"Spin of the coin cannot decide who gets a very significant advantage"- Sanjay Manjrekar

I didn't know the game was only played by batters. Bowlers are their for moral support.

This is the greatest point made by any of the posters. In the india v pak game, India were in course for 220. Had they made 200+ they would have won. But the Pakistan bowlers pulled it back to 181.

Give some credit to the team’s bowlers that win it.

What I don’t understand is - the people crying about it (if it indeed is an advantage), what is your proposed solution in a tournament? This is not like 5/6 match bilateral series where you can alternate.

In a tournament, you have way too many permutations and combinations for an alternation of toss to work.

What exactly do you all want? I’m sorry, someone has to bat first - that’s cricket, live with it!

Needs no solution because there is no issue. It's Indians crying about it because they are now out and have nothing to look forward to in this cup lol.

Last WC, there was dew this time it's pure paranoia.

These guys are pretending as if cricket started last year in Dubai. It used to be our home, we have defended middling totals here without much fuss.

What’s hilarious is that no Pakistani fan made such a fuss about the toss when we got chucked out of the T20WC semis by Australia. Everyone here introspected about the issues with the batting template, where we could have scored 190+ but fell short by a few runs.

Indian fans just cannot catch a break and refuse to accept their team just wasn’t good enough aswell on the day. When you are 62/0 in 6 overs, it is criminal for your famed batting line-up to end up at 181 on a great batting pitch!

Lmao you are still at it. Compared to whom were they the "weakest"? As I said before I'm only going to drag you further down on this matter how many times you run away from this topic..:)))

I'll repeat again. 19 games between the top sides and 18 won by teams winning the toss and batting second. That's close to 95% winning probability if you are chasing. You can dig your head in the sand all you want.. but those are true facts. And lol at only indians complaining. You guys used the same "excuse" when you lost to India in the first game and the semifinal against Australia last year. :91:

Why do you come up with dumb questions after dumb questions and then act like some kind of expert here lol? :91:

You and some others are acting like sore losers here and surely hiding behind the 'toss' excuse. The guy who has a history of making OTT statements, getting a chittar on his face everytime and then running away from forums should be the last one to accuse others of same. Start watching real cricket. Pyjama cricket has made you and others too soft. You can't even take cricitism of your favorite players and act like some intolerant kids here. :inti

There is no batting lineup in the world that can undo the toss advantage in Dubai against a decent bowling attack. None.

You are giving a bad name to real indian cricket fans here. We are not sore losers. You could have said India missed Bumrah or had the weakest bowling line up etc but you are blaming it on toss lol. It shows you didn't even watch the matches. You are trolling here just for the sake of it and trying to take credit away from Pakistan and Sri Lanka. May be your ego got hurt because even Indian senior team struggled to beat Pakistan and Sri Lanka let alone any random IPL team. :91: :inti

Needs no solution because there is no issue. It's Indians crying about it because they are now out and have nothing to look forward to in this cup lol.

Last WC, there was dew this time it's pure paranoia.

These guys are pretending as if cricket started last year in Dubai. It used to be our home, we have defended middling totals here without much fuss.

They are acting as if this toss thing was implemented for the first time in international cricket. May be they are new to international cricket or do it differently in Pyjama Leagues? These same guys were jumping up and down when India beat Pakistan in the first match of Asia Cup. None of them said that we won because of toss at that time lol.

You can debate around strengths of teams, available players or players missing from those marches but blaming it on something which is not on our hand is immature. :inti

What’s hilarious is that no Pakistani fan made such a fuss about the toss when we got chucked out of the T20WC semis by Australia. Everyone here introspected about the issues with the batting template, where we could have scored 190+ but fell short by a few runs.

Indian fans just cannot catch a break and refuse to accept their team just wasn’t good enough aswell on the day. When you are 62/0 in 6 overs, it is criminal for your famed batting line-up to end up at 181 on a great batting pitch!

There is also no explanation for not taking even a single wicket defeding 151 runs on the board. Pakistan on the other hand managed to take 5 wickets and almost won the match defending 148 something. They brought this toss excuse only after losing against Pakistan. That is a sign of a sore loser. :inti

Lol exactly.

Toss was hardly even mentioned here post that Australia or even the 1st india game which we lost.

Indians otoh are like toss this toss that. Someone came up with "we scored 173 and 181 what more are we supposed to do" 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Lol exactly.

Toss was hardly even mentioned here post that Australia or even the 1st india game which we lost.

Indians otoh are like toss this toss that. Someone came up with "we scored 173 and 181 what more are we supposed to do" 🤣🤣🤣🤣
We lost after scoring 176 in a World Cup semi-final, yet there were threads here (and rightly so) for the top-order leaving too much to do for the middle/lower-order to cover.

Score 190+, you have a very good chance in Dubai. If your batting line-up is not good enough to do that, stop crying.

We lost after scoring 176 in a World Cup semi-final, yet there were threads here (and rightly so) for the top-order leaving too much to do for the middle/lower-order to cover.

Score 190+, you have a very good chance in Dubai. If your batting line-up is not good enough to do that, stop crying.

Thing is some overhyped Indian batsmen didn't live upto their fans expectations. Even after Rohit and KL gave a good start against Pakistan guys like Sky, Pandya and Pant did nothing extra ordinary. There were no Jadeja/Dhoni in the team otherwise these pyjama league lovers have blamed them instead of toss. :inti

Some great points made here. I mean seriously, if a team does feel that the toss is important, do something about it! Have better plans with your bowling, plan better when you’re setting a score. What are the bowlers in the team for? Just to act like bowling machines?

And remember - the conditions are pretty much the same because these are just t20s. This is not a 50 over game where one team bats in daylight and the other bats under lights!

It is not a small sample size though.

Toss was a massive factor in the World T20 2021 as well. Pretty all matches were won by teams chasing.

Dubai/UAE seems to be an impossible place to defend these ways.

Not really. There has been significantly less due, and the matches have been close.

Not much of an advantage if matches are going to the last ball. Yes, I agree when we beat India last year, we had a massive due advantage.

Thing is some overhyped Indian batsmen didn't live upto their fans expectations. Even after Rohit and KL gave a good start against Pakistan guys like Sky, Pandya and Pant did nothing extra ordinary. There were no Jadeja/Dhoni in the team otherwise these pyjama league lovers have blamed them instead of toss. :inti

India scored 181, 192, 173 and 212 in 4 matches they batted first. Not sure why would you say Indian batsmen didn't live upto the expectation when avg 1st innings scores in Dubai is 165.

Pakistan batted first twice and only manage to score 148 & 121. Thats why in net run rate India is still ahead of them in group stage. The only reason Pak and SL are in the finals bcoz toss luck went with them. Infact, had Farooqi didnt bowl those 2 juicy full tosses to a no.10 batsman, it would be Ind-SL final today considering Pak lost against SL on friday and India got better RR.

Why are we all pretending what Manjrekar said is incorrect when everyone knows it is a fact batting second is massive advantage here. There is a reason 19 games out of 20 have been won by teams batting 2nd (excluding matches involving minnows). Also, there is a reason no captain that wins the toss here opts to bat first.

The toss is a reality of cricket. And yes it should offer an advantage. That’s the whole point of having the toss. But what it shouldn’t do is effectively decide the result of the game in 8 or 9 out of every 10 realistic scenarios before a ball has been bowled. I’ve seen this before (occasionally) in all forms of cricket — probably most often in T20s.

India scored 181, 192, 173 and 212 in 4 matches they batted first. Not sure why would you say Indian batsmen didn't live upto the expectation when avg 1st innings scores in Dubai is 165.

Pakistan batted first twice and only manage to score 148 & 121. Thats why in net run rate India is still ahead of them in group stage. The only reason Pak and SL are in the finals bcoz toss luck went with them. Infact, had Farooqi didnt bowl those 2 juicy full tosses to a no.10 batsman, it would be Ind-SL final today considering Pak lost against SL on friday and India got better RR.

Why are we all pretending what Manjrekar said is incorrect when everyone knows it is a fact batting second is massive advantage here. There is a reason 19 games out of 20 have been won by teams batting 2nd (excluding matches involving minnows). Also, there is a reason no captain that wins the toss here opts to bat first.

Take out 192(hk) and that farcical dead rubber.

You made 173 and 181. These are decent scores and could've been defended with better bowling and fielding.
If you think your bowling of bhuvi, Avesh, Arshdeep, Chahal etc is a world beating unit then you are in complete delusion.

Take out 192(hk) and that farcical dead rubber.

You made 173 and 181. These are decent scores and could've been defended with better bowling and fielding.
If you think your bowling of bhuvi, Avesh, Arshdeep, Chahal etc is a world beating unit then you are in complete delusion.

Not sure why are you only looking at India here. 19 out of 20 games played between top teams have won by teams batting second here. Pakistan also couldn't defend 176 in WT20 semi-final last year with their 'world beating' bowling line up.

If you think batting first or second doesn't matter here, would Babar opt to bat first today if he wins the toss? Normally in a big final teams look to bat first and post totals in score board. But I am sure he would opt to chase today in a heartbeat.

But somehow, we need to pretend here that toss does not matter and only Indians crying about it. :ma

Not sure why are you only looking at India here. 19 out of 20 games played between top teams have won by teams batting second here. Pakistan also couldn't defend 176 in WT20 semi-final last year with their 'world beating' bowling line up.

If you think batting first or second doesn't matter here, would Babar opt to bat first today if he wins the toss? Normally in a big final teams look to bat first and post totals in score board. But I am sure he would opt to chase today in a heartbeat.

But somehow, we need to pretend here that toss does not matter and only Indians crying about it. :ma

Last WC had dew, this time it's nothing but psychological.

Dubai has been our home, we have defended 160 odd scores here for fun. As if cricket started last year in dubai.

It's a fact only Indians are crying about it though.

The answer lies in your own post lol. India scored 181 and 173 but still lost the match because of poor bowling. Indian batsmen especially Sky, Pant and Pandya didn't live upto expectations. India needed a total in excess of 200 to defend successfully against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are in the finals because they bowled and fielded slightly better than India. Learn to accept defeat graciously. No need to act like a sore loser and give a bad name to other fans. And since when people started taking Sanju Manju seriously? Not too long ago fans used to call him a puppet of BCCI. :inti

Dubai has been our home, we have defended 160 odd scores here for fun. As if cricket started last year in dubai.

It is not psychological. T20 games in Dubai starts when sun starts going down and batting is tough initially due to weather conditions. From around 15th over in 1st innings when sun is completely set and lights take full effect, ball comes better to the bat. We have seen this in Asia cup 2018, in IPL, in WT20 and now in this Asia cup.

India has 7 Asia cups...so they have no reason to cry. But they are simply highlighting an obvious issue here.

Didn't BCCI organise IPL in UAE? Why did they choose UAE then and how many fans complained at that time? As I said earlier, angoor khatte hai. :ab :inti

The answer lies in your own post lol. India scored 181 and 173 but still lost the match because of poor bowling. Indian batsmen especially Sky, Pant and Pandya didn't live upto expectations. India needed a total in excess of 200 to defend successfully against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are in the finals because they bowled and fielded slightly better than India. Learn to accept defeat graciously. No need to act like a sore loser and give a bad name to other fans. And since when people started taking Sanju Manju seriously? Not too long ago fans used to call him a puppet of BCCI. :inti

Avg 1st innings total in Dubai is 165...why would we need excess of 200 here to defend a target?

India batted brilliantly this tournament and only reason they are out due to toss luck

:inti

Ifs & buts and lame excuses from you as usual. In humouring you, consider had Pak lost against India, then I'm sure Pak would have tried against SL instead of treating it as a bounce game.

As others have said, accept defeat and stop talking nonsense if you're not man enough to take it graciously and move on.

Didn't BCCI organise IPL in UAE? Why did they choose UAE then and how many fans complained at that time? As I said earlier, angoor khatte hai. :ab :inti

All IPL games has been won by team batting first. Only last IPL final was won by CSK batting first and that too due to MSD factor who is master of defending targets :msd

Why do we even need to make these excuses?

We have won Asia cup 7 times, we are the ultimate champions of this tournament .

Ek do baar gareebon ko bhi jeetne do yaar.

There's no glory in winning asia cup for the 8th time.

The real test is the world cup in aus,

Ifs & buts and lame excuses from you as usual. In humouring you, consider had Pak lost against India, then I'm sure Pak would have tried against SL instead of treating it as a bounce game.

As others have said, accept defeat and stop talking nonsense if you're not man enough to take it graciously and move on.

Would Babar opt to bat 1st today if I am giving excuse? Be genuine for once at least

Everyone unanimously agrees that I am an impartial poster and with my judgement one thing I would say though, Pakistan has got the best bowling line up for these conditions. If any team can defend target here, it is Pakistan.

It is not psychological. T20 games in Dubai starts when sun starts going down and batting is tough initially due to weather conditions. From around 15th over in 1st innings when sun is completely set and lights take full effect, ball comes better to the bat. We have seen this in Asia cup 2018, in IPL, in WT20 and now in this Asia cup.

India has 7 Asia cups...so they have no reason to cry. But they are simply highlighting an obvious issue here.

Lool this is the funniest post yet.

Noice explanation. When sun is go down star is come out batting become easy :yk

Sanjay Manjrekar has pointed out that the toss has played an important role in deciding the results of the Asia Cup 2022 matches.

The final of the Asia Cup 2022 will take place between Pakistan and Sri Lanka on Sunday in Dubai, and ahead of the same, both of them will face each other in the last Super 4 game of the tournament in Dubai.

Both Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won both of their games in the Super 4, and they are certainly the deserving teams to play the final of the tournament. However, this fact cannot be ignored that both of them have been lucky with the toss as well. Both teams won their toss in both games and won the games by chasing.

Sanjay Manjrekar calls to negate the importance of toss
Former Indian cricketer and commentator Sanjay Manjrekar has criticized the unfair importance of tosses in the Asia Cup 2022. He pointed out that the teams who were unlucky with the toss missed the finals of the tournament. India lost all three tosses in the Super 4, whereas Afghanistan lost two of them. Both of them missed a place in the finals.

Manjrekar pointed out that a spin of a coin should not decide the results of the games and insisted that T20 cricket needs to explore a fairer method to decide the winner of the game.

“Fact that cannot be ignored in this Asia cup – Teams that lost most tosses in super 4s are not in the finals. India lost all 3. Afghanistan 2. Hence spin of the coin cannot decide who gets a very significant advantage. T20 Cricket needs to explore a fairer method,” Sanjay Manjrekar tweeted.

It has been seen that the chasing teams have done relatively well in UAE, be it Dubai or Sharjah. The tracks have become really easier for batting in the 2nd innings, and it has to be said that the tosses have played a big part in the Asia Cup 2022 results this season.

https://thesportsrush.com/cricket-n...0-matches-after-recent-asia-cup-2022-results/

This imbecile is burnt to the core after Pak victory over Afghanis. It was quite evident from his commentary in the final few overs.

And now he is subtly displaying his deeply rooted heinousness by telling us that Pak won the match because of the toss.

No sir, spin of the coin does not decide the match result, skill and performance does.

If it was toss that decided the result then there wouldn’t be a need to play game. Manjeekar needs to use some common sense.

These guys seriously think India fans would cry for an Asia cup lmao. We won in 2016 , 2018 and people forgot about it the next day as it was some random bilateral against WI. :91:

Probably it's a bigger deal for fans whose team has won lesser Asia cup titles than Jadeja i dunno . Just a simple fact that you have 95% chance of winning in Dubai if you win the toss says everything you need to know but our insecure brothers don't want any of the credit to be taken away. :angel:

Lool this is the funniest post yet.

Noice explanation. When sun is go down star is come out batting become easy :yk

Funny for you maybe but for us who understands this game well, knows how it goes.

Batting gets easier under lights in Dubai....I would have thought you know this already considering you are in a cricket forum for so long. Surprising indeed.

Let me give you couple of other examples. In Wankhede stadium Mumbai, seam bowlers get unexpected swing during dusk when sun starts going down but once the light is in full effect, batting gets easier.

Wanderers in J'burg has the same trait.

These guys seriously think India fans would cry for an Asia cup lmao. We won in 2016 , 2018 and people forgot about it the next day as it was some random bilateral against WI. :91:

Probably it's a bigger deal for fans whose team has won lesser Asia cup titles than Jadeja i dunno . Just a simple fact that you have 95% chance of winning in Dubai if you win the toss says everything you need to know but our insecure brothers don't want any of the credit to be taken away. :angel:

I agree somewhat. Nobody in India talks about the 2 champions trophy wins for India either. I doubt anyone even remembers them except hard-core cricket fans .

I called Asia Cup a redundant tournament even when we won it the last 2 times . Not because the cricket is bad but it serves no real purpose for India. But I'll be called out for being salty and for exhibiting sour grapes syndrome by certain ppers and by resident Uncle Tom :inti

And irony died a million deaths when guys who have a history of using cringelord excuses like "Warner and Smith weren't there", Australia was at their weakest", "Sachin was LBW but BCCI altered the drs", "India got lucky with Misbah's scoop shot", "Sri Lanka fixed the 2011 final" and a thousands of others... are now lecturing on a valid fact. :)))

To win batting first here , you need to have a very strong bowling/fielding unit. If the teams are evenly matched team chasing will have the advantage. India had a very weak bowling attack. They were a bowler short. And also couple of them were rookies. Also India's fielding hit the rock bottom. The cutters/slower ones were very effective while bowling first. Srilanka's gung ho approach failed spectacularly when they batted first. But when they batted second each of them could produce good cameos. You can win batting first. But your bowling/fielding have to be really really good. If you ask me Bangladesh bowilng was very good. They are very much used to pitches like this. Their terrible fielding let them down.

I thought Indians didn't care about a small tournament like the Asia Cup.

Yet, it looks like some Indians and some of their Pakistani cheerleaders here are crying after getting kicked out of this small tournament.

I agree with Sanjay. I am sure if the result is in India's favour then the spin of the coin is the only way to go!:hasan. Like Veeru and Jai in "Sholay" Sanjay probably has a coin that is same on both sides:virat1

Avg 1st innings total in Dubai is 165...why would we need excess of 200 here to defend a target?

India batted brilliantly this tournament and only reason they are out due to toss luck

:inti
Again the answer lies in your own post. Average first inning total is 165 and not too long ago this place was the home of Pakistan. As few posters have already mentioned here Pakistan have defended targets of 160 something in UAE before. Indian batsmen may have batted brilliantly for you but for Indian bowlers they didn't. It was a failure to adjust to these conditions by our bowlers. Kindly don't blame the toss like a sore loser. :inti

I agree somewhat. Nobody in India talks about the 2 champions trophy wins for India either. I doubt anyone even remembers them except hard-core cricket fans .

I called Asia Cup a redundant tournament even when we won it the last 2 times . Not because the cricket is bad but it serves no real purpose for India. But I'll be called out for being salty and for exhibiting sour grapes syndrome by certain ppers and by resident Uncle Tom :inti
It’ll be a while till India lifts any trophy with this mindset.

Pretty much everyone around you has won a trophy in the recent past, while India is busy setting new lows by getting dumped in the first rounds.

Posters are busy fighting that toss dosen't matter and meanwhile Babar won another toss and opted to bowl first. Normally in a big final in any other venue a captain would bat first considering chasing in a pressure game is difficult. And when you got a bowling attack like Pakistan has, you defend a target everytime.

Why pretend guys? Just accept chasing is easy in Dubai and toss plays a big factor. No one is blaming Pakistan here...so not sure why posters getting defensive

So if asia cup is soo unimportant, why bcci made sure the schduling favoured india? Why afghanistan had to play back to back games? If india doesnt care they could had surely played back to back and allowed afghanistan to be given rest?

Why were pak and india placed in same group? They last time around played in same group, surely there should had been a change now?

Why were both the pak vs india game schduled for both sundays?

Why was rohit sharma animated when he was losing. Why kohli celebrated his century after 2.5 years?

Why did india started attacking arshdeep if it wasnt an important tournament or match.

Why did alot of people tuned into the pak vs india match in asia cup?

Why were indian fans watching pak vs afg hoping afg would win and india would have a chance?

Why india media joined in the asif vs fareed fight?

If it wasnt important, why was the old dinesh karthik given a mtch. Why wasnt bishnoi given more matches to show his skill? Why was thenold ashwin part of the squad.

Why is that after losing the likes of sanju come up with toss played a big factor.

You lot pretend you dont care, yet you have excuses ready when you dont make it.

Why come up with excuses, why send your A grade players.

India did not get favourable results, thus, you have to run towards such reasoning that we dont care etc. The most noise that got created was due to india, whether it was kohlis hundred, or it was to winning and than losing to pakistan, or arshdeep being attacked. On social media there are people crying for shami.

But still if you want to pretend india doesnt care so be it than.

Sri lnka being host did not get to play a sunday match

Last 33 T20Is in UAE involving top 10 ranked teams.
Bowling first
W 27
L 6

filter down to Dubai stadium only
bowling first
W 15
L 1

does bowling first guarantee a win 100% ?? NO. Does it provide a very very significant advantage?? YES.
We can act blind either ways to drive our agendas.

So Pak has won the toss, let the initial crying begin. It's okay guys, we understand :yk

Will you say the same if SL sets a target of 150 or below? :inti

LOL thats what I am saying all along that batting first is tougher here and chasing is easy. Thats why all captain opts to chase here which otherwise in big finals most teams would bat first. I fully expect SL to folded below 150, just like they did against Afg in 1st game or Pakistan did against India when they batted first. Only India batted first 4 times in this tournament and posted 181, 173, 192 and 212 and yet they are out of the finals in a 5-team tournament. It just proves toss luck makes a massive difference here and only reason India is out

It seems as if Pakistan complained about this - the same people on India’s side (Pakistanis that is) would say Pakistan is making excuses.

Cant wait for people like Sanju to say that Pak is doing so well because of the toss and not because of the fact that Shadab and Naseem are playing today lol

Rohit and Kohli were being pathetic with their toss statement. Looks like as per them, they dont have belief in their own capabilities but on the spin of the toss. Lets stop playing cricket and only spin tosses, eh?

So Pak has won the toss, let the initial crying begin. It's okay guys, we understand :yk

Sore sore losers i must say. Was shocked to hear it from Kohli, while i understand Rohit but what an utter disgraceful statement to make.

Cant wait for people like Sanju to say that Pak is doing so well because of the toss and not because of the fact that Shadab and Naseem are playing today lol

Rohit and Kohli were being pathetic with their toss statement. Looks like as per them, they dont have belief in their own capabilities but on the spin of the toss. Lets stop playing cricket and only spin tosses, eh?

What did Kohli say? :inti

Sore sore losers i must say. Was shocked to hear it from Kohli, while i understand Rohit but what an utter disgraceful statement to make.

And we were very generous by letting India win one of the matches against us :yk they should be happy with that. We have big hearts.

[MENTION=149917]Marooned[/MENTION] - Are you watching the game? See how batting gets easier after 15th over in 1st innings and that is what I was talking about. It's a massive advantage for teams batting 2nd innings here

"Entitled brats" nice. Then what should be a team who is eating money generated from india be called?
If one thinks rationally, we can easily see that the organizers wanted to exploit the extra seating capacity of dubai stadium compared to rubbish sharjah stadium. But nah, we just want to drill our agenda.

Haha i don't think even BCCI has come up with a response that scheduling in Dubai happened due to extra seating but here are bcci apologists giving their reasons. Bhai ek baat bol, don't u see how our cricketers and board fool us all the time? Even for a moment let's assume that india got Dubai matches because of crowd then why the hell are indian cheerleaders complaining now about toss? Indian team doesn't want to play outside Dubai, they don't want to play day games and then they keep complaining that toss is deciding the match.

[MENTION=149917]Marooned[/MENTION] - Are you watching the game? See how batting gets easier after 15th over in 1st innings and that is what I was talking about. It's a massive advantage for teams batting 2nd innings here

Gets easier after the 10th over itself . Even today 2nd half of the innings, the ball really started coming on nicely.

Even in the last world t20 semis and final both PAK and NZ struggled in the first 10 overs and then pillaged around 110 runs of the next 10.

Batting second, Australia could attack from the get go.

Are you also watching the game? See how good bowling is rewarded with wickets. :inti

Toss definitely plays a factor in UAE and the statistics shows that too as someone mentioned that the team chasing down has won 16 out of 19 games.

However, T20 is also a very funny game. What you do on that day matters the most and the complexion of the game can change very quickly.

Hence, there is no formula that X team has big names and are favourites and must win irrespective of match situation, toss and conditions. They all play a role and your performance on that day plays the biggest role.

Toss definitely plays a factor in UAE and the statistics shows that too as someone mentioned that the team chasing down has won 16 out of 19 games.

However, T20 is also a very funny game. What you do on that day matters the most and the complexion of the game can change very quickly.

Hence, there is no formula that X team has big names and are favourites and must win irrespective of match situation, toss and conditions. They all play a role and your performance on that day plays the biggest role.

Long time no see. :murali Yeah T20 is a very funny game but it can hurt people also. :inti

It had to be the rubbish Pakistan team to buck the trend.

Congratulations to Babar for “winning the toss in the final” trophy. :klopp

Long time no see. :murali Yeah T20 is a very funny game but it can hurt people also. :inti

Brave men don't get hurt by T20 loss. They get hurt when a batsman from another country breaches their fortress by playing an absolute blunder in the most prestigious format of the cricket, aka, Test Cricket in the series decider. :inti

But you did and that is why you ran away that day. Anyway welcome back. :ab :inti

Posters are busy fighting that toss dosen't matter and meanwhile Babar won another toss and opted to bowl first. Normally in a big final in any other venue a captain would bat first considering chasing in a pressure game is difficult. And when you got a bowling attack like Pakistan has, you defend a target everytime.

Why pretend guys? Just accept chasing is easy in Dubai and toss plays a big factor. No one is blaming Pakistan here...so not sure why posters getting defensive

When was the last time in a T20 final, a captain decided to bat first? Let me jog your memory - 2012. "Normally", no one bats first in important matches anymore, not since last 10 years!

This was a funny thread. Sri Lanka showed that toss had nothing to do with how they played in this Asia Cup. Deserving winners of Asia Cup. BCCI is spending millions in wrong department it seems. :inti

Sanjay Manjrekar being his usual self. While it wouldn't be wrong to state that the teams batting second in Dubai have an edge over their opponents, the difference is not significant enough to warrant such statements.

Quality teams always find a way to overcome such situation, and on this particular occasion, India came short simply due to their below par bowling line up.

Anyone who follows Pakistan's matches, might have noticed that they did defeat Australia and New Zealand 6-0 in T20 in 2018, despite batting first and putting up a middling score. The last WC 2021 may therefore be classified as an aberration.

well sri lanka won after losing the toss. Point being, if you are good enough you can win in any situation

unlike india

This was a funny thread. Sri Lanka showed that toss had nothing to do with how they played in this Asia Cup. Deserving winners of Asia Cup. BCCI is spending millions in wrong department it seems. :inti

Srilanka defended a reasonable total brilliantly...so many congratulations to them for winning the title 6th time

Last 33 T20Is in UAE involving top 10 ranked teams.
Bowling first
W 27
L 6

filter down to Dubai stadium only
bowling first
W 15
L 1

does bowling first guarantee a win 100% ?? NO. Does it provide a very very significant advantage?? YES.
We can act blind either ways to drive our agendas.

dubai now
Bowlilng first
W 15
L 2

good stuff from SL.

Since SL has won the Asia cup, expecting some unrelated whining posts on IPL. as is the norm from few members here.

Srilanka defended a reasonable total brilliantly...so many congratulations to them for winning the title 6th time

India too would've been won those match had they fielded well.. that's the main difference here, toss is irrelevant in this tournament.. most of the time best fielding team win the match in this tournament; and today also same...

Bhaag Viru Bhaag has become defensive now.

This is BVB currently:-

1461383990the-wire-sad-heart-gif.jpg

dawson-creek-cry.gif

matthew-perry-chandler.gif

:wahab2

Difficult times for my little brother starts now, hopefully he remains calm and doesn't losses his temper and start posting nonsense as a result :kp :inti

For what lol? For getting proved right once again? I am always here, I don't run away from active discussions like you did few days ago. That was quite embarrassing for you and you only came back today when Pakistan was on the verge of losing this match. At least I can post even when I am traveling. :rabada2

I can see the frustration in your posts now. :inti

For what lol? For getting proved right once again? I am always here, I don't run away from active discussions like you did few days ago. That was quite embarrassing for you and you only came back today when Pakistan was on the verge of losing this match. At least I can post even when I am traveling. :rabada2

I can see the frustration in your posts now. :inti

Haha, this is hillarious. Looks like I hit a nerve. Nevertheless, since I am your elder brother, it is my responsibility to take your care so I will leave you alone to relax and live with this dark time alone so that you don't feel ashamed of crying. :kp :inti

Yeah it is pretty clear whose nerve got hit and who was taking rest for the last couple of days. Ja chote araam kar, tere bas ki nahi. :91: :inti

Lool atleast those stupid toss excuse merchants got their answer now.

In the last 2 years, only teams against whom totals were defended were - Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Scotland and Pakistan.

Just because Pakistan cannot chase it doesn't mean there's no advantage.

Also, I thought Pakistan could easily defend 175?

How come they conceded 170 bowling first ? Was this a good batting track too? :)