Sixth consecutive series win for Pakistan in T20Is [Update Post #65]

Arham_PakFan

With victory in the 2nd T20I against SL,Pakistan sealed a series win,their 5th consecutive series win in T20I’s.

1-0 against England(Only 1 game)
3-0 against WI in UAE
3-1 against WI in WI
2-1 against World XI in Lahore
2-0 against SL (1 game remaining)

All games have been under Sarfraz Ahmed’s captaincy.

Congrats to the boys. Sarfraz and the coaching staff have turned our LO fortunes for the better.

Sarfraz and Mickey partnership is amazing

Exactly and Inzamam's injection of young blood has made a huge difference.

This think tank of Sarfraz, Arthur, Inzamam, G Flower, Rixon and Azhar Mahmood should be retained through to the 2023 WC.

Exactly and Inzamam's injection of young blood has made a huge difference.

This think tank of Sarfraz, Arthur, Inzamam, G Flower, Rixon and Azhar Mahmood should be retained through to the 2023 WC.

Young blood :hafeez2

And 2023 is a long ways away.. Even the president isn't guaranteed that long of a job contract and you are talking about a team's coaching staff.

The England one was impressive, but there is nothing else to talk about. We have played some poor opposition.

We are still one of the worst teams around.

With victory in the 2nd T20I against SL,Pakistan sealed a series win,their 5th consecutive series win in T20I’s.

3-0 against WI in UAE
3-1 against WI in WI

If only Sarfraz didnt make some silly decisions in test team and batting order selection, he would have been unbeatable by now.

This is the only major part where I have reservations about Sarfi's captaincy. He even sacrificed his batting position in lois, even after scoring runs in 2016. Someone needs to tell him its not making the team better rather batting at 4 or 5 will strengthen the team as he is the best strike rotator in Pakistan in middle overs.

The England one was impressive, but there is nothing else to talk about. We have played some poor opposition.

Going number 1 soon!! Batting needs to improve but the bowling is becominy seriously good ( with the marshalling by sarf)

There are other teams as well, without winning against them, Pak is already the best T20 team, good one

Where does it say that you have to beat every team in the world to be the #1?

BTW, same can be said about them.

Haters can take it in their face.. we probably would have lost 3 of those five under previous setup..
good job team Pakistan! what a turnaround..

Where does it say that you have to beat every team in the world to be the #1?

BTW, same can be said about them.

When India became # 1 in tests, some PP posters raised the same issue, to minimize Kohli's achievements they always say he did not perform against England in England in tests. Brother this reply was for them. We all know no one needs to perform against everyone to be a good performer or a good team.

Ex: Ponting against Ind, Lara against Ind, Murli against Ind but we all consider them greats of the game without any doubt.

We have the best bowling attack in LOIs.

#1 ODI bowler and #1 T20I bowler are both from Pakistan.

west indies has beaten englend in england,so...

Rated Number 2 in the world and about to get within one point of top position.

Let's see how we do in the next WT20.

T20 ranking is largely irrelevant. The batting is not remotely good enough, and we can only thrive on pitches where 140 is match-winning.

Agree with [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] this team will be exposed in 180+ pitch. Likes of Sarfraz and Hafeez will be useless.

Best chance is to restrict opposition on a below par score using likes of Hasan and Shadab

The best T20 team in the world with one of the worst batting lineups. This team will be brutally exposed on a 180+ pitch.

Luckily bhai, I can’t remember the last time we conceded more than 140 in a T20I. Even against the likes of England with Hales, Roy, Morgan, Buttler and West Indies with Evin Lewis etc.

That’s Sarfaraz’s formula to win games. Bowl first, bowl the opposition out for a below par total and chase it down. It won’t always work like on June 4th against India. But every team has their own flaws and will be brutally exposed when conditions do not suit them.

When India became # 1 in tests, some PP posters raised the same issue, to minimize Kohli's achievements they always say he did not perform against England in England in tests. Brother this reply was for them. We all know no one needs to perform against everyone to be a good performer or a good team.

Ex: Ponting against Ind, Lara against Ind, Murli against Ind but we all consider them greats of the game without any doubt.

India deserve the #1 ranking. Most will say the same.

Who cares?Only T20 tourney that matters is T20 world cup and the leagues.Seriously worldwide we play too much meaningless cricket these days.

When Pakistan bowl, there are no 180+ pitches.

As I said, our fans are badly in need of a reality check. Their heads are in the clouds after the CT fluke. Both ODI and T20 teams are still average, and the Test one is rubbish.

Luckily bhai, I can’t remember the last time we conceded more than 140 in a T20I. Even against the likes of England with Hales, Roy, Morgan, Buttler and West Indies with Evin Lewis etc.

That’s Sarfaraz’s formula to win games. Bowl first, bowl the opposition out for a below par total and chase it down. It won’t always work like on June 4th against India. But every team has their own flaws and will be brutally exposed when conditions do not suit them.

Most teams have better batting than us, so on proper T20 pitches they will beat us more often than not. The T20 in England last year was a one-off, and we beat WI on slow pitches.

England, India, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa will beat us on proper batting surfaces more often than not.

As I said, our fans are badly in need of a reality check. Their heads are in the clouds after the CT fluke. Both ODI and T20 teams are still average, and the Test one is rubbish.

Check Rankings first. Easy to say something negative for hope of reaction.

Yes Tests are a problem but not T20s or ODIs. We are in a positive trajectory at the moment.

I agree with your point about the batting being exposed in a higher scoring game but really CT just a fluke?

In ODIs I consider only Aus, SA, India and England better than Pakistan but some of the batsman they have are proper FTB and can be exposed by the quality of Amir, RR, Shinwari and Hasan Ali especially, also not forgetting Shadab Khan as well!

Improving LOs ranking tell a different story.

Check Rankings first. Easy to say something negative for hope of reaction.

Yes Tests are a problem but not T20s or ODIs. We are in a positive trajectory at the moment.

Positive trajectory because we are playing some lowly opposition.

Outside that CT win against India which is a team I also consider to be lowly opposition.

The West Indies are the current T20 World Champions the last I checked and were defeated emphatically in their backyard during the T20 series

I agree with your point about the batting being exposed in a higher scoring game but really CT just a fluke?

In ODIs I consider only Aus, SA, India and England better than Pakistan but some of the batsman they have are proper FTB and can be exposed by the quality of Amir, RR, Shinwari and Hasan Ali especially, also not forgetting Shadab Khan as well!

CT was a flash in the pan. We got smashed by India in the first game, and there is not much to look into the South African game because they are world renowned chokers. We were lucky against Sri lanka because they played worse than we did, and we got lucky against English in the semifinal because the Cardiff pitch was slow and low, which favored our plodders and bowlers and negated their fluent and explosive batsmen.

They were the best team in the tournament and would have smashed us at Edgbaston or The Oval.

In the final, lot of things went our way. India had an off-day in the field and that no-ball was a huge moment. Also, their top three were smashing all teams and they were bound to fail for once. They will still beat us 8/10 times.

We cannot look much into the CT success. It was a great moment for us and we celebrated it to our hearts' fill, but now it is time to move on because it doesn't mean anything in the long run. We are a better ODI team than Bangladesh (but they are on par with us in Asian conditions), Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe etc. only.

The likes of Australia, India, England, South Africa and New Zealand will beat us majority of the times because their batting is much better and our so-called best bowling unit in the world will be negated on flat pitches.

Outside that CT win against India which is a team I also consider to be lowly opposition.

The West Indies are the current T20 World Champions the last I checked and were defeated emphatically in their backyard during the T20 series

The team that won the World T20 was different to the ones we defeated.

CT was a flash in the pan. We got smashed by India in the first game, and there is not much to look into the South African game because they are world renowned chokers. We were lucky against Sri lanka because they played worse than we did, and we got lucky against English in the semifinal because the Cardiff pitch was slow and low, which favored our plodders and bowlers and negated their fluent and explosive batsmen.

They were the best team in the tournament and would have smashed us at Edgbaston or The Oval.

In the final, lot of things went our way. India had an off-day in the field and that no-ball was a huge moment. Also, their top three were smashing all teams and they were bound to fail for once. They will still beat us 8/10 times.

We cannot look much into the CT success. It was a great moment for us and we celebrated it to our hearts' fill, but now it is time to move on because it doesn't mean anything in the long run. We are a better ODI team than Bangladesh (but they are on par with us in Asian conditions), Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe etc. only.

The likes of Australia, India, England, South Africa and New Zealand will beat us majority of the times because their batting is much better and our so-called best bowling unit in the world will be negated on flat pitches.

Well, we won't mind some more flashes in the pan in near future. And boy you got some coping mechanism for the events of that day :farhat

If you don't mind flashes in the pan, then you will have to wait very long for them.

The team that won the World T20 was different to the ones we defeated.

Yeah it was a different team, but the different one comfortably smashed 200+ against India in a T20 who you claimed was a better bowling attack than ours :))

I see our resident depressive has once again turned a hopeful optimistic thread into a abyss of despair.

I mean we should just quit cricket and thus save ourselves from this depressive narrative..

On a serious note this is great stuff and well not surprising considering we have been one of the best t20 teams around since the format was created internationally.

Also side note: As per some rankings do not matter when Pakistan is near the top, but the rankings are the best thing on God's green earth when India is near the top. :))

Good point.

Nothing matters when it comes to Pakistan/Pakistanis as per certain posters.

There are haters and then there are some people :facepalm:

3-0 against WI in UAE
3-1 against WI in WI

i know wi were world camps not so long ago, but one would like to see us beating up other teams by now.

This is a hilarious post. Not an ounce of positivity.

Is anything we achieve considered substantial by you ? What’s the point of supporting the team when you’re going to call everything a fluke ?

This team is cold, clinical, and ruthless. The fielding still fails every now and then, but the fact that SL couldn't clear 250 in a single ODI and got bowled out in all but one ODI shows that this team is far better than you are implying it to be-and that's WITH a passenger like Shehzad opening and without Amir in the side. They scored under 200 three times! In this era with flat pitches and high scoring games they were bowled out under 200 thrice-and nearly under 100 once. The team could have slacked off in the final two ODIs after they had it won. Instead they just sent SL out of the grounds for Associate level scores.
Will NZ later this year be a challenge? Absolutely. It's an away series and NZ is a quality side. But with an army of fast bowlers, the steady availability of new opening talent, and a slow return to cricket in Pakistan, this team can and will improve. This isn't the WI which doesn't have the population base or the money to continue to be a long term cricketing power. People will show up to watch this team. They are grateful to be watch cricket live at all.
I'd say, move on? Sure, but only because this team is steadily improving.

And Kholi choked like Amla.

Seriously!!!!! some posters are so bitter about pak win its hard to explain how they feel. Its getting very annoying now and feels like we playing game of whac-A-mole where you hit one hater and they pop out from other place with another ridiculous argument.

I find it funny that some posters rate Kohli as an ATG because of his exploits in t20s + odis but when it comes to Pakistan winning every series in t20s then they don't matter.. :p So bashing poor Australian bowlers in t20s matter but winning against world champs WI don't matter as pitches were slow?

Bhai ya ye kaho k t20 matter krtay hain ya ye k nahi krtay. ye khula tazaad kyun :p ?

It must be very tiring for some posters to be so negative all the time.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] reminds me of a good desi parent. He is harder on his own children (Pakistan) than he is on other people's children (India etc). :))

[MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

We were lucky against Sri lanka because they played worse than we did, and we got lucky against English in the semifinal because the Cardiff pitch was slow and low, which favored our plodders and bowlers and negated their fluent and explosive batsmen.

So why didn't we smash England in slow, low conditions in the UAE in 2012 and 2015 ?

Comon bhai let's not act as if this ODI team is like the test side which is garbage to the say the least.

You even predicted Pakistan would win the final from what I remember, but now it's all a fluke?

Fluke or no fluke let's take positives that the LOI sides are heading to the right direction and the young talent are doing well compare to the seniors. PSL will continue to unearth some more talent, team is only going to get better if Pak continue to give opportunities to the youngsters who play a brand on fearless cricket, possess great energy levels hence why they perform well on the field.

I back Pakistan to reach semis at least in 2019 WC, England is a happy hunting ground for Pakistan, history proves that can't be a fluke every time given what they have achieved there:

1999 WC Final
2004 CT Semi Final
2009 WT20 Final
2017 CT win - get the vital songs tunes out

hate to Mamoon this thread further but our t20 batting line up is awful

there is no one batsmen in the lineup who we can take a team apart.

Fahkar is still untested, Malik will not be able to score as briskly against Pace heavy sides.

Fortunately, we don't have a t20 WC to worry about for another 2 and half years.

However, we shouldn't let poor opposition and exceptional bowling blind us to glaring holes.

Is anything we achieve considered substantial by you ? What’s the point of supporting the team when you’re going to call everything a fluke ?

Well I don't think we are a good team at the moment, but why does that mean I can't support? Not supporting would be wanting Pakistan to lose, and that has never happened and never will.

And Kholi choked like Amla.

Yes he did, that day. For once he didn't perform against Pakistan in a pressure game, but he was bound to fail for once.

Like Yesterday when we scored 180?

Against a mediocre attack. Quality teams would probably have scored 200+. Our number 3 could not clear the boundary once in 10 overs, and Malik saved the blushes but we all know that he cannot against the teams that have 140+ pacers.

So why didn't we smash England in slow, low conditions in the UAE in 2012 and 2015 ?

We lacked 'luck'.

We beat them comfortably in 2015 in the first ODI, but then they won the series after adjusting to the pitches. These one-off wins happen frequently but over the course of a series, the better team generally wins. They can miss out on a game or two, but they will win the series.

Even on that Cardiff wicket, England will beat us more often than not.

Yeah it was a different team, but the different one comfortably smashed 200+ against India in a T20 who you claimed was a better bowling attack than ours :))

It was down to a brilliant individual performance by Lewis. Individual brilliance can happen any time against any opposition.

For example, the bowling attack that won us the CT could not defend 310 against West Indies in the 1st ODI, thanks to a brilliant individual innings by Jason Mohammed.

Well deserved, thoroughly outplayed the Kiwis last 2 matches! Not easy to beat them in their yard. Helluva comeback after the embarrassing whitewash in ODIs!

It was down to a brilliant individual performance by Lewis. Individual brilliance can happen any time against any opposition.

For example, the bowling attack that won us the CT could not defend 310 against West Indies in the 1st ODI, thanks to a brilliant individual innings by Jason Mohammed.

We won the t20i series against NZ by beating the best in their home. This was no lucky win due absence of Munro or favourable conditions etc.

Sarfraz have not lost a series yet.

This series win was definitely better than the other ones.

It would be cumbersome to point out that nobody was predicting Pakistan will win the T20I series after they suffered a seven-wicket defeat in the first T20I — their sixth consecutive defeat at the hands of hosts New Zealand on the tour.

Pakistan’s unpredictability is one of the constants in the world of cricket, to the point that they are predictably so. Discussing the same — either to exalt or to condemn — is now almost a repetitive exercise.

And yet here they stand, the number one T20I side in the world. Surely then, there is at least some method to their madness. Or perhaps that is why they thrive so much in T20Is; the shortest format of the game is much more accommodating to their brand of lunacy.

Pakistan were the only team to reach the semi-final of the World T20 in the first four editions. They won one out of those four. In one they were one shot away from claiming the title while in another it took arguably the greatest T20I innings ever to deny them the title; for more details, talk to Messrs Misbahul Haq and Michael Hussey.

T20Is award not endurance but flash and in those conditions Pakistan thrive.

Perhaps it has to do with the bowlers that Pakistan have had at their disposal. Three of the top four most successful T20I bowlers are from Pakistan. Shahid Afridi’s 97 wickets see him top that particular list, while Umar Gul and Saeed Ajmal are joint third with 85 wickets apiece. Lasith Malinga’s 90 wickets have broken the Pakistan trio’s long-held stranglehold of the top three spots. All three were capable of winning matches on their own; put them in one team and you have a readymade recipe for success.

Perhaps it is because Pakistan are more capable of producing all-consuming bursts of pure inspiration than any other team in the world. These bursts, by definition, last a frustratingly brief time. In the two longer formats, teams look to survive those bursts and then recover the resulting damages during the remaining course of the match. In T20Is, there isn’t enough time to do so. By the time the Pakistan whirlwind subsides, it’s often too late to pick up the pieces. And so it leaves behind a plethora of ruin in its path.

Perhaps it is because the short nature of T20Is leaves teams with little time to do anything. Little time to think, lesser time to overthink and even lesser time to mess up due to overthinking. Pakistan cricket works best on instincts and in T20Is their instincts are unleashed to devastating effect.

Perhaps it is because lapses in concentration in T20Is are not as badly punished as they are in Tests and even ODIs, where a dropped catch or a poor shot can be far more costly.

Perhaps it is because T20I is much more similar to the kind of cricket Pakistanis grow up playing. The skills learned on the streets are just as applicable there as they are when playing a T20I at the Eden Park.

In all likelihood, Pakistan’s success is a mixture of all those factors coming together at different points in the game to produce some of the most memorable moments the shortest format has so far seen.

Pakistan have always been the bad boys of cricket; possessing neither a strong academic background nor the will to work particularly hard. Yet they are nobody’s fool. And on Sunday, they became the masters of the format so suited to them that it may as well have been tailored for them alone.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1621134/7-perfect-marriage-pakistan-t20is/

You'll see when Pakistan tour abroad and actually play good opposition in their homes, they will be ripped apart and their fans will be brought down to earth.......................oh wait

pakistan have been one of the best t20 side for an year.Micky and sarfo has done better.

Make it 9 , because next you play against

WI at home: Easy win

Scotland: Easy win

Try series with ZIM and AUS in Zimbabwe. Finals will be between AU's and You. Anyhow AU's will send their second string team, and on those low bounce pitches, against spin, AU's will be bundled out.

Good to have 9-0 series wins.

I mean, Pak beat the world champions twice, once in their back yard. They then beat, imo, one of the best t20 teams NZ has ever put out, probably their best.

Who are these "worst" teams you're talking about?

I mean, Pak beat the world champions twice, once in their back yard. They then beat, imo, one of the best t20 teams NZ has ever put out, probably their best.

Who are these "worst" teams you're talking about?

Our batting is not good enough. Batsmen like Babar, Sarfraz, Haris, Amin etc. can get away with short NZ boundaries, but they will struggle to beat teams like England, India, Australia and South Africa one-off games aside.

As long as Pakistan loses the majority of its games to these teams, it will be classified as a mediocre side. Sharjeel and Latif (not a quality batsman but a big hitter) were huge losses to the T20 side. At the moment, Fakhar is the only player who can devastate the opposition.

The gap between the top sides and the average sides in this format is not big. Pakistan needs two big hitters to achieve parity with the aforementioned teams. Take this T20 side to the WT20 in Australia in two years time and it won't even make the semifinals.

We won the t20i series against NZ by beating the best in their home. This was no lucky win due absence of Munro or favourable conditions etc.

Please refer to post #76. We are looking too much into the 180+ scores that we have put on short NZ grounds. On bigger grounds, 150-160 is the best what we can hope for against good teams while they are still able to post 180+.

Our batting is not good enough. Batsmen like Babar, Sarfraz, Haris, Amin etc. can get away with short NZ boundaries, but they will struggle to beat teams like England, India, Australia and South Africa one-off games aside.

As long as Pakistan loses the majority of its games to these teams, it will be classified as a mediocre side. Sharjeel and Latif (not a quality batsman but a big hitter) were huge losses to the T20 side. At the moment, Fakhar is the only player who can devastate the opposition.

The gap between the top sides and the average sides in this format is not big. Pakistan needs two big hitters to achieve parity with the aforementioned teams. Take this T20 side to the WT20 in Australia in two years time and it won't even make the semifinals.

Oh ok, so beating the world champs and then the world number one ranked side isnt enough.

We didn’t face the WI team that won two WT20s, they rarely play in bilaterals. Secondly, the fact that Pakistan and NZ are the top two T20 sides sums up how seriously the rankings are to be taken.

A full-strength NZ is better than us - Munro, Guptill and Corey etc. walk over our T20 batting. However, both teams are behind England, India, Australia and South Africa, who are the four best T20 sides at the moment.

We can add WI too when all their mercenaries are available.

We didn’t face the WI team that won two WT20s, they rarely play in bilaterals. Secondly, the fact that Pakistan and NZ are the top two T20 sides sums up how seriously the rankings are to be taken.

A full-strength NZ is better than us - Munro, Guptill and Corey etc. walk over our T20 batting. However, both teams are behind England, India, Australia and South Africa, who are the four best T20 sides at the moment.

We can add WI too when all their mercenaries are available.

I've said this before and will say it again. The WI side we beat wasn't the one that won the WC, but it was the same side that beat your team India in 2016 and 2017.