Should Umar Akmal be tried as an opener in LOIs?

Not true.

200 all out in 20 overs >>>> 250 all out in 50 overs.

The first one has more chances of winning the game when it clicks.

The second one is only good for respectable losses. Maybe not even that.

Actually Pakistan has won more after scoring 250+ than the rare times they score 300. Random hitting wont help. Say, it clicks once in 10 matches and you score 300. The other 9 times you score 200 you lose. However, say you scored 250+ 6 times with this approach and win 3 of them. That is still 3 times more success than what you had with the first apporach

Not true.

200 all out in 20 overs >>>> 250 all out in 50 overs.

The first one has more chances of winning the game when it clicks.

The second one is only good for respectable losses. Maybe not even that.

I do not agree to it. This will only work if the batsmen click at least half of the time. The likes of Akmal will fail 8 out of 10 times.

Actually Pakistan has won more after scoring 250+ than the rare times they score 300. Random hitting wont help. Say, it clicks once in 10 matches and you score 300. The other 9 times you score 200 you lose. However, say you scored 250+ 6 times with this approach and win 3 of them. That is still 3 times more success than what you had with the first apporach

It won't win in the new era where 250 is nothing.

It won 250 games bcos the par scores weren't so high and they had Ajmal, Hafeez and Afridi in full flow.

Check how many games they won after scoring 250 after Ajmal, Hafeez were banned.

0-3 against Bangladesh
1-4 against Eng
0-2 against NZ in NZ (I think)
0-3 against England (now)

Almost got screwed in WC 2015 too.

250 is useless unless you have truly great bowlers. Might as well go boom or bust and improve from there.

I do not agree to it. This will only work if the batsmen click at least half of the time. The likes of Akmal will fail 8 out of 10 times.

Didn't say 200 in 20 overs will win matches.

But atleast the mindset will help you develop a team for future compared to slow coach 250 in 50 overs where batsmen would average a brilliant 40-50 with a SR of 70-80.

Perfect respectable losses in modern era.

U akmal and Shehzad........... perfect opening pair. Both of them have immense potentials, can clear the boundaries at will and have the unique ability to instill fear in opposition bowlers mind.

Didn't say 200 in 20 overs will win matches.

But atleast the mindset will help you develop a team for future compared to slow coach 250 in 50 overs where batsmen would average a brilliant 40-50 with a SR of 70-80.

Perfect respectable losses in modern era.

I am all for high strike rates and slogging in ODIs but you need proper sloggers/hitters for that. Can't go with the likes of Akmal and Maqsood and expect them to take team to a good total.

They failed spectacularly in 2015 WC which was the most batting friendly WC and team were scoring 400+.

I am all for high strike rates and slogging in ODIs but you need proper sloggers/hitters for that. Can't go with the likes of Akmal and Maqsood and expect them to take team to a good total.

They failed spectacularly in 2015 WC which was the most batting friendly WC and team were scoring 400+.

Then go for others who can atleast play the game (even if they don't have consistency).

These accumulators won't win you anything unless you find some 2 ATG ODI bowlers fast.

Should Umaṛ Akmal open in ODIs?

Pakistan has tried several openers in the recent past and have finally found one who can take complete advantage of the power play (and beyond that). While Azhar currently provides a calming influence at the other end, Umaṛ Akmal partnering Sharjeel Khan can give a more rapid start.

On the other hand Umar Akmal hasn't been able to get big scores so far and this could be a trade off that the team will have to do with.

The only thing that Umar Akmal should be opening is the exit door of Pakistan cricket.

Will certainly do better than Azhar, we aren't producing bucket loads of dynamic LO players so it's worth a go.

yeah give him 3,4 years and then ask for lower order position for him :azhar2

Give him a shot there so we are finally able to quite the Umar Akmal fans but I don't see him doing too well there if he can't do well at all playing at other positions. Also, given his fitness and dedication to the game, he can't succeed at any number even if he was in the form of his life.

LOL. If this tour proved anything it was the fact that Junior doesn't have the talent nor has anyone ever held him back from becoming the next Viv/Kohli/insert name of superstar. The hype surrounding this guy is a sorry reminder on how some Pakistani fans are addicted to mediocrity. Someone who has failed constantly for years will not come good until he understand why he has failed all this time. The fans who support him are a worse case than Junior himself.

No - reason being we have other options for dynamic openers whilst for dynamic lower order players there isnt anyone bar umar or maqsood

let Shazaib get his chance. If he fails get Zaman in.

Mean while let umar make 6 his spot in odis

You known, if you asked me this before sharjeel became our opener in odis I would have said simply based on the ignorance that we are desperate for an opener that cannot be found in domestic cricket. But given how sharjeel has gone I am liable to trust the domestic system to throw up an other aggressive opener.

LOL. If this tour proved anything it was the fact that Junior doesn't have the talent nor has anyone ever held him back from becoming the next Viv/Kohli/insert name of superstar. The hype surrounding this guy is a sorry reminder on how some Pakistani fans are addicted to mediocrity. Someone who has failed constantly for years will not come good until he understand why he has failed all this time. The fans who support him are a worse case than Junior himself.

I would say he has regressed with the fan base and adapting to the afridian style of batting which is hear the audience chanting for a six and go for it... When he came in to int'l cricket he was as good as babar is now, He was fast tracked into the national side looking at his performance in Aus only weeks ago his debut and it took him only 3 games to make a 100.. Hope babar doesnt take UA route, instead I want UA to take babar's route...

You known, if you asked me this before sharjeel became our opener in odis I would have said simply based on the ignorance that we are desperate for an opener that cannot be found in domestic cricket. But given how sharjeel has gone I am liable to trust the domestic system to throw up an other aggressive opener.

shahzaib hasan inshallah ?

We should! Maybe after he fails his fans will stop demanding a different batting position for him.

No - reason being we have other options for dynamic openers whilst for dynamic lower order players there isnt anyone bar umar or maqsood

let Shazaib get his chance. If he fails get Zaman in.

Mean while let umar make 6 his spot in odis

yeah Pakistan have some dynamic batting options like Shahzaib in opening department but can't see anyone capable of batting at 100+ strike rate at 6. but to be successful at no.6 Umar has to bat really well. It's a very tricky position to bat on. You are always in double minds whether to anchor the innings or go for big shots.

tough

Umar should know to deal with in, we no longer need him in the order nor has he earnt it

He got to number 9 in the odi batsman rankings playing lower order role, needs to regain that form and improve on it

No , he needs to score at number 6 or leave the team for good.

We need to try out shazeb hasan at opening , akmal is walking on thin ice.

That's the only position I would have accepted him at before this series. He has become hopeless at 6. We should have experimented that before when we were wasting our time on Shahzad. But his fitness don't give many positive signals about his current mindset.

He can still be tried but I would prefer Shahzaib and Fakhar at this stage.

Umar had a compact defense,strokes all over the ground....his ability to smash the ball in the "V" was what started the young SRT comparison.

Now he neither has the defense,neither the ability to hit all over the ground or neither that confident footwork.

Unbelievable to see how he has regressed...No way he will survive the new ball

Him and Shehzad should never play for Pakistan again. Bunch of mediocre cricketers at best.

Unbelievable delusion from his fans! the guy is a failure at every position in the lower middle order and suddenly he now warrants the opening spot in the line-up. Because this is supposed to somehow unleash his hidden potential, free him from the burdens of this cruel world that are bearing down upon him and make him the reincarnation of Gilchrist himself. I bet this genius idea has not even crossed Akmal's head as a means to stay in the team yet his fans will continue to grovel shamelessly on his behalf.

Need to throw this rubbish player out asap

For sure. Has to open with Sharjeel. Give him a consistent run as opener and he will come good. I gurantee it

Not at all.

Fitter, Calm, Patient, Impactful, powerful, mature, dynamic Shahzaib Hasan with a List A average of 37 and SR of 107 in 59 innings is 300 % times better option.

Shahzaib has record of two fastest List A centuries in Pakistan as an Opener.

In a sample set of 30 plus List A games which Pakistani opener has an Average of 35 plus and a SR of 105+ ?

Only Sharjeel & Shahzaib Hasan.

This team is not anybody's dad personal property........ Let the most deserving player play.

Umar Akmal has zero resemblance with either Rohit Sharma or Dilshan. He has not opened in List A cricket in last 8 years and may be never. He was always number 4 batsman rarely coming in at number 3 for his region or department. He is not at all versatile for different batting positions and even under the leadership of his beloved brother Kamran he opted to bat at number 4. Ask him to lose 10-15 kg weight in next 3 months and do not select him if he isn't going to play at 3 or 4. If you are bringing haris or saud or saad at number 4 than too don't pick umar akmal just for bench or other numbers where wrt match situations not numbers he has failed 98 % of times.

Shahzaib isn't meant to sell Cholay

Not at all.

Fitter, Calm, Patient, Impactful, powerful, mature, dynamic Shahzaib Hasan with a List A average of 37 and SR of 107 in 59 innings is 300 % times better option.

Shahzaib has record of two fastest List A centuries in Pakistan as an Opener.

In a sample set of 30 plus List A games which Pakistani opener has an Average of 35 plus and a SR of 105+ ?

Only Sharjeel & Shahzaib Hasan.

This team is not anybody's dad personal property........ Let the most deserving player play.

Umar Akmal has zero resemblance with either Rohit Sharma or Dilshan. He has not opened in List A cricket in last 8 years and may be never. He was always number 4 batsman rarely coming in at number 3 for his region or department. He is not at all versatile for different batting positions and even under the leadership of his beloved brother Kamran he opted to bat at number 4. Ask him to lose 10-15 kg weight in next 3 months and do not select him if he isn't going to play at 3 or 4. If you are bringing haris or saud or saad at number 4 than too don't pick umar akmal just for bench or other numbers where wrt match situations not numbers he has failed 98 % of times.

Shahzaib isn't meant to sell Cholay

Who, after Shahzaib fails?

Yes, it's time.

Give him a decent run like [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] said.

Also keep Shahzaib in the squad in this time period and if Umar keeps failing, put Shahzaib in the XI.

If both these lads fail to produce, bring in Khalid Latif.

If he doesn't work either, it's time to try out Fakhar/Imam.

Akmal fans will have us try him on every position from one to eleven and when he fails at all the positions then they will finally see how rubbish Akmal is.

I think he should open for Lahore qalandars this season along with McCallum if he is interested in going that route and to prove his fans as well else he should be kicked out for good

Only if he goes to domestic and improves his technique just like Dilshan did.

TBH , i have no hope in him but i would give him one complete series as an Opener ( we are not spoilt of choices there) and if he fails . I will kick him out for Good .

Akmal fans will have us try him on every position from one to eleven and when he fails at all the positions then they will finally see how rubbish Akmal is.

No they will say his batting style suits only at no.6 as a lower order hitter and be happy with his quickfire 20s and 30s

Yes, it's time.

Give him a decent run like [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] said.

Also keep Shahzaib in the squad in this time period and if Umar keeps failing, put Shahzaib in the XI.

If both these lads fail to produce, bring in Khalid Latif.

If he doesn't work either, it's time to try out Fakhar/Imam.

I agree to this experiment.. Makes sense and atleast one pair will click and MICKEY will stick to it...

Mickey must promote Umar Akmal to open now that Sharjeel is most probably out. With just 2 men out he could be extremely dangerous. Playing like a dream today. He is our 2nd best Limited Overs batsman

He must open in the wi loi series and ct now Sharjeel is gone we need a player like him at the top, this would be my lineup for wi series and ct:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Umar Akmal
3. Babar Azam
4. Malik
5. Sarfaraz
6. Hasan Khan
7. Shadab Khan
8. Imad Wasim
9. Sohail Khan
10. Amir
11. Hassan Ali

Mickey must promote Umar Akmal to open now that Sharjeel is most probably out. With just 2 men out he could be extremely dangerous. Playing like a dream today. He is our 2nd best Limited Overs batsman
:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish

he's not even 2nd best in Lahore let alone Pakistan team or PSL

:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish:danish

he's not even 2nd best in Lahore let alone Pakistan team or PSL

ditto.
akmal fan boys having a feast on once in a while slogfest of akmal. he didn't finish the game today btw. he chickened out as usual and left the match on others.

if he played well in 2 to 3 more innings like today, i wouldn't mind him in t20 only. he has no place in ODIs.

ditto.
akmal fan boys having a feast on once in a while slogfest of akmal. he didn't finish the game today btw. he chickened out as usual and left the match on others.

if he played well in 2 to 3 more innings like today, i wouldn't mind him in t20 only. he has no place in ODIs.

His innings was a scrappy one, half of his shots were wild hacks. Even if he performs here He should not be in the team because he failed in the t20 matches a lot.
We should bring new players in the team, even Shadab is a clean hitter of the ball.
Hopefully we will see Khushdil soon, Talat and Mohsin too, so that people will realise that youngsters are the way forward now not TTF like Umar

PP is a funny place.

Even hafeez is better than UA! Not to mention :sarf :malik

Should Umar Akmal be given a run as an opener in LOI sides?

Guys Believe me i am not a umer akmal fan the guy has frustrated the hell out of me many times ( no more than world t20 2016 vs NZ).
But i believe that umer akmal should be tried as an opener won't do worse than AA and imam (test lot). With the power play he can play is aerial strokes (as he picks the fielder on boundaries most time batting in middle order).
I remember rohit sharma had an okish record batting in middle order for india for a long time (he was like india's umer akmal , all talent no perfomance) but ever since he was given a chance as opener (in 2013) we all know what happened.
I am not suggesting umer akmal will turn a beast smashing 200s for fun but atleast instead of being 35-2 after 10 he can leave us at 65-2 ...
TBH i know his discipline hasn't been the greatest but he has been treated unfairly by micky arthur (double fitness standards look at immad and sarfraz) he deserves a go

Why do we always have to resort to TTFs?

The likes of Sahibzada Farhan and Umar Amin need to be given chances first.

Why do we always have to resort to TTFs?

The likes of Sahibzada Farhan and Umar Amin need to be given chances first.

Umer Akmal's record is much better than you guys think , has a 35 avg with 90 strike rate (not a stat guy but approximately) and most importantly scored runs vs AUS Nz Eng too unlike our seniors Hafeez and Malik with even poorer avg that too through lanka bashing

Don't know about opening but I wouldn't be against him being included in our LO side. He is a power hitter which is something we don't have many off

Anyday I'll take Umar Akmal in LO over Azhar,Imam,Hafeez ,and Sarfraz.

I completely gave up any hopes on Umar Akmal after the World T20 match against NZ, that guy is a mental midget. He was our most talented batsman of this century, a young Umar Akmal was much more taleneted than Babar Azam but he completely wasted his talent. I'd rather go for Mukhtar or Awais, heck even Sohail Akhtar if I have to select an attacking opener for T20's.

Played a very entertaining knock today as opener.

First ball swept for four.
Second ball wild hoick, almost bowled.
Third ball almost out LBW.
Fourth ball out LBW, failed review.

Comedy innings from Umar Akmal today.

Should not be in the Qalandars team at the moment.

warming the bench is the best he can do. what garbage has he become.

Should be kept well away from the international setup.. what a chawal player he has turned into.. my advice to Akmal is to move on..

Just not smart enough to understand the game. He is seriously torture.

His game has deteriorated badly He plays like a number 10 and has nothing but cross batted swipes n slogs in his repertoire

God he was awful. He doesn't even look fit, he is a brainless cricketer who has all the skills to be a good batsman.

Umar Akmal should take a break from cricket. His PSL stats are beefed up by a good first season.

Break? should quit cricket and join lollywood... may become start in emotional scenes. :uak
Very sad yet amusing as to what has happened to Akmal. I hope when he looks back at his non-existent career, he realises why working hard is better than acting like a superstar all the time.

Absolutely!!! and I see this trend of "claiming of being a super star without hard work" in upcoming generation also. I really want to find out how our batsmen prepare themselves for big stage. I have read/heard many times other team players mentioning how much time they put for their practice.

Read some where that one of the U19 Ind batsmen mentioned he plays 500 balls everyday, my question to Super Star UA is how many does he play? I bet he may not have an answer.

In another program wasim/saqlain/shoaib were discussing that our players don't even talk to each other about cricket.

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] Is Akmal's failure in the last two PSL, Misbah's fault or Sarfaraz's ?

It's over. :(

I have to agree with you. Umar Akmal is TRULY BRAINLESS. The most brainless cricketer I have ever seen in my life. How stupid do you have to be to keep failing and yet not learn anything. This guy has been getting out walking down against the spinners so many times that you would think he had improved in these last few years but to learn from your mistakes and improve requires hardwork and more importantly brain which he does not have. He has really become a trash player. Feel sad for supporting him all these years.

I really wished he would have improved himself and worked hard on his batting for this important tournament, at least for his fans, but there is no hope with him. Time to officially give up. I no longer support this trash. Yesterday watching him get out was really sad.

umar2011.JPG
Umar2015.JPG

One is from 2011 SF and other from 2015 QF. Many many more you can find where he screwed up big time. I gave up after 2011 because there is a saying "you can't fix stupid"

It doesn't really matter where you try failures. They will normally fail.

You could tell today when McCullum looked at Akmal he was thinking "what on Earth are you doing playing at this level?"

What were LQ thinking when they sent him to open the batting versus IU. Awful batting.

I'd have opened with Fakhar and Umar. See if that could be a viable opening partnership in the future for the Pakistani international team if Umar gets things back on track. Lower order isn't working for him, and there is an opening spot available atm. Maybe opening might get things back on track for him. So I don't mind at all even if it doesn't work.

Though for the Lahore's chances in the PSL rather than long term future, Fakhar should really be opening with Mccullum.

I despise Afridi, but I doubt if there's been a bigger fraud than Umar Akmal in the last two decades.

UA should be used as an opener, a good start can give momentum for next players. My X!

Umar Akmal
Kamran Akmal
Hafeez
Malik
Adnan Akmal
Fawad Alam
HAris Sohail
Sohail Khan
Hammad Azam
Anwar Ali
Zulfqar Babar

UA should be used as an opener, a good start can give momentum for next players. My X!

Umar Akmal
Kamran Akmal
Hafeez
Malik
Adnan Akmal
Fawad Alam
HAris Sohail
Sohail Khan
Hammad Azam
Anwar Ali
Zulfqar Babar

bhai ye playing 11 hai ya comedy 11?

The only place he should be tried at is the bench. Liability for every team that he plays for.

Why even waste bench slot, Umar should be kept out of team? Could be used for upcoming youngster to groom and mingle with regulars !