The battle of Centurion | March 1st 2003

cricket_fan_1

Tape Ball Captain
Other than the 1983 win, India's high noon at the World Cup would have to be their victory against Pakistan at the Centurion in 2003. Senior pros from that side - Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh among them - have often rated this game among the greatest moments of their careers.

The India-Pakistan match was the marquee event of the early stages of the 2003 World Cup. Everyone knew it was coming for more than a year, and the temperature around it kept growing. It was played against the background of simmering political differences between the two countries. From a cricket standpoint, for players on both sides it was an occasion to stand up and be counted, another opportunity to become a national hero.

On the outside, an overflowing Centurion witnessed a cracker of a game. India chased down a formidable score. Tendulkar, in prime form, handed Wasim and Waqar a lesson they will probably never forget.

What happened on the inside was made up of many layers and levels. This is what happened on the days leading to the day India has not forgotten.

Rahul Dravid faces the press at practice and tries to temper his comments and control the temperatures. "We see it as an important World Cup game. But it is like any other game of cricket, played with a bat and ball, played over 22 yards with 22 players." The players are under stress, because they must they play well above themselves, yet keep their emotions in check. Inflaming passions either on the field or at home will not be looked on kindly.

At a sponsors' lunch that day, Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag rib their captain and you can see the anxiety within the team release a little. The weight of the match is forgotten for a bit and everyone has a laugh. Sourav complains, with a smile on his face, that kids don't respect their elders these days. "Nobody would have dared behave so freely with Mohammad Azharuddin." Yuvraj offers up a fake apology with more laughter.

Sourav, who has played in several India-Pakistan matches, says of the World Cup meeting: "One of these days, someone will have a heart attack." We often hear tales of it happening amongst viewers, so maybe he is referring to the team.

Pakistan manager Shaharyar Khan enquires about his cousin, Tiger Pataudi, and is surprised to know he is in Cape Town for a cricket show anchored by Mandira Bedi. Shahryarsaab does not know Mandira Bedi (nor does Tiger, I presume) but the two will meet after the game, it is hoped. Wasim Akram, 500-plus wickets in ODIs, is told that he should go for a thousand, and laughs: "That is impossible. As it is I need a stretcher and an ambulance to come to the ground."

Like Sourav, coach John Wright too is a worried man. Neither Indian nor Pakistani, the stress visible on his face, he is somewhat weighed down by the huge impact this game could have on the World Cup. A win will inject enormous self-belief but a loss would be a crippling setback. The key, he says, is discipline, and the best way to confront an intuitive but unfocused Pakistan is, he believes, through controlled cricket. Be tight and professional, he says in the meeting the day before the game. Allow the opposition to self-destruct. Defeat them with both passion and precision.

On the day of the match, the team is to leave the hotel at 7.50am but many players are early at breakfast, a sign that this is not "just another game". Breakfast has been moved from the coffee shop to the special team room at the hotel, to keep the fans out of the players' hair and their expectations out of the players' faces. Breakfast is eaten in silence but there is lively action at the TT table. Mohammad Kaif routs computer expert Sriram with aggressive forehand strokes, then announces he is ready to take on No. 1 seed Sachin Tendulkar, who meanwhile is focused on his fruit and cereal.

Once breakfast is done, the team make their way to the waiting bus, through a side exit to escape the crowd in the lobby. The kitbags are already loaded on. Tendulkar, Ganguly, Dravid, Kaif and Sehwag arrive carrying their music players and match bats. What can players possibly do with their bats in hotel rooms the night before games? Play shadow-defence? Practise imaginary drives? Or just keep them next to their pillows? Much like soldiers, who never let go of their weapons.

The Pakistan team is already at Centurion. They appear nicely settled. there is loud music blaring from their dressing room. Akram notices the Indians getting off the bus and waves. Both teams quickly get down to business - quite literally, as they descend 64 steps from the pavilion to the ground. Supervised by respective physios/trainers, the teams go through identical conditioning and fielding drills. The Indians are not the most athletic team in the competition, but compared to the Pakistanis they look a cut above, fitter, faster. Saeed Anwar, Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, all great players, belong to what one Indian player described the "slow-motion era of cricket".

Referee Mike Procter drops in to have a chat and first gently reminds players about completing overs in time and making sure batsmen cross on the field. Then he switches to the more serious business and delivers a subtle message. "This match," he says in a grave voice, "is a huge opportunity to perform and also a great responsibility towards cricket and your country."

Then comes the next reminder. After the toss, the teams are asked to meet on the ground, shake hands and exchange souvenirs just before the batsmen go in. Ali Bacher was keen to make this sort of statement and both teams had in theory accepted it. There is a glitch, though: one of our senior players questions the wisdom of the gesture. His argument: if this is just another game, why must we make a statement? Why is the ICC behaving like the UN? There is a bit of a delay. The photographers wait, lined up near the bottom of the stairs to record the event.

With time running out, the players decided to just get the thing done with, instead of obsessing over it. A sudden cancellation by India will be misunderstood as a deliberate snub to Pakistan. So Waqar and Sourav exchange ties, the players shake hands, an overflowing Centurion cheers enthusiastically. It is all over in less than a minute.

When play begins, Saeed Anwar speeds off like a Ferrari, and when the runs pile up at rapid pace there is a complete collapse of body language among the Indian guests at Centurion. Raj Singh Dungarpur, in a state of deep despair, thinks the boys look tired and jaded. "Our players are not strong. They need rest, not nets, before a match," he says. Rajbhai marches off purposefully to the dressing room to tell John Wright he should ease up, not try to make Indian cricketers Olympic athletes.

Pakistan march to 273, and most experts think this is too much of a mountain to climb. "Too many," Rajbhai says mournfully. One guest, completely distraught, wants to take an early flight back to India because he does not want to witness another defeat. Someone else, more militant, suggests the team should be thrown off Vijay Mallya's jet without parachutes. Mallya, dressed in white linen, diamond studs in one year, mobile phones in both hands, refrains from expressing an opinion.

After lunch comes dessert: Sachin Tendulkar, launching an innings like a batsman at nets after the coach has announced "last round". Ordinary batsmen may play each ball on merit but Tendulkar plays according to his will. We are all stunned by the ferocity and the audacity of his strokeplay. Here is a master on top of his game, ill-treating the world's bowlers. It is edge-of-the-seat, riveting stuff.

Shoaib Akhtar runs in from a mile, like Ben Johnson, but when the ball disappears quickly off Sachin's bat, he takes an hour getting back to his mark. Waqar, caned mercilessly by Sachin, can only stare helplessly. Akram looks as if he cannot believe what is happening. Sourav is tense, claps excitedly for each run scored, holds his special taveez (amulet), recites prayers, does every superstitious routine he knows.

Stricken with cramps, Sachin is in pain. Physio Andrew Leipus gives him a rehydrating drink and stretches the hamstring but the pain persists. He falls on 98, fending a short ball, unable to get out of the way of one that leapt at his throat sharply. He makes the long walk back in slow motion, and pain. He is limping. In the dressing room he slumps onto a stool next to the food counter. He is sweating profusely, drained physically and emotionally, staring blankly ahead, his eyes looking liquid. Nobody goes near him.

Normally, after a match-winning innings, players celebrate, shout, scream with delight and rejoice when the batsman who has done the deed, returns. But not a word is said here. Sachin watches his dismissal replayed on the TV screen. After a long time, John Wright goes across and pats him on the back but says nothing. Someone helps him take off his pads. Sourav claps silently from a distance.

After a few hiccups, India wins, and only then does the silence in the dressing room break. There are high fives all around, clapping, shouting, hugs and handshakes. Sourav sprints down to greet the not-out batsmen, Yuvraj and Dravid, as they come in. The Pakistanis, slowly walking up the 64 steps, reach across to congratulate the Indians. Abdul Razzaq and Saeed Anwar come into the Indian dressing room to congratulate the players. Sourav wants the entire team out for the presentation. Barring a tired Dravid, the boys go down to the field. Sachin, recovering from cramp, walks with a limp. He is greeted with a cheer so loud it could be heard in Pretoria, many, many miles away.

Players hang around in the dressing room, to stay in the moment. John tells the boys to let the match and the thrilling win sink in. Some Amstel is passed around and is refused by most; some brave ones have a swig, grimace and move to Diet Pepsi. Sanjay Bangar and Sehwag, the most faithful teetotallers, are chided by a senior team-mate: "For how long are you guys going to be drinking milk and butter milk, boss?"

Others are over the moon. John, usually underplayed, unemotional and unexcited, can't conceal his happiness. Sachin calls home and is greeted by wife, Anjali, who holds the phone by the window so that he hears the crackers outside. There is more noise than Diwali, she says. Sourav receives a similar noise report update from his wife, Dona, in Kolkata. Kaif is in a daze, but reports of wild celebration and rejoicing in India leave him a bit cold. Extreme behaviour is not good, he says. What is this? Sometimes abuse, sometimes worship?

Deep reflection can wait. The team knows they have destroyed clichés: about them lacking killer instinct, "crumbling under pressure", "snatching defeat from the jaws of victory". They won not by fluke or chancy umpiring but ruthless, professional play. Tendulkar rates his blistering innings as one of the best of his illustrious career. "This was my day," he says, "From the beginning I picked the ball up early." I ask him whether an inner rhythm determines his style of play. Batting is instinctive, he replies. "Sometimes you feel good from the start, sometimes you struggle, but today there was so much time that balls close to 150 kmph looked like 130kmph".

How important was the Pakistan match for him? I asked and he said, "I have been thinking about this for more than a year."

Eight years later, India still thinks about it.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/501138.html

Memories from that match are still fresh :)

too long the article..

though have to say it was one of the most hyped up cricket match ever

Kaif is in a daze, but reports of wild celebration and rejoicing in India leave him a bit cold. Extreme behaviour is not good, he says. What is this? Sometimes abuse, sometimes worship?

A saying which must remembered by the entire subcontinent fans for ever.

Brilliant article. The tension and anxiety that surrounds an India - Pakistan match is tremendous.

What memories. Worth the time to read that article over and over.

It is moments like these where the regret of not being a professional cricketer hurts.

Great article about a great match if you're either an Indian or a neutral. For us Pakistanis that was the match that really defined anger, sadness, lugubriousness and for some- depression :p.

Dont worry, we will get our revenge in this World Cup :)

Great article! was too young to watch the '96 one but '03 was one of the best matches ive seen(neutral view lol)

Good read.
Already read it in the morning, refrained from posting here cuz of obvious reasons.

So, when are we going to see an article that how India beat us in 92 and 99?

Still remember that awful drop by the Razzler.

along with t20 2007 world cup finals, this match is one of best cricketing memories :)

Great win for India. The presence (or lack of) of Akram in all these significant losses makes a fellow wonder sometimes..

Indians and their 'Hype of Hate' really make me laugh.
As with the Hype of Bangalore 1996, It would only have meant 'something special' if you had gone on to win the World Cup that year, instead of getting trounced by the Aussies and battered into submission in the 1996 semis by the Sri-Lankans, despite the best efforts of your 'Animal' supporters trying to get the game abandoned.

India with all their resources are still the Greatest Underachievers of World Cricket.

Indians and their 'Hype of Hate' really make me laugh.
As with the Hype of Bangalore 1996, It would only have meant 'something special' if you had gone on to win the World Cup that year, instead of getting trounced by the Aussies and battered into submission in the 1996 semis by the Sri-Lankans, despite the best efforts of your 'Animal' supporters trying to get the game abandoned.

India with all their resources are still the Greatest Underachievers of World Cricket.

for many people in India, If I remember rightly from my indian friend, beating pakistan is as good as winning the worldcup. Also Ind vs Pak is tournament within the tournament. They have been winning that so far. So dont be a sore loser, congratulate them. Hope we could win this time around.

Sachin's innings in this game was probably the best i've ever seen in an ODI. Yes, Razzaq should have caught him, but the ease with which he hit boundaries was unbelievable.

epic match! saeed anwar's 100 was a treat to watch ... n then waqar's 2 quick wickets after india's good start .... n then razzaq's dropping a catch :facepalm:
still remember how low n depressed i was after the match that night! i was in saudi arabia at that time.. n some of my class mates, in their anger, broke the shop glass of an indian barber in my school area, who was jumping over the moon after the match on the street :p

The best Pakistan-Ind memory for me has to be the '09 CT game. It was the first time I saw a Pk-In game in a bar and there were about 60 Indians in there along with about 10 or 15 of us Pakistanis in there. Throughout Pakistan's innings, we were all just having fun. I remember distinctly that at one point, this friend of mine from KHI asked me "ab kya khyal hay Yousuf kay baaray mein"(this was after he scored 87) and I said "doesn't matter. phir bhi ***(if I use that word here, I'll get banned) hay"(I was later proven right about that). Later on though, in India's innings, when Tendulkar got out, it was the most epic part of the day/night. I'd been helping myself to some 'beverages' all day and my friend and I were standing at the bar, telling the bar staff about the rivalry when Tendulkar hit a couple of fours and the bar girl said something about India looking the better of the two teams and right when I was served, Tendulkar got out. For 10 minutes, we stood there at the bar 'praising' him, the two of us at the bar and 10 others making more noise than 60 Indians had at any point of the game. When we won, and I'd never forget that sight, all 60 of them congratulated us, heads bowed down ever so slightly.

There you go. That's my little article.

Was a very dark day. My memory can only paint a gray picture of it. The stuff that happened with my family afterwards is not good.

No idea why this was posted. Didn't you do enough gloating in 2003? 90% of the members on this board don't want to read the article, go post it on an indian forum.

Was a very dark day. My memory can only paint a gray picture of it. The stuff that happened with my family afterwards is not good.

No idea why this was posted. Didn't you do enough gloating in 2003? 90% of the members on this board don't want to read the article, go post it on an indian forum.

There's no need to be a bad loser about it. We lost a game of cricket to India thanks to an exceptional innings from one of the best batsmen ever to play the game. Appreciate it.

My memories of this match.
I remember this match like Yday. There was really such a strong build up to this match.
I was working in Dubai during this match time period where i had a few pakistani friends. Months before this match a lot of the pakistanis wud say "ASLI Match tho 1March ko Hai". I was also excited abt the match as i think India was meeting Pakistan maybe after 2-3 years in a ODI. However I was little contained as India's record against pak was not gr8 to bolster about. The last 2-3 times that India met them we were thrashed badly and if you read my first post you will know that I grew up in an era where I was used to watching India getting thrashed By Pakistan on a regular basis especially after the last ball miandad six. SO my expectations were low about this match and pakistani's excitement was exactly the oppsite of mine due to reasons mentioned before. They just could not wait. Every thursday we wud play cricket at jebel ali where a few of them wud say "Bhai 1March Aane wali hai".

The build up to this match was also gr8. shoaib akhthar gave a few statements before the match asto how he wud like to target sachin and dravid and wud love to account for their wickets.
Morning of the Match: I was having my driving lssons that day and my teacher was a pakistani pathan. I made a lot of mistakes while driving and sweating alot. He was asking me Yaar Thumko Ithna Paseena Kyon Aaruha hai. I told him mujhe match ki tension hai. He said chodo yaar unko koi bhi jeete thumhe usse kya. Thumko license tho nuhin na milega. I decided to keep quiet and aftr my class was over i went to work as it was a working day. Being a desi company a lot of my colleagues including me had applied for half day leave that day. The match started in the morning I think, and i cud hardly contain my excitement. Just couldnt do any work. Baar Baar i was checking Radio as I think there was an FM Channel called Hum FM that was giving commentary for 5 minutes every half an hour. the plan was for us to reach a friends place who lived in sharjah and he had ccable tv that wud telecast the match. Just before the pakistan Innings was finishing we reached the friends place. And i saw Afridi giiving his wicket to mongia and then akram smashing a few fours to end the innngs. there was hype abt Nehra before the match as he has routed England at Duban just b4 this game but here Nehra was very exxpensive. Pakistani team waspumped up at the Innings break. Akram etc were looking charged up in the dressing room. I cud hardly wait.

When Sachin hit that 6 off akhtar i just jumped out of my seat. what a sight that was. I think tendul came with a plan to attack akhtar. akhtar was removed only after 1 over. Waqar then came and sehwag hit him for a similar six like sachin had done to akhthar. however waqar came back strongly claiming sehwag and ganguly of consecutive balls. I thought there is gonna be a twist now. however Kaif was promoted and he played a sensible innings b4 being bowled by afridi. Before that tendulkar was dropped by razaq off akram but i thought it was a tough chance. Had razzaq timed his jump well he cud have caught it but it was to be india's day. Tendulkar got cramps and sooon was dismissed by akhtar. However I reassuring dravid and flamboyant Yuvi ensured no further setbacks and india won comfortably in the end.
When Tendu got out I had the worst fear of my life like in the past whenerver he got out Indian team wud collapse. But not to be this time as this team was a much much better indian team as was proven that we were only beaten by aus in the whole tournament.
This just reiterates that cricket is a team game, tendu's inniigs wud have gone unnoticed had not dravid and yuvi played that innings that day. Wish in the past too, we had some finishers like these and many of sachin's innings cud have ended in a winning cause.

I just did not know how to celebrate as it took a while for the victory to sink in. Such a mentally draining experience but it was so worth it.
We all went to bur dubai after the match and the atosphere was so great there. every indian even stragers were hugging each other. I think it was outside the Karachi durbaar restaurant if I am not wrong. There were a group of indians in a big ute playng the Lagaan song " Lage raho . Koi hum se jeeth na paye". There were sweets being distributed. Adding to the fun was a few pathani Taxi drivers who were just watching all this without uttering a word. Atmosphere was so great i thought i was in india.

Sorry for the long post. wanted to share wth someone.
Long live India Vs Pakistan. Cannot get that feeling again.

The 2003 World Cup match between India and Pakistan at the Centurion remains one of the most memorable encounters between the two arch-rivals of world cricket. Saeed Anwar's sublime ton had helped Pakistan reach 273 for seven before Sachin Tendulkar's impressive 98 and an unbeaten 94-run stand between Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh saw India script a six-wicket win.

Recalling the encounter, former India cricketer Mohammad Kaif, who had scored a 60-ball 35 in the match, admitted that had Abdul Razzaq taken the catch of Sachin at mid-off, the game could have been tight. Speaking to Sportskeeda on that game, Kaif recalled Wasim Akram being absolutely furious over the catch drop.

“If Razzaq had taken Tendulkar’s catch at mid-off, the match could have been very tight. I remember Wasim Akram being miffed at him for standing so far up. He was literally standing next to the bowler instead of proper mid-off," he said.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah to be rested for South Africa series; Dhawan and Hardik in line for captaincy

Kaif also recalled his 102-run stand alongside Sachin that helped India recover from Waqar Younis double whammy in the sixth over that saw captain Sourav Ganguly depart for a golden duck.

“Sachin was batting very well. My role was to support him and stay with him. I was told to build a partnership with Sachin and, if he is attacking, just stay there," he said.

India had eventually chased down the target of 274 with 26 balls remaining and Sachin was adjudged the Player of the Match for his 75-ball knock. The victory had helped India finish second in the group stage and hence made the Super Six, while Pakistan had finished fifth in Pool A. India subsequently beat Kenya in the semis after finishing second in Super Six to reach the final where they were eventually beaten by Australia by 125 runs.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...an-tie-in-2003-world-cup-101652533523007.html

The 2003 World Cup match between India and Pakistan at the Centurion remains one of the most memorable encounters between the two arch-rivals of world cricket. Saeed Anwar's sublime ton had helped Pakistan reach 273 for seven before Sachin Tendulkar's impressive 98 and an unbeaten 94-run stand between Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh saw India script a six-wicket win.

Recalling the encounter, former India cricketer Mohammad Kaif, who had scored a 60-ball 35 in the match, admitted that had Abdul Razzaq taken the catch of Sachin at mid-off, the game could have been tight. Speaking to Sportskeeda on that game, Kaif recalled Wasim Akram being absolutely furious over the catch drop.

“If Razzaq had taken Tendulkar’s catch at mid-off, the match could have been very tight. I remember Wasim Akram being miffed at him for standing so far up. He was literally standing next to the bowler instead of proper mid-off," he said.

Kaif also recalled his 102-run stand alongside Sachin that helped India recover from Waqar Younis double whammy in the sixth over that saw captain Sourav Ganguly depart for a golden duck.

“Sachin was batting very well. My role was to support him and stay with him. I was told to build a partnership with Sachin and, if he is attacking, just stay there," he said.

India had eventually chased down the target of 274 with 26 balls remaining and Sachin was adjudged the Player of the Match for his 75-ball knock. The victory had helped India finish second in the group stage and hence made the Super Six, while Pakistan had finished fifth in Pool A. India subsequently beat Kenya in the semis after finishing second in Super Six to reach the final where they were eventually beaten by Australia by 125 runs.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...an-tie-in-2003-world-cup-101652533523007.html