Teaching Bhagvad Gita and Ramayana Made ‘Mandatory’ in Muslim Madrasas in Uttar Pradesh , India

Lonewarrior

First Class Star
download-2-2.jpeg

The National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS) has ordered the standard for madrasas as a component of the new educational plan on antiquated Indian information and legacy in the New Education Policy (NEP).

NIOS is has found itself standing against a solid resistance via self-governing madrasas in Uttar Pradesh for its policy to teach Hindu religious book Bhagavad Gita compulsory in 100 autonomous madrasas.

https://thekashmiriyat.co.uk/teaching-bhagvad-gita-and-ramayana-made-mandatory-in-madrasas-in-uttar-pradesh/

https://thewire.in/education/uttar-pradesh-madrasas-hindu-epics-new-education-policy

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/is-a-post-hindutva-ultra-nationalism-milieu-forcing-even-secular-parties-towards-polarisation/articleshow/81395121.cms

In the past two weeks, the Delhi and the Uttar Pradesh governments have announced decisions on academic syllabi that were rooted in politics and ideology and loaded with far-reaching implications. The Arvind Kejriwal regime will introduce a ‘desh bhakti’ (patriotism) curriculum in the schools it administers from the 2021-22 academic year. The agenda is to inculcate “pride” in the nation, foster a “sense of duty and responsibility” towards the country, and “inspire passion” to “sacrifice” when the call comes. In UP, the National Institute of Open Schooling will make teaching of the Bhagavad Gita and Ramayana mandatory in autonomous madrasas. The decision was resisted by Lucknow’s old Islamic seminary, the Darul Uloom Farangi Mahal, and prominent clerics. Kejriwal wants to buttress his ‘pro-nationalist’ testimonial. UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath’s chock-full Hindutva resume doesn’t need an add-on, except as a flavour enhancer in the campaign to bulk-buy Hindu votes in the 2022 elections.

Nobody will argue with the idea of instilling patriotic sentiments in the young. The problem is that patriotism is an overwrought term. It borders perilously close to jingoism and serves as a lever to propagate an exclusionary world-view, classified by who is ‘loyal’ and who is ‘disloyal’ to the country. Deployed by a political party, “desh bhakti” arouses suspicion among many.

Both the calls unmistakably reflect the leaders’ sensibility and their political ends. Muslims were important in giving Kejriwal the heft he needed in Delhi where he battled the BJP and the Congress, each of which commanded dedicated votes until 2013. Like most parties that fill their banks with minority votes primarily by projecting the BJP-RSS bogey, and themselves as the deliverance, Kejriwal’s Aam Admi Party (AAP) followed the established trajectory. Muslims have a point when they accuse the ‘secular’ entities of taking their support for granted. At some point, the bluff is called.

The five recent by-polls to fill in vacancies in the Delhi Municipal Corporation were a forewarning to AAP from the city’s Muslims. Doubtless, AAP won four, including a ward in Shalimar Bagh, a BJP bastion, but significantly it lost Chauhan Banger, in a predominantly Muslim area, to a down-and-out Congress. Chauhan Banger was among the riot-affected pockets of northeast Delhi in 2020. The violence happened soon after AAP won the Delhi elections but Kejriwal and his associates were mindful of their responses. AAP was aware that most of the eight seats the BJP picked up were from a polarised electorate in northeast and east Delhi. Indeed, Manish Sisodia, Kejriwal’s close political associate, who piloted AAP’s flagship health and education programmes, fought hard to win his seat in east Delhi once the BJP had painted his party as “pro-Muslim”. Kejriwal had to undo the BJP’s charge and the February-March 2020 violence seemed an appropriate time to change the narrative.

When Delhi police accused Tahir Hussain, an AAP councillor, of instigating the conflicts, Hussain was promptly suspended. The riot victims accused the Delhi government of pursuing a tardy and opaque relief and rehabilitation policy that gave the local officials the carte blanche to reject compensation claims arbitrarily.

The violence was not a solitary cause for disenchantment with AAP among the Muslims. Although the party voted against the Citizenship Law amendments in Parliament, Kejriwal did not flag the issue in his election campaign except to point out that migrants from UP and Bihar might lose their citizenship rights once the amendments were enforced. He did not mention the price that Muslims would have to pay. Kejriwal was indifferent to the protests that erupted against the tweaked citizenship law, although the epicentres at Shaheen Bagh and Jamia Millia University were both part of the Okhla Assembly seat won by his legislator, Amanatullah Khan. When Jamia students were assaulted by the Delhi police, Khan helped them in his capacity as the Delhi Waqf Board chairman, and not an AAP MLA.

That wasn’t all. Kejriwal and his colleagues came down hard on Delhi’s Nizamuddin Markaz for convening a religious gathering of Tablighi Jamaat followers after the pandemic set in. One set of rules for the minority communities and one set for the majority. During Diwali, when the national capital was still battling the Covid virus, Kejriwal herded his cabinet to the Akshardham temple to light lamps and offer puja. The Congress wasn’t particularly vocal in opposing these developments when they happened, but closer to the civic by-polls, its Muslim leaders hit the streets against Kejriwal and took away AAP’s minority votes. If AAP was perturbed over Chauhan Banger’s loss, its leaders didn’t show it. After all, they won the other four wards. The Delhi polls are far away and Kejriwal can sit pretty until then, confident — as his spokespersons claimed — that they prised away the “Hindu” votes from the BJP by wearing secularism as a garb to conceal a “Hindu hriday” (heart).

Treading on secularism is not an easy manoeuvre in a hard-as-nails BJP regime. Ask the Samajwadi Party that is up against Adityanath in UP. The elections are less than a year away. It’s only now that Akhilesh Yadav has dusted and oiled the wheels of his party’s cycle (its official symbol) before taking it on the roads. When the cycle moves, its first route will begin in Rampur in western UP to draw people’s attention to the “oppression” of Azam Khan, the SP’s best known Muslim leader. Khan and his family, including his wife Tanzeem Fatima, are in jail for various crimes, ranging from livestock theft to forgery. But Khan brings in the Muslim votes and Akhilesh can’t ignore him any longer. However, it’s not just about minority votes. Has Akhilesh sensed certain vibes on the ground that signify the arrival of a propitious moment to push the cycle forward against the BJP?

up deobandi groups were pro-unionists and anti-Pakistan

got what was coming tbh

At least UP's Muslim students will know what the Baghavat Gita is about even if the vast majority of Bollywood watching public don't have much idea.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/mis...ntroducing-gita-ramayana-in-madrassas-2383413

"Various subjects are offered to learners under this provision-without any hard-line boundaries of fixed subject combinations unlike that in the formal education system. It is totally the discretion of the learner to opt for subject combination from the bouquet of the subjects provided by NIOS," read the release.

"There are around 100 madrassas with 50,000 students are accredited with NIOS. Further, there are plans to accredit around 500 more madrassas with the NIOS in the recent future- totally on the basis of demand of madrassas," it added.

Why do Madrasas want to be accredited with NIOS? The community run religious schools dont have this requirement

And what is wrong in learning the the history of the land we are living in?

You cannot force anyone to learn things they do not want to learn.

I feel Madrassas themselves useless. What will the students do after they graduate from a Madrassa? become an Alim and live in poverty? On top of that what will those students achieve by studying Gita and Ramayana?

Make science and computer learning mandatory to all religious schools. That is the only thing that should be mandatory.

You cannot force anyone to learn things they do not want to learn.

I feel Madrassas themselves useless. What will the students do after they graduate from a Madrassa? become an Alim and live in poverty? On top of that what will those students achieve by studying Gita and Ramayana?

Make science and computer learning mandatory to all religious schools. That is the only thing that should be mandatory.

I agree with science and computers. But Geeta and Mahabharat are not only India's identity it is also our literature similar to Homers Odyssey which used to be in English school curriculum as far as I know. There are management classes based on Gita in few prestigious management institutions.

And students can write criticism of characters when it’s taught as literature , do you want students of other religions writing criticism of Hindu Gods as papers?

What? Lol stop trolling - where is it classified as history?

Mahabharat is classified as Ithihasa in Sanskrit which literally means history. Gita is considered to be written in 2nd century BCE text before that it was orally transmitted.

And students can write criticism of characters when it’s taught as literature , do you want students of other religions writing criticism of Hindu Gods as papers?

I personally don't mind it at all. Hindu Gods are imperfect they represent an aspect of human beings who are imperfect.

Honestly don't mind the teaching of religion as an academic discipline, it is really interesting and has a wealth of history, philosophy, theology, etc behind it, but it shouldn't be taught as fact. I very much dislike the idea of religious schools, but since they're not being proselytised Hinduism, is there an issue here? Though, mandated reading of a certain religious text doesn't sit too well with me.

Dangerous. A muslim well versed in Islamic as well as hindu scriptures will eat the secular hindu zombies, disconnected from their culture and traditions, alive in a debate.

Why will Gita and Ramayana be part of the identity of an Indian Muslim? That makes no sense. For a Muslim, their identity is Islam.

Separate religion and its philosophy from education and it should never be enforced on anyone.

Muslims will know more about these things than I do.

And oh, BIMARU gonna BIMARU.

People advocating for this move would cry if non-muslims are forced to study Quran. India is no longer secular.

Non muslims are already forced to listen to muslim themed songs, and many of these zombie hindus dance on this songs in their marriage. these zombie hindus also say shadi mubarak to each other lol.

I studied in a public school in India where we were taught not only about Hinduism but also about Islam, Christianity, Sikhism and the lives of Prophet Mohammed, Jesus and Guru Nanak.

The madrasa system always needed modernisation. Why do they have a problem learning about other religions, in addition to their own?

And yes, nobody takes lessons of secularism from Pakistan seriously

The madrasa system always needed modernisation. Why do they have a problem learning about other religions, in addition to their own?

Fully agreed. They are taught Quran which was compiled in the 7th century, so they need modern education in the form of Ramayan and Gita which are ancient texts with modern thinking.

Indians: “Muslim kids in Madrassas need to learn more than Quran since it is from over 1,400 years ago”

Also Indians: “Perfect solution would for them to learn an even older book and one whose origins are uncertain.”

Indians: “Muslim kids in Madrassas need to learn more than Quran since it is from over 1,400 years ago”

Also Indians: “Perfect solution would for them to learn an even older book and one whose origins are uncertain.”

Indians Now: 'Perfect solution is for them to learn not only from the Quran but also from other religious texts so they can get a holistic view of the world'.

Yes im sure its being done for holistic reasons alone Just like all the other changes the current govt have been making specific to muslims in india

If this is being taught as Mythology their is nothing wrong with it. Like in west people learn about Greek mythology, so no reason for people in subcontinent regardless of religion to not learn about this.

Mughals had translated the Mahabharata into Persian which was called the Razmnama, and the Ramayana as well.

I would not mind this being taught in Pakistan, actually think it would be good idea, as long as its being taught as mythology.

If true, this is too much, no one should be forced to learn a religious belief. Hindus are now taking a similar leaf out of the Abrahamic religious mindset.. I will never support something like this.

Yes im sure its being done for holistic reasons alone Just like all the other changes the current govt have been making specific to muslims in india

The so-called 'muslim specific ' changes have already been in place for Hindus and other religions in India for decades. Nobody deserves any privileges that others don't have. Kind of difficult for certain people who think they are 'God's chosen ones' to accept reality but you lot will come around.

If true, this is too much, no one should be forced to learn a religious belief. Hindus are now taking a similar leaf out of the Abrahamic religious mindset.. I will never support something like this.

Stop talking like a clueless Indian leftist, Romali. You are better than this, my friend.

Nobody is forcing anyone to accept anything. They are only being asked to learn about other religions.

Stop talking like a clueless Indian leftist, Romali. You are better than this, my friend.

Nobody is forcing anyone to accept anything. They are only being asked to learn about other religions.

I don't have any problems if it is to teach about other religions. However teaching Hinduism in a Madrasas is the issue, its similar to; if someone comes to the temple and starts teaching about Islam or any other Abrahamic faiths, imagine if an Imam or a Christian priest starts speaking about; if you don't believe in Allah or Jesus you will go to hell etc, this will not go down well as Hindus don't really care about their gods or beliefs and it is downright disrespectful.

You are right. Hindus should also learn about other religions through Guru Granth Sahib, Quran and Bible. :inti

Yes, I do believe so. Even if not being taught everything about it, some introduction to all religions, their beliefs and the lives of their revered figures should be a part of every curriculum.

I don't have any problems if it is to teach about other religions. However teaching Hinduism in a Madrasas is the issue, its similar to; if someone comes to the temple and starts teaching about Islam or any other Abrahamic faiths, imagine if an Imam or a Christian priest starts speaking about; if you don't believe in Allah or Jesus you will go to hell etc, this will not go down well as Hindus don't really care about their gods or beliefs and it is downright disrespectful.

Dude, I went to a Christian school in India (Andhra Board) and learned basics of Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Jainism and Zoroastrianism during the history lessons. We also learned poems by Tulsidas (a hardcore Ram Bhakt who wrote Hanuman Chalisa) during Hindi lessons, alongside the dohas of Kabirdas and Abdul Rahim. I fact, I found the lessons on the life of Prophet Mohammed most interesting. 80% of my class was Hindu, the rest being Muslims and Christians, and we never complained about other religions. Our only concern was how to learn these things well so we could pass the exams :)

Which is why we musn't have poojaris, padris or imams teaching kids. Primary and secondary education must never be oriented towards any religion. Once the kids learn the basics, they can do advanced studies in any religion of their choice.

Dude, I went to a Christian school in India (Andhra Board) and learned basics of Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Jainism and Zoroastrianism during the history lessons. We also learned poems by Tulsidas (a hardcore Ram Bhakt who wrote Hanuman Chalisa) during Hindi lessons, alongside the dohas of Kabirdas and Abdul Rahim. I fact, I found the lessons on the life of Prophet Mohammed most interesting. 80% of my class was Hindu, the rest being Muslims and Christians, and we never complained about other religions. Our only concern was how to learn these things well so we could pass the exams :)

I agree, teaching religion in schools are fine however teaching different religions in places of worships not related to that religion is not a good thing imo. Especially in places like India , it is asking for trouble.

It is only hindu texts being put on the curriculum in mosques, how is that holistic view of the world?

The National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS), an autonomous organization under the Education Ministry, announced that it has prepared 15 courses on "Indian knowledge tradition."

Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal presented the new curricula last week, lauding India as a "knowledge superpower" in topics including Veda (ancient religious text), yoga, science, Sanskrit language, and Hindu epics such as Ramayana and Bhagavad Gita.

According to the ministry, teachings on such topics will shortly be incorporated into Muslim educational institutions known as madrasas.

The NIOS, which provides courses at primary, secondary and senior levels, and follows standards similar to those of national and state education boards, said it would initially launch the program with 100 madrasas, extending to 500 in the future.

But the program has drawn sharp criticism from senior Muslim clerics, who feel that the courses are "unjustified" and "arbitrary."

Some clerics even described the program as part of wider efforts of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's nationalist ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to "Hinduize" India.

"It is almost akin to asking medical colleges to teach the Koran and the Bible instead of what it was set out for," Maulana Khalid Rasheed, of the Lucknow-based Darul Uloom Farangi Mahal Islamic seminary, told DW.

"The new education policy emphasizes the creation of a sense of pride towards 'Indianness' within learners," Rasheed said. "This goes against the directive of educational institutions," he added.

In July last year, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), India's largest education board, announced that it had cut its 2021 syllabus by 30%.

Government-run schools were no longer required to give lessons on democratic rights, secularism, federalism and citizenship, among other topics. The decision sparked concerns that the omission of such subjects was politically motivated.

"These concepts lie at the core of the Indian Constitution but have at times come into conflict with the Hindu-majoritarian ideology of the ruling right-wing BJP," Sahil Husain, an education expert, told DW, adding that parties across India's political spectrum have been accused of using education as a means of propagating their agendas.

Critics have accused the BJP of altering the education system to push its uniform brand of Indian identity.

Threat to religious stability

Maulana Yasoob Abbas, a Muslim cleric, told DW that the program is "divisive" and "goes against the grain of constitutional principles." He said the new mandatory teachings would "increase the fault lines" between India's Hindu and Muslim communities.

In addition, "teaching other religious scriptures is against the tenets of madrasas," Abbas said.

"Would the current government accept the teaching of the Koran in the RSS-backed Sishu mandir schools?" he said, referring to the right-wing Hindu nationalist Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) group.

The Indian government suspended internet services and tightened security on Friday in several areas including the Northern state of Uttar Pradesh. The government is expecting another wave of violent protests against the controversial new Citizenship law, which was enacted on December 11.

The Indian government suspended internet services and tightened security on Friday in several parts of the country, including the northern state of Uttar Pradesh. The government is expecting another wave of violent protests against the controversial new Citizenship Amendment Act, which was enacted on December 11.

Critics accuse the RSS of wanting to transform Hindus from a religious community into a political constituency and establish Hindu hegemony, sidelining religious minorities.

The civil rights activist Shabnam Hashmi told DW that the Indian government should focus on introducing secular education instead of religious teachings.

"This proposed course on yoga includes patanjali kritasutra, yogasutra surya namaskar. It is obvious that this is being done for further polarization and establishing the supremacy of one religion over another," Hashmi said. "Are they teaching the Koran and the Bible in Hindu-run gurukuls (ancient Indian education system)?"

What happens next?

Sharp criticism of the announcement forced the Education Ministry to issue a clarification.

"Various subjects are offered to learners under this provision without any hard-line boundaries of fixed subject combinations unlike that in the formal education system. It is totally the discretion of the learner to opt for subject combination from the bouquet of the subjects provided by NIOS," it said.

The ministry, however, did not specify whether it would still introduce Hindu epics into madrasas.

https://m.dw.com/en/india-teaching-of-hinduism-books-in-islamic-madrasas-sparks-anger/a-56829744

The ministry, however, did not specify whether it would still introduce Hindu epics into madrasas.

As usual, the BJP being vague and essentially testing the waters ...

I'm not well-versed on how these things work but how can a madrasa come under the purview of the government. Isn't it a religious school where you become a religious scholar. Why is their syllabus even open to discussion. Please don't tell me there's an Islamic version of science that's being taught there for example :srt

The only thing that could then compete with these schools is if Modi authors a chapter on plastic surgery in ancient India.

I'm more curious about what ancient Indian greatness they plan on teaching the rest of the country in general. Most of India's history was written by others.

So hope the plan is not a fresh take, with ancient texts used as reference to prove we created hydrogen bombs in the BC era or knew how to fly :amir2

I'm not well-versed on how these things work but how can a madrasa come under the purview of the government. Isn't it a religious school where you become a religious scholar.

It is good that you know that you don't know. So next step is to find out what you don't know. madarsas are not just for islamic teaching, they teach other subjects as well. Govt funds them, including Yogi's govt, part of which goes into hiring more teachers. With 2 lakhs you can fund a maths teacher for a year, basically funding maths education for 300-400 students for a year. You can also donate if you want to earn some good karma, or just plain satisfaction of giving back to the society.

Ok, your tone suggests you know what you're talking about, so I'll take your word for it.

Well, if madrasas are actually funded by the government, that makes them answerable too. Any idea if the maths and science taught there is in line with say, the ICSE, CBSE or state syllabus.

Don't think they should be expected to learn about Rama or Krishna, though the news suggests things haven't actually got to that stage. But on that note, I studied in ICSE Christian schools and one of the stories in Kannada literature was about a Bodhisattva. No one really thought much of it as a religious thing back then. But then, Buddhism seems like one of those non-controversial religions accepted/tolerated by pretty much all the other faiths.

hindu asateer urdu adabiyat ka mustaqil hissa hai, aur isi anjuman sey hindostan ka mustaqbil buland hoga.

Google Translate: Hindu mythology is a permanent part of Urdu literature, and it is from this association that the future of India will rise.

So you don't know what's the madrasa curriculum :asad1

Bay bunyad dawa he. Hindu asaateer urdu zuban me hain hi nahin. Kya gita aur ramayana k baray me ab urdu me hone ka dawa h?

The main issue with them is this

"Critics accuse the RSS of wanting to transform Hindus from a religious community into a political constituency"

I dont see what's the problem here? If for decades Muslims have acted as a vote bank and creating a political veto for themselves with 20 per cent population, why shouldn't hindus do it?

And Shabnam Hashmi is an activist. LMAO.

The main issue with them is this

"Critics accuse the RSS of wanting to transform Hindus from a religious community into a political constituency"

I dont see what's the problem here? If for decades Muslims have acted as a vote bank and creating a political veto for themselves with 20 per cent population, why shouldn't hindus do it?

And Shabnam Hashmi is an activist. LMAO.

Google translate: hehehe...good going BJP, on track with the program to convert Muslims back to hinduism :srini

It depends what kind of teachings are taught, in the UK for example we were taught about the fairy tales of raam and sita , hanuman , ganesh they were taught as mythical stories, for me it personally reinforced my own belief system as it allowed me to spot flaws in teachings of these other religions. But i sense ulterior motives at work here.

You should always read fairy tales from other cultures in addition to your own. Perhaps one day you will outgrow all of them :)

i dont mean to be rude, apologies if it came across that way, i just find it easier to validate abrahamic religions as there is actual historical evidence to back these stories up, were as it is a bit more difficult with spiritual religions i.e. buddhist or hindu

Evidence:

- Of Mohammad flying off on a winged horse to heaven ?
- Evidence of Jesus rising from the dead ?
- Evidence of Allah and Father (Christian) ?

Evidence is not something written in a scripture BTW, if so then there is no difference between Abrahamic faiths and religions such as Hinduism, Buddhism etc.

Evidence:

Evidence is not something written in a scripture BTW, if so then there is no difference between Abrahamic faiths and religions such as Hinduism, Buddhism etc.

like i said no offence was meant , if you want to believe in 8 legged animals and elephants with human bodies its up to you. You can go into the university of Birmingham and they still have fragments of the quran dated from 568 and 645 CE, and its unchanged in comparison with the modern day quran, but i am sure this is a topic for another thread, so we can all stick to our own beliefs.

when i mean evidance you can find all sorts of stuff in the quran from science to geography which has only been validated recently, that for me is all the validation i need. you may be different i cant comment for you.

like i said no offence was meant , if you want to believe in 8 legged animals and elephants with human bodies its up to you. You can go into the university of Birmingham and they still have fragments of the quran dated from 568 and 645 CE, and its unchanged in comparison with the modern day quran, but i am sure this is a topic for another thread, so we can all stick to our own beliefs.

when i mean evidance you can find all sorts of stuff in the quran from science to geography which has only been validated recently, that for me is all the validation i need. you may be different i cant comment for you.

You misunderstood my post:

The points I highlighted can be looked in the same way as you viewing someone who worships a god with 8 legs or 5 arms etc. There is no proof.

What you highlighted about evidence in the Quran is nothing new, similar knowledge was passed on way before there was Islam through other various religious books.. Matter of fact if you look at the old testament it is very similar to the Quran, one can even assume it looks plagiarized....

My Point is there is nothing fool proof and all religions should be viewed with a grain of salt.

You misunderstood my post:

The points I highlighted can be looked in the same way as you viewing someone who worships a god with 8 legs or 5 arms etc. There is no proof.

What you highlighted about evidence in the Quran is nothing new, similar knowledge was passed on way before there was Islam through other various religious books.. Matter of fact if you look at the old testament it is very similar to the Quran, one can even assume it looks plagiarized....

My Point is there is nothing fool proof and all religions should be viewed with a grain of salt.

i totally agree with this, and this is why i say it is down to the individual how they take it, i accept someone can say to me you worship a ghost or whatever its down to your own belief system.

Absolutely pathetic but not unsurprising.

Lets ignore the real issues and focus on teaching Muslims bhagavat gita and ramayana. Lol.

And lets imagine BJP is doing this for the greater good and not due to any agenda.

The amount of nonsense people believe :))

Nothing wrong with it, by that logic. But how has this benefited the Muslims. As a community, they are probably worst off in terms of education and prosperity. The Congress were basically elitist and the only Muslims they were truly interested in were the likes of Salman Khurshid. The Jaffer Shariefs were useful in securing votes, else he would have no place in the party.

So do you want Hindus (which would entail the majority of India) to be reduced to an uneducated votebank, used and abused by the BJP just for the sake of retaining power?

This Hindu- Muslim idiocy was why Indian Hindus voted for BJP and BJP is just fulfilling it's mandate.
Chote log,choti soch.

Child Rights Body Seeks Inquiry Into Madrassas Taking Non-Muslim Children

The National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) has asked all states and Union Territories to conduct an inquiry into all government-funded and recognised madrassas that are admitting non-Muslim children.

National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) Chairperson Priyank Kanoongo, in a letter to all chief secretaries, noted that children belonging to non-Muslim communities are attending government-funded or recognised madrassas.

"It is also learnt by the commission that some States and Union Territories are providing them with scholarships too." "It is a clear-cut violation and contravention of Article 28(3) of the Constitution of India that prohibits educational institutions from obligating the children to take part in any religious instruction, without the consent of the parent," the letter stated.

Madrassas, as institutions, are primarily responsible for imparting religious education to children, the commission said, adding it is learnt that those madrassas funded or recognised by the government are imparting both religious and to some extent formal education to children.

"In view of the above facts, the commission, in exercising its powers recommends a detailed inquiry of all government-funded/recognized madrassas who are admitting non-Muslim children in your states and Union Territories.

"The inquiry should include physical verification of children attending such madrasas. Subsequent to the inquiry, admit all such children in schools for availing formal education," the NCPCR letter stated.

The commission also asked the states and Union Territories "to map all unmapped madrasas in your states and Union Territories and admit any or all children into schools for availing formal education with immediate effect".

NDTV

Evidence:

Quran says Moses split the sea and jews with Moses crosed or Jesus made sick people good etc . Lot of miracles mentioned in Quran.

Now those miracles we cannot verify physically. That is 100 % true. We can analyze those facts in Quran which we can verify . If those facts come to 100 % correct , then we can assume the rest to have being true.

That is how it is judged .

Bhagavad Gita Part Of Sanskrit Syllabus Of Islamic Institute In Kerala

Basic Sanskrit grammar in class 11 and 12 and then Bhagavad Gita as well as other Hindu texts in the 'Deva Bhasha' in subsequent years of study is the structured syllabus prepared for its students by an Islamic institute in Kerala's Thrissur district.

The new syllabus will come into operation from June 2023 when the new academic year starts.

The Academy of Sharia and Advanced Studies (ASAS) run by Malik Deenar Islamic Complex (MIC) was in the news recently for setting an example by teaching Sanskrit, also known as 'Deva Bhasha', to its students with the help of Hindu scholars.

The decision, to come out with a structured syllabus to teach the ancient and classical language, was taken to inculcate in the students, knowledge and awareness about other religions, the institute said.

The MIC ASAS was teaching its students selective portions of the Bhagavad Gita, Upanishads, Mahabharata, Ramayana in Sanskrit for the last seven years.

Hafiz Aboobacker, one of the coordinators at the institute, told PTI that the earlier Sanskrit syllabus was not very detailed.

The latest one is a syllabus for a eight-year course starting from plus two till post graduation, he said.

The students will now also have the option to opt for a degree or post-graduate course in Sanskrit, Aboobacker said.

He said the syllabus was a joint effort of Dr C M Neelakandan -- a retired professor of Sanskrit Literature from the Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit -- and Dr Shamseer P C -- assistant professor, department of Sanskrit, Kerala University.

The idea was not to just teach them a language, but to also familiarise students with these ancient Hindu texts so that they understand religion and can make informed decisions for themselves, he said.

"It will also help to build secular and democratic ideas among students," he said.

According to the latest syllabus, in plus two, the students would be familiarised with basic grammar, words, declensions, gender, number and sentence construction in Sanskrit.

After that, during the first two years of their undergraduate studies, they would be taught Mahakavya, basic grammar, Sanskrit drama, computer, Sanskrit stotra, grammar, prose and Tarkasamgraha -- a treatise in Sanskrit giving a foundational exposition of the ancient Indian system of logic and reasoning.

In the final year, Bhagavad Gita, translation and Sankhya would be taught to students, according to the syllabus shared by the institute.

During post-graduation, syllabus would include Vedic Suktas, Vedantasara, Dramaturgy, Upanishads, Natyasastra, yoga, Bhasa study and Book review, it said.

The institution is primarily a Sharia college where other languages, like Urdu and English are also taught besides a degree course in Arts as it is affiliated to Calicut University.

NDTV