Sufism thread

BTW lads, this is my favourite Sufi dance.. really brings me closer to Allah

[utube]PAOfZTDKdKU[/utube]

You are just disgrace. if you want to deal in this way then i would start posting how you people hate/insult prophet Muhammad PBUH, and how your leaders have compared Prophet Muhammad PBUH with donkeys etc.

am sure this thread is not for such stuff.

I am not questioning Abdul Qadir Jilani, I am questioning his "supposed" followers of today. He would never accept the type of innovations that are involved with Sufiism. I'm not talking or questioning the people that helped bring Islam to the Indian subcontinent. I am talking about the followers of Sufiism and their wrongdoings.

@IAJ

The way they praise shaykhs or call upon them is beyond the boundaries of Islam

“Do not revile the people of Syria, for among them there are abdaal; every time one of them dies, Allah replaces him with another man.” This is a fabricated hadith some Sufi scholars use. Obviously not all Sufis believe in this, an example is yourself.
Again I said SOME.

If it is not bid'ah then what is it? Does it have any basis in Islam and if you still think it does then please prove from the Sunnah or Qur'aan.

Our own OP asks us to posts "dances". Astaghfirallah, “The believers are only those who, when Allaah is mentioned, feel a fear in their hearts…” [al-Anfaal 8:2]

Do they not? Check out the poem "Qasidah Burdah"

OF COURSE they are.. and that is not a Sufi problem, that is a problem in the Indian subcontinent, and it is not limited to Sheikhs, it can be said about their forefathers too.

Once again you are saying strange things. If you listen to a hadeeth which you have problems to accept you can't say it's fabricated. That is unfair. Pick up Ahmad Musnad and read it if you are in doubt. I believe in the sayings about Abdal so don't say that I don't do that. You said something about the Abdaals and I bolded your quote. If Allah gives power to someone what does that mean? Is that shirk? It is Allah who is giving the power, they are not generating it themselves. See the difference??

And you also said Sufis allow drums/instruments etc. Remember there is a difference of opinion there. The Sufis I follow doesn't allow music at all. Music is haram, we all know that. And astaghfirullah you are mentioning wine in relation to Sufis. That is wrong and unfair.

And you are questioning Qaseeda Burdah. Do you know why it is called Qaseeda Burdah? Imam Busiri (RA) met the Prophet (SAW) during the night and the Prophet (SAW) liked his qadeeda so much that he gave Imam Busiri his Chador/Burdah. So what are you up to?

And once again Sufis only worship Allah SWT and only Allah SWT. They do respect their Mushaikh but they don't worship them. Another false allegation.

You keep saying bida bida and once again I have to remind you that if something is haram, then you have to prove it. There are various forms of Bida' for isntance Bida' Hasana.
Did they have carpets in the Masjid of the Prophet's (SAW) time? Did the have AC and fans? Will you call it haram since all masjids nowadays have carpets?

And Sufism isn't any sect. Why can't you understand that. This is only a teaching, a way, a path to come closer to Allah SWT.

And the Mawlid of the Prophet (SAW). We will celebrate is, why shouldn't we. Give med a reference from Hadeeth/Quran where it is stated that this is not allowed! People do celebrate birhdays of their children, kings etc and we should stop celebrating the Mawlid of the best of the creation???! NO never! we will allways do that InshaAllah!

Makkah gayan
Gal mukdi nahin
Paven sau sau jummen padhaiye

Ganga gayan
Gal mukdi nahin
Paven sau sau gothey khaiye

Gaya gayan
Gal mukdi nahin
Paven sau sau panD padhaiye

Bulleh Shah!
Gal taiyon mukdi
jadoN ‘meiN' nu diloN gawaaiye

wah wah wah....kia baat kar gai Baba ji

It's quite hard to explain the philosophy to someone who isn't willing to understand. I guess it's something that needs to be felt and experienced not just explained and understood.

I don't think there is much that I can say, I'm not here to defend anything or convert anyone but I would like to say one thing about the concept of Fear not Love and how someone said having Fear of Allah SWT is imperative. I agree, completely. But the question is, where does that fear originate from? Is it born from the possibility of reprimand and punishment? Or does it arise from the thought of doing something to upset The One you Love the most, over and above everyone and everything?

A crude analogy may be the love one has for ones parents and the fear of upsetting them and the consequences. When you are young and completely dependent on them, you have a different type of fear which is based on punishment you might recieve if you do something wrong. But when a person grows older and becomes more independent, makes his own decisions, provides for himself, the chances of physical reprimand are slim so does one stop fearing them? I don't think so. So why does a person still want to avoid upsetting his parents?

Again, I don't want to argue or debate with anyone. My relationship with My Lord is mine and mine alone and I love Him.

You are just disgrace. if you want to deal in this way then i would start posting how you people hate/insult prophet Muhammad PBUH, and how your leaders have compared Prophet Muhammad PBUH with donkeys etc.

am sure this thread is not for such stuff.

lol okay I apologize for that video.. the real point I wanted to make was that if i were to post that video OR a video of a guy spinning around.. what's the real difference? Both are acts of jahiliyya and both think they are getting closer to Allah.

“The believers are only those who, when Allaah is mentioned, feel a fear in their hearts…” [al-Anfaal 8:2]

Once again you are saying strange things. If you listen to a hadeeth which you have problems to accept you can't say it's fabricated. That is unfair. Pick up Ahmad Musnad and read it if you are in doubt. I believe in the sayings about Abdal so don't say that I don't do that. You said something about the Abdaals and I bolded your quote. If Allah gives power to someone what does that mean? Is that shirk? It is Allah who is giving the power, they are not generating it themselves. See the difference??
The chain of narrations is weak. The miracles do not happen through the Awliya.. they happen through Allah. The Prophet did not split the moon in half when the pagans were looking, it was Allah.
And you also said Sufis allow drums/instruments etc. Remember there is a difference of opinion there. The Sufis I follow doesn't allow music at all. Music is haram, we all know that. And astaghfirullah you are mentioning wine in relation to Sufis. That is wrong and unfair.
How is it wrong and unfair? Of course not all Sufis do this and that goes to the first point I made. There are many subsects in Sufiism and all disagree with each other.
And you are questioning Qaseeda Burdah. Do you know why it is called Qaseeda Burdah? Imam Busiri (RA) met the Prophet (SAW) during the night and the Prophet (SAW) liked his qadeeda so much that he gave Imam Busiri his Chador/Burdah. So what are you up to?
http://islamqa.com/en/ref/115502/qaseedah burdah
Maybe this will help you if you don't speak arabic.
And once again Sufis only worship Allah SWT and only Allah SWT. They do respect their Mushaikh but they don't worship them. Another false allegation.
Listen, the way many "respect" their leaders is out of the pale of Islam.
You keep saying bida bida and once again I have to remind you that if something is haram, then you have to prove it. There are various forms of Bida' for isntance Bida' Hasana.
Did they have carpets in the Masjid of the Prophet's (SAW) time? Did the have AC and fans? Will you call it haram since all masjids nowadays have carpets?
lol you are a funny man. Let me tell you brother, there is NO SUCH THING as Bid'ah Hasanah. If you want to bring the example of Umar R.A. then you are WRONG AGAIN. AC, Carpets, and fans have nothing to do with the deen.
And Sufism isn't any sect. Why can't you understand that. This is only a teaching, a way, a path to come closer to Allah SWT.
No brother, these people have created a sect out of Islam.
And the Mawlid of the Prophet (SAW). We will celebrate is, why shouldn't we. Give med a reference from Hadeeth/Quran where it is stated that this is not allowed! People do celebrate birhdays of their children, kings etc and we should stop celebrating the Mawlid of the best of the creation???! NO never! we will allways do that InshaAllah!
I don't celebrate my birthday. Why didn't the prophet celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the sahaba celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the tabi'een celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the taba tabi'een celebrate his birthday? Do you think you have found a way better then that of the Prophet and his earliest followers?

lol okay I apologize for that video.. the real point I wanted to make was that if i were to post that video OR a video of a guy spinning around.. what's the real difference? Both are acts of jahiliyya and both think they are getting closer to Allah.

“The believers are only those who, when Allaah is mentioned, feel a fear in their hearts…” [al-Anfaal 8:2]

The chain of narrations is weak. The miracles do not happen through the Awliya.. they happen through Allah. The Prophet did not split the moon in half when the pagans were looking, it was Allah.

- Do you know the conditions of a Dhaif Hadeeth?And whatever the miracles the beloved Prophet (saw) did it was with the help of Allah SWT. Allah SWT gave him the power to perform the miracles. A famous event was when water started flowing from the fingers of the Prophet (saw) Would you say those fingers were Allah's? Those were the fingers of the Prophet but Allah gave him power to do that and you know that Allah SWT can do everything?

How is it wrong and unfair? Of course not all Sufis do this and that goes to the first point I made. There are many subsects in Sufiism and all disagree with each other.

http://islamqa.com/en/ref/115502/qaseedah burdah
Maybe this will help you if you don't speak arabic.

-Qaseeda Burdah shareef is read and loved by people of Ahle Sunna Wal Jamaa'. Don't know what you are talking about. Actually when I see there are references from Abdul Wahab Najdi in your link there I understand where you are coming from

Listen, the way many "respect" their leaders is out of the pale of Islam.

-Listen, if a man does something wrong you can not say the whole community is wrong

lol you are a funny man. Let me tell you brother, there is NO SUCH THING as Bid'ah Hasanah. If you want to bring the example of Umar R.A. then you are WRONG AGAIN. AC, Carpets, and fans have nothing to do with the deen.

-If AC etc have nothing to do with the deen why is it used in Masjids then?
And regarding Bida' Hasanah read this (I am copy pasting it):The concept of “praiseworthy innovation” (bid`a hasana) is basically a specific form of applying a general sunna of the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace), in a manner not contrary to the principles of Prophetic guidance.

Thus, for example, having an annual conference or religious event on specific dates (for reasons of practicality, without deeming this specification religiously-expected) is a specific way of applying the general sunna of spreading religious guidance.

The same applies to approved-of forms of group dhikr (which is considered permitted or praiseworthy by a large body of mainstream scholarship): the general sunna of group dhikr (understood from a large number of Prophetic hadiths) is being applied in a specific way.

And so on.

However, the scholars look carefully at the soundness of the basis for such actions; the component parts; and the implications of the action, direct and indirect.

No brother, these people have created a sect out of Islam.

-NO NO NO! why don't you understand this?

I don't celebrate my birthday. Why didn't the prophet celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the sahaba celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the tabi'een celebrate his birthday? Why didn't the taba tabi'een celebrate his birthday? Do you think you have found a way better then that of the Prophet and his earliest followers?

-In terms of the celebrating the Prophet’s (SAW) birth, the basis of this is of two types:

[1] specific, from the sunna itself: the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) celebrated the day of the week in which he was born by fasting on Mondays–so why would celebrating the date of his birth, in permitted & sound ways, be wrong?

[2] general, from the call in the Qur’an and Sunna to express thankfulness and rejoicing in the blessing and gift from Allah that is our Beloved Messenger of Allah (peace & blessings be upon him & his folk).

Make a separate thread for the discussion of celebration of Hazrat Muhammad(S.A.W.W).

On this thread, If one can't admit the services of Sufis for Islam than either he is blind or he is completely biased.

It's quite hard to explain the philosophy to someone who isn't willing to understand. I guess it's something that needs to be felt and experienced not just explained and understood.

I don't think there is much that I can say, I'm not here to defend anything or convert anyone but I would like to say one thing about the concept of Fear not Love and how someone said having Fear of Allah SWT is imperative. I agree, completely. But the question is, where does that fear originate from? Is it born from the possibility of reprimand and punishment? Or does it arise from the thought of doing something to upset The One you Love the most, over and above everyone and everything?

A crude analogy may be the love one has for ones parents and the fear of upsetting them and the consequences. When you are young and completely dependent on them, you have a different type of fear which is based on punishment you might recieve if you do something wrong. But when a person grows older and becomes more independent, makes his own decisions, provides for himself, the chances of physical reprimand are slim so does one stop fearing them? I don't think so. So why does a person still want to avoid upsetting his parents?

Again, I don't want to argue or debate with anyone. My relationship with My Lord is mine and mine alone and I love Him.

Very well-said! :19:

And you also said Sufis allow drums/instruments etc. Remember there is a difference of opinion there. The Sufis I follow doesn't allow music at all. Music is haram, we all know that.

Bhai, most respectfully, I have to strongly disagree with you on this. There is no mention of Music being haram among the things that are declared haram in Quran, which is a complete book.

And there are many ahadees in favour of music just like ahadees that are not in favour of music. So the difference of opinion does exist and I respect the other opinion as well, just like I expect others to respect the opinions of the Sufi Saints that I try to follow.

The Sufis that I try to follow use to have Mehfil-e-Samaa almost once a month. I am talking about Hazrat Nizauddim Awlia (rehmatullah aleyh), Hazrat Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti Ajmeri (rehmatullah aleyh) etc...

Make a separate thread for the discussion of celebration of Hazrat Muhammad(S.A.W.W).

On this thread, If one can't admit the services of Sufis for Islam than either he is blind or he is completely biased.

Brother I'm still waiting for your reply on my comments on your previous post, where you stated Sufism is "integral to Islam" and how alot of people claim peotry is good and so forth...

Please discuss with solid information and background, not just personal opinions.

Thank you,

Brother I'm still waiting for your reply on my comments on your previous post, where you stated Sufism is "integral to Islam" and how alot of people claim peotry is good and so forth...

Please discuss with solid information and background, not just personal opinions.

Thank you,

I consider them as the integral part of Islam. They are the true servants of Islam. They converted millions and billions of Non-muslims into Muslims by the will of ALLAH. Anybody who thinks that they are not the integral part of Islam should stop counting the converted Muslims in Muslims population. Hazrat Muhammad S.A.W.W graced many Sufis with his blessings. Wali means ALLAH k dost.

http://www.amalikiperspective.com/category/tasawwuf/ Check out this link. it will help

Bhai, most respectfully, I have to strongly disagree with you on this. There is no mention of Music being haram among the things that are declared haram in Quran, which is a complete book.

And there are many ahadees in favour of music just like ahadees that are not in favour of music. So the difference of opinion does exist and I respect the other opinion as well, just like I expect others to respect the opinions of the Sufi Saints that I try to follow.

The Sufis that I try to follow use to have Mehfil-e-Samaa almost once a month. I am talking about Hazrat Nizauddim Awlia (rehmatullah aleyh), Hazrat Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti Ajmeri (rehmatullah aleyh) etc...

Brother I want you to read the following, it takes only two minutes;

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=686&CATE=115

And yes the difference of opinions exist and if you have time you can also read the following:

http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=1786&CATE=142

IAJ,

Dear, let's agree to disagree :)

sufism is bida'; in fact in it's most current form it has become a case study of how a muslim can go astray.
May Allah guide us all to the siratulmustaqim--Ameen.

Documentary on Sufism ( also mentions music not being forbidden :moyo )
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRh-c36psHU

I search in the streets, I cast my sights,
The path of joy may someone behold,
How can I hide my nature, and show myself as another!
To know another is sin, every form is God Himself.

-Sachal Sarmast

O Lord…
Once I wanted You so much
I didn’t even dare walk past Your house
And now
I am not even worthy to be let in
-Rabia Basri

I am I; there is no God but I; so worship me!
"Glory be to me! How great is My majesty!"
"Thy obedience to me is greater than my obedience to Thee"
"I am the throne and the footstool"
"By my life, my grasp is firmer than His"
"I saw the Kaba walking round me"
"Moses desired to see God; I do not desire to see God;He desires to see me
-Bayazid Bastami

I saw my Lord with the eye of my heart.
He said, "Who are you?" I said, "I am You."
You are He Who fills all place
But place does not know where You are.
In my subsistence is my annihilation;
In my annihilation, I remain You.
-Mansur Al Hallaj

Don’t search for heaven and hell in the future. Both are now present. Whenever we manage to love without expectations, calculations, negotiations, we are indeed in heaven. Whenever we fight, hate, we are in hell. - Shams Tabrizi

When the world pushes you to your knees, you are in the perfect position to pray. - Rumi

Love means tearing down the veils and exposing the secrets. - Nuri

The Sufi is the one who in the daylight doesn't need the sun and in the night does not need the moon. The essence of Sufism is absolute non-existence, that has no need of existence because there is no existence besides Allah's existence. Hazrat Abu Al Hasan Kharqani (RA)

The Prophet said, ‘Takhallaqu bi-akhlaq Allah’ ‘Create in yourselves the attributes of God.’ Thus man becomes unique by becoming more and more like the most unique Individual. What then is life? It is individual: its highest form, so far, is the ego (khudi) in which the individual becomes a self-contained exclusive centre. Physically as well as spiritually man is a self-contained centre, but he is not yet a complete individual. The greater his distance from God, the less his individuality. He who comes nearest to God is the completest person.
Not that he is finally absorbed in God. On the contrary, he absorbs God into himself.
The true person not only absorbs the world of matter by mastering it; he absorbs God Himself into his ego by assimilating Divine attributes. Life is a forward assimilative movement.

Allama Iqbal. :allama

Husn e Haqiqi, a poem written by Khwaja Ghulam Farid, a Sufi saint from southern Punjab, of the 19th century and its interpretation by Arieb Azhar (Coke Studio)

Husn e Haqiqi – Beauty of Truth

O’ Beauty of Truth, the Eternal Light!
Do I call you necessity and possibility,
Do I call you the ancient divinity,
The One, creation and the world,
Do I call you free and pure Being,
Or the apparent lord of all,
Do I call you the souls, the egos and the intellects,
The imbued manifest, and the imbued hidden,
The actual reality, the substance,
The word, the attribute and dignity,
Do I call you the variety, and the circumstance,
The demeanor, and the measure,
Do I call you the throne and the firmament,
And the demurring delights of Paradise,
Do I call you mineral and vegetable,
Animal and human,
Do I call you the mosque, the temple, the monastery,
The scriptures, the Quran,
The rosary, the girdle,
Godlessness, and faith,
Do I call you the clouds, the flash, the thunder,
Lightning and the downpour,
Water and earth,
The gust and the inferno,
Do I call you Lakshmi, and Ram and lovely Sita,
Baldev, Shiv, Nand, and Krishna,
Brahma, Vishnu and Ganesh,
Mahadev and Bhagvaan,
Do I call you the Gita, the Granth, and the Ved,
Knowledge and the unknowable,
Do I call you Abraham, Eve and Seth,
Noah and the deluge,
Abraham the friend, and Moses son of Amran,
And Ahmad the glorious, darling of every heart,
Do I call you the witness, the Lord, or Hejaz,
The awakener, existence, or the point,
Do I call you admiration or prognosis,
Nymph, fairy, and the young lad,
The tip and the nip,
And the redness of betel leaves,
The Tabla and Tanpura,
The drum, the notes and the improvisation,
Do I call you beauty and the fragrant flower,
Coyness and that amorous glance,
Do I call you Love and knowledge,
Superstition, belief, and conjecture,
The beauty of power, and conception,
Aptitude and ecstasy,
Do I call you intoxication and the drunk,
Amazement and the amazed,
Submission and the connection,
Compliance and Gnosticism,
Do I call you the Hyacinth, the Lilly, and the Cypress,
And the rebellious Narcissus,
The bereaved Tulip, the Rose garden, and the orchard,
Do I call you the dagger, the lance, and the rifle,
The hail, the bullet, the spear,
The arrows made of white poplar, and the bow,
The arrow-notch, and the arrowhead,
Do I call you colorless, and unparalleled,
Formless in every instant,
Glory and holiness,
Most glorious and most compassionate,
Repent now Farid forever!
For whatever I may say is less,
Do I call you the pure and the humane,
The Truth without trace or name.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/Lbp4GXmF0ZQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

That's when I edited the Wiki page on Omar Khayyam ages ago, at 16 my English was worse than it is now (says a lot) and you can witness the indigent prose.
Deals with his Sufi leanings, as his poetry is generally seen as "hedonist" by Western audiences subscribed to dubious - and selective - translations of his rubayyat/quatrains.

Seyyed Hossein Nasr, after examining the philosophical works of Khayyám, maintains that it is really reductive to just look at the poems (which are sometimes doubtful) to establish his personal views about God or religion; in fact, he even wrote a treatise entitled "al-Khutbat al-gharrå˘" (The Splendid Sermon) on the praise of God, where he holds orthodox views, agreeing with Avicenna on Divine Unity. In fact, this treatise is not an exception, and S.H. Nasr gives an example where he identified himself as a Sufi, after criticizing different methods of knowing God, preferring the intuition over the rational (opting for the so-called "kashf", or unveiling, method):

"... Fourth, the Sufis, who do not seek knowledge by ratiocination or discursive thinking, but by purgation of their inner being and the purifying of their dispositions. They cleanse the rational soul of the impurities of nature and bodily form, until it becomes pure substance. When it then comes face to face with the spiritual world, the forms of that world become truly reflected in it, without any doubt or ambiguity. This is the best of all ways, because it is known to the servant of God that there is no reflection better than the Divine Presence and in that state there are no obstacles or veils in between. Whatever man lacks is due to the impurity of his nature. If the veil be lifted and the screen and obstacle removed, the truth of things as they are will become manifest and known. And the Master of creatures [the Prophet Muhammad]—upon whom be peace—indicated this when he said: “Truly, during the days of your existence, inspirations come from God. Do you not want to follow them?” Tell unto reasoners that, for the lovers of God, intuition is guide, not discursive thought."
—Omar Khayyám

The same author goes on by giving other philosophical writings which are totally compatible with the religion of Islam, as the al-Risālah fil-wujūd (الرسالة في الوجود, "Treatise on Being"), written in Arabic, which begin with Quranic verses and asserting that all things come from God, and there is an order in these things. In another work, Risālah jawāban li-thalāth masāʾil (رسالة جوابان لثلاث مسائل, "Treatise of Response to Three Questions"), he gives a response to question on, for instance, the becoming of the soul post-mortem. S.H. Nasr even gives some poetry where he is perfectly in favor of Islamic orthodoxy, but expressing mystical views (God's goodness, the ephemerical state of this life, ...):

Thou hast said that Thou wilt torment me,
But I shall fear not such a warning.
For where Thou art, there can be no torment,
And where Thou art not, how can such a place exist?

The rotating wheel of heaven within which we wonder,
Is an imaginal lamp of which we have knowledge by similitude.
The sun is the candle and the world the lamp,
We are like forms revolving within it.

A drop of water falls in an ocean wide,
A grain of dust becomes with earth allied;
What doth thy coming, going here denote?
A fly appeared a while, then invisible he became.

Considering possible misunderstandings about Khayyám in the West and elsewhere, Hossein Nasr concludes by saying that if a correct study of the authentic rubaiyat is done, but along with the philosophical works, or even the spiritual biography entitled Sayr wa sulak (Spiritual Wayfaring), we can no longer view the man as a simple hedonistic wine-lover, or even an early skeptic, but a profound mystical thinker and scientist whose works are more important than some verses. C.H.A. Bjerregaard earlier summarised the situation:

"The writings of Omar Khayyam are good specimens of Sufism but are not valued in the West as they ought to be, and the mass of English-speaking people know him only through the poems of Edward Fitzgerald which is unfortunate. It is unfortunate because Fitzgerald is not faithful to his master and model, and at times he lays words upon the tongue of the Sufi which are blasphemous. Such outrageous language is that of the eighty-first quatrain for instance. Fitzgerald is doubly guilty because he was more of a Sufi than he was willing to admit."

Mansûr al Hallaj, the Sufi of the 9th century crucified by the ulema'. He represents the ecstatic school of Sufism whereas his friend and contemporary, fellow Persian Junaid of Baghdad symbolises the more "orthodox" approach ; both, in essence, are same, but the former is a more dangerous path in the sense that it has the pretension to talk to the masses, whereas the masses may not be able to grasp the highly symbolical message and these Sufis are then targeted for "heresy".

Al Hallaj often expressed his understanding of Oneness in paradoxical and beautifully poetic ways. For example he was once asked about the path to God and he replied, “A path is between two points but there is nothing beside God!” He was asked to clarify and he replied with a poem:

Is this you or is it I in two deities?

Far be it from you, far be it from confirming duality
Forever there is Hu-ness for you in my La-ness
Over all, my pain is the confusion of two faces
Where is your essence from me where I used to see?
For my essence now appears where there is no “where”
And where is your face sought with my sight?
Is it in the inner heart or in the eye’s seeing?
Between you and me is an I-ness interfering with me
Take away then with your I-ness my I-ness from between us!

And here are the two selections that our Master, Al Hallaj, gifted to our young seeker, Justin, so that his heart may know…

Here I am at your command, here I am!
You are my secrecy and my intimacy
Here I am at your command, here I am!
You are my purpose and my meaning
I call you, but it is you who calls me to you
Did I call out to you or did you call out to me?
You are the essence of the source of my existence, you are the reach of my resolve
You who are my logic, and my expressions, and my gestures
You are all of me entirely, you are my hearing and my seeing
You are my whole, and some of me, and my parts
You are all of me entirely, and all of it is entirely obscured
And all of you entirely are covered in my meaning
My soul clings to you with intense love until it is spent in ecstasy
And I become a hostage to my longing
I cry over my sorrow, over separation voluntarily from my homeland
And my adversaries please me with my own wailing
I approach but my fear sets me back, and I am anxious from a longing
That takes hold of my deeply hidden insides
What shall I do about an expansiveness that I am in such love with?
My Friend! My healers have despaired of my affliction
They say: take your cure of him from him.
And I say to them: O people, is the affliction cured by the affliction?
My love for my Friend pains me and afflicts me
How then shall I complain to my Friend of my Friend?
I gaze upon him and my heart knows him
Nothing can be explained of him except my gestures
O woe to my soul from this soul of mine,
O such sorrow in me over me for I am the source of my trials
I am like one who is drowned and his hand is seen raised up for help
While he is in an ocean of water
No one knows what I have seen
Except what shows in me of my grief
And that one who knows what I’ve seen of such intense love
In his will is my death and my life!
You are the purpose of my seeking! You are what I hoped for! You are my stillness!
You are the life of my soul! You are my faith and my world!
Tell me, upon my life, you who are my hearing and my seeing,
Why this going back and forth in my farness and exile?
If you are veiled from my eye in the unseen
This heart still keeps you in farness and in nearness.

I saw my Rabb with the eye of my heart
I said: who are you? He said: You
“Where” with you has nowhere
And there is nowhere where you are
Illusion with you has no illusion
Can illusion know where you are?
You are the one who gathers every “where”
To nowhere, so where are you?
In my annihilation my annihilation perished
And in my annihilation I found you
In the effacement of my name and the outline of my form
I asked about me so I said: You.
My inmost secret pointed to you
Until I was annihilated to myself, and you remained
You are my life and my heart’s secret
Wherever I may be, you are.
You encompass everything with knowledge
All that I see is you
So grant forgiveness my God
For there is nothing I wish for other than you

http://sufism.org/articles/2-poems-by-hussein-ibn-mansur-al-hallaj

Read somewhere that this kalam by Baba Bulleh Shah was written for Hazrat Mansur Hallaj when he claimed that , " I am God , " and people pelted him with stones .

[utube]RzjthIBPZAc[/utube]

The kalam talks of this very incident but people are not apparently aware of it . Just read the top comment on the video . :moyo

Subcontinent: the land of Sufis who preached humanity above all and inter religious harmony. Sufis who were the messengers of love; Love of God and His creation.

There is some top quality Sufi stuff in Urdu. Reading poetry and listening to NFAK would be a start.

Na tha kuch to Khuda tha, kuch na hota to Khuda hota
Doboya mujh ko honay nay, na hota mai to kia hota

Hui muddat mar gya Ghalib par yaad ata hai
Wo har aik baat pai khna ye yun hota to kia hota

There was an interesting piece in the Herald by Zahra Sabri which challenged some of the common tropes associated with Sufism, particularly in the South Asian context. Specifically, Sabri seeks to

"dispel four myths about Islamic mysticism. The first myth is that there is a wide gap between the activities of the mystic khanqah and those of the scholarly madrasa (and that there is, thus, a vast difference between ‘Sufi’ Islam and normative/mainstream Sunni Islam). The second myth is that mystics are ‘passive’, apolitical and withdrawn from the political affairs of their time. The third myth is that mystics across the board are intrinsically ‘peaceful’ and opposed to armed jihad or warfare. The last myth is that Islamic mysticism is a phenomenon particular to, or intrinsically more suited to, the South Asian environment as compared to other Islamic lands."

https://herald.dawn.com/news/1398514