The Go Nawaz Go thing.... Getting a little embarrassing?

So every time there is an event like a match etc, we get the same thing in public and whilst I dont like Sharifs, I find this stuff a little embarrassing. Can we not keep this sort of thing limited to political rallies?

As a voter you don't have much say TBH once every 5 years you get a vote apart from that you. Can't do much.. To bring a change as a common man these types of protests are necessary you can call them as embarrassing as you don't live in Pakistan but for a normal person he doesn't care about it being embarrassing if he can raise his voice to get rid of someone causing massive damage to his country/his life in general..

It is embarrassing for Nawaz sharif that people are chanting this everywhere if he had any self respect he would apologise and quit politics all together..

As a voter you don't have much say TBH once every 5 years you get a vote apart from that you. Can't do much.. To bring a change as a common man these types of protests are necessary you can call them as embarrassing as you don't live in Pakistan but for a normal person he doesn't care about it being embarrassing if he can raise his voice to get rid of someone causing massive damage to his country/his life in general..

It is embarrassing for Nawaz sharif that people are chanting this everywhere if he had any self respect he would apologise and quit politics all together..

A cricket crowd is not a reflection of voter sentiment around the country and given that they are on TV gives them an ungair advantage.

Of course they cannot be stopped but its for the people to think about this

A cricket crowd is not a reflection of voter sentiment around the country and given that they are on TV gives them an ungair advantage.

Of course they cannot be stopped but its for the people to think about this

But the same cricket crowd does form part of your electorate.. The fact they are on TV and their voices would be heard makes these protests even more necessary..

How else can you raise your voice against someone at the top of the political heirarchy? Not vote for him after 5 years? In those 5 years in power he can literally take you and your country for a ride so personally I believe these protests are justified and these people are well within their rights to protest like this..

If I was in their place I might have joined them as well..

Maybe it's a bit OTT but i am ok with it. Nooras deserve it and it can't get better thn hearing it live on PTV where i hear the "sab acha he and pakistan is becoming asian tiger" alaap 24/7.

They really deserve whatever is coming in their way after what they did to this beautiful country in last 3 decades. Our rules go begging to other countries and powers to rescue them when they are caught red handed now that's embarrassing...

Last i heard Nawaz was found touching Saudis feets and asking them to save him once again...Isn't that embarrassing? or the way these shameless politicians spend tax payers money of a 3rd world country for their vip protocol and thn ask IMF and others to help the sinking ship of economy?

If we start listing the embarrassing stuff our rulers do regularly thn there is a very long list...So for me it's ok if some in the crowd/nation find little happiness doing "Go Nawaz Go"

Out politicians think winning elections give you 5 year license to do whatever illegal stuff you want so this is the least poor awaam can do to have their little happy moment...

It is very easy for pmln to react, specially in lahore, but maybe they have some see respect.

Last time i saw their reaction 14 people were dead around 100 were injured and those dead people include a pregnant woman...

There is a time and place for such things.

Especially rings hollow when he's already gone.

Democracy at its best. People wants to chant let them chant against corrupt leader. If you Pakistan cricket to be corruption/fixing free then it has to start with government and what’s better place then a cricket game which every Pakistani is watching and have same feeling regarding these corrupt cockroaches.

Well then why are they sitting supporting the very organization which is corrupt?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some fans at the GSL using the opportunity for a political statement <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvSL?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvSL</a> <a href="https://t.co/cxCeUyAsaW">pic.twitter.com/cxCeUyAsaW</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/924663114351742978?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 29, 2017</a></blockquote>

Mujhe kyun nikala is introduced by Nawaz so PMLN and Sharif family shouldn't complain :yk

Some guys baten by Punjab police in Majid Khan's Enclosure for chanting Go Nawaz Go. This will only boost their passion PMLN already tried enough tricks during dharna days and everything backfired they thought burger bache hen bhag jayenge ;)

I think it’s embarrassing to have a corrupt government. Pakistanis should be ashamed of this not someone with a placard in a cricket game

Some guys baten by Punjab police in Majid Khan's Enclosure for chanting Go Nawaz Go. This will only boost their passion PMLN already tried enough tricks during dharna days and everything backfired they thought burger bache hen bhag jayenge ;)

Good news, I really PP (Punjab Police) also showed some passion to these passionate guys.

Can you tell me how you know that? as in source please.

Multiple channels reporting including Jaag, ARY and also saw the mentions on social media that it happened in Majid Khan's Enclosure.

Good job by punjab police. They should have done something to those stupid guys wearing blue dress and dancing like idiots.

I see nothing wrong with it. Nawaz and his supporters deserve this after looting billions from poor nation.

Well then why are they sitting supporting the very organization which is corrupt?

They are supporting Pakistan, Pakistani players, not the same as supporting a corrupt government. Showing up the stadium to chant for Pakistan and against a corrupt government isn’t supporting a corrupt government.

Also side note, the Go Nawaz Go chants are more towards the supporters of Nawaz than Nawaz himself, and there are plenty of Nawaz supporters in Lahore so it makes perfect sense to raise this chant to put them in their place.

Good job by punjab police. They should have done something to those stupid guys wearing blue dress and dancing like idiots.

So violence is ok by the law enforcement agencies? What law did the chanters break? Oh, i forget the law that says that Nooras can be thuggish and do what they like.

I love it, his name should be dragged through the mud at every opportunity.

They should have placards for Zardari as well.

Don't know why Mr 10% seems to be getting away with it - plaunders the nation multiple times then jets away back and forth.

They should have placards for Zardari as well.

Don't know why Mr 10% seems to be getting away with it - plaunders the nation multiple times then jets away back and forth.

His turn will come. Tafa and NS have been neutered, AZ is next.

They have the right to hate nawaz sb ( he deserves some of it), but there is a place for that..not in cricket stadium where cricket is making its welcome comeback.

So violence is ok by the law enforcement agencies? What law did the chanters break? Oh, i forget the law that says that Nooras can be thuggish and do what they like.

I will say this no matter which politician they are chanting against... This is not the right place to do these kind of cheap behaviour, especially when cricket is returning in the country after some very long time.

It's surprising how people not living in Pakistan (living in developed countries) enjoying all the benefits of life in the west are commenting on here saying it's embarrassing protesting against a corrupt leader.. Tbf Nawaz sharif does not affect you guys in the slightest in day to day life so even if you don't like him you would try and be intellectually or ethically superior by saying cricket match is not the right place to protest against him.. however someone who lives in Pakistan pays taxes and is robbed by NS or his government facing the corrupt power culture every day (as these supporters) have places like Cricket match where they can show their displeasure at the government..

Tell me any other place where these supporters can raise their voice and be heard by the masses? Online? Once in 5 years in elections? Does that help?

It's your country so I shouldn't say much but I think these people are being harshly criticised here for voicing their pain against a corrupt government..
[MENTION=21699]Pakpak[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION] [MENTION=42489]Black Zero[/MENTION] [MENTION=139288]Abdul[/MENTION]

It's surprising how people not living in Pakistan (living in developed countries) enjoying all the benefits of life in the west are commenting on here saying it's embarrassing protesting against a corrupt leader.. Tbf Nawaz sharif does not affect you guys in the slightest in day to day life so even if you don't like him you would try and be intellectually or ethically superior by saying cricket match is not the right place to protest against him.. however someone who lives in Pakistan pays taxes and is robbed by NS or his government facing the corrupt power culture every day (as these supporters) have places like Cricket match where they can show their displeasure at the government..

Tell me any other place where these supporters can raise their voice and be heard by the masses? Online? Once in 5 years in elections? Does that help?

It's your country so I shouldn't say much but I think these people are being harshly criticised here for voicing their pain against a corrupt government..

Top post brother. We just love the word democracy but when someone act as normal people do in democracy it makes us so insecure that we start pointing finger at them. What better platform you can get to raise your voice thn a cricket match in a country like Pakistan? Specially when a NS buddy is the head of PCB and his only qualification is that he is close to NS and he never had any administration or cricket background. In a country like Pakistan where PM thinks he is not answerable to parliament, to opposition or to courts thn what choices are left?

In fascism you do not allow any criticism.

We should not mix sports with politics.

Well when you appoint your buddy as the head of PCB without any administration or cricketing background thn you are mixing sports with politics.

People have the right to express their views. We talk about separating sports and politics, yet Sethi was given full control of cricket in Pakistan because of political connections.

Well when you appoint your buddy as the head of PCB without any administration or cricketing background thn you are mixing sports with politics.

This time he was elected by board.
Previously he was politically appointed but eventually he won through judiciary.

This time he was elected by board.
Previously he was politically appointed but eventually he won through judiciary.

Who made sure he wins? And who provided the launching pad to enter PCB?

Politics is the most relevant thing for a country, particularly when most of your economic and social indicators are among the worst in the world. So, if people realize this state of affairs and express themselves then there is no harm in it.
When ruling party can count holding of matches as their achievement and thus do politics on this issue then other people also have the right to use it for political purposes.

Some ridiculous posts here from usual suspects.
Of course people should be allowed to chant Go Nawaz Go in a cricket match, as long as it remains peaceful.

I won’t bother listing all the reasons as the sane posters have already hit the nail.

Pretty embarrassing when the 'Go Nawaz Go' chant is louder than 'Pakistan Zindabad' at a cricket match.

It sounds so well, I am sure that many people would say it without caring about its meanings.

Political struggle against corruption trumps over any cricket match (even if its an India vs Pakistan final). So no, it is not embarrassing, what is embarrassing is the Sharif family.

Well said.

No worries, the international audience probably still thinks we are celebrating our great former PM, shouting his name and go together which most sane people still take as a rooting chant.

It doesnt matter what they think, if they think that thats fine. We know that all PK`s know what it means and it showed up the so called democrats when the Police were used to brutalise people for a chant and the idiots on this forum who blather on about democracy and law and order but were happy for people who were not breaking any law to be hit. Hypocrisy cant begin to describe some of the people who supported the brutality.

MUJJHAAAYYY KYUUN NIKAALAAA!

hahaha :)))

The Sharifs deserve everything they get. Nothing they do can make up for what they've done to our nation the past 3 decades or so

That’s the point these politicians never get what they deserve.. They loot a country, indirectly responsible for deaths of thousands of people yet they are suspended or a case is ongoing against them... They deserve to be stoned to death but that would never happen:.

Tomorrow the same sharifs will have a 3rd or 4th generation person as PM of Pakistan who would repeat the same things.. If you are a politician you can commit the most heinous crimes and get away with them and only get the minimum punishment..

Hahaha... you reap what you sow. Do takkay ki izzat nahi is manhos khandaan ki.

The proudest moment in the history of Pakistan is the dismissal of Nawaz Sharif as PM driven single handedly by the PTI even though the PM, ruling party employed every instrument of the state machinery to save him. Historic achievement

In all seriousness, Pakistan is increasingly becoming embarssing with such things. Would rather like to see banners of stop child abuse in Pakistan and other awareness driven banners being made and showed to the world.

That’s the point these politicians never get what they deserve.. They loot a country, indirectly responsible for deaths of thousands of people yet they are suspended or a case is ongoing against them... They deserve to be stoned to death but that would never happen:.

Tomorrow the same sharifs will have a 3rd or 4th generation person as PM of Pakistan who would repeat the same things.. If you are a politician you can commit the most heinous crimes and get away with them and only get the minimum punishment..

History backs what you've said mate but this time..i dont know why..i just feel like some justice might be served. Pakistan is turning a corner, it might sound foolish but i just have a feeling. The global game has changed !

The proudest moment in the history of Pakistan is the dismissal of Nawaz Sharif as PM driven single handedly by the PTI even though the PM, ruling party employed every instrument of the state machinery to save him. Historic achievement

A moment in time that will never be forgotten !

History backs what you've said mate but this time..i dont know why..i just feel like some justice might be served. Pakistan is turning a corner, it might sound foolish but i just have a feeling. The global game has changed !

I hope you are right and Pakistan can be a trend setter in punishing these corrupt politicians in the sub continent.. Hopefully India will learn and follow the same in future.. However The probability is very very low.

Would have to agree mate, having said that i have hope..no more so then ever. Lets see what happens this year !

Very embarrassing indeed. Shows the hooligan mentality of the PTI supporters.

These people need to be dealt with firmly. In matches in Pakistan, the security officials should be instructed to confiscate any political banners and flags that they carry with them. There is a time and place for everything, and sports is not a platform for politics.

Very embarrassing indeed. Shows the hooligan mentality of the PTI supporters.

These people need to be dealt with firmly. In matches in Pakistan, the security officials should be instructed to confiscate any political banners and flags that they carry with them. There is a time and place for everything, and sports is not a platform for politics.

Sports, music and culture have always been a platform for politics throughout history lol

Culture is a broad term, but I don’t mind political music. However, I am not a fan of politicizing sport especially when it goes overboard, and that is what the Junoonis have done.

Every match and every series in Pakistan/UAE/elsewhere and you have idiots with Go Nawaz Go banners and PTI flags. It needs to be regulated.

Culture is a broad term, but I don’t mind political music. However, I am not a fan of politicizing sport especially when it goes overboard, and that is what the Junoonis have done.

Every match and every series in Pakistan/UAE/elsewhere and you have idiots with Go Nawaz Go banners and PTI flags. It needs to be regulated.

You can move to North Korea if thats your wish because it wont happen in most places. Only place I know where that happens

No need of moving to North Korea. Wimbledon banned Corbyn chants last year and FIFA has also taken measures against political chants in events. In fact, I read an article some time back where some college team in California banned political slogans.

The PCB needs to take measures against Insaafiyans showing up to matches with flags and banners. There is no place for Go Nawaz Go, Mujhay Kyun Nikala etc. in a cricket stadium.

No need of moving to North Korea. Wimbledon banned Corbyn chants last year and FIFA has also taken measures against political chants in events. In fact, I read an article some time back where some college team in California banned political slogans.

The PCB needs to take measures against Insaafiyans showing up to matches with flags and banners. There is no place for Go Nawaz Go, Mujhay Kyun Nikala etc. in a cricket stadium.

I'm sorry but in this regard you'll have to keep crying about this on PP and other social media avenues. Have fun!

#mujhaykyunnikala

I'm sorry but in this regard you'll have to keep crying about this on PP and other social media avenues. Have fun!

#mujhaykyunnikala

I don’t have to cry about it anywhere. Honestly speaking, I don’t feel strongly about this issue. I don’t appreciate it but it is not a pressing concern.

You are right that it happens in most countries, but as I said, it doesn’t mean that it is not discouraged/regulated.

Imran Khan won’t become the PM of Pakistan because his supporters are coming to matches with banners and flags.

I don’t have to cry about it anywhere. Honestly speaking, I don’t feel strongly about this issue. I don’t appreciate it but it is not a pressing concern.

You are right that it happens in most countries, but as I said, it doesn’t mean that it is not discouraged/regulated.

Imran Khan won’t become the PM of Pakistan because his supporters are coming to matches with banners and flags.

Ro Noora Ro :sree

The humiliation everywhere is hurting there mental being. When you turn on the TV there is some cretinuous Noora barking at the SC, you come on here and there more that are so hurt these days. TBH, i am loving it.

Guys. No need to get personal in this thread. A lot of posts have been subsequently deleted.

I went to a couple of matches in the champions trophy and the same happened.

After every wicket and boundary, the fans were up chanting go Nawaz go and it was a sizeable portion of the crowd doing this.

I didn’t really like it to be honest becuase most of the people chanting probably didn’t know the first thing about Pakistani politics. Just following the masses really.

It's definitely irritating, I'd much rather not have it, but I guess its something you have to try and ignore because no action has been taken against it.

Before anyone gets the wrong idea, it's not irritating to me because of my political views, it's actually because it really annoys me when politics is mixed in with other things, particually sport.