Shoaib Akhtar opens up on treatment of Danish Kaneria based on his religion

Shoaib Akhtar only cares about his YouTube subscribers. After making this controversial statement, he might be able to get additional 500,000 subscribers from India.

Danish Kaneria or any player from Sindh/Karachi will always be an issue for PCB. If Danish Kaneria being Hindu or Sikh from Pakistani Punjab, It would have been no issue for PCB or players from Punjab. Yousuf Youhana being Christian played for Pakistan, we didn't hear anything controversial about that. Why? Because he was from Punjab.
The mind set of Punjabi are that Sikh, Hindu or anyone from Indian Punjab are their lost brothers and anyone form Sindh/Karachi are their Sautela Bhai (step brother).
Oh bhai bus kar do ye yaar :facepalm:

I followed cricket in that era, and Kaneria played for far too long and went missing in crunch games. People here go crazy when Yasir is selected for ODI cricket, and rightly so. Kaneria was given even more chances than Yasir in ODI cricket, when it was clear he was not good enough for the format. I have seldom seen cricketers given the backing Kaneria was at the time.

Muttiah Muralitharan slams Pak for religious based discrimination in cricket

Commenting on the allegations made by Shoaib Akhtar and Danish Kaneria, the Sri Lankan cricketer Muttiah Muralitharan said he condemns the practice of discrimination with any cricket player based on religious ground. In an exclusive telephonic interview, the Sri Lankan Cricketer said, "There is no place for bias and religious discrimination in sports and Cricket. It does not happen in Sri Lanka and I know it does not happen in India either."

Link: https://www.republicworld.com/india...ralitharan-slams-discrimination-on-relig.html

Funny, could any one of the admins/reporter ask any grade 2 "muslim" player how they are treated by the senior players or players that make it to the team. It has Nothing to do with the religion as far as I know.

Anyway shoaib has to stay in the limelight. Could be true or false but hey ho this is Pakistan cricket for you.

"I salute Shoaib bhai, I respect him. What he said must have been the truth. Besides Shoaib bhai, Inzamam, Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf - besides these 4 players, no one supported me"

"It was a player, everyone knows him. At the right time, I will tell who it is"

"I was born Hindu, I will die Hindu"

"Younis Khan was my closest friend. I can't take anyone else's name besides that but I will explain in detail"

"I respect and salute Shoaib bhai for saying what he did"

"I will reveal the names at the right time. The time is the most important thing"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/EXCLUSIVE?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#EXCLUSIVE</a> | TIMES NOW's Mayukh Ghosh speaks to Pakistani cricketer Danish Kaneria & confirms humiliation faced in Pakistan.<br><br>Listen in. <a href="https://t.co/PpAb2NvnuE">pic.twitter.com/PpAb2NvnuE</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@TimesNow) <a href="https://twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1210197813230878720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

There definitely is racism in Pakistan - just like their is in every other country - and it's important to try and irradicate it as much as possible.

However, the above airy fair comments almost a decade after DK last played for Pakistan is evidently two drama queen's trying to capture some cheap headlines by using the others "popularity".

Akhtar is by no means a reliable source and he was unable to give any solid names, examples or instances of DK being mistreated. Just a cheap click bait statement.

Whilst DK is just playing the typical victim card of talking alot but actually saying very little. The fact is he wasn't a good enough to warrant a space in the team and what ever little chance he did have he threw away by getting involved in fixing.

Whilst Muslims are legitimately being treated as second class citizens in India, these two idiots come out with baseless statements without any solid examples, proof or evidence to create a bit if buzz and hysteria.

DK clearly says in his statement that "timing is everything" so these 2 idiots have chosen this time - when their are very legitimate discrimination issues taking place in India - to try and get some cheap headlines. Disgusting to see these idiots use a very real on going issue to their own personal gain.

Time to speak up and give us names, facts etc. or shut up and disappear back into irrelavence.

Who mistreated Kaneria though? He played tons of matches for Pakistan and quite a few players definitely liked him. Surely he wouldn't have that many matches if he was discriminated by PCB?

Cricket has always been politicized in Sub-continent.

Shoaib Akthar has given Indian media and little politician of RSS/BJP/Hindutva something to talk about and get the attention away from what is happening in India.

Indian media will highlight this for another 24 hours to portray things are worse in Pakistan compare to India.

Who mistreated Kaneria though? He played tons of matches for Pakistan and quite a few players definitely liked him. Surely he wouldn't have that many matches if he was discriminated by PCB?

From what I can guess

He says Shoaib akhtar would know since these things happened behind his back. So onus is on akhtar now

What I can def see happening is some players having problems with him eating from same plates and airing that to a senior player

There definitely is racism in Pakistan - just like their is in every other country - and it's important to try and irradicate it as much as possible.

However, the above airy fair comments almost a decade after DK last played for Pakistan is evidently two drama queen's trying to capture some cheap headlines by using the others "popularity".

Akhtar is by no means a reliable source and he was unable to give any solid names, examples or instances of DK being mistreated. Just a cheap click bait statement.

Whilst DK is just playing the typical victim card of talking alot but actually saying very little. The fact is he wasn't a good enough to warrant a space in the team and what ever little chance he did have he threw away by getting involved in fixing.

Whilst Muslims are legitimately being treated as second class citizens in India, these two idiots come out with baseless statements without any solid examples, proof or evidence to create a bit if buzz and hysteria.

DK clearly says in his statement that "timing is everything" so these 2 idiots have chosen this time - when their are very legitimate discrimination issues taking place in India - to try and get some cheap headlines. Disgusting to see these idiots use a very real on going issue to their own personal gain.

Time to speak up and give us names, facts etc. or shut up and disappear back into irrelavence.

100% true

It's taken them 14 years to remember this. Interesting.

If this comes out as a big lie (I am hoping it is because this looks very bad on the team), this drama baaz man should be shamed and banned from poisoning any more minds with his lies and boastful claims just to get some attention!

One thought, when MoYo initially joined the team as Youhana, how come he was not treated in the same bad way and if Kaneria was treated this way, how come Mr. Youhana (at that point) allowed this to happen without uttering a word?

I think Kaneria has just gotten entangled into this and now that he is in he is like might as well take advantage since he’s not doing well

Funny thing is akhtar said Sami and Kaneria were not given credit and everyone’s forgotten Sami which is ironic considering that happened in his career too lol.

Then akhtar gave food example but that’s behind kanerias back and not on his face so it’s hardly front on persecution. Tho tbh I can totally expect a cricketer from the village saying that.

To top it off kaneria himself has said these things must have happened behind us back and so Shoaib akhtar should name these players

"I salute Shoaib bhai, I respect him. What he said must have been the truth. Besides Shoaib bhai, Inzamam, Younis Khan and Mohammad Yousuf - besides these 4 players, no one supported me"

Who the hec.k is the captain then that Shoaib suggested in his comments? This is coming as a: you lie and then I lie, then we both lie to cover each other's lies!

While something like this happening in Pak would not surprise me at all, I also wouldn't trust a word from Akhtar. The guy makes up stories as he goes along. Give names or it didn't happen.

Where does he slam pakistan? Ridiculous made up title

So many Indians and Indian media was saying that Shoaib Akhtar is lying when he told that Sachin Tendulkar was shivering while facing him but now they are taking him on the face value?

Discrimination against minorities is a very sensitive issue and should be handled if what Akhtar is claiming actually happened. However, both Akhtar and Kaneria arent credible enough to take anything they say on the face value. Again if Kaneria was mistreated PCB should look into the issue and eradicate such things from cricket but none of the people claiming anything are credible and further investigation needs to be done.

No harm in telling the truth

He is retired since 2011.

The incident he is speaking about took place in the 2000s.

Where was he all this time ? Was he waiting to get a YouTube channel before speaking the "truth" ?

Shoaib need some more and more spice in his videos to increase his Youtube Subscribers and views and India can really help him with that specially because foreigners can't understand his videos because of the language he use in most of his videos. He made his whole Youthbe career and crossed 1 million subscriber mark within a a couple of weeks during CWC19 mostly commenting on Indian team and now his channel is not seeing that rapid growth anymore so need to some up with more and more masala to attract more indian subscribers. His comments section even before this video was full of indian comments no matter which video you play.

Javed Miandad Hits Out At Shoaib Akhtar, Danish Kaneria Over 'Hindu' Controversy

A day after former Pakistan speedster Shoaib Akhtar triggered a massive outrage after he claimed that some Pakistani cricketers refused to have food with Danish Kaneria, former captain Javed Miandad said the leg-spinner couldn't have played for Pakistan if the country had bias towards its minority Hindu community.

Kaneria belonged to the minority Hindu community.

"Pakistan has given him so much recognition and he played for 10 years in Test cricket. Would this have been possible if there was any issue over his religion," Miandad told news agency PTI.

Miandad added that even when Kaneria was playing, Pakistan had the option of going for leg-spinners like Imran Tahir (who later played for South Africa), Ali Hussain Rizvi and even Mansoor Amjad but he was selected.

"So how is this possible if he ever faced any bias over his being a Hindu," Miandad said.

Imran later moved on to South Africa and became a national and represented them in Test and international cricket. He also advised the Indians to stop making an issue out of a no issue just to down play the protests taking place in their country.

"In Pakistan cricket, we have never had any bias over religion," claimed Miandad.

Miandad also lashed out at Kaneria and Akhtar.

"What are they trying to achieve I don't understand. But if you talk about Kaneria, he will say anything for money and he has no credibility left in cricket," the former skipper said of the leg-spinner, who has banned for spot fixing in English county games.

"How can you believe someone who is serving a life ban for corruption in cricket? Who let down his country? I was head coach of the Pakistan team in early 2000 and Kaneria was in the team and I don't remember a single incident where there was ever any issue about his being a Hindu," he added.

https://www.newsnation.in/sports/cr...sh-kaneria-over-hindu-controversy-248972.html

Dismissing Danish's concerns should be the last thing PCB should do right now. Hear him out, guys. Dissing by the likes of Miandad won't help too.

Akhtar and Kaneria should name and shame the player(s) but I'd be very surprised if they do.

SA was an attention seeker as a player and I hope he isn't using this to gain more subscribers. He has to name names. Danish is saying that it was behind his back but still needs to tell us what he knows.

For that he needs a safe environment to express his opinion. But ya, if his claims are proved hollow through an unbiased process, then he should face some penalty.

I think Kaneria has just gotten entangled into this and now that he is in he is like might as well take advantage since he’s not doing well

Funny thing is akhtar said Sami and Kaneria were not given credit and everyone’s forgotten Sami which is ironic considering that happened in his career too lol.

Then akhtar gave food example but that’s behind kanerias back and not on his face so it’s hardly front on persecution. Tho tbh I can totally expect a cricketer from the village saying that.

To top it off kaneria himself has said these things must have happened behind us back and so Shoaib akhtar should name these players

Yup it's absolutely ridiculous and clearly these 2 just trying to take advantage of ongoing issues for their own personal gain. Pathetic.

Kaneria is probably the most under-appreciated cricketer in Pakistan’s history. He is the 4th highest wicket-taker in Test cricket and would have had a lot more if his career wasn’t cut short before the UAE era.

Not to mention all the drop catches by Akmal and Woolmer/Inzamam’s instance to play one spinner in Asia.

A clearly better Test spinner than Ajmal and Yasir. He actually performed really well in several countries outside Asia.

There is no doubt that his religion has contributed to the lack of respect and recognition from the Pakistani fans and players.

Let’s just focus on this statement amongst the rest of your drivel. In 2010 series in England Kaneria was a mere passenger and liability. Can’t believe it took 3 tests to realise he should never have played. Ajmal replaced him at the oval and took a bucket load of wickets. In 2010 in Australia yes akmal dropped hussey but I think by then hussey was already beyond a match winning century. Now you can blame Yousuf’s captaincy or blame pitches in England (Graeme Swann did ok ) but the fact remains by 2010 Kaneria was a spent force and allegations against him didn’t surface until 18 months after so he could have played in 2010 in uae but was preferred to ajmal.

I know it’s nice to look back with rose tinted glasses but Kaneria at the end of his career deserved to be dropped. He was fantastic up to about 2005/6 but after that we didn’t play that much test cricket and yes that’s a shame as it was also the period (2005-2009) when pak cricket suffered most due to poor management and infighting.

There was probably a lot wrong with the team but please don’t suggest he was better than he was and unfairly dropped. Far from it, he played more than he deserved.

So many Indians and Indian media was saying that Shoaib Akhtar is lying when he told that Sachin Tendulkar was shivering while facing him but now they are taking him on the face value?

Discrimination against minorities is a very sensitive issue and should be handled if what Akhtar is claiming actually happened. However, both Akhtar and Kaneria arent credible enough to take anything they say on the face value. Again if Kaneria was mistreated PCB should look into the issue and eradicate such things from cricket but none of the people claiming anything are credible and further investigation needs to be done.

This one of the more reasonable post on this thread. I'll admit that as an Indian the temptation to believe selectively Akhtar was pretty strong- until you came and reminded me of Akhtar on SRT, leading to significant cognitive dissonance :))

Two points. One, this 'not eating from the same utensils' seems to be 'a thing' in caste and religious discrimination in India and Pakistan. Although it has mostly declined in large swathes of urban India, it exists.

Two, and this isn't intended to troll Pakistanis, but I do feel that the average level of education and exposure of Pakistani national cricketers is much lower than their Indian counterparts today (a far cry if I may from the 70s and early 80s when you had the Khans and the like dominating Pakistani cricket). Hence something like what Akhtar alleges for the Pakistan team would be shocking, not to say completely unexpected, at even an FC level in India, forget the national team.

Maybe in your house hold they have these issues, as a society as a whole pakistanis are tolerant!

Are you part of a minority to be able to categorically say that? Ask the Christians being accused and jailed on blasphemy or the ahmedi economist who was appointed and then sacked due to his faith. Then you have the mistreatment if the Hazaras the list goes on...stop living in denial

There are actually more muslims who were jailed for Blasphemy than any other group so I don't see how it's strictly an issue related to the minorities.

So you agree with the rest of the statement then? The blasphemy law is used as a tool against anyone disliked so I give you that.

That is pretty obvious isn't it?

If you don't like a person, just say they've committed blasphemy.
However I would say this though that these type of cases are more prevalent in villages rather than major cities.

That is pretty obvious isn't it?

If you don't like a person, just say they've committed blasphemy.
However I would say this though that these type of cases are more prevalent in villages rather than major cities.

You keep telling yourself that.....you probably belong to the majority hence not an issue for you. Pakistan is not an easy place for minorities just as India isn't (not saying one is worse than the other)

What part of my post was wrong?

Point it out for me please

From what I can guess

He says Shoaib akhtar would know since these things happened behind his back. So onus is on akhtar now

What I can def see happening is some players having problems with him eating from same plates and airing that to a senior player

Yeah but strange of Akhtar to bring it up when Kaneria himself doesn't think he was mistreated (by the management at least).

Minorities are treated badly in Pakistan. An Ahmadi would not be allowed in the team under any circumstances. Inzamam himself wouldn't have it. Hindu's are treated as the other in Pakistan and Christians are treated as servants and viewed so in many ways. There are success stories but the qaum is not tolerant of them in leadership roles.

The same was not true about India. India had muslims even as far as a few years ago in cricket and political sphere. I say WAS because I believe it is not true anymore. the days that even muslim actors are treated as industry icons is nearing a point that is to be reached with this trajectory.

Shoaib Akhtar only cares about success, fame. He was one of the best bowlers but he injects some words of humbleness and care about people not because its right but because people will see dekho kitna acha aadmi he. Shoaib Akhtar is a narcissist and he won't deny it if you ask him under the influence. Shoaib Akhtar's entire youtube rise with subscribers is built on buttering the performance of India and its players. If you have watched his youtube videos consistently there is no denying this fact. Now he has found himself in a bind. He put his foot in his mouth by saying Kaneria, who is a known liar and match fixer who denied fixing for 6 years, was not treated badly. It could be true but this is shoaib akhtar, he has cried wolf so many times that we don't know. Kaneria since he was accused of match fixing and even when convicted and banned has been consistent in his playing the victim card. Even then he used to say I will provide you names of people who really fix. He never did. Even here Kaneria says I will provide you names of people who treated me badly due to my faith.

See all this might be true but these both are unreliable narrators, One if a narcissist who manufactures stories to garner him fame and sympathy. One is known liar and match fixer. Now Indian hindutva folks are using both Kaneria and Shoaib akhtar's words against Pakistan which puts both of these under a bind. "hum ne bol to diya hai par abh kia hoga". at a time when India is being actively accused of pushing an anti muslim agenda and projecting the blame of Pakistan with "dekho ye bhi to karte hain" Shoaib Akhtar starts this fire. If Shoaib and Kaneria take it back, they will prove to their followers they are liars. If they don't take it back, the Pakistani qaum and cricket setup will railroad both these players, Shoaib will be seen as only sympathizing with indians for youtube subscribers.

Totally agree with Gambhir. Our society would never accept a Hindu player captaining the team for a decade.

Agreed.

We always get upset with our neighbours and it is a case of pot/kettle/black where we act up in arms at the treatment of Muslims in India as though we are so respectful to minorities.

Agreed.

We always get upset with our neighbours and it is a case of pot/kettle/black where we act up in arms at the treatment of Muslims in India as though we are so respectful to minorities.

Agreed on what exactly?

You actually think the TJ would care?

People like Rizvi will care??

Those people don't even consider cricketers are muslims and you think they would care who's the captain of the cricket team lol.

People who watch cricket in Pakistan are not the far right because the far right don't like cricket as it's unIslamic so why would the liberals reject a Hindu captain??

Whether he was discrimnated or not but fools like Akhtar should know something about timing.When Indian Muslims are being treated so badly and a law has been passed against them,Right now Shoiab Akhtar must be a saint for Modi.Like many posters i also am sceptical about these comments from Akhtar as we know his brain is in his knees.Akhtar has given ammunition to Modi to further justify his atrocities.

Originally Posted by Mamoon View Post
Totally agree with Gambhir. Our society would never accept a Hindu player captaining the team for a decade.

Agreed.

Totally baseless since there is not a single example of a sportsman who came to the top (in any sport) in Pakistan and was denied the right to lead the team because of their religion/caste etc....how about come up with an example rather than pulling fictional things out you know where!

Gambhir and Co. come from a society where 'Shoodars/Untouchables' are not even considered human beings and can be killed without fear by the superior Brahmins and all...so quite rich coming from them.

Minorities are treated badly in Pakistan. An Ahmadi would not be allowed in the team under any circumstances. Inzamam himself wouldn't have it. Hindu's are treated as the other in Pakistan and Christians are treated as servants and viewed so in many ways. There are success stories but the qaum is not tolerant of them in leadership roles.

The same was not true about India. India had muslims even as far as a few years ago in cricket and political sphere. I say WAS because I believe it is not true anymore. the days that even muslim actors are treated as industry icons is nearing a point that is to be reached with this trajectory.

Shoaib Akhtar only cares about success, fame. He was one of the best bowlers but he injects some words of humbleness and care about people not because its right but because people will see dekho kitna acha aadmi he. Shoaib Akhtar is a narcissist and he won't deny it if you ask him under the influence. Shoaib Akhtar's entire youtube rise with subscribers is built on buttering the performance of India and its players. If you have watched his youtube videos consistently there is no denying this fact. Now he has found himself in a bind. He put his foot in his mouth by saying Kaneria, who is a known liar and match fixer who denied fixing for 6 years, was not treated badly. It could be true but this is shoaib akhtar, he has cried wolf so many times that we don't know. Kaneria since he was accused of match fixing and even when convicted and banned has been consistent in his playing the victim card. Even then he used to say I will provide you names of people who really fix. He never did. Even here Kaneria says I will provide you names of people who treated me badly due to my faith.

See all this might be true but these both are unreliable narrators, One if a narcissist who manufactures stories to garner him fame and sympathy. One is known liar and match fixer. Now Indian hindutva folks are using both Kaneria and Shoaib akhtar's words against Pakistan which puts both of these under a bind. "hum ne bol to diya hai par abh kia hoga". at a time when India is being actively accused of pushing an anti muslim agenda and projecting the blame of Pakistan with "dekho ye bhi to karte hain" Shoaib Akhtar starts this fire. If Shoaib and Kaneria take it back, they will prove to their followers they are liars. If they don't take it back, the Pakistani qaum and cricket setup will railroad both these players, Shoaib will be seen as only sympathizing with indians for youtube subscribers.

Post of the year for me. Way to ring in 2020. Truth hurts but there it is. This post is like a giant mirror . Everyone can see exactly who they are.

I do not think Kaneria’s career during his playing days were impacted due to religion. However, the bit about social ostracism could be true.

Him being from Sindh though, could also have been an issue, given the usual Punjab v Sindh issue in the Pakistani team.

You need to remember that from the 90s onwards, most of cricketers coming into the Pakistani were not from middle class and upper class backgrounds. They were mainly from small villages, where people are not as polished. So it was not uncommon for them to socially ostracise others due to their religion. This would be absent in the players coming from middle class backgrounds from cities like Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim Akram, IK etc.

Now, as for India, i will write a detailed reply why this hasn’t happened so far in India. Also answering the question that is going on with regards to Azhar.

I do not think Kaneria’s career during his playing days were impacted due to religion. However, the bit about social ostracism could be true.

Him being from Sindh though, could also have been an issue, given the usual Punjab v Sindh issue in the Pakistani team.

You need to remember that from the 90s onwards, most of cricketers coming into the Pakistani were not from middle class and upper class backgrounds. They were mainly from small villages, where people are not as polished. So it was not uncommon for them to socially ostracise others due to their religion. This would be absent in the players coming from middle class backgrounds from cities like Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim Akram, IK etc.

Now, as for India, i will write a detailed reply why this hasn’t happened so far in India. Also answering the question that is going on with regards to Azhar.

In India, until recently, has been a middle class sport. Most cricketers have a decent education and don’t come from poverty stricken.

The traditional Indian middle class (till early 00s) had always been educated and were not impacted by the issues like social ostracism of religious minorities or different castes. These cases used to happen in the poorer classes. Even the riots in the 90s were mainly triggered by the poorer class. Thus, this problem did not exist in the 90s and 00s. Thus you will find lots of Muslim captains and national leaders, including 2 presidents till 00s.

Thus, Azhar’s claim of being targeted for being a religious minority is baseless. He was given the most high profile position Indian cricket, and he abused the power. He was banned for life along with many others. It was overturned because the evidence could not be presented. However, it was very obvious that he was involved in corruption and was rightly banned. Also, IIRC, his comments about him being targeted came after he got into politics. It’s obvious that this was done for votes. India had also banned vice captain Jadeja. So it’s nothing do with religion, but him being corrupt. BCCI has always been strict with corrupt players and this was just another example of that.

Nowadays, with lots of traditionally poor class people becoming middle class, there will be some religious issues. The poorer someone is the more religious they are. So these people from poorer classes bring some of their religious nonsense into the middle class.

However, I still believe these problems will not occur in Indian cricket, unless Modi wins another election. That’s because
1. BCCI is a very professional organisation which ensures its image is well maintained. They ensure that the cricketers are well educated and reprimands them when they step out of line. Eg. The Pandya episode, which I didn’t think was a big deal
2. Other than the Pakistan issue, govt of India does not meddle in the workings of the BCCI
3. BCCI has not had any history of religious persecution.
4. Most of middle class is still largely secular, and there are 2 things that a middle class person loves - cricket and Bollywood. Salman’s ridiculous movies are still huge blockbuster.

These issues might crop up in politics and government organisations, but cricket, Bollywood and Private corporations will be free of these religious issues.

Now, if Modi gets re-elected again in 2024, then this may change.

Lol why did Shoaib Akhtar have to be the guy making these revelations? Why couldn't it be Misbah ul Haq whose fans would have further added another string to his beautiful marketing, look at what a great person he is.

Am loving the burn

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It is fact that I didn’t get any support from <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> or <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> after the ban and my acceptance, where as other players in similar situation play for Pak with a support from PCB and honoured. Any drawn conclusion on this matter would prove <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@shoaib100mph</a> claim as right. 1/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210804601600954369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The people of Pakistan never discriminated against me on the basis of religion. I am proud that I played for Pakistan with honesty. Now, it is in the hands of my country's government <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> to decide my fate. 2/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210804926319693826?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Now on any inaction from <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> on my matter will give an opportunity to the world to prove that I am being discriminated. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> should not give a single chance to others to do politics on this issue. It is a time for them to do course correction. n/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210805292176273408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It is fact that I didn’t get any support from <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> or <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> after the ban and my acceptance, where as other players in similar situation play for Pak with a support from PCB and honoured. Any drawn conclusion on this matter would prove <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@shoaib100mph</a> claim as right. 1/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210804601600954369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The people of Pakistan never discriminated against me on the basis of religion. I am proud that I played for Pakistan with honesty. Now, it is in the hands of my country's government <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> to decide my fate. 2/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210804926319693826?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Now on any inaction from <a href="https://twitter.com/pid_gov?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pid_gov</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> on my matter will give an opportunity to the world to prove that I am being discriminated. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> should not give a single chance to others to do politics on this issue. It is a time for them to do course correction. n/n</p>— Danish Kaneria (@DanishKaneria_) <a href="https://twitter.com/DanishKaneria_/status/1210805292176273408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2019</a></blockquote>

Think we can safely say that Hindus in Pakistan is not his issue - getting his 'career' back is his issue.

I am sorry, I have lost whatever respect I had for this man.

There were no Sindh vs Punjab since Sindhi never played cricket as compared to Pakistan. When it comes to politics, that is different matter in regarding to Karachi vs Punjab.

Danish played under Inzimam’s captaincy. Preferred over many spinners including Saqlain Mushtaq and Mushtaq Ahmed. Given consistency in selection throughout the captaincy of Inzimam and was always first choice.

Even played in ODI WC 2007 where Danish played major roles in massive defeat of Pakistan to West Indies.

Danish enjoyed the most consistency in terms of selection over many cricketers including Misbah who has been left out by Inzimam and rightly so. But Danish was lucky to have Inzimam as he got stability and consistency which are rare combinations for players’ careers never mind for the skippers.

This is clearly frustration of the disgraced cricketer for being banned over the crime of fixing has been avoided like plague and rightly so.

No one wants anything to do with the disgraced cricketer who betrayed the nations and its institutions.

Looking at his tweets, he is just leveraging Akhtar's statement to get some favours and India is also using the situation to distract from the ethnic cleansing going on in their country. Akhtar came out to appease his YouTube followers which consists of mainly Indians.

I think what most people are conflating professional/working time and personal time.
If a player behaves in a prejudiced way during professional/working time then thats not acceptable.
However, if a player behaves in a prejudiced way in their private time but not directly at the person being prejudiced against i.e. not talking to that player or eating with that player, in their personal time, which is abhorrent, but the individuals choice, as long as they do not abuse the player being prejudiced.
This unfortunately occurs in every multi ethnic country in the world.

If true, and given neither want to name the player, it must be a well-known and senior player.

Lol why did Shoaib Akhtar have to be the guy making these revelations? Why couldn't it be Misbah ul Haq whose fans would have further added another string to his beautiful marketing, look at what a great person he is.

Am loving the burn

Could be a you scratch my back, I will scratch yours scenario.

Perhaps Akhtar helped his mate out.

If true, and given neither want to name the player, it must be a well-known and senior player.

Nah. He is playing the victim card. Since it’s not during his playing days, it’s clearly about PCB not supporting him against his ban.

However, the only thing that most probably is true is the social ostracism or attempt to do so from some other players.

Nah. He is playing the victim card. Since it’s not during his playing days, it’s clearly about PCB not supporting him against his ban.

However, the only thing that most probably is true is the social ostracism or attempt to do so from some other players.

So Kaneria is from the same school as mine and while I think we only had 2-3 overlapping years over the past couple of days I’ve talked to people in the know as to what’s the situation. So below are my conclusions based on what I’ve heard from mutual and second degree connections and also what I think has happened based on just my experience in Pakistan and Karachi.

I don’t think there was any blatant social ostracism. I’ve literally myself seen the Karachi boys including Danish hanging out together when I was a kid. What I can totally expect is some uneducated cricketer from a Punjab village passing a comment that a hindu shouldn’t be eating from same utensils as Sunni Muslims. One way or another this might have come back to danish and obviously it’s hurtful. But I’ve seen such comments being passed even in middle class households so it’s not hard at all to believe this happened.

However, I don’t think any of what I said above is the real issue.

The real issue is that Danish has a life ban and cannot do anything in cricket officially. He basically does not have any income source for a while. He literally is not allowed to enter any ground. So cannot be involved in an official capacity at any level or have any coaching jobs. This is how harsh a life ban. Even during their band the spot fixing trio could not enter an official cricket ground. Asides from this he has not been able to make a career in media. He got some gigs 4-5 years ago but either due to lack of being an interesting speaker or lack of connections or whatever other reason he was no able to make it a regular thing. To make matters worse Danish foolishly fought the spot fixing case and lost it. He spent almost entirety of his savings to fight that case. So for all intents and purposes he is broke. He is from a middle class background so won’t be on the street obv but his financial situation is very bad.

This is why I think he is going all out on this case now that it has gained limelight in the hope something may come off.

I mean I can kind of understand his point there too. He did not fix while playing for Pakistan whereas Amir did that. However Amir was welcomed back with open arms and the other two were also allowed to play domestically. So he feels he was hard done by that the PCB supported Amir and as proxy supported Asif and Butt since the case was the same whereas he was left alone to deal with what happened. And in the process went penniless.

However what he must understand and appreciate is that the life ban is from ECB and since they are linked to ICC the ban carries to official cricket everywhere. So in a way PCBs hands are tied. I personally don’t think the lack of support was due to his religion but more due to a mixture of ECB and ICC verdict of a life ban and Danish’s own lack of utility going forward.

Akhtar and Kaneria can't get away with making unsubstantiated allegations PCB must launch a probe into the matter ASAP.

Absolutely as its harming the reputation of the game and the country as well.

I wonder if they can create a Pakistan XI out of all the players that have created their own YouTube channel. Maybe the entire 2005/06 team will have their own individual channels.

Watch Kanerias latest YouTube video. Man is getting desperate, claims no tv channel is offering him any work and that he has been unemployed for the last ten years and that he has a family as well.

Kaneria has either received ****** during his career or he has made poor decisions. He wasted his life savings on a weak case, he did not admit his guilt at the right time and when he did, it was too late and dried up his remaining opportunities on TV channels

Shoaib Akhtar was a drug addict, a liar for the Indian media when he used to say "I saw Sachin's legs shivering before facing me."

Now all of a sudden, the same Shoaib has become the epitome of truth and bravery for the same Indian media when he has started to put down the Pakistani team to gain some attention.

Watch Kanerias latest YouTube video. Man is getting desperate, claims no tv channel is offering him any work and that he has been unemployed for the last ten years and that he has a family as well.

Kaneria has either received ****** during his career or he has made poor decisions. He wasted his life savings on a weak case, he did not admit his guilt at the right time and when he did, it was too late and dried up his remaining opportunities on TV channels

Yeah I just watched it. The guy is looking for a payoff regardless of how he achieves it including using religious blackmail. If he is serious, he should pursue it to the end. Judging by the comments on his video though, I think Indian nationality is just around the corner for him.

Well wasn’t a guy sentenced to death over offensive religious text message?

Then why is it far fetched to assume that people of different religion won’t be treated differently?

Well wasn’t a guy sentenced to death over offensive religious text message?

Then why is it far fetched to assume that people of different religion won’t be treated differently?

Just because it can happen doesn't mean it did happen.

shoaib akhtar - i dont care if you are a captain or whatnot, i wont tolerate this treatment with danish.

Inzmam - i have supported danish in my captaincy , and we dont need to listen useless statment from others.

Danish - shoaib akhtar said right, but the onus is on shoaib akhtar to give the name of that person .

what the hell is going on, PCB should take a stand, its getting uglier day by day, the neighbours who have nothing to do in thier own country trying to spread the fire for no reason.

Interesting to see not a peep from Akhtar since that - surely he must be aware of the storm he has caused?

Totally baseless since there is not a single example of a sportsman who came to the top (in any sport) in Pakistan and was denied the right to lead the team because of their religion/caste etc....how about come up with an example rather than pulling fictional things out you know where!

Gambhir and Co. come from a society where 'Shoodars/Untouchables' are not even considered human beings and can be killed without fear by the superior Brahmins and all...so quite rich coming from them.

Here we are, with our baseless hubris believing that minorities if they had the same talent would be given the same opportunity.

Oh I digress.

Danish Kaneria could be playing to the gallery but what is undeniable is that he & others probably got an unfair deal from PCB - if Mohd Aamir could be rehabilitated why not Kaneria & the others? This question will be asked every time PCB bans anybody for match fixing & hence so many people were against bringing back Amir in the side (plus the experiment never really worked!!)

Akhtar is making this up for the indian YT views. Even kaneria is not naming the players himself lol

Inzy has shut him up good with the Moyo line. Akhtar have some shame.

Interesting to see not a peep from Akhtar since that - surely he must be aware of the storm he has caused?

Yup, and with his latest video makes sure he gets the point across that Pakistan welcomes minorities, dont think he realized the issue would gain traction across the border.

Danish Kaneria could be playing to the gallery but what is undeniable is that he & others probably got an unfair deal from PCB - if Mohd Aamir could be rehabilitated why not Kaneria & the others? This question will be asked every time PCB bans anybody for match fixing & hence so many people were against bringing back Amir in the side (plus the experiment never really worked!!)

Yea he mentioned that in his latest video, didnt name names but clearly was talking about amir and butt. Rightfully said he got zero support from the pcb.

ICC gave Amir, Asif and Butt bans of 5-10 years. ECB banned Kaneria for life, and ICC endorsed the decision.

ICC allowed Amir, Asif and Butt to return to cricket. ICC/ECB have not allowed Kaneria to make a return. Amir, Asif and Butt were given lenient sentences owing to their admission of guilt, while Kaneria fought the ECB and lost his legal battle.

So, what should the PCB have done? They didn't do much in the case of Amir, Asif or Butt, so expecting them to fall head over heels for a liar is unfair.

Here we are, with our baseless hubris believing that minorities if they had the same talent would be given the same opportunity.

Oh I digress.

Unless you have any examples, you are just making up things out of thin air!

No one is saying there is no prejudice in Pakistani society. just like almost any other socities in the world, but it is not a given that what you are saying is as wide spread

Even though I know Shoaib Akhtar likes to exaggerate alot, however I do believe I can see this happening in our team. Specially with the extreme religious sentiment that was going on in the Inzi era. And how players became ultra religious during that tenure and started preaching other teams on tours.

It was that whole era where from celebrities to alot of cricketers who became ultra religious started from 2003-2207

Even Akhtar as a cricketer was vilified because of his antics and his partying habits. Inzi wanted him to be more religious and that led to friction between the two

I think what most people are conflating professional/working time and personal time.
If a player behaves in a prejudiced way during professional/working time then thats not acceptable.
However, if a player behaves in a prejudiced way in their private time but not directly at the person being prejudiced against i.e. not talking to that player or eating with that player, in their personal time, which is abhorrent, but the individuals choice, as long as they do not abuse the player being prejudiced.
This unfortunately occurs in every multi ethnic country in the world.

Alot of people taking a high moral stand, but not responding to what i posted above.
The distiction between professional working time and private time.
I see this as a non story unless it is shown that such things occurred during working hours.
Like i said this happens everywhere where there are minorities. Similar things have happened to me on several occassions at different jobs in the uk.

Alot of people taking a high moral stand, but not responding to what i posted above.
The distiction between professional working time and private time.
I see this as a non story unless it is shown that such things occurred during working hours.
Like i said this happens everywhere where there are minorities. Similar things have happened to me on several occassions at different jobs in the uk.
*distinction

He has played 61 tests for Pakistan. On the other hand Fawad Alam has played only 3 test matches for Pakistan. Who is treated badly here? :inti