Thank you Misbah-ul-Haq - Time to retire?

His hand is broken and his PSL is done. I would think this would be the best time to take a leaf from KP's book and move on.

Clearly he was struggling with the bat in the tournament and things are not getting easy.

He has great respect from all and he can add to that by moving on and letting a younger person take over IU

This should be his last PSL. He is past his best . Hopefully he goes out on a high.

It's a shame that he may not get to bow out before the home crowd, you don't get fairy tale endings in sport unfortunately. Time to move on though, the team is important and he can be involved in a coaching capacity for sure.

Yeah I think he's past his peak. Should move over now to give youngsters a chance in PSL. He can carry on playing domestics though but not PSL.

Yup, as I said before the game (when certain posters were trying to say only under Misbah IU would 'choke' the other team :))), they don't need him as captain. IU will win regardless of him being captain or not. They have quality players. And if he's not in as captain he's not in as a player.

He should know with his experience that he is a liability to the team. The owners and coaches need to make a brave decision for the finals.

He's already retired from international cricket. If a franchise wants to pick him it shouldn't bother PP experts

He should know with his experience that he is a liability to the team. The owners and coaches need to make a brave decision for the finals.

There's a week till the finals, Insha'Allah his hand will heal by then

His hand is broken and his PSL is done. I would think this would be the best time to take a leaf from KP's book and move on.

Clearly he was struggling with the bat in the tournament and things are not getting easy.

He has great respect from all and he can add to that by moving on and letting a younger person take over IU

He has declined at a severe rate of knots since that Aussie tour. His retirement is well overdue. Please retire with grace Haq Sahab.

His last PSL he showed alot of glimpses of slowing down pretty much.

Hes clearly done with Its a shame he didnt retire before this tourney He has to be realistic and let go

Team inkay abu jee ki jaidad nahi hai

:)) Looks like there's a phrase for this in every language, in potwari we say ka thari phew ni dhakan ah :yk [MENTION=47617]Red Devil[/MENTION]

Nah, its all cool, no body really cares or notices Misbah ul Haq anymore.

Yes, he earned some respect but lost all over last 3-4 years, should have retired long time ago.

Want Islamabad to win the trophy and he retires. If he doesn't, he will have some people turn against him.

Best time to leave. He's not offering anything with the bat these days and lacks the energy on the field. Replace him next year with a younger and more energetic player.

Its 99% sure he is retiring after the final. He has a hairline fracture of his hand which usually takes 3-4 weeks to heal properly. Although i don't see him playing in the final, but i certainly want him to lift the cup when Duminy leads IU to victory in Karachi. With a batting lineup going down till no 10, think IU can easily carry a specialist captain, not because JP is a dud but because it would be a brilliant thing for Misbah to end his career where he started his T20 career.(2006 in National Stadium Karachi)

Misbah has been great for Pakistan over the years but again he is about 45 and should probably call it quits now. No point in still continuing as a player, he can take over as a coach or mentor if he wants.

He is not the only specialist captain. We've one in our national team also.

Sarfraz has secured the wicker keeper spot, if he wasn't a WK he probably wouldn't be captain now and maybe not even considered for selection.

I meant those that support him right now will also start to turn against him. ATM, he is fine as he retired from international cricket last year, but it is time now.

Then they weren't his supporters in the first place. Just a bunch of phonies.

What if I.U dont qualify next year, then all the fans will be lamenting the fact that their captain left them.

Misbah has been great for Pakistan over the years but again he is about 45 and should probably call it quits now. No point in still continuing as a player, he can take over as a coach or mentor if he wants.

Yeah pretty much - his role now is something that can mostly be done off field. No reason for him to continue playing except to keep getting the paycheck$

What if I.U dont qualify next year, then all the fans will be lamenting the fact that their captain left them.

Literally no fan with more than half a brain cell will think their failure is because they don't have a defensive 45 year old dead wood batsman/specialist unspecial captain.....

Skipper of Islamabad United, former Pakistan cricket captain, Misbah ul Haq's dream to play his career's last match of the Pakistan Super League in homeground has been shattered as he has been ruled out of action for four weeks due to a hair-line fracture in his wrist.

LAHORE, (UrduPoint / Pakistan Point News - 19th Mar, 2018 ):Skipper of Islamabad United, former Pakistan cricket captain, Misbah ul Haq's dream to play his career's last match of the Pakistan Super League in homeground has been shattered as he has been ruled out of action for four weeks due to a hair-line fracture in his wrist.

"It is unfortunate for Islamabad United that Misbah will not be available for the grand finale of the event for which it has already qualified," said sources in Islamabad United while talking to APP here on Monday.

South African JP Duminy led the side in the first play-offs against Karachi Kings on Saturday at Sharjah. A ball from Tymal Mills struck on Misbah's hand during Islamabad's league match against Karachi Kings on March 16 which caused a hairline fracture.

The 43-year old batsman failed to demonstrate form and fitness during the third edition of the PSL as he missed the first two matches of the event due to a hamstring injury. Out of eight matches, he played four and his maximum score was 22 in these ties.

Medium pacer Roman Raees who replaced Misbah as captain in the initial two matches of the PSL could not last long and was declared unfit for the rest of the tournament after injuring his knee. Misbah who piled up massive runs in UAE while leading Pakistan team in recent years has announced to retire from T20 league cricket after the third edition of PSL and in the given circumstances he has played his chapter of the PSL.

He also holds the unique distinction of scoring fastest test century against Australia in Abu Dhabi. "He has advised four weeks rest due to nature of the fracture and we will miss him in our most crucial match the final of the PSL," sources added.

https://www.urdupoint.com/en/sports/misbah-ruled-out-of-action-from-reminder-of-p-288387.html

Team nay khood kaptaan banaya wah isay!

IU? 3 years ago. When he was 41, he will turn 44 in 2 months time. He has scored zilch this tournament and has been a specialist captain. Which proven yesterday and when Raees captained, is not necessary for their results.

watch matches and then see.

If Islamabad lose the final some posters will put it down to Misbah not being there :))

Misbah has been a great servant to the game and to the country but yes, it should be time to call it quits. His reflexes are as slow as any I have ever seen, worse than a faded Ponting. He has become a hindrance to IU and should take on a coaching role for next year.

Great opportunity for Misbah to lift the cup for IU and call it a day

I find it sad to see so many Pakistani cricketers drag their heels when it comes to retirement. It's almost like even if they retire from international cricket they feel the need to hang onto domestic cricket and mickey mouse tournaments quite often in obscure places.

Any particular reason for that?

It's not like a bank manager retiring at 70 knowing that he won't have time to go on more than a couple of holidays with his wife before he pops his clogs. When a professional sportsman retires, he will be retired for the next 30-50 years of his life.

There is nothing sad or embarrassing about a sportsman wanting to wring every last moment out of something that he loves doing more than anything else in the world.

It's not like a bank manager retiring at 70 knowing that he won't have time to go on more than a couple of holidays with his wife before he pops his clogs. When a professional sportsman retires, he will be retired for the next 30-50 years of his life.

There is nothing sad or embarrassing about a sportsman wanting to wring every last moment out of something that he loves doing more than anything else in the world.

Exactly. Think it's funny posters here suddenly assume that when cricket is what they've dedicated their life to, it's easy to hang up their boots. I wonder if they would do the same if they were in their position.

Up to the board/franchise to make the call if the player doesn't do it. It happens in other countries too, we saw Ricky Ponting dragging his heels quite a bit before retiring. At least Misbah pretty much consistently averaged 50 each year before retiring from test cricket. In fact in all formats Misbah was performing pretty much up to the point he retired. What he didn't excel at perhaps was ODI captaincy which the board should have taken the decision to try someone else out when it wasn't working.

It's also similar to why these sportsmen want to play as many of these leagues as possible, to build for the future.

I hope he's offered some sort of role whether it's a coaching role, or a more office based role when he does retire.

Misbah ul Haq with an MBA, having captained Pakistan for a good 8 years has way more options after cricket compared to vast majority of our uneducated cricketers. He can take up commentary, expert analyst, coaching

How many more years we will keep talking about his retirement.
No Pakistani cricketer's retirement has been so annoying and painful .
He never retired, he always was dropped, as he had past his usefulness as a team member, first ODI and then test.
Now, I'm sure IU will not going to keep him for next season even he wished, so better for him to "retire" The guy is 45 year old, FGS.

Misbah ul Haq with an MBA, having captained Pakistan for a good 8 years has way more options after cricket compared to vast majority of our uneducated cricketers. He can take up commentary, expert analyst, coaching

I'm OK for him to take any cricket related job in future but hopefully will not involve in Pakistani team coaching or anything close to that. Negative mindset is infectious.

How does any of that change what I said though?

That's fine but the issue people have is that when such an ambition affects others and cricket is a team sport, not about one man and am a big fan of Misbah but also a big fan of Islamabad United, others will spew hate for the sake of it but as a United fan my words hold more weight because I don't need passengers in the team :mv

Didn't Misbah announce retirement right after hand injury?

https://nation.com.pk/20-Mar-2018/misbah-ruled-out-of-action-from-remainder-of-psl

Misbah who piled up massive runs in UAE while leading Pakistan team in recent years has announced to retire from T20 league cricket after the third edition of PSL and in the given circumstances he has played his chapter of the PSL.

why is it sad?

these guys put a lot of effort to get to such position.

Just because you want someone to retire doesn't mean that person should retire.

Remember, this is not international cricket, this is domestic cricket. I dont know why you had to mention the Pakistan part because there are many other international cricketers who continue to play domestic and other forms of cricekt which isn't wrong.

Exactly. Think it's funny posters here suddenly assume that when cricket is what they've dedicated their life to, it's easy to hang up their boots. I wonder if they would do the same if they were in their position.

Up to the board/franchise to make the call if the player doesn't do it. It happens in other countries too, we saw Ricky Ponting dragging his heels quite a bit before retiring. At least Misbah pretty much consistently averaged 50 each year before retiring from test cricket. In fact in all formats Misbah was performing pretty much up to the point he retired. What he didn't excel at perhaps was ODI captaincy which the board should have taken the decision to try someone else out when it wasn't working.

It's also similar to why these sportsmen want to play as many of these leagues as possible, to build for the future.

I hope he's offered some sort of role whether it's a coaching role, or a more office based role when he does retire.

Good post. also good psot by [MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION]

its domestic cricekt, not even international.

Misbah should transition in to more of a leadership role in PCB and help develop the game in Pakistan. I don't mean that he should be put down the path of being chairman but starting off with something like Director of Cricket Punjab or something of the sort would be the right move. Or Director of Cricket who oversees the development of the game throughout the provinces...this includes restructuring domestic cricket and making it more competitive, as well as improving administration and organization from the bottom up.

Misbah should be handed something like an extended 10-year employment contract by PCB and allowed to do things his way. He's served the country with honor and integrity and there shouldn't be any doubt that he will do a good job. Thank you for all your services, Sir. Pakistan needs more men like Misbah.

:salute

It's funny how favouritism runs through our blood some posters defending there fave players. Kia misbah tumhara chacha Lagta hai. Only in Pak we have this mentality from cricketers to politicians, as mamoon says we are not gonna get anywhere until we change our mentality and move forward. Misbah is way past his sell by date why should he play why?how are we benefitting from him holding younger players back this dehati mentality needs to go just like out over the hill seniors.

I prefer my greats to retire at the top and don't really want to see them playing T10 cricket against nobodies in outer Mongolia.

why is it sad?

these guys put a lot of effort to get to such position.

Just because you want someone to retire doesn't mean that person should retire.

Remember, this is not international cricket, this is domestic cricket. I dont know why you had to mention the Pakistan part because there are many other international cricketers who continue to play domestic and other forms of cricekt which isn't wrong.

I have no problem when they are doing ok in T20 tournaments such as Shane Watson etc, but when you are in your 40s, obviously struggling, then it should be time to put your feet up.

If he doesn’t retire after Final (regardless of the result), I doubt if he is planning to retire.

He may stick with IU in the capacity of management, but he should retire to be honest. He was benched in BPL, he is frequently “getting injured” in PSL - one has to know where the tunnel ends.

Sounds more like manipulation rather than love.

I prefer my greats to retire at the top and don't really want to see them playing T10 cricket against nobodies in outer Mongolia.

What difference does it make to you, me or anyone else if he plays joke cricket in Mongolia? You won't ask your accountant or GP to retire at 50 so they go out at the top of their game before their energy levels go down, so why the different treatment of sports stars?

If you don't want to want to watch him playing T10 cricket in Mongolia then the solution is easy.

Don't watch.

What difference does it make to you, me or anyone else if he plays joke cricket in Mongolia? You won't ask your accountant or GP to retire at 50 so they go out at the top of their game before their energy levels go down, so why the different treatment of sports stars?

If you don't want to want to watch him playing T10 cricket in Mongolia then the solution is easy.

Don't watch.

The job of an accountant or GP isn't to entertain. Would you let a GP who has lost his eyesight operate on you?

Because they are way past their best and are taking the places of youngsters who should be playing instead of them.

I meant why do Pakistani players prolong their retirement so much compared to players from other countries?

Misbah and YK retired from Tests several years too late.

A lot of people talking as if players like Misbah and Afridi who are dragging out their retirement will end up with nothing to do once they hang up their boots.

These guys and players like them have a lot of credibility in the cricket world. They find jobs, coaching roles, commentary and other stuff much easier as compared to those that have not played professional cricket upto that level.

Realistically, it's hard to give up the thrill of being a pro cricketer at the highest level. It's a privilege and it's a thrill no body wants to give up so easily

The job of an accountant or GP isn't to entertain. Would you let a GP who has lost his eyesight operate on you?

It is the job of actors to entertain yet guys like Pacino and Sam Jackson have been phoning it in for decades without people crying for them to retire.

Don't watch.

Sitting at a desk pushing a pen is a bit different to running around on a cricket field.

It is the job of actors to entertain yet guys like Pacino and Sam Jackson have been phoning it in for decades without people crying for them to retire.

Very weird analogy. Although I agree on your points regarding Pacino, SJ, De Niro and so on, actors unlike sportsmen do not represent a specific team or country in their movies/shows/etc. It is also not a live event like most sporting affairs unlike movies which one can just choose to skip due to any reason. Also most people who turn up to watch are there to support the team/nation rather than specific individuals (which they do to but to a lesser extent), primarily they want their team to win, their personal favorite player performing is just an added bonus.

Sitting at a desk pushing a pen is a bit different to running around on a cricket field.

A job's a job and nobody should retire from doing something they still enjoy just to make total strangers happy.

Very weird analogy. Although I agree on your points regarding Pacino, SJ, De Niro and so on, actors unlike sportsmen do not represent a specific team or country in their movies/shows/etc. It is also not a live event like most sporting affairs unlike movies which one can just choose to skip due to any reason. Also most people who turn up to watch are there to support the team/nation rather than specific individuals (which they do to but to a lesser extent), primarily they want their team to win, their personal favorite player performing is just an added bonus.

And the players whose retirements you demand are being selected because the people in charge believe they give the team the best chance of winning.

A job's a job and nobody should retire from doing something they still enjoy just to make total strangers happy.

And the players whose retirements you demand are being selected because the people in charge believe they give the team the best chance of winning.

And you still think Misbah gives his team the best chance of winning?

The harsh fact is and you may not like this, he's a passenger these days.

And you still think Misbah gives his team the best chance of winning?

The harsh fact is and you may not like this, he's a passenger these days.

I'm not the one selecting the Islamabad team, as long as someone is willing to pay him to play cricket then more power to him. Same goes for other OAPs like Chanderpaul who is still playing first class cricket and is often in the same XI as his son.

They should play as long as they want to because if you're a professional athlete, you're a long time retired.

They make a living from what makes these total strangers happy, so don't get your point. We are a species who adore the best of the best in sporting or endurance sports. That's why we have the Olympics, WCs, Grand slams etc. There are no best IRS Employee award for a reason.

Eh? Please elaborate.

1) Well that's just wrong isn't it? People working white collar jobs get performance bonuses. McDonalds employees get employee of the month awards.

2) If they thought Misbah's presence was detrimental to the team, the Islamabad owners/management wouldn't have picked him.