Sindh (179/5) beat Southern Punjab (175/7) by 5 wickets in Match 3 of the National T20 Cup

Sindh – Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain and wicketkeeper), Anwar Ali (vice-captain), Abrar Ahmed, Ahsan Ali, Danish Aziz, Hassan Mohsin, Khurram Manzoor, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Hasnain, Muhammad Taha, Ruman Raees, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood, Shahnawaz Dahani, Sharjeel Khan and Zahid Mahmood

Southern Punjab – Sohaib Maqsood (captain), Zeeshan Ashraf (vice-captain), Amir Yamin, Azam Khan (wicketkeeper), Dilbar Hussain, Faisal Akram, Hassan Khan, Imran Randhawa, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Ilyas, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Tayyab Tahir, Umer Khan, Zain Abbas and Zia-ul-Haq

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

5. Report abuse. If you see any post which is inappropriate, report it. Do not respond to it.

Hasnain needs to up the anti here with pace. I personally believe he is the fastest of the lot but his first over today had pace well below 145k. We have seen Haris, Shaheen and even Akif pump pace yesterday and I expect no less from Hasnain.

Sindh have won the toss and elected to field first against Southern Punjab

8ed6e998-ded6-4d9f-a94c-00850cecf568.jpg49ac0c32-914c-4c0a-9c66-d694c7fa5f69.jpg

Whenever I have seen Zahid Mehmood over the past couple of years I'm convinced he is the best limited overs pure leggie we have in the country. Its a shame he doesn't play for Pakistan much as we prefer Shadab due to all round capacity in limited overs whilst we have Yasir hogging test spots in SENA tours.

Khushdil needs to improve the game against medium/fast bowlers. He can kill it against spinners in UAE but overall game needs improvement.

Win or lose i love the balance of the South Punjab team. Decent openers..powerfull middle order..2 pacers...2 pace allrounders...one chinaman and one spinning allrounder

What happened to Muhammad Hasnain...

He gets smashed in almost every ODI and T20 he plays, barely takes any wickets, his line and length are all over the place, and his pace has been down for a long while now. I remember him bowling 156 a couple of times in the CPL 2 years ago.

Sohaib Maqsood and Azam Khan ideal running combo.

On a serious note Sohaib Maqsood has to seriously improve his running ability and calling with partners. He is really bad at it.

Southern Punjab basically has Pakistan’s selected middle order for the T20 World Cup

What are these unconvincing starts 18 of 12, 20 off 11 etc and poor running. Clear loss of momentum too on flat deck.

Is anyone watching this from the PCB management? This is poor stuff

I’m sorry but Imran Khan really needs to get a grip here

Why is your chairman running his mouth about defeating and embarrassing India and New Zealand, but the players selected have no hunger to dominate at this level, forget the highest!

I’m sorry but Imran Khan really needs to get a grip here

Why is your chairman running his mouth about defeating and embarrassing India and New Zealand, but the players selected have no hunger to dominate at this level, forget the highest!
There is no talent here

Why do Pakistani batsmen only seem to be hungry to impress and promise so much until they make it into the national side? Azam Khan 20 off 18 on a 200+ track. These are not world class bowlers he is up against! His competitors at International level will be smashing 3-4 sixes in Anwar Ali and Rumman Raees’s over!

Well bowled Shahnawaz

Show us that you can bowl 6 Yorkers at full speed in the death boy!

Dhani is quality but Azam Khan getting selected for Pakistan is the worst thing to happen to Pakistan cricket

Dahani gets the nod ahead of Hasnain for me

He is better than Hasnain 100%

South Punjab were looking to get around 200 at one point. The whole innings went to mess after Sohaib got run out.

Azam Khan doesn't inspire any confidence, doesn't deserve to play in World T20 as of now.

Azam Khan is playing as a hitter.
20(20) in t20 is a poor innings considering the pitch.
He needs to improve his batting against fast bowling.

Moreover, for the last two years, we have been hearing that he's working very hard on his fitness yet he still looks motu. I think he's still eating Parathas and Biryani after workout.

Azam Khan is playing as a hitter.
20(20) in t20 is a poor innings considering the pitch.
He needs to improve his batting against fast bowling.

Moreover, for the last two years, we have been hearing that he's working very hard on his fitness yet he still looks motu. I think he's still eating Parathas and Biryani after workout.

He’s been rushed in on potential and not substance

Why did Azam Khan move from Sindh to Southern Punjab?

He is selected in the world cup squad as hard hitting batsman cum backup wicketkeeper.

He wouldn't have gotten the chance of wicket keeping in Sindh squad because of Sarfraz. So he was transferred to South Punjab.

Some recovery in the end thanks to Yamen but Sindh will be happy to chase that score.

Sharjeel is going to smash a big hundred in this tournament I recon

Lol Khurram Manzoor

Another delusional batsman who thinks he can adapt to modern T20 with his short arm bat swings

Imam ul Haq
Shan Masood
Khurram Manzoor

Why is the PCB or the regions wasting time on these batsmen at T20 level?

Naseem’s T20 skills look much better with the slower ball that he has developed and that becomes really effective for someone with such pace. Really good stuff so far.

I said it before and will say it again...there is no BATTING talent in pakistan. We have the whole PAK middle batting order playing for southern punjab but they have failed. To be honest i do agree there is no one else who can claim a place.

Poor knock from Shan today 10 off 18 balls and gets out.

Is there any pride in celebrating Shan Masood’s wicket at competitive cricket level?

curious to see how Faisal Akram does ..its a pitty he be facing two best batters of spin Manzoor and Saffy

wow azam khan is a horrible choice for keeper... he is litterally standing still and extending whatever flab he can extend... 5.3 was an easy catch for any keeper but azam barely left the ground.... he is struggling to even cloect run of the mill deliveries which come through... pays to have moin khan as a dad... solid ticket...

I said it before and will say it again...there is no BATTING talent in pakistan. We have the whole PAK middle batting order playing for southern punjab but they have failed. To be honest i do agree there is no one else who can claim a place.

Its PCB's fault. PCB is too busy to find bowlers rather than batsmen.

Is there any pride in celebrating Shan Masood’s wicket at competitive cricket level?

To be fair Masood is a national team player and Ilyas is not. Getting someone who has played internationally probably means more to someone wanting to break into the national team. Also it was a pretty decent celebration compared to some of the over the top ones we've seen.

Misses a run out also

Azam really isn’t doing himself any favours as a pro cricketer by not performing

Southern Punjab are a poor sportsman team

Why were they celebrating that Khurram Manzoor wicket??

ump: moin bhai poori duniya daikh rahi hai bhai its not out, plz proper button dabaa do, thora sa bhi close hota toh chal jata...

wow azam khan is a horrible choice for keeper... he is litterally standing still and extending whatever flab he can extend... 5.3 was an easy catch for any keeper but azam barely left the ground.... he is struggling to even cloect run of the mill deliveries which come through... pays to have moin khan as a dad... solid ticket...

Azam Khan is embarrassingly poor! Can't believe someone who is involved in international cricket looked at this guy and thought he can play at that level.

Is Moeen Khan or Aqib Javed the 3rd umpire trying to save Azam’s blushes?

Southern Punjab are a poor sportsman team

Why were they celebrating that Khurram Manzoor wicket??

i think they knew it would be fixed, just to get on sarfi's nerves, and he wasnt impressed... more of a question to in field umpires that y didnt they themselves dbl chkd with the 3rd ump...

If this Manzoor Guy is so good against spin in the Sub continent, why does he insist to bat at the top of the order? Pakistan lack decent middle order players who can negotiate spin after Malik and Hafeez

Azam Khan is embarrassingly poor! Can't believe someone who is involved in international cricket looked at this guy and thought he can play at that level.

honestly seeing azam khan being allowed to play, any tom dick or harry should be allowed to play as well and they wont do much worse...

not bad this young lad faisal akram... would like to see him tested a wee bit with some pressure....

Faisal getting some really good revs on the ball. He is one spinner to look forward to in coming years

imho...pcb should let ppl into ground to see the match... whTs the point of empty grounds, here at this stage point to prove is that its safe....

Its safe as has been proved in last 4-5 years. Yes it can be free for all but, to be honest Pak cant just focus on trying to prove that again and again. Working days and start of the tournament, should get better as the tournament progresses and on the weekends.

One thing which can be done though is to make this an event, not talking about just cricket here. There can easily be different food outlets and different activities. It can be a sponsored fest and that will attract much more families and young people.

Its safe as has been proved in last 4-5 years. Yes it can be free for all but, to be honest Pak cant just focus on trying to prove that again and again. Working days and start of the tournament, should get better as the tournament progresses and on the weekends.

One thing which can be done though is to make this an event, not talking about just cricket here. There can easily be different food outlets and different activities. It can be a sponsored fest and that will attract much more families and young people.

i agree with you, but my point was more on the lines to slap nzc and ecb that look while u ran, here we are still going strong... perspective is everything, yes we dont have to prove nothing nor we should, but fuller stadiums here would help immensely.

this has hurt us as a nation, and we all need to contribute to the cause, as a public ppl should show up for solidarity...

Amir Yamen as the all rounder for WT20 anyone ?

I am afraid the management made another error. He should've never been dropped after his 50 against Zimbabwe in 2015/16. Had he been with the team instead of Faheem we would've had a good no. 7 All Rounder in LOs format.

All of a sudden we found a chinaman

To be honest not all of a sudden. Faisal has come from age group cricket and was rated well from that time as well, recent impression in the nets against Pak national team batsmen further validated his ability.

Impressive 4 overs by Faisal in the context of the match. On another day could have easily gotten 2-3 wickets.

Faisal Akram comes across as someone who should be invested in by PCB. Left arm chinamen are rare but successful in international cricket.

Agreed and I think he is already being touted as one for the future. Has been part of age group teams, is part of the U19 squad and if he keeps on bowling well I suspect a PSL contract for him might be around the corner in the next edition or two. Have been part of the national team nets as well where he impressed quite a few, so if he can keep impressing and developing without losing focus I think he will keep on getting invested in.