=23911]Moh@n[/MENTION]'s logic we shouldn't be punishing anyone now just because some random person 50 years ago got away with it :))

Akash Chopra was a very good test opener and his game analyses are really good. Just because Waqar Younis was a better player than him doesn't mean Akash cannot question Waqar's assessment. Pakistani ex cricketers have their rights to express their opinions. On the same token, other cricketers or anybody can term those opinions as silly.

Because he's played literally every innings of his life like this???

I thought that was pretty obvious from his ODI stats especially his SR

Erm, and post 2017 Dhoni has played every innings like that as well. He did follow that innings against England with a similar innings in the semi final as I said earlier. Is that too hard to comprehend?

Coward, say it to them in person to their face.

Coward, say it to them in person to their face. .

True - this Chopra will gladly have Pakistan cricketers on his YT - should have contacted Razzaq and said come and explain etc

After watching Dhoni bat in the last few years, only a mad person would believe India lost this on purpose.

A question to pakistani ppers, after watching MS dhoni in this ipl and in other world cup matches do you still think he intentionally lost that match vs eng.

Not only Waqar....many international cricketer like Stokes and many ex cricketer has said same.....may be Chopra ji nahi waqf hai halaad se

A question to pakistani ppers, after watching MS dhoni in this ipl and in other world cup matches do you still think he intentionally lost that match vs eng.

Yes......if u can't spot the difference u have no acumen mate.......esp last 10 overs....and not only Dhoni baring Rohit every body played same way as if they r playing in different pitch

dhoni has been on a downward spiral for a few years now.
england were the better side that day.

dhawan injury

dhoni
jhadav
karthik

we lost it right there.

You think india don't have better players in the middle than these 3 fodders?

ofcourse we do. We would have chased 300 plus down comfortably with the middle order we were supposed to use. Plus dhawan injury made a huge difference.

Anyway on that day, the team we picked just wasn't good enough to chase the 336. We can close but not good enough.

Quite a few Indians on that day also believed that India lost on purpose. Perhaps ask your own country men first?