Tania Aidrus resigns as Special Assistant to PM Imran Khan on Digital Pakistan [Update #63]

ISLAMABAD: A senior Pakistani executive of Google, Tania Aidrus has stepped down from her position at the tech giant to lead Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Digital Pakistan initiative.

She has arrived in the country from Singapore to offer her service to the country’s digitalisation programme.

Prime Minister Khan will inaugurate the digitalisation initiative titled Digital Pakistan this evening.

The inauguration ceremony will be held at the Prime Minister Office in Islamabad. Under the programme, correspondence between government departments will be done through digital channels instead of paper.

The prime minister had assigned the task of developing the programme to the Federal Ministry of Information and Technology in August. It completed the project within the stipulated time of three months.

https://arynews.tv/en/google-executive-quits-job-lead-digital-pakistan-initiative/

Digitising Pakistan crucial for the youth, says PM Imran

ISLAMABAD: Digitising Pakistan is crucial for the youth as the country as exciting times are ahead of the country, said Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday during the inauguration ceremony of the 'Digital Pakistan' campaign.

‘Digital Pakistan’ campaign is a part of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government’s digitisation programme aimed at introducing the latest technologies for public welfare.The ceremony was held at the Prime Minister's Office in Islamabad.

"The world has been taking great strides in digitisation. However, Pakistan has been lagging behind," said the prime minister. "Unfortunately Pakistan has lagged behind due to corruption."

He said that through such measures as the digitisation programme, Pakistan would make use of its youth population which was one of the biggest in the world.

"Women can also secure jobs through digitisation. It helps in curbing corruption and is crucial for accountability," he said.

The prime minister said that corruption always began from the top and now that a government that did not tolerate it was in place, Pakistan will see better days.

"When I took over the reins as prime minister, there was hardly any department which was not in loss," he said. "I wanted to divert my energies towards other areas but as prime minister I was forced to focus only on the current account deficit. Now, the economy has stabilised," he added.

Prime Minister Imran said that when he was elected prime minister, he said in his first speech 'Ghabrana Nahi Hai'.

"Many people panicked after that speech," he said, as the audience laughed. "Now I am telling you not to panic because we are headed in the right direction."

The prime minister said that international agencies were appreciating Pakistan's fiscal and economic policies.

The Digital Pakistan campaign was executed by the Ministry of Information and Technology (MoIT). The MoIT was tasked with digitising all correspondence between government offices.

The IT ministry had been told to complete the task within three months.

In September, senior PTI leader Jahangir Tareen had announced that the government had engaged a senior former Google executive to help revamp its payment system and set into motion the digitisation initiative from PMO.

He said that the government had persuaded the Google executive, who was in Singapore, to lead the project from Pakistan, after a lot of effort and headhunting.

“She is leaving Google. In fact, she has left it and she is moving to Pakistan and will lead the digitisation initiative from PMO,” Tareen had said.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/579038-pm-imran-to-launch-digital-pakistan-campaign-today

IK has employed top notch talent in his team

Dr Moeed Yusuf - Harvard - Policy making
Usman Mobin - MIT - NADRA chairman
Shabat Ali Shah - MIT - National Information & Technology Board
Dr Hafeez Sheikh - Boston Uni - Finance Minister
Dr Zafar Mirza - WHO - Health Minister
Dr Reza Baqir - Harvard, UC Berkley, IMF - SBP chairman

There are many more names on this list, which escape my memory at this point.

now

Tania Aidrus - MIT, Google - Digital Pakistan

If these people can't steer Pakistan to prosperity, then no one can. A refreshing change from the dehati patwaris that were appointed as ministers in the previous regime. Their worth was not measured on their credentials but how much they can worship Nawaz Sharif.

now

If these people can't steer Pakistan to prosperity, then no one can. A refreshing change from the dehati patwaris that were appointed as ministers in the previous regime. Their worth was not measured on their credentials but how much they can worship Nawaz Sharif.

What an incompetent government.

Only competent government in corruption is good for Pakistan, said, "well educated liberal as long as Mulana is not doing dharna"

now

Not enough. Because Tamater 300rs kg hai :)))

now

Many names are missing including Dr Sania Nishtar she is chairperson of BISP program and part of Ehsas program. She was the leading candidate to become DG WHO in 2017.

How could I have forgotten Dr Sania Nishtar :facepalm: :facepalm:

I'm a massive fan of her.

now

Lol

Dont forget. Wasim Khan - PCB CEO

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday said that with the introduction of the 'Digital Pakistan Vision', the full potential of the contribution of youth and the women to the economy will be unleashed.

According to a press release from the Prime Minister Office: "The Vision sets Pakistan’s digital ambition and has been designed for the government and the private sector to work towards a digitally progressive and inclusive Pakistan."

Speaking at the launch ceremony of the initiative, the prime minister regretted not having launched it at the very beginning when his government was formed.

"I should have given attention to Digital Pakistan earlier. This is the most important thing for Pakistan right now, especially its youth. The whole world is moving forward digitally and we have been left behind.

"But you all know, and must be tired of hearing it, but we had an unprecented debt [...] and all our attention was focused towards stabilising the economy and our currency."

The premier said Pakistan has the world's second largest youth population "which can be converted into our strength with this one initiative alone". "Our women will be able to fully contribute. This is a very big opportunity."

He said that the introduction of e-governance will be essential in combatting "the endemic of corruption which started out at the top but with their flight to foreign countries has now settled down in the lower tiers of society".

"E-governance is the best way to make the lives of people easier."

PM Imran said in e-governance had been introduced in Shaukat Khanum 19 years ago, and by doing away with paper receipts, "all sorts of pilferage was done away with".

He said the same was being attempted for implementation but he was sad to report that the move was being met with a lot of resistance.

"You won't be able to stop us for much longer," he said, addressing the institutions opposed to shifting to digital platforms.

He said e-commerce will also be brought in after removing cyber security hurdles.

The premier reiterated his oft-repeated mantra of "ghabrana naheen hai (you must not give in to fear)" and promised "exciting times ahead" for the country.

"The country will experience a quantum leap ahead."

'Billion-dollar opportunities'
Tania Aidrus, a senior Google executive who quit her position to lead the initiative, also addressed the event.

She said that with the premier's assurances she had the confidence to "take a leap of faith and contribute to Pakistan".

Aidrus said that one of the foremost reasons why she was so bullish regarding opportunities in Pakistan was the fact that "more than 100 million people are below the age of 25".

"This means that for every Pakistani who retires in the next 20 years, three young Pakistanis will enter the workforce," she said.

Aidrus said these young Pakistanis are tech-savvy. "Technology is a part of their lives."

Tania Adrus addressing the event. — DawnNewsTV
She also spoke of a "strong, growing middle class" and a growth in consumer spending "in every vertical (market)". "Penetration of technology in these vertical markets is very low currently."

"In every market, whether it is transport, commerce, payments, in every vertical there is an opportunity to have billion-dollar companies," said Aidrus.

The tech consultant also said that Pakistan has more than 70 million internet users and local tech talent as well as diaspora which has been forming tech companies for a decade. "All these people are ready to contribute to the development of Pakistan."

She said all the government has to do is create an enabling environment, make digital building blocks, and policies which do not constrain innovation.

Aidrus then introduced the five strategic pillars which will form the basis of the new digital initiative:

Access and Connectivity that ensures every Pakistani has access to the internet that is a fundamental right that we need to make available universally and especially to underserved populations.
Digital Infrastructure that creates the ability to do most daily tasks using smart-phones in a secure and faster manner.
E-Government that digitises intra-government operations and processes towards a paperless and efficient environment and also digitises government services for citizens and businesses for better delivery.
Digital Skilling and Literacy that enables our tech graduates to secure relevant jobs. A majority of our tech graduates today cannot compete globally because our curriculum is outdated and barring them from monetising those skills.
Innovation and Entrepreneurship that provides an enabling environment for startups to flourish.
"Today we all need to make a commitment that we are ready to be a part of the revolution and will work together to move it forward.

"And to the skeptics: the question is not whether or not it can take place in Pakistan. The question is: how quickly can we begin?" she concluded by saying.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1520609/f...-says-pm-on-launch-of-digital-pakistan-vision

This reflects the level of confidence overseas Pakistanis have in the present political govts in comparison to the previous political govts.

now

When was Moeed Yusuf at Harvard?

(Mods please allow tweet from unverified account, he is CEO NITB :inti)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Edging closer to 1st International Payment Gateway pilot project kickoff in Pakistan.<br><br>The real game changer of PK eCommerce and Exports is just round the corner!<a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/ansukhera?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ansukhera</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/NationalITBoard?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@NationalITBoard</a></p>— Shabahat Ali Shah (@ShabahatAShah) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShabahatAShah/status/1202693136256045056?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 5, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Great news for Pakistan. Thank you Imran Khan.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Overwhelmed by the support & positive notes I have received so far by those wanting to help build <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DigitalPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DigitalPakistan</a>. We are heads down working for the next few months with all stakeholders.<br><br>Pls continue to share ideas/input on the 5 priorities at digitalpakistan@pmo.gov.pk <a href="https://t.co/ExHgB3giyV">pic.twitter.com/ExHgB3giyV</a></p>— Tania Aidrus (@taidrus) <a href="https://twitter.com/taidrus/status/1203342620119965697?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 7, 2019</a></blockquote>

What an uplifting news.

Hopefully, with less thieves and more people who actually want to contribute we will see a clear improvement in country's economic situation.

A good news for patriots; and a sad one for traitors and haters.

Wouldve been happier to see talent from local universities doing great things for Pak than seeing those who graduated from top American universities getting some sort of appreciation for coming back to Pakistan?

Wait till there be results. We all know how MIT Nadra dude ended up leaking CNIC data with his burger ideas.

Great credit to Imran Khan. The changes he wants won’t happen overnight and there will be many failures and obstacles ahead, but he must persist. Rome wasn’t built in a day. With him at the helm, Pakistan is in great hands.

Defeating the dynastic politics and belligerent media will take some time. Give him some time and the feudal Democrats will became history. Good time for Billawal Bhutto and the sharif children to pick up real skills and work in the real world in the meantime. Atrocious to even think that people who never had any real jobs in their lives can be trusted with the destiny of 220+ million people simply because of their last names.

Wait till there be results. We all know how MIT Nadra dude ended up leaking CNIC data with his burger ideas.

Agreed. Even these high performers must be held accountable. Accountability in every sector from the traffic violator to the big bureaucrats is what Pakistan sorely needs. Development happens when there’s justice and societal fairness.

Good for Pakistan. We enjoyed such positive stories during Congress regime, present govt of India is repelling world class talent for obvious reasons.

Honestly speaking, looking at her speech, she was just happy to be in the position she was provided with. A child giddy to have all eyes on her. Most of the google executives outside of the HQ mainly deal with sales and have nothing or least amount to do with innovation.

That being said, Tania, would definitely be better than the numbskulls Imran has in his cabinet.

Not enough. Because Tamater 300rs kg hai :)))

Patwari teenday aur tamatar se bahir kahan ahsaktay hain :))

You are laughing because this does not impact you. Its rather unfortunate that you are so narrow minded and myopic in your views that you dont care if commodity prices have gone insanely high. You simply dont care about 99 per cent of Pakistanis.

This is a step in the right direction and reminds me of Modi's Digital India campaign. I don't know how much it costs in Pakistan for unlimited calls or 1 gb per day internet data pack but if you want this campaign to succeed then you have to make these packs cheap. The number of internet users from India has increased in the past 2-3 years. The only downside of it is that the number of jaahil trolls have also increased on social media. :inti

You are laughing because this does not impact you. Its rather unfortunate that you are so narrow minded and myopic in your views that you dont care if commodity prices have gone insanely high. You simply dont care about 99 per cent of Pakistanis.

Don't give us lecture on having empathy for Pakistan's lesser fortunate when you go ahead and worship those that have ruled the country for 30-40 years and kept the people poor, hungry and illiterate. These people did not even build one hospital where they themselves feel confident going. So please spare us from whatever rubbish you are spewing when you have no qualms in supporting country's rapists.

If you had so much love for the country you wouldn't be supporting those that have looted and plundered with impunity.

"Leken kuch khata hai tu lagata bhi hai"

Also I'm glad you are feeling the pinch, there has to be some penance for supporting those who have brought the country to this stage. There have to be some consequences for your actions. Long may it continue inshallah.

To make of these talents, the govt needs a proper strategy and a budget. Otherwise, she will leave with little to show.

And now i want to die of laughter. Brother just sincere advise, when you dont know the context of something then dont poke your nose. Thanks :)

And if you want to debate on the point which you have raised, then be my guest.

Since when did people start engaging in private jokes on a public forum?

This is a public forum, there is no poking of nose, simply a modus operandi. Sincere advise to you would be to double check and not confuse this forum as your personal twitter account.

I replied to your post because i wanted to debate, why else would i waste my time on you?

Don't give us lecture on having empathy for Pakistan's lesser fortunate when you go ahead and worship those that have ruled the country for 30-40 years and kept the people poor, hungry and illiterate. These people did not even build one hospital where they themselves feel confident going. So please spare us from whatever rubbish you are spewing when you have no qualms in supporting country's rapists.

If you had so much love for the country you wouldn't be supporting those that have looted and plundered with impunity.

"Leken kuch khata hai tu lagata bhi hai"

Also I'm glad you are feeling the pinch, there has to be some penance for supporting those who have brought the country to this stage. There have to be some consequences for your actions. Long may it continue inshallah.

What kind of rubbish is this? What has supporting PMLN, which i dont because i actually voted for PTI for the National Assembly, to do with commodity prices in the first place?

How long can Imran Khan and his supporters vilify those before him for every fault and incompetency of his and his cabinet?

How can you justify 300 rupees per kilo price of tomatoes which is as basic as a commodity can get?

I am feeling the pinch because my salary halved in real terms value due to the increase in dollar rate. I am feeling the pinch because tax rates were increased. I am feeling the pinch because fuel prices have increased. I am feeling the pinch because commodity prices have increased.

And your answer to everything is? Haha, Nawaz Sharif, haha chorrr, haha patwari? Are you numb?

What kind of rubbish is this? What has supporting PMLN, which i dont because i actually voted for PTI for the National Assembly, to do with commodity prices in the first place?

How long can Imran Khan and his supporters vilify those before him for every fault and incompetency of his and his cabinet?

How can you justify 300 rupees per kilo price of tomatoes which is as basic as a commodity can get?

I am feeling the pinch because my salary halved in real terms value due to the increase in dollar rate. I am feeling the pinch because tax rates were increased. I am feeling the pinch because fuel prices have increased. I am feeling the pinch because commodity prices have increased.

And your answer to everything is? Haha, Nawaz Sharif, haha chorrr, haha patwari? Are you numb?

Ask yourself..why was the dollar rate increased? Why were taxes increased? Why are fuel rates increased? If you answer these questions honestly then you will not blame the current government but the financial voltures before.

This is a step in the right direction and reminds me of Modi's Digital India campaign. I don't know how much it costs in Pakistan for unlimited calls or 1 gb per day internet data pack but if you want this campaign to succeed then you have to make these packs cheap. The number of internet users from India has increased in the past 2-3 years. The only downside of it is that the number of jaahil trolls have also increased on social media. :inti

Over time, these new people will be able to filter fake news/trolling. It's a necessary risk.
The positive aspect is, people can document and share all the injustices being done to them. They can also see in "real time" who is stealing their kids' food and benefitting from what's rightfully theirs.

I know it sounds cheesy and idealistic but we got to start from somewhere.

Otherwise same set of smart thieves and their English speaking children will keep on ruling on illiterate/ignorant people.

You’re ignoring logistics and reasoning, and trying to support your argument on feelings, which only shows that you lack understanding in economy or willingly trying to ignore facts, and your vision is short term.

I’m sure PTI can keep the $$ artificially undervalued but then kids of the future will be paying the price.

the argument you’ve presented is usually made by PML-N when everything has failed to promote their false and fake patriotism, such as if this doesn’t happen or of it is true then “ mera naam badal deyna”.

More than half*

Previously I could afford a mid-range phone, its entry now. And those who used to buy entry phones can only afford used entry or off-brands phones now (tecno, infinix etc).

Its not the tomato alone, almost everything is poorly hit. Mine and other families are barely able to pull up necessary expenses (if they are able to find stuff at first place). I have stopped eating outside (except for a simple roti salan at work-lunch), I have stopped buying new clothes except for Chinese/leftovers,

While all I hear is Immi this Immi that, he seems to be insensitive regarding common people's issues for now.

and no, a fancy discount app wont do it, neither would circling complains of Citizen portal app would change anything. I can't even find a 2$ anti-depressant med in stores because IK though it would be better to give drug-import money to boots.

More than half*

Previously I could afford a mid-range phone, its entry now. And those who used to buy entry phones can only afford used entry or off-brands phones now (tecno, infinix etc).

Its not the tomato alone, almost everything is poorly hit. Mine and other families are barely able to pull up necessary expenses (if they are able to find stuff at first place). I have stopped eating outside (except for a simple roti salan at work-lunch), I have stopped buying new clothes except for Chinese/leftovers,

While all I hear is Immi this Immi that, he seems to be insensitive regarding common people's issues for now.

and no, a fancy discount app wont do it, neither would circling complains of Citizen portal app would change anything. I can't even find a 2$ anti-depressant med in stores because IK though it would be better to give drug-import money to boots.

Can you explain to me why the cost of everything has gone up?

LOL get over yourself. Your salary didn't half. You earn in ruppees and buy in ruppees, what does the dollar rate have to do with it? Unless you want to buy expensive imported items such as iPhones (as you have mentioned in other threads).

Can you explain to me what lead to the ruppee being devalued.

Also to add to my previous post, you mentioned fuel price increased

This is the trend of fuel prices in Pakistan. The amount shown on the right is in USD/Liter. As you can see the fuel price has remained relative stable and no where near the peak seen in 2015 when you know who was in government. The dollar has increased in value against the ruppee from 125 when PTI took over to 154 now. This has been necessary since Dar-nomics meant burning through precious foreign exchange to keep the ruppee stable, thereby taking the country to default.

Capture.jpg

https://tradingeconomics.com/pakistan/gasoline-prices

Can you explain to me why the cost of everything has gone up?

More than half*

Please eloborate and provide proof of your last allegation.
And also as [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] had asked, can you tell what has IK done to cause this hardship to the people?

Anyone know what her position was at Google (title and product group)? I haven't seen that anywhere

Please eloborate and provide proof of your last allegation.
And also as [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] had asked, can you tell what has IK done to cause this hardship to the people?

If you be in Pakistan, please find me rivotril. It only costs 2$ per pack, yet its no where to be seen. If you complain using citizen portal, they will claim that the company is supplying the product but its nowhere in shops for past year+. On the other hand they got enough to pay for Chinese ships!

You didn't answer my question.... why did everything become expensive? Please I'm eager to know your train of thought.

Bhai, you had said the meds import funding was given to the boots? please eloborate on that? or were you just GasLighting....

Chinese ships (both type 54 frigates and Type 39 submarines) purchase agreement was done prior to current government coming into power. AT the moment it is funded via Chinese loans and part of the Military 5 years acquisition budget.
You need to answer why are we in this state? was our economy going gangbusters under Nawaz Sharif and suddenly current government crashed it? Can you fix the rot that has taken 40+ years to be fixed in a blink of an eye.
I do empathize with the common man being crushed under burden. We can only hope, the current government's bitter pill to fix the economy and put it on the right path works. If we do follow through , it will take 5+ years for us to recover.

Chinese ships (both type 54 frigates and Type 39 submarines) purchase agreement was done prior to current government coming into power. AT the moment it is funded via Chinese loans and part of the Military 5 years acquisition budget.
You need to answer why are we in this state? was our economy going gangbusters under Nawaz Sharif and suddenly current government crashed it? Can you fix the rot that has taken 40+ years to be fixed in a blink of an eye.
I do empathize with the common man being crushed under burden. We can only hope, the current government's bitter pill to fix the economy and put it on the right path works. If we do follow through , it will take 5+ years for us to recover.

It can be recovered quickly, common person can be patched up. But no, govt is more into sucking out remains for their helicopters, Mercedes and boots's deals.

and being before IK doesn't mean that boots can plan it to be paid within IK time.

Bhai, you had said the meds import funding was given to the boots? please eloborate on that? or were you just GasLighting....

It can be seen in front of our eyes, for those who can see.

Stick to the topic

Thread is about Digital Pakistan.

Thanks. I tried looking her up on LinkedIn but didn't find her.

Payments experience is interesting, I wonder if that is G-Pay / Wallet related. Payments are poised to grow significantly in Brazil and LATAM in the next couple of years, China obviously leads the world with Ant Financial / Ali Pay and We Chat.

Really intrigued to she / IK's regime can do in tech

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We now have hundreds of doctors signed up & are ready to begin *testing* our telehealth service<br><br>If you want to consult a doctor, pls WhatsApp at<br>0300-1111166 or go to <a href="https://t.co/L9tS6st0Nd">https://t.co/L9tS6st0Nd</a> and give us your feedback<br><br>Doctors can continue to sign up on <a href="https://t.co/6Joc1VFVRM">https://t.co/6Joc1VFVRM</a></p>— Tania Aidrus (@taidrus) <a href="https://twitter.com/taidrus/status/1259520556854059009?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

KARACHI: A company related to the Digital Pakistan initiative — a brainchild of Prime Minister Imran Khan’s government — has stirred a controversy on social media, questioning the involvement of Tania Aidrus, the premier’s special aide leading the initiative, who is among the board of directors of the related company.

Prime Minister Khan had launched the Digital Pakistan programme on Dec 5 last year and named Ms Aidrus, a Google executive who quit her position, to lead the initiative.

The Digital Pakistan programme operates directly under the Prime Minister Office. Later in February, Ms Aidrus was appointed as Special Assistant to the PM (SAPM) on Digital Pakistan, according to terms of rule 4 of the Rules of Business 1973.

During the same month, as per recent disclosures made on social media and verified by Dawn, a not-for-profit company named the Digital Pakistan Foundation (DPF) was registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP) under section 42 to compliment the government’s Digital Pakistan initiative.

According to the SECP website, the founding directors of the foundation are Ms Aidrus, PTI stalwart Jahangir Tareen (who has been disqualified by the Supreme Court), ride-hailing app Careem’s CEO Mudassar Ilyas Sheikha and Mr Tareen’s lawyer Sikander Bashir Mohmand.

The inclusion of Ms Aidrus on the board of directors and the lack of transparency around the foundation’s funding and operations have raised concerns, particularly one leading to conflict of interest.

Company is not-for-profit entity & won’t take any payments from govt, says PM’s aide

Reacting to the concerns, Ms Aidrus told Dawn: “There is absolutely no issue with an SAPM being on the board of a not-for-profit company. It’s important to remember that this is not a private limited company and the same sector would only be an issue when the company is a profit-making entity.”

The purpose of the foundation, she said, was to provide free-of-cost support to the government in its digitisation initiatives.

“As such, the foundation does not intend to take any payments from the government. The foundation does not intend to increase the burden on the government, rather looks to alleviate it by raising funding from external donors via grants, not loans,” she said.

Tareen’s involvement
Ms Aidrus confirmed to Dawn that Mr Tareen was indeed part of the founding team “as someone who is tied to the government’s reform initiatives”.

However, she said, due to pressing personal and business commitments, which required his full-time attention in April, he resigned from the board.

“On April 15, 2020, Mr Tareen chose to resign as member and director and informed the board accordingly. The SECP approved Mr Tareen’s request to resign as subscriber member on April 23,” she said.

The former Google executive said the foundation’s team was in touch with numerous granters, including high net worth Pakistanis who were looking to give back to Pakistan.

The PM’s aide said Mr Tareen had no ongoing engagement or role within leadership, management or operations of the foundation.

With Mr Tareen and his lawyer’s resignation, the board is yet to make new appointments. Ms Aidrus said the expansion of the board had been delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic but should be done in July at the start of the new financial year.

The company, according to her, is yet to start operations formally and obtain funding.

Monetary gains
Ms Aidrus said no director or chairperson was permitted to draw a salary or a stipend from the organisation while holding any public office, or playing any other part-time or full-time role.

“No contracts have been signed or even exchanged at this point. The Digital Pakistan Foundation, like any other not-for-profit organisation, will need to go through the government/regulator’s requisite approval processes,” she told Dawn.

Conflict of interest?
According to lawyers, there is a lot to unpack in terms of legality surrounding the company’s operations and links to the government.

“There may not be a question of making personal monetary gains here. However, it’s in the interests of transparency and good practices to avoid such conflicts of interest between one’s role as a government actor on the one hand and acting as a board member for a privately controlled entity on the other,” constitutional lawyer Waqqas Mir told Dawn.

“In her capacity as SAPM she shouldn’t consult the government or advise it in relation to a private body where she serves as a board member,” he added.

According to Mr Mir, if the DPF was a foundation run by private citizens, and it bid for any government contracts where Ms Aidrus is also present in the capacity of a decision maker or consultant on the government’s side, such a conflict of interest would have to be disclosed to the government.

“As per a general rule, when a conflict of interest is disclosed, the person with the conflict doesn’t participate in the voting or decision-making process when it is taken up by the relevant government department or agency,” he added.

The role of SAPM is defined under rules of business that provide for the fact that the terms and conditions of appointment are approved by the cabinet.

“The appointment as a director of the company may not itself create a particular conflict of interest. However, if a public official is allowed to be chairman of a company, the procedures of her appointment and terms and conditions are subject to the rules of business,” said lawyer Reza Ali, adding that this appointment needed a cabinet approval.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1564826/company-linked-to-pms-digital-pakistan-unit-stirs-controversy

With JKT gone, hyenas chase Tania Aidrus

In February 2020 Ms Tania Aidrus was notified the Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Digital Pakistan. Before coming back to Pakistan Ms Aidrus had been working for Google for 12 years in various leadership roles, her last one being “Director, Product, Payments for Next Billion Users”. Ms Aidrus’ return to Pakistan, according to various sources within the government, was facilitated by Mr Jahangir Khan Tareen, the erstwhile PTI party stalwart. However, after the ouster of Jahangir Tareen due to the sugar scandal, opposing PTI factions want Ms Aidrus out too.

Conflict of interest or line of attack?

Long before Ms Aidrus’ notification as the SAPM on Faberuary 27, 2020, she and her former Google colleague Mr Khurram Jamali had been in talks with the government since early 2019. These talks were facilitated by Mr Jahangir Khan Tareen who was unofficially leading many of the reforms initiatives of the PTI government. According to the finalized plan, both Ms Aidrus and Mr Jamali would leave Google to join Prime Minister’s Digital Pakistan Initiative. Mr Jamali formerly worked under Ms Aidrus as “Head Partnerships - Payments for Next Billion Users” at Google.

Finally, in a grand ceremony in December 2019 held in Islamabad, the Prime Minister announced that Ms Aidrus would lead the Digital Pakistan Initiative. Ms Aidrus spoke on the occasion and gave an outline of her plan for Digital Pakistan. The presentation that both Ms Aidrus and Mr Jamali had earlier given the Prime included a plan to create a non-profit organization called Digital Pakistan Foundation. Both Ms Aidrus and Mr Jamali had given the outline of what Digital Pakistan Foundation was going to be.

According to Ms Aidrus, the government’s Digital Pakistan Initiative has no Federal Budget assigned to it, neither is it under the ambit of Ministry of IT or Ministry of Science and Technology, leaving it high and dry. The plan, since day one, and as presented to the Prime Minister, was to create a non-profit foundation called Digital Pakistan Foundation in parallel to the government’s Digital Pakistan Initiative.

Talking to Business Recorder, a source close the the developments said, “She has been talking about the Digital Pakistan Foundation since day one, she has been pretty transparent about it. She had been saying that she will make a foundation, and raise money to attract Pakistani talent abroad with good salaries because the Government of Pakistan isn’t spending anything on the Digital Pakistan Initiative. This was her plan from the very beginning and I think Khan was aware of it.”

The same was being said be both Mr Jamali and Ms Aidrus at various webinars and talks they were giving to industry group. One such webinar, given to Open Silicon Valley group, a group of tech Pakistani expatriates in USA working in tech, Mr Jamali gave his outline. According to Mr Jamali, this was not a novel structure unique to Pakistan and they did not come up with the idea on their own. According to Mr Jamali, India also has a similar structure where a non-profit think-tank called iSpirit works as an industry group in parallel to the government from policy formulations to execution of digital projects.

Hence, on 27th February 2020, a day before Ms Aidrus was officially notified as SAPM, Digital Pakistan Foundation was registered with SECP as a non-profit foundation. The foundation had Mr Jamali as its CEO; Ms Aidrus ad the Chairperson of the board; and Mr Mudassir Ilyas Shaikha, Mr Sikandar Bashir Mohmand, and Mr Jahangir Khan Tareen as board members. Pertinent to mention here is that Mr Mohmand is Mr Tareen’s lawyer in court for the sugar scandal.

Later in April, when sugar scandal came out and it became obvious that Mr Tareen was being ousted from PTI, both Mr Mohmand and Mr Tareen resigned from the board of Digital Pakistan Foundation.

While technically a conflict of interest on holding both roles does exist, however, there have been no indications that Ms Aidrus had kept her involvement with Digital Pakistan Foundation secret at any point. In fact, both Ms Aidrus and Mr Jamali had been touting the benefits of this structure very publicly.

Why now?

The Digital Pakistan Foundation was made in February, both Mr Aidrus and Mr Jamali had been talking about it publicly since then in various interviews and webinars, so why has it suddenly become a scandal? This, according to investigations by Business Recorder, has to do with Mr Tareen’s ouster.

Jahangir Khan Tareen was a PTI party stalwart, he was a patron to many position holders within the PTI government and was extremely close the Prime Minister. When the sugar scandal came out, the Prime Minister Imran Khan grew disillusioned with Mr Tareen for prioritizing his sugar business over national interest. This let to the estrangement of the PM and Mr Tareen, who, according to sources, are not on talking terms any longer. Mr Tareen has reportedly left Pakistan and does not hold sway in the government any longer.

Consequently, all those brought into the party and the government by Mr Tareen stand vulnerable to PTI’s faction wars and infighting. Ms Aidrus is one of the casualties.

The attacks on Ms Aidrus seem to be emanating from the office of Shabahat Ali Shah, CEO of NITB. From day one, Ms Aidrus and Mr Shah have not been getting along. Since both work for IT side of the government, there has been an overlap of their turfs, leading to turf wars. A close friend of Mr Shah, Ms Sabeen Sultan has been leading social media attacks against Ms Aidrus. Taking advantage of Ms Aidrus’ fresh vulnerability, they allegedly want her ousted from her role as SAPM. To that end, the Digital Pakistan Foundation scandal was intentionally leaked to a journalist on Twitter, whose thread about the scandal was later picked up by various media outlets.

The cost of Infighting

While two of the arguably most important government departments are involved in infighting, it is Pakistan that is suffering. Due to this infighting, the development of critical and key software infrastructure aimed at leading the government's war against Coronavirus was also made controversial, as reported by Business Recorder earlier. It seems like in many other projects of the PTI government, the important work in the IT sector of Pakistan will also be sacrificed to the clash of egos and turf wars.

As with everything, the buck of this too stops with the Prime Minister.
https://www.brecorder.com/news/40000589

KARACHI: A company related to the Digital Pakistan initiative — a brainchild of Prime Minister Imran Khan’s government — has stirred a controversy on social media, questioning the involvement of Tania Aidrus, the premier’s special aide leading the initiative, who is among the board of directors of the related company.

Prime Minister Khan had launched the Digital Pakistan programme on Dec 5 last year and named Ms Aidrus, a Google executive who quit her position, to lead the initiative.

The Digital Pakistan programme operates directly under the Prime Minister Office. Later in February, Ms Aidrus was appointed as Special Assistant to the PM (SAPM) on Digital Pakistan, according to terms of rule 4 of the Rules of Business 1973.

During the same month, as per recent disclosures made on social media and verified by Dawn, a not-for-profit company named the Digital Pakistan Foundation (DPF) was registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan (SECP) under section 42 to compliment the government’s Digital Pakistan initiative.

According to the SECP website, the founding directors of the foundation are Ms Aidrus, PTI stalwart Jahangir Tareen (who has been disqualified by the Supreme Court), ride-hailing app Careem’s CEO Mudassar Ilyas Sheikha and Mr Tareen’s lawyer Sikander Bashir Mohmand.

The inclusion of Ms Aidrus on the board of directors and the lack of transparency around the foundation’s funding and operations have raised concerns, particularly one leading to conflict of interest.

Company is not-for-profit entity & won’t take any payments from govt, says PM’s aide

Reacting to the concerns, Ms Aidrus told Dawn: “There is absolutely no issue with an SAPM being on the board of a not-for-profit company. It’s important to remember that this is not a private limited company and the same sector would only be an issue when the company is a profit-making entity.”

The purpose of the foundation, she said, was to provide free-of-cost support to the government in its digitisation initiatives.

“As such, the foundation does not intend to take any payments from the government. The foundation does not intend to increase the burden on the government, rather looks to alleviate it by raising funding from external donors via grants, not loans,” she said.

Tareen’s involvement
Ms Aidrus confirmed to Dawn that Mr Tareen was indeed part of the founding team “as someone who is tied to the government’s reform initiatives”.

However, she said, due to pressing personal and business commitments, which required his full-time attention in April, he resigned from the board.

“On April 15, 2020, Mr Tareen chose to resign as member and director and informed the board accordingly. The SECP approved Mr Tareen’s request to resign as subscriber member on April 23,” she said.

The former Google executive said the foundation’s team was in touch with numerous granters, including high net worth Pakistanis who were looking to give back to Pakistan.

The PM’s aide said Mr Tareen had no ongoing engagement or role within leadership, management or operations of the foundation.

With Mr Tareen and his lawyer’s resignation, the board is yet to make new appointments. Ms Aidrus said the expansion of the board had been delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic but should be done in July at the start of the new financial year.

The company, according to her, is yet to start operations formally and obtain funding.

Monetary gains
Ms Aidrus said no director or chairperson was permitted to draw a salary or a stipend from the organisation while holding any public office, or playing any other part-time or full-time role.

“No contracts have been signed or even exchanged at this point. The Digital Pakistan Foundation, like any other not-for-profit organisation, will need to go through the government/regulator’s requisite approval processes,” she told Dawn.

Conflict of interest?
According to lawyers, there is a lot to unpack in terms of legality surrounding the company’s operations and links to the government.

“There may not be a question of making personal monetary gains here. However, it’s in the interests of transparency and good practices to avoid such conflicts of interest between one’s role as a government actor on the one hand and acting as a board member for a privately controlled entity on the other,” constitutional lawyer Waqqas Mir told Dawn.

“In her capacity as SAPM she shouldn’t consult the government or advise it in relation to a private body where she serves as a board member,” he added.

According to Mr Mir, if the DPF was a foundation run by private citizens, and it bid for any government contracts where Ms Aidrus is also present in the capacity of a decision maker or consultant on the government’s side, such a conflict of interest would have to be disclosed to the government.

“As per a general rule, when a conflict of interest is disclosed, the person with the conflict doesn’t participate in the voting or decision-making process when it is taken up by the relevant government department or agency,” he added.

The role of SAPM is defined under rules of business that provide for the fact that the terms and conditions of appointment are approved by the cabinet.

“The appointment as a director of the company may not itself create a particular conflict of interest. However, if a public official is allowed to be chairman of a company, the procedures of her appointment and terms and conditions are subject to the rules of business,” said lawyer Reza Ali, adding that this appointment needed a cabinet approval.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1564826/company-linked-to-pms-digital-pakistan-unit-stirs-controversy

a complete non story. Sounds like the media is just trying to spin anything they can. Nonsensical

She is most likely a competent and talented individual because her qualifications and work experience cannot be questioned.

Unfortunately, she like many others fell for the tabdeeli scam and decided to stick her finger in this mess.

Everything is falling apart for PTI and InshAllah this tabdeeli circus will be over soon. They are on borrowed time.

She is most likely a competent and talented individual because her qualifications and work experience cannot be questioned.

Unfortunately, she like many others fell for the tabdeeli scam and decided to stick her finger in this mess.

Everything is falling apart for PTI and InshAllah this tabdeeli circus will be over soon. They are on borrowed time.

So you couldn't find anything in this story and you thought that you would add something just for the sake of it.

Be patient. Remember when you used to dispel the rumors of Asad Umar’s sacking only to be left red faced in the end?

Same will happen here. She is on borrowed time and will pay a price for leaving Google and sticking her finger in this mess.

I bet she is already regretting her decision of falling for this tabdeeli scam.

Cracks are appearing in this government and it is going to collapse any time now.

Be patient. Remember when you used to dispel the rumors of Asad Umar’s sacking only to be left red faced in the end?

Same will happen here. She is on borrowed time and will pay a price for leaving Google and sticking her finger in this mess.

I bet she is already regretting her decision of falling for this tabdeeli scam.

Cracks are appearing in this government and it is going to collapse any time now.

I am not sure why you get excited. Its politics, these things happens, people fallout, alliances change and new alliances made. Just because you read Noora propaganda and lies doesn't make it true. The fact that you commented on a non story shows how desperate you are.
You are a guy that supports murderers, what is more immoral than that? If you had an ounce of integrity or self respect, you would be too embarrassed to open your mouth. Is the killing of innocent journalists justified.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Is the fit and proper criterion of SECP met? The question of conflict of interest raised by <a href="https://twitter.com/omar_quraishi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@omar_quraishi</a> ?<br>SAPM <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TaniaAidrus?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TaniaAidrus</a> answers questions &#55357;&#56391; <a href="https://t.co/OhmJ0xpBAf">pic.twitter.com/OhmJ0xpBAf</a></p>— Arshad Sharif (@arsched) <a href="https://twitter.com/arsched/status/1275883171670831106?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 24, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Not here to boast or anything but one thing Erdogan (and I am not one of his supportesrs) government really succeeded at doing was to digitalise all the government services in Turkey, Being 2 friendly countries I am sure Turkey would be more than happy to share their experiences.

Nothing is going in IK's favor at the moment, but all his life, he never got anything easy. He has achieved success at the end, always, when many of his supporters had lost hope on him . Lets wait for 3 more years, hold your judgment yet. We have given decades to the certified corrupts one, no need to be impatient with this man.

Not here to boast or anything but one thing Erdogan (and I am not one of his supportesrs) government really succeeded at doing was to digitalise all the government services in Turkey, Being 2 friendly countries I am sure Turkey would be more than happy to share their experiences.

Digitisation in a country with daily load sheddings, lol, good luck with that.

If only Tania Airdus was a PML-N, PPP appointee, one badniyat habitual character assasinater would have atleast had one less PTI appointed individual from his hit list

I can post series of tweets to explain what has happened in this case but unfortunately it's non verified account but someone who i know who is neutral and knows the issue. It is an absolute NON ISSUE and minor conflict of interest isnt for her personal benefits but not for profit organisation she is heading.

What's going on since morning re @taidrus' involvement in DPF is precisely the reason y well meaning & competent people don't work for the govt. We r quick to judge ppl on our fears, on presumptions, on unstated intentions & potential actions instead of quality of results.

Her only fault is she is giving back to her country and linked to Imran Khan government. Almost entire media mafia is after her and they have been trying to discredit her, many Bilawal's liberal aunties/ uncles (& Sharif's Geo mafia) even questioning her qualification.

Tania isn't the only one targeted by mafia, just an example:

Zulfi Bukhari faces worst attacks any minister has in recent years as minister for Overseas Pakistanis, now does someone even know who our previous ministers were and their performances? Someone called Pir Sadruddin Shah was Nawaz Sharif's minister & Farooq Sattar previously in PPP govt. None of them ever heard them doing single thing but somehow Zulfi Bukhari is the biggest evil, he has been far more active working on release of prisoners in many countries, bringing investment to Pakistan, fixing many issues (regularly get updates from him on Twitter).

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Criticism levied towards the state as a consequence of my citizenship status is clouding the purpose of Digital Pakistan. In the greater public interest, I have submitted my resignation from the SAPM role. I will continue to serve my country and the PM’s vision to my best ability <a href="https://t.co/BWBvBvO6uz">pic.twitter.com/BWBvBvO6uz</a></p>— Tania Aidrus (@taidrus) <a href="https://twitter.com/taidrus/status/1288405086151094274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I would not accept her resignation. What is this bakwaas? she has been a guiding light for this new vision. So basically if you are an overseas pakistani send your money but dont come and help. What a load of rubbish. I expect certain people on this forum will be happy now.

This is really bad news, we have someone really good and she resigns. How the hell is PK going to move forward when when we cant keep people like her. Everything must be done to persuade her to stay.

I am not sure why you get excited. Its politics, these things happens, people fallout, alliances change and new alliances made. Just because you read Noora propaganda and lies doesn't make it true. The fact that you commented on a non story shows how desperate you are.
You are a guy that supports murderers, what is more immoral than that? If you had an ounce of integrity or self respect, you would be too embarrassed to open your mouth. Is the killing of innocent journalists justified.

More humiliation for you and your ilk. It was only a matter of time before she was going to bow out.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Criticism levied towards the state as a consequence of my citizenship status is clouding the purpose of Digital Pakistan. In the greater public interest, I have submitted my resignation from the SAPM role. I will continue to serve my country and the PM’s vision to my best ability <a href="https://t.co/BWBvBvO6uz">pic.twitter.com/BWBvBvO6uz</a></p>— Tania Aidrus (@taidrus) <a href="https://twitter.com/taidrus/status/1288405086151094274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The h*r****s that looted and murdered PK people have the audacity to criticise a professional that is moving PK forward.

now

Looks like the top notch talent from Google couldn’t even last for a year. Aur bhangra daalo.

I would not accept her resignation. What is this bakwaas? she has been a guiding light for this new vision. So basically if you are an overseas pakistani send your money but dont come and help. What a load of rubbish. I expect certain people on this forum will be happy now.

These are the quotes of Imran before he became the PM.

“When you have a foreign passport, you cannot have any leadership role in Pakistan because your stakes are not in the country”

“Humay wo leadership chahiye jo bahir mulko me kishtya jala ke aye aur bahir paisa na rakhay. Jab Pakistani rupaya girta hai tou in logon ka faida na ho bal k nuqsan ho”

So on what basis do PTI cult-followers justify her appointment?

I actually agree with Imran on this. If overseas Pakistanis want leadership role in the country then they just give up their foreign passports.

She is more than welcome to work here in her capacity if she gives up her foreign citizenship, but she obviously will not do that because working for Naya Pakistan is less important than having a foreign passport.

More humiliation for you and your ilk. It was only a matter of time before she was going to bow out.

How the hell is that humiliation for me? It showed you up as total stool for thinking her name was funny and having no idea what a good job she was doing. As someone said yesterday, you have to be one the one thickest Doctors anyone has ever come across.

Her resignation should not be accepted. The leech mentality of the media and mafia would not go away its engraved in them. She should stop giving attention to the trolls and such mentality.

The hypocrisy in here is that the same people vouch for London treatment for their party heads and argue that Pakistani do not have skills or equipment for such treatment. However, when same skill and experience is being imported from outside the same people argue that being an outsider does not merit a place in Pakistan as it kills homegrown capabilities.

How the hell is that humiliation for me? It showed you up as total stool for thinking her name was funny and having no idea what a good job she was doing. As someone said yesterday, you have to be one the one thickest Doctors anyone has ever come across.

It is humiliating for you because you were denying the rumors that her days are numbered. As I told earlier, this was the Asad Umar all over again.

Cult-followers were praising him and rubbishing the rumors of his resignation a day before it happened.

I told you her days were numbered because it was obvious for anyone who didn’t have blinkers on.

Are you loving it now? Because I am.

You were shown up by her competence and the praise for her work hurt a loser like you. Stick to Billo and Btw where was you on UZ thread when he killed 198 people at the behest of Billo and daddy or the murder of the innocent journalist.

It is humiliating for you because you were denying the rumors that her days are numbered. As I told earlier, this was the Asad Umar all over again.

Cult-followers were praising him and rubbishing the rumors of his resignation a day before it happened.

I told you her days were numbered because it was obvious for anyone who didn’t have blinkers on.

I heard no rumours and I would urge her to reconsider. PK needs people like her not losers like you.

Her resignation should not be accepted. The leech mentality of the media and mafia would not go away its engraved in them. She should stop giving attention to the trolls and such mentality.

The hypocrisy in here is that the same people vouch for London treatment for their party heads and argue that Pakistani do not have skills or equipment for such treatment. However, when same skill and experience is being imported from outside the same people argue that being an outsider does not merit a place in Pakistan as it kills homegrown capabilities.

It is a question of having dual passports. Imran made it very clear in the past that no person with a foreign passport should have a leadership role in the country. So why is that not applicable to his party now?

She is free to continue in her role if she gives up her Singaporean residency.

I heard no rumours and I would urge her to reconsider. PK needs people like her not losers like you.

Your “urging” from the UK wouldn’t even reach her.

She is free to continue if she agrees to give up her Singaporean residency.

So what matters more to her - making a difference in Naya Pakistan and steering the country forward or Singaporean residency?

The h*r****s that looted and murdered PK people have the audacity to criticise a professional that is moving PK forward.

This professional can continue to move the country forward if she forsakes her Singaporean residency.

Again - Imran laid the rule himself.

It is a question of having dual passports. Imran made it very clear in the past that no person with a foreign passport should have a leadership role in the country. So why is that not applicable to his party now?

She is free to continue in her role if she gives up her Singaporean residency.

Is your point IK's "hypocrisy" or are you actually in favor of this silly thought process?

She has Canadian citizenship due to being born there.