Since the start of IPL, India has not won a T20 World Cup

fieldMarshal

Since the start of the ipl season 1 till date india has not won a single t20 world cup......this in its self is an indictment of indian cricket n its policy of not allowing its player to go n play in different leagues n experience different conditions..

India plays in most countries in the world as part of its international cricket assignments.

What would change if their players start playing in different leagues? Learn to play in different conditions? They are already doing that while playing for India.

I don’t understand this line of argument.

India plays in most countries in the world as part of its international cricket assignments.

What would change if their players start playing in different leagues? Learn to play in different conditions? They are already doing that while playing for India.

They will start getting injured like Bumrah before important tournaments. :inti

Perhaps the standard of the competition. Despite many world-class players being present, are Indian players learning the skills and performing to a level enabling them to outperform the likes of England at ICC events? There's plenty of talent in India, moreso than in Pakistan, but I'm not sure it's at the level to take them forward and win ICC events. They need to find a Dhoni/Yuvraj/Kohli.

IPL is not just for Indian domestic players. If anything it makes foreign players better. They play in the nets against each other. IPL is a money-spinning league cricket. India has a separate domestic T20 tournament called SMAT. Besides India doesn't always select best IPL players with a few exceptions. In 2022 IPL Rohit flop, Kohli flop. KL Rahul as usual minnow bashed (weaker sides), Bhuvi flop, Arshdeep reasonable success. Ashwin flop,
Axar average.

Perhaps the standard of the competition. Despite many world-class players being present, are Indian players learning the skills and performing to a level enabling them to outperform the likes of England at ICC events? There's plenty of talent in India, moreso than in Pakistan, but I'm not sure it's at the level to take them forward and win ICC events. They need to find a Dhoni/Yuvraj/Kohli.

Senior culture. Unless you are a Dhoni your market value goes down significantly once you retire. So they clingo on to their spot as long as possible. Selectors are also not ruthless. This seniority culture will not allow youngsters to come up. When India was in Australia prepping for world T20. India played a completely different B string side against full strength SA and thumped them. India has players. But when it comes to T20 certain elements are missing. Finisher mainly. Because in IPL almost all finishers are foreigners either from England or West Indies. Buttler was the leading scoreer in the IPL comfortably in 2022. Only finisher from India was Dinesh Karthik who is a mental midget when he plays international matches.

Correct .. it's a silly strawman argument with zero merit to it. If a well funded diverse IPL isn't enough as learning ground for t20, no other league is.

there is some element of luck also needed to with the final knockout matches to win a tournament.

However, if India want to introspect, few points to consider:
1. IPL has also benefitted all other teams as their players get to play and benefit from experience playing against other top players in this league (other than pakistan)
2. IPL is a bit too long and with the busy international calendar and prioritizing too much IPL may lead to burn out and injury to key players (Bumrah is one example)
3. Has it reduced the fire in the bellies, pride, intent to go and do top performance against top sides in tournaments when they have other forum to still showcase talent and earn enough living
4. Has it made them complacent and arrogant (statements like I think Pandya we can make 2 teams and beat other teams, etc.) because of what they are able to do in IPL

Again above are things to re-consider, but there are tremendous benefits of IPL also, money being just one which feeds the entire cricketing system in India, but also producing/honing top talent like SKY.

Perhaps another thing - may be unrelated to IPL, India has become too much reliant on using their own resources, coaching, etc. in recent years. nothing against them but sometimes it helps to have outside in view and to be able to overcome playing in foreign conditions or against other top teams. Maybe time to reconsider having a specialist coach from England/Australia, etc., if not as head coach but as specialist, etc.

there is some element of luck also needed to with the final knockout matches to win a tournament.

However, if India want to introspect, few points to consider:
1. IPL has also benefitted all other teams as their players get to play and benefit from experience playing against other top players in this league (other than pakistan)
2. IPL is a bit too long and with the busy international calendar and prioritizing too much IPL may lead to burn out and injury to key players (Bumrah is one example)
3. Has it reduced the fire in the bellies, pride, intent to go and do top performance against top sides in tournaments when they have other forum to still showcase talent and earn enough living
4. Has it made them complacent and arrogant (statements like I think Pandya we can make 2 teams and beat other teams, etc.) because of what they are able to do in IPL

Again above are things to re-consider, but there are tremendous benefits of IPL also, money being just one which feeds the entire cricketing system in India, but also producing/honing top talent like SKY.

Perhaps another thing - may be unrelated to IPL, India has become too much reliant on using their own resources, coaching, etc. in recent years. nothing against them but sometimes it helps to have outside in view and to be able to overcome playing in foreign conditions or against other top teams. Maybe time to reconsider having a specialist coach from England/Australia, etc., if not as head coach but as specialist, etc.

Good summary. But one of the accidental benefit from the IPL is India managed to unearth some of the finest Test cricketers. Ashwin was very poor in first class. He did well in IPL. Directly got a chance to play in tests. Look where he is now. Bumrah is another one. Pandya is another guy. These are all out and out IPL products.
Thakur is another one. Sundar althought represented under-19 became popular through IPL. He played an instrumental role in Gabba Test win.

People forget the part where Indians were proud to claim - The IPL is bigger than the World Cup - which is why a well funded and diverse IPL is never the point, it has taken BCCI 14 years to learn this lesson, and counting. Lets not forget other claims like IPL teaches players to play under pressure!

Simply put, money doesn't equate to success.

An ipl product Hardik pandya was best thing about India Today.

To win tournaments you need everything. Form, right selections and bit of luck in the match as well.

India doesn't select the best team and the brand of cricket they are playing they are bound to get outclassed by better teams in knockout.

If you select the best players of the season for the world T20 and when they fail it is meaningful to complain about it. Some of these guys sucked even in IPL. Buttler was the star player in IPL. Kane williamson had a strike rate of 97 in the IPL. Pant struggled right through. Chahal, DK, Arshdeep were picked based on this IPL. DK choker ddi nothing. Chahal never played. Arshdeep did his part for a first timer.

There are still many who believe IPL is there to advance cricket. It's not. It's a business model and is very successful. It helps the BCCI develop excellent infrastructure and facilties alongside a solid domestic base at junior/senior levels with the help of advanced coaching manuals and technologies.

In the end this results in KL Rahul, Axar Patel, Bhuvu Kumar.

Indians are never good at T20 in fact their 07 win is also a fluke thanks to the madness of Misbah name one genuine intimidating T20 player from India you have no one, though there were some patches where their player were in form like Yuvraj Kohli

Wasim Akram in the Pavilion show mentioned that the IPL should impose a salary cap for players who are U-19 and in their early 20's because too much money for short work ends up diminishing the hunger to improve, love for the game.

He gave a few examples of a couple of quicks he saw who started off their careers bowling at 140-145 km/hr but then in 1-2 years were down to 130-132 km/hr.

There are still many who believe IPL is there to advance cricket. It's not. It's a business model and is very successful. It helps the BCCI develop excellent infrastructure and facilties alongside a solid domestic base at junior/senior levels with the help of advanced coaching manuals and technologies.

In the end this results in KL Rahul, Axar Patel, Bhuvu Kumar.

IPL helps exposing some hidden talents. I don't think Umran would have come through ranks given that he is playing plate division team. That is where IPL makes the most impact. They all play for different sides. You can't randomly assemble a team and expect them to win. So what they do is they just go with seniors first and add an youngster here and there.

I think IPL have ruined Indian LOI cricket in a way.

A lot of these Indian players seem to care more about IPL than international duty.

I think IPL have ruined Indian LOI cricket in a way.

A lot of these Indian players seem to care more about IPL than international duty.

Right before IPL 2022, Rohit as a captain consistently gave Isan Kishan opening batting position (who incidentally was sold for 2 Million US dollars (MI)). Rohit was captain of Mumbai Indians as well. So Rohit gave Isan Kishan practice as opener for Indian side in order to prep him for IPL. Usually it should the other way around.

Yup. That's what I meant.

I am seeing a non-serious attitude from Indian players when it comes to LOI games. They seem much more serious about IPL.

I'm all for IPL. Its a hugely successful business venture that has given BCCI soft power in the world of cricket which they unashamedly use from time to time.

As far as international teams are concerned then I don't think IPL is to be blamed. A successful team is built on statistics, combinations and match-ups rather than just big names. For example, Rohit, Virat and KL are players who play in same mould. The ideal team would have an anchor play 12 overs whilst the power players play 8 overs to achieve an ideal result. The problem arises when the anchors end up consuming over 15 overs of a game then there is a lot of catch-up to be done by power players where there isn't much left. The likes of Buttler, De Kock type players are rare who can play both anchor and power roles for their respective sides.

Similarly for India their bowling combination is all over the place too. Firstly, I'm a firm believer that for T20s we need more impact bowlers like we need more impact batters rather than conventional bats. The likes of Bhuvi, Arshdeep and Ashwin are just one dimensional and they need conditions in their favor for them to bear an impact. However, the likes of Rauf, Wood, Starc, etc are types who can create an impact regardless of conditions. Similarly the times have changed which means spinners are attacking options in limited overs rather than defensive. The likes of Axar are never going to win T20s. Axar has had success in test cricket in India where he can dart at the same place all day from where some would spin 90 degrees and some would go straight. These type wickets don't come through in T20s hence the attacking spinners like Shadab, Rashid (Afg and Eng) have been successful.

Overall, the point is that a champion team is built on combination rather than just big names thrown in there.

IPL is easy punching bag whenever India don't do well. It has nothing to do with India's performance in T20 World Cup. It is just usual trolls who love to bash on IPL to further their personal agenda.

Yes there is anger India lost semis, but we went into this tournament not as favourites. We are not poor T20 team, we are one of the top 2 ranked teams for a reason, we ace bilaterals home & away. But tournaments need a bit more from you as a team - and off late we haven't been a team, its so much chopping and changing that its not even funny anymore.

India played I think 30 T20Is leading upto WC, but none of them had the core team playing together in more than 4 or 5 T20Is. We had 3-4 captains, bench strength playing those T20Is.

Then you have the likes of RD/Rohit calling DK their finishing specialist and Chahal their attacking spinner. Yet in the WC - DK gets dropped in semis, Chahal doesn't get a game. Just shows you how erratic the whole planning was and maybe there was no consensus on selections which is even more shambolic.

Admittedly RD and Rohit had less time to turn things around, but the sad thing is they didn't even bother to bring in any change in the set up. All the talk of "new aggressive approach" led to India being the slowest run-scoring team in PP in this WT20.

IPL is easy punching bag whenever India don't do well. It has nothing to do with India's performance in T20 World Cup. It is just usual trolls who love to bash on IPL to further their personal agenda.

Yes there is anger India lost semis, but we went into this tournament not as favourites. We are not poor T20 team, we are one of the top 2 ranked teams for a reason, we ace bilaterals home & away. But tournaments need a bit more from you as a team - and off late we haven't been a team, its so much chopping and changing that its not even funny anymore.

India played I think 30 T20Is leading upto WC, but none of them had the core team playing together in more than 4 or 5 T20Is. We had 3-4 captains, bench strength playing those T20Is.

Then you have the likes of RD/Rohit calling DK their finishing specialist and Chahal their attacking spinner. Yet in the WC - DK gets dropped in semis, Chahal doesn't get a game. Just shows you how erratic the whole planning was and maybe there was no consensus on selections which is even more shambolic.

Admittedly RD and Rohit had less time to turn things around, but the sad thing is they didn't even bother to bring in any change in the set up. All the talk of "new aggressive approach" led to India being the slowest run-scoring team in PP in this WT20.

They had 1 year. What changes have they made?

Dravid has been a poor coach. The insistence of playing aging failures have come to bite us. No one can justify the selection of BK, Ashwin, Axar Thakur etc. 2023 WC is coming and Shikhar Dhawan is captaining the team in the NZ ODIs.

The odi squad for NZ and BD has players like Shikhar,Thakur,Axar etc.

Shardul Thakur said in a interview that Dravid told him, he was a 3 format player.

Is this the idea of turn around?

Pure arrogance.
And, somehow, they have paid the price today.
Every little helps...
Ask Hales.

Very interesting.

I wasn't aware of this.

Is the IPL not serving the purpose which it should be serving?

Correct .. it's a silly strawman argument with zero merit to it. If a well funded diverse IPL isn't enough as learning ground for t20, no other league is.

Imo IPL bowling , Indian bowling is below standard. They can be heros at home but Int level is far superiour, they become failures.

India should have played the ONE fast bowler they have, the chap from occupied Kashmir but bottled it.

Very interesting.

I wasn't aware of this.

I think the purpose was to make a lot of money which has been fulfilled. If the purpose was to win global tournaments it was a bit naïve esp with having so mean weak bowlers, and of course a failure.

Wasim Akram in the Pavilion show mentioned that the IPL should impose a salary cap for players who are U-19 and in their early 20's because too much money for short work ends up diminishing the hunger to improve, love for the game.

He gave a few examples of a couple of quicks he saw who started off their careers bowling at 140-145 km/hr but then in 1-2 years were down to 130-132 km/hr.

Or do what AFL football does and ensure that along with the contract, every player that age gets assistance with
a) financial planning;
b) MUST do at least part timecourse of study, apprenticeship, employment or genuine volunteer work to get perspective on life;
c) work on mental skills, mindfulness, resilience, understanding what motivates them and also what makes them happy long term etc
d) work with mentor to establish specific, measurable short and long terms goals (short ones practical, leading to the long term, eg if lt plan is to make national team, short term is attend all trainings, increase strength by 10% by next season etc etc)

Very interesting.

I wasn't aware of this.

I think they maybe due to the IPL hype develop the idea they are superstars beyond their actual abilities/achievements. Then when faced with opponents who don't respect them as legends they think they are, but just play them as another bloke with 2 arms and 2 legs... it doesn't happen as easily as they think it should and they looked a bit shook to me.

I don't think IPL is making them bad players. It's great for thir skills and they have very good strategy and tactics on most occasions.

But they don't play much T20 at all in foreign conditions- whereas most other nations have at least half a team who play their home comp (whatever that is) + also experience IPL, or BBL, or PPL or CPL or Hundred or whatever the English one is. So most other teams have a core of players with a pretty broad experience of T20 around the world. India just get bilaterals which just isn't close to the same volume of experience + players often skip bilaterals.

They are chockers.
Their 1983 win was a total fluke complete end to end

Their 2007 win was a fluke ( 1 single shot error by misbah )

Their 2013 win was a fluke ( it became a t20 match )

Their 2011 win was at home via dubious DRS and they failed to beat Proteas & England even in that world cup.

Flop shows in 1987 dismantling by Sir Graham Gooch

Outclassed by Aravinda De Silva in Eden Gardens 1996

Punctured by Bangladesh in 2007

Outmanouvered by chris cairns in 2000 nairobi

Disastrous world cup campaigns and shameful group stage exits in 1975, 1979 & 1992 + 2007 world cups

Equally disastrous t20 world cup campaigns in 2009 2010 2012 group stage bye bye

Capiitulation and chocked against sri lankans in 2014

& At the hands of Sir michael clarke, sydney 2015

Andre Russell’s music of wankhede 2016

Aamir’s twice on 2 balls kohli
At Oval 2017

Another back to back surrender to kiwiz in semi final 2019 + WTC final 2021

+ glorious group stage exit 2021 t20 + asia cup exit 22

Lost so many tri series finals in 1990’s
1986 + 1994 australasia cups

Population 1.4 billion
So much wealth
But not much to show in Big ICC events

Only 1 hockey world cup
Which in itself is 47 years old now.

Size of media market etc they only talk a lot
Never been impressed by them.

Rahul Dravid was asked the question on whether Indian players should play in overseas leagues when he took the presser after crushing loss in T20 World Cup semi-final. Later, Pakistan legend Wasim Akram questioned Dravid's comment.

Alex Hales was not part of the England first-choice T20 World Cup squad this year. Jonny Bairstow's injury opened the door for him and on Thursday he notched up one of his best ever T20 innings, scoring an unbeaten 86 against India in the semi-final game in Adelaide that helped his side win by 10 wickets to make the finals. Hales had later admitted that he had used his Big Bash League experience to the most to land that impact on the India attack. Unfortunately for India, none of the players have ever been part of any overseas leagues, let alone the BBL. Over the years, the lack of experience has haunted them, but on Thursday, the question was raised again after it costed India a place in the World Cup final and a chance at ending their long trophy-less drought.

India head coach Rahul Dravid was asked the question immediately when he took the presser after crushing loss. Dravid admitted that it could play to their advantage but feels that it would damage their Test cricket set-up.

“There's no doubt about it that England players have come and played in this tournament (Big Bash League). It's tough, it's very difficult for Indian cricket because a lot of these tournaments happen right at the peak of our season. I think it's a huge challenge for us. A lot of our boys do miss out on the opportunity of playing in these leagues. But it's up to the BCCI to make that decision, but the thing is that it's right in the middle of our season,” Dravid said.

Moments later, Pakistan legend Wasim Akram questioned Dravid's comment on "Indian players in overseas leagues" while highlighting that India's very own IPL has failed to provide the team with any T20 World Cup success. He said that since the start of IPL, in 2008, India have never won the T20 World Cup.

"Sabko yehi that ki IPL se India ko bara fark padega because IPL started in 2008. Usse pehle India 2007 me T20 World Cup jitee. Jabse se IPL shuru huyi hai, aaj tak, abhi bhi unfortunately, India kabhi T20 World Cup nehi jita. So usse phir ek question udhta hai ki kya fark padta hai ki, jo main ek interview sunn raha tha abhi, ki unke players jo overseas jaake leagues nehi khelte, ek extra league khelne ki bhi permission milo jaye, kya fark padega innlogon ki approach main? (Everyone thought India would benefit from IPL. It started in 2008. India won the T20 World Cup in 2007. But since the start of IPL, India never won the T20 World Cup. So the question arises, I was just listening to an interview, will India's approach change if they are allowed to play overseas leagues?)" questioned Akram during his conversation on A Sports.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-overseas-leagues-stance-101668142590540.html

lL7DLqr.png

wow. They truly believe IPL was created to help India win the title lol. What did their county cricket do? Did it make them giants in Test cricket? They were never giants. They just do some home-track bullying.

England is yet to beat an European country in T20 lol Lost 2 matches to scotlan 1 to Ireland !!

Kumble said that it won't be a bad idea to give a few young players chances to play in foreign T20 leagues ahead of the next T20 World Cup. “I think exposure certainly helps. It certainly helps any cricketer. We have seen that with the kind of development that it has had on Indian cricket. For example, the IPL, where overseas players come in and the kind of changes we've had in Indian cricket has certainly helped. And likewise, if you identify the brand of cricket that we are looking at and then identify these key young players who you believe need those exposures, then why not? I think that's important,” said Kumble to a media outlet.

However, he also said that India will have to settle on a brand of cricket suited for the current times to find any success in the tournament. "The other thing that I also feel that needs to come into this team is the flexible approach to batting or the batting order. Because in T20s, I certainly believe there is no fixed batting order. You have to be flexible in the way you are going to go about using your resources. And yeah, in terms of giving an opportunity to a young player to go overseas and have a crack, then why not? I think it's important that you need to have everything that you need to do that come 2024, you are well prepared to take on a World Cup event.

“I think it will only benefit the younger players if they get more opportunities. And I think one thing that certainly needs to be addressed is batters coming on to bowl. Otherwise, you'll end up having this conundrum whether to go with five bowlers, six bowlers. I think if you have enough ability in the top 6 to give you two options, then I think it certainly opens up… you can pick and choose who you want at No. 7.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-at-overseas-t20-leagues-101668173669589.html

Pakistan has not won ICC world cup since the start of PSL.

After the IPL India only won 2013 champion trophy so did Pakistan.

I do not know what IPL has to do if India is not wining ICC world cup. IPL gave good players to india like SKY, Pant etc.

wow. They truly believe IPL was created to help India win the title lol. What did their county cricket do? Did it make them giants in Test cricket? They were never giants. They just do some home-track bullying.

You’ve been pretty defensive and in melodramatic mode in the past 48 hrs. One can understand, but read this slowly : no one has claimed the IPL was created so that India can win the T20 world cup.

Go cry to BCCI and your captain Rohit, who referenced the IPL in his post match interview.

I do not know what IPL has to do if India is not wining ICC world cup. IPL gave good players to india like SKY, Pant etc.

The expectations for India are obviously higher since they boast by far the biggest funding, population and power over the cricketing fraternity.

A team in India's position should exert a Manchester City type dominance over cricket as nobody else even comes close. The fact you can even compare them to a mediocre and poor nation like Pakistan says it all really.

India have chosen $$$ over trophies. The problem is that only a few execs keep all of the money.

Lets also not forget Indians claim the IPL is bigger and better than the T20 World Cup!

Then what’s stopping Indian team winning the T20 WC which is of inferior quality/standards?

Lol at those who are comparing EPL with IPL. Do you guys even know how many teams compete in a football world cup as compared to cricket world cup? Do you even know how many top class premier leagues exist in football? IPL fans themselves call IPL better than international cricket, they try to show off too much and now they don't have anything left to defend. :inti

IPL will help Indian T20 cricket when people are picked based on IPL performances. But that's not the case. I don't remember when BK or Ashwin or Axar did well in IPL. Shami was always a hit or miss and more miss. The other guy was Arshdeep who was picked based on IPL performances and he did well. Rohit himself was an average IPL performer.

Lets also not forget Indians claim the IPL is bigger and better than the T20 World Cup!

Then what’s stopping Indian team winning the T20 WC which is of inferior quality/standards?

IPL is bigger than T20 WC in revenues and overall viewership. Unless the entire Indian team plays as one team in the IPL and competing, your statement of comparing Indians vs "others" in IPL or world cup doesn't make sense. That's why understanding the context is important so we don't venture into absurdity.

You forgot the best name IPL gave to India. Bumrah. He was a nobody before that. Now we have Arshdeep who can partner with him in all forms.

Hard hitting and good points. But I think these were the same points made after every WC loss. Need an aggressive mindset and a win or lose mentality. Maybe someone like Dravid or Laxman who were always defensive isn't a good coaching team. They can be good in prepping the next gen of long format players.

I'd argue that teams like CSK and Mumbai Indians actually do a better job scouting , structuring a squad and selecting the right players than the Indian team.

As long as the structure of our cricket does not change from grassroots up, there won't be any changes to Indian cricket.

IPL had very little influence on Indian cricket :inti

<b>'You play the entire season of the IPL, don’t you feel tired at that time?'- Sunil Gavaskar criticizes the workload management tactics of senior players</b>

<I>Sunil Gavaskar has wondered why the star Indian players do not remember workload management when it comes to playing the IPL every year.</I>

Gavaskar has questioned the key players like skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, etc. for taking breaks during a particular series which is given to them as a part of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)’s workload management.

“Changes will be there. There will be changes when you cannot win the World Cup. The team going to play the series in New Zealand also has changes. Everytime when we talk about the workload, why does this happen only when they play for India?" asked Gavaskar while speaking on Aaj Tak.

“You play the entire season of the IPL, there you travel a lot. Only the last IPL (2022) was organized at four centres. Otherwise, you run a lot from here to there so don’t you feel tired at that time? Is there no workload? It is only when you play for India and have to visit a non-glamorous country that you suddenly talk about the workload. This is wrong," he added.

Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya will be leading the Indian T20I squad for the upcoming bilateral series against New Zealand starting Friday, November 18. The senior players including the likes of Kohli, Rohit, and KL Rahul have been rested for this series.

Virat and Rohit Sharma will next be seen in action during the away bilateral series against Bangladesh next month. Moments after India’s humiliating ouster from the T20 World Cup, Sunil Gavaskar had said on air that there could be some retirements coming up from India’s current T20I squad.

The 1983 World Cup winner also added that some players who are in their mid-30s could reconsider their decisions of playing in the shortest format for India again.

https://www.crictracker.com/cricket...orkload-management-tactics-of-senior-players/

The expectations for India are obviously higher since they boast by far the biggest funding, population and power over the cricketing fraternity.

A team in India's position should exert a Manchester City type dominance over cricket as nobody else even comes close. The fact you can even compare them to a mediocre and poor nation like Pakistan says it all really.

India have chosen $$$ over trophies. The problem is that only a few execs keep all of the money.

Manchester City has won the Champions league how many times?

Indian selection has gone to the dogs since the Srini era.

Once Amarnath was sacked for wanting to remove Dhoni as captain, the selection committees have been rubber stamp, mostly filled with cricketers with next to nothing international performances.

A selector has to be either a person with good international standing like Amarnath or Vengsarkar or a powerful domestic stalwart like Raj Singh.

As overseas player, when you play in other leagues, it adds more responsibility and you have to be an impact player to get selected into the team rather than be a stat padder. You are competing only vs overseas players and not local names. It will teach Indian players to be an impact player rather than stats padders.

Stat padding does the job for the likes of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul in IPL, they won't be allowed to do that in other leagues. Either play impact knocks and win games or sit on bench and play as backup option.

The reason BCCI hasn't allowed is because they are trying to save their domestic setup as that is when those franchise season take place.

IPL is bigger than T20 WC in revenues and overall viewership. Unless the entire Indian team plays as one team in the IPL and competing, your statement of comparing Indians vs "others" in IPL or world cup doesn't make sense. That's why understanding the context is important so we don't venture into absurdity.

You missed out Quality/Standard. Standard of both the cricket and players in the IPL is often projected as being above than T20i level by IPL apologists. Not to mention experience when playing pressure games, a point mentioned by Rohit Sharma in his post-match interview.

One final since IPL. Wow. India has not benefited at all from IPL. In fact other nations players benefited from playing in ipl. So IPL is catering sena nations players gain more experience on indian asian wickets

Today is a world cup final for Pakistan. A happy occasion. A time to rejoice, a time for butterflies.

But majority threads are about India.

Pakistan's obsession with India and India's obsession with Pakistan knows no bounds.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Indian players prioritising it over certain international fixtures were subject to immense criticism moments after the Men in Blue suffered a T20 World Cup exit. Legends like Wasim Akram pointed out that India never won a T20 World Cup since the inception of IPL while others, notably Sunil Gavaskar, lashed out at players skipping international series as part of work management instead of IPL. But former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir has lashed out at all those critics.

Speaking at the TURF2022 & India Sports Awards of FICCI, Gambhir opined that it's unfair to point fingers at IPL which he feels is the best thing that happened to Indian cricket. He also feels that players and their performance are to blame if India fail in ICC events, not the IPL.

"IPL is the best thing that has happen to Indian cricket. I can say this with all my senses. There has been lot of backlash regarding IPL since it started. Every time Indian cricket does not do well, the blame comes at IPL, which is not fair. If we don't perform well in ICC tournaments, blame the players, blame the performance, but it is unfair to point fingers on the IPL," Gambhir said.

The two-time World Cup winner also praised the BCCI for employing Indian coaches over the last couple years to lead the Men in Blue and further stressed upon the need of bringing in more Indian coaches in IPL.

"One good thing that has happen in Indian cricket is that Indians have started coaching the Indian National Cricket team now. I strongly believe Indian should coach the Indian team. All these foreign coaches, who we gave a lot of importance to, come here to make money and then they vanish. Emotions are important in sports. The only people who can be emotional about Indian cricket are the ones who have represented their country," Gambhir said.

"I am a mentor of Lucknow Super Giants. One thing I want to change is that I want to see all Indian coaches in IPL. Because no Indian coach gets opportunity in Big Bash or any other foreign leagues. India is a superpower in cricket, but our coaches do not get opportunity anywhere. All the foreigners come here and get the top jobs. We are more democratic and flexible than other leagues. We need to give our own people more opportunity," he added.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...gambhir-s-blazing-remark-101669469337533.html

The Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Indian players prioritising it over certain international fixtures were subject to immense criticism moments after the Men in Blue suffered a T20 World Cup exit. Legends like Wasim Akram pointed out that India never won a T20 World Cup since the inception of IPL while others, notably Sunil Gavaskar, lashed out at players skipping international series as part of work management instead of IPL. But former India cricketer Gautam Gambhir has lashed out at all those critics.

Speaking at the TURF2022 & India Sports Awards of FICCI, Gambhir opined that it's unfair to point fingers at IPL which he feels is the best thing that happened to Indian cricket. He also feels that players and their performance are to blame if India fail in ICC events, not the IPL.

"IPL is the best thing that has happen to Indian cricket. I can say this with all my senses. There has been lot of backlash regarding IPL since it started. Every time Indian cricket does not do well, the blame comes at IPL, which is not fair. If we don't perform well in ICC tournaments, blame the players, blame the performance, but it is unfair to point fingers on the IPL," Gambhir said.

The two-time World Cup winner also praised the BCCI for employing Indian coaches over the last couple years to lead the Men in Blue and further stressed upon the need of bringing in more Indian coaches in IPL.

"One good thing that has happen in Indian cricket is that Indians have started coaching the Indian National Cricket team now. I strongly believe Indian should coach the Indian team. All these foreign coaches, who we gave a lot of importance to, come here to make money and then they vanish. Emotions are important in sports. The only people who can be emotional about Indian cricket are the ones who have represented their country," Gambhir said.

"I am a mentor of Lucknow Super Giants. One thing I want to change is that I want to see all Indian coaches in IPL. Because no Indian coach gets opportunity in Big Bash or any other foreign leagues. India is a superpower in cricket, but our coaches do not get opportunity anywhere. All the foreigners come here and get the top jobs. We are more democratic and flexible than other leagues. We need to give our own people more opportunity," he added.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...gambhir-s-blazing-remark-101669469337533.html

Huh? It seems more than cricketer Gambhir it was BJP politician Gambhir who gave this statement. If you are so against foreign coaches and only want Indian ones then you should also have the same view regarding foreign players. If Indian coaches are not coaching teams from other countries then that simply means they are not good enough. BCCI themselves don't allow indian players to play in other leagues but according to Gambhir we are more democratic and flexible than other leagues. Gambhir himself is flexible though. He keeps changing roles from a complaining politician to a coach these days. :91: :inti

India have become the best Test side in that span so hasn't been a disaster. Obviously The World Cup 2011 too

As overseas player, when you play in other leagues, it adds more responsibility and you have to be an impact player to get selected into the team rather than be a stat padder. You are competing only vs overseas players and not local names. It will teach Indian players to be an impact player rather than stats padders.

Stat padding does the job for the likes of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul in IPL, they won't be allowed to do that in other leagues. Either play impact knocks and win games or sit on bench and play as backup option.

The reason BCCI hasn't allowed is because they are trying to save their domestic setup as that is when those franchise season take place.

This is a lot of conjecture.

No team is benching players like Rohit, Rahul, Kohli etc. They are too big.

Apart from IPL, no league has the power & the cojones to bench big name overseas players. IPL can afford to do this because of its financial power.

India have become the best Test side in that span so hasn't been a disaster. Obviously The World Cup 2011 too

Really? Even when they have all obtained the power, money, population and control that other countries can't even dream of possessing?

Seems like a pretty massive disaster to me.

At least a few BCCI execs got extremely rich from all this. They did very well out of the last 10 years. It seems Indian fans can sometimes be too busy beating their chests to realise how badly they've been scammed.

India captain Rohit Sharma said his team mates should consider skipping the occasional match during the Indian Premier League (IPL) to manage their workload ahead of the Cricket World Cup on home soil later this year.

A recurring back injury kept middle order batter Shreyas Iyer out of the home one-day series against Australia, which the tourists won 2-1 on Wednesday, while pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has been out since September due to back issues.

Rohit acknowledged that IPL sides will look to field their best team in every match and said it was up to the players to look after themselves ahead of the World Cup in October-November.

"It's all up to the franchises now. They own them now," Rohit, who leads Mumbai Indians in the IPL, told reporters after India's 21-run loss in Chennai on Wednesday.

"We have given some indications to the teams but at the end of the day, it's up to the franchises, and more importantly, it's up to the players.

"They are all adults, they have to look after their bodies.

"If they feel it's getting a bit too much, they can talk about it and take a break in one or two games. I doubt if that will happen."

In terms of form, Rohit played down the struggles of Suryakumar Yadav during the ODI series, the world's top ranked T20 batter falling for a first-ball duck in each of the three matches.

"I don't know how much to look into it. He got three good balls, to be honest," Rohit said.

"He plays spin so well ... That's why we held him back and gave him that role for the last 15-20 overs where he can play his game, but it's really unfortunate he could only play three balls. That can happen to anyone."

https://www.gdnonline.com/Details/1...players-to-manage-workload-ahead-of-World-Cup

On June 23, 2013 India beat England by 5 runs to clinch the ICC Champions Trophy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 2️⃣0️⃣1️⃣3️⃣<br><br>The <a href="https://twitter.com/msdhoni?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@msdhoni</a>-led <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TeamIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TeamIndia</a>, beat England to lift the ICC Champions Trophy. &#55356;&#57286; <br><br>MS Dhoni became the first Captain (in Men's cricket) to win all three ICC trophies in limited-overs cricket &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57339;&#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57339; <a href="https://t.co/x4le09coFM">pic.twitter.com/x4le09coFM</a></p>— BCCI (@BCCI) <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI/status/1672106153822814208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 23, 2023</a></blockquote>

Their fans are happy making the finals, so why bother with such statements?

It’s another story the same fans forget how brutally India gets smashed in these finals :))

Their fans are happy making the finals, so why bother with such statements?

It’s another story the same fans forget how brutally India gets smashed in these finals :))

Their fans are happy? It was our fans who acted like they are the greatest team on Earth when Netherlands beat South Africa

BCCI won't mind and who gives an eff what the fans think as the board isn't a democracy. The IPL has made them unimaginably R-I-C-H and even better India has never lost an IPL final! Creating a $11-12 billion entity is an achievement that no number of trophies can surpass. PCB needs to learn from this and realise the full potential of the PSL.