The Babar Azam versus Virat Kohli comparison

All positive on Babar’s talent ofcourse.
Indians will always remember Pakistani players are the Brazil of cricket without the tournament wins.
Babar is not Kohli but he doesn’t have to be to still go down as a GOAT. No matter how much you and others troll him, unfortunately the trolling will not stop him from getting there.

I will say that those people aren’t real fans of cricket but just deeply influenced by the communal, political hatred. I am from Bharat, a Brahmin Hindu, and i can tell you that majority of the people in my circle talk about Babar, Rizwan, Inzamam, Younis, Misbah with immense respect. Half for their cricketing credentials and the rest for the way they have behaved on field and in media. The likes of Shoaib Akhtar, Afridi, etc are also admired but more for their cricketing ability and less for their behaviour. But Babar Azam in particular is seen as a thorough gentleman and a very very fine batter. His cover drive in undeniably the most elegant looking and many of us wished he had done a lot more for Pakistan.

People tend to behave like animals when they are acting as a collective group in our parts of the world. Genuine fans of the game in both countries will never be disrespectful to great cricketers and especially to well behaved cricketers. For example Misbah may not be the greatest ever but we respect him for stabilising Pakistan cricket with his strong leadership.
There's no comparison between Babar and Kohli—anyone making such comparisons clearly doesn’t understand cricket. As a Pakistani fan, Kohli has given me plenty of heartbreaks, yet I deeply admire him. His fighting spirit, relentless hard work, will to be the best, and refusal to give up are an inspiration for the entire region. He's also been incredibly gracious and friendly to Pakistanis off the field. Sometimes, I wish he played for Pakistan.

Kohli and Rohit are the reason many Pakistanis dread India-Pakistan games—we fear the humiliation they often bring. Babar isn't Kohli, not just in terms of stats or impact, but because of the difference in personality and mental attitude. Kohli embodies a killer instinct, a match-winning mentality, and the mindset of a true champion.

There's no comparison between Babar and Kohli—anyone making such comparisons clearly doesn’t understand cricket. As a Pakistani fan, Kohli has given me plenty of heartbreaks, yet I deeply admire him. His fighting spirit, relentless hard work, will to be the best, and refusal to give up are an inspiration for the entire region. He's also been incredibly gracious and friendly to Pakistanis off the field. Sometimes, I wish he played for Pakistan.

Kohli and Rohit are the reason many Pakistanis dread India-Pakistan games—we fear the humiliation they often bring. Babar isn't Kohli, not just in terms of stats or impact, but because of the difference in personality and mental attitude. Kohli embodies a killer instinct, a match-winning mentality, and the mindset of a true champion.

Yes, unfortunately.
Forget Saeed Anwar, Inzy, Yousuf etc but he’s even failed to emulate someone like Salman Butt who despite being an average batter had a lot of centuries against Bharat including in big games like the Platinum jubilee match at Eden Gardens.

Babar Azam has failed to unleash himself as a top batter and it’s disappointing because we all know the talent is definitely there. It’s been a long wait to see him taking his game to the best level. He needs to turn it around big time now. I say forget about batting average and all for a while and just go out there and blast the bowling. He should take inspiration from late 90s Tendulkar before the Tennis elbow injury. I remain a believer in Babar. Hopefully we do get to see special big match knocks from him in the future. Hopefully not against Bharat.

Yes, unfortunately.
Forget Saeed Anwar, Inzy, Yousuf etc but he’s even failed to emulate someone like Salman Butt who despite being an average batter had a lot of centuries against Bharat including in big games like the Platinum jubilee match at Eden Gardens.

Babar Azam has failed to unleash himself as a top batter and it’s disappointing because we all know the talent is definitely there. It’s been a long wait to see him taking his game to the best level. He needs to turn it around big time now. I say forget about batting average and all for a while and just go out there and blast the bowling. He should take inspiration from late 90s Tendulkar before the Tennis elbow injury. I remain a believer in Babar. Hopefully we do get to see special big match knocks from him in the future. Hopefully not against Bharat.
True. His lack of performances against India and in ICC tournaments have actually pegged him down a notch. If he doesn’t turn it around soon, time is running out.
Pakistan’s lack of fight against India, specially in ODIs is because of Imam and Babar going missing.

Babar is not Kohli but he doesn’t have to be to still go down as a GOAT. No matter how much you and others troll him, unfortunately the trolling will not stop him from getting there.
Babar is already a GOAT for his fans, nothing has stopped him.

I am not sure what your sample size is.
Have you been paying attention on this forum? You will find a lot of criticism on this forum, sometimes really harsh criticism too.
If Pakistan loses and babar scores a century while the rest of the batting unit scores nothing, it’s still Babar who will get criticized. Even if he top scores with a 70 odd and team loses, the blame is put on Babar because there is literally no one else in this team who takes responsibility apart from Rizwan, who is quite limited himself.

Mohammad Amir speaking during an interview:

“Babar Azam still has five to seven years in his career, Virat Kohli is moving towards the end of his career and has already left a legacy in cricket. In my opinion, as a cricketer, there is no comparison. If in five to seven years from now, Babar Azam will still be at that level, you can talk about Babar's legacy too and call him a legend. Babar Azam has just hit his peak, while Virat Kohli has seen it all and may retire in a year or two. Making a comparison is foolish, given Babar's ongoing career."

Mohammad Amir speaking during an interview:

“Babar Azam still has five to seven years in his career, Virat Kohli is moving towards the end of his career and has already left a legacy in cricket. In my opinion, as a cricketer, there is no comparison. If in five to seven years from now, Babar Azam will still be at that level, you can talk about Babar's legacy too and call him a legend. Babar Azam has just hit his peak, while Virat Kohli has seen it all and may retire in a year or two. Making a comparison is foolish, given Babar's ongoing career."
Kohli is better as of today across all 3 tournaments with ODIs being the closest which is each's best.

Huge Babar fan but will admit facts.

Virat and Babar are the same in Tests as both are mediocre right now. Virat is ahead in both T20Is and ODIs even at the end of his career.

in similar situation, Virat Kohli chased the target of 320+ with 13 balls remaining and scored 183 runs.

Let’s see how Kohli will perform in this tournament. He looks completely washed up, but he has never played an inning like Babar's in today’s ODI match.

in similar situation, Virat Kohli chased the target of 320+ with 13 balls remaining and scored 183 runs.

Let’s see how Kohli will perform in this tournament. He looks completely washed up, but he has never played an inning like Babar's in today’s ODI match.

That was peak Kohli.

Bit even a washed up Kohli of 2025 cannot top this kind of a disgraceful knock.

Bhai, Virat’s test batting average might drop to 35 one day but he would never play a disgraceful ODI knock like Babar’s knock tonight while chasing.
totally agreed

this king debate should be over now after watching Babar's awful inning tonight.

Yesterday's innings confirmed what was universal, dont compare Kohli and Babar. Babar scores runs, Kohli wins you matches!

Virat bhai got this one bro.

Babar bhai started with a bang, Viratbhai held on longer

It's quite dumb to compare any of our players, even someone as talented as Saim Ayub, to anyone from the top teams. The top teams make sure their players improve, while we just don't have the resources to maximize the potential our players might have.

Its a cold hard fact that needs to be digested.

Pakistani cricketers really do adore him.

It's quite dumb to compare any of our players, even someone as talented as Saim Ayub, to anyone from the top teams. The top teams make sure their players improve, while we just don't have the resources to maximize the potential our players might have.

Its a cold hard fact that needs to be digested.
If small franchise can do that then why can't pcb with all that resources???

Salman Butt, while speaking on a local media outlet:

“His [Babar Azam] Test average with 9 centuries and 26 fifties is 44.5. One-day average is 56.72 with 19 centuries and 32 half-centuries. In T20Is he has an average of 41, strike-rate of 129. Someone tell me if these stats have been beaten by any single player in Pakistan in the last 20 years."

"The players who are trying to say they are match-winners, combine them and look at how many matches they have won. I think a comparison is warranted.”

“Talk sense. You don’t have a Kohli or a Williamson. Babar is no Kohli. But Babar is the best that we have.”

“If he’s not scoring runs, he needs back-up now. When he’s scoring, even if you don’t like him you will have to sing his praises with the world.”

“This dip in form, even Kohli had it, but Kohli is such a high-class player that he kept scoring 50s in those matches,”

“Who did he have with him? Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni. Big players, match-winners. Who does Babar have?”

Former Pakistan cricketer and coach Mohsin Khan has made a startling statement while speaking to a local media outlet:

“First of all, let me tell you one thing. Virat Kohli is nothing compared to Babar Azam; Kohli is zero. We are not talking here about who is a better player and we are talking about Pakistan cricket. Which has been destroyed. There is no planning, no strategies, no merit, and there is no accountability at all. There is no accountability.”

Well, thread was about the best. Now a New thread should be created about Who is the Worst and both of them have many things to show.

Salman Butt, while speaking on a local media outlet:

“His [Babar Azam] Test average with 9 centuries and 26 fifties is 44.5. One-day average is 56.72 with 19 centuries and 32 half-centuries. In T20Is he has an average of 41, strike-rate of 129. Someone tell me if these stats have been beaten by any single player in Pakistan in the last 20 years."

"The players who are trying to say they are match-winners, combine them and look at how many matches they have won. I think a comparison is warranted.”

“Talk sense. You don’t have a Kohli or a Williamson. Babar is no Kohli. But Babar is the best that we have.”

“If he’s not scoring runs, he needs back-up now.
When he’s scoring, even if you don’t like him you will have to sing his praises with the world.”

“This dip in form, even Kohli had it, but Kohli is such a high-class player that he kept scoring 50s in those matches,”

“Who did he have with him? Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni. Big players, match-winners. Who does Babar have?”
Some valid points from the convicted fixer but still true point!

How much will you lie now ? Koi Sharm o hayaa hai?
Kohli in the last phase of his career is 1000X better than fake king Babar.
Babar's poor state and the way Pakistani fans have thrown him under the bus makes me respect Sachin even more.
Master Blaster carried the hopes of a billion solo for 2 decades. Gave us so much memorable moments all over the world.

How much will you lie now ? Koi Sharm o hayaa hai?
Kohli in the last phase of his career is 1000X better than fake king Babar.
In terms of pure talent, Babar > Kohli. He plays a better cover drive, a better hook (Kohli usually only pulls and is not a good hooker). Babar can play square cuts and on drives and sweep - Kohli has no square cut or sweep. Kohli could never bat over multiple days to save a test like Babar against a quality attack on a pitch that was not very easy to bat on. What India does better than us is branding, they have more people, more money and are able to push narratives better. I was watching a Cummins interview where he picked Babar over Kohli. In terms of numbers Kohli has the advantage due to longevity.

Its very difficult to read this post with a straight face. A very rare gem.

I mean, longevity brings down the average right? Thats the whole argument. Thats the argument in case of Bumrah or anyone who have incredible averages in relatively smaller careers.

How does that work here? Does Babar have better average than Kohli? He is behind in both Tests and ODIs whem Kohli is supposedly at his last legs while Babar is at his peak.

During his 30, Kohli had the world at his feet smashing centuries left and right in both ODIs/Tests.

And please stop this Talent nonsense. Babar is more talented, Shaheen is more talented, Naseem is more talented. Even Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal is more talented. Bhai, no one can ever measure talent with few shots. They need to perform at the highest level. If thats nit the case, they are just frauds masquerading as prodigies. Lol

Bhai, its just Monday! :ROFLMAO:

Babar has faced 300+ balls in a test only once, more than 200 balls only 5 times
Kohli has faced 300+ balls 5 times, more than 200 balls 22 times.

Kahaan se uthaye ye claims!! :ROFLMAO:

Bhai, its just Monday! :ROFLMAO:

Babar has faced 300+ balls in a test only once, more than 200 balls only 5 times
Kohli has faced 300+ balls 5 times, more than 200 balls 22 times.

Kahaan se uthaye ye claims!! :ROFLMAO:
How many times has Kohli batted multiple days like that to save a test like Babar did? It's not about facing 300 balls on Day 1 against Pathirana and Theekshana.

Meaning Kohli could not do anything. Got it.
Bhai sahab chance to mile. On flat roads of Karachi where a total of 28 wickets fell in 5 days. Batting long is no pressure.
Pakistan is known for flat roads in tests.

Kohli averages 42 in the 4th innings of a test Babar average is a mighty 34 :ROFLMAO:.

Anyone who writes such nonsense that Babar is more talented should get their head checked immediately.

Why do people created thread against Kohli, they should know that they never end well. We had such a good Umar Akmal Vs Kohli, now this.

Even during his slump, Kohli would score better than Babar Azam.

Pakistan needs to be cautious of hyping the batting stars just like India waited till we got someone like Bumrah in peak form to start comparing with greats.

Bhai sahab chance to mile. On flat roads of Karachi where a total of 28 wickets fell in 5 days. Batting long is no pressure.

Kohli averages 42 in the 4th innings of a test Babar average is a mighty 34 :ROFLMAO:.
So when did Kohli bat to save a test for more than a day?

He tries to win the tests not sruggle for draws. Adelaide 2014 test is the example.
It is easy to do tuk tuk on roads of Pakistan. England could have very well scored 1000 runs last year.
Babar did it ONCE in his entire career and rest of the entire time just fizzled completely.

In aus 4th innings , nehra average is more than babar 🤣

Babar more talented than Kohli? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: What's next, Naseem Shah more talented than Bumrah?
Kohli is more talented then Babar however tbf, he isn't the most talented Indian player. His work ethic is why he's the 2nd best odi batsmen India has ever produced after Sachin.

In 2008 he was good but just okay, was a chubby kid who was extremely weak on the offside, extremely weak against inswing and very vulnerable to legspin.

As he ages, these issues have once again become apparent but due to his work ethic he was top tier in prime mainly cause he nullfied swing by developing that quick 3 steps forward out the crease, and his quick reactions nullied his initial weakness against legspin.

In terms of raw talent, I would say Sachin and Yuvi are the 2 best, guys like kohli, dravid and sunny stood out due to work ethic.

Although I still don't understand his veggie boy routine, he can have the same physique without being a vegan lol. No need to go that far, but to each their own 🤷🏻‍♂️

He turned vegetarian in 2018 during the SA tour, not to maintain physique or for fitness reasons, but due to health concerns, including a cervical spine issue and elevated uric acid levels.

"In 2018, when we went to South Africa, I had a cervical spine issue while playing a Test match," Virat had said in an Instagram Live session in 2020. "It compressed a nerve that was running straight to the little finger of my right hand. It gave me a tingling sensation and I could barely feel my little finger. I could not sleep at night and it was hurting like mad.

"Then I got my tests done and my stomach was too acidic and my body was too acidic, creating too much uric acid. Even though I was taking calcium and magnesium, everything but one tablet was not sufficient for my body to function properly. So my stomach started pulling calcium from my bones and my bones got weaker. That is why I stopped eating meat completely in the middle of England tour to cut down the uric acid and I have never felt better in my life, to be honest," he added.

He turned vegetarian in 2018 during the SA tour, not to maintain physique or for fitness reasons, but due to health concerns, including a cervical spine issue and elevated uric acid levels.

"In 2018, when we went to South Africa, I had a cervical spine issue while playing a Test match," Virat had said in an Instagram Live session in 2020. "It compressed a nerve that was running straight to the little finger of my right hand. It gave me a tingling sensation and I could barely feel my little finger. I could not sleep at night and it was hurting like mad.

"Then I got my tests done and my stomach was too acidic and my body was too acidic, creating too much uric acid. Even though I was taking calcium and magnesium, everything but one tablet was not sufficient for my body to function properly. So my stomach started pulling calcium from my bones and my bones got weaker. That is why I stopped eating meat completely in the middle of England tour to cut down the uric acid and I have never felt better in my life, to be honest," he added.
Oh ic, I didn't know. Then he made the right call.

Kohli is more talented then Babar however tbf, he isn't the most talented Indian player. His work ethic is why he's the 2nd best odi batsmen India has ever produced after Sachin.

In 2008 he was good but just okay, was a chubby kid who was extremely weak on the offside, extremely weak against inswing and very vulnerable to legspin.

As he ages, these issues have once again become apparent but due to his work ethic he was top tier in prime mainly cause he nullfied swing by developing that quick 3 steps forward out the crease, and his quick reactions nullied his initial weakness against legspin.

In terms of raw talent, I would say Sachin and Yuvi are the 2 best, guys like kohli, dravid and sunny stood out due to work ethic.

What do you think of Sharma? Not giving Rohit consistent opportunities in Tests during his peak years was a serious blunder.

I view rohit as a poor man's sehwag in odi and a crap test player. He was never suited for tests.

However he is a solid odi batsmen, one of the best of all time. Reason I'm calling him a poor man's sehwag is because sehwag would have been more effective then rohit had he opened post 2012 in the 2 new ball era.

I still remember sehwag's lonely warrior innings in the 2003 final, where he went at a 100Sr against mcgrath, Lee, Gillespie, warne etc.

But being a poor man's sehwag in odi still puts Rohit better then 95% of odi batters in history.

In terms of pure raw talent though he's okay, however rohit made it count and he too worked on his game which put him ahead of the rest.

Naa, Sharma was never a good Test player or even a good Test captain. He himself was not motivated to play tests for the longest time. IMO Kohli was an amazing test captain & it was a wrong move to pass the captaincy to Sharma after Kohli quit on the back of a one or two decent series.

Based on potential / theory / life philosophy: Babar Azam

Based on results and stats: Virat Kohli

Depends on what’s important to you.

I view rohit as a poor man's sehwag in odi and a crap test player. He was never suited for tests.

However he is a solid odi batsmen, one of the best of all time. Reason I'm calling him a poor man's sehwag is because sehwag would have been more effective then rohit had he opened post 2012 in the 2 new ball era.

I still remember sehwag's lonely warrior innings in the 2003 final, where he went at a 100Sr against mcgrath, Lee, Gillespie, warne etc.

But being a poor man's sehwag in odi still puts Rohit better then 95% of odi batters in history.

In terms of pure raw talent though he's okay, however rohit made it count and he too worked on his game which put him ahead of the rest.

What people don’t realize about Sehwag or Gayle is they were not just your average ultra- attacking batsmen.

They had a solid defense, batting fitness to play long innings and great temparament. They would pick and chose their bowlers to get those mammoth 15+ run overs.

With Sehwag atleast when it came to LOIs he felt like if he was scoring at 90 s/r in tests he should have to up the percentage even more as the format gets shorter and would play ridiculous shots to get out.

Rohit is a different case. He has a very poor defense. That’s why he gets out early in spicy conditions even against good medium pacers but if he weathers the storm and gets set and assesses the pitch he can be absolutely destructive and get you like a 100 runs in 30-40 balls in odis. Obviously red ball is a different monster so he looks average.

However only edge Rohit has over Sehwag or even Gayle is if Rohit is set he will get you those 15+ type overs even against top bowlers or 145+ pace. Thats why Rohit might stick out a lot more. Sehwag is way superior to Rohit Sharma in every very which way.

However Rohit has his own unique flavor to add to cricket. 2 different type of players.

Gillespie and Warne did not play that final. I'm not surprised you missed that though because you claim to be 24 years old which would make you 2 years old during the 2003 wc final....interesting you remember it so clearly.

Brother, can you reconfirm that warne and Gillespie played that final? @gazza619 we might need to send cricinfo a memo here.

He makes things up to suit his narrative. Rana’s company has had an effect.
Rana does not make up things. You may agree or disagree with him. Momin bhaee on the other hand frequently does this. Here he randomly added Warne and Gillespie and forgot that he claimed he was 24 years old so at the time of 2003 WC he was 2 years old....which he remembers clearly apparently.

What people don’t realize about Sehwag or Gayle is they were not just your average ultra- attacking batsmen.

They had a solid defense, batting fitness to play long innings and great temparament. They would pick and chose their bowlers to get those mammoth 15+ run overs.

With Sehwag atleast when it came to LOIs he felt like if he was scoring at 90 s/r in tests he should have to up the percentage even more as the format gets shorter and would play ridiculous shots to get out.

Rohit is a different case. He has a very poor defense. That’s why he gets out early in spicy conditions even against good medium pacers but if he weathers the storm and gets set and assesses the pitch he can be absolutely destructive and get you like a 100 runs in 30-40 balls in odis. Obviously red ball is a different monster so he looks average.

However only edge Rohit has over Sehwag or even Gayle is if Rohit is set he will get you those 15+ type overs even against top bowlers or 145+ pace. Thats why Rohit might stick out a lot more. Sehwag is way superior to Rohit Sharma in every very which way.

However Rohit has his own unique flavor to add to cricket. 2 different type of players.
Good post I believe they are both unique in their own way even if Sehwag never faced Gillespie or Warne in that 2003 final as this falsely claimed earlier by other poster.

Both Virat and Babar scored fifties today, and their respective teams won the match

Babar scored 56* (42)
Kohli scored 70 (42)