Shoaib Akhtar proposes Indo-Pak series to raise funds for fight against COVID-19

BoomBoomCricket

Former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar on Wednesday proposed a three-match ODI series against arch-rivals India to raise funds for the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic in both the countries.

The two nations have not played a full-series since 2007 due to the terrorist attacks on India by Pakistan-based outfits and the resultant diplomatic tension. They only play each other in ICC events and Asia Cup.

“In this time of crisis, I want to propose a three match series in which for the first time, the people of neither country would be upset at the outcome of the games,” Akhtar told PTI from Islamabad.

“If Virat (Kohli) scores a hundred, we will be happy, if Babar Azam scores a hundred, you will be happy. Both teams will be winners irrespective of whatever happens on the field,” he said.

“You are bound to get massive viewership for the games. For the first time, both countries will play for each other. And whatever funds are generated through this can be donated equally to the government of India and Pakistan to fight this pandemic,” added the 44-year-old.

With both countries in a lockdown amid the fast-spreading pandemic, the games can only be organised when things improve. However, Akhtar feels the sooner they are held, the better it would be but could not tell how the logistics of such an initiative would be worked out.

“Everyone is sitting at home at the moment, so there will be a massive following for the games. May be not now, when things start improving, the games could be organised at a neutral location like Dubai. Chartered flights could be arranged and the matches could he held.

“It could even lead to resumption of bilateral cricketing ties and relations of both countries improve diplomatically. You never know,” said the ‘Rawalpindi Express’

“The whole world will tune into it, so much money can be raised to deal with this crisis. In difficult times, the character of the nation comes forward.”

Read: India cricketers with most international caps

In these extraordinary times, Akhtar feels both countries should help each other.

“If India can make 10,000 ventilators for us, Pakistan will remember this gesture forever. But we can only propose the matches. The rest is up to the authorities (to decide).”

India cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh were recently trolled for asking their social media followers to donate to Shahid Afridi’s charity foundation which is doing its bit in Pakistan’s fight against the deadly virus.

“It was inhuman to criticise them. It is not about countries or religion at the moment, it is about humanity,” he opined.

Akhtar has spent a lot of time in India as a commentator. He fondly recalled his days in Mumbai during the World T20 in 2016, the last time he came to India for work.

“I am forever grateful about the love I have received from the people of India. For the first time I am revealing this, whatever I used to earn from India, I made a significant amount there, thirty percent of it, I used to distribute among the low income staff who used to work with me in the TV,” he remembered.

Akhtar used to visit the city’s slum areas with his face covered to hand out financial help to elder women there.

“From drivers, runners to my security guys. I took care of a lot of people. I was like if am earning from this country, I have to help my colleagues also.

“I also remember visiting slums of Dharavi and Sion in the wee hours to meet people I worked with,” added Akhtar.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...eries-coronavirus-covid19/article31289319.ece

What a genius idea. In a time when people should be social distancing, let's hold a cricket matches between the 2 biggest sporting rivals in the world.

If Kohli suggested this you would not be so sarcastic.

And you already have plenty of geniuses in India ready to play a whole series of IPL if they have it their way.

Yeaa like really?

Let things cool down, once we are free from this virus then maybe a series to boost economy and money can be used to help charities working with hospitals.

he criticized PCB for playing past 2 games in PSL, now he wants to be the saviour

Lol Shoaib is obsessed with India and the ratings it gets his youtube channel

If Kohli suggested this you would not be so sarcastic.

And you already have plenty of geniuses in India ready to play a whole series of IPL if they have it their way.

Why would I support it if Kohli said it. It's a health risk and it is extremely important that everyone self isolates or socially distances themselves. Cricketers aren't immune to the disease.

they would earn a lot of money, the idea is good but it wont happen against pakistan, it might happen with a world xi team or indian past team playing the current team but not with pakistan

The man was criticizing the management for holding the last 2 PSL game and now he's spewing this rubbish. Hypocriticial

I think he is asking for this to be done once the whole epidemic blows over and things return to normal

I think administrators will have a hard enough time trying to figure out how to reschedule/reformat their 3 types of domestic competitions + international series, which get rescheduled, which are scrapped, how the WTC will work, what happens to T20 WC etc etc etc before worrying about how to host one of the most politically difficult, security risked, health challenged games that could possibly be held in the history of cricket...

He is cheap guy so his idea , in these unprecedented conditions, what a low kind of person he is .

India doesn't need money, can't even think cricket right now: Kapil Dev on Akhtar's proposal

The legendary Kapil Dev on Thursday slammed Shoaib Akhtar's idea of a made-for-television three-match ODI series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the COVID-19 pandemic, saying "India doesn't need the money" and it is not worth risking lives for a cricket match.

Speaking to PTI, Akhtar on Wednesday proposed a closed-door series to jointly raise funds to fight the deadly virus both in India and Pakistan. Dev said the proposal is not feasible.

"He is entitled to his opinion but we don't need to raise the money. We have enough. For us, what is important right now is that how our authorities work together to deal with this crisis. I am still seeing a lot of blame game on television from the politicians and that needs to stop," Dev told PTI.

"Anyway, the BCCI has donated a hefty amount (Rs 51 crore) for the cause and is in a position to donate much more if the need arises. It doesn't need to raise funds.

"The situation is unlikely to get normal anytime soon and organising a cricket game means putting our cricketers at risk which we don't need to," said the World Cup-winning former captain.

Dev said cricket should not even matter for at least the next six months.

"It is just not worth the risk. And how much money can you make from three games? In my view, you can’t even think of cricket for the next five to six months," he said.

Dev said the focus, at the moment, should only be on saving lives and taking care of the poor who are struggling to make ends meet in a lockdown situation.

"Cricket will resume when things get normal. The game can't be bigger than the country. The pressing issue is to look after the poor, the hospital workers, the police and all other people who are on the frontline of this war," said the 61-year-old.

https://www.indiatvnews.com/sports/...-money-cant-think-of-cricket-right-now-606028

I am still seeing a lot of blame game on television from the politicians and that needs to stop," Dev told PTI.

Is Kapil Dev defending the current Indian Government

Shoaib's pandering continues even during a deadly pandemic. How low can this guy go.

In times of war, the path to peace always appears absurd.

Of course, it is not time for a cricket match, but I don’t mind Akhtar trying to promote friendship between Indians and Pakistanis generally.

Without audience it is possible with big speakers and recording of India Pakistan zindabad chanting with clapping sounds etc. Gonna be fun.

Grand snub.

===

The legendary Kapil Dev on Thursday slammed Shoaib Akhtar's idea of a made-for-television three-match ODI series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the COVID-19 pandemic, saying "India doesn't need the money" and it is not worth risking lives for a cricket match. Speaking to PTI, Akhtar on Wednesday proposed a closed-door series to jointly raise funds to fight the deadly virus both in India and Pakistan. Dev said the proposal is not feasible. "He is entitled to his opinion but we don't need to raise the money. We have enough. For us, what is important right now is that how our authorities work together to deal with this crisis. I am still seeing a lot of blame game on television from the politicians and that needs to stop," Dev told PTI.

"Anyway, the BCCI has donated a hefty amount (Rs 51 crore) for the cause and is in a position to donate much more if the need arises. It doesn't need to raise funds. "The situation is unlikely to get normal anytime soon and organising a cricket game means putting our cricketers at risk which we don't need to," said the World Cup-winning former captain.

Dev said cricket should not even matter for at least the next six months. "It is just not worth the risk. And how much money can you make from three games? In my view, you can't even think of cricket for the next five to six months," he said.

Dev said the focus, at the moment, should only be on saving lives and taking care of the poor who are struggling to make ends meet in a lockdown situation. "Cricket will resume when things get normal. The game can't be bigger than the country. The pressing issue is to look after the poor, the hospital workers, the police and all other people who are on the frontline of this war," said the 61-year-old.

As an Indian, Dev feels proud that his country is in a position help other nations including the United States. President Donald Trump has thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for helping the United States with the supply of hydroxychloroquine, an anti-malarial drug being touted as a potential cure for COVID-19 patients.

"Helping others is in our culture and I feel proud about that. We should not seek credit after helping others. We should strive to become a nation which gives more and more rather than taking from others," he said. Like everyone else, Dev is at home and practising social distancing.

Asked how he views the current situation, he said: "Nelson Mandela stayed in a tiny cell for 27 years. Compared to that, we are in a privileged position (that we just have to stay at home for sometime)." "There is nothing bigger than life at the moment and that is what we need to save."

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/kap...r-covid-19-funds-2208874?pfrom=home-sshowcase

And more...

===

Commenting on former Pakistan speedster Shoaib Akhtar's proposal of conducting a series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the fight against coronavirus pandemic, former Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman Rajeev Shukla on Thursday termed the pacer's statement as 'comic'.

"Shoaib Akhtar is a jolly and moody man everyone knows it. Time by time he keeps giving such suggestions and ideas. At this stage, if he is talking about a cricket match between India and Pakistan to raise funds to help both the countries. So, I feel it is a matter of fun. We are not even able to organise IPL, who will come to watch that match who will allow players to come and play," Shukla told ANI.

"India-Pakistan don't play in bilateral series, who will organise this match at this current situation of the country is not good and in his country situation is even worst so how can match happen so I feel this statement is comic," he added.

The two nations have not played any bilateral series against each other since 2007. They have only played against each other in the ICC events and Asia Cup.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, all the sporting activities across the globe have been put on halt. Most of the tournaments are either postponed or stand cancelled.

On Wednesday, Akhtar proposed a three-match series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the fight against coronavirus pandemic.

"I want India and Pakistan to play a series. I want it to happen without crowds, just broadcasting unit should be there and the matches should be televised, three ODIs or T20Is should be played. I cannot understand why this is a bad idea," Akhtar said in a video posted on his Youtube channel.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...pakistan-covid-19-proposal-1665181-2020-04-09

Thank you Kapil Dev for putting Shoaib in his place.

Grand snub.

===

The legendary Kapil Dev on Thursday slammed Shoaib Akhtar's idea of a made-for-television three-match ODI series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the COVID-19 pandemic, saying "India doesn't need the money" and it is not worth risking lives for a cricket match. Speaking to PTI, Akhtar on Wednesday proposed a closed-door series to jointly raise funds to fight the deadly virus both in India and Pakistan. Dev said the proposal is not feasible. "He is entitled to his opinion but we don't need to raise the money. We have enough. For us, what is important right now is that how our authorities work together to deal with this crisis. I am still seeing a lot of blame game on television from the politicians and that needs to stop," Dev told PTI.

"Anyway, the BCCI has donated a hefty amount (Rs 51 crore) for the cause and is in a position to donate much more if the need arises. It doesn't need to raise funds. "The situation is unlikely to get normal anytime soon and organising a cricket game means putting our cricketers at risk which we don't need to," said the World Cup-winning former captain.

Dev said cricket should not even matter for at least the next six months. "It is just not worth the risk. And how much money can you make from three games? In my view, you can't even think of cricket for the next five to six months," he said.

Dev said the focus, at the moment, should only be on saving lives and taking care of the poor who are struggling to make ends meet in a lockdown situation. "Cricket will resume when things get normal. The game can't be bigger than the country. The pressing issue is to look after the poor, the hospital workers, the police and all other people who are on the frontline of this war," said the 61-year-old.

As an Indian, Dev feels proud that his country is in a position help other nations including the United States. President Donald Trump has thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for helping the United States with the supply of hydroxychloroquine, an anti-malarial drug being touted as a potential cure for COVID-19 patients.

"Helping others is in our culture and I feel proud about that. We should not seek credit after helping others. We should strive to become a nation which gives more and more rather than taking from others," he said. Like everyone else, Dev is at home and practising social distancing.

Asked how he views the current situation, he said: "Nelson Mandela stayed in a tiny cell for 27 years. Compared to that, we are in a privileged position (that we just have to stay at home for sometime)." "There is nothing bigger than life at the moment and that is what we need to save."

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/kap...r-covid-19-funds-2208874?pfrom=home-sshowcase

Kapil Dev is right. We don't need money we have enough. Hopefully IPL will also be cancelled this year. Thank you Kapil Dev. :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="et" dir="ltr">This is all i have to say for everything thats being said about me :) <br><br>مجھے پرکھنا ہو تو میرے پاس چلے آنا <br>یہ یہاں وہاں کی خبریں تجھے بد گمان کریں گی <br><br>Mujhe parakhna ho toh mere paas chalay aana, <br>Yeh yahan wahan ki khabrain tujhe bud-gumaan kerain gi</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1248634059703681024?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

Was a big supporter of Shoaib akhtar
Backed him wherever I could but after these recent statements I've actually started to hate him, yes hate is a strong word.

This guy is a traitor and looking for every opportunity to shame Pakistan

His citizenship should be revoked ASAP
And should be sent to India ASAP

Imran khan has set aside 1.2 trillion rupees relief package and that's just a start we don't need any help from india

Shoaib Akhtar speaking to an Indian journalist:

"I know India probably better than the PM of Pakistan, especially based upon how much I have traveled in that country"

"There is a lot of poverty in Pakistan and India and as a Muslim and human being its my responsibility to help where I can"

"I feel that the T20 World Cup is not going to happen, and if no cricket is happening in say 6 months from now, what options do we have? What will happen to the jobs of all sports tv companies and the sports industry? All that needs to be thought about"

"One option is to have a fund raising game which can also help in improving ties between both countries"

"I was talking of a larger economic perspective and this is something maybe Kapil Dev didnt understand"

"This is the time to think about ways of generating (sports) revenues in both countries; There is one game that the whole world is interested in and that is the game between India and Pakistan; The revenue generated can be shared equally between India and Pakistan"

"Kapil Bhai said we dont need money and I have no doubt that they dont need the money but the world does need it"

"I have a feeling that this suggestion will be considered in a few months time and at that time, I will remind you (of my suggestion)"

"I may be a diehard patriotic Pakistani fan, but when I talk - I look at the larger picture"

"I do feel like bowling sometimes but my knees dont allow it; I did take out my old spikes one dat that I had got made for myself in 2003, and bowled 6 overs and I got to about 135kph before a kid hit me for 4, so I went round the wicket and hit him on the head [with a bouncer]"

"I asked someone how does it feel to be hit by a 150kph ball from me and he replied it feels like a truckload of bricks had hit me"

"I was once hit by Brett Lee and I then realized how harsh I was to other batsmen with the ball"

"I would request India tv stations to show Sharjah games also where Pakistan won many times (instead of World Cup encounters being shown at the moment)"

"I am very pleased that Sourav Ganguly is President of BCCI; He is a great guy with a good cricketing sense, he is one person who knows what policies should be; I have noticed that people from Bengal are very 'delair' [courageous] and sensible"

"I have a lot of hopes from the BCCI that they will make decisions that will save cricket and I will be saddened if this is not the case with Ganguly at the helm"

Olympics cancelled,Euro cancelled, Wimbledon cancelled. Not even one of them had the grand idea that these events can generate money to fight Covid 19. But our legendary Akhtar is getting these ideas from his behind

Akhtar's proposal is not bad but I would tweak it a bit. I would play a T20 tri series (Nidahas trophy style) in Srilanka including Pakistan. It can be staged sometime in mid August. As per FTP, we are suppose to tour SL in July anyway. Its important to help smaller boards financially after this pandemic is over and we simply cant cancel a SL tour.

If we are having close door cricket from June, IPL gets first priority and its non negotiable. (Jun-jul).

Then play a T20 tri series in SL incl Pakistan. (Aug)

As unfortunate as it is...we have to cancel Zimb tour. Unless we want to cramp 3 match short ODIs in late Aug.

Then FTP follows as ususal - Asia cup, T20 WC, Downunder tour.

My two cents :)

It is nice to have charity games but I doubt it will happen anytime soon. Pakistan and India haven't had a bilateral series since 2013.

Was a big supporter of Shoaib akhtar
Backed him wherever I could but after these recent statements I've actually started to hate him, yes hate is a strong word.

This guy is a traitor and looking for every opportunity to shame Pakistan

His citizenship should be revoked ASAP
And should be sent to India ASAP

Imran khan has set aside 1.2 trillion rupees relief package and that's just a start we don't need any help from india

He is one of those guys who speaks without thinking much.

As far as I recall he has always advocated for peace between Pakistan/India. Very few "stable geniuses" (from both sides) can't even do as much.

And I agree, this is a stupid idea, like most of his ideas but calling him traitor is a bit OTT reaction.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Relations with India should be better as cricket has always brought Pakistan & India closer. I agree with Shoaib Akhtar, we should have matches but it'll be a big challenge to organise as we dont know where they'd be held or if India want to play" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1249352752624545792?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 12, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "We want to play against India, but it's difficult in this situation because of the Modi Government as there is negativity coming from them. Pakistan has always been positive but India also has to take a positive step towards us" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1249353576788393988?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 12, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan bowling legend on Sunday said that he feels there will not be cricket for one year. The former Pakistan bowler said that he does not expect the T20 World Cup in Australia to take place this year, in the wake of coronavirus pandemic. Akhtar was speaking to news agency PTI on India’s performance in Test cricket, and said that he believes the Kohli’s side to perform better in Australia than they did in New Zealand.

”Despite the loss in New Zealand, I think India is a very, very good team and can give a tough time to Australia. But again, India have to prove that like they did the last time,” he said.

The 44-year-old went on to add that he does not feel India’s Tour Down Under will take place this year. “However, I don’t see that series happening. My assessment is there won’t be any cricket for next one year. The T20 World Cup is not going to happen,” he said.

Akhtar further explained the reasons behind his assessment. “We are dealing with a pandemic at the moment. Any industry, which requires crowd gathering, is going to suffer,” Akhtar added.

Meanwhile, South Africa pacer Dale Steyn has indicated that he was unsure whether the Men’s T20 World Cup will be taking place this year or not amid the coronavirus pandemic. Steyn was doing an #AskDale session on Twitter and a fan ended up asking his thoughts on the upcoming tournament in Australia.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...oaib-akhtar/story-vSiCuZocx8RFDhiaDOtYnK.html

Whatever Akhtar said, Kapil needs to answer for his in humane response. And this guy is having a movie made on him!

Kolkata, April 18 (IANS) Be it closed door matches or the currently postponed Indian Premier League (IPL), cricket should be the farthest thing from everyone''s minds amid the COVID-19 global crisis, feels ace India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday officially announced that the 13th edition of the IPL has been suspended till further notice.

Like most major sports across the globe, elite cricket is also on lockdown with suggestions of having games without spectators being mooted by the likes of Eoin Morgan, England''s World Cup-winning captain, once restrictions are lifted.

Recently, former Pakistan pacer Shoaib Akhtar proposed an India-Pakistan series as part of COVID-19 pandemic relief efforts.

"See cricket is the last thing on my mind at the moment. I am not even thinking about it," Harbhajan told IANS in an exclusive chat.

"There are other way to raise funds. It is not necessary to hold a cricket match. I don''t think anyone should think about sports and cricket at this hour. These are small things. Lives are at stake...understand that," said the 39-year old off-spinner who is helping feed 5000 under-privileged families in his native Jalandhar.

"Yes cricket has given us everything. Whatever I am today is because of cricket. But this is not the time to discuss cricket. I would like to talk about how we can help people," said India''s third highest wicket-taker in Test cricket.

There are doubts over whether the T20 World Cup, to be held in Australia in October this year, would take place or not. Harbhajan said, keeping the situation in mind, a World Cup or an IPL can wait for a year.

"One IPL, one World Cup...what difference will it make if it does not happen this year? But if these things go on, our lives will be finished.

"I know I am not in my 20s anymore but even if I was...I would have said the same thing," said the 103-Test veteran who has also played 236 ODIs and 28 T20s in a career spanning almost two decades.

"We have been taking everything for granted. But this (COVID-19) has taught us to be thankful for all small things. Abhi ghar pe khana bhi banta hai to sochta hu chalo khana to hai (now we are thankful that we are getting food). We also used to take our health for granted. What are you going to do with your money, car, house if you are not healthy. We have to respect that."

Harbhajan also joined the bandwagon in slamming Michael Clarke''s comments recently, saying the former Australia skipper should have named players who he felt were "sucking up" to Virat Kohli during the 2018/2019 series in order to maintain their lucrative contracts in the IPL.

"Virat Kohli does not give contracts to all! If you''re good enough nobody will stop you. Someone like (David) Warner or (Steve) Smith...how can you stop them? They don''t need to fear for their contracts. I don''t know if at all he felt there are guys (who fear for their contracts), he should have named them. But I don''t think putting everyone on the same boat is right.

"Every franchise has right to buy whoever they want to buy. They know who can win them games. If they will do well, they will have better chance to get picked. So it won''t make a difference if you are in Virat''s good books or any other player''s good books. On the contrary, if someone gets Virat out four times under 10 runs, he will say...pick him," said Harbhajan, a 2007 T20 and 2011 50-over World Cup winner.

Harbhajan, who stays in Mumbai with actress wife Geeta Basra and daughter Hinaya, signed off by saying that he is using the lockdown period to learn cooking.

"We are at home, we do yoga. I am learning cooking. Indian dishes I have learnt, daal sabji banana sikh gaya hu (I have learnt to cook pulses and vegetables). I had never been to the kitchen. I think basic cooking everyone should know," he smiled.

https://www.outlookindia.com/newsscroll/cricket-can-wait-lives-are-at-stake-harbhajan/1806497

The topic of an India- Pakistan cricket series has been in discussion among cricket pundits ever since Shoaib Akhtar put forth a suggestion of only for TV series between the two countries to help raise funds to fight the coronavirus pandemic in both the countries. Kapil Dev, who captained India to the 1983 World Cup win, had said that a bilateral series, especially in these circumstances would endanger the lives of many people and it is not a feasible idea.

Then former India captain and batting talisman Sunil Gavaskar also gave his opinion during a conversation Ramiz Raja, saying that “There are more chances of snowfall in Lahore than bilateral series between India and Pakistan.”

Now, India pacer Sreesanth has also spoken about the issue on an Instagram live chat.

“We are not in good terms with Pakistan so, India first and health first. Personally, I am not in favour of playing any match against Pakistan unless the relations between the two countries improve,’ said Sreesanth.

Sreesanth, first spotted by current BCCI president Sourav Ganguly, made his debut under Rahul Dravid, played a couple of Test matches under Anil Kumble and then completed the major part of his career under MS Dhoni (22 ODIs,13 Tests, and 9 T20Is), has picked the best-ever Indian captain and it is none of the above-mentioned greats of the Indian team.

Sreesanth went in with legendary India all-rounder and also the country’s first World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev as the best-ever Indian skipper.

In a recent live session in the Helo app, the right-arm pacer picked Kapil Dev, under whom India won the 1983 World Cup as the best-ever skipper and also named India captain Virat Kohli as the best batsman and fast bowler Jaspirt Bumrah as the best bowler in world cricket currently.

The BCCI banned Sreesanth, who is now 37, for life in August 2013 along with his Rajasthan Royals teammates Ajit Chandila and Ankeet Chavan for indulging in alleged spot-fixing in the IPL that year. But on March 15 last year, the Supreme Court set aside the BCCI disciplinary committee’s order.

Former India captain Kapil Dev does not want to be to flustered about resumption of cricket and instead wants authorities to focus on more important things like resumption of schools and colleges. “I am looking at the larger picture. Do you think cricket is the only issue we can talk about? I am rather worried about the children who are not being able to go to schools and colleges because that is our young generation. So, I want schools to reopen first. Cricket, football will happen eventually, “ he told Sports Tak.

India’s world cup-winning captain also shut down the prospect of an India vs Pakistan series to raise funds and as per him, there are several other ways to raise money to deal with the coronavirus pandemic.

“You could be emotional and say that yes, India and Pakistan should play matches. Playing matches is not a priority at the moment. If you need the money then you should stop the activities at the border. The money which will be spent can be used to build hospitals and schools. If we really need money than we have so many religious organizations, they should come forward. It is their responsibility. We offer so much many when we visit the religious shrines, so they should help the government.”

Shoaib Akhtar had earlier proposed an India vs Pakistan match which would help broadcasters raise money and which would also help several people sustain their living.

“I don’t think Kapil bhai understood what I was trying to say. Everyone is going to be trapped economically. This is the time to put our heads together and generate revenues. I’m talking about the larger perspective, about economic reforms. The global audience would be hooked by one single match, it will generate revenues. Kapil said he doesn’t need the money and he surely doesn’t. But everyone else does. I think this suggestion will come into consideration soon,” Akhtar told Aaj Tak.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...s-kapil-dev/story-8NwtNrDD5euyNRNA6CjrzI.html

The success of the IPL, Indian team and the BCCI financial coffers is now translating into more fiery attitudes of these ex Indian players who used to be kittens from the 70's to the 90's.

Kapil may not make much sense with mike in hand, but he was never a kitten, nor was Sunny or many other yesteryear Indian cricketers.

By calling them kittens, you are undermining your own team who only beat a mentally shot team.

Kapil may not make much sense with mike in hand, but he was never a kitten, nor was Sunny or many other yesteryear Indian cricketers.

By calling them kittens, you are undermining your own team who only beat a mentally shot team.

Lol, but don't Indian fans feel the same about the present day Pakistani team? Wouldn't that undermine all their wins against Pakistan in the last 10-15 years

We hardly play each other, do we? Btw, unlike you I have never called your cricketer kittens.

Replace World Test Championship with Indo-Pak test series: Brad Hogg

Melbourne: Former Australia cricketer Brad Hogg came up with a radical suggestion to catch the imagination of fans when cricket finally returns to the field in the post lockdown era. Hogg suggested that the ongoing World Test Championship be replaced with an Ashes series and a high-voltage clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. "The pandemic has opened the door for ultimate cricket rebirth," Hogg said in a video uploaded on his YouTube channel.

"Viewers want to see some competitive cricket, so scrap the World Test Championship (WTC) for a while and get a couple of series that are really going to ignite the interest around the world."

India are currently scheduled to travel to Australia for a blockbuster Test series later this year and Hogg suggested it should be scrapped and Tim Paine's troops should play England instead. "Firstly scrap this summer's India series against Australia and have the Ashes played instead," Hogg said.

"But on the flip side of not having India there, where do they play? They play a four-match series against Pakistan during the Christmas period -- two macthes in Pakistan and two matches in India.

"We have not seen it (Indo-Pak Test series) for a while and the public is starving for it," he added. (IANS)

https://www.sentinelassam.com/sport...ip-with-indo-pak-test-series-brad-hogg-471122

Replace World Test Championship with Indo-Pak test series: Brad Hogg

Melbourne: Former Australia cricketer Brad Hogg came up with a radical suggestion to catch the imagination of fans when cricket finally returns to the field in the post lockdown era. Hogg suggested that the ongoing World Test Championship be replaced with an Ashes series and a high-voltage clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. "The pandemic has opened the door for ultimate cricket rebirth," Hogg said in a video uploaded on his YouTube channel.

"Viewers want to see some competitive cricket, so scrap the World Test Championship (WTC) for a while and get a couple of series that are really going to ignite the interest around the world."

India are currently scheduled to travel to Australia for a blockbuster Test series later this year and Hogg suggested it should be scrapped and Tim Paine's troops should play England instead. "Firstly scrap this summer's India series against Australia and have the Ashes played instead," Hogg said.

"But on the flip side of not having India there, where do they play? They play a four-match series against Pakistan during the Christmas period -- two macthes in Pakistan and two matches in India.

"We have not seen it (Indo-Pak Test series) for a while and the public is starving for it," he added. (IANS)

https://www.sentinelassam.com/sport...ip-with-indo-pak-test-series-brad-hogg-471122

I thought he would suggest an India-Australia series because that’s India’s main rivals...

What is the fascination with India Pak games? There are other nations in the world which play cricket too.

It won’t happen because of the much hate we get from India.

Only thing will raise after this match will hatrode by Team India.

It won’t happen because of the much hate we get from India.

Only thing will raise after this match will hatrode by Team India.

Hatred is mutual.

And yes I don’t see series between the two for very long time.

Hatred is mutual.

And yes I don’t see series between the two for very long time.

Very been Mutual because we have nothing to loose. On the other hand, they have everything to loose. Don’t wanna be political here but I hope you get my point.

No I don’t think it’s mutual.

For some it’s neutral as we just want to get on with our lives. But for many it’s sadly hold true. Lately, both countries have express hostility towards each other.

I feel both countries need to ignore each other for certain period till normalcy returns. Until then any exercise to hold talks and/or events will only countered with hatred.

I converse with both communities here in Toronto, and lately people are openly expressing their anger towards each other(mostly towards political figure).
Best time between India-Pakistan was 2004-07. Ever since 26/11, relationship has never been the same.

Very been Mutual because we have nothing to loose. On the other hand, they have everything to loose. Don’t wanna be political here but I hope you get my point.

Refer to my post above^.

I do understand it’s mostly political but sadly it’s now reflecting in everyday life too. We could discuss further in TP section.
Let’s not divert cricket thread.

India doesn't need money, can't even think cricket right now: Kapil Dev on Akhtar's proposal

The legendary Kapil Dev on Thursday slammed Shoaib Akhtar's idea of a made-for-television three-match ODI series between India and Pakistan to raise funds for the COVID-19 pandemic, saying "India doesn't need the money" and it is not worth risking lives for a cricket match.

Speaking to PTI, Akhtar on Wednesday proposed a closed-door series to jointly raise funds to fight the deadly virus both in India and Pakistan. Dev said the proposal is not feasible.

"He is entitled to his opinion but we don't need to raise the money. We have enough. For us, what is important right now is that how our authorities work together to deal with this crisis. I am still seeing a lot of blame game on television from the politicians and that needs to stop," Dev told PTI.

"Anyway, the BCCI has donated a hefty amount (Rs 51 crore) for the cause and is in a position to donate much more if the need arises. It doesn't need to raise funds.

"The situation is unlikely to get normal anytime soon and organising a cricket game means putting our cricketers at risk which we don't need to," said the World Cup-winning former captain.

Dev said cricket should not even matter for at least the next six months.

"It is just not worth the risk. And how much money can you make from three games? In my view, you can’t even think of cricket for the next five to six months," he said.

Dev said the focus, at the moment, should only be on saving lives and taking care of the poor who are struggling to make ends meet in a lockdown situation.

"Cricket will resume when things get normal. The game can't be bigger than the country. The pressing issue is to look after the poor, the hospital workers, the police and all other people who are on the frontline of this war," said the 61-year-old.

https://www.indiatvnews.com/sports/...-money-cant-think-of-cricket-right-now-606028
Surely now you need money, dont you India?

Thank you Kapil Dev for putting Shoaib in his place.

Kapil has made a fool of himself as much as Akhtar has here.

India wont play Pakistan because according to them Pak supports attacks in India. Akhtar watches too much Bollywood.

Kapil claims India doesnt need money, yet dozens of charities worldwide and Bollywood celebs are asking for donations. Perhaps Kapil has made a bank transfer nobody is aware of.

Yes its a sad situation in India but Pakistanis in general need to calm down. India has the rupees to sort their own situation out, wish them well and leave them to it.

Shoaib Akhtar always makes no sense.

India is quite a wealthy nation and have a lot of money, but sadly there is still a lot of people living in poverty. I don’t think India need money from charity cricket games. They could do with oxygen, medical supplies, ventilators, ppe etc.

Pakistan on the other hand is a far from being a wealthy nation but can probably raise money in other ways than cricket against India. For Pakistan there is also a problem of money and supplies reaching those who actually need them.

There is gonna be know Pak-Bharat series of any kind at least for the next ten years. Let's keep it that way..

Shoaib Akhtar always makes no sense.

India is quite a wealthy nation and have a lot of money, but sadly there is still a lot of people living in poverty. I don’t think India need money from charity cricket games. They could do with oxygen, medical supplies, ventilators, ppe etc.

Pakistan on the other hand is a far from being a wealthy nation but can probably raise money in other ways than cricket against India. For Pakistan there is also a problem of money and supplies reaching those who actually need them.

If they have money and lots of it, then why can't they use it to BUY oxygen, medical supplies ventilators, ppe? Why do these items must from begging and in charity?

I am not sure how can we classify India as a wealthy nation considering the poverty levels in India.

Yes it prioritises its space program, defence program and other stuff over its people but that doesnt make it wealthy.

I am not sure how can we classify India as a wealthy nation considering the poverty levels in India.

Yes it prioritises its space program, defence program and other stuff over its people but that doesnt make it wealthy.

India is still a third world country of developing status. May have strong foreign reserves but is low GDP per capita which is a more relevant figure when you compare development.

As regards Fund raising, is always a good and noble work even if it returns low value IMO. every little bit helps.

tbh - India Pak match is more likely to happen now considering the ceasefire and I sincerely wish that it happens. Needn't be national teams but a charity matches can have retired players and draw enough eyeballs

Shoaib’s only expressed his opinion and he’s clearly thinking simplistically like a common man, wouldn’t it be great to have some Pak-Ind charity matches played at some point to raise funds - yep maybe not right now, but nothing wrong with the suggestion to get so much criticism.

The response by Indian players shows the typically bitter and pessimistic kind of attitude you get whenever Pakistan is mentioned - in fact you should be grateful Kapil didn’t mention cross border terrorism or the Mumbai attacks in his response.

Out of interest with those Indian players saying we can’t even think about cricket right now, I’m guessing they have also been vocal about the IPL needing to be suspended while there is a national humanitarian crisis in the country ?

If they have money and lots of it, then why can't they use it to BUY oxygen, medical supplies ventilators, ppe? Why do these items must from begging and in charity?
They can buy them and pay for them but there is obviously a shortage and they need them. The government and rich should pay for them.

Will not happen. If it did happen for the purpose of raising funds for charities, that would be respectable but neither India nor Pakistan will openly try and help each other given the political tensions.

Why are ex-Pakistan players desperate for Pakistan to play India?.It won’t happen the given the present climate.

Coz this series generates most money. PCB needs money where as the BCCI do not.

Not sure why everyone talking about how rich/poor India is Or India asking others to provide oxygen etc. India too provided vaccines to lot of countries earlier and HCQ when early results proved HCQ could be used for CV treatment. That's how countries help each other in difficult times except few countries who are completely dependent on foreign aid to run their day to day business.

What Shoaib suggested is more like a sentimental wish, where he himself knows no matches are happening between Ind-Pak.

Shoaib being Shoaib here but Kapil should've responded in better way. Saying something like 'due to current relations between India-Pak, doubt any cricket will happen', could have been much better.

Not sure why everyone talking about how rich/poor India is Or India asking others to provide oxygen etc. India too provided vaccines to lot of countries earlier and HCQ when early results proved HCQ could be used for CV treatment. That's how countries help each other in difficult times except few countries who are completely dependent on foreign aid to run their day to day business.

India was selling vaccines and drugs. IOther countries are giving oxygen supply and medical facilities as aid. India was not doing charity; it was doing a business transaction with other countries. However, india is receiving charity in this case. There’s a difference between how the two things worked and it’s very simple.

Stick to cricket/BCCI/PCB/Indo Pak Cricket only.

Thrash Pakistan + raise funds for the fight against COVID.

This is a win-win situation for India. They can also justify their decision to play Pakistan like they justify it in ICC tournaments + Asia Cup.

Both are special circumstances and thus the usual terms & conditions for the boycott against Pakistan does not apply.

India was selling vaccines and drugs. IOther countries are giving oxygen supply and medical facilities as aid. India was not doing charity; it was doing a business transaction with other countries. However, india is receiving charity in this case. There’s a difference between how the two things worked and it’s very simple.

Don't want to drag this more as moderator already said to stick to cricket only. But fyi India did both. Sold vaccines/hcq as well provided free of cost to few countries. Perhaps you ignored that.
Right now India is overwhelmed with number of cases hence immediate need of oxygen and concetrators etc.
As I mentioned in some other post, you can't grow food overnight even if you have money. That's the situation right now.

Coming back to what Shoaib and Kapil said. My view is simple. Both are wrong. India-Pak are not playing due to bad relations and it has nothing to do with money.