Hasan123
Test Star
Good start tbh. Hopefully we can improve the strike rotation though
Shan Masood playing on 22 off 57, and 20 runs he scored by boundaries.
Dude is not rotating strike well.
Shan scoring runs here is a BAD BAD sign for Pakistan.
He will be selected for the Tests and then humiliate us there. But we have no other openers and Sami shouldn't be risked.. stuck with this Shan mediocrity.
Also, Hafeez was poor today. Worrying signs for us. Got bowled in a hopeless fashion, tried to score runs via boundaries probably got nervous there.
Poor temperament by both the openers.
Runs karay to bhi muskhkil, Runs na karay phir toh Mushkil hi Mushkil....
Akhir Kia chatay ho tum log is larkay say mere bahiyon ???![]()
Poor run rate, they should have been playing with 4 RR at least.
How does that work?Omg look at our Run rate. If we play like this in the upcoming tests we will lose by an inning or most matches will be boring draws.
Why?
This is exactly what they need to do in the Tests: get to 80-1 off 30 overs and then use the fifty overs with the old ball until the second new ball to score another 180.
The target should be:
80-1 at lunch off 30 overs
190-3 at tea off 60 overs.
270-4 when the second new ball is taken at 80 overs
290-5 after 90 overs.
That should set up innings scores around 420-450, which would win the series.
How does that work?
The only "rate" that counts in Test innings is the fall of wickets. And you lost one in a session of thirty overs, which is really good.
79-1 after 30 overs is far, far better than 120-3.
Is this being televised?
This summer will be a big test for Eng. Pakistan is a fantastic test side atleast on paper. Middle order consists of players like Misbah and YK. Fast bowling of Amir, Wahab and Sohail. And then Yasir Shah.
If all clicks and plays to their potential, I dont see a reason why they cant beat Eng.
Though I will be supporting Eng but it will be a very hard fought series for us.
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
No telecast but the BBC will provide live radio commentary. You can listen to it here once the match begins.
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/cricket/36672652
Too slow, I want 400 on Day 1.
People are being harsh here.
It's a solid start. Just a bit sedate in run rate. Pakistan will do well to score at a sedate run rate and get 350 runs rather than going at 4 and getting shot out for 150.
If you have Dravid, Kallis like skills, then blocking away is fine.
By the way, even they got screwed when they tried blocking too much against insane quality bowling but you get the general point.
Someone like Pujara who could block for hours on end....when he was in zone, could make 100s and 200s and be super effective. When he toured overseas and lost form and lost some of his tight technique....the same blocking ensured that he was of little impact in NZ, Eng and mostly Aus.
So it depends.
If you have the skills to make it work, blocking endlessly can be PURE DESTRUCTION.
Or else....80/1 could easily turn into 120/2 and 150/5 (which can happen against quality bowling) and all the hard work lost.
I'm not sure but I think Pak are following their UAE strategy here as well. Just deadbat the pacers into exhaustion while picking up the odd boundary and after they get changed, make hay against the spinners. I'm not sure though and it has just been one session. We should wait and see their approach after lunch and in the third session to make a conclusion.
Yes they are following UAE strategy.
On English pitches. How ridiculous!
50 for Shan
It would be interesting to see that how succesfully Pakistan would be able to replicate their attritional cricket formula. It is doing fine so far. We have only lost two wickets.
Cool to see two Associate bowlers doing well vs Test opposition. Van Meekeren 2 wickets and Davey economical.
Standard Hafeez dismissal. Straight ball seaming in slightly
This bowler looks good.
anyone got vid of Azhar's wicket.
BTW - everyone getting ants in their pants about the pace of scoring... they have to play the way they know how. New ball is still more dangerous than older ball, so it makes sense to play 20 overs cautiously and of course, a new bat can take as much time as they feel they need to get in. No issues with scoring rate.
They will not deadbat all the pacers obv in UK, but will be cautious against spearheads. Practice match is about getting your eye in.
Shan was dropped twice. He won't get these chances against England.
Azhar's wicket
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Van Meekeren has 2/25 from 13 overs on debut. Very good ball this!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WeAreSomerset?src=hash">#WeAreSomerset</a><a href="https://t.co/UL81vlKolA">https://t.co/UL81vlKolA</a></p>— Somerset Cricket (@SomersetCCC) <a href="https://twitter.com/SomersetCCC/status/749593778307014656">July 3, 2016</a></blockquote>
Tbh Im more excited to see our bowling
England should import him.He is a genuine Amsterdam born dutch player with very good potential and not one of those shipped from South Africa or Australia.
Looked great in the game against the Irish in the WT20, albeit in a much shortened game.
This is how everyone should play in the modern era.Younis looking good. Scores surprisingly fast in Test cricket
Shan was dropped twice. He won't get these chances against England.
Your bowling is not good enough to dismiss our batting for 180.Be my guest. If you try to score 400 we will dismiss you for 180.
I can tell you know, this has been the formula for Tests in England for decades:
70 overs (420 balls) per day bowled by quick bowlers.
20 overs maximum (120 balls) per day of spin.
350 of the 420 quick balls on or outside off-stump on a full length, with 2-4 slips in place.
200 of those 350 balls outside off-stump.
150 of those 350 balls on off-stump.
30 bouncers
40 balls off quick bowlers which are the wrong line or length or both.
Where are the deliveries to score 400 runs? You need to leave the 200 balls outside off stump alone, so you have:
150 quick balls on off-stump.
40 misdirected balls.
30 bouncers
120 balls of spin.
I repeat, you can only get to 400 off 90 overs by trying to hit balls that you should be leaving.
England should import him.
I have watched the 90s cricket as well, but the thing is times have changed, this is not 90s anymore, decent teams have improved their run rates.Bacchon ne kabhi Test cricket dekhi nahi lagta hai.
Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk