The Aurat March Thread - Reactions and Debate

is this is the only day to recognize women? What about rest of 364 days?

Bhai meray it’s international women’s day! Poori duniya Manati hai.. iss mein koi juram nahi hai.

We celebrate Independence Day on 14 August.. doesn’t mean we are not independent the rest of the year.

This is what this disinformation campaign has done to us.. our minds have become toxic to even the concept of this idea. Women from our unprivileged and poor areas desperately need some of this stuff. They are abused and not given their full rights. If you ignore the doctored pictures of mod squad girls holding placards with obscene slogans and innuendo, you will realize that we are way way way behind the rest of the world in treating our women fairly.

Bhai meray it’s international women’s day! Poori duniya Manati hai.. iss mein koi juram nahi hai.

We celebrate Independence Day on 14 August.. doesn’t mean we are not independent the rest of the year.

This is what this disinformation campaign has done to us.. our minds have become toxic to even the concept of this idea. Women from our unprivileged and poor areas desperately need some of this stuff. They are abused and not given their full rights. If you ignore the doctored pictures of mod squad girls holding placards with obscene slogans and innuendo, you will realize that we are way way way behind the rest of the world in treating our women fairly.

How is that? In my area almost 90% of the girls are educated and doing jobs. They are more educated then boys, they are making more money then anyone guys. They have freedom to do whatever they want. I do not know how they are treated unfairly.
I do not think women in the west are treated fairly!

Friday is also known as EID. There are other days also for fast such as 6 days of shawal, etc.
Is there any other day for aurat march?

Did female in your family participate in this march?

I am a female and would have gone, if I were in Pakistan, but luckily, I'm no longer in that place :)

How is that? In my area almost 90% of the girls are educated and doing jobs. They are more educated then boys, they are making more money then anyone guys. They have freedom to do whatever they want. I do not know how they are treated unfairly.

As a woman, I'm far happier in the West than I ever was in Pakistan.

Also, lol, women are paid less for the same jobs in Pakistan, not paid more. We can't go outside without permission, can't do anything at all without permission.

Shame on those people who opposed Aurat march and some posters here, who are critic of women progressing
. Just because your religion says something else about women, don’t you have the brains to understand that they need to be considered as EQUALs. most women would have achieved 1000 times more than those people and you if they had just been given freedom of expression and rights..

You don’t read too well, do you?

Re read my post. Then reacquaint yourself with percentage of Pakistan’s population in the rural areas. Also refer to some UN research on the matter.

As a woman, I'm far happier in the West than I ever was in Pakistan.

Also, lol, women are paid less for the same jobs in Pakistan, not paid more. We can't go outside without permission, can't do anything at all without permission.

i can provide you proof where women are paid more than guys. So you are saying your father, brother did not allow you to go outside?

You don’t read too well, do you?

Re read my post. Then reacquaint yourself with percentage of Pakistan’s population in the rural areas. Also refer to some UN research on the matter.

do you take seriously UN research?
Once people mention UN in there debate. I back out.
Enjoy!!

do you take seriously UN research?
Once people mention UN in there debate. I back out.
Enjoy!!

So you believe Pakistan is on par with the rest of the world in terms of gender equality and women’s right?

You honestly believe so?

i can provide you proof where women are paid more than guys. So you are saying your father, brother did not allow you to go outside?

Without permission, yes. Only for school, college, university, I had to invite my (female) friends home.

If we shut our eyes to our own weaknesses and refuse to accept our drawbacks, we will never get better and improve.. that in itself is a great weakness.. it’s quite arrogant to be so dismissive of certain facts..

which country has that?

Once again.. you don’t read too well.. re-read..

Regardless of where most countries stand in this regard.. whether they have achieved, suppose 35% equality, on average...
do you believe Pakistan is there as well? Are we on par with the rest of the world? Don’t use any UN research if you don’t believe it.

In our rural areas, what is the literacy rate for females when compared with males? What’s the infant mortality rate of females? ... is it equal to or lower than that of males?

If you are not asking these hard questions, and blindly believing there is no problem there, I have to tell you your sense of patriotism is severely misplaced.

A well traveled man like Miandad holding such regressive views is pathetic.

Why? There are many posters here who have been born and bought up in the West who hold similar if not more regressive views. Also know many white people with many backward views. It all just depends on the level of brainwashing. I have a couple of friends and in some instances myself too who try to be free thinking but there are some things that are so deeply embedded that our first reaction to some things are so shocking, even to ourselves that we can't believe it.

Once again.. you don’t read too well.. re-read..

Regardless of where most countries stand in this regard.. whether they have achieved, suppose 35% equality, on average...
do you believe Pakistan is there as well? Are we on par with the rest of the world? Don’t use any UN research if you don’t believe it.

In our rural areas, what is the literacy rate for females when compared with males? What’s the infant mortality rate of females? ... is it equal to or lower than that of males?

If you are not asking these hard questions, and blindly believing there is no problem there, I have to tell you your sense of patriotism is severely misplaced.

are we par with rest of world in economy, and other departments?

No but we admit it don’t we? And we try to fix it, don’t we? Or at least we wish someone would!

So why in this matter, we choose to pretend as if it doesn’t exist?

No but we admit it don’t we? And we try to fix it, don’t we? Or at least we wish someone would!

So why in this matter, we choose to pretend as if it doesn’t exist?

women in pakistan have same right as the western women. Just look at your house, does your mother has all the right and fair equally? does your sister and wife treated equally? Does any female from your family participated in this march?
Similarly, in my house, my wife, sister, and mother all have equal rights and treated fairly.
How much women are respected in west i am fully aware of that. I can give you many examples from west where women are abused on daily basis and not fair equally. The reason is that i live in west and work here with female colleagues as well where every other day they come and complaining about the abuse they are getting. few of them were beaten badly which they showed me there back as well.

<iframe width="1019" height="573" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/LML-xaBhICQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

women in pakistan have same right as the western women. Just look at your house, does your mother has all the right and fair equally? does your sister and wife treated equally? Does any female from your family participated in this march?
Similarly, in my house, my wife, sister, and mother all have equal rights and treated fairly.
How much women are respected in west i am fully aware of that. I can give you many examples from west where women are abused on daily basis and not fair equally. The reason is that i live in west and work here with female colleagues as well where every other day they come and complaining about the abuse they are getting. few of them were beaten badly which they showed me there back as well.

If you are on PP, posting on average 10/day, means you have access to a PC, or smart phone with good data, you are educated, probably living in the west.. and if in Pakistan, it shows you are probably a member of the upper or upper middle class.
Considering the above, (and I have already said something similar before), the rights of your mother/sister/wife/daughter are not the question.

It is the unprivileged, mostly in our rural areas, who have no access to education that we are talking about.

It seems we are going around In circles. Just for the sake of argument, You keep coming back with the same pointless stuff. Nobody is accusing you personally of denying women anything. So don’t get offended. I am sure you are a wonderful person. Nobody is accusing Islam or Pakistan either. I am sure the law and constitution extend women decent rights. We just don’t practice what Islam teaches us. So like we would mention other evils in our society, and try to eradicate them, this is another one. Talking about it should not offend mighty men of our country because this is not a swipe at their manhood.

That is the worst argument that women are working or they have a representation in the parliament so they are not oppressed. If I follow your line of reasoning, Muslims in India,and Israel are doing fine because most of them have jobs and representation in the parliament.

Facts do not lie. Pakistan has the most number of out-of-school girls. Pakistan has the highest number of honour killings and acid attacks. This is a country where even dead women are not safe! Just last week, a man in Okara was arrested for raping a dead woman.

20% of Pakistani women are married off before they hit 18. Dozens of women are killed for giving birth to a baby girl. The list goes on!

Oh bhai, why do all Pakistanis pretend that Pakistan is a very moazziz mulk? Pakistan is full of savagery, vulgarity and oppression.

Some people take the whole notion as a slight against the country and religion.

Pakistan is a great country, it’s our homeland but it does have flaws. If you choose to overlook them, you are doing your country a huge disservice.

Is this an early April fools joke?

Oh bhai, why do all Pakistanis pretend that Pakistan is a very moazziz mulk? Pakistan is full of savagery, vulgarity and oppression.

Most third world countries are. In fact even some first world ones are. If someone like you came to some less cultured parts of the UK and talked about our country like they you'd get your head kicked in.

posting only one show here, thre were many shows like that from last night from almost every channel except Geo ....

Out of the loop. What exactly is this? What's the point?

a simple Women March which being held from decades on Women's day in Pakistan without any bothering, turned into Feminist March from couple of years especially in Lahore and Karachi , having placards with drawings of Middle fingers (which even western news channels wont show) to Men , abusing and the latest is LGBQT color and what not ....

Why do men care if a bunch of women are marching with wierd posters
I am genuinely curious cause I don't see any problem tbh I just look at em and they are kinda a funny and that's it I don't see any reason to make it a big deal by denouncing it

I understand that commenting on a person’s private life is not appropriate.

However, since Khalil- the misogynist has all of a sudden become the most pious person in Pakistan and he has started moral policing Pakistanis especially women, I think it is worth bringing this to people’s attention.

On live TV, Khalil’s wife complained that her husband becomes very intimate with ladies from the film industry when he meets them and this really irks her. There are rumours of him cheating on his wife and that too having multiple affairs.

What a hypocrite!

Why do men care if a bunch of women are marching with wierd posters
I am genuinely curious cause I don't see any problem tbh I just look at em and they are kinda a funny and that's it I don't see any reason to make it a big deal by denouncing it

thre should be respect for culture and norms, you just cant show a placard with drawing of middle finger and vagina on the city streets ....
even any western news channel wont show the placard of middle finger on them .....

I understand that commenting on a person’s private life is not appropriate.

However, since Khalil- the misogynist has all of a sudden become the most pious person in Pakistan and he has started moral policing Pakistanis especially women, I think it is worth bringing this to people’s attention.

On live TV, Khalil’s wife complained that her husband becomes very intimate with ladies from the film industry when he meets them and this really irks her. There are rumours of him cheating on his wife and that too having multiple affairs.

What a hypocrite!

khalil and marvi both are stupid ....

thre should be respect for culture and norms, you just cant show a placard with drawing of middle finger and vagina on the city streets ....
even any western news channel wont show the placard of middle finger on them .....
We have to be cautious with what we see. There are a lot of doctored images out there. I am not saying what you are saying is untrue but it’s sensible to double check. I saw so many images with obscenities which I know Pakistani women can’t publicly display.

in 2019 Aurat March, thre were the posters that i mentioned in above posts and even worse, the news channels have reported them and even Females anchors have discused them on tv shows ....
thre maybe 1 or 2 such kind of fake placards but not when all media report the same news ....

In the end, the story in the West wasn't the Aurat March but the stoning by protesters.

That's what the humiliation is for Pakistan, but people keep repeating this false dichotomy of both sides

FIR registered against JUI-F leader, 10 others for disrupting Aurat March in Islamabad

Islamabad's Kohsar Police on Monday registered a case against 12 individuals – including local religious leaders and JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Majeed Hizravi – for trying to disrupt yesterday's Aurat March in the capital.

On Sunday, one person was injured after participants of the march in Islamabad were attacked by some men who shouted slogans and pelted stones at them.

The rally was being held in a designated area outside the National Press Club when the incident happened. Police had to intervene to control the the situation before it escalated.

The first-information report (FIR) — registered in the state's name — invoked Section 147 (Punishment for rioting), 149 (Every member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of a common object), 186 (Obstructing public servant in discharge of public functions), 188 (Disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant), 341 (Punishment for wrongful restraint), 353 (Assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty) of the Pakistan Penal Code.

The FIR names 11 leaders – and 300 to 400 unidentified persons – including Maulana Shabir Ahmed Usmani, Maulana Hafiz Maqsood Ahmed, Maulana Rizwan Makki, Mufti Abdullah, Maulana Abdul Waheed Qasmi, Maulana Abdul Rasheed Tauheedi, Maulana Liaquat Ali Turabi, Maulana Nasir Ahmed, Maulana Asadullah Abbasi, Maulana Abdul Majeed Hizravi and Maulana Abdul Razzaq Haidri.

According to the FIR, the leaders incited violence against participants of Aurat March, after which some people pelted stones at the marchers. The miscreants had illegally occupied the road across the National Press Club, the FIR reads, adding that they also tried to enter the premises of the march by using force against security officials present there.

Islamabad Deputy Commissioner Muhammad Hamza Shafqaat shared a copy of the FIR on Twitter.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Case registered <a href="https://t.co/mUJxED28nC">https://t.co/mUJxED28nC</a> <a href="https://t.co/YPReP9jaZy">pic.twitter.com/YPReP9jaZy</a></p>— Deputy Commissioner Islamabad (@dcislamabad) <a href="https://twitter.com/dcislamabad/status/1236884937875369984?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 9, 2020</a></blockquote>
Yesterday, the Islamabad DC had said an FIR would be registered against those who disrupted the Aurat March.

"After inquiry people will be arrested. The Islamabad police worked very hard to ensure that situation stays in control but few elements broke the law and they had no NOC," he wrote on Twitter.

Minister for Human Rights Shireen Mazari had also vowed action against "those who attacked the peaceful protesters with stones, sticks".

https://www.dawn.com/news/1539561/f...thers-for-disrupting-aurat-march-in-islamabad

This is how this thing played out:
It’s a good cause. Women want to march.

But there are some unsavory characters both on pro and anti march camps. There are some doctored images spread on social media. Just to incite the anti march folks to show their ugly side so Pakistan can be made to look bad in the media. The pro side also did not do themselves any favor by making ridiculous statements and also using some obscene slogans and placards.

The worst part: the section of women whom all this is for, is oblivious to what’s going on.. there are still young girls in villages working at home or In the fields when they should be in school. Poor class women are still being abused somewhere. And educated hard working women who are fighting for equal wages are now being ridiculed Over the fiasco and probably will never win that battle.

Thank you, Pakistanis.. nobody can beat you when it comes to losing the bigger picture and easily getting sidetracked by anti state elements.

Aurat March being held across Pakistan to mark Women's Day

Preparations were being finalised on Monday as organisers geared up to hold Aurat Marches across the country to mark International Women's Day and call for the protection of women's rights.

The first Aurat March was held in 2018 in Karachi. The next year, it was extended to more cities, including Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, Larkana, and Hyderabad. This year too, the marches will be held in Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad, and other cities of Pakistan.

In Karachi, the march is scheduled to take place at Frere Hall. In view of the prevailing coronavirus situation, organisers have emphasised standard operating procedures (SOPs), including wearing masks and maintaining a distance of six feet. The Karachi march will also be broadcast live.

In Lahore, the Aurat March started from the Lahore Press Club and will go towards the PIA Building.
Each chapter of the Aurat March has its own manifesto with the Karachi chapter focusing on patriarchal violence; Lahore on addressing healthcare workers and women’s health; and the Islamabad march is dedicated to the crisis of care.

The Karachi chapter's demands include an "end to gender-based violence by patriarchal forces as well as state-backed violence targeting activists, religious groups and communities and effective and transparent investigation of gender-based crimes and fair and expeditious trials".

Other demands include criminalisation of virginity tests for rape victims, establishment of gender-based violence reporting cells in police stations across Sindh and Pakistan, and an end to sexual harassment.

In line with its focus on healthcare workers and women's health, the Lahore chapter's demands include fulfillment of basic necessities by the state and a better infrastructure given to survivors of abuse who need access to mental as well as physical care within a rehabilitative framework in order to adequately manage the long-term effects of the violence visited upon them.

Concerns about other health issues are also raised in the document, including, educational programs and training aiming to stop stigmatization and shame associated with gendered bodies, breast cancer, reproductive health, the gender pain gap, more gender sensitized medico-legal practitioners, charging for forensic services (including from rape victims), HIV, access to free medicines, rights of PWDs, implementation of the Transgender Act 2018, access to clean water and toilets, especially to avoid contraction of Covid-19, healthcare for female prisoners, and drug addicts and users, an end to underage marriage, and several other issues associated with the health sector.

Last year, the situation at the Islamabad Aurat March turned precarious after male participants of a rival 'Haya March' by religious parties threw stones at participants of the Aurat March, injuring at least one person. The situation was brought under control by police.

Tributes
Meanwhile, tributes have poured in with ministers and politicians recalling the role of women in their lives while simultaneously calling for them to be given equal rights.

Army chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in his message said Pakistani women had "contributed immensely for the glory and honour of our nation". Women were also at the forefront of the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic, he noted.

Talking about women in uniform, Gen Bajwa said they have "proved their mettle by contributing copiously in diverse fields serving the nation & humanity".

"They deserve our immense respect & gratitude," he added.

National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser said that the protection of women's rights was the "top priority" of the government because it was "imperative for the formation of a progressive society", according to a report by Radio Pakistan.

Minister for Information Shibli Faraz said March 8 "highlighted women's high status in society and their commendable services in different sectors".

He said that the Constitution was a guarantor of women's rights and they had played an important role in the building and progress of the country.

"Making women powerful and protected in society by ensuring equal rights and equal opportunities for progress for them is our determination," he stressed.

PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz also talked about women empowerment, saying she "dream of a Pakistan where women excel in every field and play leading roles".

Federal Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood paid tribute to all the women in his life, including his mother, wife, daughters, sisters and his colleagues at work and in politics. "Thank you for making the world a better place," he wrote.

Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry used the occasion to encourage girls to opt for science subjects to change their and the country's destiny.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader and newly-elected senator Faisal Subzwari reminded people that respecting women also meant "respecting their liberty of making choices". He called on people to encourage the women in their families, adding "we as a society badly need educated, confident & courageous women".

Good to see women highlighting the numerous issues they face in Pakistan. However, most of Aurat March pictures posted on social media today are filled with filthy and disgusting comments from Pakistani men.

Reactions and comments are well deserved,today in march French flags were everywhere, what was the purpose of French flag,surely to provoke? Some very vulgar slogans regarding women privates which i dont want to share on pp, but they have the nerve to show in public and that too while dancing. Shame. Alhamdullilah Pakistan ka matlab kia La illa ha illalla Western ideology will never work in Pakistan inshallah...:afridi

The flag you are talking about is of Women Democratic Front, one of the organisations taking part in the march. It is always a good idea to research beforehand and avoid being blinded by hatred of women.

I hope you next time you do not post doctored Aurat March posters.

Regarding Western ideology, the Westerners are feeding us through the IMF, World Bank and Asia Development Bank. All this rhetoric of confronting Western ideology is nothing but an attempt to fool oneself.

ISLAMABAD: The Shuhada Foundation of Lal Masjid has moved The Islamabad High Court seeking ban on Aurat March and action against its organiser Open Society Foundation for holding such activities.

The petition was taken up by Justice Miangul Hassan Aurangzeb of the Islamabad High Court (IHC).

However, Shuhada Foundation counsel Tariq Asad requested Justice Aurangzeb to refer this matter to some other bench.

Subsequently, the judge referred the case to the IHC Chief Justice.

The petition was seeking court’s direction to “ban the organisations particularly ‘Open Society Foundation’ which were involved in the Aurat March and the organisers of the event be dealt with in accordance with law.”

The petition also sought ban on Aurat March and similar events as well other activities like Valentine Day. Besides, it requested the court to refer this matter to the Council of Islamic Ideology to examine whether the women in Pakistan are deprived of any legal right in any field and whether such event conducted on March 8 was in consonance with the injunctions religion and the provisions of the Constitution?

Published in Dawn, March 20th, 2021

A local court in Peshawar ordered registering a First Information Report (FIR) against the organisers of this year's Aurat March in Islamabad on Friday.

The decision was taken after an additional sessions court heard a petition against the organisers for allegedly committing un-Islamic acts in the name of the women's march.

Granting the petition, the court ordered to register an FIR against the organisers for 'insulting the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and his companions'.

Earlier this month, the Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP), a banned outfit, threatened the organisers of the Aurat March who planned demonstrations to mark the International Women’s Day in the country, accusing them of blasphemy and obscenity.

Read: Tribune Fact Check: A flag, two viral videos and Pakistan's Aurat March

The TTP statement followed a flurry of falsified images and video clips on social media that suggested participants in the March 8 protests had insulted Islam, which they strongly denied.

“We want to send a message to those organisations who are actively spreading obscenity and vulgarity in our beloved Pakistan,” the statement said, addressing the marchers.

“Fix your ways, there are still many young Muslims here who know how to protect Islam and the boundaries set by Allah,” the banned outfit stated.

Religious groups held demonstrations in several cities to demand that the government prosecute the march organisers for blasphemy, and they threatened vigilante action.

Messages spread on social media, in some cases shared by journalists and politicians with millions of followers, included false allegations that the French flag was waved at the Women’s Day march, while doctored video and audio showed participants chanting slogans viewed as blasphemous against Islamic figures.

'Malicious campaign'

“Each and every one of these allegations are completely false and part of a malicious campaign to silence women from speaking out about their rights,” the Aurat March organisers said in a statement.

The Women’s Democratic Front, a leftist group founded in 2018 and one of the organisers of the march, said their flag - with red, white and purple stripes - had been misrepresented as the French flag, which has blue, white and red stripes.

Hassan Abbas, a security expert at the National Defence University in Washington, said the TTP statement should be a “wake-up call” for security agencies.

“[It is aimed at] creating fear, gaining the sympathy of religious radicals and recruiting extremists in urban centres of Pakistan,” he added.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/229163...-fir-against-aurat-march-islamabad-organisers

So, has Aurat March accomplished anything? Did it force any change?

Change does not come easily in a patriarchal society. It takes years and decades. Good to see some women standing up for their future generations.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2292491/pakistan-ranked-fourth-worst-in-gender-parity

Pakistan has been ranked among the worst four countries in the world in gender parity with only Iraq, Yemen and Afghanistan faring worse as the country slipped to 153rd out of the 156 countries assessed in a report published by the World Economic Forum (WEF) on Wednesday, saying that the gender gap in the country has widened by 0.7 percentage points to 55.6%.

The Global Gender Gap Report 2021 stated that Pakistan featured among the bottom 10 countries in two of the four sub-indexes. The country was ranked 152nd in economic participation and opportunity and 153rd in health and survival. "Pakistan has closed just 31.6% of its economic participation and opportunity gap."

The report said that only 22.6% of women participate in the labour force and even fewer are in managerial positions (4.9%). "This means that only 26.7% and 5.2%, respectively, of these gaps have been closed so far, translating into very large income disparities between women and men," it said and added that on average, a Pakistani woman’s income is 16.3% of a man’s.

Data in the report showed that Pakistani women do not have equal access to justice, ownership of land and non-financial assets or inheritance rights. However, it added that there are signs of improvement in the share of women who are in professional and technical roles (25.3%, up from 23.4% in the previous edition of the index).

Pakistan was ranked seventh among eight countries in the South Asian region with Afghanistan being the lowest. The report said that Pakistan's progress has stagnated, saying that the estimated time to close the gender gap has now increased to 136.5 years.

In educational attainment, just an 81.1% gap has been closed, with gender gaps as large as 13% or more across all levels of education. "These gaps are the widest at lower education levels (84.1% primary enrolment gap closed) and are somewhat narrower for higher education levels (84.7% gap closed in secondary enrolment and 87.1% closed in tertiary enrolment)."

The report pointed out that only 46.5% of women are literate in Pakistan, 61.6% attend primary school, 34.2% attend high school and 8.3% are enrolled in tertiary education courses.

Pakistan has closed 94.4% of its health and survival gender gap, the report said, negatively impacted by wide sex ratio at birth (92%) due to gender-based sex-selective practices, and 85% of women have suffered intimate partner violence.

According to the report, Pakistan’s rank is relatively higher for Political Empowerment (98th), yet only 15.4% of this gap has been closed to date.

"With just 4.7 years (in the last 50) with a woman as head of state, Pakistan is one of the top 33 countries in the world on this indicator. However, women’s representation among parliamentarians (20.2%) and ministers (10.7%) remains low," it said.

The report stated that South Asia is the second-lowest performer on the index following the Middle East and North Africa, with 62.3% of its overall gender gap closed.

"In addition, progress has been too slow in the recent past, and this year has actually reversed. A decline of approximately 3 percentage points has resulted in a significant delay in the projected time needed for this region to close gender gaps, now estimated at 195.4 years."

According to the report, India has widened its gender gap from almost 66.8% closed one year ago to 62.5% this year, adding that only 22.3% of women in India and 38.4% in Bangladesh are active in the labour market. "On average in the region, the women’s labour force participation rate is 51% of the male labour force participation rate."

Data showed that the regional average share of professional and technical roles taken by women is 32.6%. "In India, only 29.2% of technical roles are held by women, and in Pakistan the share is 25.3% and in Afghanistan 19.3%."

The report stated that the share of women ministers decreased from 23.1% to 9.1% in India. "Women remain acutely underrepresented in the political sphere in this (South Asian) region."

It said that the female literacy rates are as low as 53.7% in Afghanistan, 65.8% in India, 59.7% in Nepal, 57% in Bhutan and 46.5% in Pakistan, with little sign of closing in the near future.

"The hope of closing educational gender gaps lies with the younger generation, but not everywhere. While in five of the seven countries in the region at least 98% of the gender gap in primary enrolment has been closed, in Pakistan and Nepal only 84.1% and 87%, respectively, has been closed."

bro read this...
https://www.business-standard.com/a...er-programmes-in-pakistan-120122201575_1.html

^
They got money to bring democracy in Pakistan.
US Congress clears $25 million for democracy, gender programmes in Pakistan

Pakistan is a horrible country to be woman. Zero rights, widespread domestic violence, honor killings and very limited access to education. Only 47.5% of Pakistani women are literate! This is shameful!

Pakistan is not a horrible country, islam has given all rights to women and Alhamdullilah they are living with dignity and respect. The zero rights you are mentioning and those in Aurat march are "bayghairty and bayhayai" rights.:afridi
Alhamdullilah Pakistani women are safe there few who suffers. Dont believe the fabricated numbers from Western media to promote feministic agenda #himtoo

Pakistan is not a horrible country, islam has given all rights to women and Alhamdullilah they are living with dignity and respect. The zero rights you are mentioning and those in Aurat march are "bayghairty and bayhayai" rights.:afridi
Alhamdullilah Pakistani women are safe there few who suffers. Dont believe the fabricated numbers from Western media to promote feministic agenda #himtoo

Islam has given rights to women but does that mean our culture and country gives rights to women? Which dignity? Highest number of out of school girls, highest number of honor killings, acid attacks and 5000 deaths due to domestic violence every year. Live in Pakistan and see what dignity you are talking about. Girls as young as 5 begging, working as domestic helpers and working in brick factories.

Your line of thinking is very weak and silly. Say, if labourers take to the streets to demands rights, will you shut them down and say, ‘Why are you protesting, Islam has given rights to laborers?’

The crux of the matter is that although Islam has given rights, they are not implemented and followed.

And no, the numbers are not fabricated. Pakistan is a despicable place to be women.

Thats how numbers are fabricated to create false narrativ :afridi
https://themalefactor.com/2020/05/31/unicef-fake-narrative-lockdown-domestic-violence-exposed/

So dont believe blindly what you see on internet, Pakistani women are living with peace and dignity,those who are asking Azadi in Aurat March are already azad, the stuff happening in Aurat march is an clear example that everyone is free to express themselves #himtoo

Thats how numbers are fabricated to create false narrativ :afridi
https://themalefactor.com/2020/05/31/unicef-fake-narrative-lockdown-domestic-violence-exposed/

So dont believe blindly what you see on internet, Pakistani women are living with peace and dignity,those who are asking Azadi in Aurat March are already azad, the stuff happening in Aurat march is an clear example that everyone is free to express themselves #himtoo

Are you serious? You want me to take a poorly-written article from a misogynistic/incel website seriously?

Dead bodies and acid-damaged faces do not lie!

You can continue to lie to yourself. You have no answer to my points.

Pakistani people are too sensitive. Everything becomes a war against them even if there is some truth to it and the cause is right.
Our nation is in flat out denial. Let’s file this one along with rampant corruption, extremism, lack of accountability and professionalism, etc.

This day can also be called ‘National Pakistani Meltdown Day’

Which utopian part of Pakistan do you live in?

you live in nyc not in punjab so i am pretty sure you watch everything on news.
when was last time you visited pakistan. Just visit punjab and see the ration of female teachers in all the private schools.
My relatives opened a school 2 years ago. Untill now they have 25 teachers and out of 25, three of them are male rest all female.
How many uneducated females do you have in your family?

People who continue to think this is some kind of joke need to take a good hard look at the latest Gender Wage Gap Index. Pakistan ranks better than 3 countries (Afghanistan, Yemen and Syria).

Anyone who continues to say Pakistan is a just society for women, where women have the same opportunities as men should be ashamed of themselves.

Y'all think everything is as simple as giving up your place in line for a lady or placards that offend you. It's not.

you live in nyc not in punjab so i am pretty sure you watch everything on news.
when was last time you visited pakistan. Just visit punjab and see the ration of female teachers in all the private schools.
My relatives opened a school 2 years ago. Untill now they have 25 teachers and out of 25, three of them are male rest all female.
How many uneducated females do you have in your family?

I visit Pakistan regularly and lived there majority of my life.

As I said you’re living in dreamworld. Also lol at your saying all of Punjab. Maybe if you said DHA in Lahore (still not true) I might have taken seriously but whole of Punjab? Lol

There aren’t any uneducated females in my family but we are at least an upper middle class family which is not the case for vast majority of Pakistanis. So my family is not a guage. We have some seraiki maids and their sons are studying but daughters aren’t and are already working since they were barely teens. Is that fair to you?

there is a example non of your family's female is uneducated. same is true for me and many other members of pakpassion. there are few rural areas and some parts of sindh where females are not allowed to go to school (which i strongly against it). however, for the most part female are getting education.

may be you have stats from the 1980 that you are discussing today.

Pakistan ranked 151 out of 153 countries on the Global Gender Gap Index Report 2020 index, published by the World Economic Forum (WEF) on Tuesday, only managing to surpass Iraq and Yemen.

The scorecard for the country places Pakistan at 150 in economic participation and opportunity, 143 in educational attainment, 149 in health and survival and 93 in political empowerment.

A comparison of previous rankings shows that the overall ranking for Pakistan has drastically slipped from 112 in 2006 to 151 in 2020.

Likewise, the country slipped from 112 to 150 in economic participation and opportunity, from 110 to 143 in educational attainment, from 112 to 149 in health and survival and from 37 to 93 in political empowerment during the same period.

The report highlights that economic opportunities for women in Pakistan are limited with the country only managing to bridge 32.7 per cent of the gap between men and women in the workplace.

In health and survival, the gap widened to 94.6pc, which means that women in the country do not have the same access to healthcare as men.

Among the seven South Asian countries included in the index, Pakistan charted at the very bottom. Bangladesh ranked 50, followed by Nepal, 101, Sri Lanka, 102, India ,112, Maldives ,123, and Bhutan,131.

South Asia has closed two-thirds of its gender gap. The region is home to 860 million women, three-fourths of whom live in India.

Among the eight regions of the world, South Asia’s gender gap is the second largest after the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, where only 61pc of the gender gap has been closed.

Since 2006, South Asia is the region that has progressed the most, gaining six percentage points. If the rate of progress of the past 15 years was to continue — a very strong hypothesis — it will take 71 years to close the region’s gender gap.

In terms of female representation in parliament and in cabinets, however, South Asia’s performance is largely in line with other emerging regions. For example, women represent 20pc or less of the parliament in six of the seven countries studied, the only exception being Sri Lanka.

Funny how a poster could end up making men go crazy.

The purpose of the protest is simple. Mind ur own business, stop getting riled up with things that dont concern you. No need to police others.

Pakistani culture is such that we have a habit of morally policing others.

Now, this year the trend was such that people labelled faked blasphemy cases against women. Videos were doctered on purpose to show it as women were insulting islam or the prophet. Purpose being that the women who standing for their rights wont be lynched under blasphemy laws.

Funny how a poster could end up making men go crazy.

The purpose of the protest is simple. Mind ur own business, stop getting riled up with things that dont concern you. No need to police others.

Now, this year the trend was such that people labelled faked blasphemy cases against women. Videos were doctered on purpose to show it as women were insulting islam or the prophet. Purpose being that the women who standing for their rights wont be lynched under blasphemy laws.

so true

what do you expect from a culture where people are more concerned about killing kafirs, conducting extra judicial killings of blasphemy suspects and doubting pandemic and evidence based data.

Seems like a large section of Pakistanis are living in a different universe altogether..

LAHORE: The ‘Aurat March’ Faisalabad was cancelled on Sunday allegedly under pressure from the city administration, which did not give the organisers the no objection certificate (NOC).

The students, civil society and women had planned to organise the Aurat March to raise a voice against “ongoing femicide and protest the brutal murders of women all over the country in the name of ‘isolated incidents’ and to make collective social change in the way women are treated”.

The charter of demands of the Aurat March Faisalabad, shared on its official twitter handle, spelled out the objectives of the march, saying the objectives included an end to all gender-based violence, especially violence against women, and other gender minorities by patriarchal institutions and forces. The 20 demands and objectives included protection of rights of women and transpersons, establishment of gender-based violence reporting cells, led by women or trans policewomen, a toll-free hotline for reporting domestic violence cases, special centres for abuse victims, implementation of laws against women abuse and child marriages and steps to end honour-killing incidents.

The organisers, mainly students and their teachers, had launched an online campaign in support of the march on social media days back and also applied to the district administration to issue them a no objection certificate (NOC) to hold the march on Sunday.

The Faisalabad assistant commissioner concerned allegedly did not give them permission for holding the march. The organisers had to cancel the event and they launched an online campaign against cancellation of the march on social media.

The official Twitter account of Aurat March Faisalabad tweeted: “Aurat march has been postponed due to security concerns. New update will be posted shortly” (sic).

The Facebook page of the Aurat March Faisalabad posted: “It’s utterly sad that the system reacted against a peaceful and democratic March that was organized by students of the city. The administration seemed horrified by the popularity and solidarity by the peoples of the city and denied providing any sort of space and protection for a peaceful demonstration, rather, resorted to harassment and threat to the organizers.

But this isn’t the end. We extend our appreciation and thank you all for showing your support. Our voices for the rights of women wouldn’t end here, this is just a drop and we would progress in our fight against patriarchy that has penetrated everywhere. The event is postponed for now, we apologise for it but we would thank you all for your support and appreciation” (sic).

Human rights and political activist Ammar Ali Jan condemned the act of the administration for, what he termed, hurling threats of dire consequences to the organisers of the Aurat March.

He tweeted, “Today’s Aurat March in Faisalabad has been cancelled. Assistant Commissioner Faisalabad threatened to arrest the organizers and called young female students to intimidate them. Its a blatant example of how the state suppresses women’s movements”.

While talking to Dawn, he said one of the organisers of the Aurat March called on Faisalabad AC to seek permission for the march but he turned down their request. He alleged that the AC also threatened the organisers with arrests of the participants of the march and cases against them.

Mr Jan alleged that a day before, members of a banned outfit Sipaha-i-Sahaba, had held a press conference to issue threats against the organisers of the Aurat March but no action was taken against them. He said the state was not allowing the people its basic right to protest against any brutality.

Teacher and rights activist Nida Kirmani tweeted, “Just heard that [MENTION=4091]Faisalabad[/MENTION]March’s event was cancelled today. #shameonAcFSD for cancelling the NOC for this important event. More power to the students for organising this. We are with you 100%!

One of the organisers of the Aurat March, Moeez Abid also protested against the administration for not allowing to conduct the march for women right.

In a series of tweets, he said “Let me tell you what happens, Aurat March was planned since a week, We communicated to every responsible branch and authority over the NOC and had all what it takes for us to execute our ‘Right to Protest’ Given to us by Article 16 of ‘Constitution of Pakistan’. (sic)”

He further tweeted “Inside last 24 hrs, Some Sectarian Organisations had a press conference, Which was truly against how these Marches specifically ‘Aurat March’ is causing harm since Women rights are granted in ‘Pakistan’, Assistant Commissioner in the long negotiation of 2 hours kept on arguing on how Noor (Mukadam) should be blamed too, How women rights are already fulfilled and gave reason to us for not fulfilling the legitimate NOC requirement, Keep on giving made-up excuses on Muharram when it’s not even started so now we have decided to start a campaign against AC Commissioner since they are just one call away from an extremist mullah to take away our rights so Kindly retweet and Please spread the Hashtag #ShameOnACFsd so we can have this march as soon as possible. (sic)”

This correspondent contacted the AC concerned through repeated calls and messages to get his version but he did not reply.

Published in Dawn, August 2nd, 2021

^State-sanctioned persecution of women and state-sponsored misogyny in my opinion. This is what happens when the state refuses to even recognise that female are humans and that they should be protected. None of the government officials nor any minister has ever come out to condemn the widespread violence against women or talked about women welfare.

Amnesty International demands govt grant permission for Aurat March protest in Faisalabad

FAISALABAD: The Amnesty International South Asia on Monday called on the Pakistan government to grant permission to the Aurat March organisers to hold a protest in the city.

The protest was supposed to be held on Sunday on the Noor Mukadam issue, however, the Aurat March organisers announced that it had been postponed due to security reasons.

"Amnesty International notes with serious concern the government’s decision to bar the #AuratMarch protest in Faisalabad yesterday. The right to peaceful assembly is protected by all major human rights conventions and the Constitution of Pakistan," the Amnesty International South Asia said in a Twitter message.

The international human rights watchdog called upon authorities to immediately grant Aurat March Faisalabad all necessary permissions and provide them security, should they need it.

The organisers had also issued a statement saying they will give a new date for the protest.

"Aurat march has been postponed due to security concerns. New update will be posted shortly," it said.

'Security threats'

Speaking to Geo.tv, Assistant Commissioner Faisalabad City Ayub Bukhari said that the organisers were holding the protest without obtaining a no-objection certificate (NOC).

"In such events, there are a lot of security threats and security risks. We asked them to apply for a proper NOC," he said, adding that the Aurat March organisers had even provided authorities with a written affidavit "that we were organising this march without an NOC".

"They did not adopt a proper procedure," he said.

Bukhari clarified that he does not give permissions for such events, adding that it is his boss (Deputy Commissioner) who has the prerogative. "If they get permission, well and good," he said.

The assistant commissioner said that there is definitely a threat due to preparations for the holy month of Muharram, adding that restrictions have also been placed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

When asked to comment on the Noor Mukadam case, he refused to do so.

"I did not comment on the Noor Mukadam case and neither do I want to comment on it now," he said.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/363037-am...c8837a15b44-1627916900-0-gqNtZGzNAzijcnBszQqO

So where are these torch bearers of "Mera Jism, meri marzi" now?

Why aren't these women in streets protesting against forceful removal of Hijab?

It looks, these women support the action when a female wishes to act like a slut but now, the cat caught their tongues when some females wish to take Hijab.

Double standards of freedom, or these are NGO paid sell-outs barking about freedom to chose , under the guise of "mera jism, meri marzi" as long as woman wants to remove decency in how she represents herself in the public?

Religious Affairs Minister Noorul Haq Qadri has written a letter to Prime Minister Imran Khan saying that anti-Islamic slogans should not be raised on International Women's Day, which is celebrated across the world on March 8.

The minister has also suggested celebrating International Hijab Day instead on March 8, in an effort to express solidarity with Muslim women across the globe.

In a letter to the prime minister dated Feb 9, a copy of which is available with Dawn.com, the minister said International Women's Day was celebrated on March 8 every year since the International Women's Year was first recognised by the United Nations in 1975.

He said that rallies were organised worldwide and programmes were held in an effort to eradicate societal injustice against women and to ensure they get their due rights.

Qadri pointed out that in Pakistan, a campaign was being organised under the banner of Aurat March which sought to highlight issues being faced by women.

"But the kind of placards, banners and slogans raised during the march portray as if the issue is with societal norms underlined in Islam more than women's rights,” he said.

The minister said Pakistan was a Muslim country and a majority of society wished to live their lives according to the teachings of Islam. He added that Islam was a complete code of life for which there was no other alternate.

"Any group, under the banner of Aurat March or any other title, on the occasion of upcoming International Women's Day on March 8, should not be allowed to ridicule Islamic values, societal norms, hijab or modesty as such acts hurt the sentiments of Muslims in the country," he said.

He requested the prime minister to observe "International Hijab Day" on March 8, in an effort to express solidarity with Muslim women across the globe who had to struggle for religious independence and basic human rights.

Qadri said that observing International Hijab Day would help draw the attention of the global community, including the United Nations, towards the treatment of Muslim women and students in neighbouring India and Indian Illegally Occupied Jammu and Kashmir (IIOJK).

He urged the premier to use the occasion to call on the international community to put an end to India's treatment of Muslims in an effort to protect their religious freedom.

The minister concluded his letter by saying that programmes should be organised at a federal and provincial level to observe International Hijab Day. He added that the religious affairs ministry and the information ministry should be directed to draw up a strategy in this regard.

Sherry Rehman calls Qadri’s letter 'concerning'
Meanwhile, Senator Sherry Rehman dubbed Qadri's letter to the prime minister as "concerning", suggesting that it was an attempt to “ban” Aurat March scheduled on March 8.

"Such a statement from a federal minister is shocking," she said, adding that March 8 is celebrated across the world as women's day. "What will you gain by imposing a ban on a march by unarmed women?"

She went on to say that no one had imposed restrictions on celebrating a day dedicated to hijab. "On the one hand, we condemn India's attitude, but on the other you talk about banning a women's march."

The senator said that International Women's Day was for women from all walks of life, adding that it aimed to raise awareness in society regarding gender stereotypes and discrimination against women.

"You are conspiring to deprive unarmed women of their freedom and rights on International Women's Day," she said.

The minister later issued a clarification, saying that “some political leaders are trying to spread negative propaganda without reading the letter.”

Qadri said in his letter to the prime minister he had recommended celebrating International Hijab Day on March 8.

He noted that female students in India were facing violence and mental anguish due to their decision to wear the hijab, referring to the recent ban on the headscarf in some Indian states.

He said that organisations fighting for women's rights had also raised their voices against growing extremism and Islamophobia in India.

In pictures: Women take to streets in Mumbai as hijab row expands in India

The minister said that Pakistani society was not too liberal, devoid of basic human rights or rigid in terms of religious values, suggesting that “our society should have a moderate character”.

"Obscenity and immodesty under the guise of rights should not be allowed under any circumstances," he said, adding that the contents of the letter were clear and reflected the collective thinking of Pakistani society.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1675758/jui-f-opposes-aurat-march-threatens-to-stop-it-with-baton

The president of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl's (JUI-F) Islamabad chapter has voiced opposition to Aurat March held across the country every year on International Women's Day, celebrated on March 8, warning that they would use "baton" to stop it.

"If any attempts are made for obscenity on March 8 in Islamabad, we will condemn it," warned Abdul Majeed Hazarvi, the chief of JUI-F's Islamabad wing, while addressing a demonstration held in the capital's D-Chowk in connection with India's hijab row.

Hazarvi said that during Aurat March, "obscenity is spread in the name of women's rights".

He warned the government that if the march was allowed, "we will [use] baton to stop it".

Aurat March, which was first held in Karachi in 2018, is now organised in numerous other cities across the country on March 8 every year to celebrate International Women's Day and highlight the issues women face in Pakistan.

The march has been subjected to criticism earlier as well, in particular for the slogans and placards raised during it. In 2019, the march's participants in the capital came under attack when male students from Jamia Hafsa took down their tent and hurled stones at them.

Last year, petitions where filed in the Islamabad and Lahore high courts, asking for a ban on the march. But these petitions were dismissed, with courts saying the right to assemble peacefully was guaranteed in the Constitution.

The latest tirade against the event from the JUI-F comes just a day after Religious Affairs Minister Noorul Haq Qadri wrote a letter to Prime Minister Imran Khan, saying that anti-Islamic slogans should not be raised on International Women's Day.

The minister had also suggested celebrating International Hijab Day instead on March 8, in an effort to express solidarity with Muslim women across the globe.

After the letter drew criticism on social media, notably from PPP Senator Sherry Rehman and Pakistan’s former ambassador to the UN, Maleeha Lodhi, Qadri issued a clarification saying that some political leaders were trying to spread negative propaganda without reading his letter.

Meanwhile, Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry said that governments did not have the right to police people's views and clothing, adding that bans should only apply in places where violence is being promoted.

He expressed the views while speaking to Geo News where he was asked about Qadri's letter to the prime minister. "I have not seen Noorul Haq Qadri's letter [and] what he has written," he said, adding that anything which "did not involve violence" should not be banned.

"You can talk about extremism, but if there is no violence then there is no issue. You can't indulge in hate speech, you can't incite people to violence and you cannot carry out torture."

The minister went on to say the every person had their own ideas and views and that there were no curbs on this in democratic governments. "Where you think that they have tried to incite violence, then that is a separate matter."

Chaudhry said that the government should not become a party in the matter concerning what one wears and doesn't wear. "This is not the government's decision. This is society's decision. It [society] makes its own decisions about what is and isn't appropriate.

"If governments start making these decisions, it leads to anarchy in society which we are seeing in India," he said, also giving the example of the rise of Islamophobia in Europe.

He said that society should only stand up to violence, adding that every person had the right to their own views.

Asked whether he had any objections to the slogans and banners raised during Aurat March, he said that many of these had been "photoshopped". "When it was investigated later, it was discovered that they were photoshopped."

He said that there were clear lines which one could not cross in Pakistan. "But calling for a ban on someone having a [certain] point of view is incomprehensible."

At the JUI-F's demonstration, MNA Shahida Akhtar Ali, who heads the party's women wing, also spoke about the escalating hijab row in India.

The issue grabbed headlines last month after a government-run school in India’s Karanartaka barred students wearing hijabs from entering classrooms, triggering protests outside the school gate. More schools in the state followed with similar bans, forcing the state’s top court to intervene.

The issue further escalated when a video of a hijab-clad student, Muskan Khan, being heckled and jeered at by a mob of Hindutva supporters in Karnataka surfaced on social media.

"We pay tribute to Muskan Khan," said Ali at today's demonstration, condemning the "hatred being directed towards Muslims in India".

She lamented that hijab was being targeted in India, adding that "we have all gathered here today ... to raise voice for hijab."

"Hijab is our pride, our honour," she said. "As Muslims, it is obligatory upon us to respect hijab."

Ali demanded that since the matter held significance for the entire Muslim ummah, it should be raised in the Orga*nisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

She said the opposition to hijab in India was actually "propaganda against Islam, and we will continue to defend the sanctity and honour of hijab".

JUI-F general secretary Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri said, "India has been exposed as its constitution is being violated and rights of minorities trampled."

He criticised Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and "extremist groups" in India, regretting the "silence of human rights organisations" on the matter.

Haideri also demanded that the "OIC should play its role and raise voice against the atrocities in India".

So where are these torch bearers of "Mera Jism, meri marzi" now?

Why aren't these women in streets protesting against forceful removal of Hijab?

It looks, these women support the action when a female wishes to act like a slut but now, the cat caught their tongues when some females wish to take Hijab.

Double standards of freedom, or these are NGO paid sell-outs barking about freedom to chose , under the guise of "mera jism, meri marzi" as long as woman wants to remove decency in how she represents herself in the public?

Which world are you living in? Where in Pakistan are women being forced to remove hijab?

Ever heard of showing solidarity with same faith or beliefs people even if they live across border? These Paid wetern anti Islam propoganda NGO's hypocacy is now there for all to see for not support this cause. Just want limitless freedon in name of liberlaism. Will never happen in 100 years in Pak no matter how much propoganda they do.

Participants of a Hijab March in the federal capital on Friday warned that they would not allow the spread of indecency in the name of women’s rights, vowing to resist the Aurat march with sticks on March 8, the International Women’s Day.

The Hijab march was organised by the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) from D-Chowk to Parliament House in solidarity with Indian Muslim girl Muskaan Khan, who braved the Indian goons in face of anti-Hijab slogans. The marchers, wearing Burqa and Hijab, carried flags and placards inscribed with different slogans.

Addressing the marchers, JUI-F leader Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri said that demonstrations were being held across the country on ‘Hijab day’. He also mentioned Hijab ban in India, saying that the Indian Muslims, especially women, were making sacrifices to defend Hijab.

Expressing solidarity with them, he added, “Today, the true face of India has been exposed.” He condemned the goons belonging to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bhartya Janata Party (BJP) for distorting the secular face of their country.

“Every day in India, houses are set on fire and Muslims are raped. This is the face of India. I want to ask human rights defenders, ‘are you blind?’ Muslim girls are being persecuted in India,” Haideri said.

He praised the bravery of Muslim girl Muskaan who raised the slogan of Allah-o-Akbar in front of a Hindu mob. “Hindu youth stopped because of Muskan,” he said, urging the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) to take steps in this regard.

JUI-F member of the National Assembly (MNA) Shahida Akhtar Ali said that every city of Pakistan had stood up for the sanctity of Hijab. “We demand of the government to raise its voice at the OIC platform for the protection of Hijab,” she said.

JUI-F Islamabad leader Abdul Majeed Hazarawi said that indecency was spread in the name of women’s rights. “If any attempt is made in Islamabad on March 8, we will resist it.”

He warned the government, saying: “If this march is brought out on March 8, we will stop it with sticks.”

Another JUI-F MNA Alia Kamran said that it was very easy to identify Muslim women because they wore Hijab. She also praised the bravery of Muskan Khan. “I salute all my sisters, including Muskan Khan, who uphold wearing Hijab. Hijab is the pride and identity of women,” she added.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2344277/jui-f-warns-it-will-stop-aurat-march-with-sticks

Pakistan is a country where people are more outraged over women marching for their rights than rapes, murders, robberies, acid attacks, honor killings and rampant sex abuse of children. Violence against women is such normalised that people see it their duty to assault women if they are seen as dishonouring cultural norms.

20 men raped two women in Naukot in revenge for the freewill marriage of their sister but this despicable act merely made the news and I did not see any outrage against this heinous crime.

No wonder we fourth worst country for women. Global shame!

KARACHI, Pakistan — The reaction to Pakistan’s first women’s march was relatively mild: criticism and condemnation from Islamist parties and conservatives, who called the participants “anti-religion” and “vulgar.”

That did not deter the organizers of the 2018 march in Karachi, the significance of which reverberates to this day.

What started as a single demonstration to observe International Women’s Day has become an annual lightning rod for religious conservatives across Pakistan, who have been adopting harsher attitudes toward female activists. Now, as women prepare to march on Tuesday in Karachi and other cities, powerful figures in Pakistan want the event banned altogether.

Women planning to join the Aurat Marches, as they are called — Urdu for “women’s march” — have faced countless threats of murder and rape, along with accusations that they receive Western funding as part of a plot to promote obscenity in Pakistan.

“The growing uneasiness surrounding Aurat March every year shows that the campaign for women’s rights has been making an impact,” said Sheema Kermani, one of the march’s founders.

Last year, opposition peaked when Islamist groups demonstrated in major cities, accusing the marchers of using blasphemous slogans — a crime punishable by death in Pakistan, accusations of which have provoked lynchings and murders. The Pakistani Taliban have ominously warned the marchers to “fix their ways.”

The first Aurat March was organized by a small group of women in the port city of Karachi, who hoped to draw attention to the violence, inequality and other challenges faced by women across the country.

“We had held discussions and mobilized women in various communities, collected funds by small contributions from individuals, and wrote a manifesto to articulate demands related to women’s bodily rights to the government and Pakistani society,” Ms. Kermani said.

It worked. On March 8, 2018, the march drew thousands to the grassy grounds of Frere Hall, a majestic monument in Karachi dating from the British colonial era.

It also inspired women in other Pakistani cities, like Lahore and Islamabad. Since then, Aurat Marches have been held annually in major urban centers.

Analysts said the success of the first march made it a polarizing event in Pakistan, even as it advanced the possibilities of women’s activism in the Muslim-majority nation.

“Younger feminists who were inspired by a series of global women’s marches took their rage against violence, moral policing and lack of bodily or sexual choices for women and marginalized genders to the streets,” said Afiya Shehrbano Zia, the author of a book on feminism and Islam in Pakistan.

Girls brought placards proclaiming, “My body, my choice,” and performed an Urdu version of a Chilean protest song, “A Rapist in Your Path,” that assails rape culture and victim-shaming.

“There was nothing subtle about their slogans and banners from the first march,” Ms. Zia said, noting that the protesters had even highlighted L.G.B.T.Q. rights, a bold move in Pakistan.

As the event grew bigger over the years, marchers started raising even more sensitive issues, including abortion rights. Pakistan’s abortion rate is among the highest in the world; women who end their pregnancies often do so themselves, because many doctors refuse to perform the procedure on religious and cultural grounds.

Some Islamist parties responded to the marches’ growing popularity by organizing their own “modesty march.” In 2020, conservatives filed court petitions in an unsuccessful attempt to stop the Aurat Marches. That same year, a group of students and supporters of the Lal Masjid, the mosque at the center of a bloody 2007 clash between militant Islamists and the army, assaulted marchers in Islamabad.

After last year’s march, opponents doctored footage to make it appear that marchers had used blasphemous slogans, then circulated the faked videos on social media. A newspaper published a front-page story that referred to the marchers as prostitutes.

Pakistan’s minister for religious affairs, Noorul Haq Qadri, has spoken out against the Aurat March, claiming it violates the principles of Islam. He recently asked Prime Minister Imran Khan to declare March 8 to be International Hijab Day.

And some Islamist parties have threatened further violence. “The marchers spread obscenity in the name of women’s rights,” said Abdul Majeed Hazarvi, a leader of the Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam-Fazl party in Islamabad. “If the government allows the march, we will use a baton to stop it.”

Kiran Masih, 46, a Christian nurse with two daughters, has joined an Aurat March for the past two years, bringing a placard that reads, “Save our daughters.”

“As a minority, we feel increasingly insecure,” Mrs. Masih said. “At the workplace, we fear anyone can harm us on the false allegations of blasphemy, and at our homes, we fear that our daughters could be kidnapped and converted to Islam.”

Last year, at least 84 people were accused of breaking Pakistan’s blasphemy laws, and three people suspected of doing so were killed by mobs, according to the Center for Social Justice, a Lahore-based organization that campaigns for the rights of minority groups.

The Aurat marchers have claimed victories. They campaigned against the physically intrusive “virginity tests” often inflicted on women who bring accusations of rape, and a court in the northern city of Lahore banned them last year. The government has also passed a measure allowing the chemical castration of convicted rapists, another demand of the marchers.

But the increasingly aggressive opposition has left some march organizers fearing for their lives. Many have deactivated their social media accounts. Still, they are undaunted.

“We were and are scared, but we know that without putting ourselves in such a dangerous situation we cannot bring change,” Ms. Kermani said.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/03/06/world/asia/pakistan-aurat-march-women.html

RAWALPINDI: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Tuesday said that the government has made laws that protect women's rights but it is the society that has to implement them.

The statement came during PM Imran Khan's address at a ceremony in Rawalpindi's Fatima Jinnah University to celebrate International Women's Day.

The premier said that most Pakistani women don’t get their rights and that is because the country has adopted traditions from India, where women were considered men’s property.

“Indian women used to be burned alive (Satti) with the body of her husband if he died” he said.

On contrary, Islam gives many rights to women, he added.

PM Imran said that as the laws have been created, the administration, women and everyone else has a role to play in raising awareness on women’s rights and their protection

Shedding light on the increasing trend of second marriages, the PM said that a collective struggle is needed to stop men from abandoning their wives after they marry another woman.

“Women have separate rights in case of divorce,” PM Imran said while pledging to enforce relevant laws in the future.

GEO