Struggling in my batting - please help

Smooth_Operator

Tape Ball Regular
Runs
Salam guys, so I'm just going to dive right in this.

Strictly talking about Tapeball cricket btw.

I have been playing tape ball cricket for around 2-3 years now, first picked up playing cricket in Summer of '09 (in fact my first experience watching cricket was the T20 WC 09 :D )

So I have improved remarkably since my debut and I thought I was making great strides, this summer I hit a 50 (8 over match) and then left on vacation and when I came back home after 2 months and started playing again, I became a tailender.

Before I go on, just want to give you guys some details on how big tape ball cricket is here [Austin,TX].

Every Friday we play and have pretty good sized "grounds" (always straight,leg, and off) and the boundaries are pretty big and you are free to play your shots.

So specfically I want to talk about what happened today, I was given the captaincy for the first time (yay!) and we won the 2 match series 2-0!

However my own performance was so dismal, and this isn't the first time recently. You guys could say I've become :malik

Since August, I have changed my technique about 4-5 times and can't even seem to get bat on ball anymore. The guys I play with have some serious pace on them, so it can really test you although its tape ball.

So I went in at No. 3 as Skipper, one of my opener got out on a duck in the first over. Now this may sound weird but the place we played at today actually had the ball swinging.

Today I changed to an YK-esque technique but failed.. only managed 5 off 15 balls. :misbah

When I bat, I lose the ball in the air and also my reflexes have been slow. 2nd match I sent my pace bowler to open and he hit 59*... with 7 sixes!

I do consider myself to have an ability to bat, but I have really lacked confidence. Tape ball is such a quick game that you always have to be looking to play your shots, so no time to settle in.