The complexity of getting married

Imagine you, sweating like a pig in that black sherwani with slicked back hair.

PB would be all over you :P

I should have specified. This thread is a chipkali ki dum. It will always grow back, if the source (i.e. the chipkali... which would be you) is alive.

Dude, I showed you that photograph didn't I?

Emulate that, if you even achieve half of that intensity, consider your work's done.

It will look very snobbish at a party. I might wear one at my brother's wedding.

[MENTION=96424]RWAC[/MENTION] [MENTION=132385]Afridi96[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] [MENTION=135402]cricket083[/MENTION] [MENTION=39010]Munna[/MENTION] my last rishta visit didn´t go well. The families agreed to allow us both five minutes to get to know each other. Time passed by, we stay quiet. I thought I would get a bit frank to make her comfortable and asked, "Hor sunao, koi munda nayi phassaya?"

They rejected, peacefully!

[MENTION=96424]RWAC[/MENTION] [MENTION=132385]Afridi96[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] [MENTION=135402]cricket083[/MENTION] [MENTION=39010]Munna[/MENTION] my last rishta visit didn´t fare well. The families agreed to allow us both five minutes to get to know each other. Time passed by, we stay quiet. I thought I would get a bit frank to make her comfortable and asked, "Hor sunao, koi munda nayi phassaya?"

Meeting the girl for the first time must be very very awkward. This is why I despite arrange marriages.

Alright. Let's change the tactics up a bit.

It's all about creating a sherwani-esque aesthetic look. Do you have any item of clothing that would appear sleek, highlight (broad) shoulders with a beyn/band neckline?

[MENTION=96424]RWAC[/MENTION] [MENTION=132385]Afridi96[/MENTION] [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] [MENTION=135402]cricket083[/MENTION] [MENTION=39010]Munna[/MENTION] my last rishta visit didn´t go well. The families agreed to allow us both five minutes to get to know each other. Time passed by, we stay quiet. I thought I would get a bit frank to make her comfortable and asked, "Hor sunao, koi munda nayi phassaya?"

That has to be the worst conversation-starter ever, Dhoni-bhai!!

What does this mean?

Hmm i can't tell if this seriously happened :13:

What does this mean?

Tough to translate in English. The Urdu version of it would be, "Aur sunaa´ye, koi larka nahi´n phansaya aapne?", or along the lines....

Alright. Let's change the tactics up a bit.

It's all about creating a sherwani-esque aesthetic look. Do you have any item of clothing that would appear sleek, highlight (broad) shoulders with a beyn/band neckline?

:20: I wear what a 22 year old would and should, minus the jeans.

Can you fetch me a picture from google?

Hahahaa,bohat aalla Rawal bhai:)),larki pasand nahi ai thi?jo aisa sawal poocha?

Imagine you, sweating like a pig in that black sherwani with slicked back hair.

PB would be all over you :P

I should have specified. This thread is a chipkali ki dum. It will always grow back, if the source (i.e. the chipkali... which would be you) is alive.

I just read this... You likened Mamoon to a chipkali? :)))

I'm seriously considering going to Peshawar and walking into Mamoons house during this dinner.

Im gonna walk up to Mamoon, pick him up and literally throw him at PB.

Then as they are both lying dazed on top of each other Im just gonna say "Mamoon wants to marry you". I'll then throw my hands into the air and walk straight out (while wearing a sherwani of course). The Batman theme song will play and I'll walk into the sunset, knowing that my work here is done...

I'm seriously considering going to Peshawar and walking into Mamoons house during this dinner.

Then as they are both lying dazed on top of each other Im just gonna say "Mamoon wants to marry you". I'll then throw my hands into the air and walk straight out (while wearing a sherwani of course). The Batman theme song will play and I'll walk into the sunset, knowing that my work here is done...

Made my day! :))

You are the greatest Irish alive, and that is my final say on this!

I see nothing wrong with that question. Woh larki tumhare qaabil nahi thi Rawal dost! Should have worked better with a bit open minded girl I guess who could have replied "Nahi Ellyse, aap ne? :)"

Next time, please try asking "Hor sunao, pehle koi shaadi waadi kharhkaayi aa?"

shouldn't you ride off in the batpod and then Mamoon will then give a speech "Donal is the lovedoctor I deserve but not the one I need..." and PB will act like Oldmans Kid and wonder wth his going on

https://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&...Fdastaan-drama-serial-hum-tv-pictures;900;602

See this. The closed up collar, and a perfect fit that highlights broad shoulders. I don't know what your physique is like, but you must wear a set of clothing that draw the best out of your shoulders.

A coat, jacket or sth that would mirror the above look, coupled with slicked back hair and dark pants/whatever ought to work imo.

My physique is good, but coat/jacket in summers? :/

I mostly wear dark clothes anyway.

What if she slaps me? :adnan

I want to interject here by saying that Sherwani is one of the ugliest garbs known to pakistani men. It doesn't matter how broad your shoulders are, sherwani makes the body look disproportionate, not to mention the thick fabric and excessive broderie.

White shalwar kameez with black Richelieus, a nice watch and a bit of mayan>all.

I edited myself, thank you.

:msd

Hmm, I will inshallah talk to her directly for the first time in my life.

Yes. About that.

What do you have in mind?

I want to interject here by saying that Sherwani is one of the ugliest garbs known to pakistani men. It doesn't matter how broad your shoulders are, sherwani makes the body look disproportionate, not to mention the thick fabric and excessive broderie.

White shalwar kameez with black Richelieus, a nice watch and a bit of mayan>all.

Well then, explain why it suits Fawad Khan so much then? :batman:

I will ask about her medical entrance test which will be on August 17. :msd

Okay. What if she skirts off of that question?

I will improvise accordingly.

Hypothetically speaking, will it be wise to comment on her appearance?

Of course as you know I feel really shy in her presence and won't be able to go there but still.

Well then, explain why it suits Fawad Khan so much then? :batman:

I don't know who that is but, on google images, he looks much better in a suit or shalwar kameez than in sherwani.

Everybody's tastes and colors are different.

Or maybe it's just an early age gender role incalculation/marketing thing. Like diamonds for girls here. If enough photo shoots push for good looking grooms wearing sherwanis, people will start to associate it with both weddings and attractiveness, even if it's neither a part of your culture nor attractive. Diamonds are forever.

I will improvise accordingly.

Hypothetically speaking, will it be wise to comment on her appearance?

Of course as you know I feel really shy in her presence and won't be able to go there but still.

Given the background of the text, I would advise against it. You shouldn't even think along those lines - you'll come off as an extremely creepy stalker.

Should she inquire about the text, you'd have to have the back-story planned out and practised before hand.

Why did I send her the text. I so hope she didn't get it because sometimes these networks can malfunction. I feel so embarrassed about it. If she brings it up I will simply run away.

Tsk tsk.

Coward.

Do you remember your initial text? Read it to yourself and try to grow a spine.

The one you sent was SO MUCH better than the original one. At least it gave you some leeway, some space to fall back on and distance yourself from everything if things aren't going the way you want them to go.

I don't know who that is but, on google images, he looks much better in a suit or shalwar kameez than in sherwani.

Everybody's tastes and colors are different.

Or maybe it's just an early age gender role incalculation/marketing thing. Like diamonds for girls here. If enough photo shoots push for good looking grooms wearing sherwanis, people will start to associate it with both weddings and attractiveness, even if it's neither a part of your culture nor attractive. Diamonds are forever.

I personally think it renders the wearer an aura of grace and muhazzib-ness, reflecting the typical, old-fashioned Urdu-speaking traditions of Pakistan.

Perhaps in those pictures, he was wearing a bridal sherwani. I mean a plain black one, like he wore in Dastaan (it was based in the Partition era - that look was the epitome of grace imo).

BL.

In all fairness the text was your and 96notouts idea if i recall correctly. You cant judge.

If she asks you about the text Mamoon just say two strange bossy women on the internet told you to do it. It wont sound creepy at all :P

I personally think it renders the wearer an aura of grace and muhazzib-ness, reflecting the typical, old-fashioned Urdu-speaking traditions of Pakistan.

I think that is the essence of our disagreement. That look was lost on me when they decided to wear tight pyjamas.

Perhaps in those pictures, he was wearing a bridal sherwani. I mean a plain black one, like he wore in Dastaan (it was based in the Partition era - that look was the epitome of grace imo).

I don't see it but, you know, whatever works for you.

BL.

In all fairness the text was your and 96notouts idea if i recall correctly. You cant judge.

If she asks you about the text Mamoon just say two strange bossy women on the internet told you to do it. It wont sound creepy at all :P

It was mine and Nostalgic's idea, actually.. I provided some linguistic elements which I deemed crucial in neutralising Mamoon's position.*

The only thing that went wrong was the timing. It was either that text, or Mamoon's long, confession.

* : I'm finalising my linguistic anthro essay atm. I can provide an extensive linguistic analysis as to how that that text distilled through much of Mamoon's personal emotive tendencies, and put him in a position where politeness and civility was conveyed.

I think the back-story of how he got her number was that he lost his contacts, asked some third cousin to send overs all the family numbers to him, and PB's number merely happened to be one of them.

What tight pyjama? It was worn with a shalwar!

I am talking about the muhazeeb look. To me, that is the nawaab look with mughal inspired tight pyjamas and colourful robe-like garbs.

It may explain my dislike for Sherwani because it belongs to that whole ''court'' vestimentary concept.

Bahahaa I get it Dhoni praa. They rejected because they thought to themselves "einu vi pata chal gya, par kidaan?"

*sigh* I guess I could use some opinions on the same issue. Maybe will create a new thread, don't want to hijack Mamoon's thread.

Here's a simple rule of thumb. If you do decide to get married, evaluate your potential partner based on what commodities she could provide, e.g. prestige and esteem, income support, health, and pleasure. On the basis of these commodities, try to maximize your expected gains by choosing the best partner available on the market.

Where are we friends? I see a sudden activity in this thread.

Family dinner at our boi's place this Saturday. PB's coming.

Here's a simple rule of thumb. If you do decide to get married, evaluate your potential partner based on what commodities she could provide, e.g. prestige and esteem, income support, health, and pleasure. On the basis of these commodities, try to maximize your expected gains by choosing the best partner available on the market.

This is about marriage, not freakin' bakra mandi!!

*insert charsi dumba smiley*

Spoken like a true economist.

Besides, it is what my theory on arranged marriages is as well. They're nothing more than market transactions, in the absence of any pre-disposition between the couple towards each other.

Except when I tried explaining it to my parents when they brought up the topic of my marriage, their stares made it seem like they didn't appreciate my insight. :afridi

Spoken like a true economist.

Besides, it is what my theory on arranged marriages is as well. They're nothing more than market transactions, in the absence of any pre-disposition between the couple towards each other.

Except when I tried explaining it to my parents when they brought up the topic of my marriage, their stares made it seem like they didn't appreciate my insight. :afridi

:))) Agreed!

However arranged marriage suffers from information asymmetry in the sense that the true quality of the bride remains unobservable to the groom. But I guess we could use the value of the dowry from the Bride's side as a possible screening device?

:))) Agreed!

However arranged marriage suffers from information asymmetry in the sense that the true quality of the bride remains unobservable to the groom. But I guess we could use the value of the dowry from the Bride's side as a possible screening device?

There will always be the asymmetric information problem but not just on the bride's side but the groom's side as well.

You could use the value of dowry as a signaling tool. Higher dowry may imply implicit compensation to make up for the unperceived dis-qualities of the bride.

Regular economic theory would suggest that a groom will find an optimal balance between the monetary benefits of dowry and the risk of accepting too many dis-qualities in the bride.

However, it may be a multiple equilibria solution, where a second equilibrium might be that higher dowry is actually used as a screening tool (like you proposed) to completely avoid associated brides.

Maybe a female economist can enlighten us on the information asymmetry problems that exists on the other side of the gender.

There will always be the asymmetric information problem but not just on the bride's side but the groom's side as well.

You could use the value of dowry as a signaling tool. Higher dowry may imply implicit compensation to make up for the unperceived dis-qualities of the bride.

Regular economic theory would suggest that a groom will find an optimal balance between the monetary benefits of dowry and the risk of accepting too many dis-qualities in the bride.

However, it may multiple equilibria solution, where a second equilibrium might be that higher dowry is actually used as a screening tool (like you proposed) to completely avoid associated brides.

Maybe a female economist can enlighten us on the information asymmetry problems that exists on the other side of the gender.

God Bless Gary Becker.

I was much unaware with his work (monetary economics has been my thing), until his death in May brought him in the news. And boy what a revelation he is! I especially liked his theory on setting up immigration quotas and selling them in the market.

Sorry to hijack your thread Mamoon. I wish you luck in your endeavors.

Although I don't understand why this thread is named 'The complexity of getting married' when you haven't reached that stage yet.