The official Pushto learning thread

Rightio. I have a question peeps. :D

I have two pathan teachers and they both speak pushto completely differently. Meaning, when I go to one to learn something, or when I converse with the other, I get completely different response as to what I did get from the other. Why is this? I'm confused. :S

You mean yourself. :adnan

:P

regional dialects

theres the "yousufzai pashto" and then the "tribal pashto" as people call it

but ultimately it is pashto

"wai aghyar che da dozakh jaba da, wai aghyar che da dozakh jaba da kho zo ba janat tha pukhto sara zam"

@p_r ..u shd b happy ppl want to learn pashto.. and also stop showing so much arrogance

@blade.. take a hike to hell.. :)

@prince pathan .. ur really nice n i hope u stay that way .. thank u for being kind

@p_r ..u shd b happy ppl want to learn pashto.. and also stop showing so much arrogance

@blade.. take a hike to hell.. :)

@prince pathan .. ur really nice n i hope u stay that way .. thank u for being kind

Arrogance lol how and where??

Ok iam sorry if you felt like that but people are clearly misunderstanding me, Imnt arrogant at all.

Gosh, some people can't even take jokes

Sorry again sis.

regional dialects

theres the "yousufzai pashto" and then the "tribal pashto" as people call it

but ultimately it is pashto

"wai aghyar che da dozakh jaba da, wai aghyar che da dozakh jaba da kho zo ba janat tha pukhto sara zam"

Oh, okay. I hadn't known there were regional dialects of pushto too. 'Tis a bit confusing. :))

So I am guessing most of the words/phrases used are still similar?

Sorry for my ignorance, but what does that mean? :|

Don't mind him. He is not arrogant tho. :)

And welcome to PP, pukhtana. Hope you have a good time here.

Ok iam sorry if you felt like that but people are clearly misunderstanding me, Imnt arrogant at all.

Sorry again sis.

Says you? :))

oh not again

another one with arrogance

you guys should reserve ya comments about me if you dont know me well

i can also easily say stuff about everyone but ..... NVM

Sorry again sis.

^hey no.1Afan.. somebody just got a lil senti.. :87: the above quote kinda sounds familiar, yeah?cant recall who said that tho:45:

and i thot it was just ME who cdnt take the jokes.. BLAH!

oh not again

another one with arrogance

you guys should reserve ya comments about me if you dont know me well

@p_r the same goes to u ..reserve ur comments if u dont know somebody.. and dont evn bother commenting on em esp if they rnt least bit affecting ur life

i can also easily say stuff about everyone but ..... NVM

^this says a lot abt u, so dont ever use this line again.. this is the cyber world.. ppl know each other as much as we throw on them, so dont be judgemental.. even if u kno them personally, be the better man and zip thy mouth :) we are all here to have a good time and learn different things

and now i feel im gonna have a better time:bash: u than learning pashtu :hamster: hehe

looking forward to ur hellos p_r:125:

Hey pukhatana i have already apologised

It will be a great favour if you forgive me somehow. I will be careful in future.

Hey pukhatana i have already apologised

It will be a great favour if you forgive me somehow. I will be careful in future.

Hm.. Leme think. :snack:

Umm..

Ok..

One condition..

YOU will be the one to teach me pashto .. From today onwards, I shall become your headache.. :D

If your answer is in the affirmative, you're forgiven in advance :)

Hm.. Leme think. :snack:

Umm..

Ok..

One condition..

YOU will be the one to teach me pashto .. From today onwards, I shall become your headache.. :D

If your answer is in the affirmative, you're forgiven in advance :)

Ok lol

I will try to teach ya some lol

salamoona!

Hey guys! Ghali nast yee?(Why are you peeps quiet?)

So today who saw the match?(Nan, sook de match katalay?) :D

It was very disappointing.. 222 was an ok score, but getting the first wicket at 170? Not good!

Imran farhat and shoaib malik need to be shown the pavilion for good now!

And afridi surprised me! Played better thn expectd..love him regardless!

P.s. Pls correct whatever little pashtu I wrote! I'll be posting some pashto lessons very soon from other places I picked off the net :)

P.p.s why do you all need to be reminded to be woken up!! :@

haha na mung uda na yo,
pakhtoon rules patha nishta charta larao

i dont know where he went, well i do know where he went but theres been no reason given which is unfortunate but not surprising

ummm the first bit was right

second bit

taso nan da match katalay wo? as opposed to what you said :P

taso basically means you guys, nan means today,

your willingness to learn is impressive ish :P

salaam all!
where is everyone? iv bin a bit busy as well .. 3 weddings :D
thank u for the welcome NJ

congratulations to everyone for losing the t20 and the ODI'S

oh yeahh we never fail to surprise the world! lol

pakistan zindabad!

oh btw, during one of the weddings i heard this super beautiful song! slow for the occasion but nevertheless mind blowing! i was wondering if anyone could translate it for me.. its by hamayoon khan grana da grana .. i could put out the lyrics as well..

and just so it doesnt look too terrorizing, il break it into a few stanzas:

urr chi bali ki
Luge te khi che
Da bey lugay lambay zma da zrra nazeena
Orrta hijra
Khaore rekrram
Cha ta na rekrram cha ta ukrram faryadoona
Intehaa na da
Aw ibteda da
Anjaam pakhair che
Intehaa bus sanga weena
Angaar me pyaar
Gaz rrata za shu
Samu da pasmi da ya rukrral di danoona
Grana da grana sta judaai

Mil tun da ghruno aw pasr raghe ra kuzay makrrai raja wai sur ghoolona
bil tun da zrra pasar surekrram
da mar ga bacchun qayamati ran zu re krrama
pa judaai de khafa na yum khafa pade yum jera kig khpal weena
pa judaai de zaa akh takrram pakhpala larray za te cha ta preekhadama
pa khla ba jang dar sara ukrrram da zrra koseeb dar na sanga be lawuma
pa khu gash na me salaam waya ya wal taha yum ji me herna karri mayana

tan me dashne nakri zeparra bahar ta za tana na rang pawi nu yama
tan me shjr mena samar de bil tu naksar owesa **** **** weena
to ratya ra da aur na de weenam pa zan ze ri chaar kul de keegda mashaloona
tu rutya ro ki three na pat shwam bil tun pa pakh ki rata bal krra mashaloona
da dunya gaye ara ma raasha wa ta ma me jahaan akhtar pa ma ghamoona

ta paghya washwi aw za pa ba la bil tun na tarsay me ta dan ta na preg deenaa
ta ta bowra pa misaal rasha la ka bowra ra pase pane pane shuma
da che la ma na judaa keegi da maaloomi ki che pa marrla gham sha ma
ta me ta haala aw khabar na shway pakhpalo weeno k me zrra oh tali da na
der shuwa agha wa turn a der shu che pa de dan ba da janan marre da ma

and ive no idea why 'K-a-l-a' went in to asterix!

so u guys, anybody who happens to wake up from their sleep, busy schedules or whenever u feel like..
till then ciao!

Dera khamosh khamooshi da dalta....sa chal dai khalkoo tol chere (cherta) y'o...

Anyway listen to this song guys....love it
[UTUBE]AcFszsVOn6A[/UTUBE]

What does Puktho Darzi mean?

Literal meaning is "do you know pashto"
but usually used to ask whether you know how to/can you speak pashto or not

Hope that helps

btw the word "Darzi" also means tailor

Hi, what does noshi jaan mean? (Sorry if I didn't spell it correctly :()

Heard someone saying that constantly to a baby. Was just wondering what it meant...

Originally Posted by KhushbuHussain
Can someone translate these lines from a Zeek Afridi song for me? Thanks in advance

Soomra Haseeni Yara Stas stiri Giri
Oh Mata, oh mata,
Mata yasmeeni yaara stas stiri geeri, stas stiri giri

PS - Sorry if I got some of the words wrong, but thats what they sound like

Kitni khoobsurat he teri ankhein mere mehboob,
oh muje, oh muje
muje Yasmin ki tarah lagti hain teri ankhein teri ankhein

Yasmin is that round small flower we call it Jasmine in English

hindko type mams village (kegelai turks)
sumra shkuni van stari cav-an zamina maya
mata, mata
mata yasmin aara mini, stari cav-an stari cav-an

dads village dialect of same language malak tekral (taniwal/tanoli)

cawa-kit zeri van, yawe, cav-an zamina maya
mata, mata
mata yasmin, aara mini, yawe cav-an yawe cav-an

nogran gujjars (orginal tribe of area in my dads village) a pahari gujjar type language since my dads tribe is ruling tribe i'm guessing their language has been influenced and they have influenced my dads tribe language,

kawthi zeri van, yawe akan , matri maya
mati, mati
mati yasmin, ar lagniyan, yawe akkan, yawe akkan

Bump.

Where is everybody ?

da tol sa shwalo ? yaarano da thread kho dair kharab halat kai dai, cherta yo tol ?

Bump.

Where is everybody ?

da tol sa shwalo ? yaarano da thread kho dair kharab halat kai dai, cherta yo tol ?

Since there's nobody else here, I'll just try random guessing what that means to keep you company.

''What happened? The situation of us friend's thread seem bad, where are you all?''

Is that right :)

pasho dialect/type spoken in mams village among older generation)
got these sentences translated from our hindko dialect to pashto dialect spoken in their village by my uncle, so wrote them down best i could

pashto mams village

-Da che ta kha dai
-za raalem o england
-za bar tral ya
-bad ya wayam sho na
-za khpal saman ghwaram
-angraizi dazi ay
-cherteh sang ay

hindko mams village:
avay ke-re baks vay
mata kirin o england
min barve tral ya
ve ya waygoto sho na
mata me saman wi chi na
angrazi kuni ay
sang le kuteh ay

hindko dads village:
ay ke-re changa vay
mata karan o england
min barve ghach ya
ve ya bai sho na
mata me saman wi chi na
angraizi kuni ay
sang le kuteh ay

Since there's nobody else here, I'll just try random guessing what that means to keep you company.

''What happened? The situation of us friend's thread seem bad, where are you all?''

Is that right :)

haha well done bro :19:

*Maybe not relevant to this thread, but.....*

Is there any difference at all between 'Pakhtoon' and 'Pashtoon':13:?

Quetta wala pakhtun hoti hai Peshawar wala Pashtun . Peshawar ko Pekhawar bhi kehti hai log . Larsha Pekhawar gana tou aap ne suni hogi khocha ? Accent ilaqae ka mukhtalif hoti hai

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4 Beta

[MENTION=134963]96NotOut[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=135402]cricket083[/MENTION]

Time to revive this thread!
[MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION], you can learn pashto here too :D

Chapsha gana bachein = Be quiet kids
khaayum = fine
yakhh = cold
garam = hot

Thats all I know so far! But I'm going over the pages - it would be fantastic is someone can break down and provide the grammar of pashto (so we can make sentences on our own) :)

Let's teach [MENTION=136108]Donal Cozzie[/MENTION] Urdu first.

Given the overlap in between these languages, I'd say it doesn't matter which one he learns first. Should he know either one of them, then he could easily learn the other.

One thing I learned about Pashto : Persian-speakers consider it almost a pidgin form of Farsi. One of my Persian friends said to me that I should devote my time learning Farsi. If I know Farsi (and since Urdu is my mother tongue), then I'll "automatically" know pashto!

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] posted a list of a few words that got deleted with his thread.

^ Yeah I know.. I meant the words getting deleted bit..

Interesting! how do we say yes?

Taso sunga yay? = How are you? (respectably, towards an elder)
Or, Sunga yay = How are you? (informal-towards a friend or someone younger)
you can reply Tik Taak, or Za Kha yum = I'm fine
thank you- Merabaani

Found this in this thread!

Given the overlap in between these languages, I'd say it doesn't matter which one he learns first. Should he know either one of them, then he could easily learn the other.

One thing I learned about Pashto : Persian-speakers consider it almost a pidgin form of Farsi. One of my Persian friends said to me that I should devote my time learning Farsi. If I know Farsi (and since Urdu is my mother tongue), then I'll "automatically" know pashto!
Pashto is like Urdu? But they sound so different.

But yeah, I've heard Pashto and Farsi are similar too.

Pashto and Farsi are very different from each other, granted there are a few common words. Your friends like to exaggerate. :afridi

Pashto is like Urdu? But they sound so different.

But yeah, I've heard Pashto and Farsi are similar too.

A lot of words are shared, from whatever little I know.

With Farsi, I know for sure that the sentence structure is identical to Urdu.

I think that "yakkh" ("cold") is a word that even (some) Punjabis use, but with a combination of another word. Hence, they say, "Thannda yakkh paani!" Often used in phrases to scold the maid when she was instead supposed to 'prepare' warm water for your bath. *Village life secrets and memories:).*