The Asif Ali Thread

IAJ

Congratulations with the hundred young man! What a talent he seems to be. Only 19!

Congratulation Asif Ali!

The 19 year old has just smashed a 100 on his T20 debut, was good against Pace and brilliant against spin. Trashed the likes of Irfan , Rauf and babar around with ease. hit 9 fours and 7 sixes in his innings.:afridi :iamlegend

100 from 58 balls with 7 sixes wow!

Wondring what is the fastest T20 century in Pakistan domestic cricket?

He is a murderer of spin bowling, just kept hitting them. :afridi
Hope he gets picked for A team soon.

powerful hitter of the ball, seems to be limited mostly to the leg side though. If he can improve his range of shots , he seems to have the talent to potentially take his career to the next level, at least in the limited form of the game

Brutal innings, was brilliant spin he should surely be selected for the A team ASAP

Let us just follow him from now on and see how he progresses.

We have a couple of talented openers to pick from....

His past record isnt that great....but its good to see the talent he displayed today

But we already have Ahmad Shehzad....who hit 2 International Centuries already, at the same age.
And i heard good things about Sharjeel Khan.

Would it be best to move Hafeez down the order, and play 2 new openers?

We have a couple of talented openers to pick from....

His past record isnt that great....but its good to see the talent he displayed today

But we already have Ahmad Shehzad....who hit 2 International Centuries already, at the same age.
And i heard good things about Sharjeel Khan.

Would it be best to move Hafeez down the order, and play 2 new openers?

Hafeez is doing fine as an opener. And Sharjeel still needs to play more.

Great innings, hope he can continue his form throughout the competition and beyond!!

Video required please. He's not another Shahzaib is he?

Asif Ali (the centurion) in the innings break:

I wasn't even in the playing XI by yesterday, the coach didn't want me to play!
Just before the toss Misbah bhai saw my performance (prob. in nets) and provided me with the opportunity, this was such a morale booster, and the result is in front of you,I scored the century on my T20 debut !

It seems I missed the action :facepalm:

Didn't wanted to waste my time since stallion aren't playing.

Asif Ali (the centurion) in the innings break:

I wasn't even in the playing XI by yesterday, the coach didn't want me to play!
Just before the toss Misbah bhai saw my performance (prob. in nets) and provided me with the opportunity, this was such a morale booster, and the result is in front of you,I scored the century on my T20 debut !

Good stuff :misbah . He did something similar for :ajmal

I hope someone recorded it and it will be on youtube

The young wolves will show the way forward!

faisalabad zindabad! go Asif Ali! :)

For a moment I thought the thread was about asif ali zardarai haha

Well played to the young man, hope he continues with such performances inshallah

Great Innings , Looked like a merger of Hafeez and Junior to me!

He has power and played a beastly inning today but he plays most of his shots on leg side.
He should NOT be selected for A team as yet, needs to prove himself but talent is definitely there.(let's not get over excited though).

Used to work in a foundry, was lohar by profession and used to earn 2000 rs monthly, was forced by the owner to play cricket instead, has so strong wrists and fore arms that he is know as a welder among team mates

Slogger. But I don't mind. Runs are more important. And he scored a cracking century.

there will be highlights at 230 am PST on Geo Super.

Another chance for the young man to shine in this current T20 tourney.

His 100 came v. Multan Tigers too, btw.

- he needs to have better control over his shots... and needs to work more on his game. but looks a very exciting player

Misbah's faith in him finally paying off.

Soon He will make T20i debut.

Power Hitter now.

Clean hitter. Powerful striker.

Be hit 10 sixes in his last Ramzan T20 tournament innings. No fours.

Int T20 debut around the corner.

Next PSL booked too.

Was dreadful in the PSL. Don't want THAT Asif Ali near the ISL team let alone Pak!

Lacks consistency.

On his day He is a match winner.

I'd much rather invest in Sahibzada Farhan & Hussain Talat. Asif has a long way to go to prove himself. One innings in Ramadan Cup isn't enough to earn a national team call-up

Clean hitter. Powerful striker.

Be hit 10 sixes in his last Ramzan T20 tournament innings. No fours.

Int T20 debut around the corner.

Next PSL booked too.

He has already played a couple of games in the PSL so I wouldn't be surprised if he is selected again. If he plays in the next edition, hopefully he performs.

In terms of IT20s, I think you are being a little premature. Selectors will rightly wait until watching the T20 Cup in August until making any decisions. Consistency will be key.

He has already played a couple of games in the PSL so I wouldn't be surprised if he is selected again. If he plays in the next edition, hopefully he performs.

In terms of IT20s, I think you are being a little premature. Selectors will rightly wait until watching the T20 Cup in August until making any decisions. Consistency will be key.

Yes he looks in decent form. He will surely play for FSD in T20 cup if fit and will catch eyes of selectors with his big hitting. This is why I said that. We don't have powerhitters except few so it gives him an edge.

He will surely play for FSD in T20 cup if fit and will catch eyes of selectors with his big hitting.

Inshallah. He didn't seem afraid to take on pace or spin which is a good sign.

Also Eid Mubarak.

Inshallah. He didn't seem afraid to take on pace or spin which is a good sign.

Also Eid Mubarak.

Kheir Mubarak Bhaee. Meri Eid kal hai wesay, i mean few hours later.

mak36 good to see you active after CT win.

Kheir Mubarak Bhaee. Meri Eid kal hai wesay, i mean few hours later.

mak36 good to see you active after CT win.

Brother, I was active on PP throughout the CT. Time commitments determine how often I post.

It's remarkable he hasn't played FC since 2014.

Scored a century in Round 1 vs National Bank.

Scored 48 and 61 in Round 3 vs SNGPL.

Seems to be carrying the weight of Faialabad's batting on his shoulders and deserves praise, especially given he was typecast as a t20 specialist.

He is showing signs of consistency this year which can only be good.

Hopefully he shines for IU in PSL.

One of the best power hitters in Pakistan. Sent a clear message to selectors today.

Came in with his side 108-2, requiring 80 from 43. Scored a 17 ball 42 to help Faisalabad successfully chase 187 against Lahore Blues.

Hopefully he can continue this form in the tournament. Will be brutal if he finds form in PSL.

An aggressive middle order hitter is what pakistan need right now. Malik won't be around for ever and I think from the looks of it could potentially give up this intensity in the middle.

This guy has my interest. Unfortunately the performances in the national t20 cup aren't considered by the selectors. He is still lucky though since he has been selected by Islamabad for PSL. Hopefully he is able to perform there showoff his skills.

Have always rated him highly
Asif Ali is a player to watch out for
These local tourneys are also for those who think there is no domestic talent to replace likes of openers, Azam, Malik[the middle-order].

Mentally tough player, plays both spin and pacer well. Strike rate is even more remarkable. Super hitter

Even in the first match he came in at the end of the chase scored 16* off 7 to comfortably guide his side home. It wasn't too much of a pressure situation but it shows he can hit big from the start.

Exactly- clean hitter and doesn't waste too many deliveries.

His lack of performance in the other formats is a concern for me. Seems nothing more than a t20 specialist

You can take a punt on such players though, but he needs a good psl

[MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION]

I hope he has won you over.

Someone who looks effortless when hitting big shots.

The six of aizaz cheema was a monster hit

Is it me or do some of his shots remind you of Hafeez?

It's like watching a turbo charged v2 Hafeez :))

22 (13) today.

Shame he got out- stage was set for him to go big.

Needing 312 to win, he hit 133 off 94 balls with thirteen 4's and seven 6's.Wow. Against a decent bowling attack as well.

The cleanest hitter against fast bowling in Pakistan. Makes hitting look quite easy, not the edges here and there like the other pakistani batsmen.

If he is gonna be picked then it should be as an opener. His all or nothing approach will work best there

Don't think he has the complete game for a finisher, id much rather give Talat that role

Forget his domestic stats just put him in t20 team and back him like misbah has. Very clean striker of ball. Deano has worked wonders with sharjeel and now Asif Ali

If he is gonna be picked then it should be as an opener. His all or nothing approach will work best there

Don't think he has the complete game for a finisher, id much rather give Talat that role

Not impressed with Talat, he just swings hit bat like any other Pakistani batsman, edges here and there And some sixes in between. I might be wrong, but reminds me of Awais and Shahzaib.

I couldnt disagree more, he plays all around the ground, takes singles and has a brain.

The irony is Asif Ali is far closer to the players you mentioned

30 ball 68 (three fours and and seven sixes) against NBP's strong bowling attack.

possibly domestic and PSL great

could be a decent T20I player

absolutely 100% not a ODI player

Asif Ali is a very decent and handy player. I believe it is the faulty decisons of management and captaincy that don’t allow him to bat to his full potential.

possibly domestic and PSL great

could be a decent T20I player

absolutely 100% not a ODI player
You can't make a statement too early. I will give him some more time. I think he will be more handy on true pitches rather than UAE

I don't think it's early at all. He's looked mediocre in the few ODIs the he has played, but move than that he is a pretty average domestic OD player as well