Starting to lose interest in Pakistan cricket

IAJ

I started following Pakistan cricket in 1992, and after that only watched the 1996 and 1999 WCs before following the team regularly from 2003.
Even with a busy life with job, family, children and other commitments I allways tried to be updated on Pak cricket.

But for the first time I have started to lose interest in Pakistan cricket. It is not like I will not support them but there is no joy at the moment, all the scandals, no good players coming out etc.
Not interested in PSL this time around either, have only watched one over here and one there.

Let's see if this is only for time being.

I went through a similar phase from 2007-2010....ish

Don't worry you'll come back, everyone goes through lean patches.

I started following Pakistan cricket in 1992, and after that only watched the 1996 and 1999 WCs before following the team regularly from 2003.
Even with a busy life with job, family, children and other commitments I allways tried to be updated on Pak cricket.

But for the first time I have started to lose interest in Pakistan cricket. It is not like I will not support them but there is no joy at the moment, all the scandals, no good players coming out etc.
Not interested in PSL this time around either, have only watched one over here and one there.

Went though a smilar phase back in 2001-2004.

More to do with me being a schoolkid and just busy with other things rather than poor cricket at the time.

Absolutely

My interest is also fading away towards pak cricket I was a die hard fan of pak cricket from indian occupied Kashmir. Things which made me losing my interest are as follows.
1. Aging players making comeback again and again.
2. No emerging talent in pakistan.
3. Corrupted people running Pakistan cricket.
4. Not playing at home.
5. Fixing people making comeback which is giving giving bad indicatons to other players which we saw in sharjeel khan and khalid latif.

atleast during that time period we had Amir,Umer, Ahmed, Wahab coming through who looked to have potential to be world class one day how they turn out is another matter now days apart from Babar there is no one to look forward to

Yeah man after this fixing incident, I just feel so hopeless.

One ponders that even if we come up with a team full of ATGs, what's the point? They're probably gonna end up fixing too.

Sharjeel out of all people. Why?

atleast during that time period we had Amir,Umer, Ahmed, Wahab coming through who looked to have potential to be world class one day how they turn out is another matter now days apart from Babar there is no one to look forward to

Things do eventually get better, we're just in a very low point right now as a cricketing nation. After darkness there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

I can't believe how far we have fallen as a fast bowling nation the trundler Irfan Jnr was hyped like no tomorrow in 90's he would be struggling to get in to PIA 2nd XI.

struggling to get into ?? He wouldn't be playing cricket since he'd get phainta day in day out at gully cricket and would've given up the notion of being a professional cricketer.

I only watch pakistan matches and its a shame that we have lost a player to another tamasha league.

Last year I paid to watch PSL(in the US) - was planning to do that again but not going to do that after the fixing scandal.

Just will look at scorecards/highlights.

I have delayed starting my workday, skipped classes, or stayed up late at night during the week. I am losing the willingness to that these days.

We Bangladeshis have had such phases as well. Imagine 2014, we didn't win a single match against a decent side the entire year. We lost to HK in T20 and Afghanistan in an ODI. We lost to India B team.

These phases happen, not only in sports but also in life. You have to be strong and be hopeful that things will get better. And besides, its not only about your team winning, just learn to love the game.

The ODi cricket has been unbearable along with Test cricket. I envy South Africa.

Well, one can only hype a half decent bowler from a mediocre bunch.

He's been 135 kph+ in his first spell, and with some moderations in his runup he can increase his pace.

The original Irfan wasn't anything special when he first started out but he's probably been our best OD bowler from 2013-15.

Every team in the league is the same, they have no history, the players come and go each year, international superstars like Gayle and Sangakkara have no real association with the team, every ball is a boundary by default, the bowlers might as well be machines, the pitches are roads, the crowds appear nauseated, need I go on?

We Bangladeshis have had such phases as well. Imagine 2014, we didn't win a single match against a decent side the entire year. We lost to HK in T20 and Afghanistan in an ODI. We lost to India B team.

These phases happen, not only in sports but also in life. You have to be strong and be hopeful that things will get better. And besides, its not only about your team winning, just learn to love the game.

I visited Bangladesh back in 2008 and back then all you guys supported was the Pakistan cricket team. Things have changed since.

Even i lost interest after misbah left odis. I havent watched a single odi game after that quater final against australia.

When misbah lead the team, i knew he will get the best out of the boys and all, and i just loved watching him bat and captain his team.
You could give him a score of 200, and this guy would still end up defending sucha score in modern day cricket.

After he left t20I and odi, i never watched those formats.
Even in test im watching because of him, which is why i hope he continues to play and doesnt let go.

Trudler? He was hitting 140 atleast

Every team in the league is the same, they have no history, the players come and go each year, international superstars like Gayle and Sangakkara have no real association with the team, every ball is a boundary by default, the bowlers might as well be machines, the pitches are roads, the crowds appear nauseated, need I go on?

This is ignorance at best,dont know about other leagues but below are ones when kept a team fit more than 2 seasons that happened.

Dhoni,Raina,Hayden,Faf,Bravo csk they all associated themselves with it and there is a reason why Dhoni is called thala in so many ccsk pages,Bravo similarly.

Rcb- Gayle referred to it as his second home,eventhough that could be for publicity he has tremendous fan following down there.
Kohli,Abdv you already know.

Its similar for other teams it takes time to make the connection,Watto,Warnie always remained with RR till it got suspended.

Give it another 5 years with strict rules and there will be much morr association of Warner with Hyderabad,De kovk with Delhi nd so on.

In one word 'CARNIVAL'

Phases? really?

I'm looking forward to see how the team does in the West Indies especially if Misbah retires after the PSL, but not so much for the Champions Trophy because I envisage another dismal showing.

I agree with the point above about domestic T20 tournaments diluting interest in the international game, it's a slow, protracted death. I personally have no interest in the PSL/IPL/Big Bash/CPL which probably ensures that my appetite for international matches, including meaningless bilaterals such as NZ vs Bangladesh, remains relatively unsatiated.

Pakistan is losing big time because of no cricket on its very own mainland. Hope it returns and we will have a thriving rivalry refreshed.

Even i lost interest after misbah left odis. I havent watched a single odi game after that quater final against australia.

When misbah lead the team, i knew he will get the best out of the boys and all, and i just loved watching him bat and captain his team.
You could give him a score of 200, and this guy would still end up defending sucha score in modern day cricket.

After he left t20I and odi, i never watched those formats.
Even in test im watching because of him, which is why i hope he continues to play and doesnt let go.

I too like Misbah but this is too ott. CT 2013 under Misbah was the most boring display I've seen from Pakistan.

Same here i haven't watched any IPL match last year and not planning to watch any this year. And also only watched Indias matches in Icc tournament.

here is the thing with pakistani cricket these days, they have become super boring.

the test team plays a really dull brand of cricket on even duller surfaces in uea. nothing really happens there for four days at all. the uk tour for our test team was an exception and i thoroughly enjoyed it but then it was back to same old.

the less we talk about the odi team the better. there is literally no firepower in the batting and the one possible dynamic player that we had will probably end up getting banned anyway. there are no new exciting fast bowlers to look at. the batsmen that we are producing are equally boring and dull and unable to play modern cricket.

add to that the never ending controversies and what not. it also hurts in a way that we are ranked low and continue to get worse while teams are continuing to improve and get better.

then we have off field controversies and the people running pakistani cricket are still living in a bubble. the whole grass root system is rotten to the core and everyone is pushing their own tiny agenda. no one actually has the maturity and intellect to see the bigger picture.

the ex-players are bitter and always complaining and bring nothing good to the table.

as a whole, pakistan cricket is not an interesting package anymore. like fast bowling, and big hitting was our thing and look where we stand now. the worst part is there is no up and coming talent to actually revert that trend as well. no bowler in domestic cricket capable to bowl faster than 145 clicks regularly, no long run-ups and wavy hair but trundlers galore and mediocre journeymen.

Same things is happening with me. Players involved in scandals over and over again is just ridiculous. I have lost faith on Pakistani players. I don't know what are they upto. They get money, fame and all kinds resources to live luxurious life by playing at international arena still they are deceived by the selfishness. Recently we had match in our village and it was final between my team and team belonging to other part of my village. Unfortunately we lost the match and what i want to share with you people is that most of the players in our team were crying after loosing a nail biter. This was only a village level Cricket and players couldn't hide their emotions. I couldn't make up my mind how a player can do something whih he is not supposed to when he representing his country at international level. This is insane.

One ponders that even if we come up with a team full of ATGs, what's the point? They're probably gonna end up fixing too.

Pretty much sums up my feelings....

But try not to let that manj hurt your enjoyment

Same things is happening with me. Players involved in scandals over and over again is just ridiculous. I have lost faith on Pakistani players. I don't know what are they upto. They get money, fame and all kinds resources to live luxurious life by playing at international arena still they are deceived by the selfishness. Recently we had match in our village and it was final between my team and team belonging to other part of my village. Unfortunately we lost the match and what i want to share with you people is that most of the players in our team were crying after loosing a nail biter. This was only a village level Cricket and players couldn't hide their emotions. I couldn't make up my mind how a player can do something whih he is not supposed to when he representing his country at international level. This is insane.

Corruption brother....Corruption. This is probably the only evil that will grind a person's conscious to the dust - believe me. And if you don't have conscious my friend, then no amount of 'Tambi' by anyone would stop you from pursuing greed and illegal means to fulfill your desires.

I drastically lost interest in the game for a couple of years after Sachin retired. But I came back right into it after that. I still haven't been able rekindle the same interest as when Sachin was there, but I still love the game nonetheless.

The next PSL match is on 15th. Really poor planning. So many days' gap doesn't look good at all. Couldn't two team have travelled to sharjah before the others and played today?

It's a game at the end of the day. Not as tragic as some people are making it seem. If you're not enjoying it, you shouldn't be watching it.

Can't blame you though, Pakistan cricket is a joke at the moment.

Mediocre in all formats, not a single world class star player, no matches at home, match-fixers, chuckers etc., easily the most unattractive and unstable major cricketing nation right now.

Can't blame you though, Pakistan cricket is a joke at the moment.

Mediocre in all formats, not a single world class star player, no matches at home, match-fixers, chuckers etc., easily the most unattractive and unstable major cricketing nation right now.

ANd Sharjeel fixing was the last thing we needed :facepalm:

Yes, but we say this every time, only for something worse to happen. After the spot-fixing trio, we thought the players would have learned their lesson and will not get involved in such stuff given the consequences, but alas.

After being most proficient batsman in Australia he comes up with link to some bookie. Now either it is failure to report or actual fixing he still may be banned as both are punishable offences.

Looked so good against Starc and Co. smashing Hazlewood for six and now in a mess.

It looks like we fans are just panooti :facepalm:

After being most proficient batsman in Australia he comes up with link to some bookie. Now either it is failure to report or actual fixing he still may be banned as both are punishable offences.

Looked so good against Starc and Co. smashing Hazlewood for six and now in a mess.

It looks like we fans are just panooti :facepalm:

A lot of reports that he has been watched by the ICC ACU for a year now, looks like he decided to make some quick cash when he wasn't part of the team and is now caught in a web. Probably linked with the blackmailing story as well, that surfaced last year.

Anyhow, the investigation isn't complete yet and there is no official proof at the moment, but for me, he is gone.

A lot of reports that he has been watched by the ICC ACU for a year now, looks like he decided to make some quick cash when he wasn't part of the team and is now caught in a web. Probably linked with the blackmailing story as well, that surfaced last year.

Anyhow, the investigation isn't complete yet and there is no official proof at the moment, but for me, he is gone.

Yeah in any case I think atleast would be 6months to year ban to a maximum of life ban depending on offence.
Also Big Nas is involved :facepalm: :facepalm: :facepalm:

I wont lose interest because i'm a big fan. But In Pakistan cricket's case, Never ask if it can get any worse because it always can.

I visited Bangladesh back in 2008 and back then all you guys supported was the Pakistan cricket team. Things have changed since.

I'm sure nothing has changed. Have the next India v Pakistan game there and the cheers will ring only one way...

Not exactly, you get a lot of Indians in the stands too who go across the border to watch the match.

You have Indians everywhere. My point was the Bangladeshis flying the flag for Pakistan during an India v Pakistan game. If anything, you just reinforced my point.

I actually lost interest in the PSL this year after the whole corruption saga. I was excited about Sharjeel and thought he was the find of the last few years...i actually rate him higher than Babar in terms of talent. Pakistan cricket does this to you...there's always something that happens that kills your interest, for a little while.

here is the thing with pakistani cricket these days, they have become super boring.

the test team plays a really dull brand of cricket on even duller surfaces in uea. nothing really happens there for four days at all. the uk tour for our test team was an exception and i thoroughly enjoyed it but then it was back to same old.

the less we talk about the odi team the better. there is literally no firepower in the batting and the one possible dynamic player that we had will probably end up getting banned anyway. there are no new exciting fast bowlers to look at. the batsmen that we are producing are equally boring and dull and unable to play modern cricket.

add to that the never ending controversies and what not. it also hurts in a way that we are ranked low and continue to get worse while teams are continuing to improve and get better.

then we have off field controversies and the people running pakistani cricket are still living in a bubble. the whole grass root system is rotten to the core and everyone is pushing their own tiny agenda. no one actually has the maturity and intellect to see the bigger picture.

the ex-players are bitter and always complaining and bring nothing good to the table.

as a whole, pakistan cricket is not an interesting package anymore. like fast bowling, and big hitting was our thing and look where we stand now. the worst part is there is no up and coming talent to actually revert that trend as well. no bowler in domestic cricket capable to bowl faster than 145 clicks regularly, no long run-ups and wavy hair but trundlers galore and mediocre journeymen.

Excellent post. Truthfully, I had lost interest even before the latest fixing scandal, Pakistan cricket is really low on quality and entertainment value right now. Even the illegal bookies must be finding it tough to target a decent player to corrupt. Most of them are really mediocre and not worth bothering with.

I wish Sethi and co luck in cleaning up the domestic game. Maybe in a year's time we'll have some players with flair if nothing else turning out for the limited over games.

Us fans are the greatest suckers these players and the management have. They know that in spite of all the upheaval we will go back crawling to watch and support our Team. So that is that .... long and short of it !!!!

It happens when we are on a bad run. After we defeat the West Indies your interest will rekindle.

While I am sure you are well-intentioned and wish to console Pakistani fans, I doubt having Bangladesh being presented as a comparison will provide comfort to Pakistanis.

Everyone has that phase. I stopped watching cricket completely from 2011 until Kohli became test captain. I did watch the CT in between but that was it.

Even i'm loosing interest in Pak cricket, it is simply not moving to the right direction and there is not much hope.On top all the fixing in pajama leagues are not helping us atall, PSL was suppose to provide us talent, but so far it has deprived us of one of our biggest talent.

In the 90s,around 80% Bangladeshi including me were hardcore Pakistan cricket fans. It's not because they were champion team,it's because they were very very exciting team to watch. But now everything looks so pale. Hope it can be same as 90s team. Don't lose hope buddy. Our generation of bd supporters were passing the same condition from the start till now,so understand what you are going through. Be positive friend.

Interest level is surely down,but hopefully under Sarfraz the next few series will be enjoying and we will have a good outing in Champions Trophy to reawake our lost interest.

I feel you bro, I've lost most interest in cricket since the 2015 world cup. Only watch some of the big games now.

as live goes on the cricket move on no one stop co cricket will inshAllah will keep on moving

:razzaq:akhtar:amir2:babar:yasir

as live goes on the cricket move on no stop cricket Pakistan will on palying will inshAllah will keep on moving -

Even in the loony world of Pakistan cricket, a number of us are feeling despair at the recent shenanigans. Now I don't think many of us would abandon the team even at it's most rock bottom, but still - a lot of frustration needs or is being vented.

Pakistan is the greatest cricket nation ever but one has to be brutally honest it is being handled by some extremely mediocre and selfish men

I will probably always follow Pak cricket, but can't deny the fact that it's going down the same way as hockey once.

CT17 gave us false hopes, but in the end we are getting worse every year.

I don’t even know what the heck is going with your current cricket. All I hear about is scandals.

Can we talk about actual cricket?

Its been a while since I watched a cricket match. Guess Pakistan's 92 WC win boom is ending now. Its heading towards maturity where very few people will regularly follow the game.

I am more into Time-Pass section of PP, wish there could be more categories for that.

With Misbah at the helm the number of disinterested fans will only grow. I remember the 2015 WC Ind vs Pak match was perhaps the WC match between the two rivals that had the least hype. Those times will return if this person is allowed to continue.

I will probably always follow Pak cricket, but can't deny the fact that it's going down the same way as hockey once.

CT17 gave us false hopes, but in the end we are getting worse every year.

Cricket can't go the same way as hockey unless theres another sport which emerges for our country's interest. The key reason for hockey downfall was rise of cricket. Can you name any sport in which we are rising towards big international success right now? I mean we can't just become a sport-less country. The only other sport which can rival crickets popularity in Pakistan is football and we are ranked like 200 out of 208 nations in that sport.

With Misbah at helm my interest in this team has dipped. I was actually enjoying seeing our team lose to Sri-Lanka.

Yeh kuch ziada hi nahi hou gaya? More than 2 years on from this thread I am still hanging around though the interest is not as it used to be.

Posted this a long time ago. Almost nothing has changed since then in fact if anything the quality of talent has gone down.

Yeh kuch ziada hi nahi hou gaya? More than 2 years on from this thread I am still hanging around though the interest is not as it used to be.

Can never see the team lose but I do at times have wished for some individual players to not do well.

The X-factor players aren't there any more.

I grew up watching Imran Khan, then Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Javed Miandad, Saleem Malik, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Akhtar, etc.

These days that X factor isn't there. There are too many players currently who are very average yet think they are superstars and that puts me off watching them.

Y’all need to be numb to be a pakistan supporter. Otherwise you’ll end up developing serious mental health issues.

Its a game at the end of the day which has nations name stuck to it. If the opposition is playing good cricket with more bravery than our system than why should I not enjoy it? Sri-Lankan were the underdogs in this series. Seeing an underdog win is enjoyable to me. I am sorry I cannot force myself to support this team run by a boring coach. Heck our losses made me laugh instead of being upset cause of how bad it is. This is just the start.

DEFINITELY.

I for one used to watch some of PAK domestic games in Canadian winter few years back ...... I am in dilemma now if I should bother much for even PAK National team any more!!!! Last winter, I can recall watching PAK -NZ Test series, watching games till 5AM in a working day - not sure if I’ll sacrifice even couple of hours sleep in coming Australia tour.

Win or loss is part of the game and once I heard commentary of PAK being all-out for 43 at Cape Town - but still there were sparks in that 43!!!! WY made WI 0/2 in 3 balls and had couple of catches taken to make it like 7/4, WIN would have got their work cut out to chase 44!!!! Today, I watch PAK game when Babar is batting and may be some times Amir’s first few overs - Test time just browse PP or CI.

Absolute boring, selfish batting; club level fielding; novice Captaincy; military medium skill less pace bowling with non existent new ball skill; monotonous darting and an demoralising loser body language in field. Apart from Babar’s batting, probably next newsmakers in PAK cricket these days was Sarfraz’s “motivational” on field Captaincy - even he is getting cooler these days. And, if MuH remains batting coach, Babar will chill down at a faster rate.....

I don’t know when things will have a positive turn, but at this rate PAK youth will turn their face from cricket - that’ll be the ultimate curtains.

The X-factor players aren't there any more.

I grew up watching Imran Khan, then Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Javed Miandad, Saleem Malik, Saeed Anwar, Inzamam, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Akhtar, etc.

These days that X factor isn't there. There are too many players currently who are very average yet think they are superstars and that puts me off watching them.

Lack of superstar players a big factor.

The Pakistani team in the last 5 years or so is also the weakest they have been in the last ~35 years.

Lastly, I know the revolving selection of mediocre players has been ongoing since Pakistan cricket started, but it just seems more tiring now to have players like Akmals, Shehzad, Wahab, Junaid, Malik, Hafeez perpetually in contention

My passion has gone down whist Sarfraz has been the captain. Misbah isn't exactly rekindling that passion.