The Rishabh Pant thread

[MENTION=147179]Ahmed216[/MENTION], Pant doesn't have the other side of the game where he could block to save a test match. It is a hard job and often a pure defensive batsman like Pujara has struggled to bat all day like in WTC Final to save the test match so it is a bit harsh to expect the same from Pant.

Let Pant bat the way Sehwag, Gilchrist, Qdk etc do. He can be a lethal match winner and if he bats for two hours, he will take the game completely away from opposition and he keeps also so is not blocking a place for specialist batsman.

Lets be honest. Pant is a legside hack. He has heavy bottom handed technique and always drags the ball over the mid wicket. When he tries to play towards cover region, his right hand comes off. I would have groomed Sanju Samson in test cricket, if wicketkeeper has to play specialist batsman role. If we have 6 specialist batsman then Pant is allright at no. 7 slot to play like a slogger.

I will only say this - people who fail to see how special a talent Pant is know absolutely nothing about cricket.

So you are saying [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] knows nothing about cricket.?
I agree with you on that.
Pant is a generational talent

So you are saying [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] knows nothing about cricket.?
I agree with you on that.
Pant is a generational talent

Generational talent? Are you sure lol? I heard that thing for Pandya as well. We all know how it ended. Even if we accept that he is a special talent then translating that talent to performances in the field consistently are two different things. Anyone who reaches at the top and play for India has talent in him/her. Some keep themselves there at the top while others fade away. You guys always show his innings in Australia and think that you are always right while ignoring his performances in NZ and England completely. His critics are also right to question his wicket throwing habit, his performances in NZ, England and less said about his LOI stats the better. :inti

Lets be honest. Pant is a legside hack. He has heavy bottom handed technique and always drags the ball over the mid wicket. When he tries to play towards cover region, his right hand comes off. I would have groomed Sanju Samson in test cricket, if wicketkeeper has to play specialist batsman role. If we have 6 specialist batsman then Pant is allright at no. 7 slot to play like a slogger.

Kohli sending Jadeja above Pant in the Oval test twice tells something. He could have easily sent Pant at 5 but he didn't. :inti

What is your definition of high quality batsmen? specially for Indian batsmen? So far he has performed just okay as a Indian test match keeper batsman? He has played some good innings in Australia but then again most Indian batsmen have scored runs in Australia specially since the turn of the century?

He is a good player but I am not sure he is high quality. So far in this tour he has been hopeless but its clear he likes certain type of pitches which is okay because he is a keeper batsmen.

High quality batsmen in my opinion would be someone like Sangakara as a test match batsmen or Gilchrist? do you agree?

High quality batsman is the one who is talented, mentally strong, has a wide array of shots and is a genuine match winner. A player whose presence senses an intimidation factor in opposition's mind.

Any player who doesn't have any of this quality will not be able to change the complexion of a test series in Australia against a side which has two top tier ATGs- Smith and Cummins and five other world class players - Warner, Labuschagne, Hazelwood, Lyon and Starc.

We just saw what happened with England today after Haseeb Hameed and Rory Burns gave a good start. They just got collapsed infront of the high quality Indian bowling attack in the second session of this series. It is a perfect example just to put into consideration how great that knock was which Pant played in Gabba. Actually, the momentum of that whole series was turned by Pant only when he scored a valiant 97 in Sydney which helped his team save the test match. It is pretty similar to how KP turned the India series in 2012 with that knock in Mumbai.

As for his performance in England or New Zealand is concerned, it is pointless talking about it for a guy who is just 23 years old.
The last time an Indian cricketer achieved something as special at this young age was in 1983 and it was done by the great Kapil Dev. Even MS Dhoni achieved the World T20 win in 2007 when he was 27 year old. You will not hear people saying that the great Kapil Dev got humiliated in 1982-83 series in Pakistan. You will not hear people talking about the failures of MS Dhoni as a batsman in 2007 World Cup. Their achievements outshines their failures.

In a same way, Pant's achievement in Australia in one of India's most celebrated test win outshines his failure in England or New Zealand, both of which have actually come at just an age of 23, when Gilchrist was a nobody in international cricket and Sangakkara was just starting in test cricket.

Kohli sending Jadeja above Pant in the Oval test twice tells something. He could have easily sent Pant at 5 but he didn't. :inti

Kohli sent Jadeja only to satisfy his ego of not playing Ashwin. Jadeja failed and Kohli got an egg on his face. I still feel India made a blunder by not playing Ashwin in this test match. Rahul and Rohit are only two performing batsman in this team.

Ashwin can easily replace Rahane as a batsman. No need to drop Jadeja for him. :inti

High quality batsman is the one who is talented, mentally strong, has a wide array of shots and is a genuine match winner. A player whose presence senses an intimidation factor in opposition's mind.

Any player who doesn't have any of this quality will not be able to change the complexion of a test series in Australia against a side which has two top tier ATGs- Smith and Cummins and five other world class players - Warner, Labuschagne, Hazelwood, Lyon and Starc.

We just saw what happened with England today after Haseeb Hameed and Rory Burns gave a good start. They just got collapsed infront of the high quality Indian bowling attack in the second session of this series. It is a perfect example just to put into consideration how great that knock was which Pant played in Gabba. Actually, the momentum of that whole series was turned by Pant only when he scored a valiant 97 in Sydney which helped his team save the test match. It is pretty similar to how KP turned the India series in 2012 with that knock in Mumbai.

As for his performance in England or New Zealand is concerned, it is pointless talking about it for a guy who is just 23 years old.
The last time an Indian cricketer achieved something as special at this young age was in 1983 and it was done by the great Kapil Dev. Even MS Dhoni achieved the World T20 win in 2007 when he was 27 year old. You will not hear people saying that the great Kapil Dev got humiliated in 1982-83 series in Pakistan. You will not hear people talking about the failures of MS Dhoni as a batsman in 2007 World Cup. Their achievements outshines their failures.

In a same way, Pant's achievement in Australia in one of India's most celebrated test win outshines his failure in England or New Zealand, both of which have actually come at just an age of 23, when Gilchrist was a nobody in international cricket and Sangakkara was just starting in test cricket.

Then don't overhype him and call him Gilchrist just yet. Let him perform in those places first. If you are going to overhype him, call him once in a generation talent then definitely people will throw stats at you to make you aware of the reality. Learn to take criticism for your golden boy because surely he is not above criticism especially when he gifts his wicket away. :inti

Greatest wicket keeping batsman from Asia already....on the way to become GOAT...when he plays controlled cricket, there is nobody as good as him in the current generation.

Then don't overhype him and call him Gilchrist just yet. Let him perform in those places first. If you are going to overhype him, call him once in a generation talent then definitely people will throw stats at you to make you aware of the reality. Learn to take criticism for your golden boy because surely he is not above criticism especially when he gifts his wicket away. :inti

Learn tk take criticism when you call Pant as next Umar Akmal or Gareebon ka Afridi :inti

He has won India one of our most celebrated test win of all-time.

Greatest wicket keeping batsman from Asia already....on the way to become GOAT...when he plays controlled cricket, there is nobody as good as him in the current generation.
No i will put Rizwan ahead of him ATM, but both are realy turning up great for their teams

Thakur the tailender scored more than Pant today.

People who hype up Pant are the ones who know nothing about cricket; a fluke 50 on a flat road and he's the second coming of Gilly.

LOL!
Thakur is not exactly a tailender my friend ,you have not seen him play ,he has done this at ranji level

Two SENA tons and other match winning/saving knocks at 23

not bad for a leg side hack

Sanju Samson :)))

Just like how when someone types inappropriate words it autoturns it into **** .

Similarly, whenever there is a statement like Pandya is not all that, Bumrah has a shady action or Pant is a hack it basically translates to “wish we had a player like that”. I mean we see threads for guys like Maqsood, Asif Ali as Jos Butler but everyone is a technical analyst when it comes to these guys so I wouldn’t bother much there.

So pakistan fans (not all obviously) really don’t want someone like Hardik or Pant in their sides? Bumrah I can understand as there is still a decent fast bowling culture in Pakistan but the comments on these 2 players, I wouldn’t read too much into that.

Quiet series with the bat but Pant has put on a keeping masterclass this series. Was excellent in the home series against England as well. Turners in hot/humid India, swinging conditions in cool/wet England, two of the toughest challenges for keepers and Pant has passed with flying colors in both. Actually he was quite underrated in the 2018 tour of England as well.

This is a big positive for Team India, he has grown as a glovesman with more experience.

Quiet series with the bat but Pant has put on a keeping masterclass this series . Was excellent in the home series against England as well. Turners in hot/humid India, swinging conditions in cool/wet England, two of the toughest challenges for keepers and Pant has passed with flying colors in both. Actually he was quite underrated in the 2018 tour of England as well.

This is a big positive for Team India, he has grown as a glovesman with more experience.

This! He has become a very reliable wicket keeper which is his main job. His batting is worth about 30-40 useful runs on average - anything above is a big bonus

Generational talent? Are you sure lol? I heard that thing for Pandya as well. We all know how it ended. Even if we accept that he is a special talent then translating that talent to performances in the field consistently are two different things. Anyone who reaches at the top and play for India has talent in him/her. Some keep themselves there at the top while others fade away. You guys always show his innings in Australia and think that you are always right while ignoring his performances in NZ and England completely. His critics are also right to question his wicket throwing habit, his performances in NZ, England and less said about his LOI stats the better. :inti
Yes he is a generational talent, regarding pandya it isnt over for him as well,him and pant both are young and as they mature they will improve,i always see you like that disgruntled uncle in marriage who always criticize everything,bhai mere kabhi khush hi rehte ho life main ki bas sade hue hi rehte ho, olympics wale main post kiya waha bhi yhi haal,aur yaha bhi.

One question can he quit hitting every ball and get out and play sensible test match innings like he played in 4th test .That will be more benefit the team india.

This guy is such a wonderful batsman at such a young age.... India is blessed to have him in test format...does impeccable wicker keeping as well....MVP in tests for India....he should focus on tests and ODIs and forget about useless T20s.

For me the best thing about this year has been his incredible growth as a reliable keeper behind the stumps. He has put in a lot of effort into his fitness and it has paid off.

He always was a specially talented batsman. He could turn a match on its head in a matter of a few hours. Of course he cannot do it every match. But he has been the most solid contributor to this team otherwise apart from the bowling unit, which has made India a rampant force in test cricket.

Spare a moment to appreciate his mental strength. We see how many players are getting fatigued by the bubbles and Covid and taking breaks from the game. Pant has been playing non stop since IPL last year, living in bubbles, been away from his home and family for almost a year, and yet he continues to give his best on field. India has a literal gem in him.

I hope sense prevails and he is given a good break after the T20 WC. Let Ishan Kishen don the gloves in limited formats for a while.

He is a loud mouth and can only play well against West Indies or Sri Lanka. Always fail when he is required.

Knowing our fans they will most likely give credit to Pant if India wins this match though lol. Totally forgetting Rohit Sharma's contribution also by saying that his century didn't guarantee Indian win. :inti

Just like it took you four years to change your opinion of Rohit, I'm sure you will change your thoughts on Pant. In due course.

I believe in you. You can do it. You have my best wishes, as always :afridi

Just like it took you four years to change your opinion of Rohit, I'm sure you will change your thoughts on Pant. In due course.

I believe in you. You can do it. You have my best wishes, as always :afridi

Pant can score a triple century in Australia and this BVB clown will find ways to discredit him. The fact is that he has played two ridiculous innings in his short test career which other players find it hard to do in their whole test careers.

It's fun to see people getting happy at his failures though.

Pant can score a triple century in Australia and this BVB clown will find ways to discredit him. The fact is that he has played two ridiculous innings in his short test career which other players find it hard to do in their whole test careers.

It's fun to see people getting happy at his failures though.

I can definitely see clowns like you running away from this thread as soon as Pant performs badly and then only come back when he play one good inning after 6-7 average innings. Plastic fan. :inti

Learn tk take criticism when you call Pant as next Umar Akmal or Gareebon ka Afridi :inti

He has won India one of our most celebrated test win of all-time.

You got that wrong. I called Pandya as "gareebon ka afridi" and compared Pant's wicket throwing habit to Umar Akmal's. This is the criticism that you should learn to take if you want Pant to continue playing like he did in Australia. Because of this bad habit he hasn't performed well in this England series so far. This is a valid criticism because his average has gone below 40. Reminding everyone of his Gabba inning whenever he is criticised shows who is allergic to criticism here. When he played those innings everyone(including me) praised him but whenever he doesn't play well his die hard fans are the first to run away from this thread. :inti

His keeping is improving and hopefully his patience will improve in batting as well.
He has the skills (hopefully has the brain for the it).

Lol, this thread will end up becoming a monument to short sightedness.
Pant is already a great wk bat and is on his way towards ATG level.

Pant was subdued in last innings probably due to match situation, not much run in last couple of innings. But I believe pant should always be given a free hand to attack. No one needs him to try and play ala pujara and inhibit his natural style.

ENG has figured out Pant:

- Do not bowl short, as he is very good puller,
- Take of his opportunity to cut, as he is a good cutter.

Result = Runs have dried..

During Pant's last innings of 50, ENG hardly gave him an opportunity to cut of pull, the one cut shot he played went for no run as Root had fielders to take away the cut shot.. The after math of all this, was he had to tuk tuk his way to his 50... I am sure other teams will use this strategy in the future, Pant needs to work on his batting..

It must have already happened probably for free but if not, BCCI or the Delhi IPL franchise should request Virender Sehwag's paid consultation for Rishabh Pant as i believe no one in world cricket past or present can guide him better than our very own Viru.

To be aggressive in test cricket does not require you to dance down the wicket and slog fast bowlers, or play ramp shots, reverse sweeps etc. Sehwag never did any of that and no one has destroyed bowling better than Sehwag in test cricket. Not even Richards, not even Lara, not even Gilchrist. Sehwag smashed run a ball triple centuries by just punishing the bad deliveries for 4. That's all Pant needs to stick to. Choose your offensive weapon and deploy it wisely.

Glad to see his keeping has improved a lot.

Just need to have a plan while batting.

Lol, this thread will end up becoming a monument to short sightedness.
Pant is already a great wk bat and is on his way towards ATG level.

And this is why this thread exists. It is ok to support a player and hype him a little bit but calling him great and ATG level so early shows why OP created this thread and why some posters keep coming back to this thread. :rabada2

He has a long way to go before he can be called a great WK Bat let alone an ATG. It is easy to reach at the top but to stay at that position for long is not everyone's cup of tea. I am not saying he has reached the top level may be he can in future but most of the teams now know his weaknesses and they will try to exploit it. If he can be overhyped by some fans then he can also be criticised based on his performance and bad shot selection. :inti

It must have already happened probably for free but if not, BCCI or the Delhi IPL franchise should request Virender Sehwag's paid consultation for Rishabh Pant as i believe no one in world cricket past or present can guide him better than our very own Viru.

To be aggressive in test cricket does not require you to dance down the wicket and slog fast bowlers, or play ramp shots, reverse sweeps etc. Sehwag never did any of that and no one has destroyed bowling better than Sehwag in test cricket. Not even Richards, not even Lara, not even Gilchrist. Sehwag smashed run a ball triple centuries by just punishing the bad deliveries for 4. That's all Pant needs to stick to. Choose your offensive weapon and deploy it wisely.

Sehwag was my favourite,but he mainly did all of that in Asia. Pant will do it too.

The main challenge is vs swing where Sehwag struggled too

High quality batsman. Imagine him playing regularly at home now. He will take his average to 45 in tests.

He’s very talented but doesn’t have the full skill-set yet.

If tied down he will try dancing down the wicket and expansive shots like in T20 mode which is how England have mostly contained him this series.

I think he will only get better with experience if he wants to learn.

Pant was subdued in last innings probably due to match situation, not much run in last couple of innings. But I believe pant should always be given a free hand to attack. No one needs him to try and play ala pujara and inhibit his natural style.

He has actually played good innings when he tried to play like Pujara in tests. I think he was given the free hand to attack in previous tests and he failed miserably. Oval test was perfect for him to attack the opposition bowlers but he couldn't do that. Thakur and Umesh on the other hand were doing it quite easily without breaking a sweat. :inti

He’s very talented but doesn’t have the full skill-set yet.

If tied down he will try dancing down the wicket and expansive shots like in T20 mode which is how England have mostly contained him this series.

I think he will only get better with experience if he wants to learn.

I agree. He has issues vs swing and seam. Against spin, pace and bounce, he is excellent. Nevertheless, in present era, any team needs one player like that who has the ability to counter attack and change games on his head. With that obviously comes some disadvantages too. As an analogy, England would love if Buttler could do something similar later in the Ashes in Australia what Pant did last year.

I personally think KL Rahul is the best Indian batsman currently vs swing and seam. Pretty classy on eyes and even after playing regular LOI cricket, he has done well to resist for the cover drives and played very smartly. His batting at Nottingham vs Anderson reminded me a bit of Martin Crowe ( only in this series, not comparing overall).

yes, he is at the moment over-loaded with expectations that he must destroy bowling attacks and recreate the Gabba innings every time.
To his credit, his wicketkeeping has improved but he has to really learn from the Top order batsman on how to build innings.

‘Everyone wanted him to be like Dhoni. He was under tremendous pressure’: Chahal recalls Pant's struggle in initial days

Yuzvendra Chahal recently recalled Pant’s initial struggle, when spectators at the stadium used to chant ‘Dhoni Dhoni,’ to tease the youngster.

Delhi Capitals skipper Rishabh Pant is gearing up for an all-important playoff game against Chennai Super Kings in Dubai on Sunday. The youngster will be up against his mentor and former India skipper MS Dhoni in what’s going to be a cracker of a contest in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 Qualifier 1.

Pant has done a commendable job as a captain this season. Under his leadership, DC not only produced some terrific performances but also ended up the league stage being on top of the points table. On the performance front, the left-hand batter has been in great form ever since his comeback in Test cricket last year in Australia.

Pant’s road to success was full of obstacles and it’s not an unknown fact. Be it criticism from fans or his inconsistency on the field, he has to go through a rough phase in his career before getting recognised as an established player. His India teammate Yuzvendra Chahal recently recalled Pant’s initial struggle, when spectators at the stadium used to chant ‘Dhoni Dhoni,’ to tease the youngster.

During a chat with SGTV, Chahal said everyone wanted Pant to be like Dhoni behind the wickets and the expectation of fans put immense pressure on the youngster in his early days.

“Actually, everyone wanted him (Pant) to be like Mahi bhai. The way MSD was behind the stumps. I remember if Pant would ever drop any catch or the DRS went wrong, then the whole ground would start shouting Mahi Mahi,” Chahal told SGTV.

“So, there was a lot of pressure on Pant, because he was only around 19 or 20 years old at that time. We would tell him to ignore all these things and focus on your game. He was under tremendous pressure then he was also out of the team for a while," added Chahal.

Chahal also appreciated Pant for making a strong comeback and showing immense maturity in the last couple of years.

“He made a superb comeback. He has improved a lot; he has shown a lot of maturity. His performance has been really good and I guess people should understand that when a sportsperson is on the ground, he tries his best, and nobody wants to perform badly. People should give a little respect to the player,” Chahal said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/everyone-wanted-him-to-be-like-dhoni-he-was-under-tremendous-pressure-chahal-recalls-pant-s-struggle-in-initial-days-101633863783691.html

Pant taking the attack to Pakistan - need his wicket in a hurry Pakistan!

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] well well well guess who got Pant,.... Shadab with his googly

That was a superb cameo from him today.

39 off 30 balls with some lovely clean hits.

Was struggling and played some stupid shots initially but those two sixes were gold. He needs to improve his strike rate in T20s. :inti

The one-handed sixes:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/3roz86" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

those shots are only possible for someone who is right hand dominant but bats left handed or they use very heavy bats (think of Pollard)

India expected Pant to stay on longer vs New Zealand.

You can't blame him when your top order, two of them hailed as all time greats - Kishan, Rohit, KL and Kohli gives you 48/4 in 10 overs. That is just not enough.

The blame goes on top order same as it was in 2019 World Cup.

Rishab Pant is fast becoming slogging machine like Afridi..
Atleast Afridi has power to push mistimed shots to huge sixes.

You can't blame him when your top order, two of them hailed as all time greats - Kishan, Rohit, KL and Kohli gives you 48/4 in 10 overs. That is just not enough.

The blame goes on top order same as it was in 2019 World Cup.

So he can't play under pressure? Or does he need the help of opposition fielders? If he is only going to perform whenever India is in a strong position then he shouldn't be called Gilchrist lol. :inti

You are showing your hypocrisy here. When Pandya played a top knock in CT 2017, you said it was a soft knock but in a similar situation, if Pant is getting out, you are now accusing him? That's hypocrisy and bitterness of another level.

Pant is a terrific player under pressure and he has proved his worth long back when he won us test series in Australia or vs England or in decider in England. No Indian batsman has ever helped us win a test series in Australia.

However, he is not a soft run scorer unlike some of the other guys. He has proved his worth and the win in Australia was as legendary as India winning the 2011 World Cup.

The current tournament is a relatively smaller tournament and this was time for the likes of other guys to step up and win this tournament. Their inability proves that why these average Indian cricketers like Kishan, Pandya, Bhuvi etc shouldn't be compared with terrific cricketers like Kohli, Rohit and Pant. This is indeed a reality check for you and hence you shouldn't compare any average cricket with terrific cricketers like those three.

Those three are in a league of their own. Others have to work hard to become as good as them. It is a common logic. Those guys will have to do something to become as good as Pant. :inti

You are showing your hypocrisy here. When Pandya played a top knock in CT 2017, you said it was a soft knock but in a similar situation, if Pant is getting out, you are now accusing him? That's hypocrisy and bitterness of another level.

Pant is a terrific player under pressure and he has proved his worth long back when he won us test series in Australia or vs England or in decider in England. No Indian batsman has ever helped us win a test series in Australia.

However, he is not a soft run scorer unlike some of the other guys. He has proved his worth and the win in Australia was as legendary as India winning the 2011 World Cup.

The current tournament is a relatively smaller tournament and this was time for the likes of other guys to step up and win this tournament. Their inability proves that why these average Indian cricketers like Kishan, Pandya, Bhuvi etc shouldn't be compared with terrific cricketers like Kohli, Rohit and Pant. This is indeed a reality check for you and hence you shouldn't compare any average cricket with terrific cricketers like those three.

Those three are in a league of their own. Others have to work hard to become as good as them. It is a common logic. Those guys will have to do something to become as good as Pant. :inti

It seems you are still stuck in Australia tour and as I can see it clearly you are going to stay there for a long long time. Pant and Pandya have done nothing special in LOIs. Any guy can play these one off innings in LOIs. Give guys like Deepak Chahar and Thakur similar opportunities, they too can play these innings. Currently you are not feeling well because all your favorite players are not performing well according to the hype. Either don't overhype them or get ready to welcome the criticism. :inti

He doesn't look fit and slightly on the chubby side. Unless it is muscle and I'm being unfair.

He is over hyped.

However he has played some fantastic Test knocks that helped India win some memorable games.

He needs to tighten his game outside off stump, use his feet as well. You can’t just rely on hand eye.

Pandya didn't play a top knock in CT 17 as far as I remember.
Witch match was it? You can't play a top knock against Fakhar Zaman in cricket.

How is it that Pant's SR in T20I is just 121? That's a pretty poor SR for someone who is known for his hitting ability. Especially when you know that he often comes in great situations with the plateform already set by the top order.

Pant has achieved bigger thing for India than KL and Pandya have done yet.

The likes of Kishan and Shreyas haven't achieved anything big in international cricket either.

Hence, it is fair to say that other players need to perform and prove their worth now to find a place for themselves in the Indian side and be given similar treatment as Pant is given.

Guys like Shaw and Kishan are currently nobodies and they have to win a memorable test series away from home or vs top opponent if they want to get hyped like Pant gets :inti

Pant has achieved bigger thing for India than KL and Pandya have done yet.

The likes of Kishan and Shreyas haven't achieved anything big in international cricket either.

Hence, it is fair to say that other players need to perform and prove their worth now to find a place for themselves in the Indian side and be given similar treatment as Pant is given.

Guys like Shaw and Kishan are currently nobodies and they have to win a memorable test series away from home or vs top opponent if they want to get hyped like Pant gets :inti

You seem to be a fan of Pant. Could you explain why he only strikes at 121 in T20I? You would expect that will be his ODI SR rather than T20I's.

I am not a fan of Pant. I am just a basher of Pant's hater :inti

I believe in quality and tough runs. Pant has a perfect game for LOIs and he is just 24 year old so it is only a matter of time before he gets things right in the least relevant format. It is quite similar as you expect Babar to get to 45-50 test average range because he belongs there. In a same way, Pant also belongs there in LOIs.

Remember, we are talking about a guy who produced two great knocks in Australia, one of them was an ATG knock early this year as well. This is what I rate as quality runs, absolutely Stokesque level. He also played a terrific knock of 159 in Australia in 2018 and he is just 24 year old. This is what makes him a special player. Australia are not minnows and they are a superior test team to England and New Zealand both combining all conditions.

Other Indian players like say, the Koffee with Karan duo or any of the youngsters need to build a reputation for themselves to be rated that highly. Only Kohli, Rohit and Bumrah have bigger reputation than him.

Pant is an outrageously gifted player. He is a generational talent but India is not using him properly in LOIs.

You need players like him at the top who can utilize the PP overs and whack the hard, new ball. He needs to be utilized the way England utilize the likes of Roy, Bairstow and Buttler (in T20Is).

I would have him open the innings in T20Is alongside Ishan Kishan and give them license to bash bowlers from ball one. It will add a new dimension to the Indian team.

Pant seems like one of those 2-3 season wonders. He's pretty easy to figure out. He surprised the Aussies, but they seem to have some mental block vs India. Has not replicated Vs England.

I like his attitude, but ultimately I don't think he has a very high ceiling. Could be confined to history in a couple of years

What is the big deal about Ishan Kishan btw - seems very average to me. India's LOI side were protected by the likes of Rohit, Dhawan and Kohli.

With their failures, they are a middling LOI side.

Tests, they have more steel and I appreciate their approach to the game. I do think they are riding off the back of Kohli's leadership and the mentality he has drilled in to the team. But, it seems Kohli's days will be coming to an end soon and I don't think there is anyone obvious on the horizon to take the mantle. India's golden period could come to quite an abrupt end soon.

Pant had an 'Indian' summer or two but back to being just average.

I also notice many Indian players don't look agile enough - Rohit, Pant, Shami etc.

If Pant doesn't become consistent, all excuses which are piling up for him, will run dry.

I am not a fan of Pant. I am just a basher of Pant's hater :inti

I believe in quality and tough runs. Pant has a perfect game for LOIs and he is just 24 year old so it is only a matter of time before he gets things right in the least relevant format. It is quite similar as you expect Babar to get to 45-50 test average range because he belongs there. In a same way, Pant also belongs there in LOIs.

Remember, we are talking about a guy who produced two great knocks in Australia, one of them was an ATG knock early this year as well. This is what I rate as quality runs, absolutely Stokesque level. He also played a terrific knock of 159 in Australia in 2018 and he is just 24 year old. This is what makes him a special player. Australia are not minnows and they are a superior test team to England and New Zealand both combining all conditions.

Other Indian players like say, the Koffee with Karan duo or any of the youngsters need to build a reputation for themselves to be rated that highly. Only Kohli, Rohit and Bumrah have bigger reputation than him.

Not sure how many times are you going to tell us about Pant's knocks in Australia? Tell us something new and fresh so that we don't get bored. I use stats to criticise Pant which you deliberately try to ignore. I always said that he has a habit of throwing his wicket away and playing stupid shots. What is he doing these days? Exactly the same thing I said about him. How about Pandya? I was right about him too. What about KL Rahul in tests? How much is he averaging in the only format you care about? My views about players come from experience of watching enough cricket in my lifetime. Surely I wasn't wrong about them entirely?

You were a nice poster but lately you have transformed yourself into a troll. You can't even criticise these players lol but I have praised them when they played well. :inti

He has to improve and with criticism hopefully does like he showed before.

Most of the Indian LOI team doesn’t seem comfortable under Kohli except Hardik and Rahul.
Considering we have another T20 wc coming soon we would get an idea how it is under Rohit

India's wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant is on the cusp of passing an epic milestone which currently belongs to former Team India captain MS Dhoni in Test cricket. Pant has represented the national side in the longest format 25 times and has a total of 97 dismissals to his name with the gloves. In South Africa, if he gets an opportunity to play, he could easily become the fastest Indian wicket-keeper in Tests to register 100 dismissals to his name apart from becoming only the sixth Indian keeper to do so. Currently, Dhoni holds the record of being the quickest Indian keeper with 100 dismissals as he achieved the same in only 36 Tests.

Closely following Dhoni is Wriddhiman Saha, who achieved the feat in 37 Tests. Former India keepers Kiran More, Nayan Mongia and Syed Kirmani complete the elite list, having reached the milestone in 39, 41 and 42 Tests, respectively.

j4sl41no_rishabh-pant-ms-dhoni_625x300_23_December_21.png

Pant was rested for the two-match Test series that India played at home against the touring New Zealand side. India went on to comfortably register a 1-0 series win. Saha kept the wickets against New Zealand in Pant's absence.

The Indian cricket team is scheduled to play a three-match Test series against South Africa at their home.

The first of the three Tests against South Africa will begin from December 26 at the SuperSport Park in Centurion. The second Test will be played at The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg from January 3. The third and final Test match will begin from January 11 at Newlands in Cape Town.

https://sports.ndtv.com/south-afric...king-ms-dhonis-unique-record-in-tests-2666773

There are some visible problems in Pant's game, but he has already achieved more than any other asian wicketkeeper in tests.
Helping his side to win back to back series wins in Australia and a 4th innings century in England is still a dream for many asian batsman but Pant has achieved this in very early stage of his career.

He is a good player but shouldn't be skipping home test matches at this young age. He should play all test cricket matches and if there is a real need of rest then can skip home matches vs likes of Bangladesh or Windies but not more than that.

The scheduling is obviously a problem as BCCI tries to fit in as many matches as possible and also the important overseas test tours have come twice in three years period to Aus, Eng and SA now.

As far as limited overs is concerned, he will get it right in due time. The desperation of his critics are not relevant enough to be given any sort of value.

He is a good player but shouldn't be skipping home test matches at this young age. He should play all test cricket matches and if there is a real need of rest then can skip home matches vs likes of Bangladesh or Windies but not more than that.
He should play even those tests against WI & BD. Tests will make him a better cricketer than what he is currently.

The scheduling is obviously a problem as BCCI tries to fit in as many matches as possible and also the important overseas test tours have come twice in three years period to Aus, Eng and SA now.

As far as limited overs is concerned, he will get it right in due time. The desperation of his critics are not relevant enough to be given any sort of value.

Playing all 3 formats alongwith bubble life is no joke.

There were no tests scheduled vs WI and BD for him to miss.

He is the most clutch wicket keeper i have ever seen. Better than even gilly. I guess we all are lucky to see once in generation talent like him. I expect him to retire with avg of atleast 46/47 with many match winning knocks in tough away conditions. As wicket keeper he has improved the most in last few years. He is already better than gilly was at this age. He might have not been able to stats paddle in limited overs yet but i expect him to do really well in pressure situation in the upcoming icc events. Maybe make him open in t20s and promote him at 3/4 in odis.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A century of dismissals for <a href="https://twitter.com/RishabhPant17?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@RishabhPant17</a> from behind the stumps in whites👏👏 <br><br>He becomes the fastest Indian wicket-keeper to achieve this feat.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAvIND?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAvIND</a> <a href="https://t.co/6pHpfnLDO1">pic.twitter.com/6pHpfnLDO1</a></p>— BCCI (@BCCI) <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI/status/1475834663897747456?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 28, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Rishabh Pant now part of 8 SENA Test Wins which is more times than Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar and Rahul Dravid :rabada2

Fastest to 100 dismissals by an Indian wicketkeeper in Tests.
Rishabh Pant- 26 matches
MS Dhoni- 36 matches
Wriddhiman Saha- 36 matches
Kiran More- 39 matches

Bit of a struggle with the bat in Tests in the last 6 months:

An easy dropped catch off Petersen during the evening session today. Seems a bit off-colour ever since the England tour.