The positive out of this fallout is that the Army / Military is no longer a sacred cow!

Mate there were 5-10 reputable journalist in PM House with IK from 8pm yesterday when this incident was alleged to be happening. Are you suggesting each of these independent journalists are lying? Or some fake news is supposedly correct?

It's the Hindutuva dream to have IK hit because he told the World that teleprompter Modi is a fascist

Mate there were 5-10 reputable journalist in PM House with IK from 8pm yesterday when this incident was alleged to be happening. Are you suggesting each of these independent journalists are lying? Or some fake news is supposedly correct?

I will believe those journalist, I watched a video of one of them which [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] mentioned. However I feel convinced that Pindi was involved somehow.

Maybe they created a fake story to provide to BBC, to say see its just fake news. We did nothing, we are "neutral". However my heart says they did something.

I will believe those journalist, I watched a video of one of them which [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] mentioned. However I feel convinced that Pindi was involved somehow.

Maybe they created a fake story to provide to BBC, to say see its just fake news. We did nothing, we are "neutral". However my heart says they did something.

Kaptaan should have sacked ISI and COAS yesterday. As many in the army are saying they created this band of crooks and should be tried for treason.

Shireen Mazari raised a good point. Who gave the order to break into the home of the PTI digital team head in the middle of the night? The new govt has not been sworn in.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Interesting question is when new govt has yet to be sworn in, who is giving orders for breaking into home of <a href="https://twitter.com/arslankhalid_m?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@arslankhalid_m</a>, putting PTI-linked people on ECL etc? Coming straight from regime change's local abettors here? <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/importedgovernment?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#importedgovernment</a></p>— Shireen Mazari (@ShireenMazari1) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShireenMazari1/status/1513251792074641411?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 10, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Imran Khan threatened to impose martial law, documents suggests

Imran Khan, who was ousted as Pakistan’s prime minister on Saturday, threatened to implement martial law rather than hand over power to the opposition, according to documents seen by the Guardian.

According to security officials and opposition figures, he attempted several moves to hold on to power in the days and hours leading up to the no-confidence vote. However, he failed to stop it happening, and in the final minutes before midnight on Saturday, he was ousted from office.

Khan had initially tried to stop the vote, which was first scheduled to be heard in the national assembly last weekend, by dissolving parliament and calling for fresh elections, claiming the vote was part of a “foreign conspiracy” to topple him.

But this manoeuvre was frustrated by the supreme court, which declared Khan’s actions in violation of the constitution and ordered for the vote to go ahead on Saturday.

Imran Khan attends a military parade to mark Pakistan National Day in Islamabad in March
Pakistan parliament ousts Imran Khan in last-minute vote
Read more
On Friday, a senior minister from his ruling government sent a message to an opposition leader that read: “Martial law or elections – your choice.”

It appeared to threaten the opposition with the ultimatum that they should agree to Khan’s demand of fresh elections or he would bring in Pakistan’s powerful military to take control, as has happened repeatedly in the country’s history.

One figure from the opposition said it had refused the demand. “Imran Khan believed it should be him or no one,” they said.

According to security officials, on the day of the no-confidence vote, which Khan’s party delayed by 14 hours, the prime minister had then attempted to sack the chief of the army in order to provoke the military into taking control and impose martial law.

“Imran Khan wanted to sack the army chief, but the forces received information about it and they thwarted his plan after they came to know about it,” said a security official on condition of anonymity. “Khan wanted to create a huge crisis to remain in power.”

Khan’s ministers also appeared to be setting the stage for military intervention. “If martial law is imposed on the country, the opposition parties would be responsible for this, as they have been involved in buying and selling votes,” Fawad Chaudhry, then information minister, told reporters on Saturday.

As the no-confidence vote continued to be obstructed and delayed by Asad Qaisar, the speaker of the house and a close ally of Khan who was acting reportedly on direct instructions from him, the opposition leader, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, told parliament: “Imran Khan wants the army to get involved.”

The chief justice also took the unprecedented steps of instructing the supreme court to open its doors at midnight, to act in the event that Khan attempted to obstruct the legally mandated vote going ahead.

The allegations that Khan was trying to “remove the chief of the army staff for furtherance of political interests” were also stated in a legal petition filed to the Islamabad high court by the lawyer Adnan Iqbal on Saturday night.

While Khan’s rise to power appeared to have the backing of Pakistan’s powerful armed forces, in recent months there had been increasingly apparent discord between him and the military establishment over a senior military appointment.

It appears that the friction between Khan and the military came to a head on Saturday night. Khan met with Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa, the army’s chief of staff, that night after trying to remove him earlier in the day, according to Reuters. Local media reported Bajwa told Khan to accept his fate and stop interfering in the vote.

Finally, after the speaker dramatically resigned and just a few minutes before the midnight deadline, the vote took place in the national assembly. Khan, who no longer held a parliamentary majority, lost by 174 votes, making him Pakistan’s first prime minister to be removed by a vote of no confidence.

The military, which has long denied interfering in Pakistani politics, rebutted all the allegations of its involvement in events leading up the vote, calling them “baseless rumours”. Chaudry, Khan’s former information minister, also denied Khan’s attempts to usurp the vote.

“These fake stories are being spread to mislead the public and create anarchy in the country. All such malicious attempts will be defeated by the people of Pakistan,” said an official close to the army. “Pakistan armed forces are the guarantor of peace in Pakistan and the enemy is attempting to tarnish the image of armed forces.”

On Monday, Shabhaz Sharif, the leader of the opposition coalition and brother of the jailed former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, will be sworn in as prime minister. He is expected to call elections in due course, likely to be held after October.

In his first comments since he lost the vote, Khan repeated his allegation that he had been the victim of a foreign conspiracy. “Pakistan became an independent state in 1947, but the freedom struggle begins again today against a foreign conspiracy of regime change. It is always the people of the country who defend their sovereignty and democracy,” he tweeted. on Sunday night, huge crowds took to the streets of Islamabad and Karachi in protest against Khan’s removal from power.

All members of Khan’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, also announced on Sunday they would be resigning en masse from the national assembly, a process that is likely to take a few months.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...ests-pakistan-elections-army?CMP=share_btn_tw

The stories floating around about the last few hours are just palace intrigue cooked up trash in my opinion. Leaders at that position don't get their hands dirty

The courts opened at midnight to pre-empt any order like emergency passed by IK to circumvent the court order. I imagine Bajwa told the same to IK after which the VONC was conducted. The establishment was firing a shot across the bow to get the govt back in line

A PM can't fire the COAS orally. There is paperwork to be signed. If there was a letter it would have surfaced by now

The stories floating around about the last few hours are just palace intrigue cooked up trash in my opinion. Leaders at that position don't get their hands dirty

The courts opened at midnight to pre-empt any order like emergency passed by IK to circumvent the court order. I imagine Bajwa told the same to IK after which the VONC was conducted. The establishment was firing a shot across the bow to get the govt back in line

A PM can't fire the COAS orally. There is paperwork to be signed. If there was a letter it would have surfaced by now

One would assume Guardian and BBC, such respected news organizations would double check their sources. I wonder if we will have a new Dawn Leaks soon, that confirms this.

Something was going on.

Shireen Mazari raised a good point. Who gave the order to break into the home of the PTI digital team head in the middle of the night? The new govt has not been sworn in.

https://twitter.com/ShireenMazari1/status/1513251792074641411

Bhai this is what pti cultivated. The bills to control media stop social media from posting against millitary.

What is shireen mazari talking about now?

When they were in bed with them it was ok to use all this on opposition now when it comes against them they wake up

One would assume Guardian and BBC, such respected news organizations would double check their sources. I wonder if we will have a new Dawn Leaks soon, that confirms this.

Something was going on.

"Wanted to sack the army chief" is mealy mouthed reporting. Did he take any steps or this desire existed solely in IK's head. Did he actually sign an order to fire the chief.

Was the petition in IHC filed by some official body or just a random lawyer.

Bhai this is what pti cultivated. The bills to control media stop social media from posting against millitary.

When they were in bed with them it was ok to use all this on opposition now when it comes against them they wake up

Look at the comments on the DGISPR and you see it was us that were given our army criticism. It wasn't a PTI social media thing. Unlike you guys, we don't need directions, we know what's right or wrong. Btw why the tuss from the other thread, come back and answer

"Wanted to sack the army chief" is mealy mouthed reporting. Did he take any steps or this desire existed solely in IK's head. Did he actually sign an order to fire the chief.

Islamabad high court would never open at 10 pm at night for a random lawyer. Things did cook up but were not reported

Just my 2 cents on what might have happened - Imran Khan drank his own kool aid and overestimated his political ability against the courts and military and opposition which had the numbers.

After running out of options, he was mulling some steps like an emergency declaration as a last ditch hail Mary . At this point the courts opened and Bajwa told him time was up. After that things happened in an orderly fashion and the government fell.

If PTI was in bed with them, who is in bed with them now?

And to blame PTI for what the chowkidar did is nonsense. They have been doing it for decades before PTI was even a party. At least IK struggled to create his own party, and did not get a leg up like Nawaz and Bhutto by boot polishing of dictators.

If anything to use a cricket analogy PTI might have done some ball tampering, but PDM has rigged matches.

Look at the comments on the DGISPR and you see it was us that were given our army criticism. It wasn't a PTI social media thing. Unlike you sheep, we don't need directions, we know what's right or wrong. Btw why the tuss from the other thread, come back and answer

You know whats right or wrong? The ssme bills that you guys passed are being used against your party.

Islamabad high court would never open at 10 pm at night for a random lawyer. Things did cook up but were not reported

The IHC would never ask for the life of a criminal to be guaranteed would they ? Minullah is the biggest crook of all. He was humiliated by MSR over the fake affidavit and that's the only good thing the Don has done.

If PTI was in bed with them, who is in bed with them now?

And to blame PTI for what the chowkidar did is nonsense. They have been doing it for decades before PTI was even a party. At least IK struggled to create his own party, and did not get a leg up like Nawaz and Bhutto by boot polishing of dictators.

If anything to use a cricket analogy PTI might have done some ball tampering, but PDM has rigged matches.
Imran won the election by boot poolishing the army..

Nothing was rigged.

What happened to the pti digital team head was sad, but you have to accept you creates a monster just like you did woth tlp.

The IHC would never ask for the life of a criminal to be guaranteed would they ? Minullah is the biggest crook of all. He was humiliated by MSR over the fake affidavit and that's the only good thing the Don has done.

Bhai, the thing is, ihc opened up last night and a petition was submitted as reported by ary.

Possibly. However its possible that Guardian had a "source". Someone close to IK told Guardian off the record that they were planning to sack Bajwa. I would assume Guardian would have not just randomly make such a serious allegation.

As far as the lawyer, one would assume he would be representing someone very important for the courts to open in the middle of the night.

Possibly. However its possible that Guardian had a "source". Someone close to IK told Guardian off the record that they were planning to sack Bajwa. I would assume Guardian would have not just randomly make such a serious allegation.

As far as the lawyer, one would assume he would be representing someone very important for the courts to open in the middle of the night.

Read the Guardian article from last week and you see how biased the reporter is. These journalists are close to mafia than anyone else. I actually tried to contact her but I couldn't. I had one question for the women,how going to an election is clinging into power

I understand you guys are frusturated that pdm was always one step ahead, before motion could had been filed you could had dissolved but imran didnt know if the awaam supporttes him.

Pdm isnt required to call an early elections. You had the chance, next time oti needs to be wll prepared with regards to constituoknal rules

There is a president saab, and most importantly the ever existing establishment that could have orderedd the president

Oh I see,so the President would give orders against the PTI and if its the establishment, then it shows this is conspiracy. But we knew that. But what law did ARY break? You have ran from this question on a dozen occasions. If your going to troll, at least have some knowledge to back it up.

I understand you guys are frusturated that pdm was always one step ahead, before motion could had been filed you could had dissolved but imran didnt know if the awaam supporttes him.

Pdm isnt required to call an early elections. You had the chance, next time oti needs to be wll prepared with regards to constituoknal rules

But she said that it was an attempt to cling on to power, how does calling an election cling onto power. Lol

Was it this one?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2...to-want-to-keep-power-in-pakistan-at-any-cost

Lol at this

Even if the parliament dissolution is upheld, the move still puts Khan in a considerably weakened position to fight an election in the next 90 days. It has further united and galvanised the opposition coalition, while alienating more members of his own increasingly fragile ruling coalition.

I find this entire really gullible. Already DGISPR has downplayed this news as rubbish and IK in next media outing would do the same. However people on here are not ready to believe the actual people involved in here but are absolutely ready to believe unnamed sources. This is blatant disinformation campaign.

There are posters on here would not believe their eyes if it was raining outside simply because unnamed sources said its not raining outside. I find this bunch really gullible.

I find this entire really gullible. Already DGISPR has downplayed this news as rubbish and IK in next media outing would do the same. However people on here are not ready to believe the actual people involved in here but are absolutely ready to believe unnamed sources. This is blatant disinformation campaign.

There are posters on here would not believe their eyes if it was raining outside simply because unnamed sources said its not raining outside. I find this bunch really gullible.

Maybe, however IK's core base has turned anti-establishment. No one will dare accuse PTI of being an establishment party in the next election. The establishment and PTI are no longer "on the same page".

But the point still stands. Their plans only start to take effect when the paperwork is readied, not even signed.

I imagine there is legal advice sought and the defence minister has to sign off even before IK makes it official.

People will never know what really went through IK's mind in the final hours but that information gap is often filled by opportunistic people eager to weave their own tales.

Imran actually made Bajwa blink first and now the entire nation knows how the coup was staged and IK never said a word. They can now cook up any pretext that they want and be done with but no one cares.

Stuff like Chowkidaar chor hai, Bajwa khul kar saamnay aa, kitni vigo laao gay, and others is already being chanted and it's just the start. Noon league & PPP both are fascist parties when in power and they'll make even more mistakes. There's already a media blackout, then they'll probably try to curtail internet (ban it or slow stuff down), and all of this works for the nation.

I actually prefer Imran as a disruptor, he's good at it and he will get stronger and stronger like this. Fun times ahead.

But she said that it was an attempt to cling on to power, how does calling an election cling onto power. Lol

Immediate elections are an attempt to cling on to power because its clear that PTI didn't have the numbers anymore.

So an election held soon will be under a caretaker PM who will not replace a lot of the PTI political appointees.

But a full PDM government has time to get their own guys in positions of power. Also the foreign conspiracy narrative is potent now but will largely be forgotten in more than a years time. If the economic situation improves, it won't be easy for PTI to win an election in 2023.

Immediate elections are an attempt to cling on to power because its clear that PTI didn't have the numbers anymore.

So an election held soon will be under a caretaker PM who will not replace a lot of the PTI political appointees.

But a full PDM government has time to get their own guys in positions of power. Also the foreign conspiracy narrative is potent now but will largely be forgotten in more than a years time. If the economic situation improves, it won't be easy for PTI to win an election in 2023.

No its not. By calling an election he was out of office, so you can't cling on to an office that you don't hold.

This is a semantic argument. For all intents and purposes it was clear he was already out of power when the opposition had the numbers to topple the government.

So the only choice was between dissolving the assembly and having immediate elections and having PDM take over and hold elections in a year under a different government.

Imran actually made Bajwa blink first and now the entire nation knows how the coup was staged and IK never said a word. They can now cook up any pretext that they want and be done with but no one cares.

Stuff like Chowkidaar chor hai, Bajwa khul kar saamnay aa, kitni vigo laao gay, and others is already being chanted and it's just the start. Noon league & PPP both are fascist parties when in power and they'll make even more mistakes. There's already a media blackout, then they'll probably try to curtail internet (ban it or slow stuff down), and all of this works for the nation.

I actually prefer Imran as a disruptor, he's good at it and he will get stronger and stronger like this. Fun times ahead.

That was the reason why they were so desperate for IK to resign and not take it to the end. Bajwa and Co wanted him to resign and then claim,he went without being pushed and asked for an NRO in return. Kaptaan turned the narrative on his head and today Bajwa and Co have no where to go. If he had any ghairat he would resign and give over to Ghafoor asap. Our Army has been turned into a joke by this idiot sleeping with the mafia

Offcourse dgispr will say its rubbish.

What do you expect dgispr will say yes this happened causing mass anger against army? Lol

You pti fans still havent change. Even now you accept dgispr :))

This is a semantic argument. For all intents and purposes it was clear he was already out of power when the opposition had the numbers to topple the government.

So the only choice was between dissolving the assembly and having immediate elections and having PDM take over and hold elections in a year under a different government.

No he wasn't. His move was constitutional and the SC decision goes against their own precedents. The SC has been compromised and humiliated. It will never regain any respect from 1/2 of the population. Look at the humiliation of Kana and you see what i mean

That was the reason why they were so desperate for IK to resign and not take it to the end. Bajwa and Co wanted him to resign and then claim,he went without being pushed and asked for an NRO in return. Kaptaan turned the narrative on his head and today Bajwa and Co have no where to go. If he had any ghairat he would resign and give over to Ghafoor asap. Our Army has been turned into a joke by this idiot sleeping with the mafia

They'll make the entire media like PTV, Safi singing Bajra doctrine praises and stunted growth people will be like running around in circles praising the mass intellectual growth happening inside their heads hearing to their sacred scholar go on about it.

Genuinely fun times ahead.

PML N Shahbaz Sharif, Mushahid Hussain were slapped around by the army in the coup of 1999. Shahbaz was caught with pornographgy in his room. Now he will be applying all the cherry blossom to the same people who slapped him in 1999.

The army's core support in the public came from the urban middle class/upper middle class population. They hated the dynastic parties, the religious parties, and the ethnic parties. Now they have a party which they can support. They will not forgive them for this.

PPP meets 2 of the 3 criteria, and I think it can be the second party which this group of people can back. A lot of people from this group already support them, because its a liberal party.

The Army is a reflection of the nation. They are no more honest and no more corrupt than anyone else in Pakistan. This idea that they are not corrupt has to go.

As far as alcohol goes, in Pakistan I have noted a lot of rich and poor people drink. Its really only the middle class where it is rare. They should be allowed to drink if they want, Muslims have been drinking alcohol in the subcontinent for the last 1,400 years.

And lot of Muslims subscribe to the Ghalib view of Sharaab peeta hoon, suar nahin khata.

This is my personal opinion and no one has to agree with it.

But when a Muslim becomes habitual drinker, especially a soldier, then he simply becomes a baighairut. Emaan leaves his heart and he can't fight anymore. Simple as that.

Everyone then has a liberty as to whatever they want to eat and drink - and I have no issue with their freedom. But my belief remains firm.

But when a Muslim becomes habitual drinker, especially a soldier, then he simply becomes a baighairut. Emaan leaves his heart and he can't fight anymore. Simple as that.

Everyone then has a liberty as to whatever they want to eat and drink - and I have no issue with their freedom. But my belief remains firm.

Yea I won’t agree with it because it doesn’t make sense

Pot Kettle black

Acha tu ab chokidaar chor lag raha hai?

Yehi baat 2015 mien kisi ne boli thi to who Raw ka agent hogaya tha.

Yet most Muslim Kings in subcontinent drank. Some were great soldiers others not so much.

Akbar and Aurangzeb were two of the greatest Muslims in the battlefield. One drank the other did not. One was a non religious Muslim and the other was a pious Muslim. So as far as war as is concerned I don't think it effects one's skill on the battlefield.

Another Mughal example is Babur. He loved his wine. However he also stated the following in Baburnama:

For Islam's sake, I wandered in the wilds,
Prepared for war with pagans and Hindus,
Resolved myself to meet the martyr's death,
Thanks be to Allah! a ghazi I became.

I used to think this was just nonsense because when Mughals conquered North India it was already ruled by Muslims (Lodhis). However this was actually after beating the Lodhis, he then had to fight Hindu Rajputs and the throne was still not secure. So drunk non religious Muslims can still have some emaan in their hearts, or pretend to have it when bragging of his victory.

Yet most Muslim Kings in subcontinent drank. Some were great soldiers others not so much.

Akbar and Aurangzeb were two of the greatest Muslims in the battlefield. One drank the other did not. One was a non religious Muslim and the other was a pious Muslim. So as far as war as is concerned I don't think it effects one's skill on the battlefield.

Another Mughal example is Babur. He loved his wine. However he also stated the following in Baburnama:

I used to think this was just nonsense because when Mughals conquered North India it was already ruled by Muslims (Lodhis). However this was actually after beating the Lodhis, he then had to fight Hindu Rajputs and the throne was still not secure. So drunk non religious Muslims can still have some emaan in their hearts, or pretend to have it when bragging of his victory.

Drinking wine and consuming opium was a staple of almost every muslim dynasty that ruled in India.

Jahangir died due to this.

Drinking wine and consuming opium was a staple of almost every muslim dynasty that ruled in India.

Jahangir died due to this.

Yep. And forgot Kings, even today among common Muslims many people drink, take drugs, womanize, gamble, etc. Whether they are rich or poor, practicing Muslims or non practicing Muslims, educated or jahil.

Its only eating pork where almost all Muslims would draw the line. Personally I ate pork by mistake a few times, and while it tasted good the thought of eating it made me sick for weeks later.

What us a goodie goodie article?

Here's a specimen, trying to obfuscate the truth which everybody in the country knows:

'Absolutely not': Pakistan military has nothing to do with whatever happened today, says DG ISPR

Pakistan’s Director-General Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Major General Babar Iftikhar has denied the involvement of the military establishment in Sunday’s political development.

“The military has nothing to do with what happened today,” DG ISPR Major General Babar Iftikhar told Geo News on Sunday.

https://www.wionews.com/south-asia/...h-whatever-happened-today-says-dg-ispr-467938

The country's top military brass has taken notice of the recent propaganda campaign by some quarters to malign Pakistan Army and create division between the institution and society, the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) said in a statement on Tuesday.

The statement comes after 79th Formation Commanders’ Conference was held at General Headquarters (GHQ) in Rawalpindi.

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa, presided over the conference which was attended by corps commanders, principal staff officers and all formation commanders of Pakistan Army.

The forum expressed complete confidence in leadership’s well-considered stance to uphold the constitution and rule of law, at all costs, according to military's media wing, the ISPR.

The statement was made a day after the joint opposition ousted former premier Imran Khan through a no-confidence motion in National Assembly. Khan claimed that there was a foreign conspiracy for a regime change in Pakistan.

Participants were briefed on professional matters, national security challenges and measures being undertaken to counter traditional and non-traditional threats.

The army chief expressed satisfaction over operational preparedness of formations and response mechanism to deal with emerging challenges. The forum paid rich tribute to the supreme sacrifices of officers and men to ensure security of borders and safety of masses.

National Security of Pakistan is sacrosanct, the military’s media wing said. “Pakistan Army has always stood by the state institutions to guard it and always will, without any compromise.”

Pakistan Army is aware of its responsibilities and shall continue to defend territorial integrity and sovereignty of Pakistan against all internal and external threats under all circumstances, the ISPR quoted Gen Qamar as saying.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/235218...to-uphold-constitution-amid-political-turmoil

The Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Tuesday arrested five suspects, including a political activist, for allegedly running an online smear campaign against army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa.

These arrests were made as a result of several raids in Lahore, Multan, Karachi, Islamabad and Rawalpindi by the cybercrime wing of the federal agency. The suspects have been handed over to the counter-terrorism wing of the FIA. Political activist Maqsood Arif was among those arrested.

The FIA swung into action as a result of an online campaign against state institutions, including the chief justice of Pakistan, following the dismissal of the PTI government.

According to a senior official of the FIA, the cybercrime wing could not initiate action against the detained suspects after the annulment of Section 20 of the Pakistan Electronic Crimes Act.

On the other hand, an officer of FIA’s counter-terror wing said more arrests were expected in the coming days.

Meanwhile, the director-general of the FIA was given a briefing by the cybercrime wing wherein thousands of pages involved in anti-state activities were identified. The DG was informed that at least 2,000 accounts were involved in a smear campaign against the army and its chief.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2352186/fia-arrests-five-over-smear-campaign-against-army

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan Army takes notice of Propaganda Campaign to Defame armed forces: ISPR <br><br>Link▶️ <a href="https://t.co/P6C2qFkguh">https://t.co/P6C2qFkguh</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PublicNewsLive?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PublicNewsLive</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PublicNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PublicNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ISPR?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ISPR</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COAS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COAS</a> <a href="https://t.co/mt5QCFfseE">pic.twitter.com/mt5QCFfseE</a></p>— Public News (@PublicNews_Com) <a href="https://twitter.com/PublicNews_Com/status/1513871064039841793?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

These bunch of sooks should be disbanded and Pakistan should start afresh with a brand new army that has nothing to do with politics and gains pieces for the country instead of losing or droning them.

Yep. And forgot Kings, even today among common Muslims many people drink, take drugs, womanize, gamble, etc. Whether they are rich or poor, practicing Muslims or non practicing Muslims, educated or jahil.

Its only eating pork where almost all Muslims would draw the line. Personally I ate pork by mistake a few times, and while it tasted good the thought of eating it made me sick for weeks later.

Tell me how can such debauchery be white washed and these persons be hailed as heroes of islam?

I honestly want to know, why calling a Ghori or Ghazni or Tughlaq or Khilji or Babur or Aurangzeb or Jahangeer etc a bigoted tyrant and looter, insult of islam?

I have not insulted the prophet (pbuh) or Allah(swt)

Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid Ahmed on Wednesday condemned the recent criticism of the Pakistan Army — both on social media and the streets — and indirectly acknowledged that the PTI and its allies have "misunderstandings" with the military establishment which he said must be resolved.

The military has come under criticism this week on social media forums, and Twitter trends against the armed forces and its leadership have seen intense activity. Slogans critical of the army were also chanted during country-wide protests staged on Sunday in support of former prime minister Imran Khan following his ouster from power over the weekend via a successful no-confidence motion.

Since last Sunday, the top trending hashtags on Twitter were those targeting the army, the judiciary and the new government, and on Tuesday the tweets using those hashtags soared to 4.3 million.

Ahmed, the former interior minister, while responding to a reporter's question in Peshawar today, said: "No slogan should be raised against the army."

Without naming any specific party, Ahmed said the PTI and allies should follow PML-N and Co's suit and mend ties with the military.

"If those who curse [them] can make peace with them then we should also remove our misunderstandings and establish good relations with them (the army)," he said.

Ahmed appeared to blame the PML-N for the ant-army trends on social media, saying that the army was being criticised through a "conspiracy".

"These are the same people who cursed this army from London and Gujranwala and now they're polishing their boots," he said.

Meanwhile, a meeting of Pakistan Army officials on Tuesday took note of the recent criticism directed at the institution on social media and expressed complete confidence in the leadership's "well-considered stance to uphold the Constitution and the rule of law".

The Federal Investigation Agency also arrested eight people from across Punjab yesterday after it launched a crackdown on social media activists that it believed had been involved in a smear campaign against institutions.

Recent reports suggest that online activists associated with the PTI's social media wing are also allegedly being harassed for which the party's central secretary general Asad Umar said the party had drafted a petition and would file it in the high courts today.

Ahmed, in his media talk today, was also questioned about the issue of missing persons but denied any such incidents or cases taking place during his recent tenure as the interior minister.

Ahmed said the nation was still standing with Khan and told reporters to wait till June 15, saying that the PTI chief would "give a call" for Islamabad.

"There is a threat to his life and he can be put in jail too but that doesn't make a difference," he said.

The AML chief claimed it was an "international master plan" to bring the current coalition government in power and alleged that "international powers could get Imran Khan killed."

Despite the threat, he said, Khan was not ready to share the National Assembly floor with the current "imported" government.

Ahmed said he had already sent his resignation to Khan, adding that his would be the first when the resignations of PTI MNAs from the NA get accepted.

He also claimed that PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif would be brought back to the country now that his party's government is in power.

DAWN

[VIDEO] Alleged PML-N thugs beat-up a Pakistan Army major

They haven't been in power for 3 days and already we see these thugs drunk on power. This time the victim was an Army major, yes you read right an Army Major. And let's not get sucked in by the FIR because as we saw with the Jokhio murder, it means nothing. They are worse than I feared.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Reportedly an Army Officer has been severely beaten by the guards of Khawaja Salman Rafique of N league at Lahore. The miscreant guards ran away after being confronted by the public leaving the officer critically injured. <a href="https://t.co/n6nrLXrg4Q">pic.twitter.com/n6nrLXrg4Q</a></p>— Major Adil Raja (R) (@soldierspeaks) <a href="https://twitter.com/soldierspeaks/status/1514336160012767242?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 13, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Soon these Noon thuggs will run for their life IK is building up the public just wait

Our army must be terrible if a guy becomes a major and gets manhandled by a bunch of gullu butts with bellies hanging out.

Retired army generals on Wednesday denounced malicious audio clips attributed to them which are being circulated on social media, terming them as "fake", a statement issued by the military’s media wing said.

According to the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), the audio clips are a part of a disinformation and propaganda campaign to target state institutions.

Former Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Mirza Aslam Beg, in an audio message, condemned the fake clip, saying: "Army is my identity and my pride and every soldier and officer of it is respectable for me."

The former army chief said that enemies of Pakistan were conspiring against the army, urging others not to become a part of it. "Do not tarnish your character and actions. God does not like such things," he concluded.

In a video message, Lieutenant General (red) Mohammad Haroon Aslam said that the fake audio clip did not feature his voice and he can never commit such an irresponsible act.

"The people behind the act are trying to defame me... such people should be ashamed of themselves," he added.

Major General (retd) Aijaz Hussain Awan, in an audio message, said that an outrageous statement has been associated with him regarding the army chief.

"Army is my identity... I am a son of a martyr and I can never spread disrespectful propaganda against my own institution," he added.

He further said that the fake clip was developed in India and we should all thwart the propaganda together.

The remarks came at a time when there was a smear campaign going on against the armed forces with Twitter trends against Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa reaching the top.

On Tuesday, the country's top military brass took notice of the recent propaganda campaign by some quarters to malign Pakistan Army and create a division between the institution and society.

According to a statement issued by the ISPR, General Qamar chaired the 79th Formation Commanders’ Conference held at General Headquarters (GHQ) in Rawalpindi.

The forum expressed complete confidence in the leadership’s well-considered stance to uphold the Constitution and the rule of law at all costs, according to the military's media wing.

The statement was made two days after the joint opposition ousted former prime minister Imran Khan through a vote of no confidence in the National Assembly. The opposition managed to bag 174 votes, two more than the requirement, in the 342-strong house. Imran had claimed that there was a 'foreign conspiracy' for regime change in Pakistan.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/235238...unce-malicious-audio-clips-attributed-to-them

Tell me how can such debauchery be white washed and these persons be hailed as heroes of islam?

I honestly want to know, why calling a Ghori or Ghazni or Tughlaq or Khilji or Babur or Aurangzeb or Jahangeer etc a bigoted tyrant and looter, insult of islam?

I have not insulted the prophet (pbuh) or Allah(swt)

You can't have it both ways.

You say this here but then your ilk castigate them as Islamic invaders. If Islam isn't their identity then why mention it?

Bajwa and Nadeem got our jawan beaten by a bunch of thugs. Nooras are drunk on power, look at threats by the bearded Munafiq yesterday.

This reminds of the time when [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] and other PTI supporters are defending and justifying the decision to amend the constitution and extent Bajwa’s tenure.

They took offense to the notion that Bajwa is desperately holding onto power and this will set a bad precedence.

We were told that Bajwa is an honest, patriotic man with Pakistan’s best interests at heart.

So what happened?

This reminds of the time when [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] and other PTI supporters are defending and justifying the decision to amend the constitution and extent Bajwa’s tenure.

They took offense to the notion that Bajwa is desperately holding onto power and this will set a bad precedence.

We were told that Bajwa is an honest, patriotic man with Pakistan’s best interests at heart.

So what happened?

We the supporters of the army will remain so. And I don't see the extension as a problem per se. If Bajwa has connived with the mafia which you support and his badniyaati has come to the fore by backing them, then he will suffer. You know as well as I, that for all his deficiencies that Kaptaan is a good man, and Amyone that does Panga with him, loses. Bajwa won't be able to walk in public without fear. The Americans pay well buy izzat is given by Allah

PDM did panga with him and he lost. Imran and his supporters need to get over this delusion and arrogance that he is untouchable.

Giving Bajwa extension set the wrong precedence and also makes the military look weak. Regardless of how sensitive the situation is, you should be able to oversee a smooth transition of power.

By allowing Bajwa to bully him into giving him an extension, Imran made the military seem dependent on Bajwa and also ticked off certain generals who were waiting for their chance.

Imran did it because Bajwa was on his side and it helped him secure his own position in the long-term. Now that Bajwa ditched Imran after he severed relations with the U.S., this extension came back to haunt him.

PDM did panga with him and he lost. Imran and his supporters need to get over this delusion and arrogance that he is untouchable.

Giving Bajwa extension set the wrong precedence and also makes the military look weak. Regardless of how sensitive the situation is, you should be able to oversee a smooth transition of power.

By allowing Bajwa to bully him into giving him an extension, Imran made the military seem dependent on Bajwa and also ticked off certain generals who were waiting for their chance.

Imran did it because Bajwa was on his side and it helped him secure his own position in the long-term. Now that Bajwa ditched Imran after he severed relations with the U.S., this extension came back to haunt him.

No he hasn't. If he had lost, they wouldn't be arresting his workers, SS would be out in public, those guys that betrayed him would be out in public not hiding in Sindh house or running piller to post.
Giving Bajwa an extension wasn't wrong, Bajwa and Co used it for badniyaati. And Today Bajwa and his selected are arresting workers because no matter how much money you have, money isn't everything. Even prostitutes are well paid.

but did he really severe ties with the US? It seems ties are getting worse under PDM as US has asked to do more

No he hasn't. If he had lost, they wouldn't be arresting his workers, SS would be out in public, those guys that betrayed him would be out in public not hiding in Sindh house or running piller to post.
Giving Bajwa an extension wasn't wrong, Bajwa and Co used it for badniyaati. And Today Bajwa and his selected are arresting workers because no matter how much money you have, money isn't everything. Even prostitutes are well paid.

Sorry but giving extension to any Army chief is wrong, whether its from PTI or PMLN or PPP it doesn't matter. What is wrong, is wrong.

I don't know why most of the Pakistani army chief are so desperate for the extension.

Sorry but giving extension to any Army chief is wrong, whether its from PTI or PMLN or PPP it doesn't matter. What is wrong, is wrong.

I don't know why most of the Pakistani army chief are so desperate for the extension.

Depends on the circumstances.

Our army must be terrible if a guy becomes a major and gets manhandled by a bunch of gullu butts with bellies hanging out.

The military establishment is very afraid of the PML-N. Despite enduring curses and abuses from the PML-N for the last five years, the military still sucks up to them and gave Nawaz, Maryam an NRO.

Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Director General (DG) Major General Babar Iftikhar said on Thursday that the word "conspiracy" was not used in the statement issued after a meeting of the National Security Committee last month.

He was answering a question by a journalist after a press conference on the recently held formation commanders conference at the General Headquarters. The journalist had asked the army leadership's stance on Imran Khan's claim of a foreign conspiracy to oust him and whether the NSC had endorsed such a claim.

Key points from DG ISPR's briefing:
The words used [in NSC statement] are clear. Is there any word such as conspiracy used in it? I think not
COAS is neither seeking an extension nor will he accept it
There was institutional input that he (Imran Khan) should go to Russia
3 scenarios were discussed [with Imran during political crisis]. No option from establishment was given
Army would have had the same stance [as Imran] but the reality is that they never asked for military bases
A malicious propaganda is being run against army and its leaders using deep fake technology
"As far as military response about the NSC meeting is considered, that stance, in that meeting was fully given, and then a statement was issued ... which clearly says what was concluded in that meeting.

"The words used are in front of you ... as I said ... the words used are clear. Is there any word such as conspiracy used in it? I think not."

Gen Iftikhar said the minutes of the NSC meeting can be declassified if the government decides.

He added that the cipher from the Pakistan ambassador to the US was also received by the ISI and it briefed the NSC based on that cable.

The ISPR DG explained that demarches were given, not just on conspiracies, but for many reasons. "In this case it was given for undiplomatic language and is equal to interference."

The SOPs of such a cable, he continued, was that these ciphers were in the domain of the Foreign Office. "These are top secret documents and there is some circulation depending on which institution they're related to. When institutions get such cables, the FO begins work if there is something on national security in them."

'Army has no role in politics'
Meanwhile, in response to a question regarding the army's role in politics, the ISPR DG revealed that the former prime minister had approached the army chief to help find a solution to the political crisis.

"It is unfortunate that our political leadership was not ready to talk. So the army chief and DG ISI went to the PMO and three scenarios were discussed," he said, recalling that one was that the no-confidence motion should be held as it was. The other were that the prime minister resigns or the no-confidence motion was retracted and the assemblies were dissolved.

"No option from the establishment was given," Gen Iftikhar clarified.

The ISPR DG rubbished rumours doing round on social media about the establishment meeting opposition parties. "There is no truth to this," he asserted.

"I heard these things... Investigative journalism has gone forward a lot. If someone has evidence, bring it forward. There were no such contacts, no deal... For Gods' sake, there is nothing like this," he said, further refuting BBC's story on the army chief meeting Imran Khan on the night of April 9.

"I said it that day too that whatever political process has run, army had no role or interference at any stage."

The ISPR DG reaffirmed that the "establishment or army had the best of relations with the government" and assured that there was no disagreement between the two institutions.

"In fact I'd say that the COAS has very good personal relations with Imran Khan and of mutual respect. It will stay the same... parties and governments change but army meets all of them. There are no issued of problems," he reiterated.

COAS extension
Gen Iftikhar also pointed out that there were rumours about the army chief's extension too. "Let me put this to rest. COAS is neither seeking extension nor will he accept it. He will be retiring on time on November 22.

"This is character assassination without evidence," he added.

Gen Iftikhar continued that the word neutral doesn't properly describe the army's stance. He said this in answer to a question. "[The word] apolitical is better. In our constitutional and legal setup, no kind of political affiliation or interference should exist."

He said that there had always been demands that army shouldn't have a role in politics. "Today, it is being given a real form."

The ISPR DG recalled that when the COAS last appeared in the security committee's meeting, he told all the political leaders that the army wanted to keep itself away from politics.

"In another meeting in GB, when all the political leaders were present, the army chief had reiterated that we [army] wanted to stay away from politics. We don't have anything to do with politics... I think this is very good decision and it will remain so," he added.

Gen Iftikhar also clarified that the judiciary was free when a question regarding courts opening Sunday night was asked.

"If something has happened it was their decision... Pakistan's sustenance relies on democracy and to strengthen it is everyone's duty."

The ISPR DG then said "absolutely not" to possibility of a martial law being imposed. "So our external challenges are so much that if our army could tackle those alone it would be a success. It is not fair to blame an institution which is always working for Pakistan's security."

'US never asked for bases'
When a journalist asked him about army bases, the DG ISPR said that the ex-prime minister was asked about giving bases to US in an interview. "If a demand like that would have been made, the army would have had the same stance as the PM.

"But the reality is that they never asked for bases," he revealed, reiterating that had they asked, the army would have had the same stance as the PM.

Meanwhile, commenting on the former premier's visit to Russia, Gen Iftikhar confirmed that the army was onboard on it and was taken into confidence. "There was institutional input that he should go. It was in no one's wildest dreams that they [Russia] would announce war when the prime minister was there, which was obviously very embarrassing."

On the other hand, ISPR DG, answering a question on Imran Khan's comments about Pakistan's nuclear assets at the PTI power show in Peshawar last night, cautioned everyone to be careful when talking about nuclear assets.

"They aren't associated to any one political leadership," he said, adding Pakistan had one of the best systems and there was no such threat to them.

New government and stability
Talking about the current political situation in the country, Gen Iftikhar said that the army couldn't afford to decide which government to have smooth relations with and which to not with. "This is not a choice, governments are elected, it is their job to tell us what to do."

He also clarified that the COAS didn't attend Shehbaz Sharif's oath-taking ceremony because he was ill.

The ISPR DG said that rallies were a part of democracy. "Army has provided an enabling environment to the people by risking its lives. This free atmosphere where anyone says what they want... good or bad... we have worked hard and sacrificed a lot for this.

"People come out on roads and express thoughts. There is nothing wrong with it," he said, assuring that some kind of stability was returning to the country but it would take time to keep it sustainable.

"Political stability drives everything. National security rests on it."

Smear campaign
Raising concerns on the "malicious propaganda" run against the army on social media, the ISPR DG said that in the digital domain, everything was being amplified through external linkages and fake technology.

"When we talk about propaganda, it can't create issues as much as it amplifies them. Whatever political thoughts people have, they pitch them against each other which spreads negativity and thus are externally blown up," he said, adding that consequently a notion is created that Pakistan's youth wasn't as well-informed.

Gen Iftikhar stressed the need to take strong measures to insulate the society from the effects of fake news. "Whose job is it to ask? Army is the head of institution that is subservient to government. If army head is being criticised, then it's the government's job [to take action]."

He added that there had been a surge in fake news given tech advancements. "There should be laws for this. I think all stakeholders should sit and try to correct this otherwise there's no limit," the ISPR DG added.

Moving onto other security challenges, Gen Iftikhar said that the "new war" announced by the Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) was "stopped in tracks" and said there was no such things as "talks" with the banned group.

Meanwhile, talking about the foreign policy, he praised former national security advisor Moeed Yusuf for his work.

He also recalled the army chief was criticised for indulging into the foreign policy domain when he gave a statement on the Russia-Ukraine crisis.

"All things he said weren't against Pakistan's stated foreign policy. He was not getting out of that paradigm. When talks are held on strategic level, political leadership talks on its behalf and military leadership too, some times to balance things out," the ISPR DG added.

DAWN

You can't have it both ways.

You say this here but then your ilk castigate them as Islamic invaders. If Islam isn't their identity then why mention it?

They are foreign invaders. We castigate the British similarly. Christians in India dont protest against that. But some how a section of muslims believe these invaders have to be equated with Islam.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari on Thursday termed the press conference of Director-General Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Major General Babar Iftikhar "a breath of fresh air for democracy".

During the presser, the army's top spokesperson, while talking about the role of the armed forces in the country's politics, said the military has "nothing to do with politics" and said the institution has decided to remain apolitical in the future as well.

"A better word than neutral is apolitical for describing our role," Maj Gen Iftikhar added.

Answering a question related to former prime minister Imran Khan’s claim of a foreign conspiracy to oust his government, the DG said the word "conspiracy" was not used in the statement issued after a meeting of the National Security Committee.

“As far as the military’s response about the NSC meeting, the stance was fully given and a statement was issued which clearly shows what was concluded in that meeting.”

“The words are in front of you, the words are clear. Was there any word such as conspiracy used? I do not think so,” the DG ISPR said and added that the government can declassify the minutes of the NSC meeting if it so desires.

"Press conference of DG ISPR is a breath of fresh air for democracy. It is responsibility not only of every institution but every Pakistani to support democracy, constitution and rule of law," Bilawal wrote on his official Twitter handle.

He also said that parliament, judiciary and establishment transition from controversial to constitutional roles will not be easy.

"The answer to all of Pakistan's problems is democracy, democracy and more democracy. If we continue on this path no power on earth can stop Pakistan’s progress," Bilawal said.

Earlier during a media briefing, Bilawal had called upon 'state institutions' to clarify their position on then prime minister Imran Khan’s claim that the National Security Committee (NSC) had endorsed his allegation that opposition parties were part of the “foreign conspiracy” to topple his government

“Imran Khan used the national security forum for political gains and now he is making the country’s foreign policy controversial,” Bilawal said while referring to the NSC meeting held last month which expressed grave concern over the alleged ‘threatening letter’.

Meanwhile, Bilawal and his father PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari on Thursday called on Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif in Islamabad and congratulated him on assuming the premiership.

PM Shehbaz thanked both the PPP leaders for their cooperation in formation of the coalition government. He prayed to Allah Almighty to enable the incumbent government to overcome the prevailing challenges.

The prime minister said that his government’s priority is to strive for Pakistan’s uplift through consultation and mutual cooperation.

Express Tribune

LAHORE: The accused Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leaders, Khawaja Salman Rafique and Hafiz Noman, have surrendered to police in the army officer torture case, ARY News reported on Thursday.
PML-N’s Khawaja Salman Rafique and Hafiz Noman surrendered to the police after they were nominated by the complainant in the army officer torture case.

The complaint stated that he had been subjected to torture over the directions of Rafique and Noman who are sitting in another vehicle at the crime scene. He added that their employees could not torture him without getting the go-ahead from the accused political leaders.

Earlier in the day, the employees of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leaders, Khawaja Salman Rafique and Hafiz Noman have been arrested for torturing a Pakistan Army officer in Lahore.

The goons, who had tortured a Pakistan Army officer near Kalma Chowk in Lahore, were arrested by police today. The arrested men have turned out to be employees of the PML-N leaders.

Rafique and Noman have tendered an apology to the army officers regarding the violent incident that took place on Wednesday (yesterday).

Khawaja Salman Rafique, while addressing a press conference today, said that a fake story is being presented on social media regarding the incident and it is important for him to clarify and present himself before the law.
“Mr Haris is a respectable person for us and we condemn yesterday’s incident. We have preferred to contact the police. Police told us to hand over the vehicle and security guards. We have followed the police instructions like a responsible citizen.”
Hafiz Noman said that they are not defending yesterday’s incident and the staff should have called the police to the scene. He expressed solidarity with the army officer who had been subjected to torture by their employees and said that they have presented themselves for legal action.

Yesterday, an army officer had been tortured by a group of men near Kalma Chowk in Lahore. The officer had been surrounded by a group of men in another vehicle who broke the window glasses of the officer’s car.

A video had also surfaced in which the citizen got angered over the hooliganism. After other residents came in to save the officer, the attackers fled from the scene.

https://arynews.tv/army-officer-torture-case-accused-pml-n-leaders-surrender-to-police/

PTI have atleast exposed the influence of Establishment , yet they went on with that silly press release the other day, they need to take a back seat and listen to public they are hurting their own damn image.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1685134

PTI leader and former human rights minister Shireen Mazari on Friday said that former prime minister Imran Khan had not approached the military to help find a solution to the "political deadlock" in the country after a no-confidence motion was submitted against him.

It was the military that sought the meeting through then defence minister Pervez Khattak, Mazari said, adding that it was the military that put forward the three proposals – of the premier either facing the no-trust vote, resigning from his post or the opposition withdrawing the no-trust move and holding of fresh election thereafter.

The Army had their Oscar moment last week. I don't think any pak PM is going to dare cross paths with the khakis from now on.

Capture.JPG

If Imran Khan's aim was to take on the army, then he did a poor job going about it.

No elected PM can take on the army in one term - its too powerful of an institution which understands the levers of power better than political governments. The top priority should be to stay in power for consecutive terms. Just the act of being in power outlasting the leaders in other institutions gives him tremendous leverage.

You can place your guys in low and mid level positions in the army and judiciary and other important institutions- no need to take on the high level position like the coas. Enough people at even mid level positions sympathetic to your cause are enough to feed back intelligence and steer the agenda. Sooner or later a malleable coas will be chosen who defers to the political establishment. And once the army builds a culture of staying out of politics, they don't try to go back in.

It's hard to judge IK's strategy without the benefit of hindsight but he gives an impression of being highly impulsive and mercurial - caring more about winning the battle even if it means losing the war.