South Indian Cinema and Songs

IgnitedMind

Mostly not known to north Indians and anybody else outside India ..due to Language barrier. But Tamil/Telugu and Malayalam Cinema produce movies with as much Quality as Bollywood and in terms of "Quality Cinema"..a serious case can be made and won some of the best movies in India come from South. Very Active Film industry with 100's crores of bussiness each year from each language. There are a few south Indian's here in PakPassion these days...so people can discuss their fav movies/upcoming movies or songs here. And north Indians and Pakistanis can hear songs and know some good movies from south and Watch it with Subtitles...

I have no idea where to start...since I am telugu..so I will just randomly post my fav Telugu songs :D

One of my Favorite Song of all time--A telugu song Starring Sridevi and Venkatesh..Directed by Ram Gopal Varma early in his career in 1991

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Y1LIS08BbV4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

A song from 2006 movie called Bommarillu starring Sidhartha(Rang De Basanti fame ) and Genelia D Souza

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/kPABFHMDuo0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And its a Blasphemy if you do not post Typical Mass Songs with colorfull dresses and dance....Dont blame me if you think its all noise :D

Alllu Arjun and Genelia D Souza ...and Manoj Bajpai at the beggining from a 2006 movie called "Happy"

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/mV48tbxGegM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

One of the most famous Telugu songs which became popular all over India....Salman used it in Ready in hindi

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/WLAY-mTjp-w" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I hope a few Tamilians/Malayalis/Kannada people contribute to this thread with their language films

Only thing to come out of South Indian Cinema that i like is ASIN :amir

AR Rahman
Sridevi
Mani Ratnam,
Priyadarshan,
Ram Gopal Varma,
Aishwarya Rai,
Deepika Padukone.
Asin as you said all are south Indians and started in South cinema way before they entered bollywood

Recently.. Kajal Agarawal, Genelia D Souza had a successfull career down south before they entered bollywood...both are north Indians though..

I hate Allu Arjun.

A few of my favorites. I'll add more as I remember them.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/bm3tOTOJGO0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/9bU4wI04PjA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZBQCaJ-OZjk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/syM_k0BfDls" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/nmfPzREeK0E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I hate Allu Arjun.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZBQCaJ-OZjk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Yeah, Not a fan either.Liked his recent movie "Vedam" though..

and Trisha :heart:...one of my fav actresses..Looks absolutely gorgeous in Traditional clothes...Some of her songs..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/cHdr3oezPLQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Awesomely picturized song..looks awesome in the below song...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/RX962y2lRF0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JT7AHQEcj58" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ZP3WUvP5uCg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/8z7htF6kXPk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

some more Trisha :heart: songs....Cannot believe she is been here since I was in 7th grade..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/HiiL4lfAS9g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/LcEfhMvb9a4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

And this is one of the best romantic/proposal scenes ever...beautifull!!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/c8ldp7Xsass" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

My fav tamil song ( 2011 )..

[utube]lzXIgnmL-X4[/utube]

Malayalam movie industry of the 90s was something else (errr... mainstream that is..;) )...I still watch them on youtube rather than any of the new ones.. the current ones are as crap as all the current Tamil and bollywood rubbish.

Btw, Did any of your hear about the greatest phenomenon to sweep the Mallu movie industry since Shakeela ? ... Santhosh Pandit :)).. he made a movie with a budget of Rs.500,000 where he did everything except handling the camera (lead actor,song composition, lyrics, choreography,stunt,script,direction,producer) . Put all the songs up on youtube before movie release.. took tremendous abuse everywhere(TV channels,youtube comments)...and then rode the negative publicity wave with the movie running housefull in theatres for about 5-8 weeks I think.

these are scenes from the actual movie that went to the theatres
[utube]xY22FpH7UjM[/utube]

Jury is still out on whether he was extremely shrewd or just mentally disturbed.

My fav tamil song ( 2011 )..

[utube]lzXIgnmL-X4[/utube]

Loved the movie tooo.....Did you see the teaser of Ajith's upcoming movie Billa 2....looks great!!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2oCp6GL7Q-Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Loved the movie tooo.....Did you see the teaser of Ajith's upcoming movie Billa 2....looks great!!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2oCp6GL7Q-Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

trailer looks good , and listened to one leaked song it is also good..

usually all hit telugu songs will be reused in tamil without any changes ( and viceversa is also true i guess :D )..

liked Ringa Ringa song even b4 when it was used in salmans movie..
i like all Arya songs and my pick is,

[utube]viceversa[/utube]

usually all hit telugu songs will be reused in tamil without any changes ( and viceversa is also true i guess :D )..

liked Ringa Ringa song even b4 when it was used in salmans movie..
i like all Arya songs and my pick is,
Yeah, Many Tamil songs are used in Telugu too....usually when the same music director is doing it...he will use a few of his previous works in other languages...

Aarya songs are great....like the first movie than the second

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NufZNIGLwu0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/acH1zWtNX4s" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Pakistan has no links with South India neither they can enjoy South Indian movies for many reasons. it is like asking a telgo golti to enjoy pushto music. they only heard about "malwari" "madrasi" and lot stereotyping if I guess correctly. :)

Music has no barriers.
I quite enjoy finnish and sweedish bands even though most of the songs wont be in english :afridi

Not sure if this counts as part of South Indian cinema, but I like this song (don't understand it, but melodious. And it's an old song)

[utube]qhdhe2s3KYQ[/utube]

well i love to watch good movies irrespective of language if available with subtittles. good movies not rajnikanth type. somebody recommended me cyanide but unfortunately didn't find it with subtitles.

Not sure if this counts as part of South Indian cinema, but I like this song (don't understand it, but melodious. And it's an old song)

[utube]qhdhe2s3KYQ[/utube]

its A Tamil Song. You know what, the guy in the Video..MGR was chief minister of Tamil Nadu in Late 70's and 80's. The Lady in the video, JayaLalitha is the present chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. :D

Haha, thanks. Surprisingly, I did know that.

I actually like reading the captions in English, because they don't really make sense.

Tiny hip girl! Go slowly!

A flower creeper that ties cradle and parrot which wants to hug!

My Favorite song right now is this from an upcoming movie called eega(Housefly)...Waiting only for the love track between Nani and Samantha :heart: after I saw this teaser. Movie is for kids..Its a housefly's Revenge :D

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aCLdOkk4zsY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Complete audio song : http://youtu.be/62msAuX1Wfw

theatrical trailer : http://youtu.be/EbLR3qWdc6I

Nani and Samantha are acting in a complete romantic movie though..Gowtham Menon's...Teaser was out a while ago....so looking forward..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/mE3kRnmYmF0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Thanks for the uploads navroks chinna,velu thambi and chaiwala(thammudu coffee ishtam ledha?)

I have a special connection with telugu films. Spent a year in Hyderabad, and learnt lot of telugu from movies. Even though i could speak telugu earlier, perfected the language after seeing the movies. Just love Brahmanandam's acting.

Thanks for the uploads navroks chinna,velu thambi and chaiwala(thammudu coffee ishtam ledha?)

I have a special connection with telugu films. Spent a year in Hyderabad, and learnt lot of telugu from movies. Even though i could speak telugu earlier, perfected the language after seeing the movies. Just love Brahmanandam's acting.

haha...Chinna entroi :D...Legend Brahmanandam...He does not need to do anything to make people smile...!!!!

telgu movies are dubbed to hindi in largescale and relayed in hindi channels like set max,utv etc. same with tamil movies. in youtube, you can find many such movies.

Few malayalam hit songs which is popular across all the southern states,

[utube]aJXI1zDdZvM[/utube]

[utube]isMoQeddqeI[/utube]

My fav kannada song is Hodi Maga , but couldnt get the videos.

Anyway still malayalam and kannada are the minnows of south indian filim industry :nasser

Few years back Lux papa was quite popular. Ballaya :bow:

[utube]0upNdLJbjOc[/utube]

Here are two Kannada songs which will be remembered:

ilyaraja's "Naguva Nayana"(idea cell ad 98..334... song?)

[utube]IeqFuk-ZuU[/utube]

Jotheyalli with shankar nag:
[utube]aJDEHrY94tM[/utube]

for tamilians the same song in tamil: "vizhiyile".. kannada language is awesome for this song. Jotheyalli is 100 times better music.
[utube]7lhayjDyDGc[/utube]

Malayalam song the Malabari for middle easterners:
konji karayalle:
[utube]fpaBdS1--1I[/utube]

Onapoove Omalpoove:
[utube]1ZqNibE638E[/utube]

addition of hindi/urdu songs once in a while is seen in Malayalam films.
A Hindi Song from Malayalam movie Keerthichakra:
Khuda se Mannat hai meri(kailash kher):
[utube]4HF5qaW7Ujg[/utube]

udit narayan-shankar mahadevan "yeh dosti hum nahin .." from four friends(movie):
[utube]PW_Tg8BrmmA[/utube]
|
|
|
Manasantha Nuvve "Cheppave Prema" song..which is awesome:
[utube]jDUumRmbMLE[/utube]

Anyway still malayalam and kannada are the minnows of south indian filim industry :nasser
good no of hit films in tamil/hindi are the remakes of malayalam movies:))).

In terms of Quality movies..Malayalam was great in 80's and 90's..better than any language in India..and then its been on a downward spiral since

now the quality has come down.But still handful of movies are grabbing national film awards

Pregnant Mohan lal:)) and his commercial films played a big part in the decline of malayalam movies.

Spot on Our whole malayalam movie industry revolves around Pregnant Lt.Col Mohan lal this guys is killing the industry

It just sucks the whole Mal Industry now.. just a few good movies in an year and that too the respone for them movies are AVG...

ps; Last year we had few good movies like Salt n Pepper,Trafiic,Indian rupee and City of god..

I don't understand any of the 4 south indian language.

But whatever I have seen till now nothing can beat this. After more than a decade its still my favorite. Even my daughter likes it now. :)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rIwuDzToLcg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The other one very close is

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JsTTgIPCS7c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Any of you south Indian PPers have the full video of this song ? I have searched a lot on youtube but couldn't find the full video.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/eUaoU3LcaWw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I don't understand any of the 4 south indian language.

But whatever I have seen till now nothing can beat this. After more than a decade its still my favorite. Even my daughter likes it now. :)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rIwuDzToLcg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The other one very close is

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JsTTgIPCS7c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The Legend that is Prabhu Deva....

and I danced for that 2nd song... Appadi Podu in school :D...was a rage in all the states those days....still is one of the most popular songs...

Some Prabhu Deva Songs..

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7Nht4lMHka0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/aeRXvjUNUcQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Ckcg5690Ao8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

My favourite Telugu film song sonali:heart:[utube]4GiXtMETHmg[/utube]

I had to watch this on recommendation from a friend. Needless to say I was weirded out..
[utube]cOYGITKbINo[/utube]

I had to watch this on recommendation from a friend. Needless to say I was weirded out..
[utube]cOYGITKbINo[/utube]

That's actually a North Indian film. It was an interesting movie, but failed established itself as a satire (which it claimed to be).

I see, wrong thread, my bad. The only famous South Indian personalities I know are Mithun Chakraborty and Aishwarya Rai (for obvious reasons) - coming from someone who hardly watches any Bollywood/Lollywood/South Indian cinema

My favourite Telugu film song sonali:heart:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4GiXtMETHmg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hilarious song:))
Tamil brothers please translate this song
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/AWG0YP7-HwY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

.Deleted, Posting using Google Chrome results in double post don't know why.

my favorite tamil film scene,excellent lyrics music and Arvind swamy played his part very well
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/SSeMrRIE8h0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

@Ambi

Manirathnam movies are always ambitious and classy.

GREAT SONG
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FB_mHPsm6Bk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

REMIX
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/H16RSzRKYes" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bommarillu is my favorite movie......Awesome movie

True...movie from which a lot of Non-Telugu people, especially north Indians started watching Telugu movies with subtitles. Genelia, Sidharth being little known in north helped at that time....

I suggest even Pakistanis can watch the movie with subtitles if they want to.

I haven't really watched a lot of south indian movies or indian for that matter but one south indian movie I loved was 'Heyram'. That's historical literacy and cinematic artistry at it's best IMO.

Its a flop actually.

Mungaru Male is a Kannada Movie, I watched which is good. I can understand Kannada,Telgo albeit a bit confusing at times.

Mahesh Babu got the scope of getting a good no. of fans if He enters Bollywood.

Mungaru Male is a Kannada Movie, I watched which is good. I can understand Kannada,Telgo albeit a bit confusing at times.

Mahesh Babu got the scope of getting a good no. of fans if He enters Bollywood.

Mungaru Male always reminds me of my days in Bangalore.

Kannada film industry is so lagging behind compared to other south Indian counterparts. After Dr. Rajkumar, they didn't have any decent actor.

I think they should not move to Bollywood, it only dilutes their appeal. Glad that Rajni and Kamal Hasan didnt stick to Bollywood. They have their created their own space, and should stick to it.

I see, wrong thread, my bad. The only famous South Indian personalities I know are Mithun Chakraborty and Aishwarya Rai (for obvious reasons) - coming from someone who hardly watches any Bollywood/Lollywood/South Indian cinema

Lol, how on earth is Mithun a south Indian. He is a bengali from Kolkata

I have been hooked to this song - very catchy tune :) This is from Tamil's dub of 3 idiots movie -Nanban

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/es9oioVJxDg?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/es9oioVJxDg?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

^^^^

Ileana D Cruz :heart: :heart: ...Looking forward to her Hindi Debut movie in Ranbir Kapoor's Barfee

Is the movie worth a watch after watching 3 Idiots? Had a chance to watch it in theatre here, skipped it only coz I have seen 3 idiots like a million times :D

^^^^

Ileana D Cruz :heart: :heart: ...Looking forward to her Hindi Debut movie in Ranbir Kapoor's Barfee

Is the movie worth a watch after watching 3 Idiots? Had a chance to watch it in theatre here, skipped it only coz I have seen 3 idiots like a million times :D

The move has gotten a lot of positive reviews and Ileana D Cruz looks fabulous:D You'd get money's worth. You understand/speak Tamil ?

I am a telugu, but I can understand Tamil well and speak a little bit.Like if I watch a tamil movie with out subtitles, I can understand 70% of it..but I with prefer to watch it subs since I do not like the feeling that I have probably missed something. But I am getting better :D...

I watched Mayakam Enna yesterday...liked it. !!!

I am a telugu, but I can understand Tamil well and speak a little bit.Like if I watch a tamil movie with out subtitles, I can understand 70% of it..but I with prefer to watch it subs since I do not like the feeling that I have probably missed something. But I am getting better :D...

I watched Mayakam Enna yesterday...liked it. !!!

Mayakam Enna, I didn't watch the movie but I quite liked the songs. How was Dhanush's acting ? Richa looks very pretty too(Who cares about heroine's acting, eh ? :D)

One of my favorite Tamil songs and Surya's acting rocks!!
<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/55GEOqpkaJg?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/55GEOqpkaJg?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

One of my favourites in Tamil songs. I like most of Ilayaraja songs.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/dTjlA5-RtTs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Was actually very suprised with Richa, she acted very well. ....you should watch the movie...it is good. Much better than "3" (which was decent too). Dhanush was great as usual...Ever since "Adhukulam" I have a special liking for him..great actor!!!!!!

And Speaking of Adhukulam...WHAT A SONG!!!!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2qKfQg5_9iw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I grew up in Bangalore This is one of my all time favorite Kannada song when I was a kid. I sang this song in one of the social events and got II prize :D

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4X7FT2F6NYQ?version=3&feature=player_detailpage"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4X7FT2F6NYQ?version=3&feature=player_detailpage" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></object>

Was actually very suprised with Richa, she acted very well. ....you should watch the movie...it is good. Much better than "3" (which was decent too). Dhanush was great as usual...Ever since "Adhukulam" I have a special liking for him..great actor!!!!!!

And Speaking of Adhukulam...WHAT A SONG!!!!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2qKfQg5_9iw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Reddy garu movie name is Aadukalam:)
another song from that movie
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/vYdy_bsva78" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^^ Yeah...Aadukalam...

And thats a brilliant song as well....Dhanush really deserved national award for the movie...Tapsee Pannu :heart: was great too :D

Malayalam,Kannada(Tulu,Konkani) are different from mainstream "Anna" films churned out by Tamil and Telgu movie industries. they are not "Enna da rascala" Rajnikanth/Nagarjuna type movies and are more real life.

Here is another gem from 1980s from Kannada *ing Anand Nag sung by SPB
"Kanasallu Neenu Manasallu Neene"
This song was shamelessly copied by Bollywood movie "Deewana" of 1990 or so with the famous song "Aisi Deewanagi Dekhi Nahin Kabhi"
[utube]y1ntRcP_et4[/utube]

A Punjabi Song from Malayalam movie "Mallu Singh"(2012). I hope Pakistani friends will like this song. "Rabb Rabb ...tera rabb mera rabb." :D
[utube]LqYQxxS3I0w[/utube]

at least one hindi song comes in many malayalam movies:
haath lele saath lele song sounds straight from end 90s:
[utube]ZrhK-qdmaIs[/utube]

DSP rocks :bow:

one of my fav telugu song got reused in hindi :)
original is still better than the hindi version

[utube]K1oVX7_yIuc[/utube]

[utube]LM1-9L607F8[/utube]

I know the South has many good actors, but i have a question:

Why are so many South Cinemas full of people doing exageratted expressions, cheesy dialogues/dancing, wobbling heads while smiling, and overall seems cheesier and weirder than mainstream Bollywood movies. Even the latter get very cheesy, but Tamil stuff just feels cheesier