Should Umar Akmal be tried as an opener in LOIs?

WC-Passion

Mods can you add a poll.

I for one think he can be used as an opener. We have a lot of openers in our disposal but all of them play best as accumulators and I think we need someone alongside them who can speed up the innings.

Hafeez, Babar, Azhar, Shehzad etc are all capable at batting at good pace but I think they aren't very consistent at this and can sometimes get into a mess with rotating the strike.

As a lot of you guys have noticed, Shehzad has difficulties finding the gaps and goes for lofted shots to get boundaries when this happens. So it normally goes: 1,0,0,0,0,4. However against good attacks this is very difficult. The last ODI was a bit of a slog fest and it doesn't have the right balance of attack and defence. I think if we have one attacking opener and one more defensive opener it can work well.

Here is some proof for you guys. In the 1st, 2nd and 3rd ODI, most of our top 5 was batting at SR's less than 80.

1st ODI:

Azhar (SR 80)
Bilal (SR 28)
Hafeez(SR 50)
Shobby(SR 70)

(Younis was batting at a SR of 50 too but he's long gone now)

2nd ODI:

Azhar (SR 48)
Babar (SR 66)
Hafeez(SR 0, got out after 8 balls!)
Iftikhar(SR 23)
Shobby(SR 52)

3rd ODI:

Azhar (SR 66)
Babar (SR 73)
Hafeez(SR 63)
Sarfraz(SR 100)
Shobby(SR 55)

So I think someone like Umar Akmal is what we need. Seemed to do some intelligent things for once in the T20 series and I think he can provide a good boost to the team's attitude. Coming in at 6 with only 130 on the scoreboard doesn't really help and I think putting him at the top with one of Babar-Azhar-Shehzad-Hafeez, whoever can work out.

Yes please. Been calling for this move since ages.

[MENTION=136113]Barragan[/MENTION] [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION]

Know you guys are fans of him what do you think about this?

He is strong against pace, so it would work out for him and the PP is a bonus for his aggressive style of batting.

Yeah, I think he should be given at least 3-5 games as an opener.

A flashy 20 or 25 from opener doesn't help in any condition.

An openers job is to play pace well and see of the new ball without putting too much pressure on the middle order which he can do.

Yeah, I think he should be given at least 3-5 games as an opener.

An openers job is to play pace well and see of the new ball without putting too much pressure on the middle order which he can do.

He doesn't have the technique or mental strength to be an opener.... At best, he can slog towards death.

Seeing off the new ball? Afridi will do much better job than him.

Pakistan doesn't have genuine opener.

And umer akmal can't book a seat in any other top team. That should tell you something.

Even pak management doesn't trust him for a reason.

Need to look for other alternatives.

He doesn't have the technique or mental strength to be an opener.... At best, he can slog towards death.

Seeing off the new ball? Afridi will do much better job than him.

Pakistan doesn't have genuine opener.

And umer akmal can't book a seat in any other top team. That should tell you something.

Need to look for other alternatives.

He does have a good technique when he applies himself and is good against pace and decent against spin, so why should he be at 6 slogging with the spinners out?

Please tell me your joking when you say Afridi will do much better than him. I like how you say "flashy 20-25's would do nothing" and then say Afridi would be better. :facepalm:

Also it's easier said than done when it comes to "need to look for other alternatives". If we can try Bilal Asif at opener why not Umar?

He does have a good technique when he applies himself and is good against pace and decent against spin, so why should he be at 6 slogging with the spinners out?

When was the last time you saw him applying himself and doing what needs to be done.... When was the previous occurrence of the same? What was the gap?

I have seen afridi growing and the decline. Afridi, at this stage, was much more mature than akmal.... Initially he was a match winner(afridi)

When was the last time you saw him applying himself and doing what needs to be done.... When was the previous occurrence of the same? What was the gap?

I have seen afridi growing and the decline. Afridi, at this stage, was much more mature than akmal.... Initially he was a match winner(afridi)

Last series.

Ok. If a few low 20s and multiple single digit scores deserve to be an opener, then no arguing. You win the debate.

I guess, i want different abilities from an opener....

I was talking about T20's as that was the last time he played. 38*.

If you want to talk about ODI's, he last did it in the ODI world cup against WI and Eng.

I was talking about T20's as that was the last time he played. 38*.

If you want to talk about ODI's, he last did it in the ODI world cup against WI and Eng.

I don't remember any eng match. When was it?

And bringing t20 performance in odis has no relevance.

Wouldn't have done for other teams. But collapse brings akmal around 15-20 overs. Meaning he has 30-35 overs of play. That's no different than no.3 for other teams.

I do not understand what you're trying to say here.

Yes, this would give him the chance to settle without having the pressure of coming in having to catch up/slog to maintain RR. He could be a good opener for Pakistan as can play pace quite well and find gaps. His brother was given the opportunity in LOI's so why can't he?

Agreed. He has been used as a keeper due to the absence/injury of Kamran so he should be tried on the same way here ande given a few chances as opener.

I think the series against India in England/Sri Lanka would be the best series to draft him in.

Very unfair. Play rizwan iftikhar babar against bangla zim sri lanka and eng on flat tracks and play umar against india in england.

Lol it's not like India's pace bowlers will threaten him unless it's a green mamba. Anyway, no point of having him minnow bash and give us a false hope like Mukhtar. That would just be a waste of time. Best thing to do is play him for 2 series', NZ and IND.

I am in favour of Umar A opening, or at least batting in the top 4. Not mainly because the usual top order players can't handle it, but because the top order is where best batsmen bat.

Look at Smith, Williamson, Root, AB, Amla etc. yet Umar has never been given a decent run in the top order.

He is by far the most dynamic batsman in the team. I feel by playing him down the order has mostly meant that he never has the chance to play an innings, as the top order let the rate climb to 8-10 per over.

This also goes for Sarfraz, too much moving up and down the order. Other teams like Eng, SA and Aus seem to focus a lot on the batting order (e.g. Smith batting at 4 in tests). Its an important facet of the game that Pakistan need to get right.

Basically, play your best at the top and give them a chance of playing the most amount of balls. :uakmal

No thanks , we don't need him as an opener.

We need to give the pair of azhar and shehzad 15 20 matches even if in the process we lose matches. These part time openers arent the solution.

He opened in his u-19 years, but I doubt it will change anything. The Akmal brothers just aren't capable of handling pressure in professional cricket.

They need to learn to play the ball on merit. If you cant pull then duck or block a few balls.

Instead they go for a rash shot and then cant believe that they are out.

No thanks , we don't need him as an opener.

We need to give the pair of azhar and shehzad 15 20 matches even if in the process we lose matches. These part time openers arent the solution.

How many chances have we given to opening pairs like Hafeez and Shehzad?

Well we might as well but the best opening partnership is Azhar and Sarfraz. They're probably not gonna do it since Shehzad is strictly an opener but I personally would like to see Umar open and see what he can do but personally I'd prefer if he bats in the top order.

Umar Akmal has to be the most overrated cricketer on PP.Somehow posters here fail to give up on him despite his continuous failures for last half a decade

How many chances have we given to opening pairs like Hafeez and Shehzad?

Both have done well. They moved hafeez to number 3 after that. How many chances have we given to azhar and shehzad together? It was ridiculous to see bilal asif opening for us ,totally pathetic.

I don't think he should open but I don't mind giving him a couple of series at 3-4.

Umar Akmal should be sent home packing. Need to look beyond him.

Yes. He can give us quick fire 20-30 or could score more when it's his day.

Lol it's not like India's pace bowlers will threaten him unless it's a green mamba. Anyway, no point of having him minnow bash and give us a false hope like Mukhtar. That would just be a waste of time. Best thing to do is play him for 2 series', NZ and IND.

He has a very poor record against us, be it in Bangladesh or Australia.

bro I've been saying this for a long time we need to try something different with Umar Akmal..Umar Akmal loves to play his shots and there is no better place for him to bat right now than the opening position....and it's not like we are blessed with Haydens and Sehwags.Our opening pairs have been struggling for a long long time. Umar has the talent and shouldn't not be wasted.

Umar has done reasonably well in ODIs on his comeback before being dropped. We have all seen how his replacements have done. Some of them struggle to pick spinners others just have one shot to play.

Really can't believe such a diverse batsman has to be treated like this way. His stats are on par with Raina who India consider their best late order player ever.

Umar Akmal should be sent home packing. Need to look beyond him.

his replacements are failing bro..not long when selectors have to ultimately pick Umar. Talent like him cannot stay away from team for long.

bro I've been saying this for a long time we need to try something different with Umar Akmal..Umar Akmal loves to play his shots and there is no better place for him to bat right now than the opening position....and it's not like we are blessed with Haydens and Sehwags.Our opening pairs have been struggling for a long long time. Umar has the talent and shouldn't not be wasted.

Umar has done reasonably well in ODIs on his comeback before being dropped. We have all seen how his replacements have done. Some of them struggle to pick spinners others just have one shot to play.

Really can't believe such a diverse batsman has to be treated like this way. His stats are on par with Raina who India consider their best late order player ever.

Agreed, people say give the same opening pair more chances, even though these kind of players have been given chances over the last 5 years and have found it hard to get to 60 in the first 10 overs without loosing a wicket.

How is Malik even related to this discussion?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

My statement was to show that we don't have 2003 Aussie stars in the rest of the lineup, we have to make do with what we have.

Both have done well. They moved hafeez to number 3 after that. How many chances have we given to azhar and shehzad together? It was ridiculous to see bilal asif opening for us ,totally pathetic.

How many times have we got to a consistent RR of 6 with our opening pair against good sides with players like Hafeez and Shehzad (Azhar too) playing together? They're good players but together they both fill an accumulator type role and it's not helping the middle order as many balls have been wasted.

Saw this a lot in the WC and only players like Misbah were coping with it and Misbah had to make do with 10-20's from Umar, 20-30's from Afridi slogging widly, and 5-10's from Maqsood + the tail to get us up to 220+.

He has a very poor record against us, be it in Bangladesh or Australia.

True, don't remember him doing much against you.

But to be fair you have world class spinners like Ashwin and none of our middle order with Rizwan and Maqsood in there would be able to score off him, and Umar's in the middle order where the spinners would be used.

That's why I think he should be played as an opener as he has a higher chance of hitting Ishant, Bhuvi, Yadav whoever you have as your fast bowlers than Ashwin,Jadeja and Mishra.

Umar Akmal has to be the most overrated cricketer on PP.Somehow posters here fail to give up on him despite his continuous failures for last half a decade

Actually barring 2013 and 2015 he has been pretty good since 2009. In 2014 he did very well in the Asia Cup and did well in the 2014 WC. He did well in the 2012 WC and 2010 WC too. 2011 WC he did well and did well in the ICC Champions Trophy 2009.

My statement was to show that we don't have 2003 Aussie stars in the rest of the lineup, we have to make do with what we have.
IMO, there are many better players than UA. Especially in the ODI format

In terms of Average + SR's outside of Asia? Who is better? Not saying UA is the best but It would be interesting to see the stats. (Afridi and other players that have retired or who are never getting back in the squad like Razzler, don't count)

his replacements are failing bro..not long when selectors have to ultimately pick Umar. Talent like him cannot stay away from team for long.

He may be a better cricketer than his replacements. But he has had a history of disciplinary issues.

Akmal as an opener would be a suicidal move he doesnt have the technic to combat moving ball early on, hes always more ideally suited to batting 5 in ODIs where he would get some time to build an inns before possibly being explosive at the end of the inns,

I can support his place as an opener in T20 with out having any doubts. In ODI'S he can come in anywhere from 1-4, because our openers will probably get out in the first few overs so he can potentially provide a quick spark to get momentum back on our side. He's not a proper opener but more of a pinch hitter sent up the order to allow the accumulator on the other end to play their game and UA to go for his aggressive style of play. If he can perform with out throwing away his wicket in a rash move then it could be a good move. I'm willing to experiment with him batting in top 4 position, if we tried Bilal how can we not try him.

Yeh bhi try karke dekhlo.. kuch aur tou chal raha nahi hai

What's the thinking behind him being a success at the top of the order?

Lol

I'm glad PPers aren't the selectors/team management.

What next, open with Wahab? But then again, doesn't cost much to throw around opinions.

It's definitely one of those famous PPer fantasies. The other was Babar Azam opening, which he himself said he doesn't like and couldn't do well either. :najam

Lol.... Akmal and consistent?

What's the thinking behind him being a success at the top of the order?

We don't have a proper opener who gets off to a blazing start. We will no doubt chop and change anyway with someone else in the top slot, so Umar can give us a quick spark to gain some momentum. He's not a guarantee, but another option worth trying

Umar akmal was the best he is ever going to be within the first few years of his debut.

he slowly went downhill from there.

I think he should be dropped, he is just not scoring runs.

What is the harm in trying Umar Akmal as an ODI opener?

Pakistan is the only test playing nation that does not have dynamic ODI openers. An opening partnership of Azhar and Shehzad kills our chances before the game begins. If you look at the NZ ODIs both openers absolutely killed the run rate and got out only for Hafeez and Babar to show them how batting is done. I say drop Shehzad and replace him with Umar. Look at how England dealt with Hales. We must do the same. He is not too troubled by raw pace and can actually make use of the field restrictions. Our ODI team is going to die if we don't start playing openers who look to grab the game by the scruff of the neck.

Just give him a chance. I promise he will not do worse than Shehzad. Im not an Akmal fan boy but these are desperate times in ODIs. Perhaps with just 2 fielders outside he wont slog it into deep midwicket's hands and will actually do well. His dot ball percentage is also very low and we need that. Look at what India did with Rohit who was just average. After becoming opener he is arguably the best in the world. Im not claiming that Akmal will become nearly as good but he will do better than what we have. He is a quality player without a brain. People are saying Sarfraz should open to make use of the fielding restrictions but it is an absolute joke to rate him close to Umar in limited overs.

Let Umar cement himself in ODIs first, he hasn't even been in contention for selection lately.

Maqsood was selected in ODIs when Umar actually did so well in NZ t20s while Maqsood did nothing

That is my point. It has gotten to the point to where selectors are tired of Umar. They're ignoring him for ODIs are going far enough to select batsmen like Maqsood, who at best are an inferior form of Umar. I don't know what it is going to take for Umar to get into the ODI team now, but when or if he does, he would need to seriously score to cement his place.

Forget about opening, he can't even make the ODI squad. Also, even if he got an ODI call-up, I highly doubt he will open. Management and Umar himself would be against that idea and the think tank of our management isn't too bright either. Realistically speaking, the whole "Umar should open in ODIs" is just a dream in the minds of PPers. As much as we would all like this experiment to happen, the likeliness is low.

Umar akmal can not bat in powerplay overs. look at his dismissals he usually gets out in powerplays inside the circle.

No harm at all. In fact it's an excellent strategy as he will be able play himself in and if he stays in for 30 odd overs we know we are going to have a good run rate rather than the normal under par one.
Umar s got all the shots, but we need to insist that he doesn't got aerial until the end of inns . He always seems to be getting out to the pull.
Keep the ball down Umar and watch your average grow!

The harm is this will give the excuse to Akmal lobby that he is being misused as an opener, he has never batted as an opener in domestics. Playing him as an opener has ruined him as a batsman. Excuses akin to what Malik gave after he was stopped being selected for Pakistan.. Malik said I didn't want to play as an opener but played for the betterment of the team..

Also similar to the excuses Umar Akmal gave when he was played as a keeper.

That is the culture that is prevalent in our domestics and International cricket alike. They use this as an excuse and justify their low performance by playing the victim...

Kamran Akmal has done this before too. He put his lack of performance down to playing as a middle order batsman, saying he played better as an opener lolll

The best batsman in the country when on song. No doubt. We need to help the guy not kick him out. Make him open and watch wonders happen

No need.

Needs to bat at number 3 or number 4 in T20i and Odi cricket for Pakistan.

Umar is frustrating. Why can't he bat like this consistently? Hopefully this will be a turning point for him.

Wonderful innings today but bear in mind he won't be getting a full-toss buffet from Umar Gul when he's opening against any decent international new ball bowlers.

Pakistan is the only test playing nation that does not have dynamic ODI openers. An opening partnership of Azhar and Shehzad kills our chances before the game begins. If you look at the NZ ODIs both openers absolutely killed the run rate and got out only for Hafeez and Babar to show them how batting is done. I say drop Shehzad and replace him with Umar. Look at how England dealt with Hales. We must do the same. He is not too troubled by raw pace and can actually make use of the field restrictions. Our ODI team is going to die if we don't start playing openers who look to grab the game by the scruff of the neck.

Just give him a chance. I promise he will not do worse than Shehzad. Im not an Akmal fan boy but these are desperate times in ODIs. Perhaps with just 2 fielders outside he wont slog it into deep midwicket's hands and will actually do well. His dot ball percentage is also very low and we need that. Look at what India did with Rohit who was just average. After becoming opener he is arguably the best in the world. Im not claiming that Akmal will become nearly as good but he will do better than what we have. He is a quality player without a brain. People are saying Sarfraz should open to make use of the fielding restrictions but it is an absolute joke to rate him close to Umar in limited overs.

Forcing Umar Akmal to bat as an ODI opener may kill his career.

The thing which is sad is that umar actually has talent as well he just needs to be consistent. He's a great batsman when inform.

Wonderful innings today but bear in mind he won't be getting a full-toss buffet from Umar Gul when he's opening against any decent international new ball bowlers.

This.

It was a good innings no doubt but Gul's horrible bowling also helped. Short pitched deliveries or full tosses. He kept hooking them onto the on side. Nonetheless, taking nothing away from the innings.

Forcing Umar Akmal to bat as an ODI opener may kill his career.

Where exactly would His Highness be best suited in the line-up?

I don't think there are any chances for Hafeez and Babar to be removed from 3 and 4. Therefore Umar should open.