Single education system in the country from March 2021

Syed1

ODI Captain
A small part of PM IK's amazing speech that might get missed in the bhangra of patwaris.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have to commend <a href="https://twitter.com/Shafqat_Mahmood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Shafqat_Mahmood</a> here - Pakistan currently has 3 tier system for Education; English Medium, Urdu Medium & Deeni Madarsas. First time in history of Pakistan, we are coming up with ONE CORE EDUCATION SYSTEM which will commence in March 2021 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAssemblySpeech?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAssemblySpeech</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1276143537386598402?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is an amazing decision that is the need of the hour. We will only see the benefits of this in 10-15 years.

Thank you Imran Khan.

should use this as a step to modernise even more so than developed nations, most of which have antiquated curricula, need more focus on hard science and computing, rest you should let kids and parents choose from a variety of stuff.

singapore, or at least what ive seen of singaporean kids when i was in uni, i was impressed, uk education, not so much.

We all know that Imran has the spine of a jelly when it comes to dealing with rabid mullahs.

Merging deeni madrassahs with English medium education means either deeni education or English medium education will be comprised.

Both cannot coexist, and since the entire education system cannot be based on madrassah curriculum, the mullahs will not accept this decision.

What will Imran do? He will crumble under pressure and this will become yet another U-turn.

should use this as a step to modernise even more so than developed nations, most of which have antiquated curricula, need more focus on hard science and computing, rest you should let kids and parents choose from a variety of stuff.

singapore, or at least what ive seen of singaporean kids when i was in uni, i was impressed, uk education, not so much.

No harm in checking humsaya mulk curriculum as well. Some of my class fellows in Canadian unis from there said they started programming in class 6-8. In Pakistan kids don't start programming until they get to inter (class 11 and 12) or choose Computers as a subject for Olevels (class 9-10-11)

We all know that Imran has the spine of a jelly when it comes to dealing with rabid mullahs.

Merging deeni madrassahs with English medium education means either deeni education or English medium education will be comprised.

Both cannot coexist, and since the entire education system cannot be based on madrassah curriculum, the mullahs will not accept this decision.

What will Imran do? He will crumble under pressure and this will become yet another U-turn.

which is why i think you need a non negotiable focus on hard science and computing, like half a school day, and leave the rest of the day to be filled with politically a sellable curriculum.

id rather physics, chem, bio, maths, computing, and three other random subjects whether that be religious studies, art or languages, whatever ruffles the least feathers, than a broad balanced curriculum that would be open to political reversal at any time, these things are investments for 10 to 15 years.

No harm in checking humsaya mulk curriculum as well. Some of my class fellows in Canadian unis from there said they started programming in class 6-8. In Pakistan kids don't start programming until they get to inter (class 11 and 12) or choose Computers as a subject for Olevels (class 9-10-11)

dont know much about indian education system, most of the second hand experience i have had about asian telling me about their secondary, collegiate education sounds like a lot of wrote learning and not a lot of independent thinking.

tbh thats true of most education systems in the world tho.

which is why i think you need a non negotiable focus on hard science and computing, like half a school day, and leave the rest of the day to be filled with politically a sellable curriculum.

id rather physics, chem, bio, maths, computing, and three other random subjects whether that be religious studies, art or languages, whatever ruffles the least feathers, than a broad balanced curriculum that would be open to political reversal at any time, these things are investments for 10 to 15 years.

dont know much about indian education system, most of the second hand experience i have had about asian telling me about their secondary, collegiate education sounds like a lot of wrote learning and not a lot of independent thinking.

tbh thats true of most education systems in the world tho.

What you are recommending is called common sense, but common sense is in the North Pole and PTI is in the South Pole.

I have said if before and I will say it again - PTI’s politics is based on exaggerations and making castles in the air. When they inevitably fall short, they have their brainwashed supporters who will make excuses and blame others.

This one education system will soon join the ever growing “unrealistic promises that PTI made and didn’t fulfill” list.

Education system depends a lot upon teachers, for example Scandinavian country like Finland give a lot of freedom to teachers and also starts school somewhat late, it's more dependent upon teachers than curriculum.

I know a couple of em from Finland when they were age 18 and the problems they could solve were mind boggling for their age(they weren't even the best in their class).

And you are right about Indian education system, it's not meant for independent thinking, still haunts me.

In terms of education system, below article is actually spot on,also UK education is actually good but the environment as such is not similar to Scandinavian or Singapore.

https://www.edsys.in/best-education-system-in-the-world/

This was long overdue. Pakistan’s education curriculum is awfully outdated. Students are still learning about floppy discs!

How will the government force religious seminaries to adopt the new curriculum?

This is another farce by the gov.

Looks like IK has ran out of ideas to change pakistan so is now creating new farce systems and laws, why doesnt he stick with what he promised.

This is the reason i guess, what we heard about university students having to complete quran before graduating, this is happening in the 21st century.

If now mullahism is merging with education, how is science going to be taugh, i guess we cant teach factual science like the big bang theory and evolution and science will be replaced by islami science.

As all evidence suggests no country can succeed or grow in this age without proper education and secularism, let deen be taught in private homes and let education be done properly with factual based studies.

Is education not a provincial subject? How can the federal goverment combine the 3 different education systems?

I dont think this will be possible, nor do i think this is a good idea.

Also a bigger issue than madrassa is the ghost schools, or schools with political appointees as teachers. Or with parents who need their children to get a job to help their family.

Theoretically a great idea, but I'm worried about mullah influence will make this even worst.So far IK has not shown any guts to face mullahs. Not after he had a "slip of tongue" and said OBL a "shaheed". I seriously doubt it.

Is education not a provincial subject? How can the federal goverment combine the 3 different education systems?

I dont think this will be possible, nor do i think this is a good idea.

Also a bigger issue than madrassa is the ghost schools, or schools with political appointees as teachers. Or with parents who need their children to get a job to help their family.
It would have been better if you had educated yourself before posting. The curriculum is being devised with all the provincial governments on board and with their representation/consent. The objective is to make the curriculum unified across the country.

This is another farce by the gov.

Looks like IK has ran out of ideas to change pakistan so is now creating new farce systems and laws, why doesnt he stick with what he promised.

This is the reason i guess, what we heard about university students having to complete quran before graduating, this is happening in the 21st century.

If now mullahism is merging with education, how is science going to be taugh, i guess we cant teach factual science like the big bang theory and evolution and science will be replaced by islami science.

As all evidence suggests no country can succeed or grow in this age without proper education and secularism, let deen be taught in private homes and let education be done properly with factual based studies.

The madrassas will continue their deeni taleem their students will also have to study the other subjects as well and their students will sit for matric and inter exams.

Disgraceful decision. We need to strive for more Shan Masood individuals in Pakistani Society as oppossed to Safaraz Ahmed

Finally.

Education reforms are needed on emergency basis along with police, judiciary and health reforms. The country won’t progress until these major problems are solved.

Hope he doesn’t appease molvis yet again. If he doesn’t solve these crisis or sets a base - he will be a failure.

I don't see how they can co exist?

In reality, some subjects, though implemented, will be ignored. And in the end, everything will probably be on paper while real world will be totally different scenario.

Meanwhile PTI blind fans are continuing their tantrum here also. You criticize a system and they will personally attack you in return (probably to deflect the subject so that they don't need to answer the hard questions).

Funny how one group is criticizing and the other praising a proposed system that doesn't even exist yet.

A small part of PM IK's amazing speech that might get missed in the bhangra of patwaris.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have to commend <a href="https://twitter.com/Shafqat_Mahmood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Shafqat_Mahmood</a> here - Pakistan currently has 3 tier system for Education; English Medium, Urdu Medium & Deeni Madarsas. First time in history of Pakistan, we are coming up with ONE CORE EDUCATION SYSTEM which will commence in March 2021 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAssemblySpeech?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAssemblySpeech</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1276143537386598402?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 25, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is an amazing decision that is the need of the hour. We will only see the benefits of this in 10-15 years.

Thank you Imran Khan.

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday appreciated Federal Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood for preparing a uniform education system which will be introduced across the country next year.

Speaking on the floor of National Assembly, the prime minister said next year across the country the “apartheid education system” will be replaced with a uniform education system. He said for preparing the uniform education system, Mr Mahmood deserves appreciation.

He said in the past no attempt was made to introduce a uniform education system as there was no political will.

Currently, he added, there are three education systems in the country: English medium, public schools and madressahs in which different education is imparted to students. The prime minister said the education minister held lengthy consultations with private schools and other stakeholders for a uniform education system.

He said there was a need to bring seminaries into the mainstream as 2.5 million students are pursuing education in these seminaries. He said religious leaders were also consulted so that they could start teaching contemporary subjects to provide an opportunity to their students to excel and compete in society.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) promised to implement a uniform education system across the country when it came to power after the 2018 elections.

Mr Mahmood after becoming the education minister started the project and the single curriculum for class I to 5 was finalised with the input from provinces.

After the National Assembly session, when Dawn contacted the minister, he said the curriculum of the primary level, with consensus of all stakeholders, had already been prepared and now the ministry was in the process of finalising books. He said at the start of next academic year, (in April 2021) the same books will be taught in all public, private schools and madressahs.

The minister said the uniform education system will be introduced in three phases.

“At the start of the academic year 2021, we will introduce the uniform education system across the country at the primary level. Then, in April, 2022, we will introduce the uniform education system for class 6 to 8 and in the final stage at the start of academic year 2023 we will introduce the system for class 9 to 12.”

He said after completing the curriculum of primary level, his team had already started work to prepare the curriculum for class 6 to 8.

The minister said he wanted to introduce the same textbooks in all education systems as mere on the basis of a single curriculum, which is a broad goal, the targets of providing equal opportunities to all students of the country to excel cannot be achieved, he said.

Mr Mahmood said before introducing the uniform education system, the government will also do necessary legislation to make all institutions bound to teach the single curriculum-based textbooks.

https://www.dawn.com/news/amp/1565180

PTI cannot disrupt the O, A level education system and the university education systems of Lums, IBA, Dow, Aku, NCA, Indus Valley etc. Have we not learnt anything from the Bhutto nationalization policies in the 70's the effects of which we are still suffering from today?

The govt should be striving to bring the maddressas, matric, fsc systems up to par with the O and A level system but not the other way around. We need more Shan Masood type individuals in our society, not Sarfaraz Ahmed's

The way this govt is heading of they remain in power till march 2021then education will become a luxury the masses don't have resources to feed their children who cares about education massive lay off happening in service sector reknowed outlets in big malls have reduced their mapower to 50% Danke Imran

The entire world economy is in negative due to corona, but that's hard to explain to patwaris. You guys used to cry about IK dharna as reason for dismal performance but IK cannot even use a worldwide pandemic and worst recession in 100 years as an excuse.

You deserve to be ruled by looters and plunderers and remain a poor, underdeveloped country.

The entire world economy is in negative due to corona, but that's hard to explain to patwaris. You guys used to cry about IK dharna as reason for dismal performance but IK cannot even use a worldwide pandemic and worst recession in 100 years as an excuse.

You deserve to be ruled by looters and plunderers and remain a poor, underdeveloped country.

Ever heard of a word governance whats was the need to change prices on 26th whereaa the routine is by start of every month mafia just pinned IK you continue living in your bubble

Bhai jaan last time price decrease was also on the 26th.... 26th of March. So that is one of the possible reasons for the increase on the same day to even out the months.

Ok let's say mafia pinned IK.... What is the solution. Give me a solution, I'm all ears.

This is going to be a farce. They have no will or power to stand up to the mullah brigade. They will compromise an already compromised system further.

The recent news out of Punjab and why they have done with text books in KPK should give everyone pause about this so called one system for all.

Its an amazing idea if it's lifts up the standard of education in madrassas and lower tier government schools without pushing others three steps back and as a consequence destroying whatever little good we have left.

Why can't people have freedom to choose what they want their kids to grow up like

I mean some parents don't care about deeni education while for some it's very important so no need to compromise both can choose what they want

Problem was always low quality public schools and cutting the budget ain't helping

Fix this issue and most wont go to maddrasa or private schools cause it's not practical

Problem is they want band aids for cancer

This will only make our problem worse because no one will get what they want and it'll just end up being a cluster f word

PTI cannot disrupt the O, A level education system and the university education systems of Lums, IBA, Dow, Aku, NCA, Indus Valley etc. Have we not learnt anything from the Bhutto nationalization policies in the 70's the effects of which we are still suffering from today?

The govt should be striving to bring the maddressas, matric, fsc systems up to par with the O and A level system but not the other way around. We need more Shan Masood type individuals in our society, not Sarfaraz Ahmed's
Exactly this perfect
Forcing systems onto people never works

But my thing is if we just make our public schools better most madrasa will die their natural death

Politician won't get on the bad side of mullahs but country will also move forward

Oh God some of you are so uninformed but come on here to comment as if you were right there where the decisions were being made. Atleast do some fact finding before posting.

The elite class private schools will still continue to have their students give the O and A levels exams, but they will have to follow the national curriculum and their students may have to sit for national exams as well. If there are somethings taught in O/A levels and not in the curriculum then the private schools can go above and beyond the curriculum, however, the chances of that happening are very less because the new curriculum is being assessed by Cambridge university as well.

Exactly this perfect
Forcing systems onto people never works

But my thing is if we just make our public schools better most madrasa will die their natural death

Politician won't get on the bad side of mullahs but country will also move forward

Do tell what freedom did your parents have to decide the education system in the US.... Please I'm dying to know about the fifteen systems available to parents in the US.

I studied in public school but in private schools you can study religion, Scientology,art of making chariots no one cares as long as you have proficient reading, writing and a bit of math and some heavy handed liberal states may have physical education requirements

I wonder if the Pakistani govt can request students when they turn 18 years old to provide atleast 2-3 years of defence services i.e. they can be given the choice to join the police, army and serve as soldiers and then get discharged and get on with other goals in life. This is how it works in Israel and in my opinion sometimes serving in the millitary for 2-3 years can really toughen you up and take you out of your comfort zone in life.

Its done in Israel as their population is low and in a big war there is a chance most of their male population would have to be ready to have a chance against the numerically superior Arab armies if Uncle Sam one day, unlikely, stops supporting them.

I wonder if the Pakistani govt can request students when they turn 18 years old to provide atleast 2-3 years of defence services i.e. they can be given the choice to join the police, army and serve as soldiers and then get discharged and get on with other goals in life. This is how it works in Israel and in my opinion sometimes serving in the military for 2-3 years can really toughen you up and take you out of your comfort zone in life.

Do you think our KGS boys will give up their US/Engerland education for a spell on the front line? there will be an uproar.

Bhai jaan last time price decrease was also on the 26th.... 26th of March. So that is one of the possible reasons for the increase on the same day to even out the months.

Ok let's say mafia pinned IK.... What is the solution. Give me a solution, I'm all ears.

First thing first get rid of Sapm Nadeem Babar n Omer they are in oil business and have conflict of interest which negates IK 's ideology Nadeem Babar himself admitted in a TV program

Love how such idiotic ideas come from people who are comfortably sitting abroad

OP’s passionate bhangra is inspiring but we all know he will be deflecting and justifying the inevitable U-turn on this plan somewhere in January 2021.

This will not go through. By now, if you don’t realize how Imran works you probably never will. May God help you then.

OP’s passionate bhangra is inspiring but we all know he will be deflecting and justifying the inevitable U-turn on this plan somewhere in January 2021.

This will not go through. By now, if you don’t realize how Imran works you probably never will. May God help you then.

And what should we do with you if there is no U-turn? There has to be some repercussions for your daily baqwas.

Its done in Israel as their population is low and in a big war there is a chance most of their male population would have to be ready to have a chance against the numerically superior Arab armies if Uncle Sam one day, unlikely, stops supporting them.

Pakistan is faced with a similar situation vis a vis India and you can't rely on the Iranians and Afghani's who are pro India. China did not help us in 1965 and 1971 and neither did the US. In the worst case scenario every member of Pakistani society should be ready to pick up arms

Do you think our KGS boys will give up their US/Engerland education for a spell on the front line? there will be an uproar.

All the more reasons to get them out of their comfort zone. A lot of these KGS boys get a shock when they decide to go into medicine and then they do their training in Pakistani government hospitals

Love how such idiotic ideas come from people who are comfortably sitting abroad

Nothing idiotic about it at all. In fact it is a source of pride for someone to be serving their country on the front lines.

I wish kids are taught coding in Python or any other data analysis language since grade 8 because it can be used in any field. But thats only a dream as computer labs are in horrible condition in Pakistan. Computers worth 30k were being built for 1Lacs in my relative's TEVTA institute, thats how much corruption there is.

In FSc, you aren't taught much programming. Its just memorizing lines... all theoretical stuff. In O/A levels, you get to actually code and your teacher has a choice of teaching you the language he wants like C++ or Python or Visual Basic. In O/A Levels exam they give you the option to code in any of the three programming languages i mentioned, its pretty dope. Helps massively in university's first two semesters while doing bachelors in CS.

Given Imran Khan’s track record, all this would require a rant from Khadim Rizvi and Kaptaan would bend over backwards and run away from implementing this new promising curriculum.

Khadim Rizvi ranted and protested. He got arrested and his software was updated. Where is he now?

Data does not corroborate with what you are saying.

In FSc, you aren't taught much programming. Its just memorizing lines... all theoretical stuff. In O/A levels, you get to actually code and your teacher has a choice of teaching you the language he wants like C++ or Python or Visual Basic. In O/A Levels exam they give you the option to code in any of the three programming languages i mentioned, its pretty dope. Helps massively in university's first two semesters while doing bachelors in CS.

its a real shame, i would go even further, i dont see why u cant start teaching computing in year 3 or 4. once u have the skills u have brilliant way to earn forex for the country, just have programming farms, with the most talented programmers put in the most important programs and the rest work in outsourcing type companies.

You've become a parody at this point.

Khadim Rizvi ranted and protested. He got arrested and his software was updated. Where is he now?

Data does not corroborate with what you are saying.
Only to be released and now he is back to ranting against minorities and spreading hate!

You've become a parody at this point.

In some other thread he was ranting against overseas, funny thing is mausoof khud bahir behtay hain and proudly flying HK flag :yk

But nobody can beat the parody that is being played in front of our eyes in the form of PTI government.

“You've become a parody at this point” is the most ironic statement that can come from an Imran/PTI supporter.

I havent seen one message of condolence or concern from you in the KSE thread yet - possibly try and sympathise with your fellow countrymen instead of playing to the galleries across the border?

The O/A level system is outdated, the British replaced the GCE in 1988. Pakistan should adopt a K-12 public school system that's used in the US and Canada.

I havent seen one message of condolence or concern from you in the KSE thread yet - possibly try and sympathise with your fellow countrymen instead of playing to the galleries across the border?

What would my condolence message do? The families and friends of the people who have lost their lives do not know and nor will they read my message.

What good are the condolences of the people sitting in the west or elsewhere in Pakistan? How many of them care enough to reach out to the families of the martyrs and offer financial support? None of them.

If you cannot do anything practical, what’s the use of shallow condolences?

So what is the point of these superficial condolences that do nothing except you make look like a patriot over the internet and gives the impression that you care.

Not a bad idea, but instead of defense maybe they can do some sort of community service. Like work in hospitals, schools, assist elderly, etc.

Israel also has a civil service, so that can be a model. There are no shortage of soldiers for Pakistan, so no need to focus on defense. But some sort of civil service can be a good idea to improve national pride.

Not a bad idea, but instead of defense maybe they can do some sort of community service. Like work in hospitals, schools, assist elderly, etc.

Israel also has a civil service, so that can be a model. There are no shortage of soldiers for Pakistan, so no need to focus on defense. But some sort of civil service can be a good idea to improve national pride.

Fair suggestion

The O/A level system is outdated, the British replaced the GCE in 1988. Pakistan should adopt a K-12 public school system that's used in the US and Canada.

Speaking from experience, Pakistani O/A Level system is better in many ways than K-12 in US which a lot of Americans dislike. There are also negatives obviously but O/A Levels is quite decent.

Sindh CM for seeking guideline regarding adoption of whole national curriculum or only core subjects of SNC

KARACHI: Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah on Thursday said that the Federal Ministry of Education & Professional Training, may be asked to provide necessary guideline whether it was an adoption of the whole national curriculum or only core subjects of Single National Curriculum (SNC).

“The Sindh province may adopt SNC containing only core curriculum subjects with the minimum standards and further enrich it followed by the development of provincial curriculum of the remaining subjects such as languages, social studies etc,” he said.

This he said while presiding over a meeting to discuss the `Single National Curriculum Plan’ here at the CM House, said a statement issued by a spokesperson of the Sindh chief minister House.

The meeting was attended by Minister Education Saeed Ghani, Advisor law Murtaza Wahab, PSCM Sajid Jamal Abro, Secretaries, school education and colleges, law and other concerned officers and experts.

The chief minister directed the education department to study and compare the curriculum of federal government with the curriculum of the Sindh government which has been designed under the guidelines of `21stCentury Learning Skills’ and send him their recommendations.

“Yes, we can adopt the portion which might be missing from our newly designed curriculum but adoption or introduction of a new curriculum would be notified by the provincial government,” he concluded.

Briefing the chief minister, Saeed Ghani said that a meeting was held on SNC by the National Curriculum Council (NCC) in September, 2019.

Saeed Ghani said that he had held the ninth meeting of the Sindh Curriculum Council (SCC) in March 2020, in which a detailed discussion regarding implementation of SNC was made.

In order to implement the SNC, it was decided that SNC developed by the Ministry of Federal Education, should be taken into consideration with the provinces through holding review workshops at provincial level.

Once approved by the provinces, this SNC will be implemented nationally, Saeed Ghani told the CM Sindh.

Saeed Ghani said that in 2015, the Sindh government enacted `The Sindh School Education Standards and Curriculum Act’ passed by the Sindh Assembly.

Under the law, the Sindh Curriculum Council was established and the Bureau of Curriculum was reconstituted as Directorate of Curriculum Assessment and Research (DCAR), he added.

He said that the approach and strategies employed by the department for review, design, and development of standards, curriculum, textbooks and resources are underpinned by the strict quality principles which are the cornerstone of its policy, education minister said and added the Post 18thAmendment accomplishments in the field of Curriculum and Textbooks by education department includes, reviewed and tailor the National Curriculum and develop assessment policy and procedures for examination.

He said that the policy, Sindh Education Student Learning Outcome and Assessment Framework (SESLOAF) was notified in 2015.
https://www.brecorder.com/news/4000...ional-curriculum-or-only-core-subjects-of-snc

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I was part of the curriculum writing process, as were 70 other experts from all four provinces, AJK and GB. Plus private schools & madrasahs, all made this curriculum together over a few months.<br><br>This article has several errors presented as fact. Sad.<a href="https://twitter.com/AsadAToor?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AsadAToor</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Shafqat_Mahmood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Shafqat_Mahmood</a> <a href="https://t.co/VwxKCvVdfe">https://t.co/VwxKCvVdfe</a></p>— Mariam Chughtai (@MariamChughtai) <a href="https://twitter.com/MariamChughtai/status/1284433590382661632?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 18, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

^ This lady has a Doctorate from Harvard in Education.

I'm impressed how top notch talent was brought together to draft the new curriculum.

^ This lady has a Doctorate from Harvard in Education.

I'm impressed how top notch talent was brought together to draft the new curriculum.

There are many talented Pakistanis who want to do good by their country. They had just lost too much hope with previous governments to consider working with them.

I don't know which O/A levels you are talking about but I did Edexcel A levels in 2015 and we studied about the Higgs boson and the significance of it's discovery in 2012. Doesn't get anymore up-to-date than that mate. This is just one example though. I can give hundreds more from Biology and particles Physics too.

I don't think you understand. The UK scrapped the GCE and replaced it with the GCSE in 1988 whereas Pakistani cambridge system schools still follow the GCE system instead of updating to the GCSE. Anways both of those systems are out of place and out of touch for Pakistan, there needs to be a localized version of the GCSE like how Hong Kong made the HKCSE. Ideally I do think the K-12 system is superior.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am sharing some basics of the single national curriculum for study and comments. For detailed response kindly send to: sncpakistan2020@gmail.com <a href="https://t.co/dzBanN0ew8">pic.twitter.com/dzBanN0ew8</a></p>— Shafqat Mahmood (@Shafqat_Mahmood) <a href="https://twitter.com/Shafqat_Mahmood/status/1284744110616858625?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I don't think you understand. The UK scrapped the GCE and replaced it with the GCSE in 1988 whereas Pakistani cambridge system schools still follow the GCE system instead of updating to the GCSE. Anways both of those systems are out of place and out of touch for Pakistan, there needs to be a localized version of the GCSE like how Hong Kong made the HKCSE. Ideally I do think the K-12 system is superior.

Having compared both systems, GCSE’s are in my opinion far easier than GCE’s. I would often try to use past papers from GCSE during my O and A Levels but would find they weren’t adequate enough.

Newer system doesn’t mean better system — though I will admit I am not much more acquainted with what the pros and cons are.

Having compared both systems, GCSE’s are in my opinion far easier than GCE’s. I would often try to use past papers from GCSE during my O and A Levels but would find they weren’t adequate enough.

Newer system doesn’t mean better system — though I will admit I am not much more acquainted with what the pros and cons are.

Harder doesn't mean better. Students should be put under so much stress and standardized testing is already being phased out in the developed world. I swear Pakistanis think just cause an education is system is hard must mean it must produce the best citizens and employees lol.

Well you can definitely vouch for the idea that a more rigorous education system where higher level concepts are taught is better than an easy education system that doesn’t teach or test higher level concepts. Otherwise no one would go to university haha.

Well you can definitely vouch for the idea that a more rigorous education system where higher level concepts are taught is better than an easy education system that doesn’t teach or test higher level concepts. Otherwise no one would go to university.
Education in Pak was much harder than in the US (for me) 100% no doubt
But I don't think that any one will say it was a better education and that's the point he is trying to make
Harder doesn't mean better

Well you can definitely vouch for the idea that a more rigorous education system where higher level concepts are taught is better than an easy education system that doesn’t teach or test higher level concepts. Otherwise no one would go to university haha.
For me I don't think Korean or Japanese is a very good education because in the real world you have to be a well rounded person and that's where the emphasis should be on

I don't think except for a few fields a nerd would be a good candidate for most jobs in the world

(Sorry it's the continuation of my previous post)

Like I already said, harder doesn't mean better. Pakistan should focus more project based learning and less standardized testing, also break up the academic year in semesters rather than hold one grand cumulative exam at the end of the school year that accounts for 100% of your grade :facepalm:

National Single Curriculum to bring all classes of society at one platform: Shafqat

ISLAMABAD: Minister for Federal Education and Professional Training Shafqat Mahmood on Monday said that only National Single uniform Curriculum can be helpful in bringing all the classes of society at one platform.

He was chairing a meeting here at ministry to review the fresh development on Single National Curriculum.

Senior officials of the ministry briefed the meeting about the latest updates regarding Single National Curriculum.

The minister said the dream of “One Nation” and "United Pakistan" cannot be achieved until the classification system not end in the country.

He said that National Curriculum was implemented in the developed countries of Europe while it was also successfully applied by some Asian Countries.

He assured that the standard of the Single National Curriculum in Pakistan will not be lower than international level.

The new curriculum will not only increase the capacity building of our children but it would also highlight their natural abilities, he added.

Shafqat Mahmood directed the officials to inform the provinces and all relevant stakeholders about the new development in Single National Curriculum, adding that in that regard at least two monthly meetings would be arranged with the provinces and other stakeholders.

He said that “we cannot claim that single national curriculum will at once bring equality in all the education system but it will be first step towards uniformity in the education system.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/4000...ll-classes-of-society-at-one-platform-shafqat

Like I already said, harder doesn't mean better. Pakistan should focus more project based learning and less standardized testing, also break up the academic year in semesters rather than hold one grand cumulative exam at the end of the school year that accounts for 100% of your grade :facepalm:

For me I don't think Korean or Japanese is a very good education because in the real world you have to be a well rounded person and that's where the emphasis should be on

I don't think except for a few fields a nerd would be a good candidate for most jobs in the world

(Sorry it's the continuation of my previous post)

I do agree it’s important to incorporate project based learning and well roundedness but we were discussing between GCE and GCSE where that difference really isn’t pronounced. There is plenty of room for project based learning in GCSE, problem in Pakistan is that most schools don’t have funding or infrastructure to allow students this type of learning on a regular basis.

In other words, the issue isn’t the curriculum. You can incorporate elements from GCE, Singapore, US, or from IB which is generally recognized as one of the most “rounded” types of learning experiences across the world, into this new Pakistani curriculum. But at the end of the day, schools need infrastructure to support clubs like debate and robotics, while incorporating STEAM concepts at younger age groups.

For this same reason, while I do look forward to this initiative by Shafqat Mahmood, I was not impressed by the PDF screenshots he posted on his twitter where the overview was quite generic. The real challenge is in implementation, and I hope he has plans for that.

In fact, even well funded private schools in Pakistan that have adopted IB have been absolute flops due to mismanagement — teachers don’t have the training to teach like that, and need to be trained, while the administration is usually headed by 1 or 2 senior, well educated individuals with a vision but incompetent middle-level administrators unable to carry this vision out.

Speaking from experience. So yes I do agree again that there is much to be improved but “catch all” solutions like “Pakistan should adopt the K-12 system” or “Pakistan should update at least to GCE since GCSE is outdated” would actually move us in the wrong direction despite good intentions. On a policy level, the government needs to focus on logistics and funding, not just on curriculum (which is only 30% of what is needed).

To me, actually, the biggest takeaway from this initiative is actually just that they’re standardizing the system. Which is another 30% of what is needed. The remaining 40% is the implementation.

Education: PTI's plan exposed

BE prepared, Pakistan! Imran Khan’s government is poised to inflict damage upon this country’s education system in a manner never seen before. Its so-called Single National Curriculum (SNC) hides systemic changes going far deeper than the ones conceived and executed by the extremist regime of Gen Ziaul Haq. Implementation is scheduled for 2021.

At first glance a uniform national curriculum is hugely attractive. Some see it striking a lethal blow at the abominable education apartheid that has wracked Pakistan from day one. By the year, a widening gap has separated beneficiaries of elite private education from those crippled by bad public schooling. So what could be better than the rich child and the poor child studying the same subjects from the same books and being judged by the same standards?

But this morally attractive idea has been hijacked, corrupted, mutilated and beaten out of shape by those near-sighted persons now holding Pakistan’s future in their hands, and who, like their boss, kowtow to the madressah establishment. Prime Minister Khan was widely criticised in 2016-17 for making huge grants to madressahs of the late Maulana Samiul Haq, self-professed father of the Taliban who was murdered by an associate in mysterious circumstances.

As yet only SNC plans for Class I-V are public. But the huge volume of religious material they contain beats all curriculums in Pakistan’s history. A column-by-column comparison with two major madressah systems — Tanzeemul Madaris and Rabtaul Madaris — reveals a shocking fact. Ordinary schools will henceforth impose more rote learning than even these madressahs. Normal schoolteachers being under-equipped religiously, SNC calls for summoning an army of madressah-educated holy men — hafiz’s and qaris — as paid teachers inside schools. How this will affect the general ambiance and the safety of students is an open question.

The push for a uniform national curriculum idea derives from three flawed assumptions:

First: It is false that quality differences between Pakistan’s various education streams stem from pursuing different curricula. When teaching any secular subject such as geography, social studies or science, all streams have to cover the same topics. While details and emphases obviously differ, each must deal with exactly seven continents and water being H2O.

Instead, learning differentials arise because students experience very different teaching methods and are evaluated using entirely different criteria. So, for example, a local examination board will typically ask a mathematics student to name the inventor of logarithms whereas an ‘O’-level student must actually use logarithms to solve some problem. The modern world expects students to reason their way through a question, not parrot facts.

Second: It is false that a hefty dose of piety will somehow equalise students of Aitchison College and your run-of-the-mill neighbourhood school. The legendary Mahmood and Ayyaz prayed in the same suff (prayer line) and established a commonality without ending their master-slave relationship. Similarly, rich and poor schools will remain worlds apart unless equalised through school infrastructure, well-trained teachers, high quality textbooks and internet access. How the needed resources will be generated is anybody’s guess. Under the PTI, defence is the only sector seeing increases instead of cuts.

Third: It is false that school systems belonging to the modern world can be brought onto the same page as madressahs. Modern education rests squarely upon critical thinking, and success/failure is determined in relation to problem solving and worldly knowledge. Madressah education goals are important but different. They seek a more religiously observant student and a better life after death. Understandably, critical thinking is unwelcome.

While some madressahs now teach secular subjects like English, science and computers, this comes after much arm-twisting. Soon after 9/11, madressahs were spotlighted as terrorist breeding grounds. Musharraf’s government, beholden as it was to America, ordered them to teach secular subjects. Most rejected this outright but others were successfully pressurised. However, madressahs teach secular and religious subjects identically; reasoning is sparse and authoritarianism dominates.
While the new Class I-V SNC document also discusses secular subjects, much of this is pointless tinkering with the minutiae of teaching English, general knowledge, general science, mathematics and social studies. They are not accompanied by plausible plans for how the necessary intellectual or physical resources will be garnered and the plans implemented.

Still bigger changes are around the corner. The Punjab government has made teaching of the Holy Quran compulsory at the college and university level. Without passing the required examination no student will be able to get a BA, BSc, BE, ME, MA, MSc, MPhil, PhD or medical degree. Even the Zia regime did not have such blanket requirements. To get a university teaching job in the 1980s, you had to name all the wives of the Holy Prophet (PBUH) and recite some difficult religious passages such as Dua-i-Qunoot. Still, students could get degrees without that. That option is now closed.

Starkly inferior to their counterparts in Iran, India and Bangladesh, Pakistani students perform poorly in all international science and mathematics competitions. Better achievers are invariably from the elite ‘O’-/‘A’-level stream. More worrying is that most students are unable to express themselves coherently and grammatically in any language, whether Urdu or English. They have stopped reading books.

Significantly, as yet the PTI’s new education regime is mum on how it will advance its goal of closing a huge skill deficit. So poor is the present quality of technical and vocational institutes that private employers must totally retrain the graduates. That’s why private-sector industrial growth is small and entire state enterprises, such as PIA and Pakistan Steel Mills, have collapsed. Pakistan’s space programme flopped but Iran has just put a military satellite into orbit and India is well on the way to Mars.

Empowered by the 18th Amendment, Pakistan’s provinces should vigorously resist the regressive plan being thrust upon the nation by ideologues that have usurped power in Islamabad. Else Pakistan will end up as the laughing stock of South Asia, left behind even by Arab countries. Pakistan’s greatest need — and its single greatest failure — is its tragic failure to impart essential life skills to its citizens. To move ahead, the priority should be to educate rather than score political points.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1569679/education-ptis-plan-exposed

Renowned physicist argues that the SNC massively prioritises ideology over education quality and acquisition of basic skills.

Renowned is a stretch. Is he a top 100 physcist in the world? i dont think so. Anyway most of what he has written here is nonsense. In particular this gem

"Significantly, as yet the PTI’s new education regime is mum on how it will advance its goal of closing a huge skill deficit. So poor is the present quality of technical and vocational institutes that private employers must totally retrain the graduates. That’s why private-sector industrial growth is small and entire state enterprises, such as PIA and Pakistan Steel Mills, have collapsed. Pakistan’s space programme flopped but Iran has just put a military satellite into orbit and India is well on the way to Mars."

Steel Mills and PIA have flopped because they are overstaffed, with Jiyalas, whose only skill is chanting Jeay Bhutto, Aaj Bhi Bhutto Zinda Hai, ya Allah ya Rasool Benazir bekasoor.

Private sector cant grow when you have a goverment run entity that can lose billions and not go out of business. You want private sector growth you need to improve the ease of business, which PTI improved by 28 spots last year. You need to decrease corruption, lower taxes, get rid of the red tape.